GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on January 11, 2016, 06:35:43 PM

Title: Allianz Hurling League 2016
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 11, 2016, 06:35:43 PM
February 14 (Sunday) at O'Moore Park, 14:00
Laois v Ciarraí

February 21 (Sunday) at O'Connor Park, Tullamore, 14:00
Uíbh Fhailí v Laois

March 5 (Saturday) at O'Moore Park, 19:00
Laois v An Clár

March 12 (Saturday)  at Gaelic Grounds, Limerick, 17:00
Luimneach v Laois

March 20 (Sunday)  at O'Moore Park, 14:00
Laois v Loch Garman
Title: Re: Allianz Hurling League 2016
Post by: redsetanta on January 29, 2016, 09:50:45 PM
I see friends of Laois hurling are saying on Facebook that Joe Fitz will not be returnimg.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 31, 2016, 07:22:16 PM
Lost 1-31 to 0-17 points in a challenge against Tipp today. Were winning at half time. I would imagine the wind played its part. Anyone hear what sort of team was out?
Post by: Podge72 on January 31, 2016, 08:28:49 PM
I was at it

By my rough calculation,Laois were 6/7 points ahead at half time.
Tipp made 11/12 changes for the second half,the wind was strong but didn't have a bearing on the final result.

As a portlaoise based Tipp man I can't have any complaints
Post by: Podge72 on January 31, 2016, 08:36:12 PM
http://tipperary.gaa.ie/senior-hurling-challenge-tipperary-1-31-laois-0-17/
Post by: TheGreatGame on January 31, 2016, 09:08:58 PM
A bit of a beating, but it was a good test I'm sure for certain players before the league begins.  Good to see Hyland back in action and 0-17 isn't a bad score to put up against any Tipp. selection.

In my view the home/away fixtures have been kind to us.  We've avoided the long trip to Kerry, and being home or away to Offaly doesn't seem to matter much going on the last two years, whoever wants it more on the day will win it.  Hopefully we can get the injured and newly returned players up to speed for the start of the league as it's vital we have something to play for going into the Clare/Lim/Wex games.
Post by: redsetanta on January 31, 2016, 09:21:55 PM
Offaly will be really looking forward to playing us after our win in the championship last year. WIll be a tough game. We have to nake sure and beat Kerry first up and be going into the Offaly game with a bit of momentum. Wexford were poor enough on Saturday night but they should improve during the league. It would be great to still have something to play for when they arrive in O'Moore Park for the last league game on March 20th.
Post by: Tobias on February 01, 2016, 02:35:37 AM
The score line doesn't read well but we were level with them half way through the second half so that's a positive. Anyone got the team that played?
Post by: Tobias on February 10, 2016, 04:07:14 PM
Any ideas on the starting team for the game on Sunday?
Cheddar has said it will be a new team so it will be interesting to see the line up.
This is a huge game for Laois and it's a really important one to win.
I would probably go with this team
Reilly/Rowland
C Healy
D Maher
D Palmer
T Delaney
M Whelan
R Mullaney
C Collier
P Purcell
C Dwyer
Z Keenan
W Hyland
R King/W Dunphy/PJ Scully
N Foyle
P Maher
Post by: Helix on February 10, 2016, 04:30:19 PM
Did Roddy King get shoulder injury last night in the Fitzgibbon vs Maynooth?
Post by: redsetanta on February 10, 2016, 04:51:00 PM
Tobias, do you think the Foyle at centreback experiment is finished with? I would have thought he would start there against Kerry.

Will Hyland and Keenan be back?
Post by: merman on February 10, 2016, 05:30:33 PM
Neil Foyle will start centre-back on Sunday.
Matthew Whelan midfield.

Hyland and Keenan not available for the Kerry game but should come into contention for subsequent rounds.
Post by: finbar o tool on February 10, 2016, 05:55:51 PM
id have Reddin in over Collier any day. (unless hes injured??)

we could be looking through our fingers for the second half of this game, i think it will be tight.
Post by: TheGreatGame on February 10, 2016, 06:04:06 PM
In some games a performance is as important as a result, but this Sunday is not one of those games!  I'm apprehensive and curious in equal measure.  Kerry have some really fine hurlers with Shane Nolan probably the pick of them and some very useful hurlers from Tipp. and Clare.  They will view this game as the one to really target for a win and with Limerick legend Carey driving them on they certainly won't lack for determination.

It will be really interesting to see how Laois line out.  I'm open to the idea of Foyle at centre back, but I can't help but feel that if he is fit enough to play at 6 then he would also be by far our most dangerous full forward.  It's looking like we'll have a physically powerful half back line but there will be a lot of pressure on midfield and the half forward line to help out as there is not much pace there.

Hyland and Keenan are big losses in the forwards, that much is obvious.  Cha and Picky should be flying it however, and with Dunphy, Scully, Reddin etc. trying to nail down a place on the team we should be okay.  The lack of physical heft in the forwards would be another worry, particularly with the weather so bad of late.

It's early in the year yet, but I don't think it's stretching it to say that Sunday is a must-win; I find it very hard to see how the panel will lift themselves after an opening day loss.  Best of luck to the lads and lets try and get a vocal home support behind them on Sunday.
Post by: finbar o tool on February 10, 2016, 06:37:36 PM
i will be more interested in HOW they play rather than who plays or who plays where.
against Dublin we had 2 in the full forward line and an extra midfielder. and yet time seemed to stand still when Dublin had the ball, they had all the time in the world to look up and pick out a team mate who had made a run into space for a pass. no pressure from our lads whatsoever, 3rd midfielder had no impact. similar craic to last year.
we must respect this Kerry team for sure, but we need not fear them. i hope cheddar goes 15 on 15 Sunday and takes this Kerry team head on. if we dont, i think we'll be in trouble, especially without the likes of Willie and Zane to pick off long range points.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 11, 2016, 05:05:57 PM
Quote from: finbar o tool on February 10, 2016, 06:37:36 PM
i will be more interested in HOW they play rather than who plays or who plays where.
against Dublin we had 2 in the full forward line and an extra midfielder. and yet time seemed to stand still when Dublin had the ball, they had all the time in the world to look up and pick out a team mate who had made a run into space for a pass. no pressure from our lads whatsoever, 3rd midfielder had no impact. similar craic to last year.
we must respect this Kerry team for sure, but we need not fear them. i hope cheddar goes 15 on 15 Sunday and takes this Kerry team head on. if we dont, i think we'll be in trouble, especially without the likes of Willie and Zane to pick off long range points.

Nail on the head here we must go 15 v 15 as we lack the long range point scorers bar Cha and if the weather is as bad as its suppose to be even he could struggle Sunday from distance...

I'd much rather have Foyle in at 14 I hope its not a case of he ends up there late in the day as we try to scramble a goal...

Looking forward to Sunday but believe me when I say this Kerry team is decent they have played Limerick, Cork, Clare and Waterford allready this year and have scored well in some of those game 0-18  against Limerick and 0-18 against Cork only loosing by five

They have beaten teams like Antrim Westmeath and Carlow when it mattered last year....

I think we could struggle Sunday!
Post by: Ogie on February 12, 2016, 09:58:46 AM
I'm of the same view as a few others here, I'm actually quiet nervous about Sunday, Kerry have played top quality teams this year so far to get up to pace and will be hugely up for this as it is their chance to survive in 1b!
Our new team have to settle quickly, I do believe Foyle can hurl well and distribute the ball brilliantly from 6 but I'm disappointed not to see him given the chance to lead out attack at 14 or 11,

As said result is all that matters Sunday
Post by: redsetanta on February 12, 2016, 10:49:49 AM
I read an article about young players to watch out for in Div 1b this year and Leigh Bergin was one of them. He didn't play against Dublin so will he be involved on Sunday? Is he training away with the panel?
I assume everyone being fit he would be challenging with Mullaney for a half back slot.
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2016, 11:12:32 AM
I think Galway will bate Cork. I might go along to see it.
Post by: burdizzo on February 12, 2016, 11:45:05 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 12, 2016, 10:49:49 AM
I read an article about young players to watch out for in Div 1b this year and Leigh Bergin was one of them. He didn't play against Dublin so will he be involved on Sunday? Is he training away with the panel?
I assume everyone being fit he would be challenging with Mullaney for a half back slot.

I'm pretty sure Leigh Bergin played against Dublin. I must admit, I arrived just on time, so all the team sheets were gone, but I thought he was number 18? And taken off in the second half? He didn't seem to set the world on fire, but he got a few pucks. I'd prefer Mullaney, to be honest.
Post by: redsetanta on February 12, 2016, 02:56:31 PM
Yeh,just checked there and Bergin did start half back against Dublin. Was late getting in myself and didn't know who it was.

He was a very good minor though so hopefully he continues to improve at senior level. Still very young.
Post by: burdizzo on February 13, 2016, 10:57:20 AM
I see he's starting half-back against Kerry, which surprised me a bit. No Keenan or Hyland yet, either, and Foyle in his new centre-back place. Cha at full forward, though I'd imagine he'll drift out a bit. It's a very young team - I just hope they can click for Kerry. It'll be close enough, I fear.
Post by: redsetanta on February 13, 2016, 11:45:10 AM
Palmer will hardly start in the corner either. Can see alot of switches
Post by: finbar o tool on February 13, 2016, 12:16:33 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 13, 2016, 11:45:10 AM
Palmer will hardly start in the corner either. Can see alot of switches

Yea when i saw Palmer down as corner forward, my first thought was, he's the 3rd midfielder....
Post by: redsetanta on February 13, 2016, 12:44:05 PM
I think Palmer played corner back for Carlow IT in Fitzgibbon.

Won't be 15 v15 anyhow. The main thing is the win and momentum for Offaly game next week.

Post by: TheGreatGame on February 14, 2016, 12:28:57 AM
Taken from hoganstand.com:

Laois (HL v Kerry) – Enda Rowland; Oisin Carroll, Darren Maher, Cahir Healy; Leigh Bergin, Neil Foyle, Ryan Mullaney; Matthew Whelan, Brendan Reddin; Ciaran Collier, Stephen Maher, Patrick Purcell; Dwane Palmer, Charlie Dwyer, PJ Scully.

I'm really looking forward to seeing how the new guys get on.  It would be nice to see Hyland and Keenan togged out in case they are needed.  It's a big day for the u21's and others that are getting their chance such as Oisin Carroll, really hoping it goes well for these guys in particular.
Post by: redsetanta on February 14, 2016, 03:53:06 PM
Kerry were very good today but it's a disaster for Laois hurling. Cha gone now for Offaly game who put in a credible performance against Clare today.
Very hard to see a win against Offaly now.
Post by: burdizzo on February 14, 2016, 04:01:50 PM
Sums it up well enough.
Hyland and Keenan can't be back soon enough.
Post by: Ogie on February 14, 2016, 05:14:29 PM
Worst performance from a Laois team in a long long time, this was set up for this and if we knew it management should have known it and guarded against it and have attitudes and performances right for today
A lot of the new lads not up to standard and never will be, but I thought management were shocking today, even their body language, especially in second half when it was slipping away from us
How they looked at Dwane Palmer, Ryan Mullaney, Oisin Carroll, Ben Reddin, Picky, for so long was crazy, why not bring in Tom Delaney early?? Taking off Matthew??

