Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Funny comedy clips
Last post by Tones - Today at 08:48:19 AM
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 08:44:36 AM
The biggest problem I see with this is some players in the heat of the game will wave away any medical attention so that they can stay on the pitch, which in turn will lead to missed concussions or other injuries

The common sense approach would be for the team that has a player waiting to come on would be to knock the ball outta play as soon as possible so their player can come straight back on

Be some gurning soon especially come championship
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Dreadnought - Today at 08:39:57 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 18, 2024, 10:23:27 PMCavan team named.

No Killian Clarke, McLoughlin or McVeety in starting 15.

Would love to see Cavan win this but unfortunately I think Tyrone will win this by 8-10 points. Cavan struggle to score from open play and will struggle to keep all the Tyrone fires out.

Ie. Canavan, McCurry, McShane if he back on form.
Yeah only the 3-4 scored from open play last day out. Quite the struggle
General discussion / Re: Weather
Last post by lurganblue - Today at 08:37:00 AM
we'll soon find out. Do the shops still stock a load of Israeli spuds here?
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by lurganblue - Today at 08:35:56 AM
Quote from: jcpen on Today at 07:20:24 AMBad week for all English clubs apart from Villa. Probably not good news for English clubs having a 5th slot in the Champions League.

Yeah that's gone now.

It was clear from the 1st game at Villa Park that Lille had something about them and that the return leg was going to be a tough evening.  Martinez was outstanding in both legs and would probably be the main reason Villa are through. He's certainly the best keeper I ever remember Villa having on the books.
Last post by jcpen - Today at 08:24:03 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on April 18, 2024, 10:04:02 PMBar the early penalty. Atalanta bossed that. As easy as they would've hoped for. They've some good footballers and a good manager. The farewell tour is turning into a shambles
All about context I suppose.
This time last season Liverpool were 20+ points off the top of the table, no trophies won and out of the race for Top 4 for Champions League football.
This season they have a trophy won, will be back in the Champions League next season and are 2 points off the top of the table.
Would Liverpool fans have taken that at the start of the season?
I'm sure other clubs who aren't doing so well this season would be happy with that lot.
Despite their recent form Klopp is leaving them in a good position for next season.
Last post by snoopdog - Today at 08:22:23 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on Today at 12:56:12 AMWill Croker be still hosting the fan zone?
No need now. ;D
Last post by johnnycool - Today at 08:18:00 AM
Emi Martinez is some spud, the type of player any team would want in their ranks but the opposition and their fans absolutely hate.

With him being an Argie certainly doesn't help to endear himself to the British red tops and their on-line equivalents with football 365 calling him "the pricks p***k"

He's a winner though and doesn't give two shíts how he does it, every team needs a Martinez.  ;D 
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by johnnycool - Today at 08:06:33 AM
Quote from: marty34 on April 18, 2024, 11:06:24 PM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on April 18, 2024, 10:29:23 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 18, 2024, 10:18:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2024, 06:27:14 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 18, 2024, 04:59:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2024, 04:45:00 PM"It's not just the removal of the helmet though, it's if you've to stop the play to allow a physio on at all."

If I have to stop play.

Though if a physio comes on and can administer a spray while play continues I'm happy with that, should I have to blow the whistle and the player requires assistance they have to go off, now seeing as it was my first real go at it, I waved the player on rather than waiting for a break, he was genuinely hurt from a tackle from the other team, its a bit unfair surely to disadvantage them twice? 

But is that not wrong, going by them new rules?

Completely

Bitta common sense needs to be applied and while I'm not against following it to the letter, sometimes it's actually counterproductive and not serving the reason why it's introduced

The reason for the new rules is to prevent cynical playacting,  faking injuries to slow the game down like nicky quaid getting something in his eye last year.
If its genuine then it's harsh but if they're acting the bollox then I'd make them wait for the next break in play.

This rule was apparently amended during the week, to include the goalkeeper! Doesn't make much sense.

I said that a few weeks ago that to circumvent all this is for the keeper to go down. The rule didn't mention keepers.

I'd make it another player must stand i  goals and team down to 14 players until next break in play.

That is what is meant to happen even if there's a penalty to be taken, if the keeper receives treatment from the incident that led to the penalty being given they too need to leave the field of play until the next break in play or in MR2's case when he waves him back on...

Those frankies never were ones for following the rules.

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by tonto1888 - Today at 07:42:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on Today at 12:05:06 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2024, 07:17:32 PMThinking about how the lack of interest in games here reflect the general apathy in the community towards football. Used to be you'd have a thread for each of the big games here with multiple pages of craic, analysis and bickering. Now we've one amalgamated thread for all of ulster with very little interest or posts. You'll never see a 100page + thread of tyrone v Armagh banter ever again.

Came across this on YouTube the other day...

https://youtu.be/arMAgKKhltk?si=VJ9e3OEDG69jXF9u

It's a copy of the Sam 2005 dvd with extended highlights throughout that summer. Forgot how good these dvds were. What really stands out for me, outside of the crowds and quality of the football, was the general atmosphere in the games. The type of football played generated and sustained an almost constant noise throughout the match. The number of contests for the ball was significantly higher and its contests that generate that edge of the seat excitement that in turn created a cauldron of atmosphere and spectacle.

Youll still see unreal skills in today's game, mindblowing points and class goals. However, these are small peaks amongst the dredge we have to watch for 80% of the game. Watching games these days and I can't help but notice the level of general chat in the stands, people on phones and flatness. You'll hardly ever hear a chant outside of the odd come on you blues.

I've wrote this post as I've just completed the GAA games survey and hope that something will be found to return our game to its former glory. To me that is moving away from the obsession with possession based football and finding away to create more opportunities for contests in attack, midfield and forwards. Or maybe I'm a grumpy f**ker and will just have to accept transitions, 20+ passes back to the keeper and 30 players inside a 45 multiple times a game. What a load of shite.

The only way you can return to those days is a straight knockout from the start. It won't happen. 20 years ago I'd have sleepless nights about losing to Cavan. Now, whatever, still a lock a group games.

The GAA may be amateur but its money-making machine is as professional as the NFL in the States.

It wasnt straight knockout in those days though. That said I agree with that post. Football is generally a hard watch these days