Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

Drisc.WolvesTones

Agreed. Moortowns chainsmokers got lucky. Young lawn was trying to hump the ball on the penatly spot in the dying moments. should have been a pen.

Owen roes were disappointing. Derrylaughan will be hard stopped.

Cahir Mccullagh impressive for our neighbours Greenhouse.

Last nights double header oppitomises the Tyrone championship. Late drama for the moy. what a score from 'colly sack of spuds' cavanagh. Moy were terrible and rock are going to be a force in intermediate in the coming years. young, physical, fast team. only for a rotten goal from paddy lav they would be in the semi.
Errigal were a disgrace last night, me and Petie Cavanagh had a chat after the game he was far from pleased with his cubs. Zuko is a handful and clonoe were a joy to watch. Ryan Quinn made a good stab at getting back in the starting team. Unfortunately for the whole county, Errigal will likely demolish them on saturday.

Loughmaclarnon were unlucky against dungannastin. Mcelholm is insanely good and we will do well to keep him from Oz for the red hands.

What a weekend of football. This is why Tyrone Championship is the best in the land.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Rahilee1916 on September 23, 2024, 03:27:09 PMGreat result for our boys last night and incredibly unlucky not win. Great to see some absolute fools on this page put in their place with the stick clonoe have been getting on here. Replay will be a tough one for us but if we win, we are surely favourites for Ulster? I'd expect Ardboe will still train away knowing they'll have a relegation play off against coalisland to play.
Good result for yous and should've won. People on this page saying you didn't stand a chance and would be easily beat respectfully don't know too much. We seen in the league what hapened. Only difference in the two results was Canavan was on form that day in the league

GAAtrojan

Quote from: Drisc.WolvesTones on September 23, 2024, 03:33:02 PMAgreed. Moortowns chainsmokers got lucky. Young lawn was trying to hump the ball on the penatly spot in the dying moments. should have been a pen.

Owen roes were disappointing. Derrylaughan will be hard stopped.

Cahir Mccullagh impressive for our neighbours Greenhouse.

Last nights double header oppitomises the Tyrone championship. Late drama for the moy. what a score from 'colly sack of spuds' cavanagh. Moy were terrible and rock are going to be a force in intermediate in the coming years. young, physical, fast team. only for a rotten goal from paddy lav they would be in the semi.
Errigal were a disgrace last night, me and Petie Cavanagh had a chat after the game he was far from pleased with his cubs. Zuko is a handful and clonoe were a joy to watch. Ryan Quinn made a good stab at getting back in the starting team. Unfortunately for the whole county, Errigal will likely demolish them on saturday.

Loughmaclarnon were unlucky against dungannastin. Mcelholm is insanely good and we will do well to keep him from Oz for the red hands.

What a weekend of football. This is why Tyrone Championship is the best in the land.

Moortown lucky????

Ffs did you watch the game with your eyes closed! By far the better team!

Batman12345

Fair play to paddy lavery letting his football do the talking firing back with a goal for the Moy this weekend. Personally still think he runs about like a headless chicken looking for action shots, but it's nice to see a player silence a few critics.

tiempo

Quote from: Drisc.WolvesTones on September 23, 2024, 04:30:46 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 23, 2024, 04:16:35 PMIs very unfair the hammering refs are getting here... whilst we all disagree with decisions it's near impossible.
The Clonoe game he doesn't give a free in at the end he gets hammered.. if he'd give a free in he'd have got hammered.
The double bounce for Matties goal. I don't think one commentator or reporter even seen it. Wasn't a complaint from an Ardboe player or mentor and I only noticed it on seeing the replay.
The abuse is getting worse and worse at games. Hurson is deemed one of the best in the country and he gets unreal abuse... worse than a thankless job.

I agree the refs are ballsy to do their job and it is tough. but to get paid and to be trusted to the biggest games, the calls need to be better and need to be explained. the black card is used very inconsistently by all our referees.

To get off the topic of referees,

The commentary mention Gary Eoin more than any player on the pitch in every game i have watched. and why does he say ' from distancccce' even if he is 13 yards out? it baffles me that someone who is calling a shot a 'Gary Eoin' is commentary on a stream that costs £13. A bit more proffesionalism would do no harm. in the first round the weather was nice and commentator ranted on about how he would have loved a bbq burger cause he had smelt one in the distance. mental the shit being talked about, as men are putting their hearts and souls into their clubs on the pitch.

Wish i had heard that. While the commentary might be variable depending on whose on, and noone can be everyone's cup of tea, i'd try and remember that its a grassroots sport and this is grassroots commentary, maybe its a good thing that the commentators aren't taking themselves as seriously as some of the eejits who are part of management panels across the county.

The two commentators i prefer are Dairmud McNulty for his sharp read of matchups and player knowledge, and Seamus McCallan for his laid back but very perceptive read on games, he called the Killyclogher Omagh game to a tee, both commentators are consistent in that in the dying embers of a game while chasing a lead there is still value in taking the point, and going again from the next attack with even only a minute or a single play left, as proven time and again you have to play to the final whistle

tiempo

I replied to the troll, shoot me now 😭 one of my commentary gripes is how every team apparently has great championship pedigree and tradition, all teams in all grades as far as I'm told, seems illogical, but i bow to the higher knowledge of some analysts

Delb123

Niall Sludden, Peter Teague and Emmett Mcnabb

Anyway, can anyone hit me with a few names you guys think MOR will call up to the panel this year?

