Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Walter Cronc on January 10, 2021, 07:07:49 PM

Title: Irish passport
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 10, 2021, 07:07:49 PM
Has anyone experience of getting a fast track Irish passport? What sort of timeframe for turnaround?
Title: Re: Irish passport
Post by: laoislad on January 10, 2021, 07:42:15 PM
Can't help you but maybe Our Niall Loney can  ;D
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9024.0
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 07:51:47 PM
Just so you know, passport service is a mess at the minute with covid and lockdowns. Taking months to get my daughter's sorted - she was born in September.
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on January 10, 2021, 08:21:43 PM
Circumstances are very different at the minute. But we had a serious passport c**k up prior to going away last summer. With evidence of flights in the next 72 hours they got us one in 48 hours. Wasn't even that much of a hassle.

Our daughter was born last year and it took us 4 and half weeks for hers.
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2021, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 07:51:47 PM
Just so you know, passport service is a mess at the minute with covid and lockdowns. Taking months to get my daughter's sorted - she was born in September.

As soon as you see a twinkle in your bird's eye, then fill in the passport application.
Post by: Rois on January 10, 2021, 09:59:18 PM
Can you point me in the right direction - can you get a baby's passport online? (Baby girl also born in Sep)
Post by: imtommygunn on January 10, 2021, 10:02:16 PM
I don't think you can get passports online at the minute. I need renewed and we want to get one for our one year old too.
Post by: Minder on January 10, 2021, 10:03:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 10, 2021, 10:02:16 PM
I don't think you can get passports online at the minute. I need renewed and we want to get one for our one year old too.

Yeah it's all paused
Post by: Rois on January 10, 2021, 10:09:15 PM
Yeah just checked website - though I was able to get further than last time I tried.
Getting a picture is going to be fun...
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 10, 2021, 10:11:01 PM
I need it for getting married..some time to misplace it  :o
Post by: JoG2 on January 10, 2021, 10:13:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 10, 2021, 10:09:15 PM
Yeah just checked website - though I was able to get further than last time I tried.
Getting a picture is going to be fun...

Lay your baby girl down on her back and take the pic standing over her...well, that's what a photographer friend told me after a botched attempt!

Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 10, 2021, 10:11:01 PM
I need it for getting married..some time to misplace it  :o

Tell the future Mrs Cronc they're suspended for the forseeable Walter!  ;D
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 10:26:39 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 10, 2021, 09:59:18 PM
Can you point me in the right direction - can you get a baby's passport online? (Baby girl also born in Sep)

Yes, just do it on the website, fill out the form, print it out, get it signed and send it off along with whatever other documents you need - we sent our passports, wedding cert and her birth cert.

One thing for the online application - don't try and crop a photo down to passport size. Just get a straight on photo with your phone and upload it, the site will process the image accordingly.

We had a small delay as had to resubmit as there are two versions of a birth cert in Spain and they wanted the one I didn't send. By time we resubmitted, the place was shut down for 6 weeks. Reopened in December and they posted it to us on December 23rd. Still waiting on it, but don't know if they've shut down again.
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2021, 10:29:55 PM
https://passportonline.dfa.ie/Apply/Passport#

Can still get into the application engine, so you should be able to submit that. Posting the supporting documentation probably going to be an issue.

Passport office shutting down is absolutely f**king laughable. Pretty goddamn essential service if you ask me.
Post by: gallsman on January 27, 2021, 12:57:51 PM
Still no sign of passport that was posted on December 23rd.
Post by: gallsman on February 11, 2021, 09:27:38 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 27, 2021, 12:57:51 PM
Still no sign of passport that was posted on December 23rd.

Finally turned up in Barcelona this morning. 7 weeks from the date of postage.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 13, 2022, 09:47:41 AM
Anyone know the process of fast tracking an irish passport?

The better half is having issues at the moment where she applied months ago (january) and there has been no update on the website.  We are heading away at the end of May and things are getting to tight at this stage. 

Also we are going to Spain, whats the rules around Covid?
Post by: johnnycool on April 13, 2022, 09:54:31 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on April 13, 2022, 09:47:41 AM

The better half is having issues at the moment where she applied months ago (january) and there has been no update on the website.  We are heading away at the end of May and things are getting to tight at this stage. 

I got a renewal turned round in less that a week only last week but have heard of long waits on new applications, one friend had it up on facebook that she'd applied in December but only got it last week just before she was about to fly...

Best of luck with that.
Post by: WeeDonns on April 13, 2022, 11:17:00 AM
Have had need to contact them before when I lost a passport and needed a new one to travel the following week & found them very responsive on twitter.
They told me to come to their office in Balbriggan & they printed it while I had a coffee across the road. Pre Coivd times
Post by: HiMucker on April 13, 2022, 11:26:54 AM

We were the same waiting on a renewal for one of the kids. Applied in Jan no update on the website. Wife phoned the other day, and they had sent out an email ages ago that went to her spam that was missed and since auto deleted. They had requested the long birth cert. Why they need that for a renewal fcuk knows?? Long and short of it, ring them to find out as we didnt receive a call, though I have heard other people in the same boat have. With regards to fast tracking the passport, I don't think that option exist anymore but I stand to be corrected on that one. Hope ye get sorted in time.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 13, 2022, 11:55:26 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 13, 2022, 09:54:31 AM

I got a renewal turned round in less that a week only last week but have heard of long waits on new applications, one friend had it up on facebook that she'd applied in December but only got it last week just before she was about to fly...

Best of luck with that.
I was lucky enough too, applied online  for a renewal  back in February and had it in just over a week ,
Post by: trailer on April 13, 2022, 11:58:45 AM

Emailed them about the wee lads and they did come back fairly quickly. The photo was bit iffy so had to redo it. Now it took ages for the passport but they will communicate with you quickly.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 13, 2022, 12:11:41 PM
Thanks for the guidance, ill try and call them on it this afternoon and see.  Unfortunately its a new application, if it comes to it, she may have to renew her British passport  :(
Post by: omagh_gael on January 30, 2023, 02:23:27 PM
Had a passport disaster at weekend which has required me to fork out €245 for the same day turnaround for an Irish passport renewal. I've my appointment at midday tomorrow, does anyone know roughly how long it takes them to print off new passport?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2023, 02:34:38 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 30, 2023, 02:23:27 PM
Had a passport disaster at weekend which has required me to fork out €245 for the same day turnaround for an Irish passport renewal. I've my appointment at midday tomorrow, does anyone know roughly how long it takes them to print off new passport?

Just use your British one  ;)
Post by: WeeDonns on January 30, 2023, 02:53:33 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 30, 2023, 02:23:27 PM

I had to go to their office in Balbriggan once to lift mine - (had a mix up, they thought i was collecting the next morning in the city centre, but my flight left before it opened)
The woman sent me across the road for a coffee - had it ready in 30mins

(I flew home from Spain the previous week with just a photo of my passport)
Post by: omagh_gael on January 30, 2023, 03:24:07 PM
Cheers weedons, was speaking to them and woman seemed confident it would be ready within the hour. Flight is at 5pm so will be cutting it tight enough but should be grand.
Post by: Rossfan on January 30, 2023, 03:29:16 PM
Renewed passport on line Wed evening. Arrived in post Friday.
Post by: trailer on January 30, 2023, 03:33:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 30, 2023, 03:29:16 PM
Renewed passport on line Wed evening. Arrived in post Friday.

Renewals are unreal. So quick.