GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 01:42:03 PM

Title: young lad racially abused down in Carlow
Post by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 01:42:03 PM
Well someone had to start a thread, its all over the radio and on some front pages.

From what I gather the guy was playing in an under 14 game in Dr Cullen park and was racially abused by a gang of teenagers at the game.

I do hate this shite and the young lads should be fecked out of the club for a while at least, no place for that shite in our games.

That said, the front page of todays daily star leaves a lot to be desired. Yes report it, but young lads are REGULARLY racially abused in soccer games up and down the country and it wouldnt make the paper, never mind the front page.
Even Newstalk threw in the comment that the young lads throwing the abuse "may have been egged on by several adults".

May have been? Did it happen or not?
I'm not saying it didnt, but unless you are sure, dont go throwing out the impression that it did.

Thats my rant over, theres no need for racism ANYWHERE in our society, and it should be highlighted if it happens in the GAA.

This is why I started the thread, heads in the sand attitudes arent healthy either.

But the media need to balance this up and prove that they arent just out to get the GAA.
This happens all the time in soccer.
Title: Re: young lad racially abused down in Carlow
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 01:43:21 PM
It's a disgrace if it happened, and I am disappointed that others at the game didn't tell them to cop on, if so.
Post by: orangeman on July 24, 2008, 01:43:56 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 01:42:03 PM
Well someone had to start a thread, its all over the radio and on some front pages.

From what I gather the guy was playing in an under 14 game in Dr Cullen park and was racially abused by a gang of teenagers at the game.

I do hate this shite and the young lads should be fecked out of the club for a while at least, no place for that shite in our games.

That said, the front page of todays daily star leaves a lot to be desired. Yes report it, but young lads are REGULARLY racially abused in soccer games up and down the country and it wouldnt make the paper, never mind the front page.
Even Newstalk threw in the comment that the young lads throwing the abuse "may have been egged on by several adults".

May have been? Did it happen or not?
I'm not saying it didnt, but unless you are sure, dont go throwing out the impression that it did.

Thats my rant over, theres no need for racism ANYWHERE in our society, and it should be highlighted if it happens in the GAA.

This is why I started the thread, heads in the sand attitudes arent healthy either.

But the media need to balance this up and prove that they arent just out to get the GAA.

Which doesn't make it right under any circumstances. But I do appreciate what you're saying.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 24, 2008, 01:51:22 PM
I used to play underage football with a member of the travelling community he was a brilliant footballer however some of the abuse he used to receive from the opposition ( players and especially management) was unreal and this was under 12's to 16's , i remember at one match the managements shouted hit the f**king t****r  our manager went up and grabbed him by the neck (he should have choked the fcuker) and got him to apologise ,and that wasn't today or yesterday. 
Post by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 01:58:59 PM
dont get me wrong Orangeman, it shouldnt happen full stop.
I am happy for it to make the papers too. Just annoyed that similar and worse indicents in soccer games dont make the paper.

It makes it look like the paper doesnt give a feck about the racism and is just anti one sport or pro the other.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 24, 2008, 02:06:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 01:43:21 PM
It's a disgrace if it happened, and I am disappointed that others at the game didn't tell them to cop on, if so.

Some fella and his wife did and were told to eff off bascially.

CLAIMS that a young Nigerian footballer had to endure a torrent of racist abuse from spectators at an underage game in Carlow have prompted strong criticism from the state's racism watchdog.

Teboga Sebala, who moved to Carlow town with his family six years ago, was allegedly subjected to racist comments as he played for the Éire Óg club in an U14 semi-final against O'Hanrahans last Monday night.

A complaint by the father of one of his teammates is set to be investigated by the county's underage GAA board.

The claims have also prompted an angry response from the National Consultative Committee on Racism and Interculturalism (NCCRI).

Adrian Tomlin and his wife were watching their son, Joe, play in goal for Éire Óg from the stand at Dr Cullen Park and he described how a group of young girls, encouraged by a group of adults nearby, shouted obscene and racial abuse at Teboga throughout the game.

"There were obscene racial comments like 'kill the f***ing n***er' and the like. It was ongoing throughout the match and Teboga was visibly upset," said Mr Tomlin.

He said he pulled his wife away when she asked them to stop, because the group turned on her and she was in tears.

"I am beside myself, I am thinking of pulling my son from the sport," he said, adding: "I come from the north of England where racial tension is a big problem and I bring up my children to be against this kind of behaviour."

Teboga's team manager Willie Quinlan said the player and his family did not want to talk about the matter, but revealed he had heard a lot of it on Monday night.

"When I asked him [Teboga] about it, he said 'it's just the usual, people are racist against my colour'. He knew where it was coming from but he doesn't know who was saying it, he just said 'it happens'."
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2008, 02:08:04 PM
This happens day in day out. It happens at sports at school and at work. It is a disgrace.

It is true that it is highlighted in the GAA. Not against the GAA itself but the entire community. Many (outside ansd inside) see the GAA as a true repersentation of Irish society so when something like this happens the media use the GAA to say "look at what you Irish people are doing". Add the GAA to something like this and people start to get more emotional about it as it's close to home.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 24, 2008, 02:17:15 PM
I heard this story of the wireless this morning and i have to say I've never wittnessed anything of the sort myself. This racist bullying of a 14 year old by adults is an awful disgrace to the country. The O'Hannrahan's club should provide the names of those responsible or face a long ban from all GAA activity.

