GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2018, 09:24:05 AM

Title: Championship Draw 2019
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2018, 09:24:05 AM
It's not the same since the backdoor was put on.
Title: Re: Championship Draw 2019
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 11, 2018, 09:50:59 AM
Why so bloody early?
Post by: Manning18 on October 11, 2018, 11:05:56 AM
Why not? Your losing nothing by having it as early as possible and if nothing else, can allow fans to book holidays safe in the knowledge they wont miss a game, or club players to book weekends away or weddings knowing that they won't have league games clashing with when the county is playing
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 11, 2018, 11:31:33 AM
Lets the provincial councils sort out their fixtures programme for 2019 I suppose.

As usual the Connacht draw has the two predetermined ties, two from ourselves, Ros and Leitrim to meet in the other first round tie.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 11, 2018, 01:56:09 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 11, 2018, 11:05:56 AM
Why not? Your losing nothing by having it as early as possible and if nothing else, can allow fans to book holidays safe in the knowledge they wont miss a game, or club players to book weekends away or weddings knowing that they won't have league games clashing with when the county is playing

It's October ffs  ::)
Post by: highorlow on October 11, 2018, 02:11:53 PM
Draw is tonight at 8:30, its on the RTE
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 11, 2018, 02:34:22 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 11, 2018, 09:50:59 AM
Why so bloody early?
Every year the same question is asked.
Post by: Syferus on October 11, 2018, 02:38:22 PM
I don't see any case for it being later. Get it done so everyone can plan ahead.
Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 06:22:27 PM
It's been in October for a fair few years as far as I can recall.
Post by: sligoman2 on October 11, 2018, 06:28:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 06:22:27 PM

Will Roscommon draw Leitrim again?  If so I want to lodge a complaint.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 11, 2018, 07:33:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2018, 02:38:22 PM
I don't see any case for it being later. Get it done so everyone can plan ahead.

The World Cup draw is in December ,six months before it starts in June. Needless having it in December , teams obsessing over who they are playing for Months.

Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 07:45:12 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 11, 2018, 06:28:08 PM

Could well happen -see your colleague Owenmoresider's post earlier.
Post by: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:38:13 PM
Jaysus that Emlyn mulligan is some negative hoor. He'd be poison in the dressing room.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 11, 2018, 08:41:10 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:38:13 PM
Jaysus that Emlyn mulligan is some negative hoor. He'd be poison in the dressing room.
A honest but awful attitude.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2018, 08:43:24 PM

Time to lodge it.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 11, 2018, 08:44:44 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 11, 2018, 08:41:10 PM
can yee elaborate for us expats
Post by: weareros on October 11, 2018, 08:51:38 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2018, 08:43:24 PM

Time to lodge it.

Sure what's the problem. Ross will have to beat Leitrim, Mayo and Galway to win Connacht. That is as hard a draw as any team will have.
Post by: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:52:29 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 11, 2018, 08:44:44 PM

They got roscommon. Said it was a terrible draw, he wanted Sligo. Hard to motivate himself for it he said.
Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 08:54:00 PM
Tanman taking over Leinster already ;D

Post by: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:59:30 PM
Munster draw is a farce. Why do a shit cork team get preferential treatment
Post by: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:02:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:59:30 PM

Because thats what Tipperary, Limerick, Clare and Waterford wanted.
Post by: mrdeeds on October 11, 2018, 09:03:50 PM

Because they got to final this year.
Post by: tippabu on October 11, 2018, 09:05:00 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:02:52 PM

We voted against it and Clare voted for it against teams wishes
Post by: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:05:24 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DpQFnFeV4AA0Tvl.jpg)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DpQH8L3UwAAv-wF.jpg)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DpQK7whVAAAUgLA.jpg)
Post by: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:07:36 PM
Quote from: tippabu on October 11, 2018, 09:05:00 PM

Sorry I just assumed it was the standard historic 4 v 2 in the Munster Council when it comes to the football championship.
Post by: JoG2 on October 11, 2018, 09:12:12 PM
Wonder where the Derry Antrim game will be? Ballymena, Ahoghill?
Post by: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:12:38 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DpQNBA7UcAAUTLO.jpg)
Post by: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 09:14:18 PM
Surely it's time for us to beat Monaghan, so many tight defeats previously.
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 11, 2018, 09:15:02 PM
The finals should be.

