Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on November 06, 2013, 06:34:27 PM

Title: The official "I hate sports X, Y and Z" thread
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 06, 2013, 06:34:27 PM
Get it off your chests here, lads.  Hate F1?  Baseball?  Cricket?  Let it all hang out.

Seriously though, why the hatred?  I have no particular interest in the likes of Cricket but I wouldn't say I "hate" it.  And I certainly wouldn't dismiss it as "boring."  I wouldn't dismiss any popular sport as "boring."  In my experience, people who disparage a sport are also the same people who know the least about it.  Sports like cricket have a huge following, so they clearly have something that appeals to some people.  GAA people sometimes disparage soccer as being "slow" and "boring," but all you soccer fans know that such people are missing the point, aren't they?  Soccer is low scoring and that's part of the appeal. It's suspenseful.  It's just as exciting as hurling but it's just a different type of excitement.

It's possible to find excitement in just about any sport if you bother your head to know what's going on.
Title: Re: The official "I hate sports X, Y and Z" thread
Post by: haveaharp on November 06, 2013, 06:45:37 PM
Agree with lots of that except the cricket bit. "I don't like cricket - I hate it", any game that can go on for 5 days, involve stops for sandwiches or a skiff of rain and still end in a draw is no game at all. I appreciate some people like it and good luck to them. You are right also in saying its those that don't know a sport that disparage it. The point is I don't want to know.
Others I cant really have - tennis, indoor bowls (seriously why is this ever televised), rugby league, American football, baseball, lots of Olympic sports like sailing, the horsey bits with toffs dressage and badminton or whatever its called.

I like soccer but how many good games are there in these so called super sunday clashes. Not many.
Post by: BennyCake on November 06, 2013, 06:47:53 PM
Can't stand Rugby or American Football. It's nothing to do with not knowing what's going on, it's that they both are stupid games.

I'm not interested in baseball, basketball or cricket, but at least I know what's going on.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 06, 2013, 06:50:37 PM
Soccer. More than any sport on God's green earth. Soccer. I'm convinced that people will one day suddenly wake up to just how SHITE it is in absolutely every possible way. I agree that it's a bit much for people to talk about all the sports they "hate". There are plenty of sports that I'd have no interest in (american football, tennis etc) and others that I properly dislike for reasons like haveaharp describes (cricket/curling etc), but my lack of interest in them prohibits me from getting excited enough to properly "hate" them. But but I really do HATE soccer and all the incessant shitetalk that surrounds it.

So just soccer. Oh, and dressage. I hate dressage.
Post by: laoislad on November 06, 2013, 06:51:21 PM
Rugby,Tennis, Horse Racing and Ulster Football.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2013, 06:57:30 PM
Fcukin hate marbles. Shoot all over the place.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 06, 2013, 06:58:32 PM
Rugby and NFL are easy to read and most of the rules can be picked up quickly,

Sport i dislike the most, Cricket, like watching paint dry
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2013, 07:17:31 PM
Netball, Dressage and Synchronised Swimming.

What is the point of them? (Should that be: what are the points of them??).

See. Even Grammar would be a better sport.

Imagine: Roy for the Gold Medal....

Is it:

a) The FAI are bastions of professionalism.

or

b) The FAI is a bastion of professionalism.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 06, 2013, 07:22:36 PM
It's b I would think
Post by: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 07:37:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 06, 2013, 07:17:31 PM
Netball, Dressage and Synchronised Swimming.

What is the point of them? (Should that be: what are the points of them??).

See. Even Grammar would be a better sport.

Imagine: Roy for the Gold Medal....

Is it:

a) The FAI are bastions of professionalism.

or

b) The FAI is a bastion of professionalism.

We have a winner..........................................dressage!!

Post by: seafoid on November 06, 2013, 08:04:45 PM
Beach volleyball
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2013, 08:13:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 06, 2013, 08:04:45 PM
Beach volleyball

Where?

TG4?
Post by: seafoid on November 06, 2013, 08:23:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 06, 2013, 08:13:06 PM
Beach volleyball

Where?

TG4?
Tra an Doilin
Post by: seafoid on November 06, 2013, 08:27:21 PM
Cycling. Drugs killed it.
Pro boxing and American football. Head injuries
I don't think the beefing up in rugby is progress either. It was probably a safer sport when it was amateur.
Post by: Orior on November 06, 2013, 08:56:34 PM
There isn't any sport that I hate.

Am I in a minority?
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 06, 2013, 09:14:34 PM
Not a fan of rugby myself. Or tennis, or Formula 1, or International Rules :P, or Cricket.
Post by: gallsman on November 06, 2013, 09:47:32 PM
Rugby League, live golf - can only watch highlights, bowls, darts and most horsey sports.

Surprised by all the hated for tennis. Great sport.
Post by: CD on November 06, 2013, 10:04:35 PM
Tennis. I hate tennis. Spoilt, rich brats grunting at each other. I hate tennis.
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2013, 10:15:37 PM
Quote from: CD on November 06, 2013, 10:04:35 PM
Tennis. I hate tennis. Spoilt, rich brats grunting at each other. I hate tennis.

Like Serena & Venus Williams, from the affluent Compton ?
Post by: BennyCake on November 06, 2013, 10:19:29 PM
Whats wrong with bowls? I don't mind a bit of bowls.

I like tennis, only really watch Wimbledon though. Prefer the women's game, and not for the obvious reason. Don't mind a bit of darts, and the snooker. World c'ship though. Avoid all other tournaments.
Post by: Windmill abu on November 06, 2013, 10:31:24 PM
QuoteRugby,Tennis, Horse Racing and Ulster Football.

Linfield or Cliftonville?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2013, 10:45:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 06, 2013, 08:56:34 PM
There isn't any sport that I hate.

Am I in a minority?
I'm with you. A lot of cricket hate on here but I really like it as the 2005 Ashes series was a beaut.
Post by: gallsman on November 06, 2013, 10:47:13 PM
I don't understand how anybody can dislike cricket but at the same time claim to enjoy darts. Do people actually enjoy watching ithers play darts or is it all about the atmosphere and the pints?

I'm not a huge fan of cricket but I don't actively dislike it and can appreciate the levels of skill involved. Try naming another sport where at any one time, an individual as to outwit and outplay 11 opponents.

Quote from: BennyCake on November 06, 2013, 10:19:29 PM

Just used to hate bowls as it took up a disproportionate amount of time on Grandstand and I never enjoyed it. Definitely has a younger demographic than many people would think though.

Could swap that for any professional sport really!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 06, 2013, 11:32:04 PM
How can anyone dislike a sport that's brought us McEnroe, Becker, Federer, Agassi, Nadal and Djokovic?? It's an awesome sport.
Post by: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 11:45:19 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 06, 2013, 11:32:04 PM
How can anyone dislike a sport that's brought us McEnroe, Becker, Federer, Agassi, Nadal and Djokovic?? It's an awesome sport.

Tennis reminds me of Mayo. They are both only good in two weeks in June.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 06, 2013, 11:47:48 PM
American sports are brilliant. They have been fly enough to design them to make sure there is plenty of excitement and scores to keep spectators entertained. Once you get into baseball it is absolutey addictive. Top class.

Soccer is shite and as for horse racing??? Whats the point unless you're a punter.
Post by: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 11:48:57 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 06, 2013, 11:47:48 PM
American sports are brilliant. They have been fly enough to design them to make sure there is plenty of excitement and scores to keep spectators entertained. Once you get into baseball it is absolutey addictive. Top class.

Soccer is shite and as for horse racing??? Whats the point unless you're a punter.

Ah come on........baseball?
Post by: trileacman on November 07, 2013, 12:02:15 AM
Yank sports are f**king terrible, have tried and failed to get into them numerous times.

