Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 12:12:57 PM

Title: Stephen Nolan's £500k BBC Salary last year!
Post by: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 12:12:57 PM
Furore.This might mean he'll be on sick leave for a week or two!
Title: Re: Stephen Nolan's £500k BBC Salary last year!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2017, 12:26:20 PM
An over-inflated ego who thinks everyone is interested in his point of view.

Nolan isn't much better either.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2017, 12:38:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 12:12:57 PM
Furore.This might mean he'll be on sick leave for a week or two!
A number of Christmases ago there was a major issue following a thaw after a freezing cold spell. People were up in arms about the lack of action from the statutory agencies and Nolans telephone lines were red hot about it. He of course was on holiday. Come the 10.30 changeover Gerry Anderson remarked / Where's Nolan with all this going on?  Biggest show in the country?? Biggest bed in the country. Oh how we miss him
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 19, 2017, 12:42:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2017, 12:26:20 PM

end of thread.
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2017, 01:46:49 PM

Your best post ever, lol.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 01:54:12 PM

Top middle and bottom

(http://m.memegen.com/80rs1u.jpg)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 02:02:01 PM
Stephen does three shows and gets paid accordingly... stupid fuss over nothing
Post by: punt kick on July 19, 2017, 02:12:24 PM
Least he's not doing the double.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 02:15:42 PM
Taxed accordingly also and lives here.... never watch or listen to the man that much, seems like a wind up merchant, getting people to bite, i must be on this forum  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 02:34:22 PM
Sat beside him literally at the Man Utd V Liverpool game at Old Trafford in Dec 14,I won VIP trip.He arrived late,never spoke the whole time,played with his phone the entire part of the game,sat on his own during the interval in the stand seat,even though there was hospitality on offer in an adjoining suite,and left ten minutes before the end uttering his first words of the afternoon "Cheerio Now!" A complete enigma
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 19, 2017, 02:37:01 PM
When Fearon met Nolan

Ye shouldve told him about yer big house
Post by: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 02:43:17 PM
Only had one big house then! 😛
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on July 19, 2017, 02:49:41 PM
No-one is forced to pay a licence fee - if you don't want to have a licence don't get an aerial in the house.  IMO Nolan is good value for money - the salary is across 4 shows and he on a good bit less than that ultra mouth piece on ITV Piers Morgan
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2017, 02:53:04 PM
Never heard of him. Who or what is he.
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2017, 02:54:41 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 19, 2017, 02:34:22 PM
Sat beside him literally at the Man Utd V Liverpool game at Old Trafford in Dec 14,I won VIP trip.He arrived late,never spoke the whole time,played with his phone the entire part of the game,sat on his own during the interval in the stand seat,even though there was hospitality on offer in an adjoining suite,and left ten minutes before the end uttering his first words of the afternoon "Cheerio Now!" A complete enigma
I presume he was dieting
Post by: johnneycool on July 19, 2017, 02:56:39 PM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on July 19, 2017, 02:49:41 PM
No-one is forced to pay a licence fee - if you don't want to have a licence don't get an aerial in the house.  IMO Nolan is good value for money - the salary is across 4 shows and he on a good bit less than that ultra mouth piece on ITV Piers Morgan

Not strictly true;

You need to be covered by a TV Licence to;
      watch or record live TV programmes on any channel
      download or watch any BBC programmes on iPlayer – live, catch up or on demand.
This applies to any provider you use and any device, including a TV, desktop computer, laptop, mobile phone, tablet, games console, digital box or DVD/VHS recorder.

you'd realistically need to cut yourself off from any form of media to not have to pay a TV license.
Post by: ziggysego on July 19, 2017, 03:30:22 PM

I wonder if Nolan paid for this own ticket?
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2017, 03:33:39 PM
He's a season ticket holder I thought.
Post by: ziggysego on July 19, 2017, 03:41:05 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2017, 03:33:39 PM
He's a season ticket holder I thought.

So Tony as some cheek then giving out about how Nolan conducted himself at the match, when he himself was there on another freebie.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2017, 03:44:35 PM
I listen to him on Five Live at the weekends. Helps me wind down.

Does he over-emphasize his accent?

Do all ye Nordie bize say poines when saying pounds?

He did some sort of a program a few years ago when he came Dine Site. I thought he came across as a complete and utter tool - fcuk sake - he was acting as if he was Columbus exploring Amerikay.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 03:46:43 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2017, 03:44:35 PM

He did some sort of a program a few years ago when he came Dine Site. I thought he came across as a complete and utter tool - fcuk sake - he was acting as if he was Columbus exploring Amerikay.

He's a useful fat **** and that's that.
Post by: red hander on July 19, 2017, 04:29:10 PM

I understand that him playing with his phone, particularly the camera, is a favourite pastime...
Post by: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 04:41:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 19, 2017, 03:30:22 PM

I wonder if Nolan paid for this own ticket?