Quote from: Drisc.WolvesTones on September 23, 2024, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: tiempo on September 23, 2024, 04:42:38 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 23, 2024, 04:16:35 PMIs very unfair the hammering refs are getting here... whilst we all disagree with decisions it's near impossible.
The Clonoe game he doesn't give a free in at the end he gets hammered.. if he'd give a free in he'd have got hammered.
The double bounce for Matties goal. I don't think one commentator or reporter even seen it. Wasn't a complaint from an Ardboe player or mentor and I only noticed it on seeing the replay.
The abuse is getting worse and worse at games. Hurson is deemed one of the best in the country and he gets unreal abuse... worse than a thankless job.

I agree the refs are ballsy to do their job and it is tough. but to get paid and to be trusted to the biggest games, the calls need to be better and need to be explained. the black card is used very inconsistently by all our referees.

The commentary mention Gary Eoin more than any player on the pitch in every game i have watched. and why does he say ' from distancccce' even if he is 13 yards out? it baffles me that someone who is calling a shot a 'Gary Eoin' is commentary on a stream that costs £13. A bit more proffesionalism would do no harm. in the first round the weather was nice and commentator ranted on about how he would have loved a bbq burger cause he had smelt one in the distance. mental the shit being talked about, as men are putting their hearts and souls into their clubs on the pitch.

Wish i had heard that. While the commentary might be variable depending on whose on, and noone can be everyone's cup of tea, i'd try and remember that its a grassroots sport and this is grassroots commentary, maybe its a good thing that the commentators aren't taking themselves as seriously as some of the eejits who are part of management panels across the county.

The two commentators i prefer are Dairmud McNulty for his sharp read of matchups and player knowledge, and Seamus McCallan for his laid back but very perceptive read on games, he called the Killyclogher Omagh game to a tee, both commentators are consistent in that in the dying embers of a game while chasing a lead there is still value in taking the point, and going again from the next attack with even only a minute or a single play left, as proven time and again you have to play to the final whistle

You must have a dodgy box. i pay £13 4 times at the weekend to hear a man chatting about burgers and Gary Eoins? catch yourself on. lorcan martin done nothing but talk down on intermediate football the gamnes i heard him doing and him who is currently managing a junior team, confusing.If the commentary would get a good mix of knowledge, humour and tone theyd be easier listened to. All the referees are backed by commentary even if the commentary dont agree.

Anyway, can anyone hit me with a few names you guys think MOR will call up to the panel this year?
Get off your ass and go to the games then. You will save £1 and won't have to listen to the commentary.

In hiding

Quote from: Drisc.WolvesTones on September 23, 2024, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: tiempo on September 23, 2024, 04:42:38 PM

You must have a dodgy box. i pay £13 4 times at the weekend to hear a man chatting about burgers and Gary Eoins? catch yourself on. lorcan martin done nothing but talk down on intermediate football the gamnes i heard him doing and him who is currently managing a junior team, confusing.If the commentary would get a good mix of knowledge, humour and tone theyd be easier listened to. All the referees are backed by commentary even if the commentary dont agree.

Matthew Quinn is very young but potentially very good. Has a bit of size and looks to be good on the ball. Good feet too.
Pretty surprising how he has yet to play county at underage

square_ball

Clonoe full back Shane Hughes has been excellent so far. Ruairi Canavan barely got a kick off him last night.

WT4E

I think paddy's line of the round was: 'Owen Roes and Derryluaghan have the greatest geological difference in Tyrone'

Either he's a genius or a fool. And also pointed out to be incorrect by McNulty.  ;D

Quote from: WT4E on September 23, 2024, 08:28:46 PMI think paddy's line of the round was: 'Owen Roes and Derryluaghan have the greatest geological difference in Tyrone'

Either he's a genius or a fool. And also pointed out to be incorrect by McNulty.  ;D

One is very Lough Neagh sandy and the other mainly peat bog!
Would Coalisland and Moortown be the most different geologically?

Edit: Maybe Rock?

Carmen1932

Quote from: Ancharraig123 on September 23, 2024, 05:18:07 PMNiall Sludden, Peter Teague and Emmett Mcnabb

Paul Donaghy, Mark Bradley, Danny Fullerton, Richie Donnelly, Cormac Munroe, Rory Brennan.

smort

Have watched a lot of games so far and would proffer a few other names that have impressed. I'm not saying these players should get a call up, but if Malachy wanted to shake things up a bit... (I should say this doesn't include any of last year's u20s, some of whom will likely be part of the senior panel in 2025, and other players that have walked away over recent years)

Dwayne Quinn
Matthew Murnaghan
James Quinn
Matthew Quinn
Cahir McCullagh
Cathal Owens
Liam Nugent
Thomas Mackle
Thomas Carney
Lorcán McCullagh
Cormac McBride

And I agree on the Gary Gormley posts, posters have gotten way out of line

And another thing while I'm here, are people expecting prime John motson, or Martin Tyler, or Michael O'Muircheartaigh on comms? Think the guys do a decent job. I enjoy ger's passion

Aren't Moortown and Aghyaran the 2 furthest clubs apart. As for the closest Fianna to Brackaville or Fianna to Clonoe? Both must be in around 1.5 miles apart.