If a ref was assualted they would be expected to name the individual responsible. They should be asked to do the same in this situation.

I always thought we were more civilized than English soccer fans but it appears we're not.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 24, 2008, 02:19:40 PM
If it happened then it is to be condemned outright.  It happens I am sure, like Deel Rover has said in other places but I would imagine it is small level stuff.  It happened in Cork a few years back when a set of club fans abused Sean Og, but it was an isolated incident.  This does not in anyway make light of the accusation, it simply puts it into the context of the overall organisation.

As Zapatista said it is a societal thing as opposed to a GAA thing as was seen in the incident in Dublin were a family forced to leave their home due to racial abuse.  The notion that this is associated with him plying the game is said and the parents should realise that racism is something that is wider than the confines of a sport.  If this was a continuing problem like it was/is in soccer you could see thier argument but it is not.  
Post by: bingobus on July 24, 2008, 02:33:55 PM
It may be a society problem but the GAA is responsible for keeping it off the GAA field and off the GAA terraces. Has to be stopped or we will end up where it is acceptable and not headline news i.e soccer.

It will drive a whole talented pool of youngsters from the game and drag the GAA into the dark ages. I would have no problem with banning any parent or child from GAA grounds if they found racially abusing anyone. Its a cheap, nasty and dirty thing to stoop to.

The lad himself is an outstanding talent and a few from our club have seen him play at the Feile Peil international in Birmingham this year and last.

The Star may be looking for the sensationlist headline but if its highlighted now and acted on, it could save the GAA face down the lines. It is only a matter of time before we regularly see non-nationals playing at Intercounty level and if it happens then, we are in trouble.
Post by: Guillem2 on July 24, 2008, 02:37:52 PM
I think it's worse that they are picking on a child.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2008, 02:41:20 PM
Strong action required immediately. I said here before that we should not be waiting for this to happen in order to react to it. As has been said above, the GAA reflects society, good and bad. Therefore, whatever level of racism exists in our society was bound to arise in our sport and so we should have been moving to head it off and make sure we had rules and procedures in place to deter it and to punish it if it happened. Now it has and already we're too late. What are we going to do about it?
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2008, 02:48:48 PM
I sat on a disciplinary hearing for a similar case in Dublin - the issue we had at the time is that there is no specific rule to sanction members of the GAA for racism

There is going to be more and more of these kind of cases as the number of non-nationals take up our games - I have a Nigerian, a Ugandan and a Lithuanian on my juvenile team and they are all naturals..
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2008, 02:50:34 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 24, 2008, 02:33:55 PM
The Star may be looking for the sensationlist headline but if its highlighted now and acted on, it could save the GAA face down the lines. It is only a matter of time before we regularly see non-nationals playing at Intercounty level and if it happens then, we are in trouble.

A similar case was reported in the Sunday Indo last year by a journalist who was also a parent involved with the team..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 24, 2008, 02:52:01 PM
You're on a disciplinary committee  :o Talk about lunatics running the asylum  ::)
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2008, 02:55:55 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 24, 2008, 02:52:01 PM
You're on a disciplinary committee  :o Talk about lunatics running the asylum  ::)

Oh that it were a Westmeath disciplinary committee Croi, oh that it were!
Post by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 03:07:57 PM
There is a lot of casual racism going round GAA circles that people see as "just a bit of craic".
I've heard some very racist remarks thrown at Jason Sherlock from opposition AND Dublin fans over the years.
Post by: Tempoman on July 24, 2008, 03:18:24 PM
Something similar happened at the feile na nog in the cavan area this year. Some young fellas on the team over from London got some racial abuse shouted at them by the opposing manager. The manager was sent to the stands. From what i know, that was the end of it. Its disgusting behaviour.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 03:39:47 PM
Quote from: Tempoman on July 24, 2008, 03:18:24 PM
Something similar happened at the feile na nog in the cavan area this year. Some young fellas on the team over from London got some racial abuse shouted at them by the opposing manager. The manager was sent to the stands. From what i know, that was the end of it. Its disgusting behaviour.

Strict rules need to be set. heres an example of a ref catching a guy in the act. A manager of the team. And all that happened was he was sent to the stands??
Whatever about supporters which are more difficult to control, players or managers CAUGHT dishing out racist abuse should be severely dealt with.
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2008, 03:44:48 PM

That is f*cking disgraceful. It's bad enough kids having a go at each other. Never mind being sent to the stands, he should have been dragged behind the stands for an attitude adjustment.
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2008, 04:00:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 24, 2008, 03:44:48 PM

That is f*cking disgraceful. It's bad enough kids having a go at each other. Never mind being sent to the stands, he should have been dragged behind the stands for an attitude adjustment.

