Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Seany on May 14, 2017, 08:01:27 PM

Title: Arlene's Latest Gaffe
Post by: Seany on May 14, 2017, 08:01:27 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/anger-over-arlene-fosters-disgraceful-sexist-description-of-sinn-feins-michelle-oneill-35713118.html

Her political equal, the person with whom she is supposed to be working towards sharing power, the person who put out her hand at the funeral of Martin McGuinness for her to shake, the leader of Nationalism and Republicanism in the six counties.

She is asked to describe her in one word.

'Blonde'.

For any of you 26 county people trying to get a handle on us up here, just remember this one.  Put it along with her calling of Irish speakers 'crocodiles', the fact that she is the leader of a party that is homophobic, believes the world to be 5000 years old, lives in a constituency that is already on the periphery because of its border location and stands to lose catastrophically due to Brexit, yet she still voted for it...

Worse than the worst days of GUBU.
Title: Re: Arlene's Latest Gaffe
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2017, 08:31:51 PM
Very poor. I think she is very mediocre anyway. She managed the wood chip thing very badly. And now NI doesn't have an assembly. Brexit is another bad call.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 08:46:58 PM
Ffs.When I first read these comments I thought Arlene was being complimentary.Freestaters like Ruth Dudley Edwards and Eoghan Harris are regularly more offensive and venomous towards SF leaders.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2017, 08:53:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 08:46:58 PM
Ffs.When I first read these comments I thought Arlene was being complimentary.Freestaters like Ruth Dudley Edwards and Eoghan Harris are regularly more offensive and venomous towards SF leaders.
Name one southern leader who is as ignorant as Arlene
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2017, 09:00:58 PM
Quote from: Seany on May 14, 2017, 08:01:27 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/anger-over-arlene-fosters-disgraceful-sexist-description-of-sinn-feins-michelle-oneill-35713118.html

Her political equal, the person with whom she is supposed to be working towards sharing power, the person who put out her hand at the funeral of Martin McGuinness for her to shake, the leader of Nationalism and Republicanism in the six counties.

'Blonde'.

For any of you 26 county people trying to get a handle on us up here, just remember this one.  Put it along with her calling of Irish speakers 'crocodiles', the fact that she is the leader of a party that is homophobic, believes the world to be 5000 years old, lives in a constituency that is already on the periphery because of its border location and stands to lose catastrophically due to Brexit, yet she still voted for it...

Being against gay marriage is not homophobic.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 14, 2017, 09:27:32 PM
They are homophobic though.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 09:28:43 PM
Seafoid Arlene referred to Michelle as "blond,and very attractive" Arlene is regularly referred to as "Nick Cotton" by non unionists on Twitter and Facebook.Gerry Adams resolved to break unionist "bastards"Ignorance is not the preserve of just one of the tribes promoting the obsolete and totally out of date UK Unionist and Irish Nationalist philosophies in the North.

While all this sham fighting is going on,real problems like health,education,poverty etc in the North grow and grow.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 14, 2017, 09:38:59 PM
Quote from: Seany on May 14, 2017, 08:01:27 PM

'Blonde'.

No doubt Foster has major faults and prejudices and is divisive but keep to the facts when you attack her.  You have absorbed the propaganda and are now repeating it as fact.

Foster's reference to crocodiles related to Sinn Fein in that she believed with every concession given to them they only came back for more and, in her opinion, the demand for an ILA was just another issue requiring a concession from the DUP. Not all Irish speakers are members of SF and not all Irish speaker demand an ILA.

http://www.thejournal.ie/arlene-foster-gerry-adams-3225834-Feb2017/ (http://www.thejournal.ie/arlene-foster-gerry-adams-3225834-Feb2017/)

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0206/850536-ni-politics/ (https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0206/850536-ni-politics/)
Post by: playwiththewind1st on May 14, 2017, 09:39:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 09:28:43 PM
Seafoid Arlene referred to Michelle as "blond,and very attractive" Arlene is regularly referred to as "Nick Cotton" by non unionists on Twitter and Facebook.Gerry Adams resolved to break unionist "b**tards"Ignorance is not the preserve of just one of the tribes promoting the obsolete and totally out of date UK Unionist and Irish Nationalist philosophies in the North.

While all this sham fighting is going on,real problems like health,education,poverty etc in the North grow and grow.

But, meanwhile, we have to face up to the most serious problem in the world. Glasgow Celtic winning every game & how to deal with the failings of the manager.
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2017, 09:39:57 PM
Seafoid Arlene referred to Michelle as "blond,and very attractive" Arlene is regularly referred to as "Nick Cotton" by non unionists on Twitter and Facebook.Gerry Adams resolved to break unionist "b**tards"Ignorance is not the preserve of just one of the tribes promoting the obsolete and totally out of date UK Unionist and Irish Nationalist philosophies in the North.