Leinster - Dublin v Meath
Ulster - Monaghan v Tyrone
Connacht - Mayo v Galway
Munster - Cork v Kerry

With Kerry,Dublin,Mayo and Tyrone winning them IMO.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 11, 2018, 09:17:46 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 11, 2018, 09:12:12 PM

Qualifiers are at neutral venues no? 
Post by: Gael85 on October 11, 2018, 09:22:11 PM
Quote from: tippabu on October 11, 2018, 09:05:00 PM

http://clarechampion.ie/anger-as-football-reverts-to-seeded-draw/

It was Tipp that proposed that Cork and Kerry get byes to the semi-finals.
Post by: twohands!!! on October 11, 2018, 09:30:49 PM
Looks like next year could be a very bad championship for Division 4 sides and provide a serious chunk of evidence for a tiered championship, given the way the draw went.

The following are the Division 4 sides first round opposition.

Antrim v Tyrone (unless Derry somehow beat Tyrone)   
Derry v Tyrone   
Leitrim v Roscommon   
Limerick v Tipperary
London v Galway   
Waterford v Clare   
Wexford v    Louth   
Wicklow v   Kildare   

4 Division 1 sides and 3 Division 2 sides and only 1 Division 3 side.
There's also Mayo v New York.
Looks like a lot of one-sided matches in the early rounds of the championship
Worth remembering that this is with some protection for Division 4 sides due to the that Kerry and Cork are going straight into the Munster semi-finals and Dublin are going straight into the Leinster quarters.

Post by: Schkite on October 11, 2018, 09:49:24 PM
The Corey twins going up against each other in the opening game next year will be an interesting storyline!
Post by: Boycey on October 11, 2018, 10:06:40 PM
Will we see Vinnie again next year?
Post by: Schkite on October 11, 2018, 10:08:33 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 11, 2018, 10:06:40 PM
Will we see Vinnie again next year?

I'd say so, especially with Malachy staying on too. Haven't heard anything yet but that's my hunch. He just had his best year for a few seasons and he'd be the type to keep playing as long as he's let.
Post by: LeoMc on October 11, 2018, 10:28:02 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 11, 2018, 09:12:12 PM
A moot point but if Derry won away to Tyrone they would get a home game.
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 11, 2018, 10:31:29 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:52:29 PM

They got roscommon. Said it was a terrible draw, he wanted Sligo. Hard to motivate himself for it he said.
We'll swap our draw with him gladly if he wants so.

It'll be another beating from Galway for us, though hopefully not as pitiful as it was this year, and at least the journey home will be short.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 11, 2018, 10:38:47 PM
Connacht final likely in Salthill then unless Galway trip up against London or Sligo. Galway have home advantage next against both Mayo and Roscommon.
Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 11:56:49 PM
We haven't lost a Connacht Final on Galway soil since...??
Post by: Orior on October 12, 2018, 12:45:54 AM
Good draw for Armagh.

Beat Down, then Cavan for a place in the Ulster Final. Handy enough.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 12, 2018, 12:52:41 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 12, 2018, 12:45:54 AM
Good draw for Armagh.

Stranger things has happened.
Post by: seafoid on October 12, 2018, 06:38:00 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 11, 2018, 11:56:49 PM
We haven't lost a Connacht Final on Galway soil since...??
Ros are better off playing their ugly sister match or matches before the final. If they are good enough they will get a better all Ireland qf operformance than this year where they had an easy Connacht semi and subsequently did nothing. 
Post by: naka on October 12, 2018, 08:19:31 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 12, 2018, 12:45:54 AM
Good draw for Armagh.