I wonder if he knew who he was sitting beside as he fumbled nervously with his phone.....probably texting the police....
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2017, 04:46:01 PM
According to the Grauniad Nolan comes in at number 9

1. Chris Evans £2.2m - £2.25m
2. Gary Lineker £1.75m - £1.8m
3. Graham Norton £850,0000 - £899,999
4. Jeremy Vine £700,000 - £749,999
5. John Humphrys £600,000 - £649,999
6. Huw Edwards £550,000 - £599,999
7. Steve Wright £500,000 - £549,999
= 8. Claudia Winkleman £450,000 - £499,999
= 8. Matt Baker £450,000 - £499,999
= 9. Nicky Campbell £400,000 - £449,999
= 9. Andrew Marr £400,000 - £449,999
= 9. Stephen Nolan £400,000 - £449,999

It's in sterling of course so it's not worth as much as it used to
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2017, 04:55:02 PM

What is an aerial?
Post by: general_lee on July 19, 2017, 05:23:55 PM
He captured perfectly the generic greater Belfast Protestant/Unionist who not only think Ireland is a different country but is also part of a different dimension. These plonkers have seldom if at all set foot in "Ireland" except maybe to go to Dublin for a shopping trip or a weekend in Donegal. It's mind boggling how ignorant they are of the land mass on which they live
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 05:25:39 PM

Nolan has only managed to help me wind up.
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 05:28:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 19, 2017, 04:55:02 PM

What is an aerial?

It is an antenna in the air.

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/df/7d/1e/df7d1eae4da3ebf2b65b079c821484b9--television-antenna-antenna-tv.jpg)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 05:36:08 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 19, 2017, 04:29:10 PM

I understand that him playing with his phone, particularly the camera, is a favourite pastime...

Depends on the location 😉
Post by: The Trap on July 19, 2017, 05:59:26 PM
How is lineker worth that much? Or Claudia winkleman........
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 19, 2017, 06:14:15 PM
I always laugh when I see the pay for our 'top stars'. I see some terrible broadcasters on the RTE list and the talk is that they get that because they are the best. But honestly I ask you in terms of BBC NI and RTE who is after these people.
Like Tubridy (495,000) and Joe Duffy (416,000) are on serious dosh here but if RTE said F off and we are cutting your wages they wouldn't have much places to go. TV3 can't afford them. The commercial radio stations don't have the cash either.

When I watch Nolan he seems a good man to get a row going but then can't really bring it down apart from being overbearing. I wouldn't rate him at all.
On an aside I am surprised Graham Norton is not on more. He is one lad who literally would have his pick of jobs.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 06:26:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 19, 2017, 06:14:15 PM
I always laugh when I see the pay for our 'top stars'. I see some terrible broadcasters on the RTE list and the talk is that they get that because they are the best. But honestly I ask you in terms of BBC NI and RTE who is after these people.
Like Tubridy (495,000) and Joe Duffy (416,000) are on serious dosh here but if RTE said F off and we are cutting your wages they wouldn't have much places to go. TV3 can't afford them. The commercial radio stations don't have the cash either.

When I watch Nolan he seems a good man to get a row going but then can't really bring it down apart from being overbearing. I wouldn't rate him at all.
On an aside I am surprised Graham Norton is not on more. He is one lad who literally would have his pick of jobs.

Norton has one regular show and the Eurovision Song Contest where like his Irish predecessor bigged up his country... GB and he's on twice the wage
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 06:29:02 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 19, 2017, 05:23:55 PM
He captured perfectly the generic greater Belfast Protestant/Unionist who not only think Ireland is a different country but is also part of a different dimension. These plonkers have seldom if at all set foot in "Ireland" except maybe to go to Dublin for a shopping trip or a weekend in Donegal. It's mind boggling how ignorant they are of the land mass on which they live

Plenty of Americans don't have a Passport or rarely leave their state... I'm sure plenty French and Spanish have no need to leave their land mass either!
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 06:32:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 06:29:02 PM

Plenty of Americans don't have a Passport or rarely leave their state... I'm sure plenty French and Spanish have no need to leave their land mass either!

Plenty of Americans would drive the distance from Belfast to the border to go to the shop.
Post by: Gold on July 19, 2017, 06:38:59 PM

Totally agree
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 07:00:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 06:32:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2017, 06:29:02 PM

Plenty of Americans would drive the distance from Belfast to the border to go to the shop.