This was a huge game to win, to have a successfully year we needed to win this game, the Offaly game and beat Kerry again in Leinster quarter final that's it, target those 3 games

Credit to Kerry they hurled brilliantly, long year ahead now, back at square one
Post by: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 05:17:40 PM
Firstly, €15 to get in and see that??!

That was disgraceful from Laois today. To go out and play so defensively against Kerry is just shocking. Cheddar has no guts in him whatsoever. I hope this is his last year. I have some small bit of sympathy for the players, they obviously aren't getting coached very well and the set up is just sad, sad that that's the best players we have in Laois and sad that cheddar thinks he has to play 2 in the full forward line, bring back an extra man, and have no plan on how to get ball into that 2 man full forward line, against Kerry!... Its the same shite every year, we are so predictable its a joke.
A half-fit Keenan or Hyland would be better than most of those forwards today. But anyone who thinks the 2 boys are going to come back in and save the day are sorely mistaken! Not with that set up.
Taking off Matt Whelan and leaving the likes of Carroll and Palmer on the pitch, no Tom Delaney until almost forced to use him with 5mins left?
Cheddar hasnt a clue. A sad sad day.
Post by: beano on February 14, 2016, 05:34:26 PM
Finbarr, like everyone Im gutted about today , However giving out about the management is not the way to go! this management is the most professional we have ever had. If they went you would see how bad things can get really quickly!! The team that played today should have been good enough to beat Kerry! The players have to shoulder the blame, they were the people between the white lines. Just a couple of things to note, From looking at Laois over past few years our strength and conditioning is not up to inter-county standard. This starts at 14 not when they come into a senior set up! Also people are raving about our development squads which in my opinion are a joke most years. Also how many hurlers do we have that can hurl both sides. Cha is the only one. Today is a wake up call about where we really stand in the pecking order!!

Post by: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 05:49:17 PM
Cheddar has brought in a professional set up, i will always say that about him, but thats what any county trying to improve has/needs. I would be delighted if he left, give me any manager in the country who wont play defensively against f**king Kerry any day. Its not progressive hurling. Its not improving our hurling. Ive said all this before, i said it last year when lads were singing his praises after beating a bad Offaly team with long range points. If cheddar cant go out and take on Kerry hurlers then he will never do it. What kind of message do you think that sends to the players?? Do you think it fills them with confidence??
Kerry were able to move off the ball and take us on, dont you think that came from coaching/management? Only for that late goal Kerry would have beat us by 10pts!! They won pulling up! Does anyone still think this sweeper/3rd midfielder bullshit is working, at all??!
Post by: G@@ on February 14, 2016, 05:56:02 PM
Very disappointing result today. A few players on that team that are not anywhere near IC standard. Very poor performance from Scully. Our first touch was very poor when compared to Kerry. Credit to Kerry who have some good players and they brought hunger and intensity to todays game.
Post by: Ogie on February 14, 2016, 06:24:24 PM
This blind faith & backing that Cheddar has got up to now can't continue with such performances,
Management can be questioned and should be after performances & results like today,

Beaten out the gate by Kerry!!
Scully was a hell of a lot better than Dwyane Palmer or Ben Reddin!!

This game was taken for granted by players and management,
What's going to happen the rest of the year??
Win no game in the league, hurl Antrim in a relegation play off
I wouldn't put the house on us winning that,

In Championship probably hurl Kerry again in a Leinster quarter final,

We had 3 big matches to aim at and win this year, starting with today!!
Post by: TheGreatGame on February 14, 2016, 07:34:33 PM
Today was a bad, bad day alright, no question about that.  I think the penny has dropped that without Hyland, Keenan, Joe Fitz etc we are a Division 2 team.  It's one thing talking about implementing game plans, but Kerry had better hurlers than us today and fair play to them.  We have a lot of hurlers that have some of the attributes required to hurl at this level, but very few, if any, that have them all.  And jeez, we are so small physically....watching the other two hurling games on TG4 when I got home was a bit frightening really.   I felt for Cha today, a really top class hurler that showed the will to win.  Healy as well fought to the last and scored a cracking goal to stop it being a total rout.

The rest of the league is daunting to say the least.  I hate being defeatist but we won't beat Offaly without our four best forwards and then we have the strongest three teams in the division to follow.
The priority now has to be getting Roddy, Zane, Hyland, Delaney etc right and fit for championship.  I do feel getting a few basics right, such as our puck out stategy (we hit an opposing player with them as often as we hit our own guys) will help matters

Considering the u21 draw, serious thought should be put into prioritising this squad with a view to getting them into a Leinster final.  We finished the game today with about 8 u21's on the field today.

I'm not going to go into criticising individuals and I don't agree with posters picking guys out as I know the players will be hurting and some of them probably read these forums.  I felt a lot of the lads tried hard today, but to me it really seems like certain lads only put in the effort when it suits.
Post by: redsetanta on February 14, 2016, 07:37:43 PM
Kerry was always going to target this game and they brought an almost championship intensity to it.

Their thinking was that they beat Laois and the pressure is off. They have quality players and fair play to them they have given themselves breathing space.

Laois on the other hand had too many players who weren't 'up' for it and couldn't match the intensity Kerry brought. Everyone knew so the Laois lads should have been ready and went at Kerry. Maybe there was some complacency but there shouldn't have been.

I really like what Cheddar has brought to the Laois set up and his passion and committment cannot be questioned however someone should be making decisions on the line because he has always been very slow to make changes.

Laois should have burst out of the blocks in the second half yet it was Kerry who came at us.

It's a sad day for Laois hurling considering where we've come from over the past few years to a performance like that today.

Hard to know where we go from here because if we do end up in Div 2 after all the effort that went in it would be a disaster.
Post by: OldAlly on February 14, 2016, 07:42:02 PM
Very poor performance. I felt that the man marking along the half forward and midfield lines done the most damage. Two half forwards for Kerry were let do what they liked. In regards to the forwards I couldn't understand what we were trying to do, we were left with one in the full forward line for most of the time. When are we going to hurl 15 on 15 and cut out this crap of pushing lads out the field. Dwane Palmer should have been corner back let alone half forward. Paddy purcell was our best player last year at midfield and now he's hurling full forward?? Scully is a very good hurler but his work rate is nowhere near county standard I'm afraid. I'd like to see us go conventional against Offaly. Frustrating to say the least.
Post by: Joeythelips on February 14, 2016, 08:10:14 PM
In fairness to Cheddar he can only use a game plan for players at his disposal, Laois must be physically one of the smallest teams around and we don't have a huge pool of talent. He plays a defensive system to limit the other team and try and counter attack to get scores.  People have short memories as Laois were a joke before Cheddar, also we have lost some of our best players since last year, today some players had a chance to step up to the plate but did not take it. Laois need players coming through and in fairness there is good work being done at underage but they dont turn into top IC players overnight. Also one other point, Kerry are a similar shape to Laois  in that they are a side in development and on an upward curve so its not the massive shock some make out, they would have been preparing all winter for this fixture.
Post by: redsetanta on February 14, 2016, 08:34:24 PM
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/the-next-one-is-still-a-battle-for-a-quarter-final-cheddar-plunkett (https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/the-next-one-is-still-a-battle-for-a-quarter-final-cheddar-plunkett)

Cheddars take on the game.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 14, 2016, 08:39:20 PM
Quote from: Ogie on February 14, 2016, 06:24:24 PM
This blind faith & backing that Cheddar has got up to now can't continue with such performances,
Management can be questioned and should be after performances & results like today,

Beaten out the gate by Kerry!!
Scully was a hell of a lot better than Dwyane Palmer or Ben Reddin!!

This game was taken for granted by players and management,
What's going to happen the rest of the year??
Win no game in the league, hurl Antrim in a relegation play off
I wouldn't put the house on us winning that,

In Championship probably hurl Kerry again in a Leinster quarter final,

We had 3 big matches to aim at and win this year, starting with today!!

Just to reply to your post, as a general reply/post regarding the match.

Firstly, Cheddar has serious limitations as an Intercounty Manager. I do believe he has made huge strides/improvements though and deserves some faith. The performance today was terrible.
Some of the decisions from the line were poor. I wouldn't have taken Matthew off, but then again he was caught in possesion 3 times in the first half and was getting on almost zero ball in the second half. Just an illustration of the point that all of the players need to shoulder responsibility for today also.

As for Scully (seeing as you mentioned him), he has fantastic talent, but of the 36/37 players who participated today his workrate was by far the worst. This is a regular thing and he will turn into a player we cannot afford to carry if he doesn't change his ways very quickly.
Say what you like about Palmer, Reddin, Collier, Cha, Purcell, Whelan etc but each of them fought to turn ball over. Scully didn't and doesn't. Take the rose tinted glasses off my friend.

We are in a bit of trouble.
Hyland, Keenan and Delaney will start. Other than that who are we missing off our strongest 15? I cannot think of anyone else.
I can only think of 1 player outside of the current panel who should be there (retirements excepted).

Hard to see us beating Offaly. One thing in our defence would be that I would reckon that Kerry targeted training wise and did alot more ball work than we have. I would say they are aiming to peak a month or two earlier than we are.

Post by: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 08:56:25 PM
Keyser Scully was winning ball back on his own half back line with 10 mins to go so i dont see how he had the worst work rate!!
Another thing to remember about Scully, hes the type of player you want on the end line and being fed good quality ball, that, is certainly not happening! You do that with Scully and he will deliver for you all day long.
Quote from: Joeythelips on February 14, 2016, 08:10:14 PM
In fairness to Cheddar he can only use a game plan for players at his disposal, Laois must be physically one of the smallest teams around and we don't have a huge pool of talent. He plays a defensive system to limit the other team and try and counter attack to get scores.  People have short memories as Laois were a joke before Cheddar, also we have lost some of our best players since last year, today some players had a chance to step up to the plate but did not take it. Laois need players coming through and in fairness there is good work being done at underage but they dont turn into top IC players overnight. Also one other point, Kerry are a similar shape to Laois  in that they are a side in development and on an upward curve so its not the massive shock some make out, they would have been preparing all winter for this fixture.

Joey Cheddar has had the same game plan for the last 4 years no matter what the team, damage limitation, and guess what, it hasn't worked!! And Laois were a joke before Cheddar?? What would you call today?? Its as bad as getting hammered by Cork a few years ago, at least Cork were a good team! It wont matter who we have back for the next day, cheddar will have the same plan and we'll be beat again! I do agree with one thing, Kerry are a developing team, Laois on the other hand....
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 14, 2016, 09:07:11 PM
It was truly awful today. Kerry looked like Kilkenny in comparison. They had some lovely hurlers but had all the space in the world to operate. Most of their scores came from lads with an acre of space.