There was an U8 non-competitive game in Dublin recently where a seven year old kid was called a fat cun* by the opposing line and one of the mentors physically prevented the away team kids boarding the bus after the game until they found out whether they 'bangers'
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2008, 04:22:53 PM
No place for racist abuse in our games and it should be made clear by HQ that this is not on.

p.s while we are at it can we also get opposing players and fans to stop calling lads  baldy/ginger/fat etc bastards while we are at it.

p p s Easy known it was a Dub started the thread with his "down" in Carlow. If I hear Michael Lyster( from the ****ole of Galway) once more referring to everyplace as "DOWN in .... " I'll smash the bloody telly.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2008, 04:24:27 PM
What's wrong with that RossFan? Lysters in Dublin, and culchies (like us) say 'Up to the match', or 'Up to Dublin'. Maybe lads from Tyrone say 'down to Dublin'. It's harmless enough I think.

Down the country - Up in Dublin.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 24, 2008, 04:44:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 24, 2008, 04:22:53 PM
Easy known it was a Dub started the thread with his "down" in Carlow. If I hear Michael Lyster( from the ****ole of Galway) once more referring to everyplace as "DOWN in .... " I'll smash the bloody telly.

Well I do live North of Carlow  ;)

I tend to go down, up and over to places based on their position from my house.

Full of my own self importance me  ;)
Post by: Tankie on July 24, 2008, 04:45:12 PM
Racism is a lack of education by people and nothing else, you see it more so in lower/working class in which GAA and Soccer have alot of member so we should not be shocked by this but clubs who find their members involved in this behanior should act strongly!
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2008, 04:54:47 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 24, 2008, 04:45:12 PM
Racism is a lack of education by people and nothing else, you see it more so in lower/working class in which GAA and Soccer have alot of member so we should not be shocked by this but clubs who find their members involved in this behanior should act strongly!

You see it more in working class areas for many reasons. The biggest reason it is seen in working class areas is the fact that working class people tend to be more exposed to the negative aspects of multicultureism and vise versa.

Non Irish Nationals usually take up lower paid jobs as do working class irish people. Non Irish Nationals usually take up cheaper accommodation as working class Irish do. Non Irish Nationals live with working class Irish Nationals in many more areas than the middle class do. This is not an accident either.
Post by: moysider on July 24, 2008, 04:57:03 PM
Racism is endemic in this country. We re red rotten with it and its everywhere, schools, work, and of course football. Young people - who ve never had it so good are the worst. The anti -'Polish' attitude around here is unbelievable among kids - no doubt coming from homes that had picture of the old Pope on the walls.

That nobody could get a bunch of young ones in Carlow to shut it defies belief. Wish I was there.

As regards abusive mentors. Always knew there was lunatics involver in underage especially. But if they are left in charge after behaviour described here then the Association indeed has a problem.
Post by: Red Sea on July 24, 2008, 05:09:06 PM
It's time for the GAA to grow a pair of balls and ban those parents and/or children from the game for Life!! It's racists idiots like those that keep talented youngers from different backrounds away from playing the gaa!! It is shame to see that racist pricks are still alive and well in this country!! Speaks volumes for people from Carlow...[Edited by Mod3]

Red Sea, this is your last warning. In practically every post you've made you've insulted someone, somewhere or something.
Post by: Tankie on July 24, 2008, 05:09:25 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 24, 2008, 04:57:03 PM
Racism is endemic in this country. We re red rotten with it and its everywhere, schools, work, and of course football. Young people - who ve never had it so good are the worst. The anti -'Polish' attitude around here is unbelievable among kids - no doubt coming from homes that had picture of the old Pope on the walls.

That nobody could get a bunch of young ones in Carlow to shut it defies belief. Wish I was there.

As regards abusive mentors. Always knew there was lunatics involver in underage especially. But if they are left in charge after behaviour described here then the Association indeed has a problem.

i hate racism, it just annoys me so much. i have some mates who make racist joke and have the mobile phone things that go around, we have now hit the stage they dont even send them to me as thay know how annoyed i get.

I think too many people are too passive about it when they hear it but we need to stand up and say no to this type of thing
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2008, 05:21:25 PM
Quotethere is no specific rule to sanction members of the GAA for racism

There is a rule about discrediting the association which I think is tailor made for cases like this and should be applied in these cases.

Its disgusting to hear of this type of behaviour. It has no place in society and certainly not in gaelic games. The perpetrators have no place at our matches and it should be made fairly clear to them that this is the case. Absolutely scummy carry on.

Most people in Ireland aren't racist but its definitely there and I feel its getting worse if anything. Certain sections of society made ridiculous money without killing themselves work wise in recent times and they are now in competition with hungrier, harder working immigrants for a slice of a diminishing pie. This is going to lead to problems.

The newspaper/media coverage is very much a secondary issue. As someone here stated the GAA is at the heart of everything in this country so its a bit of a back handed compliment to the GAA that they focus more incidents happening at our games rather than the minor(ity) pursuits.
Post by: Puckoon on July 24, 2008, 05:25:10 PM

Lifetime ban. A manager. Of a kids team.
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2008, 05:28:47 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2008, 05:21:25 PM
Quotethere is no specific rule to sanction members of the GAA for racism

There is a rule about discrediting the association which I think is tailor made for cases like this and should be applied in these cases.