Still don't leave their state though! Just filled car their now, 20 dollors!!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2017, 07:29:53 PM
I think the bbc should have to privatise and make their own way like Itv; SKY etc; i pay tv license but dont watch BBC so whu should ihave tp pay sthing i dont and dont want to watch?
Post by: yellowcard on July 19, 2017, 07:30:05 PM
£1.8 million for Lineker presenting MOTD is mental.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2017, 07:35:45 PM
Lineker and Huw Edwards read an autocue. Graham Norton's overall figure appears "low" as it doesn't include The Graham Norton show for which he is paid via a production company. Whether you like him or not he's chat show royalty compared to his peers.
Post by: michaelg on July 19, 2017, 07:40:46 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 19, 2017, 07:30:05 PM
Shearer's 4 hundred grand almost as bad!
Post by: yellowcard on July 19, 2017, 08:01:54 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 19, 2017, 07:40:46 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 19, 2017, 07:30:05 PM
Shearer's 4 hundred grand almost as bad!

Proportionally not as bad given the minimal level of talent required to do Linekers job. Shearer is a woefully bland pundit though so you're right.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 19, 2017, 08:26:49 PM
Makes you wonder what Sky are paying Gary Neville??
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2017, 09:10:35 PM
It was reported he was getting 1.5m when he came back after his management stint. Thierry Henry is on 4m.

Lineker gets paid by BT as well for their CL coverage
Post by: Minder on July 19, 2017, 09:21:54 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2017, 09:10:35 PM
It was reported he was getting 1.5m when he came back after his management stint. Thierry Henry is on 4m.

Think Lineker works for one of the US channels too
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2017, 09:43:58 PM
Walkers crisps would pay him a pound or two as well.
Post by: michaelg on July 19, 2017, 09:44:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 19, 2017, 09:21:54 PM

Charlie from Casualty is also, somehow, on 400 grand.
Post by: Minder on July 19, 2017, 10:12:37 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 19, 2017, 09:44:43 PM

Yeah no wonder he never left, £400k a year for grimacing 
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 19, 2017, 10:12:59 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 19, 2017, 09:44:43 PM

At last someone in the health service getting a decent wage.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2017, 12:40:10 AM

That wound me up one time. Was at an Arsenal match in the Highbury days and this American lad and his wife sat beside me. At the end the Yank lad said to me that I'd the fakest Irish accent he'd ever heard.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2017, 12:51:36 AM

(https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder283/14774283.jpg)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2017, 12:59:24 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2017, 07:29:53 PM
I think the bbc should have to privatise and make their own way like Itv; SKY etc; i pay tv license but dont watch BBC so whu should ihave tp pay sthing i dont and dont want to watch?

I happen to think public broadcasting is a good deal. It has a remit to educate and inform, which is important in a democracy but the private sector isn't always as good at. In fact the private sector can make good money with misinformation, evidenced by Fox News and certain bits of Fleet Street. It's good to have a bit of quality content out there that's well funded.

I spend quite a bit of time working with Radio 4 podcasts playing on the headphones, that's a treasure trove of interesting stuff. People like to gripe about the BBC but they don't know how good they have it. Try watching a bit of American public TV which is woefully underfunded and you'll see why it's important. American National Public Radio kicks out a lot of good stuff though, but then you don't need as big a budget for that.
Post by: stew on July 20, 2017, 08:43:50 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 19, 2017, 09:43:58 PM

I get it, he has a weight problem, yuk yuk!

You are how old????
Post by: johnneycool on July 20, 2017, 08:45:40 AM
Quote from: stew on July 20, 2017, 08:43:50 AM

You are how old????

f**k, if Lineker has a weight problem, 99% of the population are morbidly obese.
Post by: stew on July 20, 2017, 08:48:07 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2017, 12:59:24 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2017, 07:29:53 PM

I happen to think public broadcasting is a good deal. It has a remit to educate and inform, which is important in a democracy but the private sector isn't always as good at. In fact the private sector can make good money with misinformation, evidenced by Fox News and certain bits of Fleet Street. It's good to have a bit of quality content out there that's well funded.

MSNBC, CNN, CNBC, The NY Times etc are bigger spoofers than FOX will ever be, to pick out Fox speaks volumes, your liberal media is full of sit, liars to their core but hey, this does not suit my narrative so lets pick out fox, yeah, big bad for will do because they are the only conservative mainstream TV outlet there!