Darren Maher, Cahir Healy, Neil Foyle and Cha looked like inter county hurlers. Mark Kavanagh did well when he came on. Outside that, we lost every position. We are simply not producing enough hurlers to add strength and depth. Zane, Willie and Roddy will help but all 3 are forwards.

On Cheddar, again he showed that his game planning and line management is questionable. Ben Reddin midfield and Paddy Purcell in the corner? Joe Phelan corner back? Matthew Whelan not particularly mobile at centre back and expected to play midfield? I know he is limited in terms of the panel but surely when we were being cleaned out for every puck out for the entire game he could have pushed more support in there?

Think it will be a miracle if we pick up a single point in this division.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 14, 2016, 09:39:48 PM
Quote from: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 08:56:25 PM
Keyser Scully was winning ball back on his own half back line with 10 mins to go so i dont see how he had the worst work rate!!
Another thing to remember about Scully, hes the type of player you want on the end line and being fed good quality ball, that, is certainly not happening! You do that with Scully and he will deliver for you all day long.
Quote from: Joeythelips on February 14, 2016, 08:10:14 PM

Joey Cheddar has had the same game plan for the last 4 years no matter what the team, damage limitation, and guess what, it hasn't worked!! And Laois were a joke before Cheddar?? What would you call today?? Its as bad as getting hammered by Cork a few years ago, at least Cork were a good team! It wont matter who we have back for the next day, cheddar will have the same plan and we'll be beat again! I do agree with one thing, Kerry are a developing team, Laois on the other hand....

He didn't try a leg as regards closing down Kerry defenders.
All forwards would surely claim to be at their best when being fed "good quality ball".
A quote from an article on Henry Shefflin when he retired; "Among the Kilkenny forwards he committed the greatest number of hooks, blocks, tackles, fouls and acts of physical defiance. In his spare time he scored 7 points, 4 of them from play"
I have no problem agreeing that Cheddar has limitations in terms of team selection and line management. Please don't peddle this argument whilst allowing club allegiances to blind your judgement regarding the performances of individual players. Talent, ability and potential do no equate to performance.

On the specifics of him winning ball back on his own half back line, I cannot recall this. Laois spent most of the last 10/12 minutes with only  3/4 defenders. Even Joe Phelan spent time placed beyond his own half forward line. I can only guess that the instance you are talking about came after a long range free/'65 he came out to take. He certainly did not drift back there whilst chasing an opposition player in possession.

I'm sure Cheddar can address some of the deficiencies in his game management, likewise I'm sure PJ can too! B/K posters need to remember both sides of the coin!
Post by: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 09:55:40 PM
Keyser dont pretend to know where im from! You have no idea! ;D every player today was shite, no matter where they're from, your the one singling out PJ! I singled out one person, Cheddar. And i will stand by that 100%. He'll address f**k all.
And by the way, There was a camera there today, get the video and look at it, it'll jog your memory.  ;)
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 14, 2016, 10:20:05 PM
I stand over everything I said.

As regards me "singling out PJ"......have a read back. I replied to somebody comparing him to others.

Are you contradicting the fact that he generally does not hassle/harry opposing defences from general play and short puck outs? He certainly did not today?
Post by: finbar o tool on February 14, 2016, 10:36:19 PM
I did read back! You replied to a one line comment with a paragraph!
Im not contradicting anything, my posts in general are about the defensive team set up and bad management. And you're right, any forward would perform if getting good quality ball, my point exactly, there was no quality ball! 2 man full forward line, lobbing in high ball, that was the tactics today, a must win game, against Kerry, incase anyone needed reminding....
My 'beef' is with cheddar, not you keyser, i wouldnt waste my time.

And this talk about physical size? Bullshit. Tell that to Tommy Walsh or Joe Deane etc. James Hooban terrorised defences in Laois for years! If you're playing good attacking play with good movement off thd ball size doesnt come into it. They're just excuses! There is no excuse for being too spineless to set your team up to take on Kerry head on, on home soil.
Post by: Tony on February 15, 2016, 10:13:03 AM
Calm down. Cheddar out? Are you serious at all. Bring who in? Someone who doesn't care about the county at all? Just like the bad days? We have a serious, passionate set up in there. Sure, we need improvement in key areas. But it's extremely early in the year. I'd have a Cheddar in there VS a journey man any day.
Post by: Home Boys Home on February 15, 2016, 10:30:34 AM
The worrying thing is that surely we would have targeted yesterday as a must-win match, with an equally vital clash with Offaly following next week. Training 5 times a week in November, surely we were targeting two wins in these games.

So I don't think we took Kerry for granted. Kerry were better organised, hungrier and hurled with more confidence.

First thing we need to do is pick players in their best positions. Matthew Whelan centre back, Paddy Purcell midfield and Neil Foyle at centre or full forward for a start. We have lost most of our best defenders to retirement in the last 12 months and that is enough upheaval without making changes we don't need to make.   
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 15, 2016, 10:46:17 AM
Agree with alot of this Home Boys Home.

I thought Foyle has played some great ball inside from centre back in last few games, but we probably started with too much inexperience in key positions yesterday.
The withdrawal of Matthew Whelan and the introduction of Joe Phelan were moves I couldn't make any sense of considering how the game was going.

Huge reaction needed for next weekend, but its a big ask without Cha. I presume we will see the return of Hyland and Keenan rushed forward?

Definites;
Rowland/Reily (But I think he favours Rowland)
Healy
Tom Delaney
Matthew
Paddy Purcell
Cha
Keenan
Hyland
Foyle (somewhere)
King

Presumably he will also include;
Palmer
Maher
Picky
Scully

That makes 14. On yesterday I would give the 15th spot to Ciarán Collier. There doesn't seem to be anybody else going crazy for it, but a long way to go yet.

Rowland
Healy Maher Palmer
Delaney Foyle Matthew
     Purcell Keenan
Hyland Cha Collier
Scully King Picky

This is probably as good as we are going to come up with? Problem on the half back line/midfield, and unless Mullaney/Bergin/Reddin can step up hugely on yesterday then we cannot afford to release Foyle, Keenan or Purcell to the forward line.

But trying stuff like Reddin and Matthew midfield and Purcell full forward at a time when there is already forced changes has backfired badly.

As an aside, I was not attempting to hang on PJ Scully out to dry for yesterdays result. I have issues with his workrate but I was merely highlighting that "Cheddar Out!" and "Its the stupid gameplan we are playing" do not tell the full story.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 15, 2016, 10:52:05 AM
It has to be said that Kerry are never a team Laois have routinely put away even with a settled experienced team. Kerry must have been licking their lips when
they realised that Laois were playing debutants at corner back Carroll and both wing backs Bergin and Mullaney. Then we put a full forward Foyle at centre back and a lad coming
back to county hurling after 3/4 years out Maher at full back. Further to this we had a half back and a corner forward playing midfield. One with mobility but little size and the
other with size and little mobility. Then we are missing our main 3 scoring forwards.

The result wasn't that surprising in the end.

Post by: burdizzo on February 15, 2016, 11:35:31 AM
Keyser, I believe King was injured playing for UCD last week. Is that right? So, he'd be out for the Offaly game, anyway. Cha will also be out for that w/ his red card. A real shame, that,  as himself, Healy and Foyle were the only ones really taking the fight to Kerry.
Not sure Rowland wasn't a bit slow out for the Kerry goal - but then Reilly comes out too much at times...
I don't think there's any use getting rid of the manager now, but there'd need to be a bit of a step up for him to be at the helm next year.

Post by: LOVEGAA on February 15, 2016, 11:49:38 AM
It amazes me how Laois mostly end up chasing a game. Its like we dont have the confidence to take the game by the neck at the start and go from there. We always seem to end up as a defencive team always following the opponents lead.
Kerry came out and did the simple thing. They got the ball and ran at our goal , if they had a chance of scoring from out field they took it and when we headed for their goal the closed us down.
Its very simple really but Laois always seem to over play the ball, Its like we have to pass it about 5 times before someone has the confidence to take their score.
I feel for the lads because they dont go out to play bad but some of them seem to think they are above having to fight for the ball and wait for handy ball! Its a team sport and they all need to be on board.
I personally think we overdo the fitness training as we certainly didnt look any fitter than kerry yesterday but out hurl/ball handling left a lot to be desired.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 15, 2016, 11:56:56 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 15, 2016, 11:35:31 AM
Keyser, I believe King was injured playing for UCD last week. Is that right? So, he'd be out for the Offaly game, anyway. Cha will also be out for that w/ his red card. A real shame, that,  as himself, Healy and Foyle were the only ones really taking the fight to Kerry.
Not sure Rowland wasn't a bit slow out for the Kerry goal - but then Reilly comes out too much at times...
I don't think there's any use getting rid of the manager now, but there'd need to be a bit of a step up for him to be at the helm next year.

Sorry I should have been clearer. I was working along the lines of a championship team!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 15, 2016, 12:41:37 PM
Quote from: LOVEGAA on February 15, 2016, 11:49:38 AM
Its very simple really but Laois always seem to over play the ball, Its like we have to pass it about 5 times before someone has the confidence to take their score.

Although this might generally be true of Laois we didn't have to worry too much about over playing the ball yesterday because we rarely had it! When we did it was ballooned into the full forward line with about 3 or 4 Kerry lads competing against one Laois lad. We completely failed to win primary posession for pretty much the whole game and when we did our forwards never stood a chance.
Post by: finbar o tool on February 15, 2016, 01:46:10 PM
Quote from: Tony on February 15, 2016, 10:13:03 AM
Calm down. Cheddar out? Are you serious at all. Bring who in? Someone who doesn't care about the county at all? Just like the bad days? We have a serious, passionate set up in there. Sure, we need improvement in key areas. But it's extremely early in the year. I'd have a Cheddar in there VS a journey man any day.

i am dead serious Tony, as previously stated, i hope this is his last year.
these ARE bad days!! last few years especially, more so than this year, he had a bunch of players who would do anything for him, they were mentally focused and committed. and he brought in a professional set up, and i am grateful for that. but thats it. as far as picking a team, decisions on the sideline and game plans, he is at a thing called nothing. and he is not improving hurling in this county. its his decision to play that way so the hurling coaches in the backroom team must coach accordingly!
so i dont care if its a Donegal man or an English man or from anywhere else! As long as they have guts and they want to improve our hurling and they want to go out and try to win games.
yes, we are short a lot of starters from last year, yes, its not the most talented team weve ever had. but you dont just throw in the towel as manager and go with damage limitation on EVERY game. its sickening. and i do feel for the players, they must go with the managers plans/coaching, even if its bullshit and doesn't work. it must be pretty demoralizing for players to get the feeling from your manager that you're inferior to every team you play! even Kerry. instead of opening up and attacking you stay in the fetal position for the match and hope for the best!   
Post by: LOVEGAA on February 15, 2016, 01:54:24 PM
Although this might generally be true of Laois we didn't have to worry too much about over playing the ball yesterday because we rarely had it! When we did it was ballooned into the full forward line with about 3 or 4 Kerry lads competing against one Laois lad. We completely failed to win primary posession for pretty much the whole game and when we did our forwards never stood a chance.