There's a damn good reason sports is the only major part of the American culture not to dominate the world (song, dance, tv, film, literature)
Post by: 5 Sams on November 07, 2013, 12:16:35 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 11:48:57 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 06, 2013, 11:47:48 PM

Ah come on........baseball?
I know what you're saying Tickle. Before I went to Canada in the early 90s I thought the same. "What a load of bollix". but I went to see the Blue Jays a few times. I got to understand what was going on and have been hooked ever since. A triple play is one of the most spectacular moments in any sport.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckQJ0V-MLCI
Post by: theskull1 on November 07, 2013, 12:54:47 AM
American sports.....designed arse about face

Short plays to meet tv advertisers demands....cant take "entertainment" products like these seriously. Just vehicles to sell product dressed up as a sport. 
Post by: belleaqua on November 07, 2013, 01:24:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 06, 2013, 10:47:13 PM
I don't understand how anybody can dislike cricket but at the same time claim to enjoy darts. Do people actually enjoy watching ithers play darts or is it all about the atmosphere and the pints?

I'm not a huge fan of cricket but I don't actively dislike it and can appreciate the levels of skill involved. Try naming another sport where at any one time, an individual as to outwit and outplay 11 opponents.

Just used to hate bowls as it took up a disproportionate amount of time on Grandstand and I never enjoyed it. Definitely has a younger demographic than many people would think though.

Gaelic football at times in the past decade!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 07, 2013, 02:00:57 AM
Bull,c**k fighting and hare,fox hunting.
Post by: rrhf on November 07, 2013, 04:19:58 AM

You don't watch kabadi then. FFs even formula one works.
Post by: haveaharp on November 07, 2013, 08:10:50 AM

Ask Peter Canavan or Ciaran McDonald
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 07, 2013, 08:39:27 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 11:45:19 PM

Hilarious, as usual

Post by: Billys Boots on November 07, 2013, 08:52:16 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 06, 2013, 08:23:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 06, 2013, 08:13:06 PM
Beach volleyball

Where?

TG4?
Tra an Doilin

Wouldn't fancy getting the coral in my knees down there!
Post by: Billys Boots on November 07, 2013, 08:55:19 AM
I don't like rugby, never 'got it' and strongly suspect that there's nothing to 'get'.

I don't like American football or basketball - I do like baseball.  I like cricket too.

I don't like motorsports.
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 09:01:34 AM
Horse racing.
Post by: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 09:02:09 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 06, 2013, 11:45:19 PM

Ah come on now...we're decent in late August/early September too....

I'd watch any sport personally and admire the different sets of skills required. Found the few weeks after the Olympics very tough for example.

What I do dislike would be the clientele associated with certain sports....show jumping....auld lads with diamond pattern sleeveless jumpers playing Golf ect....gobshites basically.
Post by: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 09:05:23 AM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 09:01:34 AM
Horse racing.
Just talking about that this morning watching Sky Sports News. I think we should start a petition to get it removed from early in the morning on SSN. Do they not realise that their target audience would generally still be in bed until noon at the earliest.
Post by: Cold tea on November 07, 2013, 09:36:30 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 06, 2013, 09:47:32 PM
Rugby League, live golf - can only watch highlights, bowls, darts and most horsey sports.

Surprised by all the hated for tennis. Great sport.

Darts, golf and snooker - these should not be mentioned on a thread about sport.
Post by: Cold tea on November 07, 2013, 09:38:08 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 06, 2013, 06:50:37 PM
Soccer. More than any sport on God's green earth. Soccer. I'm convinced that people will one day suddenly wake up to just how SHITE it is in absolutely every possible way. I agree that it's a bit much for people to talk about all the sports they "hate". There are plenty of sports that I'd have no interest in (american football, tennis etc) and others that I properly dislike for reasons like haveaharp describes (cricket/curling etc), but my lack of interest in them prohibits me from getting excited enough to properly "hate" them. But but I really do HATE soccer and all the incessant shitetalk that surrounds it.

+1 - fair play to the media though for selling this dung to the masses and have people roaring about our team who are based in Manchester, Liverpool etc.
Post by: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 09:54:38 AM
Don't understand people not getting Golf. If you've ever played it you will know just how difficult it is to play well. The Tyder Cup was probably one of the greatest sporting comebacks of all time and the last 2 days was pure theatre.

I don't hate any sport, not a fan of Baseball as I've sat through many a Jays game and been close to falling asleep. 162 games in a season?? That's just mental!

The only sport I wouldn't watch is probably bowls, curling, dressage, showjumping. Other than that I'll pretty much watch anything if it's on and I certainly wouldn't be slagging anyone for being at the top of their sport, to be at the top of anything is a great achievement!
Post by: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 09:59:49 AM
a good game of rugby union is hard to beat.

There's an indian game of 'tig' that used to be on Channel 4 back in the day, was fairly crap in fairness

+ any 'sport' were ye need to be loaded to take part. Oh, and American Football, what a load of nonsense, would watch cricket all day over it

Scynchronized swimming has been mentioned. Worked with a girl in London years back who was a synchronized swimmer for GB, what an incredible rear end, I'm all for it
Post by: Cold tea on November 07, 2013, 10:05:17 AM
Golf requires a lot of skill and practice, so too does dentistry, brick laying, brain surgery, chess, the list is endless - because the participants are outdoors on a green area doesn't make it a sport.

(http://jondalyisjohndaly.com/images/JohnDaly_scratched.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:05:49 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 09:05:23 AM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 09:01:34 AM
Horse racing.
Just talking about that this morning watching Sky Sports News. I think we should start a petition to get it removed from early in the morning on SSN. Do they not realise that their target audience would generally still be in bed until noon at the earliest.

If you put a tenner on each one of Alex Hammond's tips, how much money would you have lost? I'm not going to entertain the possibility that you might be ahead.
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:12:13 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 07, 2013, 12:54:47 AM

Short plays to meet tv advertisers demands....cant take "entertainment" products like these seriously. Just vehicles to sell product dressed up as a sport.

This hits the nail on the head. I really love the actual sporting, physical element of American football, basketball and baseball. Can't stand hockey though.

I was at a Lakers-Clippers game about a year and a half ago. The play at times was sensational - There were four starting All-Stars, Kobe was on fire and Blake Griffin had two dunks that ended up in the end of year top ten.

However, I absolutely detested the entire experience. Firing t-shirts into the crowd, "hype" men on the floor, the DJ. Good f**king God the DJ. It was a nationally televised game too, so the breaks were longer and more frequent. This plagues all American sport and makes it bad enough to watch on TV at times, never mind being there in the arenas for the guff they fill the downtime with.
Post by: laoislad on November 07, 2013, 10:14:40 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 09:54:38 AM
Don't understand people not getting Golf. If you've ever played it you will know just how difficult it is to play well. The Tyder Cup was probably one of the greatest sporting comebacks of all time and the last 2 days was pure theatre.

Watching Golf has probably given me more sporting drama edge of the seat moments than any other sport I'm interested in.
It's a wonderful sport both to play and watch. The thing Golf has that most other sports don't is a respect for the rules and keeping within those rules to such an extent that players will even call fouls on themselves.
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:19:04 AM
Quote from: rrhf on November 07, 2013, 04:19:58 AM

You don't watch kabadi then. FFs even formula one works.

I am unfortunately unfamiliar with Kabadia. Formula 1 doesn't work - Nigel Mansell driving a Red Bull would beat Vettel driving a Marussia. In cricket it's just the batter's natural talent.
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:23:02 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 09:54:38 AM
Don't understand people not getting Golf. If you've ever played it you will know just how difficult it is to play well. The Ryder Cup was probably one of the greatest sporting comebacks of all time and the last 2 days was pure theatre.

The Ryder Cup's not really sport though, is it? It's a novelty exhibition match that some players (Poulter) take much more seriously than others.

The last one really pissed me off as nobody would f**k up about "Seve was smiling down on us" and "that had to be for Seve" etc. Let the man rest in peace. Another f**king generation of Tim Tebows.
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:28:56 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:23:02 AM
The last one really pissed me off as nobody would f**k up about "Seve was smiling down on us" and "that had to be for Seve" etc. Let the man rest in peace. Another f**king generation of Tim Tebows.

