GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: samuel maguire on May 31, 2023, 10:37:18 AM

Title: Tyrone vs Armagh - 3rd June 7pm - Healy Park, Omagh.
Post by: samuel maguire on May 31, 2023, 10:37:18 AM
I thought i would get the juices going my starting a new thread.

Predictions? I am going for a tight game with armagh to bounce back after 2 disappointing results to knick it by 2.
Title: Re: Tyrone vs Armagh - 3rd June 7pm - Healy Park, Omagh.
Post by: trailer on May 31, 2023, 12:31:39 PM
Based on what? Beating Antrim, Cavan and Westmeath?

No delusion like Armagh fans delusion.
Post by: yellowcard on May 31, 2023, 12:41:53 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 31, 2023, 12:31:39 PM

I'd say its probably more based on the fact that Tyrone have won one championship match in the last 2 seasons against Fermanagh while Armagh are unbeaten in 8 championship games. That said I think it will be very tight and I wouldn't like to call it. 
Post by: rrhf on May 31, 2023, 12:50:27 PM
With Armagh already qualified, I think the game is more important to Tyrone to win. Tyrone by 5.
Post by: trailer on May 31, 2023, 12:55:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 31, 2023, 12:41:53 PM

I'd say its probably more based on the fact that Tyrone have won one championship match in the last 2 seasons against Fermanagh while Armagh are unbeaten in 8 championship games. That said I think it will be very tight and I wouldn't like to call it.

If Tyrone only had to play Div 3 teams they'd win a fair few more games.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 31, 2023, 12:55:45 PM

Unbeaten in 8 championship matches. Ah jaysus 🙈
Post by: DhoireTheas on May 31, 2023, 01:46:28 PM
I usually would have supported Armagh in this game but after the Ulster final I am a neutral.
Post by: trailer on May 31, 2023, 01:47:56 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 31, 2023, 12:55:45 PM

Unbeaten in 8 championship matches. Ah jaysus 🙈

Crazy cats. Schools probably having a jersey day this Friday in Armagh.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 31, 2023, 02:12:42 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 31, 2023, 12:50:27 PM
With Armagh already qualified, I think the game is more important to Tyrone to win. Tyrone by 5.

Armagh havent already qualified
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 03:20:01 PM
Home advantage and two weeks to prepare/rest will allow Tyrone to edge this game.
Post by: rrhf on May 31, 2023, 03:51:50 PM
It will be a tough battle but I still think Tyrone by 5 as they need it that bit more. I expect to see a little more memory muscle in Tyrones performance ie  for winning big games.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 04:00:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 31, 2023, 03:51:50 PM
It will be a tough battle but I still think Tyrone by 5 as they need it that bit more. I expect to see a little more memory muscle in Tyrones performance ie  for winning big games.
I think Tyrone are better than both Ulster finalists
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:06:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 04:00:56 PM

Based on?
Post by: tyrone08 on May 31, 2023, 04:09:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:06:39 PM

Based on?

Based on?

4 all irelands and numerous ulster titles. Thought that would have been obvious to someone called Captain Obvious 🤣
Post by: statto on May 31, 2023, 04:14:59 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 31, 2023, 04:09:41 PM

Based on?

Based on?

4 all irelands and numerous ulster titles. Thought that would have been obvious to someone called Captain Obvious 🤣

Not sure too many in current Tyrone Panel have 4 AI medals.  Man City need not turn up to Wembley on Saturday either given your logic
Post by: Armagh18 on May 31, 2023, 04:21:42 PM
Home advantage probably has Tyrone slight favourites. Never going to be an easy game against those f**kers but never gonna be much in it either.  Should be a cracking game, conditions will be tough in that heat though.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:23:49 PM
[4 all irelands and numerous ulster titles. Thought that would have been obvious to someone called Captain Obvious 🤣

So you are basing it on nostalgia than Tyrones form the last two years. Still waiting on Seafoid answer.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 04:32:32 PM

Based on?
Derry without Gallagher are not up to last year's standards.
Armagh struggled against Westmeath and couldn't beat Derry.
Plus I think the format with the multi match run it to the qfs suits Tyrone.
Post by: Orior on May 31, 2023, 04:33:48 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on May 31, 2023, 10:37:18 AM

Predictions? I am going for a tight game with armagh to bounce back after 2 disappointing results to knick it by 2.

Emmm, I thought the mods wanted all Group 2 games to be in the Group 2 thread, lol.

Ah sure anyway, Tyrone by 5 ffs.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:42:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 04:32:32 PM

Based on?
It will suit teams that will top their group and how likely it that now to happen for Tyrone after losing to your own Galway?

Jury is out on Derry without Gallagher, beating the same division 1 opposition twice in a matter of weeks is never easy.  Armagh against Westmeath understandably had a Ulster final hangover after losing on penalties.

As I said already I feel Tyrone will edge this game with home and the schedule advantage.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 31, 2023, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:23:49 PM
[4 all irelands and numerous ulster titles. Thought that would have been obvious to someone called Captain Obvious 🤣

So you are basing it on nostalgia than Tyrones form the last two years. Still waiting on Seafoid answer.

It was a joke. Derry and armagh are probably ahead of the curve this past 2 years but it doesn't mean they are world beaters and no one would be suprised if tyrone beat either of them.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on May 31, 2023, 04:50:38 PM
Hard to call this one.  As I have mentioned before Tyrone appear to be very much a jekyll and hyde outfit.  Good on a good day, bad on a bad day.  I would put Armagh into this bracket as well, throughout the year showing some good, but mostly bad. 

Tyrone should have a sting in them after the Galway game, and Armaghs performance against Westmeath left a lot to be desired. 

Both have something to prove and there is a lot at stake in this game, so it should be a good one. 
Post by: tyrone08 on May 31, 2023, 04:50:44 PM
Quote from: statto on May 31, 2023, 04:14:59 PM

Based on?

Based on?

Not sure too many in current Tyrone Panel have 4 AI medals.  Man City need not turn up to Wembley on Saturday either given your logic

It was a joke. However you can rest assured the current tyrone players have at least 1 more All Ireland medal than both the current derry or armagh players combined.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 31, 2023, 05:05:45 PM
Hard to believe Tyrone have lost 4 championship games in a row in the last two season and after this weekend that could be 5, as they often don't play that well in Omagh when they're expected to win.

Most of the Tyrone team picks itself these days with only the half forward line being the only positions where they have struggled all year. A lot of us are probably disappointed to see so many half backs named in the HF line.
With McGeary, Sludden and M.O'Neill all struggling for form since 2021 and McShane's woes with injury, they seem to lacking in that area. Oguz hasn't really shined as yet and is still very young but someone new will have to come in for Burns. Could it be Ruairi Canavan perhaps?

Was thinking Armagh are a bit like the Dubs in that they seem to thrive on getting energy from scoring goals and often do so against Tyrone and so it will be interesting to see will they kick in more high ball to the full back line as Tyrone are unlikely to have 15 men behind the ball like Derry do. Hampsey will need to keep his head if he's marking Rian O'Neill who looked like a man possessed v Derry.

Tyrone bench is weak enough in my eyes with only Ruairi Canavan as the only exciting forward to bring in, with a lot of new U20 lads or Sludden. Would like to see Petey Harte get back to his old self and kick a few more scores.

Many of us were hoping the Galway game would be the real start of Tyrone's campaign this year with a big performance against one of the All-Ireland favourites. However, with very wet conditions combined with the early red and black cards, it turned the game into a damage limitation match for Tyrone and so it was hard to judge where we are really at.
Dooher and Logan will know this weekend really needs to go well for them or they will most likely come third/fourth in the table and another short season for Tyrone looms.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 05:47:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 31, 2023, 04:33:48 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on May 31, 2023, 10:37:18 AM

Emmm, I thought the mods wanted all Group 2 games to be in the Group 2 thread, lol.

Ah sure anyway, Tyrone by 5 ffs.
Mod 5 told me exclusively that threads for high emotion ties such as Armagh v Tyrne could be generated separately.
Post by: illdecide on May 31, 2023, 07:17:26 PM
IMO had Tyrone kept 15 men on the field they would have beaten Galway...that defeat does put some added pressure onto Tyrone but unfortunately I can't see us beating them. We are too busy setting up our team to nullify the opposition instead of going for it and let the opposition worry about us🤷‍♂️. It probably will be a tight game as Armagh will play that defensive crap 🤦‍♂️ again which Tyrone will struggle to score but ultimately they'll get enough to beat us anyway but because it'll be a close defeat it won't look so bad. If only Armagh could just take the shackles off and go for it and if we lose we lose but at least we gave it a go.
So we'll lose on Saturday, Galway will beat us in two weeks time and we'll scrape thru and get a tough away game to Kerry for one last go and probably lose in Kerry by 1-2 points but put in a great effort 😂😂😂. Does that sound like an Armagh championship season🤷‍♂️.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 31, 2023, 08:31:58 PM
Although it's a group game I think this could be a season defining game for Tyrone. It's hard to see us recovering from a fifth championship loss in a row to mount any kind of serious challenge. It would be a very poor reflection in all involved given our standing if we did.

A win on the other hand could get a bit of momentum going and there's probably no one out there unbeatable at minute if they did get act together. Hoping to see a better shape to the half forward line and maybe this is the night to let ruairi canavan in from the start at full forward. Could bring Darragh out deeper if he is fit.
Post by: Orior on May 31, 2023, 08:32:36 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 31, 2023, 07:17:26 PM
IMO had Tyrone kept 15 men on the field they would have beaten Galway...that defeat does put some added pressure onto Tyrone but unfortunately I can't see us beating them. We are too busy setting up our team to nullify the opposition instead of going for it and let the opposition worry about us🤷‍♂️. It probably will be a tight game as Armagh will play that defensive crap 🤦‍♂️ again which Tyrone will struggle to score but ultimately they'll get enough to beat us anyway but because it'll be a close defeat it won't look so bad. If only Armagh could just take the shackles off and go for it and if we lose we lose but at least we gave it a go.
So we'll lose on Saturday, Galway will beat us in two weeks time and we'll scrape thru and get a tough away game to Kerry for one last go and probably lose in Kerry by 1-2 points but put in a great effort 😂😂😂. Does that sound like an Armagh championship season🤷‍♂️.

Quit your jibba jabbing fool, lol
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 08:52:08 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 31, 2023, 04:42:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 31, 2023, 04:32:32 PM

Based on?
It will suit teams that will top their group and how likely it that now to happen for Tyrone after losing to your own Galway?

Jury is out on Derry without Gallagher, beating the same division 1 opposition twice in a matter of weeks is never easy.  Armagh against Westmeath understandably had a Ulster final hangover after losing on penalties.

As I said already I feel Tyrone will edge this game with home and the schedule advantage.
Ulster final hangover sounds like an excuse. Sligo didn't claim a Connacht final hangover. I don't think the Ulster finalists are great this year.
Post by: illdecide on May 31, 2023, 09:04:46 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 31, 2023, 08:32:36 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 31, 2023, 07:17:26 PM

Quit your jibba jabbing fool, lol

How long have u been waiting to say that😂. You're probably right though, just fed up watching defensive football 🤷‍♂️
Post by: balladmaker on May 31, 2023, 10:36:26 PM
In some ways, this game is a free roll of the dice for Armagh, so I'd expect them to give it a rattle.  I'd be concerned that the exertions of getting past Westmeath, and just a 7 day turnaround, could come back to haunt us against a rested Tyrone outfit who don't want to be looking for their first win in the last game of the group.  I expect it to be tight and come down to the last few minutes of the game, well I hope that's the case and Tyrone ain't out of sight before then.  Should be a bumper crowd in Healy Park on a sunny Saturday evening.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2023, 10:45:37 PM
If Armagh try to play the defensive format they be beat, beat trying to stretch the game with the good Forwards they have.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 01, 2023, 08:08:08 AM
If Tyrone don't win we're officially in crisis.
Post by: seafoid on June 01, 2023, 08:51:35 AM
Armagh will have a Westmeath hangover on top of the Ulster Final hangover. Both conditions are untreatable.
Post by: maddog on June 01, 2023, 10:30:15 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 01, 2023, 08:51:35 AM
Armagh will have a Westmeath hangover on top of the Ulster Final hangover. Both conditions are untreatable.