True.. At one point we had a free/line ball (sorry not sure) and when I looked in the forward line Kerry had 2 spare men in there waiting to pick up ball and clear which is exactly what they did.  We expect too much from 1 or 2 forwards and to be honest our forwards are not strong enough for this kind of pressure.
I really dont think its fair to give out about the lads in general as they're doing whats instructed but some of them there yesterday seemed to think someone is just going to hand them the ball!!!
Post by: Helix on February 15, 2016, 06:59:09 PM
Wasn't able to make the game yesterday but was absolutely disgusted with the result yesterday. Hard for the players who in fairness give great commitment to buy that nonsense style Cheddar is working with. You have a young panel of players who at a young age shouldn't carry much baggage with fear when hurling. When you're setting up defensively against the likes of Kerry then how the hell are you meant to progress. The only positive you can take from yesterday that it was in February and not may or June, then we'd really be in sh*ts creek!
No doubt Kerry have some good hurlers and seemed to deserve the win no doubt. Still feel with injuries and some key players to come back come championship we should defeat them if we get the chance.
No doubt the heads are down but hoping for a big response in Tullamore on Sunday.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 16, 2016, 09:24:00 AM
Quote from: Helix on February 15, 2016, 06:59:09 PM
Wasn't able to make the game yesterday but was absolutely disgusted with the result yesterday. Hard for the players who in fairness give great commitment to buy that nonsense style Cheddar is working with. You have a young panel of players who at a young age shouldn't carry much baggage with fear when hurling. When you're setting up defensively against the likes of Kerry then how the hell are you meant to progress. The only positive you can take from yesterday that it was in February and not may or June, then we'd really be in sh*ts creek!
No doubt Kerry have some good hurlers and seemed to deserve the win no doubt. Still feel with injuries and some key players to come back come championship we should defeat them if we get the chance.
No doubt the heads are down but hoping for a big response in Tullamore on Sunday.

Hard to be critical of Cheddar when he has put so much work/money/time into it...

Kinda have to agree with the tactics thing its sickening to look at....Like to see the stats of how many times Laois have turned over the ball when they have played it forward in the last few years it kind of out weighs the stat of the short puck out ..There is not point in having Primary possession in your own half back line...

I'm sure he has men with him in the set up and is intelligent enough to change things.

Saying that Sunday was always going to be hard with the team we had...Next Sunday is vital now if Zane and Willie are still out and we don't have Cha I'm afraid we won't be coming out of Tullamore with more than maybe 1-15 will that be enough to beat the Biffo's

I very much doubt it ..Hope I'm proved wrong!

Post by: redsetanta on February 16, 2016, 09:59:46 AM
One of the main problems we have is that lads cannot get primary possession when a ball is pucked into them. The only one who can do it successfully is Willie Hyland. In the modern game you will win nothing if you cannot catch the ball!
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 16, 2016, 11:35:40 AM
The criticism here has been warranted somewhat. Losing to and being completely outplayed by Kerry could not go unnoticed.

But it must be said that Laois had 7/8 under 21's playing and the panel has seen a major overhaul since last year. Hurling is a young mans game but these lads are not men yet.
Judge them when they are 25/26/27 years of age.
When Cheddar had a experienced team tuned into how he wanted them to play, we were hard to beat.

At the moment he has a very inexperienced team who are only learning how he wants them to play. I do agree that we are overly negative but Cheddar will change things.
He is an intelligent man.

On a side note, we have a player Willie Young hurling centre back on a college team that won the league and are in the Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final yet he is not even on the Laois panel
when we have a shortage of central defenders. I haven't seen him play much but surely he would be an addition to the panel?
Post by: Tobias on February 16, 2016, 03:21:12 PM
Having read the messages over the past couple of days I have to say some guys that post on here really should be ashamed of some of their comments. The Cheddar Plunkett character assassination is an absolute disgrace. What that man hasn't done for the good of laois hurling is not worth talking about. There is no other man like him in the GAA world in my opinion. He has completely transformed the mindset of laois hurling people. If we lost this game to Kerry a few years ago people would be saying 'ah sure they're at nothing'....'how would you expect to win a game with only 10 turning up to training'. The fact we are very disappointed with the result merely highlights the change in attitude. We now think like Cheddar...we want to compete...we want to win. Cheddar has put his whole life into Managing Laois at senior and minor level over the past 7 years, has made huge sacrifices and invested huge personal money into bringing Laois out of the doldrums.

The commitment the players have shown over the past three years is massive, why?? Ask them! They have huge respect and belief in Cheddar and would do anything for him. He has intrigued them with his unbelievable passion for hurling and for Laois. Would Cahir Healy be playing hurling if not for Cheddar? I would say no! Would Zane Keenan be playing for laois if it wasn't for Cheddar? Well he wouldn't play for previous managers! Would other players be bothered? Some of them have committed only because of Cheddar and the incredibly professional set up that he has put in place.

We haven't beaten Offaly for over 40 years in the championship, ran Galway very very close two years in a row, took Clare to extra time in a league quarter final. Previous to this we could not beat Antrim, got knocked out of the championship by Westmeath, got serious hammerings from Dublin and Limerick, not too mention the 10-10-20 jokes with the whole country laughing at us....will I continue..ok our County Chairman has to get our previous manager out of the cop shop because he was on the beer the night before a game and got done for speeding on the way to the game.

As for Sunday's game yes it's a bad result but given the players missing from last year and an improving Kerry team it's not a huge surprise. I have mentioned this a couple of months ago, I think Cheddar should have brought in a new hurling coach instead of Cunningham as I felt his methods have gone a little bit stale. It was Cunningham that brought the defensive style hurling to Laois, it worked wel for a while it must be said (I didn't see finbarr o tool complaining after the Offaly game last year!!) but I do feel it is time to try something different.

I wrote this piece to highlight the 'facts' and that only for Cheddar I think we would still be in the doldrums, this result on Sunday was not good but If any man can turn it around its Cheddar.
LONG LIVE CHEDDAR PLUNKETT!!!
Post by: Tony on February 16, 2016, 03:40:24 PM
Completely agree Tobias. People have verrryy short memories. Calm down people. Things need to change in areas around tactics, but we don't have to kick Jesus out of the barn.
Post by: finbar o tool on February 16, 2016, 04:55:44 PM
"We now think like Cheddar...we want to compete...we want to win." are you having a laugh?! cheddar is terrified to take teams on and try to win!

"The commitment the players have shown over the past three years is massive, why?? Ask them! They have huge respect and belief in Cheddar and would do anything for him. He has intrigued them with his unbelievable passion for hurling and for Laois. Would Cahir Healy be playing hurling if not for Cheddar? I would say no! Would Zane Keenan be playing for laois if it wasn't for Cheddar? Well he wouldn't play for previous managers! Would other players be bothered? Some of them have committed only because of Cheddar and the incredibly professional set up that he has put in place."

i agree with some of this, but if cheddar was gone and pro set up was still there, wouldn't that be enough to keep lads there? or would they all just walk away if cheddar left?? the main reason lads wouldn't turn up 4/5 years ago was because it was an amateur (to put it mildly) set up at the time. ive always said i admire cheddar for that, for bringing in a pro set up. i also never doubted his passion. 

"not too mention the 10-10-20 jokes with the whole country laughing at us"

please remember this is cheddars 4th year in charge, and now, we are being bet out the gate by Kerry!! not Cork!
and im delighted so many of you have faith that he can look at the tactics and see where hes going wrong and change accordingly but my faith and patience is gone. he hasnt changed so far so i dont seem him suddenly changing now. like i said, if hes not going to have a go against Kerry, he will never do it!!

"It was Cunningham that brought the defensive style hurling to Laois"

really? where did you hear that?? and sorry but if cheddar is manager then he decided it was a good idea and he who decided to run with it ever since. even if it wasnt his idea!

"(I didn't see finbarr o tool complaining after the Offaly game last year!!)"

have a look back at my posts from June/July last year. i was complaining alright! i nearly got ran off this website for doing so!  :)

"LONG LIVE CHEDDAR PLUNKETT" / "Jesus out of the barn"

too much of this carry on..... wake up people ::)

for once and for all, let me say, again, that i respect and admire cheddar for what he has done and for his passion, and i would love for him to stay on in some capacity next year. just not as manager!! he is NOT improving Laois hurling.
Post by: Tony on February 17, 2016, 08:49:20 AM
Right Finabrr. Now tell us which "PROS" to get in that will take us to the top tier, with our budget. We're competitive under Cheddar over the last 4 years - but you seem to know how to get us up with The Kilkenny's and the Galways. Looking forward to your response. Good man.
Post by: finbar o tool on February 17, 2016, 10:12:54 AM
Quote from: Tony on February 17, 2016, 08:49:20 AM
Right Finabrr. Now tell us which "PROS" to get in that will take us to the top tier, with our budget. We're competitive under Cheddar over the last 4 years - but you seem to know how to get us up with The Kilkenny's and the Galways. Looking forward to your response. Good man.

Tony why are you quoting "PROS"??
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on February 17, 2016, 11:53:17 AM
purely judged on last sunday I could go to town on the management and many of those that played...it would be a cheap shot.

as we stand here today, cheddar and his backroom staff will still be in a 50-50 chance  of reaching a  leinster semi final in 2016, remember that game is the big one this season.

unless they make an about turn, the retirements has shed this team of great structure, over the last 2years we have lost  almost the entire back line save  for healy.............typical laois hurling, one  could say, we make  progress and then age acts as a spoilsport.........we have been hearing the spin that the underage  structures have been improving, they have, but now is the real test of that  narrative, as  these kids must prove able deputies  for our departed soldiers.

based on last sunday the likes  of bergin, mullaney, reddin, and carroll don't look the solution...however, having to blood so many newcomers at the same time is never ideal.
forget about the walsh cup in the muck, the main trials  for the championship will be in the remaining 4 league  games...I am sure plenty will get their chance, and there may be an element of moving the deckchairs.

you must hand  one thing to cheddar...last year laois staggered in the round robin games but they were on song for the offaly game, in other words he peaked them to perfection.  I  would be prepared to sacrifice this league as a learning curve, if it helps put the pieces of the jigsaw together for the championship.

my one big criticism of cheddar was  that he was solely at fault for the failure of a decent under 21 team in 2015, the resignation saga the day  before that under 21 game left a sour taste.

given how well the players did at minor level, one would reasonably expect the 2016 under 21s to be the best chance laois have of winning provincial silverware in 2016.....we have a very favourable draw and I sincerely hope cheddar gives this squad his utmost attention, they deserve it.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 17, 2016, 12:14:46 PM
Cheddar is a legend and we can never repay what he has done for us over the last couple of years. We would surely be a mid division 2 team and maybe even Christy Ring standard if not for him. His work in supporting and building the senior team has been immense as well as his driving the direction for underage hurling in Laois, and in attracting investment from the GAA in general by highlighting the struggles of weaker counties. No doubt at all that we are in his debt. Although we are still getting the odd embarrassing beating, there have also been major highlights such as those mentioned by others.