There's a lot of that knocking around. I winced every time someone associated with the Red Sox invoked the spirit of the victims of the Boston bombing in their winning of the World Series. I really hate that kind of talk. Are they saying that if the bomber had struck St Louis it would have made the difference for the Cardinals?
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:30:57 AM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:28:56 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 10:23:02 AM

There's a lot of that knocking around. I winced every time someone associated with the Red Sox invoked the spirit of the victims of the Boston bombing in their winning of the World Series. I really hate that kind of talk. Are they saying that if the bomber had struck St Louis it would have made the difference for the Cardinals?

Agreed - although the Red Sox had a particular link in that David Ortiz (World Series MVP) made a bit of a rallying call at the Sox home opener which was a few days after the bombing.
Post by: Bingo on November 07, 2013, 10:32:50 AM
Take any sport, any sport - stand back from it and each sport is as ridiculous as the other. Lots involve balls, hard balls and balls of air, and a place where to put these balls - in nets, between posts, over a line, in a hole etc. The other factor in most of sports is getting from A to B faster than anyone else. The rules that are applied are crazy at times.

But that doesn't take anything away from any of them. Each to their own and all that. They serve our competitive nature and at the end of the day they are meant to entertain. Like video games, films, TV shows, music, sex etc etc. All serve to entertain and all to different tastes. Alot of them off the wall as well.

Hate is a very strong word and I'd wonder why anyone would be so annoyed by a form of entertainment that they'd really genuinely hate it. Ignore it by all means but why the hate.

For the record - I choose to ignore Rugby League out of the main sports that would be on the telly. Most other sports that don't interest me I'd have to go out of my game to ignore them.
Post by: Orior on November 07, 2013, 10:37:22 AM
On Hector and Nolan last night an Orangeman said that Marching is their equivalent to GAA sports.

I still like Orange Marches.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 07, 2013, 10:39:26 AM
Well said Bingo,
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:39:48 AM
Quote from: Bingo on November 07, 2013, 10:32:50 AM
Hate is a very strong word and I'd wonder why anyone would be so annoyed by a form of entertainment that they'd really genuinely hate it. Ignore it by all means but why the hate.

Hate is not too strong a word for what I would feel back in the 80's when RTÉ would cut away from a soccer match (usually involving Liverpool) to one of what seemed like a thousand 'Group 1' races in England that they were showing on the BBC anyway. Yep, hate works for me.
Post by: AQMP on November 07, 2013, 10:43:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 07, 2013, 10:37:22 AM
On Hector and Nolan last night an Orangeman said that Marching is their equivalent to GAA sports.

Is there an OMPA to represent the interests of ordinary Orange Marchers (who, let's face it, bring the crowds in) and negotiate the supply of polo shirts from the Grand Lodge??  I believe the Orange Order loves a draw in a big march.
Post by: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 10:45:48 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on November 07, 2013, 10:05:17 AM
Golf requires a lot of skill and practice, so too does dentistry, brick laying, brain surgery, chess, the list is endless - because the participants are outdoors on a green area doesn't make it a sport.

(http://jondalyisjohndaly.com/images/JohnDaly_scratched.jpg)

What's your point with the John Daly Picture??

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/INPHO_00147937.jpg)

(http://www.catflapfootball.com/uploads/c0e489ca-988a-4c1a-81c8-5ea597b8c20d.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:54:46 AM
Quote from: AQMP on November 07, 2013, 10:43:35 AM

Is there an OMPA to represent the interests of ordinary Orange Marchers (who, let's face it, bring the crowds in) and negotiate the supply of polo shirts from the Grand Lodge??  I believe the Orange Order loves a draw in a big march.

I've come around to the idea of comparing the Orange Order with the GAA. If they think the OO is the other side of this particular coin, their whole 'culture' is rotten rotten rotten.
Post by: Canalman on November 07, 2013, 11:01:40 AM
Despise Horse Racing as a so called "Sport".

Can see merit in most sports but imo the unwatchable / boring sports on TV are Tennis, Squash and handball (Irish version).

Rugby is on ok game but has an unbelievable hold in the Irish media WAY beyond its actual popularity in Ireland.The spoofology in rugby is something else.
Post by: Cold tea on November 07, 2013, 11:09:55 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 10:45:48 AM

What's your point with the John Daly Picture??

He is a top Golfer, no idea who the soccer dude is as I wouldn't watch a soccer match at gunpoint.
Post by: Rossfan on November 07, 2013, 11:14:38 AM
Love proper ( Gaelic) Football, like hurling.
Hate Rugby Union, Golf, horse racing.  American "football" has to be the worst thing the Yanks ever inflicted on the human race after hiroshima/Nagasaki.
Can't watch Soccer for more than 5 minutes. Rugby League and Aus rules is ok for a short while.
No interests in most other sports.
Post by: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 11:20:46 AM
Quote from: Canalman on November 07, 2013, 11:01:40 AM
Rugby is on ok game but has an unbelievable hold in the Irish media WAY beyond its actual popularity in Ireland.The spoofology in rugby is something else.
Agreed. This really grinded my gears as Mr. Griffin would say.

(http://www.irishinternational.com/wp-content/uploads/Rugby-Metropole.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2013, 11:23:38 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 07, 2013, 11:14:38 AMAmerican "football" has to be the worst thing the Yanks ever inflicted on the human race after hiroshima/Nagasaki.

You're forgetting Garth Brooks.

I think it's great to see people letting all this stuff out. I don't know why we never thought of it before. We shouldn't bottle these things up.
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2013, 11:27:04 AM
Having said that, how can people hate tennis? What's wrong with tennis?
Post by: rosnarun on November 07, 2013, 11:30:14 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 11:20:46 AM

its this sort of thing that give me my only intrest in rugby . watching the IRFU and their patron saint BoD Lose ,
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:35:49 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 07, 2013, 11:30:14 AM
Its this sort of thing that give me my only intrest in rugby . watching the IRFU and their patron saint BoD Lose ,

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Irish rugby is the best kind of each-way bet. Win - yay, Ireland won! Lose - yay, D4 dicks lost!
Post by: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 11:42:06 AM
I don't see what the problem is with Rugby... the reason for the Media hype is because it's probably the only world sport that we are relatively competitive in. What's wrong with celebrating that?

The dislike of the Irish Rugby team is more good old fashioned begrudgery than anything else. Plenty here are happy to call them all dicks but what is that based on?!
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2013, 11:42:23 AM
Eamonnca1 - it'd be fun if you stuck a poll up at the top there. I'd say there must be twenty-plus sports mentioned so far you could list, plus you could have a catch-all "Other" option. Of course, you'd have to facilitate voting for more than one sport. It would probably save a lot of people a lot of time if you had an "All" tick-box as well. 
Post by: Bingo on November 07, 2013, 11:42:45 AM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:35:49 AM
Its this sort of thing that give me my only intrest in rugby . watching the IRFU and their patron saint BoD Lose ,

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Irish rugby is the best kind of each-way bet. Win - yay, Ireland won! Lose - yay, D4 dicks lost!

Is there a sport with less competitive games ie in an actual competition. They hardly have to qualify for the World cup and play friendlies in Autumn and Summer.
Post by: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 11:44:13 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 11:20:46 AM

its this sort of thing that give me my only intrest in rugby . watching the IRFU and their patron saint BoD Lose ,

you like seeing ireland lose in the aul rugger? bit strange that surely
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2013, 11:44:43 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 07, 2013, 11:42:06 AM
I don't see what the problem is with Rugby... the reason for the Media hype is because it's probably the only world sport that we are relatively competitive in. What's wrong with celebrating that?

The dislike of the Irish Rugby team is more good old fashioned begrudgery than anything else. Plenty here are happy to call them all dicks but what is that based on?!