I spend quite a bit of time working with Radio 4 podcasts playing on the headphones, that's a treasure trove of interesting stuff. People like to gripe about the BBC but they don't know how good they have it. Try watching a bit of American public TV which is woefully underfunded and you'll see why it's important. American National Public Radio kicks out a lot of good stuff though, but then you don't need as big a budget for that.
Post by: general_lee on July 20, 2017, 09:51:38 AM
Stew are you the most right wing eejit on here!?
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 20, 2017, 10:22:00 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2017, 09:09:59 AM

You are how old????

lol
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 20, 2017, 10:41:09 AM
Nolan is worth it like him or loathe him he still gets the ratings and in fairness he actually works hard as he has a number of shows on the go. On the other hand why the fook would you pay claudia half a million bland beyond belief and completely replaceable by just about anyone and you could pay them 50000. Shearer is also shocking just paying for the name they would be better getting more guys like kilbane better and way cheaper
Post by: theskull1 on July 20, 2017, 11:10:38 AM
I'm with Dennis Bradleys opinion about Nolan. This place needs a different type of dialogue to drag people beyond the themuns and usuns positions many hold on to.
Post by: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 12:54:14 PM
I see people on the "mainland" generally unaware of him despite his Radio 5 show are asking if he's related to the Nolan Sisters? 😂😂😂😂
Post by: punt kick on July 20, 2017, 12:56:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 12:54:14 PM
I see people on the "mainland" generally unaware of him despite his Radio 5 show are asking if he's related to the Nolan Sisters? 😂😂😂😂

Where's this place?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 20, 2017, 01:06:41 PM

You are how old????

He's talking about Lineker FFS
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2017, 02:24:54 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 20, 2017, 11:10:38 AM
I'm with Dennis Bradleys opinion about Nolan. This place needs a different type of dialogue to drag people beyond the themuns and usuns positions many hold on to.

A david Dunsieth type?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2017, 06:27:01 PM
Dunsieth is sorely missed. He was always fair, never sensationalist. I only ever heard him roaring at a guest once and that was when it was a blatant sectarian headcase complaining about "too many Catholics" living in Carnmoney.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 20, 2017, 06:49:52 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2017, 06:27:01 PM
Dunsieth is sorely missed. He was always fair, never sensationalist. I only ever heard him roaring at a guest once and that was when it was a blatant sectarian headcase complaining about "too many Catholics" living in Carnmoney.
Hilarious in reality doubt too many taigs actually live in carnmoney
Post by: imtommygunn on July 20, 2017, 08:30:11 PM

You are how old????

Old enough to comprehend that the person who advertises walkers crisps was involved in the discussion!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2018, 11:20:58 AM
I see Stephen has finally come out
Post by: outsideoftheboot on May 09, 2018, 11:35:47 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2018, 11:20:58 AM

This picture of him doing the rounds?
Post by: Insane Bolt on May 09, 2018, 11:36:21 AM
Blue Oyster Club 😂😂
Post by: johnnycool on May 09, 2018, 11:59:07 AM

Where?
Post by: paddyjohn on May 09, 2018, 11:59:59 AM
A quick Twitter search and you'll see. Somethings just can't be unseen.
Post by: haranguerer on May 09, 2018, 12:04:03 PM
Unnecessary too - who cares what he does in his private life?
Post by: johnnycool on May 09, 2018, 12:12:39 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 09, 2018, 12:04:03 PM

FFS,
   It's hardly worth talking about..

Post by: longballin on May 09, 2018, 12:22:40 PM
It's a nothing. not illegal. No big deal
Post by: AQMP on May 09, 2018, 12:24:17 PM
Quote from: longballin on May 09, 2018, 12:22:40 PM

Hardly news either.
Post by: longballin on May 09, 2018, 12:31:55 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 09, 2018, 12:24:17 PM
Quote from: longballin on May 09, 2018, 12:22:40 PM

Hardly news either.

Nope... nothing to see here, move along
Post by: Denn Forever on May 09, 2018, 12:44:46 PM
He does seem to like work.  Sometime on Ulster radio and then 5Live.  His favourite holiday destination is Las Vegas.
Post by: take_yer_points on May 09, 2018, 12:51:28 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on May 09, 2018, 11:59:59 AM

The photo isn't exactly what it appears to be. it's from an episode of his TV show...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIw_1pbvO1I
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2018, 12:56:50 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 09, 2018, 12:12:39 PM

FFS,

Well you'd be surprised what famous people get done for, for doing things in their private lives  ;)  Some even lose their jobs and can't get work anywhere  :-X
Title: n
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 09, 2018, 01:10:34 PM
Cant see any photo anyway it was the worlds worst kept secret and at least we dont have to put up with Bryson and Campbell looking smug with their innuendos and threats to out him live on TV every time they dig themselves into a hole on his show
Title: Re: n
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2018, 01:14:49 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on May 09, 2018, 01:10:34 PM
Cant see any photo anyway it was the worlds worst kept secret and at least we dont have to put up with Bryson and Campbell looking smug with their innuendos and threats to out him live on TV every time they dig themselves into a hole on his show
There is no "photo". The photo which is doing the rounds on Twitter and supposedly subject to an injunction, is actually a still from his TV show which take_yer_points has linked to above. Some numpties about on Twitter.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 09, 2018, 01:16:21 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on May 09, 2018, 12:51:28 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on May 09, 2018, 11:59:59 AM

The photo isn't exactly what it appears to be. it's from an episode of his TV show...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIw_1pbvO1I

It's this
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2018, 01:22:48 PM
I got that photo last week and refused to pass it on as it looked too staged. Who cares?  He does what he does and that's his business. He's still an annoying cvnt.
Post by: Taylor on May 09, 2018, 02:16:10 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2018, 01:22:48 PM
I got that photo last week and refused to pass it on as it looked too staged. Who cares?  He does what he does and that's his business. He's still an annoying cvnt.