However, despite his leadership, people still have a right to air their frustrations on how he sets up the team. Defensive set ups simply don't work in hurling. Look at what Waterford and Galway did to us last year. If you have lads that can shoot from distance, then they will be only too delighted to see the opposition sitting back. You simply have to have a go forward mentality in hurling, unlike football. If we are going to drop anyone back it should be into the middle where at least we can try to increase primary possession. Also, playing people out of position like on Sunday and not addressing it when it goes badly wrong are just mistakes in my view and the manager is accountable for them. Doesn't mean he should be 'sacked' or that we are not appreciative of his contributions but the poor tactical decision making is contributing to some of the bad results and needs to be fixed.
Post by: merman on February 17, 2016, 04:30:24 PM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on February 17, 2016, 11:53:17 AM

my one big criticism of cheddar was  that he was solely at fault for the failure of a decent under 21 team in 2015, the resignation saga the day  before that under 21 game left a sour taste.

given how well the players did at minor level, one would reasonably expect the 2016 under 21s to be the best chance laois have of winning provincial silverware in 2016.....we have a very favourable draw and I sincerely hope cheddar gives this squad his utmost attention, they deserve it.

Cheddar is not directly involved with the U21w this year. Shane Corby is over them with Tony Doran and I think James Walsh as his selectors.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 19, 2016, 02:52:02 PM
Cheddar is not giving up yet....

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/seamus-plunkett-up-for-fight-to-avoid-laois-drop-382860.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/seamus-plunkett-up-for-fight-to-avoid-laois-drop-382860.html)
Post by: Joeythelips on February 20, 2016, 08:04:56 AM
Team has been named:
http://www.laoisgaa.ie/news/373129/Senior_Hurling_v_Offaly

Huge test for these players, Offaly will be looking to bury them and after the Kerry result most neutrals will expect a convincing win for the Biffos. But it is when the pressure is greatest you find out the most about players character so this is a massive game for Laois. Hope a big crowd turns up to cheer them on.
Post by: Ogie on February 20, 2016, 05:06:32 PM
That team won't start, it's just last weeks team with willie Dunphy thrown in for Cha,
I hope Willie, Zane, Tom Delaney start, Matthew back centre back, Foyle to full/centre forward to give us a chance
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 20, 2016, 07:35:03 PM
Well, here's to a strong showing, tomorrow.

GO LAOIS!

:'(
Post by: burdizzo on February 21, 2016, 06:51:09 PM
Actually, they were moving quite well until Offaly went down to 14 men, and after that the Biffos seemed to step it up a bit. Laoise couldn't cope when their big strong men ran at them, and they didn't seem as able to break through the tackle as easily Offaly, thus often getting done for over-carrying. I know you're always losing when you're giving out about the ref., but he did seem to give Offaly the benefit more often.
Good displays from Ross King, Darren Maher, and Leigh Bergin, and better from Picky. Willie got one of his trademark points when he came on, but really, it is very disappointing not to have won this. They seemed the better team in the first half, and went in only three down with a strong wind to come. Not to be able to capitalise on that - and an extra man - is criminal. They'll certainly be in a relegation play-off now, and I'd fancy that to be a return game against Offaly. Lose that, and I think it'll be another play-off w/ the winners of 2A - is that right? Not looking too good, I'm afraid.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 21, 2016, 07:03:49 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 21, 2016, 06:51:09 PM
A Lose that, and I think it'll be another play-off w/ the winners of 2A - is that right? Not looking too good, I'm afraid.

Yeah there are plenty of trap doors to avoid relegation. Two more shots at it. One v Offaly/Kerry and one v Antrim/Westmeath. Nearly harder to get out of 1B than get into it.
Title: Conspóid
Post by: drici on February 21, 2016, 07:29:15 PM
Kerry 1-05  Limerick 1-16  Half Time
Kerry 1-15  Limerick 1-19  Full Time

Limerick didn't go out of their way to wreck Kerry's and their manager Ciarán Carey's points difference once the match was won. Ciarán will appreciate that.
(Or else there really was a big,big wind).
Post by: burdizzo on February 21, 2016, 08:59:21 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on February 21, 2016, 07:03:49 PM
A Lose that, and I think it'll be another play-off w/ the winners of 2A - is that right? Not looking too good, I'm afraid.

Yeah there are plenty of trap doors to avoid relegation. Two more shots at it. One v Offaly/Kerry and one v Antrim/Westmeath. Nearly harder to get out of 1B than get into it.

God, I'd say Leix could find a way...
Post by: Thewildcat on February 21, 2016, 10:14:13 PM
Actually, they were moving quite well until Offaly went down to 14 men, and after that the Biffos seemed to step it up a bit. Laoise couldn't cope when their big strong men ran at them, and they didn't seem as able to break through the tackle as easily Offaly, thus often getting done for over-carrying. I know you're always losing when you're giving out about the ref., but he did seem to give Offaly the benefit more often.
Good displays from Ross King, Darren Maher, and Leigh Bergin, and better from Picky. Willie got one of his trademark points when he came on, but really, it is very disappointing not to have won this. They seemed the better team in the first half, and went in only three down with a strong wind to come. Not to be able to capitalise on that - and an extra man - is criminal. They'll certainly be in a relegation play-off now, and I'd fancy that to be a return game against Offaly. Lose that, and I think it'll be another play-off w/ the winners of 2A - is that right? Not looking too good, I'm afraid.

Kerry won't beat offaly in Birr plus offaly will have alot of the players who were missing today back. but i fancy laois to beat Kerry in the play off.  as for the ref left offaly with 14 men for most of the second half don't think it was a sending off what you see what Paudie Maher got away with today.  the thing that puzzle me today what was Cheddar at leaving Plamer on Dooley it was a complete miss match.
Post by: SCFC on February 22, 2016, 11:09:11 PM
Pauric Maher should have walked yesterday. A terrible foul.
Post by: burdizzo on February 23, 2016, 07:44:34 AM
Pauric Maher???
Post by: SCFC on February 23, 2016, 07:50:09 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 23, 2016, 07:44:34 AM
Pauric Maher???
Yeah, the wing back. Wasn't it him pulled off that high tackle around the head on TJ Reid? Sorry if I got the name wrong?!
Post by: Unlaoised on February 23, 2016, 09:27:08 AM
Just listened to Cheddar's interview with Jack Nolan there on line to be fair he gets his point across well about how inexperienced we are etc etc..

Says lads are settling in to play a new system and it takes time...

Rubbished the fact that the sweeper system was being defensive and that its a way of attacking differently by holding posession from deep.

Said he was much happier with the fight against Offaly by all the players .

He didn't under estimate Kerry and had them watched in four games leading up to the LAois game but that the players just didn't fight on the day for whatever reason.

As a Laois hurling man he can't wait to get stuck into Clare Limerick and Wexford and these are the game where the county should be wanting to play.

He came across well as I said really making the point about the team needing to settle as a uinit with so many youngsters in it.

We have nothing to loose now and we might as well go and hurl to the best of our ability against Clare and Limerick ...Wexford could be a game you might give us a chance of getting something out of but it looks a big ask now.

Post by: burdizzo on February 23, 2016, 10:38:50 AM
Quote from: SCFC on February 23, 2016, 07:50:09 AM
Pauric Maher???
Yeah, the wing back. Wasn't it him pulled off that high tackle around the head on TJ Reid? Sorry if I got the name wrong?!

Ha ha! I see - you're joking! Laoise wish they had Pauric Maher, and Offaly would love to have TJ Reid!!
Post by: SCFC on February 23, 2016, 11:28:01 AM
Ah no I was talking about the post above mine which referenced Pauric Mahers tackle versus the Offaly lad who got the line Sunday. I was trying to say that Maher should have walked too.
Post by: Thewildcat on February 23, 2016, 07:36:51 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 23, 2016, 10:38:50 AM
Quote from: SCFC on February 23, 2016, 07:50:09 AM
Pauric Maher???

Ha ha! I see - you're joking! Laoise wish they had Pauric Maher, and Offaly would love to have TJ Reid!!
[/quote

course offaly would like to have Reid so woulds tipp and Galway, but offaly have had their wonder forwards to Corrigan, Pat Carroll, Horan, the Dooleys Troy, all al ireland winners, what did laois ever have ????
Post by: burdizzo on February 23, 2016, 09:13:13 PM
Zzzzzz...
Post by: redsetanta on February 26, 2016, 09:46:03 AM
I listened to Cheddars post match interview as well and he spoke well. He knows the task at hand and sounds like he has a clear vision of what needs to be done. I've no doubt that we will stay up in 1B and we will be ready come championship.
Post by: Ogie on March 05, 2016, 10:01:10 AM
A tough evening in store this evening I fear.

Merman I'd love to hear your take/opinion on our current position & the year ahead?
Post by: burdizzo on March 05, 2016, 09:42:29 PM
Well, it wasn't as bad as it could have been, but it was probably a case of Leix dragging Clare down to their level a bit. It'd be easier to pick out the lads who were a bit 'off' (Cha, Picky, Zane) than those who in outstandingly good form, though Healy did fairly well, Whelan looked  somewhat more comfortable, and Joe Phelan had his moments. Scully showed some nice touches when he came on, but his decision making let him down at times. Also, a lot of wides from Laoise made sure it never got really interesting, but they did work hard and showed a bit of fight for a while in the second half.
Still and all, I'd rather an eight point loss to Clare than an eight point loss to Kerry, even if Clare weren't at full tilt.
By the way, anyone know why wasn't Darren Maher playing?
Post by: redsetanta on March 07, 2016, 09:59:06 AM
A few very poor wides on Saturday night when players weren't under any pressure. Granted Clare had quite a few wides in the second half as well.

Plenty of fight in Laois and it threatened to boil over once or twice but it was good to see the fight and Laois lads up fo rthe battle. Cha will have to watch himself as he received a needless yellow for back chat.

PJ is lacking something for a talented fella. Took his eye off the ball when a goal chance was on and maybe was too aware of an impending tackle that never came. He appears to be more peripheral than getting stuck in at times if that makes sense. A bitterly cold night in O'Moore Park too.
Post by: LOVEGAA on March 07, 2016, 11:11:02 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 07, 2016, 09:59:06 AM
A few very poor wides on Saturday night when players weren't under any pressure. Granted Clare had quite a few wides in the second half as well.

Plenty of fight in Laois and it threatened to boil over once or twice but it was good to see the fight and Laois lads up fo rthe battle. Cha will have to watch himself as he received a needless yellow for back chat.

PJ is lacking something for a talented fella. Took his eye off the ball when a goal chance was on and maybe was too aware of an impending tackle that never came. He appears to be more peripheral than getting stuck in at times if that makes sense. A bitterly cold night in O'Moore Park too.