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/rylenugent_zpsab1cb06b.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/rylenugent_zpsab1cb06b.png.html)
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:47:26 AM

Cos they're dicks. Seriously, there's nothing wrong with disliking a team because of the characteristics, however caricatured, of its supporters, as long as you don't too hot and heavy about it. There's an irrational core to supporting any team, what Jerry Seinfeld called 'rooting for the clothes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WSD6Y2YWj4)'.
Post by: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 11:52:27 AM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:47:26 AM

Cos they're dicks. Seriously, there's nothing wrong with disliking a team because of the characteristics, however caricatured, of its supporters, as long as you don't too hot and heavy about it. There's an irrational core to supporting any team, what Jerry Seinfeld called 'rooting for the clothes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WSD6Y2YWj4)'.

dislike yer countries team cause a few of them are dicks? 90% of professional soccer players?, now they're grade A dicks. At least the rugger buggers behave like grown men on the pitch
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:52:38 AM
Quote from: Bingo on November 07, 2013, 11:42:45 AM
Is there a sport with less competitive games ie in an actual competition. They hardly have to qualify for the World cup and play friendlies in Autumn and Summer.

That's why the Six Nations is what excites me about rugby. Each game has a history (except the Italy games, but they're getting there) and it is reasonably competitive - these days four of the teams start out with hopes of victory and I can remember when the number was five.
Post by: Canalman on November 07, 2013, 11:55:43 AM

Sorry to point out that Ireland have NEVER EVER won a knockout game in the whole history of the Rugby World Cup.
As a game it is ok-ish but the guff and Pollyannaism spouted on and on about the game itself is imo anyway ott.
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:58:22 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 11:52:27 AM
dislike yer countries team cause a few of them are dicks? 90% of professional soccer players?, now they're grade A dicks. At least the rugger buggers behave like grown men on the pitch

I cheer for Ireland. Winning the Grand Slam in 2009 was a proper moment, the culmination of 20+ years of near misses and very wide ones. But when they lose, I don't miss any sleep over them in the way I would over Waterford or Liverpool. It's not rational, but that's the way I feel. Oh, and I certainly admire the on-field prowess of rugby players. If anything, I think they're too brave. The rules of rugby proceed on the basis that players are not professionals and therefore not likely to be built like tanks. But they are these days, and I would worry about the long term effects that the first generation of professionals are going to experience.
Post by: AQMP on November 07, 2013, 12:03:52 PM
I enjoy most sports but confess I don't have much time for Orange Marching and Formula 1.

I think cricket is brilliant.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 07, 2013, 12:09:21 PM
QuoteAs a game it is ok-ish but the guff and Pollyannaism spouted on and on about the game itself is imo anyway ott.

And you've forgotten the advertising, which is worst of all. 
Post by: ballinaman on November 07, 2013, 12:10:11 PM
Some lads might hate this but thought it was class....looking forward to it in Sochi in Feb

Snowboard Cross (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6MeWn7__vc)
Post by: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 12:11:11 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:58:22 AM

I cheer for Ireland. Winning the Grand Slam in 2009 was a proper moment, the culmination of 20+ years of near misses and very wide ones. But when they lose, I don't miss any sleep over them in the way I would over Waterford or Liverpool. It's not rational, but that's the way I feel. Oh, and I certainly admire the on-field prowess of rugby players. If anything, I think they're too brave. The rules of rugby proceed on the basis that players are not professionals and therefore not likely to be built like tanks. But they are these days, and I would worry about the long term effects that the first generation of professionals are going to experience.

fair enough. I enjoy the hits and manliness, but as you say, the impact of some of the hits is ferocious. Watching ireland getting over the try line against one of the big teams is something special

cricket wise, a 20 20 or 1 day match would be watchable, but a 5 dayer, jayzus, that would be a mission and a half

any fans of bukkake out there?
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 12:21:48 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:47:26 AM

Leinster rugby and its stereotypical SoCoDu supporters (with some level of factual basis) can be very, very annoying. Was watching a match a few weeks ago and saw a sign saying "D4Tress" and was nearly sick from cringing. I'd previously seen one saying "12 County Army" that I thought was bad enough.
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 12:40:22 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 12:11:11 PM
fair enough. I enjoy the hits and manliness, but as you say, the impact of some of the hits is ferocious. Watching ireland getting over the try line against one of the big teams is something special

I remember when Ireland were camped on England's line in the 2009 game at Croke Park. O'Driscoll had hurt his shoulder earlier but they still popped the ball up to him and over he went. The pain must have been excruciating and he must have known the pain would be excruciating. Still did it though. Incredible.
Post by: EC Unique on November 07, 2013, 12:46:53 PM
Rugby, Golf and Hurling I find hard to watch. Probably because I have never played any of them.
Post by: seafoid on November 07, 2013, 01:09:12 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 12:11:11 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:58:22 AM

cricket wise, a 20 20 or 1 day match would be watchable, but a 5 dayer, jayzus, that would be a mission and a half

any fans of bukkake out there?
The hits are dangerous. It won't be fun seeing what long term injuries current players have in 20 years' time .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BL5wyc9IS74

O'Driscoll is 2 stone heavier than Gibson was, IIRC.

Post by: theskull1 on November 07, 2013, 01:10:52 PM
Take any sport, any sport - stand back from it and each sport is as ridiculous as the other.

They serve our competitive nature and at the end of the day they are meant to entertain. Like video games, films, TV shows, music, sex etc etc. All serve to entertain and all to different tastes.

I'd have to disagree with both these points. Alot of sports developed without any initial interest in entertaining anyone, but turn out over time to be entertaining. Many sports developed to strengthen communities as well as develop good relationships with neighbours (to entertain wasn't the prime driver). Nothing ridiculous about those sports IMO. It all gets ugly (in my mind anyway) when the money men take over as they make develop a product to make some money. The masses hoover it up though. There is a big difference

Post by: OakleafCounty on November 07, 2013, 01:13:00 PM
Professional boxing, not for the sport itself which I think is greatest of all but for the road it has been going down for the past 30 odd years until today when it's nothing more than a business. I don't think it will ever get back to one world title per weight which is nothing less than a crying shame.

With all due respect to men like Bernard Dunne but if there was only one belt per weight I don't think he would ever have been labelled a world champion.
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 01:27:37 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on November 07, 2013, 01:13:00 PM
Professional boxing, not for the sport itself which I think is greatest of all but for the road it has been going down for the past 30 odd years until today when it's nothing more than a business. I don't think it will ever get back to one world title per weight which is nothing less than a crying shame.

With all due respect to men like Bernard Dunne but if there was only one belt per weight I don't think he would ever have been labelled a world champion.

The below might interest you.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/queensberry-rules-boxing-blog/2013/oct/15/boxing-one-champion-every-weight (http://www.theguardian.com/sport/queensberry-rules-boxing-blog/2013/oct/15/boxing-one-champion-every-weight)
Post by: J OGorman on November 07, 2013, 01:30:45 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 07, 2013, 12:46:53 PM
Rugby, Golf and Hurling I find hard to watch. Probably because I have never played any of them.

in full flight, is there anything better?
Post by: magpie seanie on November 07, 2013, 01:47:00 PM
I'd watch most sports with my favourite sports featuring among those mentioned as "hates" for several on here.