Na, we might go for the cure
Post by: naka on June 01, 2023, 11:04:38 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 01, 2023, 08:51:35 AM
a rattle at Tyrone just the cure.
dont know why i think this  but  if we play an attacking team and murnin stays fit armagh will win
Post by: bennydorano on June 01, 2023, 11:23:41 AM
Trouble with Armagh is everyone can see our attacking potential and are wondering why it's not being unleashed, there's a real danger our season ends prematurely playing this brand of shite and we'll be left wondering what was the bloody point of this whole year???
Post by: tbrick18 on June 01, 2023, 11:27:00 AM
On paper this should be a very close game, in reality I'm not so sure.

Armagh could have won the ulster final against a below par Derry team on the day, but ill discipline and too many main players losing their nerve come penalties cost them. Then they just squeeze past Westmeath. It feels like the confidence is low and I don't think they have the scoring threat they think they have.

Tyrone on the otherhand, have had a poor start to the year but showed against Galway that they have improved during the break. They will take confidence from the manner of defeat when down to 14 men (and indeed 13 for a while).  I saw them against Kerry and they really were excellent that day. So they have show how capable they are against the top teams.

As much as I like to see Tyrone get beat, I think they'll win this one reasonably well.

Post by: lenny on June 01, 2023, 11:44:24 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 01, 2023, 11:27:00 AM

Armagh could have won the ulster final against a below par Derry team on the day, but ill discipline and too many main players losing their nerve come penalties cost them. Then they just squeeze past Westmeath. It feels like the confidence is low and I don't think they have the scoring threat they think they have.

Tyrone on the otherhand, have had a poor start to the year but showed against Galway that they have improved during the break. They will take confidence from the manner of defeat when down to 14 men (and indeed 13 for a while).  I saw them against Kerry and they really were excellent that day. So they have show how capable they are against the top teams.

As much as I like to see Tyrone get beat, I think they'll win this one reasonably well.

The only provincial winner to win their first group game was Galway. Tyrone missed a big opportunity in that game as Galway were there for the taking and tyrone had weeks to prepare.
Post by: seafoid on June 01, 2023, 12:06:59 PM
Tyrone were good in the first half versus Monaghan and the second half versus Galway. If they can put 2 halves together they could be hard to beat.
Post by: rrhf on June 01, 2023, 04:01:27 PM
The only way I can see Armagh winning this is if David Gough from Meath is refereeing.
Post by: screenexile on June 01, 2023, 04:06:18 PM
How many Tyrone lads have left the panel in the past few weeks??
Post by: God14 on June 01, 2023, 04:17:03 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 01, 2023, 04:06:18 PM

Post by: Blowitupref on June 01, 2023, 05:39:45 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 01, 2023, 11:44:24 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 01, 2023, 11:27:00 AM

The only provincial winner to win their first group game was Galway. Tyrone missed a big opportunity in that game as Galway were there for the taking and tyrone had weeks to prepare.

Have seen the majority of Galways matches this year that game played out similar to others they won this year. Yes opposition can look back on what if moments but Galway have got into a habit of winning ugly and their game management is much improved even on last year.
Post by: Louther on June 01, 2023, 06:12:41 PM
I'm probably banging on but the crying over Ulster final tickets and the demand it be moved to Croke Park was annoying.

Tickets widely available online for this, including seated stand tickets now. Big game against Ulster rivals, one of them at home, short commute for others. And not close to a sell out.

I'd assumed Armagh would fill this on their own. It's not even giving rain this weekend.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 01, 2023, 06:20:29 PM
Quote from: Louther on June 01, 2023, 06:12:41 PM
I'm probably banging on but the crying over Ulster final tickets and the demand it be moved to Croke Park was annoying.

Tickets widely available online for this, including seated stand tickets now. Big game against Ulster rivals, one of them at home, short commute for others. And not close to a sell out.

I'd assumed Armagh would fill this on their own. It's not even giving rain this weekend.

I think that says more about the format and the associated cost than it does about the appetite of people wanting to attend.
Post by: naka on June 01, 2023, 07:24:32 PM
€225 in four weeks just for tickets for myself the Mrs and my son is a fair whack with summer coming
It's a fking joke how condensed this season is!!!
It's also on Tv
Something has to be done as this is unsustainable financially for supporters .
From April to mid June tickets to watch Armagh in pool games will have cost me  close to €540 in nine weeks
Without anything else
Post by: bennydorano on June 01, 2023, 07:38:35 PM
Why anybody is replying to bellends about justifying support I'll never know.
Post by: Orior on June 01, 2023, 08:08:28 PM
Quote from: God14 on June 01, 2023, 04:17:03 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 01, 2023, 04:06:18 PM

In golfing parlance, that's "Fore left!!!"
Post by: Louther on June 01, 2023, 09:08:09 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 01, 2023, 07:38:35 PM

Or justifying lack of support.

Was weeks of the best supporters in Ireland and only for us etc etc. just hit air. GAA supporters love a bandwagon. That's what brings them out. Every county the same. It's the hot air and entitlement with excuses that is laughable. Just say you aren't arsed going FFS.
Post by: Armagh18 on June 01, 2023, 09:19:16 PM
Quote from: Louther on June 01, 2023, 09:08:09 PM

Was weeks of the best supporters in Ireland and only for us etc etc. just hit air. GAA supporters love a bandwagon. That's what brings them out. Every county the same. It's the hot air and entitlement with excuses that is laughable. Just say you aren't arsed going FFS.
Ur very worried for a man from a county without a ground.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 01, 2023, 09:20:14 PM
Quote from: naka on June 01, 2023, 07:24:32 PM
€225 in four weeks just for tickets for myself the Mrs and my son is a fair whack with summer coming
It's a fking joke how condensed this season is!!!
It's also on Tv
Something has to be done as this is unsustainable financially for supporters .
From April to mid June tickets to watch Armagh in pool games will have cost me  close to €540 in nine weeks
Without anything else

Way over £1000 following Armag already this year and its only the first day of June.
This group stage farce just leaves me cold.
1 win and we are as near as can be certain to progress to straight knockout football.
Would be nice to win the group but ultimately not that important.
Think 7.00 on a Saturday evening also has a part to play in apathy from fans.
Post by: Louther on June 01, 2023, 09:38:02 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 01, 2023, 09:19:16 PM
Quote from: Louther on June 01, 2023, 09:08:09 PM

Ur very worried for a man from a county without a ground.

We have (and have had for year) a very good centre of excellence for our county teams. Where is Armaghs? The sod is turned on our county ground. It's all good 👍
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 01, 2023, 09:55:41 PM
Can we stop the petty point scoring over attendances and get back to football chat thanks.

I think Tyrone should win as there are weaknesses on Armagh that can be exploited as seen in the westmeath game. That is barring a discipline nightmare or second half implosion like the last two tyrone games. Will we see Jekyll or Hyde from the least consistent team in Ireland?
Post by: Louther on June 01, 2023, 10:08:35 PM
Tyrone by 2. Rest and prep will stand to them and the sending off and black card V Galway spoiled that game.
Post by: Jerome on June 01, 2023, 10:34:34 PM
No teams named yet?
Post by: Armagh18 on June 01, 2023, 10:40:48 PM
Quote from: Jerome on June 01, 2023, 10:34:34 PM
No teams named yet?
Armaghs is on social media. 2 changed from last week, Turbitt in for Nugent and Cumiskey in for the injured Morgan.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 01, 2023, 10:47:19 PM
Have the Tyrone fans lost a lot of their enthusiasm of previous years or are we now only interested after quarter finals?
We could be out numbered on Sat night.
Post by: NotedObserver on June 01, 2023, 10:50:46 PM
Would like to see sludden back in for Michael Oneill with the other half forward up for grabs. Could see a wildcard being put in instead of mcgeary
Post by: bennydorano on June 01, 2023, 10:52:51 PM
I honestly think the 2 FA/SFA Cup finals on Saturday will be a huge factor in a middling attendance. Makings of a great pub / BBQ day with the ☀️☀️☀️ forecast as well.
Post by: Jerome on June 02, 2023, 06:04:13 AM
Quote from: NotedObserver on June 01, 2023, 10:50:46 PM
Would like to see sludden back in for Michael Oneill with the other half forward up for grabs. Could see a wildcard being put in instead of mcgeary

Any chance of
10. Meyler
11. Donnelly
12. McShane
13. McCurry
14. Canavan
15. McGleenan

Post by: trailer on June 02, 2023, 08:57:46 AM
Quote from: Jerome on June 02, 2023, 06:04:13 AM
Quote from: NotedObserver on June 01, 2023, 10:50:46 PM

Any chance of
10. Meyler
11. Donnelly
12. McShane
13. McCurry
14. Canavan
15. McGleenan

No chance
Post by: trailer on June 02, 2023, 10:32:28 AM
The starting Tyrone team to take out Armagh tomorrow.

(https://scontent-lhr8-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/350652580_1015911673117107_341132785825457894_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=e1lMuayYPawAX9MK5yy&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr8-1.xx&oh=00_AfDSlNpblyXsfgyeXjOT6P0FsJ3nDoFfZLCzt162Uo6jrQ&oe=647E7E38)
Post by: trailer on June 02, 2023, 10:46:29 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 01, 2023, 10:52:51 PM
I honestly think the 2 FA/SFA Cup finals on Saturday will be a huge factor in a middling attendance. Makings of a great pub / BBQ day with the ☀️☀️☀️ forecast as well.

Armagh Fans "Move the Ulster Final to Croke Park"
Also Armagh Fans "Great weather, get the buckie and put the FA Cup on the TV"

A Soccer county with a small bit of GAA here and there.
Post by: Tubberman on June 02, 2023, 10:47:46 AM

Jaysis, would an FA cup match seriously have an impact!? Unthinkable in Mayo.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 02, 2023, 11:00:37 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 02, 2023, 10:47:46 AM

I could barely find the AI hurling final replay on in a bar in Westport (clare cork) because Man united were playing.
Post by: Tubberman on June 02, 2023, 11:02:31 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 02, 2023, 11:00:37 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 02, 2023, 10:47:46 AM

I could barely find the AI hurling final replay on in a bar in Westport (clare cork) because Man united were playing.

I don't think Mayo were playing in that?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 02, 2023, 11:44:18 AM
Post by: bennydorano on June 02, 2023, 11:56:24 AM
I wasn't referring to Armagh supporters specifically, there's more deluded Man United fans in Tyrone than in Armagh. Then again, they'll probably be looking to forget about the FA Cup final ASAP, so there could be a huge crowd  :P
Post by: Fuzzman on June 02, 2023, 04:43:00 PM
It will be interesting to see what way Tyrone actually line out with the team named.
Wonder will Mattie play CHB or maybe as a rotating sweeper.
Tyrone tend to change formation so much during a match it's hard to know who's playing where.
I feel they have moved away from the very defensive blanket system they used to play when trying to compete v Donegal.
They definitely kick the ball forward a lot more these days which leads to better to watch matches like v Monaghan but of course leads us to more turnovers and conceding more scores.

I can actually seeing this as being quite an open game but will Armagh want to play like that too?
Post by: naka on June 02, 2023, 10:45:20 PM
Definitely a low key match !!!
Remember 2003/5etc
We were flat out abusing each other
Times have changed
Although more importantly Armagh to win by at least 3
Post by: Whishtup on June 03, 2023, 12:37:59 AM
Tyrone need a big performance here. Should be winning this outside the cauldron of the athletic grounds.
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2023, 01:10:34 PM
I fancy Tyrone for this one, just a fancy -  based on a hunch.