+1. I can imagine the outrage on social media is off the charts
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 09:56:16 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/republic-of-ireland/flag-protest-as-donegal-holiday-park-vows-to-keep-union-flag-flying-high-35709456.html

What do you make of this? Reasonable enough as the guy has a substantial volume of British customers
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2017, 10:10:53 PM
He plays fast and loose with the truth
"At this stage, 60% of my guests are British people who are flocking to Donegal, which is wonderful"
10 seconds later
"Today, 80% of my guests are English, so I will fly their flag."

Post by: Orior on May 14, 2017, 10:28:59 PM
Is it any different from a few Irish boys hanging their county flag or Tricolour from their balcony in a hotel while on holiday?
Post by: Avondhu star on May 14, 2017, 10:53:57 PM

No need to bother people with real issues like health and education when their political leaders on both sides can distract them talking shite about 1690 and 1916
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 14, 2017, 11:02:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 14, 2017, 10:17:27 PM
It isn't called Hunfanaghy for nothing.
It's no Fundoran.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2017, 01:17:22 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 14, 2017, 08:53:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2017, 08:46:58 PM
Name one southern leader who is as ignorant as Arlene

Jurry.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2017, 11:39:50 AM
Don't know if she intended offence, I suspect not.  Certainly poor judgement though.

I reckon she was doing her "reaching out" stuff, going to a Free State paper, sister to Belfast Telegraph, known to be "kind" to unionists.   Getting Horan to do it rather than a political hack suggests to me she wanted to put the whole Arlene the reasonable person story out there.

Then she leaves herself open with this crap.  Silly mistake. 

/Jim.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2017, 01:45:19 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2017, 11:39:50 AM
Don't know if she intended offence, I suspect not.  Certainly poor judgement though.

I reckon she was doing her "reaching out" stuff, going to a Free State paper, sister to Belfast Telegraph, known to be "kind" to unionists.   Getting Horan to do it rather than a political hack suggests to me she wanted to put the whole Arlene the reasonable person story out there.

/Jim.

Didn't she play the misogyny card before the previous election?
Post by: johnneycool on May 15, 2017, 02:03:33 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2017, 11:39:50 AM

/Jim.

Well she wasn't attempting to be nice and considering the misogyny stuff she was rabbiting on about it was bad manners at best to be describing a fellow woman party leader purely aesthetically with no mention of her intellect, or various other abilities.
I think Arlene struggles to hide her snideyness when put under any sort of pressure at all.

Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2017, 02:07:13 PM
I wasn't too worried about Arlene if I'm honest, a simple gaff that has been cease upon.

Then Sammy Wilson popped up.

Sam McBride tweet:

Sammy Wilson on @BBCTalkback"Michelle O'Neill is blonde, unless she's dyed her hair since the last time I'd the misfortune to see her on TV"
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2017, 02:20:11 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 15, 2017, 02:03:33 PM
Well she wasn't attempting to be nice and considering the misogyny stuff she was rabbiting on about it was bad manners at best to be describing a fellow woman party leader purely aesthetically with no mention of her intellect, or various other abilities.
I think Arlene struggles to hide her snideyness when put under any sort of pressure at all.

I doubt that Niamh Horan put her under too much pressure.  In fact reading the article I do think that the whole thing was an effort to show the "nice" side of Arlene.

Which makes her judgement all the worse.

/Jim.

Post by: ashman on May 15, 2017, 02:29:22 PM
Arlene is a thick as two knobs of goatsh1t.
Post by: Seany on May 15, 2017, 02:38:46 PM
Calling someone 'blonde' is more than describing the colour of their hair.  We're not stupid about that one.

However, if the two were pals and got on well and there was a good camaraderie between them, she could get away with it and it could be laughed off as banter.

But we are now in the most tense phase in relationships between our two communities for 20 years and she really needs to watch how she talks about those who are refusing to go back into power with her citing a lack of respect and integrity.

I can understand Arlene for disliking republicans for what they did on her family, but she is now the leader of unionism.  She needs to have a bigger picture.  The problem is, she hasn't.  She is still worried about what Ethel back at the Masonic Lodge will say.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 15, 2017, 03:21:00 PM
Bit of storm in a teacup

Any disparaging remarks are gonna be highlighted and spun through the media

Sounds like Arline just had a bit of Blonde moment herself
Post by: Kidder81 on May 15, 2017, 03:25:58 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on May 15, 2017, 03:21:00 PM
Bit of storm in a teacup

Any disparaging remarks are gonna be highlighted and spun through the media

Sounds like Arline just had a bit of Blonde moment herself

Yeah that's how I see it, just the nonsense you have to put up with here. Wait to we see how many days this lasts on the news cycle

Post by: yellowcard on May 15, 2017, 03:59:14 PM
I wouldn't take what Foster said as being too serious and it is a bit of a storm in a tea cup. However, it is very clear to me that she was trying to be condescending towards O'Neill with those comments. It was a daft thing to say on her behalf, why even steer the interview in that direction. 
Post by: Applesisapples on May 15, 2017, 04:32:43 PM
I'd have to say I thought the comments on the whole were complimentary although perhaps not appropriate in the circumstances of an interview. It has given more ammo to SF (no pun intended). As for the guy in Dunfanaghey if he wants to fly the flag and your insulted, sure don't visit his property. it's full of Brits anyway sure.
Post by: Main Street on May 15, 2017, 04:39:43 PM
It's a wonder there's anybody left alive up north considering the insult sensitivity levels.

