Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: rosnarun on January 12, 2018, 02:32:50 PM
ive always said that bailing out the banks was very much misunderstood by the nation who I don't think understood the effect of not bailing out the regular banks.
most savings would have been obliterated and loans next to impossible to get business would have fallen over night .
they were the real beneficiaries of the bail out not the owners (shareholder) who investment were decimated or the senior management who were all gotten rid of except boucher who did a heroic job and made sure BOI repaid the Government with intrest

Iceland let their banks fail and went after the bankers who caused the situation.

NetNitrate

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:32:20 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:04:23 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 01:53:35 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 01:01:02 PM
Quote from: weareros on January 12, 2018, 12:48:23 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 12:09:11 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 12, 2018, 11:52:46 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 12, 2018, 10:38:48 AM
The Irish Free State was abolished 80 years ago.
Do keep up😆😆😆
Well said above Itchy.

Meanwhile when does Marylou get officially crowned?

and that's your issue with being called a free stater?
when can Northern republicans stop feeling shame? What is the time limit? Or does shame only apply to Northern republicans?

I think his issues about being called a free stater is the connotations it brings up about the way his state callously abandoned their northern brethren in their hour of need and left them to fend for themselves. The rest is history as they say and the free staters have now decided that history only starts from the 1970s so they can moralise and pontificate to northern nationalists about armed republicanism and relieve themselves somewhat of that shame.

The free state would have got obliterated in a military battle after treaty. What emerged was a priest ridden country that was anathema to Unionists, and in opinion poll after opinion poll a large percentage of Catholics preferred their lot in UK to their gombeen brethren down south. Until now. Because the dirty secret is the only means the "free state" can bring about a UI is by becoming a more forward thinking country with better economic prospects than the failed state the Unionists created. However, I get the impression you are not convinced.

I think both the Free State and Occupied Ulster have been abhorrent failures.

Well you may think so. Country has it problems but it's a country unlike six counties where marriage equality exists. It's a country that's frequently amongst the top in human development index, world happiness index, best place to live, best place to do business. We've maintained a strong native culture in sports, language, literature, music. Tourism industry is increasing all the time, often due to smart marketing like The Wild Atlantic Way. The top global brands are content to make Ireland their Euro HQ - obviously there's a big tax incentive, but they are big employers. Would be foolish to say we don't have big problems in health and homeless. We of course always had the self-loathing Paddy that loves to proclaim the country an abject failure. They spend a lot of their time on politics.ie and in the comments on journal.ie. And we have the types that say we couldn't afford to run the North. We could, and I hope that day will come soon.

It's a state where political corruption has been the norm since day 1, where politicians have been the puppets for big developers and wealthy families. It's a state which recently had to ship off hundreds of thousands of their youths after the Government felt citizens should take on the burden of the debts that bondholders reneged on. It's a state which currently has a widening wealth inequality with huge social problems in housing and health.

And that's ignoring the Free State's disgraceful record with the North of Ireland.

It's an island that when part of the most powerful empire in the world 2 million of it's people starved, and millions more emigrated. The state that went it alone is now a country that can stand on it's own two feet. In contrast, the majority of Scots, Unionists and Welsh never had the balls to do this and dependent on Mother England to feed them. While there's corruption in Ireland and many did well out of a brown envelope, there is in every country and we are still considered one of the least corrupt countries in the world by global standards. As regards bailing out the banks, both the UK and US governments bailed out their banks too. While distasteful, they all believed it would be better for their economies in the long run with a healthy banking system. They were proved right with BOI and AIB which look to return back to the taxpayer what was invested in saving them. Anglo should have been let fail. Ultimately Ireland recovered a lot quicker than anyone expected.

Are you on the windup?

The Irish banks have not tried to pay back those who saved them, they've recently been embroiled in a tracker mortgage scandal that saw loads of people lose their homes and furthered financial hardship?