I suppose the chances are good that there'll be the occasional bit of argy bargy breaking out? 
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 01:36:43 PM
Yeah I share that hunch and strong chance of argy Barry with the rivalry and both teams not being in their happiest place at the minute.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2023, 02:21:37 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0602/1387224-devenney-tyrones-desperation-gives-them-an-edge/
Brendan Devenney believes that Tyrone's mixture of "desperation" and attacking firepower gives them the edge at home to Armagh in their All-Ireland group stage clash in Healy Park this evening (Live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player).
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 06:58:47 PM
How shit are RTE....
Ben Crealy from "Maghera"

Armagh unlucky lose to MONAGHAN on penalties..

FFS
Post by: Eire90 on June 03, 2023, 07:01:02 PM
great save
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 03, 2023, 07:08:09 PM
That looked a point
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:12:41 PM
G how silly are Armagh to concede the kickout, it just let's Tyrone up the field easy and they got the forwards to pick off scores
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:19:32 PM
G the Kerry accent can be hard to listen to.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2023, 07:20:28 PM
What's with all the filled in holes on the Healy Park pitch, are they growing potatoes?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:22:01 PM
I seen now in this game and the Ulster final where a defender pulls the ball out of the forwards hands, is that suddenly not a foul anymore, both were so obvious.
Post by: Chimley on June 03, 2023, 07:22:48 PM
Tyrone seem to be playing very like Mayo. Man to man at the back (and very open) but great running from deep and working the ball well to the shooters.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 07:23:36 PM
Dazzler is in some form.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:23:44 PM
Armagh a mile of it the night again, sorta worried what WAY Derry be the mor, going further in Ulster seems to have been a hiderence.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 07:24:34 PM
Mcgeeney is some spoofer.

Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 07:24:51 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:22:01 PM
I seen now in this game and the Ulster final where a defender pulls the ball out of the forwards hands, is that suddenly not a foul anymore, both were so obvious.

I think he got lucky because there was bodies blocking the ref's view some bit.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:25:38 PM
Even in the summer, that pitch looks in poor shape
Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 07:27:14 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:25:38 PM
Even in the summer, that pitch looks in poor shape

Yeah even compared to standard club pitches it looks in a poor state for this time of year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:28:52 PM
Let me know when Armagh turn up, they seem as if they can't run. Hard judge Tyrone, Armagh for another week is not at the met.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 07:29:15 PM
One on one with Rafferty and Harte hits the post.  Unforgivable.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 07:29:26 PM
Not much fight in Armagh at present. Very disappointing.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 07:30:54 PM
Macho man oneill embarrassing his county once again.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:31:19 PM
ONeill is an idiot
Post by: lenny on June 03, 2023, 07:33:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 07:29:26 PM
Not much fight in Armagh at present. Very disappointing.

O'neill deservedly sent off. He's a liability, should've been sent off v Derry. Brilliant footballer if he concentrated on that.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 03, 2023, 07:33:14 PM
Trampish.
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 07:33:23 PM
Jarly Og lucky enough there to only see yellow.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:33:27 PM
That lad got a discipline issue, no need for that stupidity and shithousery. He spends too much time in aggro with players,it was the same in the Ulster final where I thought he was lucky not pick up 2 yellow. Armagh starting to lose the rag. The manager the problem not addressing them macho issues.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2023, 07:34:17 PM
Sending off ends this game as a contest. A matter of the margin of victory for Tyrone now.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 07:34:41 PM
McGeeneyball.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 07:35:03 PM
Another mcgeeney wonder stroke, making oneill captain.

Every single club player in armagh know he's a tr**p and acts the big man on the pitch.
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 07:35:10 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:31:19 PM
ONeill is an idiot

That carryon is beyond stupid. Wonder what kind of infraction will deemed as? Miss the last group and a potential q/f Qualifier. Huge bearing on how the rest of Armagh's season pans out
Post by: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 07:35:28 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 07:33:23 PM
Jarly Og lucky enough there to only see yellow.

Nah, never anything more than a yellow
Post by: Louther on June 03, 2023, 07:35:44 PM
Rian O'Neill must have the offer from the states and looking to get the early flight.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:36:19 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 07:35:03 PM
Another mcgeeney wonder stroke, making oneill captain.

Every single club player in armagh know he's a tr**p and acts the big man on the pitch.

If only he punched people in the mouth and ran away eh?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2023, 07:37:00 PM
Finally. At last. An official sends o Neill off for something he's been getting away with for years. Petulant and irresponsible when his team needs him most. Typical.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:37:11 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:33:27 PM
That lad got a discipline issue, no need for that stupidity and shithousery. He spends too much time in aggro with players,it was the same in the Ulster final where I thought he was lucky not pick up 2 yellow. Armagh starting to lose the rag. The manager the problem not addressing them macho issues.

Hard to disagree with that
Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 07:38:41 PM
Given how poor Armagh have been and how much of the ball and game they have had Tyrone will surely be disappointed to be only up by four.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 07:39:42 PM
Half time Tyrone 0-8 Armagh 0-4.   Really foolish by Rian O'Neil, hard to see any where back for Armagh in this game now.
Post by: bennydorano on June 03, 2023, 07:41:49 PM
I see we have ended up adopting my plan not ro try a leg and just wait for the preliminary QF, smart.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:41:55 PM
What was ONeill sent of for?

O'Shea on commentary can't work it out.

Everything we do is done at snails pace
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:42:53 PM
The right manager would sort out O'Neill, great footballer but one of the great liabilities on a football field. McGeeney endorsement of never backing down, one in all in, an over physical approach, the reason this Armagh Team will win nothing.
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 03, 2023, 07:42:55 PM
Oshea looking up the rule book to see what subcategory infraction the foul falls under. Lol he dropped his knees on a man's face
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:43:16 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:41:55 PM

Put his knee on one of their players heads. Couldn't see who.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 07:43:27 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:41:55 PM

Pressing down on lads neck/head with his knee. It's a red.

A tr**p act which suits him well it seems.
Post by: An Watcher on June 03, 2023, 07:43:48 PM
Endangering an opponent is what he was sent off for
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:48:24 PM
You can't put u full weight down on a lads neck/ head, that shit a red in Rugby which is the most physical of games.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:49:47 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on June 03, 2023, 07:42:55 PM
Oshea looking up the rule book to see what subcategory infraction the foul falls under. Lol he dropped his knees on a man's face

No drop from what I saw.
If they show a drop fine but I've yet to see it..
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:50:23 PM
Drop or no. A deserved red card
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 07:51:01 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:49:47 PM

No drop from what I saw.

He was caught, dropping his full weight through his knee.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:51:44 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 07:48:24 PM
You can't put u full weight down on a lads neck/ head, that shit a red in Rugby which is the most physical of games.
As his other foot is firmly on the ground it won't be his full weight.
Was the Tyrone guy not dragging at him?
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 03, 2023, 07:52:15 PM
No drop... so he lifted his knee there?
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 07:52:35 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on June 03, 2023, 07:43:48 PM
Endangering an opponent is what he was sent off for

Cat 3, minimum 1 game suspension
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:53:34 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on June 03, 2023, 07:52:15 PM
No drop... so he lifted his knee there?

Seen many times now.
No drop.

No suggestion of it.
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 07:53:50 PM
I disagree on the red card there. Well won by the Tyrone man.  Clever play.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 07:55:06 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 07:53:50 PM

Yeah what is the game coming to when a lad is sent off for kneeling on top of an opponent's head.
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 03, 2023, 07:55:08 PM
OK the tyrone man raised his head to headbutt oneills knee. Typical tyrone tramps
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 03, 2023, 07:55:15 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:50:23 PM
Drop or no. A deserved red card
Exactly, it's absolutely a red. He knew what he was at and it's extremely dangerous
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:55:50 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 07:51:01 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 07:49:47 PM

No drop from what I saw.

He was caught, dropping his full weight through his knee.

Definitely wasnt
Post by: rory on June 03, 2023, 07:56:25 PM
Darragh Canavan forearm smash to the head after he lost the ball was a lot more dangerous than what o'neill did. If one is a red, the other should be
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 03, 2023, 07:56:32 PM
Jarly Og led with the elbow on Meyler two mins after the red card. Was lucky it wasn't a red too. 
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 07:56:37 PM

Come on mate. It was a red. Sooner this season is over the better
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 07:57:58 PM
There was no knee drop and no real movement towards the player under him who had O'Neill by both the collar and the leg
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 07:59:18 PM
Dirty stroke by Rian tbh, no need to get involved in that, and you run the risk of a red card when you do.

Would that be him out of the probable preliminary game after the groups? Big blow if so
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 07:59:27 PM
Mackin should have been sent off
Post by: tyrone08 on June 03, 2023, 07:59:32 PM
How the feck is that not a straight red
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 08:03:25 PM

May well be the most ridiculous post in the forums history, wish there was a clapping emoji!  :o
Post by: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 08:05:49 PM
Jesus, the shite ye argue about - oneill dropped the knee, knackery and a straight red. None of the others were near a red
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 08:06:17 PM
Exactly.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 08:06:26 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 08:05:49 PM
Jesus, the shite ye argue about - oneill dropped the knee, knackery and a straight red. None of the others were near a red

Didn't drop it tho. Clear red all the same
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:08:30 PM
Tyrone have started the 2nd half like the Monaghan game. Never learn.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:09:56 PM
Honestly can't get over defending Rian O Neill. Wtf is wrong with people. Are yous that tribal?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 03, 2023, 08:10:48 PM
Ridiculous decision from the ref there, that should have been a free out.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 08:11:13 PM
Watching with someone who has no interest.
She cannot believhow poor officials are.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 08:11:56 PM
15 minutes into this 2nd half, the match has slowed down to walking pace,  Tyrone 0-9 Armagh 0-5
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:12:39 PM
Get Ruairi Canavan on.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:13:28 PM
This is hard to watch.
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:14:07 PM
Armagh should have got themselves back into this already.
Post by: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 08:14:37 PM
Fuckin hell, Ulster football is dead again
Post by: red hander on June 03, 2023, 08:15:40 PM
14 men. f**king go for it. This is crap
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 08:16:36 PM
No belief in Armagh at all. At present just a case of Tyrone playing time out as Armagh not going at them.
Post by: SCFC on June 03, 2023, 08:16:48 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 08:14:37 PM
I'd hold no great candle for either of these teams but I still think they're both potential semi-final teams. Hard game to watch though.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 03, 2023, 08:17:41 PM
We are pure muck.
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:18:38 PM
This is putrid stuff, Tyrone are fortunate Armagh are a man down and it's Rian O'Neill that was the man to go off. Armagh's shooting has been woeful.

Tyrone should be grand now with the gap they've opened up, but it's not an inspiring performance
Post by: Louther on June 03, 2023, 08:19:16 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 08:11:13 PM
Watching with someone who has no interest.
She cannot believhow poor officials are.

Reassure her that the officials are far from the worst thing on display here.

This is putrid. And I've watched Louth enough to know what putrid is.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 08:21:38 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:18:38 PM
This is putrid stuff, Tyrone are fortunate Armagh are a man down and it's Rian O'Neill that was the man to go off. Armagh's shooting has been woeful.

Tyrone should be grand now with the gap they've opened up, but it's not an inspiring performance

With more games to come this is game management by Tyrone.  The sending off ruined the contest
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 08:23:12 PM
If Armagh had a bit of belief in themselves they could be right in this game.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:23:30 PM
Are Armagh people happy with this style of play?
Post by: red hander on June 03, 2023, 08:23:38 PM
Turbitt couldn't score in a whorehouse.
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:24:19 PM
Quote from: SCFC on June 03, 2023, 08:16:48 PM
I'd hold no great candle for either of these teams but I still think they're both potential semi-final teams. Hard game to watch though.