Have to agree . Thought most of the  lads showed a lot of guts at times and you would have to feel sorry for them.

To be honest sometimes I wonder what the line are looking at.
Putting Foyle on O Donnell was pure madness.  Healy was the only one who could match him in pace .

Foyle isnt looking comfortable in the backs in my opinion and I do wonder about putting him back FF and leaving him sitting in front of goal.

Thought Ross King was hard done by being brought off for PJ Scully

Leaving only 2 forwards in was just a waste of time in my opinion and putting too much pressure on King and Hyland

Hyland showed good intelligent play but unfortunately he didnt have the back up

Where was Palmer and Mahers?
Post by: TheGreatGame on March 12, 2016, 12:12:54 PM
From Hoganstand:

Enda Rowland; Joe Phelan, Darren Maher, Cahir Healy; Leigh Bergin, Neil Foyle, Ryan Mullaney; Matthew Whelan, Ciaran Collier; Charles Dwyer, William Hyland, Patrick Purcell; Stephen Maher, Zane Keenan, Ross King.

Still one or two switches I'd make, but I applaud Cheddar for trying things out and bedding in some of the younger lads and I do think the team is getting stronger as the year goes on.  Limerick away is always a tough game but they may have one eye on their winner takes all clash with Clare the following Sunday.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 12, 2016, 06:37:13 PM
God almighty. Despair. 6-29 to 1-12. How can we be so far behind the curve?
Post by: Ogie on March 12, 2016, 09:33:11 PM
Kerry was a brutal performance, this was worse
We are back in big trouble, the attitude, energy everything was so bad this evening, heads down everywhere
It's gone stale again & Cheddar has overstayed, not freshened up the back room team enough,

Excuses about Croke Park not giving us enough money or new players being too young doesn't wash at this level, and I fear for the future too,
Things are not good,
abysmal today
Post by: merman on March 13, 2016, 10:15:27 AM
The simple fact of the matter is that we don't have the players to compete at this level. Limerick are a decent team, probably in that second tier behind the really top counties. Last nights match was a disaster from start to finish; the gulf between those two performances was monumental but regardless, even had we played at our best, Limerick were always going to be too strong.

Now, my first line might seem harsh on the players but I'm going to qualify it. I still maintain that our current panel deserve absolute credit; they are utterly selfless. In my opinion, we are still an absolute minimum of 8-10 years away from seeing any tangible progress at national level. With very few exceptions, the best players in the county are on the panel. One or two lads haven't committed and in hindsight, a couple of lads stepped away too young but that happens in a lot of counties at, around and even above our level. This panel is as good as any Laois manager could have at present but we still don't have the raw ingredients to compete with Limerick etc.

I remember saying last year that there was still going to be some dark days ahead. Last night was bitterly disappointing; not because I never saw it coming but because it is a chilling reminder that this can and will happen again.
There is never going to be an obvious 'win' for this panel. Beating Offly last year was an achievement but outside of Laois and Offaly, it had a negligible impact nationally. And I think a lot involved with Laois know this. To have any chance of progression, we cannot regress to the Teddy McCarthy days. Things have stagnated badly this year but I still remember the sense of absolute dread that was emenating from every member of the Laois hurling fraternity back in those darkest days. Remember we had 7 players training in early June. SEVEN!

There is a growing minority who have turned against Cheddar and performances like yesterday's will surely undermine his standing in many eyes.
Moving forward is crucial. I would be of the opinion that Cheddar has brought through too many of our recent minors too soon but then I know that we have to reenergise the panel from somewhere. I still believe the standard of club hurler in Laois is rising but unlike other counties we don't have a body of good, strong 'club hurlers' in their mid-twenties who might be worth a look. I think nearly every player who came through the minor/U21 setups of recent years has been looked at in one way or another. We're obviously a million miles away from Kilkenny but it's almost the opposite there. Very few players come straight through at 19-22 because they have this core standard of club hurler there and players must earn that right to make a county panel. We have been almost forced to promote players with only miniminal adult hurling experience because our options are so thin on the ground.
That's why I'm saying 8-10 years. Our underage standards are definitely on the rise. Our primary school games are of a higher standard, our U12 championship (and Kilkenny League exploits) last year was brilliant. Abbeyleix will likely go to Feile this year and give the A competition a right rattle. We have a plethora of good, talented young hurling teams coming through. We may not be pulling up trees and winning A competitions at Development Level but we have turned a corner, not THE corner, but A corner. We have a situation where 50 fourteen-year olds turned up for training this year. If they all keep hurling and the same come through next year, we'll be picking a Minor panel from a hypothetical pool of 100 players in a few years. Obviously I'm not saying that every one of these players will go on to be top-class juvenile/senior hurlers but they will hopefully feed into and drive up the standard of club hurler at least.

And these young hurlers need to progress, with time and patience, into a proper setup. Cheddar has provided that at the very least. It now must be maintained. I expect this to be Cheddar's last year and I have nothing but respect for what he has done for the sport I love in Laois. His legacy could well be that the next manager won't have to reinvent the wheel and start from scratch. I expect and hope the next manager is again a Laois man (perhaps a young motivated coach from Camross) and he can keep us moving slowly along the right tracks.

In the immediate, however, there are obvious concerns. I don't think trainings have been brilliant and there are some murmurs of discontent. Could the players benefit from a couple of nights back with their clubs? It's something that we haven't done too often in recent years but it might just help. Release the players for a round of league games; get around and watch these matches, maybe we'd even identify a potential panellist from somewhere.
Much has been written about our style of hurling and to me, it's somewhat of a red herring. I would love to see us going out toe-to-toe with the Limerick/Wexford/Clares of this world but I fear we would get picked off by these teams. I do, however, agree that teams have figured us out and something needs to change. Good teams tend to start with solid half-back lines and this is the area of gravest concern. I like Foyle and I was in favour of the experiment but it hasn't worked out, so what-these things happen. I have some concerns about Matthew at 6 but similarly, it hasn't worked for him further forward and needs changing.
Tom Delaney should be handed the number 7 jersey for the year; Matthew the number 6. Right-half back spot is anybody's to seize right now. The full-back line was cruelly exposed last night but I still don't see obvious alternatives.
Moving forward, Paddy Purcell is the best midfielder in Laois and needs to hurl there. I'd then put Keenan beside him. They have played together before and though Keenan is an out-and-out forward he has the ability to hurl midfield and his delivery and long-range point threat would be a valuable asset.
Hyland starts, Cha starts, Foyle starts. Probably at 10, 11 and 14. I'd start Dunphy and Picky as well, 13 and 12. We then need a corner forward and the contenders for me are King, Scully, Reddin.
That leaves us with:
Reilly/Rowland
Phelan/Palmer-Maher-Healy
Healy/Bergin/Mullaney-Whelan-Delaney
Purcell-Keenan
Hyland-Cha-Picky
Dunphy-Foyle-King

We'd need a lot from that half-forward line. They'd need to cover a lot of ground as I'd want Purcell and Keenan sitting in deep. I'd also withdraw King in between the lines as I think Foyle and Dunphy offer a serious goal threat if 1v1 with any kind of quick high/low ball in. The players must be hurting now. We need a response against Wexford and then again against Kerry/Offaly/Antrim; whomever it may be. That above team can take the game to Wexford. If we drop our midfielders a little deeper on their puck-outs and try contract the space in our defence then we have the players to cause Wexford trouble. And make no mistake, they will smell blood. They will be coming to absolutely bury us.

This year looks like it's going to be a tough one but it can still be retrieved. A good performance against Wexford, staying up in the league and then all preparation for a Leinster quarter-final.
Keeping the faith....
Post by: Keyser Söze on March 13, 2016, 04:41:31 PM
Excellent, thoughtful and sensible.

I have not turned on Cheddar but do think there has been too much tinkering and experimentation. We were starting out minus several of last years crew as it stood. He has added some unnecessary tinkering to that.

On Merman's team, I cannot see Joe Phelan stepping up to this level at this stage. Cannot see him making it.
I have concerns about Maher at full back. Only alternative is Healy. Perhaps Tom Delaney? Has all of the attributes for it, but it's probably too late for this year?

Agree 100% with midfield.
Forward personnel cannot really be argued with. Again can you be guaranteed a high enough workrate from Picky on the wing if our midfielders are deep? He's capable of it, but it doesn't always happen.

It's a crushing defeat. In the past this type of defeat during a campaign like the current one would have led to a series of withdrawals and defections. Hopefully that can be avoided as a minimum.
Post by: TheGreatGame on March 13, 2016, 07:19:23 PM
Excellent post merman.  I couldn't make the game on Saturday, but I was quite shocked to be honest at the end score line.  I know Limerick are a better team than us, but missing Lynch, Hannon, Dowling etc I expected us to be competitive.  To concede that amount of scores indicates that something is amiss...every team has bad days, but 6-29 (3 points shy of the Cork massacre and that was a team with a laughable set up) is not an acceptable score to concede.  That Limerick team is no better than the Clare team we played the week previously either.  Serious questions have to be asked, and I think merman could be on the ball with the idea of releasing lads back to the clubs for a few weeks after the Wexford game.
Post by: burdizzo on March 14, 2016, 09:11:42 AM
Was Keenan not in Limerick?
Post by: Joeythelips on March 14, 2016, 09:48:55 AM
People complain about Cheddar's negative tactics but there is a reason for it and the performances this year have shown it, the standard of players in our county is just not up to what is required. A scoreline like that is hard to take for all involved especially as they work so hard but Laois have a small pool to pick from, and the panel lost plenty of good hurlers this year and the youngsters coming through are just not good enough yet I am afraid. Hopefully it wont have too negative an impact on them as we desperately need a flow of good underage talent to invigorate the panel and drive the thing on. When Cork wiped the floor with us it was more frustrating as we all knew the players were better than that, but at the minute we have to be honest and say the current standard is not good enough. They have a huge game next against a wounded wexford side, so better to judge on that one but 6-29 is hard to stomach.
Post by: redsetanta on March 14, 2016, 09:53:30 AM
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/cheddar-plunkett-post-limerick-1 (https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/cheddar-plunkett-post-limerick-1)