Thats the rule thats generally applied, but the thing with abuse from the sidelines or comments from another player is that it has to be heard by the ref & included in his report - a complaint from the other club will get the issue highlighted, but you'll rarely see sanctions over it..
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2008, 05:37:29 PM
Yeah, I understand thats how it works in practice but its not really good enough. If the will is there to nail these scumbags it can be done. The much-maligned rule book isn't actually that bad.
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2008, 07:11:01 PM
In relation to the various media reports describing this delightful group of young ladies being "egged on" by adults, how exactly does that work? Does this mean the adults weren't racially abusing this young fella, they were just encouraging the girls to? What does it say about our society when a group of like-minded decent citizens wouldn't just say to each other "Are we going to sit here and listen to this sh*t or are we going to do something?" I think if it was a gang of young lads roaring abuse someone would have acted on it. I'd imagine it's not the easiest thing in the world for a grown man to approach a group of teenage girls with a view to telling them to shut the f*ck up. That sort of scenario could spiral out of control fast, particularly in a tense, volatile atmosphere.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 24, 2008, 07:30:12 PM
Have to agree that this sort of rubbish needs dealing with. I remember feeing very ashamed a while back when one of our International Rules squad opened his fat gob in Oz. Least said about that the best.

I felt ashamed that the GAA was thus highlighted but gald that the matter was being openly debated.

However this happens in other sports and its not just South Africans getting taunted.
Post by: spectator on July 24, 2008, 08:08:39 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2008, 05:37:29 PM
Yeah, I understand thats how it works in practice but its not really good enough. If the will is there to nail these scumbags it can be done.

Racial abuse is happening at under-age GAA games and as long as it's tolerated in any form, it'll continue to become an increasing blight on the GAA.

Absolutely disgusting behaviour - society's or other sports' ills shouldn't be the GAA's primary focus here though. A stong lead must be taken to nip it in the bud. If the current rules aren't clear or workable then they should be re-drafted and unambiguously presented so the majority of decent members can prevail.

If the problem is ignored, who knows what it could grow into down the line.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2008, 08:14:46 PM
I half-heard a report on this on the 6:00 news - The Mrs was bending my ear about something and I can't shape my mouth to say "shhhhh" since me front teeth got shattered with a jug the last time I said it. Anyway there was a sentence something along the lines "a GAA spokesman said the association is preparing guidelines to deal with racial abuse in the games".

Anybody know anything about this?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 08:33:10 PM
Shocking episode, and it can't be said that there's no precedent; long past time that the GAA took proper cognisance and effective action.
Post by: uimhir a cuig on July 24, 2008, 09:18:55 PM
If this happened to a member of my team, i would walk off the pitch and encourage others to follow me.  This kind of sh*t has no place in any sport.  Those bitches that spouted it, and those who encouraged them should be hit with a lifetime ban from attending all GAA games at any level.  The GAA must craic down hard on this sort of thing, a strong signal must be sent out to all those who would potentially abuse a player.
Post by: stevecw on July 24, 2008, 10:17:57 PM
This is terrible to see, especially as it happened within my own county.
Ok i know the young lad involved, he plays with the same team as myself, Eire Og. Great player, our best at U-14 by a long way. There is himself & another Nigerian guy on our U-14 team.
I wasnt at the game on Monday as i work in Dublin, but my brother was & rang me that night to fill me in on the easy win & the comments he heard.
Thing is, as an Eire Og person we are so used to the abuse & rivalry with our "enemy" in the town O'Hanrahans. There is no love lost between both sides from U-10 up to senior. But this abuse is taking it to a whole new level.
I dunno how to put this without sounding bad, but there is an O'Hanrahans element who will just cause trouble & abuse Eire Og at any chance. Some of these would be from the estates around the town that are best avoided to be honest. Ok the club has some great members and families involved, but sadly also attracts a lot of the scum element of Carlow town.
Im sure these girls & those who encouraged them, belong to this element. For years at games ranging from u-10s up to senior there has been abuse & comments shouted about various players etc. But now that we have 2 Nigerians starring for us, that is obviously an easy target with their kinda mindset.
I dunno what can be done, im sure there wasnt many at an U-14 semi on a Monday night...so culprits should be easily identified.
Ban them from Dr Cullen Park & thats about it im sure. Cant really fine or ban a club because of a few teenage girls. There's no easy solution i can think of.
Its just terrible to see our brightest young talent in the club being dragged through all this.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 10:32:38 PM
Not easy stevecw, and good words from yourself, and you're neither the first nor alone, and good luck. 

Not something, I believe, that can be tackled effectively on a local basis -- this needs serious acknowledgement from Central, and that's where any policy, if it's to be efficacious at all, has to emanate from. Unfortunately, we've (the GAA) reached the juncture of no action or radical action, and we need some radical thought. We're not beyond a nationwide anti-racism campaign, at every game, at every level. What's the alternative?... Wait until there's a fatality (which might well come from one manager throttling another)? Heads need to removed from both sand and asses here rather sharpish*.

Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2008, 08:14:46 PM
I half-heard a report on this on the 6:00 news - The Mrs was bending my ear about something and I can't shape my mouth to say "shhhhh" since me front teeth got shattered with a jug the last time I said it. Anyway there was a sentence something along the lines "a GAA spokesman said the association is preparing guidelines to deal with racial abuse in the games".

Anybody know anything about this?