No I'm not. AIB had already paid back 6.8 billion to the state, before state raised an additional 3.4 billion from selling shares last year. That's 10.2 of the 20 billion for AIB already paid back. And the state still owns most of the bank.

I think Bank of Ireland has already paid out most if not all of the funds it received.

You can always google this if you don't believe me.

I'm not in defending the banks or their behavior. However, had we let the banks fail, likely a lot more innocent people would have got hurt and lost what savings they had. People say sure weren't we insured by govt up to a 100 grand. And where do they think that money would have come from?

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 02:42:56 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:32:20 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:04:23 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 01:53:35 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 01:01:02 PM
Quote from: weareros on January 12, 2018, 12:48:23 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 12:09:11 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 12, 2018, 11:52:46 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 12, 2018, 10:38:48 AM
The Irish Free State was abolished 80 years ago.
Do keep up😆😆😆
Well said above Itchy.

Meanwhile when does Marylou get officially crowned?

and that's your issue with being called a free stater?
when can Northern republicans stop feeling shame? What is the time limit? Or does shame only apply to Northern republicans?

I think his issues about being called a free stater is the connotations it brings up about the way his state callously abandoned their northern brethren in their hour of need and left them to fend for themselves. The rest is history as they say and the free staters have now decided that history only starts from the 1970s so they can moralise and pontificate to northern nationalists about armed republicanism and relieve themselves somewhat of that shame.

The free state would have got obliterated in a military battle after treaty. What emerged was a priest ridden country that was anathema to Unionists, and in opinion poll after opinion poll a large percentage of Catholics preferred their lot in UK to their gombeen brethren down south. Until now. Because the dirty secret is the only means the "free state" can bring about a UI is by becoming a more forward thinking country with better economic prospects than the failed state the Unionists created. However, I get the impression you are not convinced.

I think both the Free State and Occupied Ulster have been abhorrent failures.

Well you may think so. Country has it problems but it's a country unlike six counties where marriage equality exists. It's a country that's frequently amongst the top in human development index, world happiness index, best place to live, best place to do business. We've maintained a strong native culture in sports, language, literature, music. Tourism industry is increasing all the time, often due to smart marketing like The Wild Atlantic Way. The top global brands are content to make Ireland their Euro HQ - obviously there's a big tax incentive, but they are big employers. Would be foolish to say we don't have big problems in health and homeless. We of course always had the self-loathing Paddy that loves to proclaim the country an abject failure. They spend a lot of their time on politics.ie and in the comments on journal.ie. And we have the types that say we couldn't afford to run the North. We could, and I hope that day will come soon.

It's a state where political corruption has been the norm since day 1, where politicians have been the puppets for big developers and wealthy families. It's a state which recently had to ship off hundreds of thousands of their youths after the Government felt citizens should take on the burden of the debts that bondholders reneged on. It's a state which currently has a widening wealth inequality with huge social problems in housing and health.

And that's ignoring the Free State's disgraceful record with the North of Ireland.

It's an island that when part of the most powerful empire in the world 2 million of it's people starved, and millions more emigrated. The state that went it alone is now a country that can stand on it's own two feet. In contrast, the majority of Scots, Unionists and Welsh never had the balls to do this and dependent on Mother England to feed them. While there's corruption in Ireland and many did well out of a brown envelope, there is in every country and we are still considered one of the least corrupt countries in the world by global standards. As regards bailing out the banks, both the UK and US governments bailed out their banks too. While distasteful, they all believed it would be better for their economies in the long run with a healthy banking system. They were proved right with BOI and AIB which look to return back to the taxpayer what was invested in saving them. Anglo should have been let fail. Ultimately Ireland recovered a lot quicker than anyone expected.

Are you on the windup?

The Irish banks have not tried to pay back those who saved them, they've recently been embroiled in a tracker mortgage scandal that saw loads of people lose their homes and furthered financial hardship?

No I'm not. AIB had already paid back 6.8 billion to the state, before state raised an additional 3.4 billion from selling shares last year. That's 10.2 of the 20 billion for AIB already paid back. And the state still owns most of the bank.