Then tanked in the final🙈
Post by: magpie seanie on October 12, 2018, 09:15:40 AM
Quote from: Itchy on October 11, 2018, 08:52:29 PM

Playing Sligo is like an All-Ireland final for Leitrim....lads would be coming home from America and all to try and bate us.

Straight into Connacht semi final will mean we get a good run of club football in April and maybe first week or two in May.
Post by: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 09:48:35 AM
And most likely in late June and July too ;D :P
We might be on the same boat too though
Post by: larryin89 on October 12, 2018, 10:10:31 AM
Imagine the craic out of syf if Roscommon beat mayo in castlebar in the championship . 
Post by: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 11:02:14 AM
Lave him alone Larry.
Poor felleen is still in therapy after McStay's flight ;D
Post by: larryin89 on October 12, 2018, 11:51:43 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 11:02:14 AM
Lave him alone Larry.

What did you make of Smits tone last night in relation to mcstays departure?
Post by: Smurfy123 on October 12, 2018, 12:38:34 PM
Give over slating Mulligan for telling the truth. You are the same men that slag off Dublin players for saying they are in for a tough first game. Anything to complain. Mulligan give an honest interview and you are at him. Moron
Post by: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 12:53:20 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on October 12, 2018, 11:51:43 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 11:02:14 AM
Lave him alone Larry.

What did you make of Smits tone last night in relation to mcstays departure?
An intelligent educated young sportsman saying nice things on a bland sports show ;D
Post by: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 01:08:23 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 11, 2018, 01:56:09 PM

Yeah, and for this club player planning a wedding next summer it's a godsend because ive a fair idea how fixtures will work now. As I said, it causes no harm having it early
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 12, 2018, 01:51:12 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 01:08:23 PM

Yeah, and for this club player planning a wedding next summer it's a godsend because ive a fair idea how fixtures will work now. As I said, it causes no harm having it early

It's a bit late planning a wedding this late is it not?
Post by: Itchy on October 12, 2018, 01:57:51 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on October 12, 2018, 12:38:34 PM
Give over slating Mulligan for telling the truth. You are the same men that slag off Dublin players for saying they are in for a tough first game. Anything to complain. Mulligan give an honest interview and you are at him. Moron

If I was Terry Hyland, Id be wondering is a lad like him worth the hassle in the dressing room. If the going gets tough you know he will go hiding. Example, roscommon are similar to Kildare. Leitrim are similar to Carlow. Carlow beat Kildare last year.
Its not impossible for Leitrim to get organised, motivated and be competitive with Roscommon. With a bit of luck who knows. But its only possible if you have belief and buy in from your players.
Post by: dublin7 on October 12, 2018, 02:23:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 12, 2018, 01:57:51 PM

If I was Terry Hyland, Id be wondering is a lad like him worth the hassle in the dressing room. If the going gets tough you know he will go hiding. Example, roscommon are similar to Kildare. Leitrim are similar to Carlow. Carlow beat Kildare last year.
Its not impossible for Leitrim to get organised, motivated and be competitive with Roscommon. With a bit of luck who knows. But its only possible if you have belief and buy in from your players.

If you watched the draw you will know the only team Leitrim have beat in the connaght championship (excluding London & New York) since Mulligan joined the panel is Sligo. They have been well beaten by Roscommon in recent years. It's also a div 1/2 side against a div 4 side. It's easy for you to slag off the man, but you're not the one who has to put in all the training for what is going to be a pointless task. The Clare manager made the same point point about having to play Kerry every year.

The super 8s are a good idea, but they should be at the start of the championship, not the end, an open draw and the provincial championship structure should be scrapped at this stage. Unfortunately you have all the committee men in their provincial roles who will do everything in the power to fight this as they don't want to give up their power/positions as they believe that it worked 50/60 years ago so it should be perfectly fine today

Post by: Blowitupref on October 12, 2018, 02:44:27 PM

Carlow beating Kildare is a good point and comparison. I have a lot of time for Mulligan the footballer an outstanding talent but If Carlow players had the same negative attitude like Mulligan they would have got well beaten by Kildare this summer.