Hope that's true Hardy, and hope that it's more than lip service -- it needs to be a fairly rigid departure from the usual 'guidelines' I fear. And hope that your dentures hinder you in no other mode of expression  ;)
Post by: stevecw on July 24, 2008, 10:50:56 PM
Agree Fear, on a local basis there is not much can really be done. Lets hope the GAA at the top level can come up with something to try stamp this kind of thing out.
Chances are there will be more Nigerians, and other foreigners taking up gaelic games around the country within the next few years. Lots of them arrive here really young or are born here, so will play the game at school, with friends & join clubs. Just like Teboga did with Eire Og.
If Teboga & some Polish guy are our midfield pairing when we win Leinster in 10 years time then fantastic! Who cares what colour they are or where they were born, if they live in your county & are playing with clubs within your county then great.
For those interested here is the article about Teboga in our local paper http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/news/story/?trs=mheyojeyql&cat=news
Post by: Yes I Would on July 24, 2008, 11:26:19 PM
These youngones at the game should be easily identified, and if they are members of a GAA club then someone needs to grow a set of balls and f**k them out.
If they are not members of a club they should never be let back near the club or any GAA field in the town.

Hopefully it wont discourage the young lad and his mate from playing. Worst thing that can happen is for it to be swept under the carept and forgotten about. Someone down there needs to accept responsibily and make sure these little f**kers never get the chance to inflict such abuse again near a GAA pitch
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 24, 2008, 11:29:24 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 10:32:38 PM

Hope that's true Hardy, and hope that it's more than lip service -- it needs to be a fairly rigid departure from the usual 'guidelines' I fear. And hope that your dentures hinder you in no other mode of expression  ;)

It was probably your man Frank Buckley who is a representative for SARI(Sport Against Racism Ireland).  I heard him on the radio talking about all the wonderful work that soccer is doing to eradicate racism but how the GAA and Rugby are lagging behind.  He belatedly acknowledged that there is an initiative and it is in its final stages.  

This is a terrible position for any club to be in but there are elements of the media, primarily from the DOB empire who are using it to score cheap political points for soccer in that it is wonderful that soccer has these initiatives long before the GAA.  I am not saying the GAA should not have done something earlier, but this has not been a mainstream problem due to the very low levels of involvement of non nationals.  It is an issue to be addressed now and hopefully it will be done in a mature manner and not a reactionary lash out manner which can be the trademark of the GAA sometimes.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 11:34:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 24, 2008, 11:29:24 PM
It is an issue to be addressed now and hopefully it will be done in a mature manner and not a reactionary lash out manner which can be the trademark of the GAA sometimes.

True BC1, it needs to be a carefully weighed and considered, but potent, policy. Hope springs.
Post by: Pangurban on July 25, 2008, 01:11:40 AM
Terrible situation, must be strongly condemned as it has been by both clubs involved, but realistically little else can be done. The offenders are most likely not club members, and even if they were identified ground bans are incredibly difficult if not impossible to enforce. Best action is a strong show of support for the victim and his family by all G.A.A. members within the county
Post by: carnaross on July 25, 2008, 06:52:24 AM
Absolutely no place for this on any GAA field (or anywhere for that matter). Interesting to note that neither of the managers admitted to hearing it - to me, that's a cop-out. I wasn't there myself, but neither, I imagine, were many others, so they both appear to be sticking their heads in the sand. The County Board should investigate thoroughly and those involved dealt with, however, when paople, say they didn't hear anything, how can it be dealt with adequately?

On a mischievous note - was the goalkeeper legal since he comes from the north of England, as his father stated?
Post by: Zapatista on July 25, 2008, 10:08:33 AM
Fair play to Shelbourne

http://www.theredcard.ie/news/2008/shels-fans-banned-for-racism/#more-267
Post by: thejuice on July 25, 2008, 11:02:16 AM
 >:( This has really pissed me off. I said this over 2 years ago that the GAA needs to have some kind legislation and disciplinary procedures for incidents of racism. It was inevitable that with increased numbers of people from different ethnic groups playing GAA that some thick c***ts are going to be racially abusing players. Of course we'll probably have Nicky Brennan going, "Oh we've never encountered this type a thing before".

Anyone racially abusing another player should get suspended for a year, anyone giving racist abuse form the sidelines should be ejected from the stadiums and banned form attending games. Any adults racially abusing or encouraging racist behavior at an underage game should be given a lifetime ban from the GAA and teams should be fined  and thrown out of competitions.

There should also a anti-racist campaign set up by the GAA just like "Give racism the boot" that should be promoted in all stadia around the country and backed by the players in ad campaigns and displays before matches. A very VERY clear message needs to be sent by the GAA that racism will not be tolerated in any form.

Also people need to grow a pair of balls and and stand up to confront people being racist at games. It makes it easier if decent people group together to have these people removed, because if only one person does it these ignoramuses will no doubt turn on them.

GET RACISM OUT OF THE GAA
Post by: thebandit on July 25, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
There was a young lad playing at half time in the Ulster final from a Fermanagh school with a Polish name. Surely a county the size of Fermanagh could be doing with a big strong lad of Polish origin!