Cheddar post match interview. Seems like Keenan was injured.
Post by: les Antiques on March 20, 2016, 08:02:05 AM
Any team announced for today lads ? Really hoping for some sort of reaction after last weeks debacle.
Post by: burdizzo on March 20, 2016, 04:18:07 PM
Oh dear, oh dear. They really, really should have won that. A bucket load of chances at the end came to nought, most of them wide from Cha's stick. However, am I right in saying that if Laoise had won they'd be playing Wexford in the relegation match? As it is, they have a buoyant Kerry - presumably in Kerry.
Anyway, a great response to last week's drubbing. I liked Ryan Mulllaney at full-back, in what was generally a good full-back line, and Matthew W. returned to the centre back position, to good effect. Better form Willie Hyland, and Stephen Maher, too. Scully had a few good points, but also a couple of fumbles. I think Enda Rowland has firmly cemented his position after today's display, too.
So, hopefully they'll be encouraged and not deflated by that result. When's the play-off? A fortnight?
No sign of Neil Foyle?
Post by: les Antiques on March 20, 2016, 05:01:16 PM
Feel sorry for Cha at the end . Had 3 good opportunities to extend the lead but alas !! Convinced it was a Laois free in injury time after the Hyland catch from the puck out but Ref seemed to change his mind . Liked the look of Mullaney at full-back .
Wonder where the relegation play-off will be held and how long is Zane out for ?
Post by: les Antiques on March 20, 2016, 06:12:17 PM
Looks like Sunday April 3rd in Tralee , potentially a double header with Kerry and Cork in the Football league !
Post by: Buffalobull on March 20, 2016, 06:17:28 PM
Much better today! Mullaney at fullback is fairly decent and I like the look of Podge Lalor too he's fairly solid! I thought Colm Stapleton worked well but is lacking in aggression for what we need. A lot better from Picky Maher hopefully he drives on from there now.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 20, 2016, 09:42:34 PM
Some good stuff today with loads to work on. Positives were how we never gave up on a ball and how we actually dominated possession for long periods of the second half. Cheddar made plenty of changes to shift the balance of power around the middle and we seemed to get sharper as the game wore on. The more conventional we were, the better we competed. Lost a lot of ball in the first half by being too clever with the short puck outs and passing, and by leaving nobody around the Wexford half back line. Healy, Maher, Mullaney were prominent throughout with Matthew improving in the second half. Oh to have Joe Fitz in that half back line. Purcell and Picky grew into the game although neither are still as good as they can be. I thought Scully, Cha and both Willies really showed great leadership all through. Strong, won their own ball and took on the shots. All 3 of Chas wides were inches and I hope he doesn't stop doing what he is doing, he shoots with no space and it usually works. I think if Laois can train at the same pace and intensity that they played today they will sharpen up some more and be truly competitive. Starting to get a bit of shape and experience. We lost most of the possession tussles in the last 3 minutes. In rugby parlance, we still don't win enough at the breakdown. Big game coming up against Kerry.
Post by: on the hop on March 20, 2016, 10:19:53 PM
really need to shore up the backs at the moment, if we are going to come through against kerry. There is a serious lack of pace and at times intensity in marking. kerry have scored goals which we hasn't and i would really think of dropping a man back. to me darren maher despite his great heart has not got the pace for corner back and was exposed a few times. have to cut down on the fouling. half back line were poor at times today, the no. 10 and 20 got 8 points between them from play and matthew only got going in the second half after been at sea in the first. he should have been closer to chin at the end.

i would really differ in the opinion on cha. despite his great effort he drives me mad at times. he had five wides all of which would have been great scores if they come off, but he does this in most games. He is a wide shooter.  ln the end he got blocked down twice and gave away numerous cheap frees. i would love for him to take a second and bring others into the game.

Post by: les Antiques on March 22, 2016, 02:51:04 PM
https://www.facebook.com/FriendsofLaoisHurling/posts/531038780401308:0
Bus to Tralee Saturday week
Post by: FOLH15 on March 29, 2016, 10:43:41 AM
Thanks for posting that up Les antiques, took forever to get registered here, my own fault but nonetheless.

So the BUS IS GOING. We have enough to fill at least a mini bus and perhaps more of others still want to go along. Our players are sweating blood, our management are putting their souls into it, let's give them our support!

The bus will leave from midway and do a pick up at Borris on the way. Surely we can get down more to come along?
Post by: FOLH15 on March 29, 2016, 11:10:18 AM
If any any are interested please contact us on FACEBOOK or email to friendslaoishurling@gmail.com, or contact Bosco at the phone on FB
Post by: County Man on April 02, 2016, 10:08:58 AM
Best of luck to our hurlers in Tralee today.
Post by: redsetanta on April 02, 2016, 06:14:02 PM
Crazy carry on with both Dunphy and King sent off for indiscipline. Very poor from them considering how important this game is.
Post by: Helix on April 03, 2016, 12:46:09 PM
Any report of the match? Seemed like an absolute shambles from Twitter. Seem to be learnin from the footballers on how to defend.
Very disappointing to succumbing to defeat to the likes of Kerry (no disrespect to them). Maybe I'm being quite harsh but very frustrating for all the talk of Laois improving we find ourselves in the brink of goin to the 3rd tier of hurling.
Hopefully lads pull themselves together for Westmeath (probably in Tullamore) next Saturday! We can't afford to be playing 3rd tier hurling!
Post by: Keyser Söze on April 03, 2016, 01:39:27 PM
Conceding crazy scores.
Round 1 v Kerry was a shock to the system, and you'd have hoped things would have picked up.
It didn't happen.

Lost for words or to see a way out of it now.
Defeat next week would have extraordinary consequences. Whatever about blooding lads for the Leinster Championship in 1B, doing it in 2A next year would be worthless.

You'd hope things will somehow turnaround in the next 6 days, but after Round 1 I'd have felt the same about playing Kerry again in a Relegation playoff.

Westmeath will smell blood big time.

What the hell is going on defensively? Who in the backroom team has specific responsibility for this?

As far as I'm aware the backroom team is;

Cheddar- Manager
Seamus Dwyer- Selector
Ger Cunningham- Coach & Selector

Brendan Cummins- Goalkeeping Coach?
Name escapes my mind- S & C Coach

And then there is Fanning from Waterford. What does this fella do? If it's a defensive coach then it's time he was thanked and told to f**k off back to WIT. 17 points in 35 minutes to Kerry?

Scores conceded to Kerry;

Round 1-
First Half- 1-11/Second Half- 0-13

Relegation-
First Half- 0-17/Second Half- 2-10

No disrespect to Kerry, but they are not exactly world beaters and they play in a very conventional way.

It might be a bit out there, but after next weekend we have 8 weeks until the Leinster Quarter Final.
Go get someone in for those 8 weeks to focus on coaching a defensive organisation/plan.
Martin Fogarty, Brian Lohan, Frank Lohan, JJ Delaney, Brian Hogan, Christy O' Connor, Anthony Daly, Donal O' Grady.

Some of the above would have to be available. All are within travelling distance.

I wasn't in Tralee yesterday, but defensively we clearly have problems and as far as I can think it has to be one of the below;

1) We have no defensive plan
2) We haven't got an adequate defensive plan
3) The players are not carrying out our defensive plan.

Whichever it is, we have 8 weeks after next weeks unwanted fixture. Whoever is currently in charge of the defensive plan needs to go. If they are an outsider they need to be asked to leave the set up. Even if the players are wrong and are not carrying out the plan as prescribed now is not the time to go having that out.

Cheddar is an intelligent man, I just hope he recognises that if we continue, for the next 8 weeks, doing what we have been doing for the last 8 weeks, we will only get the same results as we have been getting.

If it means we have to neglect time spent on our attacking play to get the defensive side right then so be it. And if that means we stand still in 2016 and neither progress nor regress on 2015 then so be it. Stay in Div 1B, beat the Qualifer Runner Up and lose the Leinster Semi (playing with a sweeper). Give a good account in the qualifier game (for first time ever). Start afresh for 2017.

f**k it, if we have to play negative for the next 3 months just to stand still in 2016 then so be it. As of 3/4/16 I'd take that.

We cannot afford to be blinkered and allow the last 3 years progress slip away.
If Cheddar walked away at the end of the 2016 campaign and we had stood still on our 2015 progress would he have achieved anything? Yes, he would have returned Laois to there standing of mid-late 90s. Perennial Division 1 team, in the "best of the rest in Leinster" category, and better than Westmeath, Carlow, Antrim, Kerry etc in Championship. That's some achievement after the debacles of 2011 & 2012.

Cheddar, get someone in and give him control of our defensive game for the 8 weeks leading up to the Leinster quarter final. If we have to play a sweeper, play a sweeper. If we have to play a sweeper next weekend, play a sweeper. We cannot go on conceding the scores we are conceding.

Be negative, f**k the cribbers on here and at matches, stand still in 2016. I'd have taken 3 Leinster Semi Finals in 4 years at the start of 2013.
The only one we missed out on was 2014, when we lost a quarter final to Galway by 0-23 to 1-22.

All is not lost. But for those like me, who presumed Round 1 v Kerry was a one off and we'd recover, its time to stop hoping, presuming and guessing.
Organisation, hard work, honesty (and dare I say it a splash of pragmatic negativity) for the next 9 weeks will see us preserve our 1B slot for 2017 and qualify for a Leinster semi final. Loads of new players bedded in, goals for 2016 achieved, in the long run it won't matter how we did it.

I trust Cheddar's judgement and pragmatism.
Laois Abú.
Post by: burdizzo on April 04, 2016, 10:57:07 AM
I hope you're right, Keyser, but I think staying as we are would be a massive achievement. Whatever about beating Westmeath (not a given, without Willie, and Zane), I just can't see them beating Offaly or Kerry in the Leinster championship. I think the drop has been remarkable, and this thing of having lost a load to retirements doesn't hold water. John A and Joe Fitz would've been the only ones starting, as far as I could see. Or perhaps it's the old thing of only being able to play in O'Moore Park - which, again, doesn't bode well for the weekend.
Post by: Ogie on April 04, 2016, 12:53:09 PM
The players held a meeting after the Limerick beating and as well as many other things spoke about being less defensive and hurling more open and positively.

As I've said here already I think Cheddar has overstayed his welcome, and it is obvious from body language & attitude of the players that it's not a happy camp, played are sick of it.
The very least Cheddar needed to do was to change and freshen his back room team if he himself was stayin on,
We never perform & are not good enough to perform unless we are mentally in top gear, I fear for this year and the coming years again,
Westmeath will smell blood, and are we good enough to beat Kerry in the championship? At the moment I don't think so
With Willie, Zane, Matt, probably Cahir to go next year, ...
Glad I was there to enjoy the Offaly win
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 04, 2016, 02:18:26 PM
Our only hope is that there is a grain of truth in that the players are training at full pelt still and are sluggish as a result. If we taper off on time, we may peak when other teams are off-peak and our fitness and first touch will prevail. That and of course the return of Zane, Willie, Roddy etc. The big concern is that this team is operating at it's potential, which would mean that we are in reality a Division 2 side for a while.
Post by: finbar o tool on April 04, 2016, 03:47:54 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on April 04, 2016, 02:18:26 PM
The big concern is that this team is operating at it's potential

i haven't been to any of the games recently so i haven't been commenting here, but the above is a fairly big statement.
i would disagree with that. if the lads are pissed off with the set up, be it tactics or management or training or whatever, then they are not playing at their full potential. but that is where the main problem lies. Cheddar and the coaches need to figure out how to get the most out of what they have, i don't think they are doing it so far.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 05, 2016, 12:22:35 PM
Quote from: finbar o tool on April 04, 2016, 03:47:54 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on April 04, 2016, 02:18:26 PM
The big concern is that this team is operating at it's potential

i haven't been to any of the games recently so i haven't been commenting here, but the above is a fairly big statement.
i would disagree with that. if the lads are pissed off with the set up, be it tactics or management or training or whatever, then they are not playing at their full potential. but that is where the main problem lies. Cheddar and the coaches need to figure out how to get the most out of what they have, i don't think they are doing it so far.