I'm really curious what you've seen from either side to have that sort of faith. This is very mediocre fare
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:24:40 PM
Tyrone are going to blow this.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 08:25:03 PM
Finally a bit of intensity by Armagh and Tyrone are making errors.  63 mins  Tyrone 0-11 Armagh 0-8
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 08:25:17 PM
As bad as we have been, we could be winning this
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 08:25:38 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:23:30 PM
Are Armagh people happy with this style of play?

Not in the slightest
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 03, 2023, 08:25:45 PM
Conaty and Cian McConville on, let them go at it.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 03, 2023, 08:26:33 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:24:19 PM
Quote from: SCFC on June 03, 2023, 08:16:48 PM

I'm really curious what you've seen from either side to have that sort of faith. This is very mediocre fare

Yeah - I'd give Tyrone 3.5/10 with Armagh 2.5/10 for today's performances.
Post by: red hander on June 03, 2023, 08:26:38 PM
Tyrone need to wise up here
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:27:44 PM
Huge score by canavan.
Post by: Nanderson on June 03, 2023, 08:30:50 PM
Murnin with the phantom head injury
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 03, 2023, 08:31:03 PM
That should have been a black card.
Post by: tyrone08 on June 03, 2023, 08:31:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 03, 2023, 08:05:49 PM

Frank burns got a straight red for a frontal challenge. Armagh player got a yellow for the same hit. Straight red.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 08:32:10 PM
7 minutes of added time to play. Tyrone 0-12 Armagh 0-9
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 08:36:58 PM
If I had a pound for every time Marty  has said "that's a soft free for Tyrone " I could retire.
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:39:06 PM
Holy jaysus Morgan what were you doing there
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 08:39:14 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 03, 2023, 08:36:58 PM
If I had a pound for every time Marty  has said "that's a soft free for Tyrone " I could retire.
FFS, build a bridge. There's been poor calls both ways. The yapping on here bout red cards, black cards etc is a joke. There was one red card tackle. Ref got it right.
Post by: red hander on June 03, 2023, 08:40:00 PM

You're some man who could retire on a pound
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 08:40:13 PM
FT Tyrone 0-13 Armagh 0-11 not a game that will long in the memory bank.
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:40:18 PM
What a bizarre decision to take a point there
Post by: Kidder81 on June 03, 2023, 08:40:33 PM
Brutal fare
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:40:50 PM
Bad aul game
Post by: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 08:40:57 PM
Jesus have you seen worse than Tyrone in that second half??
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2023, 08:41:10 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:40:18 PM

Summed it up tbh. Absolutely no belief in Armagh that they'd win that game.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 08:41:29 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 08:40:18 PM

Can't understand it
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:41:39 PM
Another embarrassing 2nd half from Tyrone. Armagh should be kicking themselves.
Post by: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:43:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 08:40:57 PM

Shocking
Post by: From the Bunker on June 03, 2023, 08:43:25 PM
O'Se on co-commentary was a dose. Why can't someone other than a Kerry man be assigned to these games?
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 08:44:17 PM
Poor game. Neither team be happy or putting fear into any teams. Expect both to be put out of their misery when we finally get to knockout games. Can't see either team putting it up to Mayo, Dublin, Kerry. Both mediocre teams. Canavan was excellent imo. He's showing some signs of his heritage there with a few jinking runs. Will only get better.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on June 03, 2023, 08:44:26 PM
Two interesting preliminary quarterfinal prospects...Tyrone host Cork and Armagh have the chance to turn it around v Kerry in Killarney.

Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 08:44:43 PM
Imagine what the likes of ORourke, McGuinness etc could do this this armagh team.

One of ireland most expensive wage bill with 3 donkeys standing on sideline.

Been p1ss poor all year and beat 3x Div3 teams.

Pack those gym bags Geezeer.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 08:45:26 PM
Neither team will get by the quarterfinal, I say finishing 3rd Armagh not even get that far. Got be worrying how bad Tyrone have become, they are very poor, 2 great corner forwards but the rest is a shambles. Both teams need new management nxt year.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2023, 08:46:06 PM
Armagh would have got at least a draw out of that game had they 15 men for the full 70 minutes.  A rested Tyrone don't have to much to boast about winning by 2 points at home with the man advantage from the 29th minute.
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 08:47:29 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 08:03:25 PM

May well be the most ridiculous post in the forums history, wish there was a clapping emoji!  :o

Ok. Then I look forward to the video of him. "Dropping the knees' that should be easy found. Obviously the video will show what the Tyrone player is doing at the time
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2023, 08:48:12 PM
At least geezer was in the size 12-14 jersey!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 08:48:32 PM
Here, they were in the same boat against Galway, teams going the farthest will have to keep their disciplince on check.
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 08:49:27 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 08:39:14 PM
FFS, build a bridge. There's been poor calls both ways. The yapping on here bout red cards, black cards etc is a joke. There was one red card tackle. Ref got it right.

I'd agree.

Few observations
* McCurry and Meyler rarely put in anything less than a very good performance

* 90% of the time (conservative estimate) a ref blows for a foul on Mattie Donnelly, its not actually a foul

* Armagh revel in shootouts, they need to go all out, don't have the capacity to setup defensively with this bunch / manager

* That Sally's sign would wreck your head
Post by: red hander on June 03, 2023, 08:50:26 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 03, 2023, 08:43:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 08:40:57 PM

Shocking

It was atrocious, and very risky. Armagh shouldn't have been in game 15 minutes in.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 08:51:16 PM
How McGeeney been with Armagh for 9yrs is the biggest question.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 08:53:21 PM
Ulster dogfight, a win's a win, feck it anyway!
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 08:54:18 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 08:47:29 PM

Ok. Then I look forward to the video of him. "Dropping the knees' that should be easy found. Obviously the video will show what the Tyrone player is doing at the time

You're saying it's not a red card, that's beyond ridiculous. You could ask 1000 folk and 999 would rightly say its a red. 
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:58:25 PM
Having 3 teams out of 4 progress renders games like this utterly pointless.
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2023, 09:01:55 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 08:53:21 PM
Far from it,
more of a 6 county simulation fest than an ulster dogfight.

Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 09:02:55 PM
But another 4 will be out the following week after Rd3
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 09:03:31 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:58:25 PM

Still matters to an extent though. Tyrone winning this likely means they'll finish 2nd - could be the difference between facing Cork instead of Kerry (for example)for a place in the quarter finals
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 09:03:41 PM
Imagine what the likes of ORourke, McGuinness etc could do this this armagh team.

Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2023, 09:08:31 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2023, 09:03:31 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 08:58:25 PM

Still matters to an extent though. Tyrone winning this likely means they'll finish 2nd - could be the difference between facing Cork instead of Kerry (for example)for a place in the quarter finals

matters certainly. That's a prime example why.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 03, 2023, 09:10:49 PM
I think a lot of GAA teams don't perform to anywhere near their full capacity in these half hearted group games.
Tyrone played quite well first half and Armagh shooting was dreadful.
But once they went down to 14 men, Tyrone did what they have been doing for a long time now, took the foot of the gas, didn't show much attacking intent and tried to close the game out from an early stage.
We are lacking soul and doing the bear minimum to get by.
So are a lot of other teams, even Galway, Dubs and Kerry.
It's leading to poor boring games for the most part with teams hoping to turn it on from quarter final stage onwards. Risky game to play.
Had Rian O'Neill stayed on it could have been a more exciting match but it was a stupid thing he did and he didn't complain much about the red.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 09:12:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 03, 2023, 09:01:55 PM
Far from it,

Indulge in your partitionist mindset if you wish, it was still two neighbouring Ulster teams, sin é.
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 09:13:13 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 09:03:41 PM

(https://images.pexels.com/photos/1478419/pexels-photo-1478419.jpeg?auto=compress&cs=tinysrgb&w=1260&h=750&dpr=2)
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2023, 09:27:56 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2023, 09:12:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 03, 2023, 09:01:55 PM
Far from it,

Indulge in your partitionist mindset if you wish, it was still two neighbouring Ulster teams, sin é.
:)
Okay I stand corrected,  'twas an Ulster simulation fest common to those counties on the 'northern side' of the border, until Rían had gently gently rested his knees, you'd've though it was a boy scouts' tournament.

Post by: HokeyPokey on June 03, 2023, 09:30:56 PM
Tyrone showed quality at times. Hope they are keeping their cards close to their chest and that we will see more adventure and risk a la 2021 as we progress. Don't think we know where they are yet.

There don't seem to be any standout teams so it will make for interesting knockouts.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 09:33:10 PM
Anyone got Malachy ORourkes number?
Post by: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 09:37:05 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 09:33:10 PM

Hands off!!!
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 09:37:27 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 08:54:18 PM

You're saying it's not a red card, that's beyond ridiculous. You could ask 1000 folk and 999 would rightly say its a red.

I could ask a million people and 5 million would correctly say it wasn't. See I too can make up meaningless statistics that add nothing. In the coverage I've seen I see O'Neill in a wrestle with a player who grabs him round the collar and round the leg. I see no deliberate movement of O'Neills knees towards him and I don't see him lift his feet when his knees are in contact so as to increase the weight on the Tyrone player. If the footage shows otherwise and shows the whole incident I will revise my opinion.
Post by: DhoireTheas on June 03, 2023, 09:40:41 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 03, 2023, 08:43:25 PM
O'Se on co-commentary was a dose. Why can't someone other than a Kerry man be assigned to these games?

All those co commentators are hard to listen to. Michael Murphy with his Donegal accent, Philly McMahon with his strong north Dublin accent or Enda McGinley saying "eh, eh" before every sentence. Then there used to be Marty Clarke who for some reason had an Antrim accent even though he was from South Down.
Post by: An Watcher on June 03, 2023, 09:45:24 PM
Pretty poor second half from Tyrone but looked very like galway with the roles reversed.  Teams with a man advantage do the bare minimum then the underdog tags on a few points for a grandstand finish.  Tyrone weren't great but comfortable enough at the same time.
Thought some of morgans kick outs were very risky in second half when they didn't need to be.  Some came off and some didnt.  Surely with an extra man it should have been easier?
Post by: Armamike on June 03, 2023, 09:46:08 PM
Frustratingly dim witted performance from us.  We again blew a couple of good goal chances early on and then went into our shell.  You get the sense with this team this year that they just don't go for it enough.

Unfortunately Rian has been involved in too much wrestling the past few matches and longer and the chances were he was going to get himself a red card probably sooner rather than later.  He would be better served staying out of it and concentrating on his football.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 09:46:54 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 09:37:27 PM

I could ask a million people and 5 million would correctly say it wasn't. See I too can make up meaningless statistics that add nothing. In the coverage I've seen I see O'Neill in a wrestle with a player who grabs him round the collar and round the leg. I see no deliberate movement of O'Neills knees towards him and I don't see him lift his feet when his knees are in contact so as to increase the weight on the Tyrone player. If the footage shows otherwise and shows the whole incident I will revise my opinion.

https://twitter.com/thesundaygame/status/1665065051022041090?s=46&t=FU4PGpspc3gXb5SMJkgzOw

Imo you can see him dropping down on the Tyrone player pretty clearly. I've seen them missed to be fair so was well picked up by the umpire. He didn't seem to query it too much either which is a sure sign for me.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2023, 09:48:40 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 09:37:05 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 09:33:10 PM

Hands off!!!

Good man Screen. Glad to see you looking out for the Wattys!
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 09:52:12 PM
He doesn't drop down on him. He does put his knees on his head when they're on the ground tho. Definite red.
What you can see clearly is Harte taking more than 4 steps. Refs need to clamp down on that or the rule needs changing as it isn't fit for purpose
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2023, 09:58:23 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 09:37:27 PM

Tribal I think someone described this as earlier. Knock yourself out, pointless. Cat 3 infraction, red card and minimum 1 game band.
Post by: An Watcher on June 03, 2023, 09:59:08 PM
Good to see that type of thing cracked down on.  Its fairly obvious he has his full weight on the guys head.  Scum bag move
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 09:59:26 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 09:52:12 PM
He doesn't drop down on him. He does put his knees on his head when they're on the ground tho. Definite red.
What you can see clearly is Harte taking more than 4 steps. Refs need to clamp down on that or the rule needs changing as it isn't fit for purpose
Fair enough. At 1.46 on the clip it definitely looks like he dropped his knees imo.