Kick it out.
Post by: heffo on July 25, 2008, 11:27:21 AM
From the Sunday Indo - July '07:

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/why-racism-and-violence-cannot-be-tolerated-on-any-gaa-pitch-892479.html
---------

AS A lifelong GAA supporter and former intercounty player - minor hurling for Offaly and senior for Louth, if you must know - I had never placed much store in the usual media hue and cry that accompanies 'schmozzles' which occasionally break out during games.

For me, and I suspect for many other GAA fans, they were always part and parcel of the game and, I felt, sometimes added to the spectacle. But since I have become an underage mentor, I have firmly changed my mind, and I will tell you why.

But first let me address a related issue which will, I feel, become a problem for the GAA if the association does not now urgently take steps to address it.

It should do so in the first instance by holding a series of talks involving proper intercounty stars in clubs and schools throughout the country, and secondly, imposing stiff penalties on clubs where the issue of racism arises.

I was in Croke Park last Sunday when, at half-time, a group of young players displayed their skills to the entertainment of all. Dublin had a young black goalkeeper, while the announcer told us that Italian and Polish players were on the Offaly side.

This is as expected as it is welcome. The large number of immigrants here in recent years will hopefully see players from Eastern Europe and Africa emerge as the stars of the future, that is, if they are not put off by a racist undertone which I believe quietly exists at some levels within the association.

That is not to say that the GAA is a racist organisation. In my view, nothing could be further from the truth. One of the heartening developments within the GAA in recent years is its embracing of members of all religions and none, and from all backgrounds too.

I am a coach of an U-11 hurling team of which my son is a squad member. Our club is progressive, dynamic even, compared to the days when I was togging out as a youngster. Indeed, most clubs in Dublin are. GAA clubhouses are, more than ever, the hub of the community for all those who want to involve themselves.

A few months ago a young boy from Nigeria, who attends the local Church of Ireland school, joined our squad. Every week he enthusiastically participates in training, visibly progressing to the point that he has commanded a spot on the full-back line of our B team and pushing hard for a place on the A team.

At a recent game he was the subject of racist abuse from opposing players. Neither I nor the referee heard it, but a father of one of our players did. Last week, I was asked to contribute to a referee's report which is being sent to Dublin county board.

The following is an edited extract of my report:

"I was patrolling the sideline between the two games, keeping an eye on both matches, but primarily focusing on the B game.

"One of our players . . . from Nigeria, was playing corner back on the B team. He is a very friendly, happy boy, who has made great strides since joining our club. He is developing as an excellent young hurler.

"On the evening in question he was playing a fine game on our full-back line, consistently getting in front of the player he was marking and clearing a substantial amount of ball.

"During the games I became aware of an atmosphere emanating from a group of . . . parents, also on the sideline, about two metres behind me. They seemed critical of certain refereeing decisions in the A game. From what I had seen of the game, I thought their criticism was unfounded and their reaction, generally, over the top.

"In any event, I witnessed a . . . player pull his hurley illegally across one of our players. The referee . . . had in my view no option but to send him off. The offending player left the field, flinging his hurley on the ground.

"Meanwhile, at the end of the B match . . . some of our players told me that certain comments were being directed towards [our player] throughout the game. I was not made aware of this at half time. From what the boys said, these comments were clearly racist in tone, and had obviously upset [our player]. I, too, was disturbed to hear that such comments were being made, even though I did not hear them first hand.

"When the match had ended, the [opposition team] players were gathered in a group with some of their mentors and/or parents.

"[Our player] ran towards the group, singling out one player, who he pushed. A scuffle of sorts ensued, before I managed to pull [our player] away. He was crying, and deeply upset. [He] told me the boy had made comments that he was 'black'.

"I did not hear these comments, nor did I ascertain whether [our player's] reaction was provoked by comments made during the match or by comments made when the match was over.

"I took [him] aside and assured him that such comments were intolerable, and that he was "among friends" with his team mates. He calmed down quickly enough. I recall him leaving the pitch, his arms around two of his team mates.

"I also recall seeing somebody I presumed to be [an Opposition team] mentor speaking sternly with one of his young players, stating at one stage that he "would not be welcome in the club". I do not know the issue between them, and do not know if this was the boy who had directed racist comments . . . But I was happy that the mentor concerned seemed to be taking stern action."

From this report, you will see that racism is not only a potential problem at underage level, but also that violence is.

Recently, much has been said and written about a 'schmozzle' between Cork and Clare intercounty stars, perpetrated in front of a group of children.

I am now convinced this kind of behaviour contributes substantially to a situation where an U-11 player will quite violently pull his hurley across an opposing player. The boy concerned should have been reprimanded on the sideline by his mentors and other adults watching. He wasn't.

If intercounty stars have a responsibility in this regard, as does the GAA generally, then so do we parents.

- Jody Corcoran
Post by: dublinfella on July 25, 2008, 02:37:42 PM

Always the benchmark to soccer.  ::)

There was a similar incident at a Shels game, the guy involved immediatly arrested and banned for life. No comment yet from the GAA on this. The difference is striking.

This isn't one of those things the GAA can look down on others on. The precedent was set by not sending Graham Geraghty home from the Aussie series when he racially abused one of them.
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2008, 03:07:04 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2008, 02:37:42 PM

There was a similar incident at a Shels game, the guy involved immediatly arrested and banned for life. No comment yet from the GAA on this. The difference is striking.