On Leitrim they have appointed arguably their best manager in years who should have them organised, meanwhile its hard to know where Roscommon will be? still no manager and could end up appointing a pure dud and by the sounds of it whoever is appointed they will have a weaker hand to choose from due to lads retiring or going traveling.
Post by: Itchy on October 12, 2018, 04:21:57 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on October 12, 2018, 02:23:57 PM

If you watched the draw you will know the only team Leitrim have beat in the connaght championship (excluding London & New York) since Mulligan joined the panel is Sligo. They have been well beaten by Roscommon in recent years. It's also a div 1/2 side against a div 4 side. It's easy for you to slag off the man, but you're not the one who has to put in all the training for what is going to be a pointless task. The Clare manager made the same point point about having to play Kerry every year.

The super 8s are a good idea, but they should be at the start of the championship, not the end, an open draw and the provincial championship structure should be scrapped at this stage. Unfortunately you have all the committee men in their provincial roles who will do everything in the power to fight this as they don't want to give up their power/positions as they believe that it worked 50/60 years ago so it should be perfectly fine today

I did watch and I am well aware of Leitrim and their limitations, i was born a stone throw from the county. Roscommon were in Div 3 a couple of years ago, they are not Kerry. A complacent Roscommon team almost lost to New York. A complacent Roscommon team are worth targeting by Leitrim. What is Mulligans point, he wants to draw Sligo every year as they are the only team they can beat? Whats the point in even playing the game if you think like that?
Imagine going into a dressing room full of players beaten as soon as the draw was made. At the very least he should have kept that negative opinion to himself as that negativity can infect other players.
Post by: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 04:55:10 PM
Chap was just being  realistic and probably fed to the back teeth of meeting our lads.
I think it's the other time in 11 seasons they've drawn Ros.
We obviously weren't too complacent on the 7 occasions to date ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on October 12, 2018, 05:05:52 PM
He would still have been annoyed, you'd imagine if it was Mayo or Galway. Division 1 teams. It isn't like there loads of teams in Connacht, so there was a good chance of being drawn with Roscommon. Even if Leitrim had got Sligo and had Roscommon in the following game what would he be saying.?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 12, 2018, 06:02:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 12, 2018, 05:05:52 PM
He would still have been annoyed, you'd imagine if it was Mayo or Galway. Division 1 teams. It isn't like there loads of teams in Connacht, so there was a good chance of being drawn with Roscommon. Even if Leitrim had got Sligo and had Roscommon in the following game what would he be saying.?

There's not many teams in Connacht, yet Mayo haven't played Leitrim since 2013ish. Before that was 06. Before that 97.
Post by: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 10:18:17 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 12, 2018, 01:51:12 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 01:08:23 PM

It's a bit late planning a wedding this late is it not?

Oh yeah it's done ages, more to do with whether the lads from the club can come and drink or not! Stag night a big consideration too!
Post by: dublin7 on October 13, 2018, 12:10:47 AM
You know the draw is f**ked when you hear keyboard warriors saying it could be worse. None of you will have to train all through the winter for a game in May.
Leitrim have lost 7 in a row to Roscommon but have beaten Sligo.  What exactly do you idiots think his reaction should be to Leitrim drawing Roscommon not Sligo???