Steps are a joke, but where do you start. If refs started being strict you wouldn't get a game finished. Most players take 5-6 at a standard every time. Makes it near impossible to properly defend against.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 09:59:50 PM
O'Rourke I safely say be Derry manager before, Armagh or, Tyrone come sniffing round.
Post by: ONeill on June 03, 2023, 10:00:30 PM
Snorefest of a match. A couple of moments were decent but in the main it was crap.

Tyrone finding it hard to string 2 good halves together.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2023, 10:07:14 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 09:59:26 PM
Fair enough. At 1.46 on the clip it definitely looks like he dropped his knees imo.

Steps are a joke, but where do you start. If refs started being strict you wouldn't get a game finished. Most players take 5-6 at a standard every time. Makes it near impossible to properly defend against.

I will say it again, either refs crack down or, which as you say would be near impossible, or change it
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2023, 10:23:40 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 09:59:26 PM

The other angle seems show the Tyrone player grab at the back of ONeills leg before O'Neills leg moves towards his head. After that there is a wrestle involving not just those two but others. O'Neills knees are on the fallen players head but that is not in and of itself an offence particularly if there's wrestling going on. It's far from the definite red it's being made out to be. But sure we can leave it there.
Post by: An Watcher on June 03, 2023, 10:26:18 PM
At least you didn't have 4 sent off
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 10:26:55 PM
Its dangerous play, you can't put u full weight down on a man head, he holding you or not. I think he could got up and left it, he was in multi players tussles in the Ulster final. Personally I blame the manager for not sorting it, but I think his, McKeever mentality part of the problem.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 03, 2023, 10:28:29 PM
The mayo / arsenal of ulster strike again.

Had it on a plate for them in the ulster final a man up in ET and completely filled them.

"This is our year "
"Geezer has it right this time"
"We've the best attacking 6 in the country"
The orange brigade in full force like Millwall.

Yawn.

4 times since 2002 lads, that's what the stars on the sleeves are in case you forgot.

Form is temporary, class is permanent

And Tyrone aren't even in the top 4 teams in the country, so god knows how your AI was gonna come this year.

Post by: square_ball on June 03, 2023, 10:33:20 PM
O'Neill knew what he was doing and got what he deserved.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 03, 2023, 10:43:13 PM
Between here and orchard forum 5times or gograngego as he is over there is on a massive rant.....he seems to be relatively new both forums.....
Post by: naka on June 03, 2023, 10:56:50 PM
What happened with the jarly og incident and the two Tyrone guys
It looked a third man tackle to take him out
Maybe I was wrong but how did Tyrone get a free from it ?

As an aside it was a horrible match,
Canavan , mc curry and murnin only ones  with pass marks
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 10:59:13 PM
Just a collision. Two Tyrone players hit each other and then Kennedy I think collided with Burns. The free was for the foul in by the sideline. Ref didn't stop for the collisions.
Post by: 5times5times on June 03, 2023, 11:01:51 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 03, 2023, 10:43:13 PM
Between here and orchard forum 5times or gograngego as he is over there is on a massive rant.....he seems to be relatively new both forums.....

Wise up you clown. Get your head out of Geezer's backside. "Relatively new"... LOL

Here >  Date Registered : March 27, 2019
OC > Joined Aug 5, 2020

Do you think Geezer and the £££ crew deserve to stay on if we go out at PQF?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 11:32:48 PM
I can't work out of 5 times a down man or Armagh man, presume Down with his love of Armagh on this lol.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on June 03, 2023, 11:40:55 PM
Typical enough Tyrone performance of the past wee while. First half was in general good and Petey Harte should have put the goal away and pretty much finished the game. After the red - and it was clearly a red - immediately after that chance Tyrone became pedestrian. I never felt there was any danger until Morgan fell on his arse at the end but second half simply not good enough. The team has gone backwards massively from 2021 but still wouldn't be sure they don't have a big performance or two in them against top opposition. Similarly, I wouldn't he hugely surprised if they lost to Westmeath.

Overall feel like I did before the game, one team who have dropped out of the elite and another who won't ever get there.
Post by: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 11:50:34 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on June 03, 2023, 10:28:29 PM

Had it on a plate for them in the ulster final a man up in ET and completely filled them.

"This is our year "

Yawn.

4 times since 2002 lads, that's what the stars on the sleeves are in case you forgot.

And Tyrone aren't even in the top 4 teams in the country, so god knows how your AI was gonna come this year.

Lad that "stars" nonsense is the most ridiculous thing in the GAA... Tyrone have won 4 all Irelands so they have 4 stars, should Kerry have 38 stars on their geansaí? Dublin 30? As far as I can see it's reserved for Tyrone jerseys only unless someone can show me others the same?

It's England soccer nonsense and I'd love to hear a coherent explanation as to why they're there if anyone can give one.
Post by: Orior on June 04, 2023, 12:04:21 AM
Believe it or not, that was my first time in Healy Park.

Armagh could have won that match. Two great goal chances and about 12 or 13 wides.

We need a couple more quality players. At the moment, Division 2 and the lower level of the Sam Maguire looks like our level.

Post by: Cunny Funt on June 04, 2023, 12:19:15 AM
Armagh spent their last three years in Div 1 and last year was a penalty shootout win away from reaching last 4 of the championship.  Regardless of who is manager does anyone seriously think Armagh should be doing better than that when you consider it's 2009 since Armagh won a U17/18 Ulster title.  2007 since they won Ulster U20/21 title and it's 2015 since Armagh side won the Ulster senior club championship. 
Post by: illdecide on June 04, 2023, 12:37:36 AM
My take on it is...The two teams are poor and Armagh just that wee bit more poor than Tyrone. O'Neill sending off was ironic giving Uncle Oisin saying during the week that he carried Armagh or to that effect. RON is a top player but sometimes (and i've seen it at club level when you don't have your county men) the team play better when the top dog is not playing as others step up. Without slaying the lad as i didn't actually see it I still think Tyrone would have beat us as we would still would have played that defensive crap with 15 on the pitch.
Turbit kicked some terrible wides, Stefan C was not in the game, BC at midfield is not the answer to our problems. I'd actually play Ethan Raf at no8/9 and play Shane McP as the goalkeeper as he played in goals at soccer and can play that role well. Defence couldn't handle McCurry at all and thought Aidan F was poor to his usual standards. All in all the better team won and we go on to play Galway as a nail bitter, sure you don't get it any other way with this Armagh team.

KMcG is bound to be feeling under pressure a bit this evening...I know if he plays all out attack and we get beat the keyboard warriors will slay him for it, if he plays defensive (which we do) he get's it too so he's damned if he does and damned if he doenst but we're not winning games so he has to try something different and shake it up a bit. If he doen't change anything nothing changes
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 04, 2023, 01:16:03 AM
You can't play all out, attack against Galway, they probably the most defensive team outside of Derry but have more counter attacking threat. Play open against them, they put 10pts on you.
Post by: David McKeown on June 04, 2023, 01:22:42 AM
Quote from: naka on June 03, 2023, 10:56:50 PM
What happened with the jarly og incident and the two Tyrone guys
It looked a third man tackle to take him out
Maybe I was wrong but how did Tyrone get a free from it ?

As an aside it was a horrible match,
Canavan , mc curry and murnin only ones  with pass marks

Poor refereeing. Two Tyrone players collide taking out an Armagh defender near the Armagh goal whilst Armagh were defending. Should have at least been a stop play and allow the player in possession to have one of those unscorable frees. Strangely 10 minutes later he did immediately stop play with Armagh attacking.
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 04, 2023, 07:06:29 AM
I enjoyed the first half and thought Tyrone played decent football with some great scores from McCurry canavan Hampsey and Donnelly. Disappointing second half, would have liked to have seen us push on more. Also pity ruairi canavan didn't nail his scores to get him going. Darragh stood up when it mattered.

Tyrone teams in past have improved as championship in past have improved with games and hopefully that's case this year. Few boys including McCurry were out on their feet with ten to go yesterday. I still worry about our sub bench.

Thought mattie mckernan McCurry and canavan impressive overall. O'Neill after lot of criticism was fairly solid.
Post by: Steps on June 04, 2023, 07:32:02 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 10:59:13 PM
Just a collision. Two Tyrone players hit each other and then Kennedy I think collided with Burns. The free was for the foul in by the sideline. Ref didn't stop for the collisions.

Should have been a free out to Armagh regardless
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 07:38:08 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2023, 11:32:48 PM
I can't work out of 5 times a down man or Armagh man, presume Down with his love of Armagh on this lol.

A down person masquerading as an Armagh person on an Armagh forum
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 04, 2023, 08:01:04 AM
His father tormented us for years but jeez Darragh Canavan is a talent! Joy to watch. Bit of bite about him too like the da..no bad thing
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 04, 2023, 08:17:57 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 03, 2023, 11:50:34 PM

"This is our year "

Yawn.

Lad that "stars" nonsense is the most ridiculous thing in the GAA... Tyrone have won 4 all Irelands so they have 4 stars, should Kerry have 38 stars on their geansaí? Dublin 30? As far as I can see it's reserved for Tyrone jerseys only unless someone can show me others the same?

It's England soccer nonsense and I'd love to hear a coherent explanation as to why they're there if anyone can give one.

You'll not see one round draperstown anytime soon anyway boss , we'll send you a jersey
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 04, 2023, 08:33:10 AM
Quote from: Steps on June 04, 2023, 07:32:02 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2023, 10:59:13 PM

Should have been a free out to Armagh regardless

Why? It was a collision. Tyrone were in possession iirc. Unintentional contact by both Tyrone and Armagh player. He should have stopped play tho.
Post by: skeog on June 04, 2023, 08:34:25 AM
Mc Geeney condoning Rian O Neills knee to the head what can you do if a mans holding a jersey.The most over rated manager who has won nothing in 15 years as a manager.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 08:34:56 AM
Quote from: skeog on June 04, 2023, 08:34:25 AM
Mc Geeney condoning Rian O Neills knee to the head what can you do if a mans holding a jersey.The most over rated manager who has won nothing in 15 years as a manager.

he didnt say that did he?
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 04, 2023, 08:51:43 AM

"This is our year "

Yawn.

Rumour has it Derry's doing the same thing, only instead of stars they're using county crests.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on June 04, 2023, 10:54:37 AM
Posted this elsewhere, but it took 25 mins to type to it's going here too. Some random thoughts on that game:

There seemed to be a consensus around me in the stand that we were all watching two poor teams. Some basic skill execution was shocking - balls kicked over the sideline, misplaced 5 yard hand passes, dodgy kick outs, really poor wides. While other contenders have been underwhelming in these group games, it's still difficult to see either Armagh or Tyrone going further than the quarter finals without huge improvement.

We're 13 proper games into this season, and it still doesn't look like Armagh are close to finding a winning balance in their brand of football. They remain fine defensively, but I have yet to get a sense that there's any sort of structure or plan going forward. It's all very pedestrian and off the cuff, get the ball to O'Neill in the 'shooting pocket', or take a pot shot, or run down a blind alley. This has been the biggest disappointment of the year.

That red card was in the post all year. Rian has been running around like a grumpy heure giving sneaky digs in pretty much every game to date. He gets an awful lot of abuse himself of course, but that doesn't excuse his own behaviour. This has been his poorest year in an Armagh jersey, and he has capped that by letting everyone down yesterday evening. Someone needs to have a word.