Then again, compare the two photos of Michelle taken from the same photo shoot with Arlene.

From the Indo   
(http://cdn-02.independent.ie/incoming/article35556890.ece/72640/AUTOCROP/h342/2017-03-%20289.jpg)

and the Belfast Telegraph's photoshopped pink lipstick insult
(http://cdn-01.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/incoming/article35714446.ece/80144/AUTOCROP/w620h342/tin%20McGuinness.jpg)

Post by: TheOptimist on May 15, 2017, 05:31:15 PM
I cannot see how people dismiss this as a storm in a tea cup.

Arlene when asked about how she felt about a fellow politician replied about her looks rather than the job she thought she was doing. She would not have referred to Martin McGuinness as Curly or any other male politician in that way. It is highly sexist. She even tried to stop herself before saying it admitting that it was sexist.

Forgetting the politics, if you don't see this as sexist then you are seriously missing the point.

Then look at who it is coming from, the former first minister and it is just yet more proof of her incompetence in the job.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 15, 2017, 05:55:21 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2017, 09:00:58 PM

Yes it is.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2017, 06:11:21 PM
Maybe she was making the somewhat valid point that Michelle spends too much time on her appearance and not enough on substance and delivery.

A bit rich for anyone to take offence given the stick doled out to Arlene on Twitter etc on account of her looks
Post by: BennyCake on May 15, 2017, 06:22:22 PM
Is it any wonder Stormont is the way it is, if this is what's making the news.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2017, 06:56:36 PM
Exactly.
Post by: Kidder81 on May 15, 2017, 06:57:20 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 15, 2017, 06:22:22 PM
Is it any wonder Stormont is the way it is, if this is what's making the news.

Front page of Irish News today
Post by: Applesisapples on May 16, 2017, 11:51:37 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2017, 06:11:21 PM
Maybe she was making the somewhat valid point that Michelle spends too much time on her appearance and not enough on substance and delivery.

A bit rich for anyone to take offence given the stick doled out to Arlene on Twitter etc on account of her looks
Thats a disgraceful comment to make about any one, but not surprising given the source.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 16, 2017, 01:46:42 PM

Random people posting on social media = Ex first minister comment during interview.

In what world...........
Post by: AhNowRef on May 16, 2017, 02:19:38 PM

More proof (if it was needed) that you're a complete tr**p ...

BTW - When did Michelle O'Neill give AF stick about her looks ? ... How you can compare the two scenarios is beyond me ... you're an idiot, but thats the least of your problems to be fair !!
Post by: yellowcard on May 16, 2017, 02:52:21 PM

How can you compare the comments made by a former first minister with the comments made by ananymous Twitter user's. It's like comparing apples with oranges. The mind boggles at the stupidity of that statement as I'd be fairly sure that O'Neill wasn't responsible for handing out the abuse to Foster via twitter.
Post by: Last Man on May 16, 2017, 03:43:01 PM
I have only heard other women in the media on giving off about this. Why didnt Michelle come out straight away and personally laugh off Arlene's latest cut at her while expressing surprise at the sexism employed. It really was a chance to put Arlene back in her box and underpin her own credibility. Maybe I missed it.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 16, 2017, 05:18:04 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 16, 2017, 11:51:37 AM

Thats a disgraceful comment to make about any one, but not surprising given the source.

Probably taking a lead from Sandra McClellan ex SF Td Cork East who complained she couldn't afford cosmetics because  S.F. only allowed her the Average Industrial Wage
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2017, 08:50:46 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 15, 2017, 05:55:21 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2017, 09:00:58 PM
Yes it is.
Homophobia use to mean having an irrational fear of gays, having a deep hatred/anger/violence towards homosexual people and lifestyle. These days, the meaning has been stretched to cover every attitude which is perceived as being negative to gays, from mild to ultra extreme.
It's quite possible to have a rational or ideological, even religious based opposition to gay marriage, but have a live and let live attitude at the same time. Arlene however, is a homophobe ;D 

In this matter of the gaffe, I don't get the overly sexism attitude,
it's more the ugly step sister syndrome.
The question caught Arlene on the hop and her jealousy just bolted ahead of the thought process.
Perhaps I'm reading too much into it.