At a guess many of his topics are others peoples business but he is happy enough to broadcast them
Post by: Hardy on May 09, 2018, 02:40:10 PM

Must have been a double doorway.
Post by: red hander on May 09, 2018, 05:08:23 PM

FFS,

Unlike the reason for the superinjunction
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2018, 05:14:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 09, 2018, 02:40:10 PM

He prefers the back door....
Post by: johnnycool on May 09, 2018, 07:53:37 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 09, 2018, 05:08:23 PM

FFS,

Unlike the reason for the superinjunction

Is the Robinson centre involved??
Post by: Tubberman on May 09, 2018, 08:26:44 PM
northee
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2018, 05:14:33 PM

The North still hasn't moved into this millennium I see
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2018, 08:31:23 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 09, 2018, 08:26:44 PM
northee
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2018, 05:14:33 PM

The North still hasn't moved into this millennium I see

I seen a gay comedian the other week, was making straight jokes! The worlds gone mad I tell ya
Post by: take_yer_points on May 11, 2018, 10:55:20 PM
Nolan responds to the photo doing the rounds on social media over the last week or two

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/stephen-nolan-speaks-out-over-14647943#ICID=sharebar_twitter
Post by: Tyrone Gaa on May 12, 2018, 08:43:27 AM

The big man isn't happy!!!

Personal statement from me :

I have been the victim of a malicious social media campaign this week.
Internet trolls distorted a television image and then nastily and falsely used it to  suggest I had been acting inappropriately in a foreign country.

In actual fact , the real image was from my Nolan Live tv show, of me in November 2016  on BBC Northern Ireland television , in my capacity as a tv presenter .

18 months later , the tv images were then twisted and distorted into lies .

Those lies were then spread across social media this week with falsehood , in order to hurt me and cause me distress.

It is an extraordinary level of malicious vindictiveness .

For those who retweeted or liked or shared the defamation , they too are vicious trolls who are no better than the keyboard warriors who created it .

My legal team has logged those cowards who shared , liked , retweeted or commented on this defamatory personal attack against me.

If they want to apologise , they would be wise to email my lawyer Paul Tweed very quickly at ptweed@tweedlaw.co.uk

Bullying on the internet costs lives.

On behalf of all those children and adults who have found themselves bullied online , I will be using my strength and resources to legally pursue the trolls who defamed me so that they cannot bully anybody else.

I would like to thank my friends and colleagues who came to my support this week .

I'd like to thank the numerous politicians who called me personally to offer their support .

I should also thank the Northern Irish media and newspapers , who did not publish the image & therefore rejected this nasty, outrageous attempt to distress me .

Finally , I need to thank the Northern Ireland listeners and viewers who have bombarded me with support this week.

I have a very special relationship with you - even those of you who I wind up ! - and the only way I can pay you back is by me continuing to fight for your voices to be heard on radio and tv .

I am currently in the USA for a BBC project but I'll talk to you all on the radio next week when I get home .

All the best , Stephen
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 12, 2018, 09:57:37 AM
Can you now be sued for liking something on Facebook and Twitter?
Post by: Minder on May 12, 2018, 10:10:42 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 12, 2018, 09:57:37 AM

They should be sued for being stupid
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2018, 11:03:20 AM

I think he'll be as successful as Paddy Jackson

#suemestephen
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 12, 2018, 04:29:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2018, 11:03:20 AM

#suemestephen

Except Nolan is not on the run following a contentious rape trial and he has already engaged Paul Tweed to begin the process of dealing with these idiots.  Previous follow ups on twitter abuse in GB have been successful.  Anyone who sends an apology to Tweed Solicitors will be taken off the list.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 12, 2018, 04:53:02 PM
Surely liking a post on Facebook can have no comeback. Regarding sharing and retweeting, does the responsibility for moderating content not lay with facebook and twitter?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2018, 12:15:37 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 12, 2018, 04:29:28 PM

#suemestephen

Except Nolan is not on the run following a contentious rape trial and he has already engaged Paul Tweed to begin the process of dealing with these idiots.  Previous follow ups on twitter abuse in GB have been successful.  Anyone who sends an apology to Tweed Solicitors will be taken off the list.
Wise to f**k up you muppet, on the run? Contentious? Wasn't even close you wally
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 13, 2018, 11:08:57 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2018, 12:15:37 AM

#suemestephen

Wise to f**k up you muppet, on the run? Contentious? Wasn't even close you wally

Seems your usual skills of logical reasoning and argument have evaded you in the early hours this morning. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2018, 11:37:52 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 13, 2018, 11:08:57 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2018, 12:15:37 AM

#suemestephen

Seems your usual skills of logical reasoning and argument have evaded you in the early hours this morning.