It was a bit mad that Armagh were a desperate fly-hacked clearance away from nicking a draw, despite being largely woeful, and despite playing for about 50 mins with 14 men. A lot of that is down to how nervous a very mediocre Tyrone were on the night, but some of it is also due to the valiant efforts of a few Armagh men. Duffy, Murnin and Grugan put in serious shifts for fellas that must have known they were probably chasing a lost cause.

Would love to know what the plan was on that last 50. Only a goal would do, so why was the ball tipped over the bar? Why was it Rafferty collecting it short, instead of making a nuisance of himself around the square? Tyrone were jittery as shite at that stage, who knows what might have happened with a decent high ball landed in.

Poor enough evening for Aiden Forker in the FB line. Perhaps it's time to give him a swansong back in the forward line? It feels like he is no longer a better defensive solution than bench options like Paddy Burns or Barry McCambridge, and I'd like to think he could add some creativity to the misfiring forward line. Soupy Campbell confirmed again this evening that he provides much more impact off the bench, so there is probably an open spot in the HF line. I think it's worth a try.

Understandable that Armagh dropped off the Tyrone kick-outs when a man down (at least until they went for broke in the last 10 mins). But I didn't understand the plan before that. Some kick-outs were fully pressed, others were sort of pressed with one/two Tyrone man left free, and yet others weren't really pressed at all. It almost looks like some weird hybrid system to keep the opponent guessing - either that, or the intention actually is to fully press but it's just really poorly executed by the players. It's definitely frustrating to watch.

Hard to see where Armagh's season sparks from here. They've looked really flat the last two weeks. Energy levels, concentration, discipline all way down on the Ulster final performance. The optimist in me wants to believe that these group stage games have been sacrificed so that the knock out games can be hit with renewed focus, but that's looking a hard sell right now. It feels like things are just drifting a bit, and a feeble ending to the year is just around the corner. We continue to live in hope though, there's still something there if it all clicked properly.

Finally, any chat about the management is futile at this stage of the year. Sure they could probably be doing some things better, and I'm certain there will be a thorough evaluation of the situation at the end of the season. But I'd caution those in Armagh baying for replacement to be careful what you wish for...

The current group of players didn't just land into McGeeney's lap - over many, many years he has crafted a team that has now reached a level where they are consistently competitive with the best in the country (nowhere near a given for a county like Armagh). In the absence of any sort of conveyor belt of underage talent over the last decade, resources have had to maximised and intercounty players have had to be moulded from what was available. There are men putting in good shifts for Armagh at the top level who probably wouldn't be near intercounty football under any other management - it's from these efforts that the county has its modest amount of squad depth. When the current management team does depart, which may be soon enough, it will very likely precipitate the retirement of up to half a dozen playing stalwarts. Armagh will then enter a rebuilding phase, and with little to shout about recently at underage, school, or club level, it looks not at all unlikely that the only way for the county will be down (or, Down - like in languishing in Div 3 and going nowhere fast). Anyone that thinks Armagh hit the next level just by landing Oisin McConville, or Tony McEntee, or Malachy O'Rourke in on top of the current playing group isn't living in the real world.
Post by: tyroneman on June 04, 2023, 10:54:43 AM
Another curates egg game from Tyrone. There was little between the teams in first half other than Armagh's shooting was off and Tyrone's eye was in (and with some great points taken as well).

Obviously sticking very rigidly to a game plan it was a case of methodically grinding out the scores, added to some good defensive work. Nothing spectacular. Keep efficient in the heat and do your job.

Sending off didn't really help that much. Imho, RoN, who is as talented a player as there is in Ireland, has had that red card coming a long time. He's at those snide fouls any game I've seen him play recently and been lucky enough to get away with them. Today he got caught and the ref had enough balls to send him off. Sin é. Hopefully someone will have a word as he has repeat All Star ability.

BBC quote Mc Geeney as saying:

"I didn't see it but Rian feels he was pulled down by the jersey on top. Iwill see it first, but if what he says is true we will definitely support him,". Getting a leg pulled does not justify putting knees on head. It will tell a lot if McGeeney sees the footage and still defends him (or not).

Would have preferred the shot off the post to have gone in instead just beforehand, as from that point on Tyrone went into game management mode rather than press on and put Armagh to the sword and boy did it nearly cost dear at the end. They seem incapable of utilising an extra man to any advantage.

Terrible decision making throughout, especially in second half where there were men making great runs through on goal but the ball carriers failed to pass and took much more difficult (and selfish) shots themselves.

And by the by, anyone from Armagh talking about Peter Harte taking extra steps should watch RoN take a free - steals at least 5-10 every time. Took a 20m free and only kicked it at the edge of the big square at one point.  And yes, I'm aware 99% of free takers do it to an extent...just that his extent is double anyone else's.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 10:58:36 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 04, 2023, 10:54:43 AM
Another curates egg game from Tyrone. There was little between the teams in first half other than Armagh's shooting was off and Tyrone's eye was in (and with some great points taken as well).

Obviously sticking very rigidly to a game plan it was a case of methodically grinding out the scores, added to some good defensive work. Nothing spectacular. Keep efficient in the heat and do your job.

Sending off didn't really help that much. Imho, RoN, who is as talented a player as there is in Ireland, has had that red card coming a long time. He's at those snide fouls any game I've seen him play recently and been lucky enough to get away with them. Today he got caught and the ref had enough balls to send him off. Sin é. Hopefully someone will have a word as he has All Star ability.

Would have preferred the shot off the post to have gone in instead just beforehand, as from that point on Tyrone went into game management mode rather than press on and put Armagh to the sword and boy did it nearly cost dear at the end. They seem incapable of utilising an extra man to any advantage.

Terrible decision making throughout, especially in second half where there were men making great runs through on goal but the ball carriers failed to pass and took much more difficult (and selfish) shots themselves.

And by the by, anyone from Armagh talking about Peter Harte taking extra steps should watch RoN take a free - steals at keast 5-10 every time. Took a 20m free and only kicked it at the edge of the big square at one point.

I mentioned Harte's steps. It wasnt aimed at him in particular, he was just the example I used form the video posted. The ONeill free you talk about I think was a 13m free he just started a few metres back. He does steal yards all the time though. Same as every other free taker there is
Post by: square_ball on June 04, 2023, 11:00:53 AM
The steps from frees has become a bit of a bug bear of mine. It's the same with the mark as well it's never taken from there the mark is taken. Simple solution is get a can of that spray they use in the Premier League and mark the spot where the free is. Problem solved.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 11:04:24 AM
Quote from: square_ball on June 04, 2023, 11:00:53 AM
The steps from frees has become a bit of a bug bear of mine. It's the same with the mark as well it's never taken from there the mark is taken. Simple solution is get a can of that spray they use in the Premier League and mark the spot where the free is. Problem solved.

the way some free takers hit their frees I think the stealing of steps can be a disadvantage at times
Post by: tyroneman on June 04, 2023, 11:16:11 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 10:58:36 AM

Sending off didn't really help that much. Imho, RoN, who is as talented a player as there is in Ireland, has had that red card coming a long time. He's at those snide fouls any game I've seen him play recently and been lucky enough to get away with them. Today he got caught and the ref had enough balls to send him off. Sin é. Hopefully someone will have a word as he has All Star ability.

And by the by, anyone from Armagh talking about Peter Harte taking extra steps should watch RoN take a free - steals at keast 5-10 every time. Took a 20m free and only kicked it at the edge of the big square at one point.

I mentioned Harte's steps. It wasnt aimed at him in particular, he was just the example I used form the video posted. The ONeill free you talk about I think was a 13m free he just started a few metres back. He does steal yards all the time though. Same as every other free taker there is

Yeh, that's fair enough, steps in play is an issue all over county football - especially when club footballers get pulled on it much more often. 

Still think O'Neill takes more steps at a free than any other player I've seen though. Although there was one in first half where he shot far post wide after a 10m saunter so maybe it's not always an advantage alright lol.

The EPL spray wouldnt be a bad idea alright.
Post by: marty34 on June 04, 2023, 11:24:42 AM
Yeah, taking extra steps on frees is shocking.

Ref just needs a can of that spray and mark it and away we go.

This is a simple step, like many others, the GAA could implement without any issues.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 11:39:26 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 04, 2023, 11:16:11 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 04, 2023, 10:58:36 AM

Yeh, that's fair enough, steps in play is an issue all over county football - especially when club footballers get pulled on it much more often. 

Still think O'Neill takes more steps at a free than any other player I've seen though. Although there was one in first half where he shot far post wide after a 10m saunter so maybe it's not always an advantage alright lol.

The EPL spray wouldnt be a bad idea alright.

This is what I was referring to in a different post. Think the same thing has happened with Turbo in games also
Post by: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 12:18:33 PM
Brutal from tyrone. What is with the side wards passing. All lessons from 2021 seem lost, the direct approach works.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 01:23:51 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 12:18:33 PM
Brutal from tyrone. What is with the side wards passing. All lessons from 2021 seem lost, the direct approach works.

I can only hope it was game management from Dooher and Logan what with the heat and the string of matches coming up in quick succession.
Was brutal to watch at times and almost cost us at the end with the backpass to Morgan as the last man.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 01:38:02 PM

"This is our year "

Yawn.

1 star per All Ireland win... hope this clears things up for you.
Ballinderry, a club in your own county, use the same system.

You'll see the same system used in many sports leagues around the world, not just soccer. But it's always nice to see a bit of casual Anglophobia from someone here.
Post by: square_ball on June 04, 2023, 02:43:30 PM
Nothing wrong with a county that had no All Irelands at the turn of this century, marking their 4 in 20 odd years on their jersey. Little to be worried about in the GAA if that's the 'most ridiculous thing' in it. Meath have also done it in the past.
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 03:02:34 PM
Quote from: square_ball on June 04, 2023, 02:43:30 PM
Nothing wrong with a county that had no All Irelands at the turn of this century, marking their 4 in 20 odd years on their jersey. Little to be worried about in the GAA if that's the 'most ridiculous thing' in it. Meath have also done it in the past.

Quite. Probably the last county to get their name on Sam that will ever win it.
Post by: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 03:42:16 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 01:23:51 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 12:18:33 PM

I can only hope it was game management from Dooher and Logan what with the heat and the string of matches coming up in quick succession.
Was brutal to watch at times and almost cost us at the end with the backpass to Morgan as the last man.

To be honest I don't think tyrone are that cute. Problem with game managment is you invite the opposition on to you same as the Monaghan game where a goal can kill you in the last few minutes. Time will tell but think the first decent team we meet will put us out.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2023, 04:21:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 03:02:34 PM
Quote from: square_ball on June 04, 2023, 02:43:30 PM

Quite. Probably the last county to get their name on Sam that will ever win it.
The late emergence of Tyrone , Armagh and Derry in all Ireland terms had very little to do with football.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 04, 2023, 07:04:17 PM
Given the nature of a lot of the debate, I rarely feel motivated to post on the GAA side of this forum anymore. However, once in a while, there is a post that makes me break the rule.

Great post Edward. Agree with an awful lot of what is said therein and in particular the piece I have quoted below, which absolutely nails my own thoughts.

Quote from: Ed Ricketts on June 04, 2023, 10:54:37 AM
Finally, any chat about the management is futile at this stage of the year. Sure they could probably be doing some things better, and I'm certain there will be a thorough evaluation of the situation at the end of the season. But I'd caution those in Armagh baying for replacement to be careful what you wish for...

The current group of players didn't just land into McGeeney's lap - over many, many years he has crafted a team that has now reached a level where they are consistently competitive with the best in the country (nowhere near a given for a county like Armagh). In the absence of any sort of conveyor belt of underage talent over the last decade, resources have had to maximised and intercounty players have had to be moulded from what was available. There are men putting in good shifts for Armagh at the top level who probably wouldn't be near intercounty football under any other management - it's from these efforts that the county has its modest amount of squad depth. When the current management team does depart, which may be soon enough, it will very likely precipitate the retirement of up to half a dozen playing stalwarts. Armagh will then enter a rebuilding phase, and with little to shout about recently at underage, school, or club level, it looks not at all unlikely that the only way for the county will be down (or, Down - like in languishing in Div 3 and going nowhere fast). Anyone that thinks Armagh hit the next level just by landing Oisin McConville, or Tony McEntee, or Malachy O'Rourke in on top of the current playing group isn't living in the real world.