Post by: omaghjoe on May 16, 2017, 09:06:21 PM
Should be called Arlene's latest Gift.

She's a clown but the double standards are hilarious
Post by: playwiththewind1st on May 16, 2017, 09:35:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2017, 04:39:43 PM
It's a wonder there's anybody left alive up north considering the insult sensitivity levels.

Then again, compare the two photos of Michelle taken from the same photo shoot with Arlene.

From the Indo   
(http://cdn-02.independent.ie/incoming/article35556890.ece/72640/AUTOCROP/h342/2017-03-%20289.jpg)

(http://cdn-01.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/incoming/article35714446.ece/80144/AUTOCROP/w620h342/tin%20McGuinness.jpg)

Right pair of happy campers there!!
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 16, 2017, 09:46:18 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2017, 04:39:43 PM

From the Indo   

Not surprising at all.  The Belfast Telegraph/Sunday Life is the closest you'll get to An Phoblacht in Unionism.  Not long ago that Sunday Life did a weekly journal as to what Johnny Adair was getting up to in England ffs.
Post by: T Fearon on May 17, 2017, 12:12:46 AM
The Belfast Telegraph is owned by the Sindo group.Not surprisingly it is anti Sinn Fein and unionist in outlook,but ironically not nearly as bad as its big brother in Dublin
Post by: armaghniac on May 17, 2017, 07:13:41 PM
On LAD it was noted that Arlene "also thinks the Stormont Sinn Fein leader might dye her hair but the DUP leader boasts that she prefers her traditional roots."
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 17, 2017, 07:48:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 17, 2017, 07:13:41 PM
On LAD it was noted that Arlene "also thinks the Stormont Sinn Fein leader might dye her hair but the DUP leader boasts that she prefers her traditional roots."

Or the traditional routes...
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 18, 2017, 11:59:50 PM
Another great performance from the DUP leader tonight on The View 
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 19, 2017, 01:28:10 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on May 18, 2017, 11:59:50 PM
Another great performance from the DUP leader tonight on The View

Fcuk me.  Only in this dump would anyone that thick even get elected never mind become first minister!
Post by: theskull1 on May 19, 2017, 10:13:55 AM
What went on last night?
Post by: Seany on May 22, 2017, 07:51:32 PM
Ahttp://www.irishnews.com/news/2017/05/22/news/church-minister-insists-hydrogen-peroxide-remarks-at-unionist-event-was-a-private-joke--1032319/ new low.
Post by: Longshanks on June 20, 2017, 02:31:23 PM
She is like teflon, nothing sticks, no the lies or deception. Her voters will vote for the party no matter what they do. They will simply double down.
Embarrassing and depressing in equal measure.
Post by: Taylor on June 20, 2017, 02:43:04 PM
All this nonsense about her being found out  now the 'mainland' know all about the party will not make one iota of difference to DUP.

If they fell in a dunkle of shite they would come out smelling of roses 
Post by: yellowcard on June 20, 2017, 02:50:46 PM
Sure people appear to have forgotten about the RHI scandal already. If she can survive that she can survive anything. That said, all of the negative publicity that they have received since cosying up to the Tories is bound to have opened their eyes slightly as to how they are perceived in middle England. I doubt if even they expected such a backlash.
Post by: Orior on June 20, 2017, 02:51:20 PM
Quote from: Taylor on June 20, 2017, 02:43:04 PM
All this nonsense about her being found out  now the 'mainland' know all about the party will not make one iota of difference to DUP.

If they fell in a dunkle of shite they would come out smelling of roses

Localised word for dunghill? Certainly my Dad pronounced it the way you spelt it.
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:00:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 20, 2017, 02:51:20 PM
Localised word for dunghill? Certainly my Dad pronounced it the way you spelt it.

Weren't you posh!
Post by: Orior on June 20, 2017, 03:07:41 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:00:15 PM

Weren't you posh!

Hell yeah. One of my weekly chores used to be burying the dry toilet in the dunkle.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:12:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 20, 2017, 03:07:41 PM

Weren't you posh!

Hell yeah. One of my weekly chores used to be burying the dry toilet in the dunkle.

Surely it would have been easier and cheaper just to bury its contents.  :D
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:55:41 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/YVTRl67.jpg?1)
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:56:12 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:12:30 PM

Weren't you posh!

That's a crap comment, you must be taking the p|ss.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:56:53 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:56:12 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:12:30 PM

Weren't you posh!

That's a crap comment.

No shit?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 20, 2017, 10:38:23 PM
Tories seem to be treating them like shite in these negotiations
Post by: stew on June 21, 2017, 08:45:54 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:55:41 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/YVTRl67.jpg?1)

What an ugly human being Arlene is, I mean the woman is despicable in the extreme.