So what's your excuse?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 13, 2018, 11:39:27 AM
If yer mans name had been Paul Tweet instead that wouldve been pretty cool
Post by: nrico2006 on May 13, 2018, 05:54:01 PM
Nolan is fair game. Likes trying to ruin other people; if he can give it then he needs to be able to take it.
Post by: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 12:21:47 PM
Got a good laugh out of Nolan this morning with the usual suspects on talking about flegs, Wee Jamie Bwyson and Claire Hanna as well as a few others, same generic shite debate until Stevie took a call for a lad in Downpatrick with an English accent (that threw me a bit).
This lad gave his English perspective on flags and banners in Cantrell Close or wherever and then asked Jamie did he know any known UVF criminals and Jamie trotted out the usual that he didn't and was against violence in every way, contact the PSNI and so forth and next thing yer man asks Jamie about an individual and he blurted the name out over the airways, big Stevie nearly had a canary, backtracking like a good one, BBC does not condone and so forth and wee Jamie in the background trying to get a word in but obviously the mike had been turned down and muted.

Car crash stuff. Jerry Springer radio.
Post by: our_fella on June 04, 2018, 01:44:42 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 12:21:47 PM
Got a good laugh out of Nolan this morning with the usual suspects on talking about flegs, Wee Jamie Bwyson and Claire Hanna as well as a few others, same generic shite debate until Stevie took a call for a lad in Downpatrick with an English accent (that threw me a bit).
This lad gave his English perspective on flags and banners in Cantrell Close or wherever and then asked Jamie did he know any known UVF criminals and Jamie trotted out the usual that he didn't and was against violence in every way, contact the PSNI and so forth and next thing yer man asks Jamie about an individual and he blurted the name out over the airways, big Stevie nearly had a canary, backtracking like a good one, BBC does not condone and so forth and wee Jamie in the background trying to get a word in but obviously the mike had been turned down and muted.

Have a rough idea when this was said??? save me from having to scroll the whole way through the show!!!
Post by: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 01:56:59 PM
Quote from: our_fella on June 04, 2018, 01:44:42 PM

Have a rough idea when this was said??? save me from having to scroll the whole way through the show!!!

9.15 to 9.30 roughly.
Post by: general_lee on June 04, 2018, 09:04:58 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 01:56:59 PM

9.15 to 9.30 roughly.
Heard it myself and turned it off not long after. I find myself asking the same question everytime, why does the public have to fund this utter shite!? Why does some spastic loyalist with a speech impediment get so much airtime? Like why even debate it, what's there to debate? The guy is wrong no matter what way you look at it yet Nolan and his producers have him on every single f**king time there's something us v them related. No doubt in the interests of "balance and impartiality".
Post by: michaelg on June 04, 2018, 09:46:01 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 04, 2018, 09:04:58 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 01:56:59 PM

9.15 to 9.30 roughly.
Heard it myself and turned it off not long after. I find myself asking the same question everytime, why does the public have to fund this utter shite!? Why does some spastic loyalist with a speech impediment get so much airtime? Like why even debate it, what's there to debate? The guy is wrong no matter what way you look at it yet Nolan and his producers have him on every single f**king time there's something us v them related. No doubt in the interests of "balance and impartiality".
Especially when the wee f**ker has never even been elected to public office!
Post by: illdecide on June 04, 2018, 10:21:06 PM
Biggest show in the Country... ::). The North of this Country is so f**ked up you couldn't explain it too an outsider and SN makes his money and fame from stoking the fires and stiring the sh1t, the politicians in this place are so corrupt and bitter they shouldn't be anywhere near Government Buildings representing anyone. I can safely say that during the last election i cast my last vote...come to think of it I feel the same way about religion :(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2018, 10:33:25 PM
Good rant!!
Post by: Hereiam on June 04, 2018, 10:59:57 PM
Its not on the listen again. They must of edited it out.  :(
Post by: gallsman on June 04, 2018, 11:49:38 PM
Gave it a listen, definitely has been edited out.

Alan McBride, whose wife died in the Shankill Bomb, and always speaks very well on these matters, made an absolute wee boy of Bryson about his right to speak on behalf of victims.
Post by: Puckoon on June 05, 2018, 03:22:54 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 04, 2018, 11:49:38 PM
Gave it a listen, definitely has been edited out.