My comment was a proposition rather than a statement - I really hope we are operating well below our potential. I believe that we are playing well under our potential. If I am wrong and IF this team are operating to their potential then we are rightly screwed for 2016 and beyond. I don't believe that any of the players are blaming the setup, they seem to see it as their responsibility to turn it around which is fair to a point. There are reports of the players being mentally and physically exhausted which can be partly remediated between now and the championship. If they are fresh and energized going into May, then maybe we will see different performances.

Post by: finbar o tool on April 05, 2016, 05:51:48 PM
sounds a bit like you're back tracking to me...  :o

when you see 3 lads getting sent off like that in a match its a sure way of knowing that mentally, something aint right!
can i ask what sort of set up have the team been using in the last few matches? 3rd midfielder? sweeper? or did they go traditional 15 on 15 in any of the last few games?
if Ogie is correct and the players spoke of wanting to play more positively and being less defensive then i presume they have been doing something like a 3rd midfielder etc?
Post by: redsetanta on April 06, 2016, 10:32:42 AM
It's going to be a tough ask on Saturday. Tullamore has never been that kind to us anyhow. The loss of Hyland and King because of the red cards along with reports that neither Picky or Matthew Whelan will be available leaves us very short. Already we were without Keenan and Collier.
Westmeath will relish getting a shot at us being short so many. I can see them targeting Cha as well and he is so important to us that he will need to be very disciplined because we cannot afford to lose anyone else.

FAir enough we deserve to be where we are as the table doesn't lie and Westmeath under normal league rules would be promoted without having to play us however we have another bite of the cherry and every Laois man should leave their last ounce of sweat and tears on the pitch to try and preserve our place in Div 1b.

We need this win as much as any we've had over Cheddars reign.

Any idea what 15 will take to the field on Saturday?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 06, 2016, 11:51:07 AM
Possible 15 based on lads who have been given a run to date:

If Picky is not available (confirmed?) then Joe Phelan could come in at corner back with Delaney on the half back line and Foyle moving forward. That would leave almost no experienced subs to come in......

Definitely a big ask considering where this team must be mentally and the lack of players available. One thing for certain, they won't be taking it for granted.

Rowland
Delaney
Maher
Healy
Mullaney
Foyle
Bergin
Purcell
Stapleton
Dwyer
Maher
Reddin
Lennon
Dunphy
Scully
Post by: County Man on April 07, 2016, 06:47:20 PM
Big game saturday afternoon. A must win.

Reading on Leinster Express that on saturday we will be missing 12 of the 19 that played against Offaly last June.

Guys available to play will be hurting after Kerry.

Can we overcome Westmeath? I believe it will be close but something tells me with the sheer desire of our guys and the backing of team management that we will prevail.

Great that its a double header with the minors against Offaly.

The friends of Laois hurling should come out in force.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 08, 2016, 11:25:30 AM
Nice little double header alright hoping to head over to it!
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on April 08, 2016, 11:50:40 AM
tomorrow is going to be a sorry day for laois hurling as we are going to be beaten twice in tullamore. it will be a big bump in the road as Che Guevara would say.
Westmeath gave us loads of trouble last May, they are confident, on a roll and have a full squad. we are missing half of our team from 2015, and what has replaced that core are, as of now, inferior.

the 6/4 about Westmeath is an insult, they are firm favourites to win.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on April 08, 2016, 12:31:42 PM
Team that faced Westmeath last year in c'ship:
E Rowland; J Delaney, C Healy, B Stapleton; J Fitzpatrick, M Whelan, J Campion; Z Keenan, D Palmer;
C Dwyer, P Purcell, W Hyland; B Conroy, T Fitzgerald, R King. Subs: S Maher for Conroy (44),
P Whelan for Purcell (52), PJ Scully for Fitzgerald (58), D Peacock for King (63 inj).

Those who survived from that team to play v Kerry last weekend:
E Rowland; C Healy, M Whelan, C Dwyer, P Purcell, W Hyland; R King. Subs: S Maher, PJ Scully

Take Matthew (injured) + Hyland and King (suspended) out of that and we are left with 4 starters and 2 used subs from the same fixture last year.

This shows the task in front of them tomorrow. I really hope we can pull out a performance.

Are Campion, Palmer and Ben Conroy injured?
Post by: steven seagal on April 08, 2016, 12:34:56 PM
Ben Conroy did his knee in the Walsh Cup, has been out ever since. Dwane Palmer is out injured. Joe Campion dropped himself off the panel afaik.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 08, 2016, 04:32:17 PM
Quote from: steven seagal on April 08, 2016, 12:34:56 PM
Ben Conroy did his knee in the Walsh Cup, has been out ever since. Dwane Palmer is out injured. Joe Campion dropped himself off the panel afaik.

Thats a pity Joe is a good lad...
Post by: Helix on April 09, 2016, 05:03:34 PM
Thank christ we got over the line today. Another year at 1B hurling. Never mind the begrudges saying we should be relegated. Sometimes we need to be selfish and worry about our own hurling in the county. Good for the younger members of the panel to be playing 1B hurling next year. Hopefully championship will be a little more promising!
Post by: burdizzo on April 09, 2016, 05:58:42 PM
Actually, the importance of this win cannot be overstated. Going into the championship on a loss would be a serious downer, but a win will give them a bit of a fillip. Hopefully some of the injuries will be cleared up, and they can prepare will a full squad. Well done to them all.
Post by: merman on April 09, 2016, 06:30:37 PM
Hard not have sympathy for Westmeath; we all know the system with regards promotion/relegation is unfair but they came into the game on a high and we at a very low ebb; the better team won and quite comfortably really.

I thought Cha and Purcell were immense! Scully, Mullaney, D Maher and Lennon were also very good while it was good to see Foyle in the forwards and looking like the threat we all know he is.

Today doesn't erase the results and performances over the last 2 months but perhaps it draws a line under it and we can move on.
Well done to all involved!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 09, 2016, 08:03:19 PM
Thought Westmeath were very good in first half. They were sharp, hungry and smart. Which means we had to play really well to win this.

Was delighted to see that we had another gear and played very well in the second half. Cha's point where he was double marked was unreal, class act. I was particularly delighted that the younger guys showed so well - Mullaney, Bergin, Purcell, Lennon and Mark Kavanagh when he came on all show signs of a bright future.

Cahir, Darren Maher, Neil Foyle and Cha showed great character throughout.

If only we didn't have to play the two man full forward line. It gives the opposition easy possession on the puck outs and puts our backs under fierce pressure.
Post by: Don Draper on April 09, 2016, 08:54:19 PM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on April 08, 2016, 11:50:40 AM
tomorrow is going to be a sorry day for laois hurling as we are going to be beaten twice in tullamore. it will be a big bump in the road as Che Guevara would say.
Westmeath gave us loads of trouble last May, they are confident, on a roll and have a full squad. we are missing half of our team from 2015, and what has replaced that core are, as of now, inferior.

the 6/4 about Westmeath is an insult, they are firm favourites to win.
The internet never forgets.
Post by: Don Draper on April 09, 2016, 08:55:36 PM

Well done Cheddar and players. A tough league put down, but into Championship on a high at least. Training aimed to peak for quarter final, some new leaders have stood up and hopefully a full bill of health to come. Today was gut check time and we had it in spades in the wind up.

Off back to the Clubs for a bit now. Thanks lads. Thanks Cheddar. Hope you enjoy a few pints tonight.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on April 10, 2016, 11:38:48 AM
Well done to all the Laois panel. Showed the whole group was up for it after first score of 2nd half. Great to hear that roar go up. Paddy Purcell played the sweeper role to perfection, covering the full back line winning countless balls and carrying them to midfield. Serious engine. Westmeath reminded of Offaly in cship last year. Were completely confused by the sweeper and ended up playing long hopeful balls towards Murtagh.
Cha was superb as was Healy and Maher had a v good second half. Scully turned over a number of balls too and Foyle made a nuisance of himself in full forward to nullify the dominance of Tommy Doyle who lorded the 1st half.
Job done. Lots of time to prepare for quarter final and plenty of quality to come back in.
Post by: redsetanta on April 11, 2016, 12:24:08 PM
Fantastic result for all involved. It would have been a pure disaster had we lost on Saturday. Delighted to hear that Cha played so well as he has struggled with a bit of form so far this year. As already mentioned it's also great to hear that the younger players are improving all the time.
Considering the issues we have had with players not being available for whatever reason the result cannot be scoffed at. League status safe and a few weeks to work on the championship.
We still need to be alot better come summer.
What's the story with Picky's form, is it down to injury? He is nowhere near performing as good as he can.
Post by: merman on April 11, 2016, 06:43:55 PM
Picky was very poor Saturday and was taken off at half-time. He didn't hurl for Clough/Ballacolla yesterday (all other county players did) so you'd have to assume there is some injury issue.

He hasn't been at his best for Laois for some time now. It's a pity because he was pivotal for CB last year, not least with a Man of the Match performance in the county final, and I'm sure Cheddar would have hoped he'd carry that form into this year...
Post by: zoner on April 11, 2016, 10:13:48 PM
I'd imagine he's probably worn out.  Hurling late in the year with cb and all winter with IT carlow and straight back into inter county. A few weeks off for a physical and mental break from hurling would do him well.
Post by: redsetanta on April 11, 2016, 11:02:21 PM
Cha dwyer was playing with IT Carlow too. Picky is going through a period of poor form. Maybe a redt will benefit him but maybe he needs a bit of hunger and drive. He has all the ability but seems a bit lost at times.Has the fact that Scully has come in and been given the freetaking role put him out a bit.
Post by: Keyser Söze on April 11, 2016, 11:21:55 PM
Hunger, drive and a sweeper. Dependent on long range points.
No progress on 12/24 months ago but as I said last week, i'll settle for standing still this year. 
Post by: Unlaoised on April 12, 2016, 02:59:32 PM
Terrible terrible system but who cares we are safe....

We hurled okay but we are so much relying on long range wonder scores ...Sweeper system worked well today but is it the answer going forward against teams like Westmeath...

I'll settle for staying up well done to all the lads and cheddar I hope it makes training and the weeks ahead a little more pleasant !
Post by: Ogie on April 23, 2016, 10:02:20 AM
I see where it's reported Zane has left the panel yet again.

Squad had a couple of days off and back with club after Westmeath game, trained Monday, Tuesday Wednesday & Thursday this week, matches with their clubs tonight and training again tomorrow
And same programme in place for the coming week,

What date do we hurl championship?
Post by: burdizzo on April 23, 2016, 11:49:13 AM
Start of June, I think.

The 5th, to be more exact.