That is so on the money. Respect.
Post by: yellowcard on June 04, 2023, 07:42:52 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 04, 2023, 07:04:17 PM
Given the nature of a lot of the debate, I rarely feel motivated to post on the GAA side of this forum anymore. However, once in a while, there is a post that makes me break the rule.

Great post Edward. Agree with an awful lot of what is said therein and in particular the piece I have quoted below, which absolutely nails my own thoughts.

Its very hard to argue with much of that post. I think its ok to think that McGeeney has done a good job overall but its also ok to think that we look like we need a change. And possibly he needs a break from Armagh himself. I wouldn't be too optimistic about the future though and I'd be a lot more concerned about the lack of success at underage level where we failed to win a championship game at U17 and U20 level yet again this year. But that tends to get overlooked as all of the focus is on the senior team. I'd be asking more questions of what is going in not producing competitive underage teams for about a decade now.   
Post by: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 09:04:10 PM

Surely the whole point of a very well paid manager is that he changes the entire set up and not just deal with the senior player? He has had 9 years to help the set up and his most successful year was getting to a quarter final without winning anything.

His persistent hard man attitude is reflected on the team and has gotten them no where. Keep him for another 9 years I say lol
Post by: yellowcard on June 04, 2023, 09:23:54 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 09:04:10 PM

Surely the whole point of a very well paid manager is that he changes the entire set up and not just deal with the senior player? He has had 9 years to help the set up and his most successful year was getting to a quarter final without winning anything.

His persistent hard man attitude is reflected on the team and has gotten them no where. Keep him for another 9 years I say lol

I'm not sure how a manager can have a hard man attitude! But some people will use anything to have a go at McGeeney. If I was a Tyrone fan I'd be more concerned as to why so many players don't want to play for them.
Post by: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 09:33:20 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 04, 2023, 09:23:54 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 04, 2023, 09:04:10 PM

I'm not sure how a manager can have a hard man attitude! But some people will use anything to have a go at McGeeney. If I was a Tyrone fan I'd be more concerned as to why so many players don't want to play for them.

Ah now deflect all you want. You can't say there isn't an issue with armagh and their hard men attitude. Of course the manager has a massive impact on it, he can stamp it out anytime he likes. Like I said happy for it to continue as use have won hardly anything in the last 20 years and that will continue under current managment.
Post by: restorepride on June 04, 2023, 11:57:06 PM

Sending off didn't really help that much. Imho, RoN, who is as talented a player as there is in Ireland, has had that red card coming a long time. He's at those snide fouls any game I've seen him play recently and been lucky enough to get away with them. Today he got caught and the ref had enough balls to send him off. Sin é. Hopefully someone will have a word as he has repeat All Star ability.

BBC quote Mc Geeney as saying:

"I didn't see it but Rian feels he was pulled down by the jersey on top. Iwill see it first, but if what he says is true we will definitely support him,". Getting a leg pulled does not justify putting knees on head. It will tell a lot if McGeeney sees the footage and still defends him (or not).

And by the by, anyone from Armagh talking about Peter Harte taking extra steps should watch RoN take a free - steals at least 5-10 every time. Took a 20m free and only kicked it at the edge of the big square at one point.  And yes, I'm aware 99% of free takers do it to an extent...just that his extent is double anyone else's.
Many remain unconvinced about that first statement - second part in true.
Post by: trailer on June 05, 2023, 08:50:52 AM

Unbeaten in ZERO games now. Armagh get a small dose of reality. They are not a top team. They are not Div 1. They are not good enough to win an Ulster title never mind an All Ireland. They have a negative boring system that allows them to not get stuffed. If they went 15 v 15 they be on the end of some bad beating. McGenney has perfected the  "lets only lose by a few points" system.
Rian O'Neill for all his talent gets involved in far to much off the ball stuff. His red card had been coming.
Tyrone let Armagh back into it. Again Morgan with more confidence than ability almost gifted them the game. But it's a win. Onwards.

Armagh back in there f**king box for another while, until they beat the next Division 3 team and the county loses the run of itself again lol!!
Post by: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 09:14:50 AM
It wasn't to long ago Armagh fans were comparing Conor Turbitt to David Clifford...

Delusion at its finest.
Post by: onefaircounty on June 05, 2023, 09:27:02 AM
Quote from: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 09:14:50 AM
It wasn't to long ago Armagh fans were comparing Conor Turbitt to David Clifford...

Delusion at its finest.

Quit talking shite.
Post by: onefaircounty on June 05, 2023, 09:29:00 AM

RoN, who is as talented a player as there is in Ireland,

Not a chance
Post by: lurganblue on June 05, 2023, 09:54:26 AM
Disappointing evening up in Omagh and as an Armagh fan you could see how the game was going early on. You have to take your chances and we didnt.  I agree, that red has been coming for Rian.  Maybe a few reds would do him no harm.  A bit like Forker years ago.

Us Armagh fans like to say we've a great forward line and we just need to let them off the leash.  I'm not so sure about that and the last 3 games has done nothing to convince me. Great forward lines punish chances more often than not. Also, Tyrone seemed to be able to waltz in whenever they wanted in the 1st half and kick a point.  I wouldnt like to see us with larger gaps in the defence to fill as we've left forwards up the pitch.  Man markers we have not (not many counties do).
Post by: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 10:18:41 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 05, 2023, 09:54:26 AM
Disappointing evening up in Omagh and as an Armagh fan you could see how the game was going early on. You have to take your chances and we didnt.  I agree, that red has been coming for Rian.  Maybe a few reds would do him no harm.  A bit like Forker years ago.

Us Armagh fans like to say we've a great forward line and we just need to let them off the leash.  I'm not so sure about that and the last 3 games has done nothing to convince me. Great forward lines punish chances more often than not. Also, Tyrone seemed to be able to waltz in whenever they wanted in the 1st half and kick a point.  I wouldnt like to see us with larger gaps in the defence to fill as we've left forwards up the pitch.  Man markers we have not (not many counties do).

Excluding Rian O'Neill and Rory Grugan, who else makes this forward line great?
Post by: statto on June 05, 2023, 10:37:25 AM
Quote from: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 10:18:41 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 05, 2023, 09:54:26 AM

Excluding Rian O'Neill and Rory Grugan, who else makes this forward line great?

Murnin is a great target man would start in any team in ulster. 
Post by: Armamike on June 05, 2023, 10:50:16 AM
Quote from: onefaircounty on June 05, 2023, 09:27:02 AM
Quote from: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 09:14:50 AM

Delusion at its finest.

Quit talking shite.

That's a difficult ask for some on here.
Post by: Applesisapples on June 05, 2023, 11:04:58 AM
It's painful to say but this Armagh team peaked last year, I'm not sure whether it's the style of football or tactics on which it is based but they are a hard frustrating watch. I don't think the majority of fans believe they are world beaters but like supporters of many counties we want in the words of the Sawdoctors "to win just once" and nothing wrong with that. I'm don't think changing managers will improve the team immediately but 9 years is a long time.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 05, 2023, 11:06:02 AM
Without reading all the comments since the game, tyrone were the better side, but just can't seem to pull away.
I just don't see where the hype about this Armagh side comes from.
Rian O'Neill was a definate red in my book. He could/should have been off in the Ulster final if he'd got a yellow every time he deserved one. He seems to concentrate on being a hard man rather than football and for all the spectacular scores/frees he grabs, he concedes so many frees it could mostly cancel out any positives. He's a liability at the minute that could do with a few games on the bench to put manners on.
For me, Grugan and Murnin are more reliable and better all round than RON.
Starting Campbell didnt have the same impact as he has had coming off the bench.
McGeeney saying execution is the issue, that's another way of saying the players are not good enough at finishing.

As for Tyrone, glimpses of what they were but not necessarily of where they are going.
They are still relying on the older players to pull them out and I'm not sure the new(er) personnel are of the same quality. Lots of mistakes.
Could have had a black in the lead up to the RON red.
Morgan can be brilliant or awful.
I feel if McCurry is kept out of a game and to a lesser extent Canavan, Tyrone won't get scores to trouble any of the main contenders.
But....they still play with the confidence of a top side which is why I think it can click some days against anyone. So it wouldn't surprise me too much if they knocked out some of the big hitters in the championship, but I don't think they have enough for an AI or indeed to be classed as in the top 5.

For me, top 5 still are Galway, Mayo, Kerry, Dublin, Derry....in that order. However, no one time is miles ahead at the minute, but I just have that feeling that Galway are better than last year and so far Kerry/Dublin seem to have slipped back a little bit.
Post by: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 11:10:12 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 05, 2023, 11:06:02 AM
Without reading all the comments since the game, tyrone were the better side, but just can't seem to pull away.
Rian O'Neill was a definate red in my book. He could/should have been off in the Ulster final if he'd got a yellow every time he deserved one. He seems to concentrate on being a hard man rather than football and for all the spectacular scores/frees he grabs, he concedes so many frees it could mostly cancel out any positives. He's a liability at the minute that could do with a few games on the bench to put manners on.
Starting Campbell didnt have the same impact as he has had coming off the bench.
McGeeney saying execution is the issue, that's another way of saying the players are not good enough at finishing.

As for Tyrone, glimpses of what they were but not necessarily of where they are going.
They are still relying on the older players to pull them out and I'm not sure the new(er) personnel are of the same quality. Lots of mistakes.
I feel if McCurry is kept out of a game and to a lesser extent Canavan, Tyrone won't get scores to trouble any of the main contenders.
But....they still play with the confidence of a top side which is why I think it can click some days against anyone. So it wouldn't surprise me too much if they knocked out some of the big hitters in the championship, but I don't think they have enough for an AI or indeed to be classed as in the top 5.

For me, top 5 still are Galway, Mayo, Kerry, Dublin, Derry....in that order. However, no one time is miles ahead at the minute, but I just have that feeling that Galway are better than last year and so far Kerry/Dublin seem to have slipped back a little bit.

That top 5 is just silly. How can you justify putting Galway and Mayo above Kerry?
Post by: tbrick18 on June 05, 2023, 11:13:33 AM
Quote from: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 11:10:12 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 05, 2023, 11:06:02 AM

That top 5 is just silly. How can you justify putting Galway and Mayo above Kerry?

Kerry have been stuttering and their result against Cork is underwhelming.
Post by: screenexile on June 05, 2023, 11:17:15 AM
You can justify Mayo being above Kerry by the fact they have beaten Kerry!

I would have Roscommon on that top 6 as well tbrick.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 11:31:10 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 05, 2023, 11:17:15 AM

So would I but he only picked 5.
The 3 games in successive weeks for those who don't top the groups will be a killer!
Post by: tbrick18 on June 05, 2023, 11:41:02 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 11:31:10 AM

The 3 games in successive weeks for those who don't top the groups will be a killer!

Roscommon would be there or thereabouts.
It gets difficult to separate the next grouping I feel, Roscommon, Monaghan, Louth (can hardly believe I'm putting them in here), Tyrone, Cork....I put the 5 I chose ahead of all of these but not by much. Especially Derry.
Difficult to choose a top 10-16, but I think the AI winner will come out of the 5 I chose with a slight nod to Galway.

Post by: yellowcard on June 05, 2023, 11:46:07 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 08:50:52 AM

Unbeaten in ZERO games now. Armagh get a small dose of reality. They are not a top team. They are not Div 1. They are not good enough to win an Ulster title never mind an All Ireland. They have a negative boring system that allows them to not get stuffed. If they went 15 v 15 they be on the end of some bad beating. McGenney has perfected the  "lets only lose by a few points" system.
Rian O'Neill for all his talent gets involved in far to much off the ball stuff. His red card had been coming.
Tyrone let Armagh back into it. Again Morgan with more confidence than ability almost gifted them the game. But it's a win. Onwards.