The few I don't have any time for include horse racing & formula 1/motor sports.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2013, 01:52:15 PM
I would have been a fairly passive follower of rugby until the wee lad started at the local RFC a couple of months ago. Now I have really got into it and don't see the negative aspects of it that some do (mostly the Irish Rugby team and D4 connection).
Post by: OakleafCounty on November 07, 2013, 02:23:35 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 01:27:37 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on November 07, 2013, 01:13:00 PM

The below might interest you.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/queensberry-rules-boxing-blog/2013/oct/15/boxing-one-champion-every-weight (http://www.theguardian.com/sport/queensberry-rules-boxing-blog/2013/oct/15/boxing-one-champion-every-weight)

Cheers, good read!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 07, 2013, 02:27:40 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 10:39:48 AM

Hate is not too strong a word for what I would feel back in the 80's when RTÉ would cut away from a soccer match (usually involving Liverpool) to one of what seemed like a thousand 'Group 1' races in England that they were showing on the BBC anyway. Yep, hate works for me.
Noel Reid!
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 02:37:27 PM
I'm willing to give Noel Reid a pass for the manner in which he editorialised when John Upson denounced the aborted start fiasco at the Grand National in 1993 by saying it wouldn't happen in "even in a backward little country like Ireland". Great telly!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 07, 2013, 03:19:41 PM
As this thread develops, I'm only now beginning to realize how few sports I actually like to watch.
Post by: gallsman on November 07, 2013, 04:06:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2013, 01:52:15 PM
I would have been a fairly passive follower of rugby until the wee lad started at the local RFC a couple of months ago. Now I have really got into it and don't see the negative aspects of it that some do (mostly the Irish Rugby team and D4 connection).

Try living in and being a member of a gym in Blackrock. You'd see it soon enough.
Post by: Oraisteach on November 07, 2013, 04:48:19 PM
I can enjoy pretty much any sport, but NASCAR . . . . after 30 seconds, I'm jaded.

Drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, drive down a crowded straightaway and turn left, C-R-A-S-H !!!!!!!  Much prefer Formula1

Or as a Georgia resident said to me when I got a new car, "Hey, y'all, NASCAR."
Post by: Orior on November 07, 2013, 04:52:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 11:52:38 AM
Quote from: Bingo on November 07, 2013, 11:42:45 AM

That's why the Six Nations is what excites me about rugby. Each game has a history (except the Italy games, but they're getting there) and it is reasonably competitive - these days four of the teams start out with hopes of victory and I can remember when the number was five.

Clarification needed. Each England game has history i.e. Calcutta Cup, Home Nations, Six Nations
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2013, 05:18:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 07, 2013, 04:52:10 PM
Clarification needed. Each England game has history i.e. Calcutta Cup, Home Nations, Six Nations

I meant what I said, and I said what I meant.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2013, 05:28:28 PM

It will only be an equivalent sport when they have an international element.

They need to do what the Gaa did with the AFL and blur into another sport and have yearly events.

Any ideas what to match the Orange Marches with?

Crocodile Wrestling?
Bullfighting?

My favourite would be....

Cheerleading.
Post by: theticklemister on November 07, 2013, 11:40:30 PM
Boxing!

It bores the bejeusus out of me.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 08, 2013, 04:12:51 AM

All American sports were played well before TV was around and not designed to meet the advertisers demands. I can see your take on why that may come across, although they do not have 15 players per side running around like billboards.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 08, 2013, 04:49:13 AM
There is one sport I can't stand the sight of. UFC. Nothing but a glorified street brawl with hugging on the floor. Give me Queensberry rules any day.
Post by: johnneycool on November 08, 2013, 09:05:41 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 08, 2013, 04:12:51 AM

All American sports were played well before TV was around and not designed to meet the advertisers demands. I can see your take on why that may come across, although they do not have 15 players per side running around like billboards.

Yeah some of the rugby jersies now are just ridiculous looking now.

American sports originally didn't lend themselves to the incessant breaks for TV commercials and were tampered with to allow the money men in. I remember watching some of the 94 world cup games on US TV and they cut away during the game itself for advertisements, annoying as f**k. If Fifa were to allow timeouts in soccer, the US advertising lads would be in like a flash, as well as Sky etc, etc. Soccer has already sold part of its soul to the business world and slowly the dependence UK football teams have for TV money will mean the TV men will want more return in advertising revenue for their huge outlay.
Timeouts or something similar is not that far away IMO.

Don't get most motor sports, horsey shite, but hate is too strong.
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 09:11:56 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 08, 2013, 04:12:51 AM

It's swings and roundabouts. I like the way American teams wear classic jerseys - buy one, you've bought it for life. However, the broadcasts are contaminated by advertising to a ludicrous degree. The bookending of ad breaks with sponsors logos is far more subtle than bellowing out "this broadcast is brought to you by Pepsi, official soft drink of the World Series" as a player is about to pitch. In the end, all professional sports are in thrall of television.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 09:40:38 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 08, 2013, 04:49:13 AM
There is one sport I can't stand the sight of. UFC. Nothing but a glorified street brawl with hugging on the floor. Give me Queensberry rules any day.

Agreed. UFC is not a sport in my view. I'd put that in with BMX jumping, roller skating, skateboarding etc - not sports.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 08, 2013, 09:43:51 AM
Are all contests of physical endeavour not sports?  Where do you draw the line?
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 09:51:21 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 08, 2013, 09:43:51 AM

You can't. Doesn't stop people trying though.
Post by: ballinaman on November 08, 2013, 09:55:10 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 09:40:38 AM

Agreed. UFC is not a sport in my view. I'd put that in with BMX jumping, roller skating, skateboarding etc - not sports.
UFC is every bit a sport as boxing is. Definite set of rules which determin the outcome. I think the fact people find it hard to relate to is because its mixed martial arts..combination of all types of unarmed combat. The condition UFC fighters are in and the training they do is incredible IMO.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 08, 2013, 10:35:52 AM
I remember reading the rules of UFC and they were pretty much you can't gouge open wounds and you can't kick people in the nuts. That aside there weren't too many rules. There are rounds and an outcome was about the only other structure to it.

I've actually been to it but didn't enjoy it. I can see why people do but it seems to be a case of ground people and then pound into submission. Granted there is a fair amount of skill in the grounding aspect of it.
Post by: J OGorman on November 08, 2013, 10:50:19 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 08, 2013, 09:55:10 AM

UFC is every bit a sport as boxing is. Definite set of rules which determin the outcome. I think the fact people find it hard to relate to is because its mixed martial arts..combination of all types of unarmed combat. The condition UFC fighters are in and the training they do is incredible IMO.

UFC isn't much craic. a couple of punches then 2 mins of hugging til the ref ends the round. If there was a 10 sec hug rule, then fighters were split, would be more watchable. Would it be the fighting version of Nascar?
Post by: ballinaman on November 08, 2013, 11:04:50 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 08, 2013, 10:50:19 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 08, 2013, 09:55:10 AM

UFC isn't much craic. a couple of punches then 2 mins of hugging til the ref ends the round. If there was a 10 sec hug rule, then fighters were split, would be more watchable. Would it be the fighting version of Nascar?
I'm not a UFC fanboy at all just to be clear but the skill in some of the submissions and kicks are quality IMO. I'm not sure the 10 second split rule would make it that more enjoyable, it's like a game of chess sometimes with the ground stuff, makes a change from just going toe to toe...also any sport that has a lad like this guy is good craic to watch...Roy Nelson!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amP40qyy2K4
Post by: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 12:56:07 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 09:51:21 AM

Is shagging a sport?
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 12:57:23 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 12:56:07 PM
Is shagging a sport?

No. There are no rules.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 08, 2013, 01:04:25 PM
Irish Dancing? Rules, dont fall over.  Don't know if it is a sport but keep it in anyway please. Awful.
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 01:05:57 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on November 08, 2013, 01:04:25 PM
Irish Dancing? Rules, dont fall over.  Don't know if it is a sport but keep it in anyway please. Awful.

That was . . . random.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 01:08:30 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 12:57:23 PM
Is shagging a sport?

No. There are no rules.

I think there are. Unwritten and vary from match to match but they exist I think.

There has to be a line somewhere. For me it's well before "beating the crap out of someone" or MMA as many people call it.
Post by: clarshack on November 08, 2013, 01:16:26 PM
formula 1
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 01:22:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 01:08:30 PM
Is shagging a sport?

No. There are no rules.

I think there are. Unwritten and vary from match to match but they exist I think.

There has to be a line somewhere. For me it's well before "beating the crap out of someone" or MMA as many people call it.

You're entitled to your own opinion on what constitutes a sport. Doesn't mean you are right though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2013, 01:28:27 PM
Is shagging a sport?