Posters criticise the dubs for only filling fixtures in Leinster (which they are currently) when it has been dominated by Dublin and then have the cheek/balls to insult Emlyn Milligan for calling a spade a spade.
Post by: dec on October 13, 2018, 12:25:54 AM
Three good rivalry games in Ulster

Armagh/Down
Derry/Tyrone
Cavan/Monaghan
Post by: Syferus on October 13, 2018, 01:53:37 AM
Quote from: dec on October 13, 2018, 12:25:54 AM

Armagh/Down
Derry/Tyrone
Cavan/Monaghan

One of those is a D1 team against the AI finalists..
Post by: tonto1888 on October 13, 2018, 07:41:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 13, 2018, 01:53:37 AM
Quote from: dec on October 13, 2018, 12:25:54 AM

Armagh/Down
Derry/Tyrone
Cavan/Monaghan

One of those is a D1 team against the AI finalists..

Div4 you mean I assume. And sure by the time it comes around it could be div2 v div3
Post by: Itchy on October 13, 2018, 09:10:11 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on October 13, 2018, 12:10:47 AM
You know the draw is f**ked when you hear keyboard warriors saying it could be worse. None of you will have to train all through the winter for a game in May.
Leitrim have lost 7 in a row to Roscommon but have beaten Sligo.  What exactly do you idiots think his reaction should be to Leitrim drawing Roscommon not Sligo???

Posters criticise the dubs for only filling fixtures in Leinster (which they are currently) when it has been dominated by Dublin and then have the cheek/balls to insult Emlyn Milligan for calling a spade a spade.

I'll tell you what his reaction should be tough guy...

v Roscommon. That's a tough draw for us. We have to learn from the past and improve and aim to be very competitive against them and see where that brings us. First we have a league campaign and we need to try and get out of Div 4.

You clearly have no experience of a dressing room if you think talk like that has any place in it.
Post by: seafoid on October 13, 2018, 10:17:26 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 09:48:35 AM
And most likely in late June and July too ;D :P
We might be on the same boat too though

Syfín will love this . Pre Fine Gael though

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0926/998249-roscommon-irish-version-of-the-midnight-court-found/
Post by: Rossfan on October 13, 2018, 11:32:13 AM
Well he does support St Brigids ;D
Pity sound  recording wasn't invented 100 years earlier.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 09:11:34 AM
Connacht and Munster 2020 draws this morning

Connacht Draw almost the same as this summer. New Galway manager whoever he may be will be most pleased

Quarter finals

New York v Galway
London v Roscommon
Leitrim v Mayo

Semi finals

Roscommon/London v Mayo/Leitrim
Galway/New York v Sligo

Munster  (if the 2nd tier comp is brought in and Cork and Tipp don't reach the Munster final they go into that?)

Quarter finals

Waterford v Limerick
Clare v Tipperary

Semi finals

Kerry v Cork
Waterford/Limerick v Clare/Tipperary
Post by: MayoBuck on October 08, 2019, 09:20:25 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 09:11:34 AM

Connacht Draw almost the same as this summer. New Galway manager whoever he may be will be most pleased

Quarter finals

New York v Galway
London v Roscommon
Leitrim v Mayo

Semi finals

Galway/New York v Sligo

Munster  (if the 2nd tier comp is brought in and Cork and Tipp don't reach the Munster final they go into that?)

Quarter finals

Waterford v Limerick
Clare v Tipperary

Semi finals

Kerry v Cork

We're seriously unlucky with the Connacht draw recently. 2012 since we were on the opposite side to Galway and Roscommon.

I thought the Munster finalists were seeded on the opposite side of the draw?
Post by: Maroon Manc on October 08, 2019, 09:32:34 AM
Mayo certainly not having an luck with the draw, easier side of the draw didn't do Galway any favours last year.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 09:39:34 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on October 08, 2019, 09:20:25 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 09:11:34 AM

Quarter finals

New York v Galway
London v Roscommon
Leitrim v Mayo

Semi finals

Galway/New York v Sligo

Quarter finals

Waterford v Limerick
Clare v Tipperary

Semi finals

Kerry v Cork

We're seriously unlucky with the Connacht draw recently. 2012 since we were on the opposite side to Galway and Roscommon.

I thought the Munster finalists were seeded on the opposite side of the draw?

First Mayo meeting v Leitrim since 2012 also. A first trip to Carrick on Shannon since 2006?

