Started by Blowitupref, May 22, 2019, 01:45:27 PM

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2019, 11:15:07 AM
Quote from: keeperlit on June 24, 2019, 09:50:01 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 24, 2019, 09:43:34 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 24, 2019, 09:39:04 AM
Quote from: highorlow on June 24, 2019, 09:33:18 AM
QuoteTough draw for us, Armagh are improving while we look to be waning. They'll fancy their chances of taking down a "big" team here I'd say.

Have we ever played in championship before?

1950 semi final.

We all know what happened after that.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .
though im nearly sure we played in a 1/4 final or some thing since then . I rember armagh giving mayo a good beating on ther day . it was in croker maybe a league Semi?

League semi final 2004 I think.

Yeah, Paul McGrane kicked Ronan McGarrity in the head as he was lying on the ground

No he didn't. 

Quote from: Rossfan on June 24, 2019, 11:46:29 AM
Round 4 rules mention avoiding Provincial repeats "where feasible "
So Galway and Cork can play any Qualifier
Meath can't play Laois
Cavan can't play Armagh

Really? I thought that wasnt the case. That is good for Cavan I think, Obviously our best chance to avoid the Tyrone/Kildare and Mayo/Armagh winners.

shark

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 24, 2019, 09:47:49 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 21, 2019, 10:04:34 PM
Westmeath lads, has Jack Smith got a run at all? Was a very good half back at underage for the Dubs, but never got a look in at senior.

The Derry lad on the Wooly podcast said (when talking about Kerry letting Cox go very easily to Rossies) that he knew Jim Gavin made a call to a player who was asked to join another county, to say he's still on the radar, and hold off for another year. Given the Derry lad plays for Skerries Harps, i'd guess he was talking about Jack's brother Stephen, who's an absolute topper of a corner forward. Admittedly small, but very quick, can take a bang, and great scorer.

There's another younger brother coming too, and I believe he'd be well worth keeping an eye on.

Played corner back Saturday. Played a couple of games in the league at wing forward. Hasn't really improved the team but hasn't disgraced himself either. Probably a little light for this level.

Not a great performance from us Saturday, we've gone back to playing within ourselves. Match should have been killed when Halligan got his goal at half time but Limerick were allowed waltz through us a few times. Need to bring a lot more intensity the next day against Clare. Draw was kind again but would have preferred the Biffos, least we're at home although a trip to Ennis would have been good craic. Need Heslin and Duncan fit to start.

I would say he was certainly referring to Stephen Smith. Their father Peter played for Westmeath in the late 80's, early 90's, and won a few senior championships with Mullingar Shamrocks. Based on what I've heard of Stephen, he would be good enough to take a place on the vast majority of county teams.

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 24, 2019, 11:49:01 AM
QuoteTough draw for us, Armagh are improving while we look to be waning. They'll fancy their chances of taking down a "big" team here I'd say.

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .
though im nearly sure we played in a 1/4 final or some thing since then . I rember armagh giving mayo a good beating on ther day . it was in croker maybe a league Semi?

Yeah, Paul McGrane kicked Ronan McGarrity in the head as he was lying on the ground

No he didn't.

Hard to believe we were arguing about it back then all those years ago, but yes, he did.

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2019, 12:19:34 PM

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .

No he didn't.

Hard to believe we were arguing about it back then all those years ago, but yes, he did.

No, he really didn't and I believe I can prove it.

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 24, 2019, 12:21:42 PM

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .

No he didn't.

If you could that'd be great, genuinely. I only have a memory in my minds eye, and I'd love to put it to bed after 15 years. More than happy to stand corrected

APM

Very tough draw for Armagh, but couple of things:

Great win over Monaghan: Positives; keeper in better form, better kickouts and managed high ball reasonably well.  Marked their key men very tightly and isolated the man in possession and turned over the ball very well on a couple of occasions.  Some very strong hits going in, particularly after the second goal, when there was a danger of us inviting Monaghan back into the game.  Excellent direct attacking play; kick passing into space and fwds making good runs and giving options - we were patient when needed.  We hit very few wides, generally took the right option and took our goal chances well. 

Negatives: Monaghan didn't look that hungry for it and a bit clueless. They kicked 2 or 3 garryowens at various stages; forwards didn't look confident to shoot and passing responsibility.  They really seem to have lost their mojo, which is a pity, because they are a team that I admire a lot.

Injuries are a concern, but maybe an opportunity for Oisin O'Neill to come in. All the great teams have a couple of sets of brothers playing together. 

Qualifier draw: Glad we avoided Tyrone - If we are going to get a lesson from a division 1 side, then I'd prefer it wasn't Tyrone. Offaly probably the easiest draw but beyond that, none of the games are that straightforward, particularly if away from home.  Laois are always hateful opponents, Westmeath hitting a bit of form and Clare should have had us beaten last year if their goalie hadn't got injured.

But there is nothing to lose in the Mayo match: If we click, like we did against Monaghan and perform for the full 70 minutes, we can give them a game and nothing to fear. Some great battles potentially. O'Se v Burns; Clarke v Higgins? 

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2019, 12:27:42 PM

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .

No he didn't.

If you could that'd be great, genuinely. I only have a memory in my minds eye, and I'd love to put it to bed after 15 years. More than happy to stand corrected

We didn't qualify for the 2004 League semi-final!

LooseCannon

Quote from: Rossfan on June 24, 2019, 11:46:29 AM
Round 4 rules mention avoiding Provincial repeats "where feasible "
So Galway and Cork can play any Qualifier
Meath can't play Leix Offaly
Cavan can't play Armagh
Fixed that for you 😉😜, while simultaneously causing outrage in Leix.

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 24, 2019, 12:32:50 PM

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .

No he didn't.

OK, Paul McGrane kicked Ronan McGarrity in the head in a match, sometime between 2000 and 2010

Are you sure it wasn't PJ McGrane?

keeperlit

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 24, 2019, 12:32:50 PM

1950 semi final.

It's ON!!!
its a sifn its a sign .

No he didn't.

Apologies- 2005 league semi final then!

Throw in times and what games are on TV confirmed.

Saturday June 29

Kildare v Tyrone, St Conleth's Park, 5pm LIVE ON SKY

Westmeath v Clare, TEG Cusack Park, 6pm

Laois v Offaly, O'Moore Park, 7pm

Mayo v Armagh, Elverys MacHale Park, 7pm LIVE ON SKY

meathie

I presume the final round 4 will be all neutral then? Trying to figure out possibilities who we can/cant draw with which I know is virtually impossible at this time! Im meant to be away on the 5th/6th but obviously our game could be on the 6th but I need to cancel the event by this Friday if I want a refund!! 

Quote from: meathie on June 24, 2019, 03:55:56 PM
I presume the final round 4 will be all neutral then? Trying to figure out possibilities who we can/cant draw with which I know is virtually impossible at this time! Im meant to be away on the 5th/6th but obviously our game could be on the 6th but I need to cancel the event by this Friday if I want a refund!!
Yep R4 is neutral.
Very likely to be 2 on Saturday and 2 on Sunday.
Unless one of the hurling provincial finals is a draw, then there'll likely be 3 of the football R4 games on Saturday and just 1 on Sunday (which happened last year).