No. There are no rules.

It's called the perineum.
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 03:30:44 PM
I don't hate any sport but I do hate sky sports and I do mean hate. I don't say that lightly as I think it's a bit sad to hate things like a sport or a TV show but I feel sky sports have ripped the soul out many sports. For me sport is about participating, ideally as a player or coach but it can be in administration or as a supporter, sitting on your backside in front of the TV is not sport. Worse than that, sky sports over expose their main sports to such a degree that even sports I like are flogged to death to such a degree I can hardly watch them.

Coaching kids IS sport, sitting on your arse watching middle aged twats watching sport on a TV is NOT sport. Standing on a wet grassy terrace watching your team IS sport, watching Jamie Redknapp and co. talk rubbish for 3 hours is NOT sport. Getting out of bed on a Sunday morning to play a junior league game IS sport, managing a team IS sport while boring your mates with your pseudo 'expertise' on EVERY sport on TV is NOT sport.
Post by: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 03:32:31 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 03:30:44 PM
I don't hate any sport but I do hate sky sports and I do mean hate. I don't say that lightly as I think it's a bit sad to hate things like a sport or a TV show but I feel sky sports have ripped the soul out many sports. For me sport is about participating, ideally as a player or coach but it can be in administration or as a supporter, sitting on your backside in front of the TV is not sport. Worse than that, sky sports over expose their main sports to such a degree that even sports I like are flogged to death to such a degree I can hardly watch them.

Coaching kids IS sport, sitting on your arse watching middle aged t**ts watching sport on a TV is NOT sport. Standing on a wet grassy terrace watching your team IS sport, watching Jamie Redknapp and co. talk rubbish for 3 hours is NOT sport. Getting out of bed on a Sunday morning to play a junior league game IS sport, managing a team IS sport while boring your mates with your pseudo 'expertise' on EVERY sport on TV is NOT sport.

You get a round of applause from me good sir well played great post!!
Post by: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 03:37:06 PM

Coaching kids IS sport, sitting on your arse watching middle aged t**ts watching sport on a TV is NOT sport. Standing on a wet grassy terrace watching your team IS sport, watching Jamie Redknapp and co. talk rubbish for 3 hours is NOT sport. Getting out of bed on a Sunday morning to play a junior league game IS sport, managing a team IS sport while boring your mates with your pseudo 'expertise' on EVERY sport on TV is NOT sport.

Agree. I watch it a lot and pay €35 a month for the privilege but I despise myself for it. Sky Sports News is one worst abominations in the history of television. Sky Sports is effectively the Sun, the Mirror and the Daily Mail rolled into one in televisual format.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 08, 2013, 03:38:33 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 09:51:21 AM

Is shagging a sport?

I didn't think it was a contest - I might be wrong.  :P
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 03:45:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 03:37:06 PM

Agree. I watch it a lot and pay €35 a month for the privilege but I despise myself for it. Sky Sports News is one worst abominations in the history of television. Sky Sports is effectively the Sun, the Mirror and the Daily Mail rolled into one in televisual format.

Exactly, an analogy I've used myself!!
Post by: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 04:24:50 PM

I enjoyed that post and don't disagree with any of it.

As someone said I hate myself for what I'm paying the feckers every month. Once the American Football is over I'm getting rid of it and I think I'll get Game Pass or something else next year. They have (helped) destroyed soccer. It's 1000 (add as many zeros as you see fit) times more enjoyable to go to a game than watch on TV. I'm not a major rugby fan but when I was over in London last I went to see Rosslyn Park with a couple of mates and it was a great day's craic. That's what sport is about for me.
Post by: Bingo on November 08, 2013, 04:33:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 08, 2013, 04:24:50 PM

I enjoyed that post and don't disagree with any of it.

As someone said I hate myself for what I'm paying the feckers every month. Once the American Football is over I'm getting rid of it and I think I'll get Game Pass or something else next year. They have (helped) destroyed soccer. It's 1000 (add as many zeros as you see fit) times more enjoyable to go to a game than watch on TV. I'm not a major rugby fan but when I was over in London last I went to see Rosslyn Park with a couple of mates and it was a great day's craic. That's what sport is about for me.

Couple of great posts there. Would agree with these sentiments.
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 04:34:35 PM
Wow, such self-loathing. There should be a support group called Sky Sports Anonymous.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2013, 04:37:17 PM
My name is AZ, and I like Sky Sports. I also like ESPN, BT Sports and Setanta. What can I say? I like watching sport on TV.
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 04:44:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 08, 2013, 04:37:17 PM
My name is AZ, and I like Sky Sports. I also like ESPN, BT Sports and Setanta. What can I say? I like watching sport on TV.

That doesn't work. We all know your real name, Cornelius.
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 05:00:10 PM
While I don't really like watching sport on TV, that's not what I dislike. I can't see American football, top level boxing, IC GAA or many other sports live where I live so if I want to see them I watch them on TV. However, sky sports try to convince you everything is now the 'greatest ever', they flog every sport to death so that the majority of what they are reporting is so mundane that you'd want to be, how can I say this, a bit 'slow' to find it genuinely interesting or worthwhile.

There is nothing wrong with watching a bit of sport on TV but sky sports is the X factor for blokes. In addition, I know quite a few lads who will happily tell me what the munster rugby coach or Chelsea manager should do in a match as well as telling me how good/bad a boxer, formula 1 driver, tennis player and swimmer is while all the while never playing or coaching any sport. They apparently love sport while only engaging in it from the comfort of their couches, that isn't sport at all.

For me, Sky sports, is like a company seeing Christmas day is very popular and trying to have it every day. To make money they have to convince us that there is nothing boring or bad about Christmas day, it's all brilliant and it's all brilliant every day of the week, week in week out. As I said, I find sky sports promotion of sport to be quite soulless and packaged, their promotion of the last lions tour was a perfect case in point. The more they promoted it and the more they tried to make out these mid week games were important they less interest I had in the tests.

Maybe I'm getting old but there is now so much sport on TV that I hardly watch any of it. Outside of the NFL and GAA I care little for any sport though I've played many and have yet to try a sport I didn't enjoy to some degree.
Post by: thebigfella on November 08, 2013, 05:01:56 PM

Have to agree with this, it's the only reason I have a TV. I would very much like to attend all these sporting events on TV but that isn't realistic. I also like participating and gambling on sport.

I suppose I just like sport.
Post by: thebigfella on November 08, 2013, 05:04:21 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 05:00:10 PM
While I don't really like watching sport on TV, that's not what I dislike. I can't see American football, top level boxing, IC GAA or many other sports live where I live so if I want to see them I watch them on TV. However, sky sports try to convince you everything is now the 'greatest ever', they flog every sport to death so that the majority of what they are reporting is so mundane that you'd want to be, how can I say this, a bit 'slow' to find it genuinely interesting or worthwhile.

There is nothing wrong with watching a bit of sport on TV but sky sports is the X factor for blokes. In addition, I know quite a few lads who will happily tell me what the munster rugby coach or Chelsea manager should do in a match as well as telling me how good/bad a boxer, formula 1 driver, tennis player and swimmer is while all the while never playing or coaching any sport. They apparently love sport while only engaging in it from the comfort of their couches, that isn't sport at all.

For me, Sky sports, is like a company seeing Christmas day is very popular and trying to have it every day. To make money they have to convince us that there is nothing boring or bad about Christmas day, it's all brilliant and it's all brilliant every day of the week, week in week out. As I said, I find sky sports promotion of sport to be quite soulless and packaged, their promotion of the last lions tour was a perfect case in point. The more they promoted it and the more they tried to make out these mid week games were important they less interest I had in the tests.

Maybe I'm getting old but there is now so much sport on TV that I hardly watch any of it. Outside of the NFL and GAA I care little for any sport though I've played many and have yet to try a sport I didn't enjoy to some degree.