Kerry and Cork seeds meant both got byes into the semi finals but they could draw each other as they did. 
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 08, 2019, 09:49:06 AM
Oh great, another trip to Salthill for a hiding  ::)
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 08, 2019, 10:28:06 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 08, 2019, 09:49:06 AM
Oh great, another trip to Salthill for a hiding  ::)

Unlike this summer Sligo should have a few league wins under their belt before facing Galway. I presume promotion back to division 3 will be Sligos main priority for next year.
Post by: Esmarelda on October 08, 2019, 10:33:34 AM
Why are the draws not all being done on the one day like every other year?
Post by: Rossfan on October 08, 2019, 10:53:10 AM
Probably because it was a boring tv programme?
Now that Cork are drawn against Kerry in the Semi we can expect Tier 2 to either fail to pass or be postponed till 2021 ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on October 08, 2019, 11:06:30 AM
They should be make the Draw after the National League.. It over looks the League by having teams taking about who they are playing, in another 7 or 8 months.

Post by: thejuice on October 08, 2019, 12:22:25 PM
(https://img.rasset.ie/0012d116-614.jpg?ratio=1)

I expect we'll be facing a Paul Galvin managed Wexford in the Qtr and if we're building on where we left off last year we should win that.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 12:30:20 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 08, 2019, 12:22:25 PM

I expect we'll be facing a Paul Galvin managed Wexford in the Qtr and if we're building on where we left off last year we should win that.

Jury is out on how Galvin will fare in county management. Wicklow meanwhile will have a recent All Ireland winning manager over them.
Post by: oliverkelly on October 08, 2019, 02:54:22 PM

3 hammerings?
Post by: macdanger2 on October 08, 2019, 10:05:45 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 08, 2019, 12:30:20 PM

Jury is out on how Galvin will fare in county management. Wicklow meanwhile will have a recent All Ireland winning manager over them.

I'd have massive doubts over Galvin making a good manager
Post by: tyroneman on October 09, 2019, 08:51:56 AM
Ulster

Pre-Lim
Monaghan v Cavan

Quarter-finals
Antrim v Monaghan/Cavan
Donegal v Tyrone
Derry v Armagh
Fermanagh v Down

Semi-finals
Donegal/Tyrone v Derry/Armagh
Antrim/Monaghan/Cavan v Fermanagh/Down
Post by: Dire Ear on October 09, 2019, 09:00:49 AM
Tough route for Tyrone, Donegal probably favoured, and then a hungry Arma  :P
Post by: Solo_run on October 09, 2019, 10:12:08 AM
Armagh not getting a home game yet again
Post by: J70 on October 09, 2019, 11:07:52 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on October 09, 2019, 08:51:56 AM
Ulster

Pre-Lim
Monaghan v Cavan

Quarter-finals
Antrim v Monaghan/Cavan
Donegal v Tyrone
Derry v Armagh
Fermanagh v Down

Semi-finals
Donegal/Tyrone v Derry/Armagh
Antrim/Monaghan/Cavan v Fermanagh/Down

FFS! ;D

Just for one year it would be nice to avoid youse bastards!
Post by: Schkite on October 09, 2019, 11:08:01 AM
Deja Vu from last year - Cavan in the first round, Tyrone and Donegal on the other side.

I wouldn't be as optimistic as I was this time last year, but being brought back to earth is no harm, and you'd still have to say it's not the worst draw you could have got.
Post by: clarshack on October 09, 2019, 11:49:57 AM
Provincial championships are dead so Tyrone probably better going out in first round against Donegal and then peaking later on.
Post by: Itchy on October 09, 2019, 01:19:17 PM
Are the Cavan and Monaghan balls stuck together every year or whats the story?
Post by: RedHand88 on October 09, 2019, 01:24:29 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 09, 2019, 01:19:17 PM
Are the Cavan and Monaghan balls stuck together every year or whats the story?