Armagh back in there f**king box for another while, until they beat the next Division 3 team and the county loses the run of itself again lol!!

We were penalty kicks away from winning an Ulster title and I think we were good enough to have won one. But the reality is that we didn't and it was an opportunity lost and I fear our chance may now have passed. We were never good enough to win an AI title and I never heard too many Armagh fans claim otherwise.

However if Armagh are as bad as you think then I'd be more worried how Tyrone limped over the line at home against a second rate team playing with 14 men. And if Armagh had been more efficient up front we would have won the match too. Tyrone have done nothing since 2021 to suggest they are among the poorest AI champions in recent times.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 05, 2023, 11:50:17 AM
Orange tears are delicious from the post above
Post by: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 12:01:29 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 05, 2023, 11:46:07 AM

We were penalty kicks away from winning an Ulster title and I think we were good enough to have won one. But the reality is that we didn't and it was an opportunity lost and I fear our chance may now have passed. We were never good enough to win an AI title and I never heard too many Armagh fans claim otherwise.

However if Armagh are as bad as you think then I'd be more worried how Tyrone limped over the line at home against a second rate team playing with 14 men. And if Armagh had been more efficient up front we would have won the match too. Tyrone have done nothing since 2021 to suggest they are among the poorest AI champions in recent times.

Hmm let me think... highlights since 2021...

Relegating Armagh in March would be one  ;) ;D
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 05, 2023, 12:34:20 PM
Any word on Rian O'Neill's impending ban?
Post by: naka on June 05, 2023, 12:35:05 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on June 05, 2023, 12:34:20 PM
would assume only a one match ban.
Post by: JoG2 on June 05, 2023, 12:45:23 PM

Thats it, that 1 weekend break will be a huge benefit leading into the q/f knockout
Post by: trailer on June 05, 2023, 01:56:42 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 05, 2023, 11:46:07 AM

Get back in your box.
Post by: The Coddfather on June 05, 2023, 02:01:28 PM

20 to life
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 02:16:16 PM

I would take out the Dubs and replace them with Ros and Tyrone
Post by: trailer on June 05, 2023, 02:55:46 PM

It would be 8-12 weeks if he was a Tyrone player. Armagh will probably appeal and get it overturned.
Post by: naka on June 05, 2023, 02:58:15 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 02:55:46 PM

It would be 8-12 weeks if he was a Tyrone player. Armagh will probably appeal and get it overturned.
indeded armagh will probably use Fearghal as their lawyer
Post by: screenexile on June 05, 2023, 03:18:20 PM

How long is Burns suspended for as a matter of interest??
Post by: illdecide on June 05, 2023, 03:35:51 PM
Some wind ups and lads falling for it too...Bottom line is both teams played poor but can play much better and usually when they play other teams out of Ulster they perform much better. Armagh are prob in the top 10 but not nowhere near the top 5, Tyrone similar but def a bit closer to top 5 than Armagh (6-7). For me the All Ireland winners will be from one of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Galway and Derry but that is not in order just my top 5 which i'm sure 99% of people will have the same top 5. The next batch from 5-10 is Rossies, Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan and Donegal.

Until the GAA change the rules this defensive style will remain, too many teams setting up to contain the opposition rather than going for the win. I said to the Tyrone lad standing beside me when RON got sent off "Why don't Tyrone push their spare man up into Armagh's forward line" that'll certainly ask questions of them and any team for that matter. No one has the Town Halls to do it in case it back fires...It very rarely will.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 05, 2023, 03:39:36 PM

Group table toppers will all be strong favourites to win their All Ireland Quarter finals.  3 games in 14 days will even take loads out of Kerry and will need to be lucky with injuries with a schedule like that.   
Post by: Armamike on June 05, 2023, 03:50:57 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 05, 2023, 03:35:51 PM
Some wind ups and lads falling for it too...Bottom line is both teams played poor but can play much better and usually when they play other teams out of Ulster they perform much better. Armagh are prob in the top 10 but not nowhere near the top 5, Tyrone similar but def a bit closer to top 5 than Armagh (6-7). For me the All Ireland winners will be from one of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Galway and Derry but that is not in order just my top 5 which i'm sure 99% of people will have the same top 5. The next batch from 5-10 is Rossies, Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan and Donegal.

Until the GAA change the rules this defensive style will remain, too many teams setting up to contain the opposition rather than going for the win. I said to the Tyrone lad standing beside me when RON got sent off "Why don't Tyrone push their spare man up into Armagh's forward line" that'll certainly ask questions of them and any team for that matter. No one has the Town Halls to do it in case it back fires...It very rarely will.

Rather than rules changes as being the answer all the time does it not just need a visionary coach/manager to introduce a new style to counteract the scourge?  Rather than mirror the opposition, introduce something different and get the players physically and tactically right. 
Post by: tyrone08 on June 05, 2023, 04:08:39 PM
Majority of the issue comes down to coaching. The last 10 years have seen a dramatic rise in strength and conditioning coaches etc instead of actual football coaches. Best example of this is the lack of quality defenders who can take the ball of their man instead of relying on mass defence.

Players now wildly swing their arms at the hope of getting the ball instead of timing their tackle for during the solo or the bounce.

Mcgeary is a perfect example of a modern day coach who relies too much on gym work and systems rather coaching the basics.
Post by: trailer on June 05, 2023, 05:10:22 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on June 05, 2023, 04:08:39 PM
Majority of the issue comes down to coaching. The last 10 years have seen a dramatic rise in strength and conditioning coaches etc instead of actual football coaches. Best example of this is the lack of quality defenders who can take the ball of their man instead of relying on mass defence.

Players now wildly swing their arms at the hope of getting the ball instead of timing their tackle for during the solo or the bounce.

Mcgeary is a perfect example of a modern day coach who relies too much on gym work and systems rather coaching the basics.

No County player should need to be coached the basics.
The game evolves. It will evolve again. No other sport seems to be as fascinated with rule changes.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 05:39:03 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 05:10:22 PM

The game evolves. It will evolve again. No other sport seems to be as fascinated with rule changes.
Rugby isn't much better
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 05, 2023, 06:05:18 PM
I do have wonder what they coach, coaching a tackle from 12, it was tackle with 1 hand and keep the other out, now county players seem to come in frailing with slaps all over the man, with little direction in trying to hit the ball to dislodge.
Post by: JoG2 on June 05, 2023, 06:08:09 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 05, 2023, 06:05:18 PM
I do have wonder what they coach, coaching a tackle from 12, it was tackle with 1 hand and keep the other out, now county players seem to come in frailing with slaps all over the man, with little direction in trying to hit the ball to dislodge.

1 on 1 maybe, but if there's 3/4 of them doing at once, man in possession gets punished.
Post by: tyrone08 on June 05, 2023, 06:20:53 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 05:10:22 PM

Of course they do. Alot of county players still can't tackle right and some of them can't kick basic scores at times.
Post by: tyrone08 on June 05, 2023, 06:22:12 PM

Fully agree. It's now a case that of if I slap a man 50 times I'm bound to win the ball instead of 1 clean tackle.
Post by: trailer on June 05, 2023, 10:17:45 PM
McConville (who I actually quite like) claiming Rian O'Neill (his nephew) needs protection from refs. Have a day off Oisin.
Post by: Itchy on June 05, 2023, 10:24:34 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 10:17:45 PM
McConville (who I actually quite like) claiming Rian O'Neill (his nephew) needs protection from refs. Have a day off Oisin.

I believe Armagh are going to appeal this? The ban should be doubled in duration of they do. About time they took their medicine and stopped playing the victim
Post by: marty34 on June 05, 2023, 10:59:36 PM

Do underage coaches ever coach the tackle?
At Go Games all I hear from the coaches is hand in, hand out but looking at the wee lad slapping intently with both hands...that he doesn't understand what hand in, hand out actually means.
Post by: naka on June 05, 2023, 11:03:41 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 05, 2023, 10:17:45 PM
Read the quote he said
He said the better forwards should be protected
Which they aren't !!!!!
O Neill , Canavan , Clifford ,Walsh etc all
Take serious abuse
Post by: tonto1888 on June 06, 2023, 09:14:49 AM

dry your eyes ffs
Post by: tonto1888 on June 06, 2023, 09:15:28 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 05, 2023, 03:35:51 PM

the pick of armagh and tyrone wouldnt be close to an AI
Post by: lurganblue on June 06, 2023, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: marty34 on June 05, 2023, 10:59:36 PM

Do underage coaches ever coach the tackle?
At Go Games all I hear from the coaches is hand in, hand out but looking at the wee lad slapping intently with both hands...that he doesn't understand what hand in, hand out actually means.

I know as a coach that we try to coach the tackle surely. Then you go to games and players are allowed to be battered with a closed fist and you wonder why you bother.

Quote from: JoG2 on June 05, 2023, 06:08:09 PM

1 on 1 maybe, but if there's 3/4 of them doing at once, man in possession gets punished.

The county lads do defo still go with the near hand one on one for the most part IMO.  It is clear though that the majority of the time it isnt about dispossessing the player, it is about slowing them up and getting them to either go backwards or fall into a trap of 3/4 players.
Post by: trailer on June 06, 2023, 10:12:50 AM
When I coached the youth I for sure coached near hand in, wait for a bounce or a solo. But we also got them to think about even being close to the player in possession, put pressure on, will they drop the ball?, kick it away?, foul it? force them into a mistake. It's not always about a super clean tackle. Yes and for sure cut off their forward progression, get them stopped, slow the attack up, allow your team to get back.
Battering with a closed fist 95% of the time results in a free.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 06, 2023, 08:55:40 PM
Used to be, made the tackle on the 4th step as they have to solo/bound, nowadays they get that many steps, you can't judge the solo/bound.
Post by: HiMucker on June 08, 2023, 02:23:14 PM
Anyone listen to the GAA socials latest episode? Uncle Oisin thinks Rian wasnt protected enough by the referee. Watched the match, don't buy that for a second.
Post by: Applesisapples on June 08, 2023, 02:27:41 PM
Not condoning what Rian did unless I see conclusive proof that he was pulled down. However hi profile players like Rian, Clifford and McGuigan do come in for extra attention.
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 08, 2023, 04:59:34 PM
The thing I don't understand is that McConville said he was told by a ref that the best players would be protected, this being a directive for all refs this year.

Who decides on these best players? If David Clifford has a bad game is he removed from the list and the ref doesn't protect him next day out? Preposterous.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 08, 2023, 05:02:16 PM
His point of his player being fouled 15 times in one half and 7 times by one specific player is ridiculous though. What was that ref doing?
Post by: CK_Redhand on June 08, 2023, 05:09:54 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 08, 2023, 05:02:16 PM
His point of his player being fouled 15 times in one half and 7 times by one specific player is ridiculous though. What was that ref doing?
I can't remember exactly what was said on the podcast. Was it mentioned if it was 15 times frees called by the ref, or 15 times McConville thought there was a foul? Big difference.

I agree on the broader point though persistent fouling is a blight on the game and there are rules there to sanction offenders. If the ref calls fouls committed by the same player repeatedly and does not produce a card then the referee assessment panel should pull him up on it.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 08, 2023, 05:16:09 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on June 08, 2023, 05:09:54 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 08, 2023, 05:02:16 PM
I can't remember exactly what was said on the podcast. Was it mentioned if it was 15 times frees called by the ref, or 15 times McConville thought there was a foul? Big difference.

I agree on the broader point though persistent fouling is a blight on the game and there are rules there to sanction offenders. If the ref calls fouls committed by the same player repeatedly and does not produce a card then the referee assessment panel should pull him up on it.

I kind of assumed the former or else it was just a rant...