You think about this way to much, get a life.
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 05:10:36 PM
Says the man who spends his free time sitting on his arse gambling his money away watching all manner of shite sports. I have a life.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2013, 05:20:11 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 05:10:36 PM
Says the man who spends his free time sitting on his arse gambling his money away watching all manner of shite sports. I have a life.

That's not fair. Maybe he wins!
Post by: ludermor on November 08, 2013, 05:20:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2013, 01:28:27 PM
Is shagging a sport?

No. There are no rules.

It's called the perineum.
Very good  :)
Post by: thebigfella on November 08, 2013, 05:23:10 PM

No you don't, that previous post is pseudo intellectual smug sh1te. You should get that superiority complex sorted and join the rest of us watching x factor for blokes  ::)
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 05:56:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 08, 2013, 05:20:11 PM

That's not fair. Maybe he wins!

Think it's very fair AZ, I wasn't the one insulting another poster. I can only imagine he is taking personally because it's a bit too close to the bone.

QuoteNo you don't, that previous post is pseudo intellectual smug sh1te. You should get that superiority complex sorted and join the rest of us watching x factor for blokes  ::)

You see, this guy equates not liking sky sports or spending your free time stuck to your couch and the Paddy Power website open on your laptop as not having a life. That ain't living in my book!! So if being outside coaching sport in my free time in preference for sitting on my hole watching Wycombe wanderers
playing Colchester Utd in (yet) another mankind defining event is not having a life then I'm quite happy having no life.

And yeah, bigfella, sky sports is X factor for blokes but don't upset yourself too much, if your happy waiting for betting tips off Ray Winestone and listening to the oohs and ahhs of Phil Thompson all the while convincing yourself that this living more power to ya.
Post by: The Iceman on November 08, 2013, 07:29:34 PM
Just because you don't like something doesn't mean it isn't sport.
In my book MMA is the best sport on the planet. I can more or less watch nearly any sport on TV and I'll watch the sports I enjoy first over most other things if they are on TV. Going to live sporting events is great - but some other sports are made for TV (NFL) and some to be recorded and skipped through (baseball) IMO.

The UFC is not a sport -it's a promotion that showcases the sport of MMA - Mixed Martial Arts. It has lots of rules and a judging system.
Moaning about ground fighting and calling it hugging is just being ignorant. Try it some time and see how much technique is involved and try listening to the commentary to grasp the "game of chess" you are obviously missing.

Post by: muppet on November 08, 2013, 07:55:30 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on November 08, 2013, 07:29:34 PM
Just because you don't like something doesn't mean it isn't sport.
In my book MMA is the best sport on the planet. I can more or less watch nearly any sport on TV and I'll watch the sports I enjoy first over most other things if they are on TV. Going to live sporting events is great - but some other sports are made for TV (NFL) and some to be recorded and skipped through (baseball) IMO.

The UFC is not a sport -it's a promotion that showcases the sport of MMA - Mixed Martial Arts. It has lots of rules and a judging system.
Moaning about ground fighting and calling it hugging is just being ignorant. Try it some time and see how much technique is involved and try listening to the commentary to grasp the "game of chess" you are obviously missing.

I have a treat for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knCj92zA0tU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knCj92zA0tU)
Post by: The Iceman on November 08, 2013, 08:54:10 PM
Thanks Muppet - I actually got a laugh out of that. I did a bit of working hunter in my late teens early 20s.
Post by: laoislad on November 08, 2013, 09:12:10 PM
Wrestling.
Not the Olympic type but the WWE or whatever it's called.
Then it's not really a sport is it?
Almost as bad as Rugby.Almost.
Post by: laoislad on November 08, 2013, 09:18:52 PM

I agree with AZ. I love all the sport channels.
First thing I turn on in the morning  when having the breakfast is Sky Sports News. Their Golf coverage is brilliant as is the football.
Post by: Zulu on November 08, 2013, 09:54:21 PM
If you like it fair enough but sky sports news makes me want to cry sometimes. I remember one segment where they were taking about somebody's appearances for England (I think) and then they proceeded to list out each one, one by one. It went something like this -

Sue: 'Today Jim Smith will get his 50th cap for England and Mike Jones looks at his career to date, Mike...'

Mike (standing in front of screen with details of the first 6 caps which Mike proceeds to read out anyway): 'Thanks Sue, Jim made his debut against Croatia in 2009 at Wembley and then got his second cap, as a sub, against Wales in September 2009

Mike then works his way through all 50 (as the screen updates): Jim's 48th cap, and first goal, came in a friendly against Colombia in March 2013.....

It reminded me of a guy counting the cracks in the pavement while waiting on a bus. Talk about dragging the arse out of 'news'!!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on November 09, 2013, 01:09:01 AM

Good for you.

Surely though you can see the ridiculous hyperbole that oozes out of Sky Sports in particular? It's a business and as a sports fan it's probably better that they're covering so much rather than pre-Sky when there was f**k all spot on TV but Christ they are annoying at times.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 07:28:09 AM
Of course I can, but you don't have to believe that Fulham v Stoke is a clash of Giants, or that Liverpool v United in September is a title decider. I just like to have the chance to watch Liverpool, Italian Soccer, NCAA, NFL etc.

I'm also involved in sport outside my couch, but I think it's a bit much to 'hate' sports channels.

Of course my remark was tongue in cheek and was a response to the self flagellation of a couple of the posters before me.
Post by: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 08:49:06 AM
QuoteOf course I can, but you don't have to believe that Fulham v Stoke is a clash of Giants, or that Liverpool v United in September is a title decider. I just like to have the chance to watch Liverpool, Italian Soccer, NCAA, NFL etc.

I've no problem with that AZ, nor, I imagine does anyone else.

QuoteI'm also involved in sport outside my couch, but I think it's a bit much to 'hate' sports channels.

I know that but many people aren't yet claim to love sport, that certainly grates on me. You must know as well as I do how hard it can be to get coaches for underage yet there are thousands of 'sport' fans sitting on their arses each week when they could be out actually making sport happen. This discussion also needs to be taken in the context of the thread, I don't berate my friends who fall into the category I just described above, each to their own at the end of the day. However, once the thread was started I made the point that sports channels like sky sports while bringing us great sport on occasion are also packaging rubbish as great sport and selling it to us. Like the X factor there is a manipulative crassness about sky sports that genuine sports people like yourself must see.
Post by: gallsman on November 09, 2013, 08:58:53 AM
Sometimes I want to put my foot through the tv when Sky Sports is on. To name a few:

1) A few years ago, on transfer deadline day (A Sky invention - anyone who sits in front of this nonsense for five or six hours is, quite simply, a moron. Apologies to anyone on the board if this applies to you), they broadcast footage of Jim White arriving at the Sky Sports studio getting ready to present his shift on Sky Sports...

2) When Spurs played Milan in the CL a few years ago, their studio was pitchside and Jamie Redknapp was a pundit. 'Arry landed in after the match and instead of doing match analysis, they just had a big love in.

3) Any time 'Arry gives an interview through a car window.

4) Georgie Thompson was presenting her last shift on SSN. Before moving to another Sky Sports channel. 'Arry just "happened" to ring up to congratulate her. I don't know why. Georgie got all "emotional", saying it was such a surprise. If there is one thing tht is not surprising on Sky Sports, it's 'Arry being on the phone.

It's not journalism, it's not news- it's just absolute garbage.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 08:59:31 AM
They have a product. You are a consumer. If you decide to sit on your arse watching tractor pulling from Ukraine because sky sports tell you it's the best tractor pulling event of all time on "Tremendous Tuesday Tractors!!!!" Then that's your fault, not theirs. What do you want them to do? "Look lads, we've paid millions for this shite, but we need ye to subscribe so please put up with it as best you can. Actually never mind that, go down to the local pitch, we'll be fine and there's nothing worth watching until Sunday week"?