Well they wouldn't wash that often so...
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 09, 2019, 02:31:11 PM
Quote from: clarshack on October 09, 2019, 11:49:57 AM
Provincial championships are dead so Tyrone probably better going out in first round against Donegal and then peaking later on.
Tyrone's peak this year seemed to be their league wins v Galway and Dublin.
Post by: Pearse Blue on October 09, 2019, 04:35:37 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on October 09, 2019, 09:00:49 AM
Derry written off already? Bit early without seeing any football yet, especially with new manager the team will be hungrier i'd imagine
Post by: Dire Ear on October 09, 2019, 07:39:37 PM
Quote from: Pearse Blue on October 09, 2019, 04:35:37 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on October 09, 2019, 09:00:49 AM
Derry written off already? Bit early without seeing any football yet, especially with new manager the team will be hungrier i'd imagine
Absolutely I'd write them off, esp with Gallagher
Post by: JoG2 on October 23, 2019, 12:05:39 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 23, 2019, 11:41:33 AM
You would imagine this season will be make or break for a few intercounty managers. Each county have their own goals and im sure its along the lines of anything but an ulster final from Monaghan, Derry, Cavan and Donegal this year and a few managers will be given the road?

Monaghan - Banty (year 1)
Derry - Gallagher (year 1)
Cavan - Graham (year 2), Ulster finalists 2019
Donegal - Ulster winners 2018 / 2019

Post by: Main Street on October 27, 2019, 11:45:53 PM
Banty is destined for glory,  is assured of the continued committment of Vinny Corey and Dessie Mone  and is possibly looking towards reindroducing Tommy Freeman,  Rory Woods (weight considerations) and Paul Finlay.
Post by: greatpoint on October 30, 2019, 05:34:14 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 23, 2019, 11:41:33 AM
You would imagine this season will be make or break for a few intercounty managers. Each county have their own goals and im sure its along the lines of anything but an ulster final from Monaghan, Derry, Cavan and Donegal this year and a few managers will be given the road?

Tyrone would surely be under more pressure than any of the teams mentioned above? No success in Ulster nor the All-Ireland and looking to be moving further away rather than anything else. Donegal are reigning champions from 2019 & 2018 so it's hard to see what pressure they're under in terms of Ulster performances.
Post by: J70 on October 30, 2019, 06:00:59 PM
Yes, strange argument that Bonner would be under pressure.

Yes, we'd like to make it through the Super 8s, but we've had very tough groups and draws both years, and we've also got two Ulster titles that not too many would have predicted. And given we've Tyrone (again!) first thing next year, it would be a very unreasonable county board and public that would hang his assessment on making the Ulster Final.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 30, 2019, 06:34:57 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 30, 2019, 06:00:59 PM

Yes, we'd like to make it through the Super 8s, but we've had very tough groups and draws both years, and we've also got two Ulster titles that not too many would have predicted. And given we've Tyrone (again!) first thing next year, it would be a very unreasonable county board and public that would hang his assessment on making the Ulster Final.

Would you be surprised if Donegal don't reach the last 4 again next summer and decide to make Stephen Rochford manager in 2021?
Post by: giveballaghback on October 30, 2019, 06:55:45 PM

Donegal had the handy group this year but were lucky to beat Meath and were a complete flop against the worst Mayo team for 10 years. Played ok in a very loose marking game against Kerry but could not drive against Mayo.
Post by: greatpoint on October 31, 2019, 02:17:42 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on October 30, 2019, 06:55:45 PM

Donegal had the handy group this year but were lucky to beat Meath and were a complete flop against the worst Mayo team for 10 years. Played ok in a very loose marking game against Kerry but could not drive against Mayo.

The Dublin group was clearly the weaker of the two this year, Tyrone offered nothing against Dublin/Kerry/Donegal and still managed to get the results against Roscommon and Cork (doesn't reflect well on the quality of the group). Didn't Donegal beat Meath by 10 points?