This isn't one of those things the GAA can look down on others on. The precedent was set by not sending Graham Geraghty home from the Aussie series when he racially abused one of them.

From todays Indo.

GAA issues racism apology

By Cliona Foley

Friday July 25 2008

THE GAA will present several motions to Congress next April which will enshrine binding anti-racism measures in the official rule-book.

This radical move emerged when Croke Park and Carlow County Board officials had to issue a strongly worded apology yesterday to a young juvenile footballer who was racially abused in an underage club game last Monday.

The report that a 13-year-old Eire Og player suffered racist abuse in the U-14 FC semi-final against O'Hanrahans in a Carlow town derby came as a particular blow to the association because it prides itself on the integration policy it already has in place.

"The GAA's total rejection of racism, and its proactivity in integration, renders the reported incident in Carlow, albeit an isolated one, a huge disappointment," the GAA admitted yesterday when it offered its unreserved apology to Teboga Sebala and his family.

A statement from the central authorities and Carlow County Board "strongly and unequivocally condemned reports of a serious racist incident at an underage game in Carlow where a player of African origin was verbally abused by spectators."

The local board and its own Coiste na nOg (juvenile section) immediately promised to investigate the matter "with a view to having the perpetrators severely sanctioned" and said this process has already started.

The GAA's primary school body -- Cumann na mBunscol -- is particularly involved in introducing young immigrants to Gaelic games.

And there are already many senior initiatives at provincial and county level designed to attract new communities to take up the sports.

The GAA set up a task force with ladies' football and camogie last January to develop an integration strategy and stressed that they are consulting widely on this with representative groups and the relevant government ministry.

Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2008, 03:17:22 PM
Dublinfella telling lies again!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 25, 2008, 03:24:41 PM
It makes me truly sick to my stomach when I hear this type of thing happening. I remember at my own club in Cavan a young protestant lad being abused with sectarian comments at a match and after the match. The abuser was an active club member and his club forced him to attend an emergency board meeting of my club to offer a public apology and the issue went no further. Now this protestant guy was in his 20's and had heard it all before and let it lie at that. What we have here is totally disgraceful, people abusing children. That kid must have felt very alone when this was happening. First off, his manager should have called his team of  the field and refused to play until those "supporters" were ejected. Secondly, the names of the people involved should be given up by the club involved and those people should be report to the Gardai. If names are not forthcoming the club should be banned or fined so that it hurts them big time. Prejuduces should be left at the gate when entering a GAA field. Agree the GAA needs  to urgently come up with a procedure on how to behave when this happens.
Post by: dublinfella on July 25, 2008, 03:31:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2008, 03:17:22 PM
Dublinfella telling lies again!

Hardly a lie, I didn't see the paper today. Either way, it took them 5 days to comment yet shels reacted instantly.

Is a problem in the GAA and handwringing about soccer won't cut it. It needs to be dealt with and now. The GAA are signed up to the 'show racism the red card' campaign. Has any club recieved literature on it? I did a bit of stewarding and the FAI insist all stewards have read it and sign that they have done so. Do the GAA insist on it? Take a wild guess.
Post by: blasmere on July 25, 2008, 03:37:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2008, 03:33:49 PM
Shower of cnuts.

I remember a funny incident a rake of years back. Every year, St. Gall's in Belfast hold a May day tournament for P5s. A Belfast club (Rossa) had a black* lad playing midfield for them, Abdul. A class player. Anyway, they were in the final and a crowd had gathered to watch the game. The Rossa manager was running along the line shouting "Good lad, Abdul." "Your ball, Abdul." etc. An aul doll came up to the manager during the game and gave out heaps to him for calling the lad Abdul. She called him a racist b**tard and everything. He went and got his teamsheet and said, "Missus, Abdul is his f**king name."

*Can I say that?

Of course you can!!, I think using the term "coloured" is seen as more offensive (to some)
Post by: his holiness nb on July 25, 2008, 05:12:38 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2008, 02:37:42 PM

Maybe if there was the need for multiple Gardai at under 14 gaa games these guys would have been caught and banned.
I'd be suprised if there were any gardai at an under 14 GAA or soccer game.
But fair play to Shels for banning the guy once the Gardai identified him.

Why not compare it to something on a similar level, like underage soccer sunday league games around the country where this happens regularly? Theres no Gardai to identify the culprits, and therefore nobody reports anyone.
Its the very same in both sports. We are depending on the fans themselves to identify these people so action can be taken, sadly this doesnt seem to be happening.

My comment (benchmark to soccer) was due to the media reaction compared to when it happens in soccer games. Either way its disgraceful.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 11:50:44 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 25, 2008, 11:02:16 AM
>:( This has really pissed me off. I said this over 2 years ago that the GAA needs to have some kind legislation and disciplinary procedures for incidents of racism. It was inevitable that with increased numbers of people from different ethnic groups playing GAA that some thick c***ts are going to be racially abusing players. Of course we'll probably have Nicky Brennan going, "Oh we've never encountered this type a thing before".