Alan McBride, whose wife died in the Shankill Bomb, and always speaks very well on these matters, made an absolute wee boy of Bryson about his right to speak on behalf of victims.

If Nolan and his contributors/guests actually waited until everyone was finished talking they'd have no problem making wee boys out of the likes of Bryson. Fact of the matter is the continually interrupt and talk over one another that the winning message almost always gets lost in the noise. It's my biggest frustration with Nolan's program.

The SDLP woman, Alan McBride, and even The other lady who lost her daughter had so much to say that actually would have buried Bryson and shown him go for the cut throat Petty point scorer that we all know he is. However they all lost their way and were pushed to lose their way by both Nolan and Bryson. The constant interjection and shouting over is infuriating and the sad thing is I think it's done on purpose because rational discourse would cut the show to 20 minutes.

Mary, the DUP loving catholic who said everyone is going to hell was another f**king dose.
Post by: Snapchap on June 05, 2018, 09:30:28 AM
Stephen Nolan is a shit stirring, sensationalist p***k of the highest order. It genuinely astounds me that so many people, like those on here complaining about him, continue to listen to him and massage his ratings ego.

What typifies Nolan for me was him spending months criticising politicians for not compromising to get the institutions back. Lo and behold the first day news leaked that a compromise may have been reached and Nolan was all over it the next morning like a rash, whipping unionism into an absolute frenzy over the news that the DUP had made an apparent compromise on the Irish Language. I posted here before that in the space of the ten days in/around that time in February, Nolan had Jim Allister on as a guest on his radio/tv shows on the 9th, 11th, 12th, on BOTH his radio and TV shows on 14th, on 15th and the 19th. That's seven times in ten shows. Who else (Bryson aside) gets airtime like that). And then when the deal collapsed, guess who was back on his radio show/high horse, damning politicians from a height for failing to agree said compromise? I stopped listening to any of his output since.

Since then, if twitter/gaaboard etc is anything to go by, the p***k seems to exist solely to give airtime to Jamie Bryson. Bryson in particular gets essentially NO other media interest other than from Nolan. Imagine how much better off we would be if the man got so little ratings that it was taken off the air. We wouldn't be on here complaining about Jamie Bryson's latest comments what with his sole outlet taken from him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2018, 01:17:58 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 05, 2018, 09:30:28 AM
Stephen Nolan is a shit stirring, sensationalist p***k of the highest order. It genuinely astounds me that so many people, like those on here complaining about him, continue to listen to him and massage his ratings ego.
My thoughts exactly. You know what you are getting with Nolan so why listen and then moan about it.
Post by: johnnycool on June 05, 2018, 01:34:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2018, 01:17:58 PM
My thoughts exactly. You know what you are getting with Nolan so why listen and then moan about it.

My 2FM signal drops out on the way into Holywood  ;)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 05, 2018, 03:22:51 PM

What typifies Nolan for me was him spending months criticising politicians for not compromising to get the institutions back. Lo and behold the first day news leaked that a compromise may have been reached and Nolan was all over it the next morning like a rash, whipping unionism into an absolute frenzy over the news that the DUP had made an apparent compromise on the Irish Language. I posted here before that in the space of the ten days in/around that time in February, Nolan had Jim Allister on as a guest on his radio/tv shows on the 9th, 11th, 12th, on BOTH his radio and TV shows on 14th, on 15th and the 19th. That's seven times in ten shows. Who else (Bryson aside) gets airtime like that). And then when the deal collapsed, guess who was back on his radio show/high horse, damning politicians from a height for failing to agree said compromise? I stopped listening to any of his output since.

Since then, if twitter/gaaboard etc is anything to go by, the p***k seems to exist solely to give airtime to Jamie Bryson. Bryson in particular gets essentially NO other media interest other than from Nolan. Imagine how much better off we would be if the man got so little ratings that it was taken off the air. We wouldn't be on here complaining about Jamie Bryson's latest comments what with his sole outlet taken from him.
100% snapchap
The most galling thing is though that we  are paying for this rubbish through our licence fee
Post by: Insane Bolt on June 05, 2018, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 05, 2018, 03:22:51 PM

100% snapchap
The most galling thing is though that we  are paying for this rubbish through our licence fee

Time for people to put pen to paper and complain to BBC......if enough people did they would have to do something.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on June 05, 2018, 05:37:06 PM
Well, if things do deteriorate back to violence, the useless f**ker will have blood on his hands.