I know what you are saying, but if you can't make a choice about what you want to watch without Sky telling you this is awesome, then you shouldn't even have control of the remote :)
Post by: Minder on November 09, 2013, 09:05:23 AM
BT Sport is on the verge of announcing a £1bn deal which would end two decades of Champions League football on terrestrial TV, according to a senior source at the company.
The broadcaster has been in advanced talks with Uefa, and is understood to be close to revealing it has won the right to show Champions League and Europa League matches for the first time from 2015.
A reported three-year deal will be seen as a significant blow to both Sky and ITV, who currently share the rights.
BT launched its UK sports channels on 1 August, 2013, in a challenge to the dominance of sports coverage on Sky.
Sky has previously fended off competition from other broadasters, such as ITV Digital, Setanta and ESPN, after they all entered the pay-TV football market.
BT has already spent £738m over three years for the rights to 38 live Premier League matches for the 2012-2013 season. while Sky paid £2.3bn for 116 matches a season.
More to follow
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 09:06:01 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 09, 2013, 08:58:53 AM
Sometimes I want to put my foot through the tv when Sky Sports is on. To name a few:

1) A few years ago, on transfer deadline day (A Sky invention - anyone who sits in front of this nonsense for five or six hours is, quite simply, a moron. Apologies to anyone on the board if this applies to you), they broadcast footage of Jim White arriving at the Sky Sports studio getting ready to present his shift on Sky Sports...

2) When Spurs played Milan in the CL a few years ago, their studio was pitchside and Jamie Redknapp was a pundit. 'Arry landed in after the match and instead of doing match analysis, they just had a big love in.

3) Any time 'Arry gives an interview through a car window.

4) Georgie Thompson was presenting her last shift on SSN. Before moving to another Sky Sports channel. 'Arry just "happened" to ring up to congratulate her. I don't know why. Georgie got all "emotional", saying it was such a surprise. If there is one thing tht is not surprising on Sky Sports, it's 'Arry being on the phone.

It's not journalism, it's not news- it's just absolute garbage.

Rather than put your foot through the TV, which is an expensive way of registering your displeasure, just switch the channel or turn it off. Lads, it's a choice. You don't have to watch any of it. At the end of the day it's a service you can choose to avail of, or not. It's not like an unfair tax or something. SSN is 90% filler nonsense and 10% news. I turn it on in the morning when I am getting dressed, check the scroll bar, get results etc, and then switch it off and go to work. No big deal.
Post by: gallsman on November 09, 2013, 09:09:09 AM
I know that, I'm just venting. I like watching sport on TV and unashamedly do. It just bothers me that Sky seem to think we're all cavemen and produce a product designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator - all gimmicks and show, with little quality underneath it.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 09:11:31 AM
Also, if you feel strongly about their content you could email them and threaten to unsubscribe, which is their whole raison d'être. I remember a few years ago, the old ESPN America were contemplating ditching college football. I emailed them and said if they did I was cancelling. The replied and said they had receive 'many' emails saying the same thing and thus it was staying, and actually it is still as prevalent now on the new BT platform.

Post by: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 09:12:33 AM
QuoteThey have a product. You are a consumer. If you decide to sit on your arse watching tractor pulling from Ukraine because sky sports tell you it's the best tractor pulling event of all time on "Tremendous Tuesday Tractors!!!!" Then that's your fault, not theirs. What do you want them to do? "Look lads, we've paid millions for this shite, but we need ye to subscribe so please put up with it as best you can. Actually never mind that, go down to the local pitch, we'll be fine and there's nothing worth watching until Sunday week"?

I know what you are saying, but if you can't make a choice about what you want to watch without Sky telling you this is awesome, then you shouldn't even have control of the remote :)

I agree 100% and I don't watch it if given the choice bar the odd fight or the NFL. I was just making the point in the context of the thread, I thought that was the whole point of this thread, no? ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 09:15:04 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 09, 2013, 09:09:09 AM
I know that, I'm just venting. I like watching sport on TV and unashamedly do. It just bothers me that Sky seem to think we're all cavemen and produce a product designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator - all gimmicks and show, with little quality underneath it.

The quality, at the end of the day, is the game itself. The reason sky hype everything is because they are trying to get people to continue to consume rubbish and think it is caviar, with some genuinely big events and games sprinkled in. But a 24/7 channel is never going to be able to provide quality all the time.. Again, just don't watch the rubbish.

I think it's harsh to blame the channel itself here. They have to shill and sell their product.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 09:16:49 AM
Quote from: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 09:12:33 AM
QuoteThey have a product. You are a consumer. If you decide to sit on your arse watching tractor pulling from Ukraine because sky sports tell you it's the best tractor pulling event of all time on "Tremendous Tuesday Tractors!!!!" Then that's your fault, not theirs. What do you want them to do? "Look lads, we've paid millions for this shite, but we need ye to subscribe so please put up with it as best you can. Actually never mind that, go down to the local pitch, we'll be fine and there's nothing worth watching until Sunday week"?

I agree 100% and I don't watch it if given the choice bar the odd fight or the NFL. I was just making the point in the context of the thread, I thought that was the whole point of this thread, no? ;D

Well not quite I thought. I saw the thread as I hate such and such a sport, not a thread about the temerity of channels to show said sports, which you took to another level altogether about people who watch this stuff on these channels :)
Post by: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 09:30:45 AM
Did I? I didn't think I gave the folk watching sport on TV a hard time until thebigfella got personal about it. I think it is far more reasonable to dislike the packaging of sport and the disengagement from sport in preference for sport 'entertainment' than a sport itself.

I also have no problem with TV sport, it's a great service in many ways but I do find it annoying the way they dumb down sport in the same way I find the X factor or I'm a celebrity get me out of here annoying and I think making that point is a valid discussion even if I accept that we all have the choice to ignore them if we want.

I addition, I think sky sports do a fairly poor job of promoting sport. It's not really sky sports but sky soccer, they have the NFL but hardly ever go beyond the bog basic coverage while flogging soccer, why don't they do more with the sports they have, why don't they do some pieces on the GAA (at the very least results), why don't they do more on German, Italian or Spanish soccer, why don't they do documentaries like the 30:30 series on ESPN, why don't they do more on grass roots level sport?

Why are there 5 24 hour day sports channels on sky yet nothing but rubbish on 95% of the time, when sport (real sport) could fill a good portion of these channels with genuinely interesting content?
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2013, 11:24:44 AM
Lads, the day is going by. It'll be dark at half four. Shouldn't you be out coaching?
Post by: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 11:49:18 AM
I'll be heading out at for U10 and 12 training at 2pm Hardy but thanks for the reminder, and yourself?
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2013, 01:33:58 PM
I'm on vigilante patrol at present. I have an appointment with my functional movement consultant later. The highlight of the day will be avoiding the dancing on the TV.
Post by: muppet on November 09, 2013, 03:30:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 07:28:09 AM
Of course I can, but you don't have to believe that Fulham v Stoke is a clash of Giants, or that Liverpool v United in September is a title decider. I just like to have the chance to watch Liverpool, Italian Soccer, NCAA, NFL etc.

I'm also involved in sport outside my couch, but I think it's a bit much to 'hate' sports channels.

Of course my remark was tongue in cheek and was a response to the self flagellation of a couple of the posters before me.

What channel is that on?
Post by: Zulu on November 09, 2013, 04:16:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 09, 2013, 01:33:58 PM
I'm on vigilante patrol at present. I have an appointment with my functional movement consultant later. The highlight of the day will be avoiding the dancing on the TV.

Sounds like a packed schedule!!
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2013, 08:15:54 PM
I missed every second of the dancing. I'm still buzzing.
Post by: deiseach on November 09, 2013, 09:51:06 PM
I got a glimpse into why someone enthusiastic for American sports like AZ would need television during the World Series as I saw the ends to game 3 (umpires had to make a subjective obstruction call, thus ending the game) and game 4 (player brought in because of his speed too slow and gets caught stealing base, thus ending the game). To see something that is literally on the other side of the ocean in real time . . . it's borderline miraculous.