Anyone racially abusing another player should get suspended for a year, anyone giving racist abuse form the sidelines should be ejected from the stadiums and banned form attending games. Any adults racially abusing or encouraging racist behavior at an underage game should be given a lifetime ban from the GAA and teams should be fined  and thrown out of competitions.

There should also a anti-racist campaign set up by the GAA just like "Give racism the boot" that should be promoted in all stadia around the country and backed by the players in ad campaigns and displays before matches. A very VERY clear message needs to be sent by the GAA that racism will not be tolerated in any form.

Also people need to grow a pair of balls and and stand up to confront people being racist at games. It makes it easier if decent people group together to have these people removed, because if only one person does it these ignoramuses will no doubt turn on them.

GET RACISM OUT OF THE GAA

Hear, hear! Loud and clear!
Post by: dublinfella on July 28, 2008, 11:07:36 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 25, 2008, 05:12:38 PM

Maybe if there was the need for multiple Gardai at under 14 gaa games these guys would have been caught and banned.
I'd be suprised if there were any gardai at an under 14 GAA or soccer game.
But fair play to Shels for banning the guy once the Gardai identified him.

Why not compare it to something on a similar level, like underage soccer sunday league games around the country where this happens regularly? Theres no Gardai to identify the culprits, and therefore nobody reports anyone.
Its the very same in both sports. We are depending on the fans themselves to identify these people so action can be taken, sadly this doesnt seem to be happening.

My comment (benchmark to soccer) was due to the media reaction compared to when it happens in soccer games. Either way its disgraceful.

But they were identified. They then threatned the wife of a member of the club. Yet still no-one took action. At one level there isnt a lot clubs can do here, but these racists were identified and tackled. Yet still no action.

The media reaction argument is a red herring. There is precious little racism in Irish sport, but there is less of a story if prompt and decicive action is taken, as in soccers case, then no action at all.
Post by: Franko on July 28, 2008, 02:01:03 PM
Whilst I absolutely agree with the sentiments of everyone here regarding the idiots involved in this rubbish I think that the abuse a referee has to take from the crowd is currently a bigger problem and something the GAA needs to act on.  I have seen referees make bad mistakes and have cost teams games but some of the mouthfuls of abuse that people hurl from the stands towards them are ridiculous.  No human being should have to listen to this.
Post by: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 01:34:16 AM
SARI(Sport Against Racism Ireland) <- they can f*** right off now. I've seen them unofficially collecting at GAA matches around the country and outside shops previously - can anyone tell me where these funds are going to? Seems like someone is trying to drum up a lobby group for their own ends and take in a wee bit of profit at the same time. (think al gore and his Carbon credits!). Is this organisation actually legal?

Theres far too much hysteria about racism in Ireland. The irish population are tired of bogus asylum seekers and spongers hence the bad feelings. In a way I cant blame people, its a natural reaction to changes that have been forced upon them by the government, bitterness creeping in regarding entire families who are being subsidised by health boards while indigenous families struggle to get by.

If I was playing sports with a minority group footballer, which I have in the past, then it's my job and the job of my team mates to look out for them, same way as you look after your fat, bald, slow, stupid and ginger team-mates...why is this any different?

Some people think we have to live in a utopia where all colours and creeds all get along like its bloody Rainbow Brite land. Dream on. Theres always going to be tension.
Just wait until Obama gets in ;)

Now i'll sit back and watch the fireworks :D

Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2008, 07:53:03 AM
Quote from: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 01:34:16 AMThe irish population are tired of bogus asylum seekers and spongers hence the bad feelings. In a way I cant blame people, its a natural reaction to changes that have been forced upon them by the government, bitterness creeping in regarding entire families who are being subsidised by health boards while indigenous families struggle to get by.

OK, I'll bite. Can you clarify whether the above is meant to justify the public vilification of a child playing a GAA match as a "natural reaction" by those responsible?

Anyway - on the substantive issue - we were promised an investigation and action. Has anything happened? Will anything happen? How will we know? Will this just be quietly forgotten when the hoooha has died down?
Post by: dublinfella on July 29, 2008, 10:37:21 AM
Quote from: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 01:34:16 AM
SARI(Sport Against Racism Ireland) <- they can f*** right off now. I've seen them unofficially collecting at GAA matches around the country and outside shops previously - can anyone tell me where these funds are going to? Seems like someone is trying to drum up a lobby group for their own ends and take in a wee bit of profit at the same time. (think al gore and his Carbon credits!). Is this organisation actually legal?

Not only is it legal, the GAA is a member of SARI.

A weak attempt at trolling.
Post by: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 11:24:08 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2008, 07:53:03 AM

OK, I'll bite. Can you clarify whether the above is meant to justify the public vilification of a child playing a GAA match as a "natural reaction" by those responsible?

Anyway - on the substantive issue - we were promised an investigation and action. Has anything happened? Will anything happen? How will we know? Will this just be quietly forgotten when the hoooha has died down?

Why don't we call a tribunal for every instance until everyone thinks in the same way?

What a wonderful PC world this will be....

Post by: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 29, 2008, 10:37:21 AM
Quote from: carribbear on July 29, 2008, 01:34:16 AM

Not only is it legal, the GAA is a member of SARI.

A weak attempt at trolling.

I'll keep telling them to eff off every time I see them. Probably filtering the money to Dessie Farrell......