While I don't want to wish ill will on anyone, sometimes for the greater good....
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2018, 09:09:16 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 05, 2018, 01:34:21 PM

My 2FM signal drops out on the way into Holywood  ;)
Themmuns have installed a signal blocker. 2FM terrible shite in the morning now since Gerry Ryan died. I remember driving to Monkstown one day with tears rolling down my face when a farmer called in to slsay his brother was spending all their money on Eastern European women. Gerry played him like a fiddle - brilliant stuff.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 05, 2018, 09:53:37 PM

People listening to it also validate people that go on it and make it less likely that insignificant people like bryson will disappear into obscurity(or somewhere like prison) where they belong.
Post by: Sweeper 123 on June 06, 2018, 10:00:52 AM
dont often listen to Nolan but Jim Wells making a pig of himself - referring to those that have had abortions as Nazis;
Post by: our_fella on June 06, 2018, 10:11:20 AM
Quote from: Sweeper 123 on June 06, 2018, 10:00:52 AM
dont often listen to Nolan but Jim Shannon making a pig of himself - referring to those that have had abortions as Nazis;

*Jim Wells (South Down DUP)
Post by: Solo_run on July 11, 2018, 12:31:53 PM
BBC on-air salary list 2017-18

◾1. Gary Lineker - £1,750,000-£1,759,999
◾2. Chris Evans - £1,660,000-£1,669,999
◾3. Graham Norton - £600,000-£609,999
◾4. Steve Wright - £550,000-£559,999
◾5. Huw Edwards - £520,000-£529,999
◾6. Jeremy Vine - £440,000-£449,999
◾=7. Nicky Campbell - £410,000-£419,999
◾=7. Alan Shearer - £410,000-£419,999
◾=9. John Humphrys - £400,000-£409,999
◾=9. Nick Grimshaw - £400,000-£409,999
◾=9. Stephen Nolan - £400,000-£409,999
◾=9. Andrew Marr - £400,000-£409,999

Post by: Minder on July 11, 2018, 12:48:36 PM
Alan Shearer £420k ffs
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 11, 2018, 12:50:30 PM
Gary lineker, for a half hour football show on a Saturday night!?
Post by: lurganblue on July 11, 2018, 12:58:43 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on July 11, 2018, 12:50:30 PM
Gary lineker, for a half hour football show on a Saturday night!?

I have no need to watch MOTD now being a Villa supporter but has it been cut to a half hour? They used to show a half hour of just Utd.

Throw in the BT sport wages and he's doing alright for himself.
Post by: Solo_run on July 11, 2018, 01:03:53 PM
Gary Linekar has a production company on top of the BBC and BT presenting. He is on a fortune.
Post by: gallsman on July 11, 2018, 01:06:12 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on July 11, 2018, 01:03:53 PM
Gary Linekar has a production company on top of the BBC and BT presenting. He is on a fortune.

Same for Norton. His company produces the show so the actual figure the BBC are paying to him would be higher.

Don't understand a lot of the fuss around this. It's supply and demand. Lineker is a big name. If they want him, they pay for him.
Post by: Solo_run on July 11, 2018, 01:08:53 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 11, 2018, 01:06:12 PM

Same for Norton. His company produces the show so the actual figure the BBC are paying to him would be higher.

Don't understand a lot of the fuss around this. It's supply and demand. Lineker is a big name. If they want him, they we pay for him.
Post by: GJL on July 11, 2018, 01:09:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 11, 2018, 01:06:12 PM

Don't understand a lot of the fuss around this. It's supply and demand. Lineker is a big name. If they want him, they pay for him.

Absolutely. If the BBC axed him today Sky Sports would sign him tomorrow. Probably for more!
Post by: RedHand88 on July 11, 2018, 01:17:42 PM
Know someone who knows Nolan and when they went to Nolan for advice on salary negotiations was told "whatever they offer, double it!".
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 11, 2018, 01:19:24 PM
All funded by TV licence payer. Ridiculous money for many who read an autocue. Not much sign of austerity there.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 11, 2018, 01:27:45 PM
I'm actually surprised that Graham Norton salary is as low as it is (on paper anyway) and Steve Wright's is so high. Most of the bigger earners are multi-taskers whereas Steve Wright only appears to do the afternoon show on Radio 2.

Shearer's salary is a joke.
Post by: BennyCake on July 11, 2018, 01:34:28 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 11, 2018, 12:48:36 PM
Alan Shearer £420k ffs

That is baffling. Baldy Shearer is a shit pundit. And then there's Ian Wright. Oh Christ...
Post by: gallsman on July 11, 2018, 02:53:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 11, 2018, 01:27:45 PM
I'm actually surprised that Graham Norton salary is as low as it is (on paper anyway) and Steve Wright's is so high. Most of the bigger earners are multi-taskers whereas Steve Wright only appears to do the afternoon show on Radio 2.

Shearer's salary is a joke.

That'll just be the salary for the radio show and the likes of Eurovision. The TV show will be a payment to his production company, which would be millions.