I think Bank of Ireland has already paid out most if not all of the funds it received.

You can always google this if you don't believe me.

I'm not in defending the banks or their behavior. However, had we let the banks fail, likely a lot more innocent people would have got hurt and lost what savings they had. People say sure weren't we insured by govt up to a 100 grand. And where do they think that money would have come from?

And how have the banks behaved with the public?

NetNitrate

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:44:55 PM

Like bankers the world over: rip them off, maximise profits. It's not an Irish thing. The financial crisis itself began with the greed of American banks. Anyway straying off topic here...

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 02:38:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 12, 2018, 02:35:40 PM
Some men are making total clowns of themselves on heree! If they are that bad why any of you looking a united ireland! In some deluded reality do you think Sinn Fein be running things@ dont think so; their inability to govern up here and lacl of amy political talent; will have seen to that@

Both states are failures, I think it's a bit arrogant of the Free State to assume they would be absorbing us, if it happens it should be a new state with new values - I have little interest in their corruption and duplicity
Which state would you approve of Bomber? I have lived in a few countries and the veneration of crap was at home in all of them.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 02:55:21 PM

Like bankers the world over: rip them off, maximise profits. It's not an Irish thing. The financial crisis itself began with the greed of American banks. Anyway straying off topic here...

And who has facilitated them?

NetNitrate

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 03:07:20 PM

Well the gov and regulator are making them pay back their customers that they screwed on the tracker mortgages. In the US it was lack of regulation on the gov part that allowed banks to profit from selling mortgage debt. Obama for example brought in a lot of regulations to protect the consumer including a fiduciary rule that financial companies are supposed to act in the best interests of their customers. Trump overturned that rule. There's much more regulation in Ireland now compared to the Bertie years when a dog could walk into a bank and secure a mortgage.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: NetNitrate on January 12, 2018, 03:23:14 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 12, 2018, 03:07:20 PM

In Iceland they lets the banks fail and pursued the bankers.

In Ireland, they saved the banks and let the bankers off.

Well the gov and regulator are making them pay back their customers that they screwed on the tracker mortgages. In the US it was lack of regulation on the gov part that allowed banks to profit from selling mortgage debt. Obama for example brought in a lot of regulations to protect the consumer including a fiduciary rule that financial companies are supposed to act in the best interests of their customers. Trump overturned that rule. There's much more regulation in Ireland now compared to the Bertie years when a dog could walk into a bank and secure a mortgage.

Some men are making total clowns of themselves on heree! If they are that bad why any of you looking a united ireland! In some deluded reality do you think Sinn Fein be running things@ dont think so; their inability to govern up here and lack of any political talent; will have seen to that@
One poster in particular who seems to have waaaaaay to much time on his/her hands.
Nitrate has fairly demolished him/her.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 12, 2018, 03:38:01 PM
Some men are making total clowns of themselves on heree! If they are that bad why any of you looking a united ireland! In some deluded reality do you think Sinn Fein be running things@ dont think so; their inability to govern up here and lack of any political talent; will have seen to that@
One poster in particular who seems to have waaaaaay to much time on his/her hands.

and what abut shame? How long should that last? Im genuinely interested to know

To be fair Franco demolished a few posters as well.....

This thread is better read as a rosetta stone for that poster's psyche than it is as a political discussion. It's kind of incredible to watch.

Il Bomber Destro

You would wish so, wouldn't you Princess?

Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 12, 2018, 03:50:57 PM

To be fair Franco demolished a few posters as well.....

At least bomber seems able to muster some sort of response to his apparent 'demolishing'.

Normally banjaxed banks are given liquidity by a central bank and kept ticking over or if they in Anglo mode wound down with the bondholders  taking one for the team. The Eurozone does not have a Central bank and no bondholders could be touched. This has nothing to do with the ROI.  It was imposed. If SF had been in charge they would have bent over.

Neoliberalism is dying but SF are neoliberal in NI. TsK tsk