GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on September 24, 2018, 04:50:15 PM

Title: JP McManus - Christmas comes early
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 24, 2018, 04:50:15 PM
€100,000 to every County Board  :D

Great man.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0924/995814-jp-mcmanus-donates-100-000-to-every-gaa-county-board/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0924/995814-jp-mcmanus-donates-100-000-to-every-gaa-county-board/)

Although is it tainted cash as it's gambling related?
Title: Re: JP McManus - Christmas comes early
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2018, 05:05:29 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 24, 2018, 04:50:15 PM
€100,000 to every County Board  :D

Great man.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0924/995814-jp-mcmanus-donates-100-000-to-every-gaa-county-board/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0924/995814-jp-mcmanus-donates-100-000-to-every-gaa-county-board/)

Although is it tainted cash as it's gambling related?
Very biased towards counties like Leitrim and Longford.
Post by: Jinxy on September 24, 2018, 05:12:58 PM
I've read that a few times now and I still can't see 'EXCEPT DUBLIN' written anywhere.  >:(
Post by: Solo_run on September 24, 2018, 05:18:46 PM
He could have easily reinvested that money back into Limerick hurling but instead has given a healthy sum to all counties. Fair play to him.
Post by: Jinxy on September 24, 2018, 05:21:36 PM
We now go live to Galway...

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT48a9UKwmjKiEdW0C4kYi8tojD_KV_f8VTyK3xtNW7RCTZ6ldk)
Post by: mrdeeds on September 24, 2018, 05:22:53 PM
Ballyragget will have some party.
Post by: tommysmith on September 24, 2018, 06:00:29 PM
Monaghan county board can fill a big hole with it.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 24, 2018, 06:01:48 PM
Dublin are using the money to buy Ciaran Kilkenny a new car.
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2018, 06:12:40 PM
I see JP believes in financial parity. If only he could convince the lads in Dublin.
Post by: balladmaker on September 24, 2018, 06:20:25 PM
JP for President! Some gesture!!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2018, 06:41:11 PM
How much of it will Mayo put towards debt repayments?
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2018, 06:50:03 PM
We'll take it no questions asked.
Now if the GAA could pull back and redistribute some of what they're throwing at Dublin. ......
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2018, 07:03:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2018, 06:41:11 PM
How much of it will Mayo put towards debt repayments?

Given it has to be split equally between the clubs, none.
Post by: Minder on September 24, 2018, 07:14:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 24, 2018, 06:37:57 PM
Fair play JP.

A much welcomed cash injection for the sleeping giants Antrim. We've already spent 10 grand of it, investing in a big wall to piss the remaining £90,000 up.

Yeah it would give you the shits to think how they will spend it
Post by: omaghjoe on September 24, 2018, 08:42:44 PM
Club treasurers families should have a nice set of presents the year  :P

Nah ..nice gesture from McManus and will gratefully received in clubs around the country
Post by: GetOverTheBar on September 24, 2018, 08:48:30 PM
Exceptional gesture from one man, no matter how much he has or where it came from.
Post by: trileacman on September 24, 2018, 09:30:39 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on September 24, 2018, 08:48:30 PM
Exceptional gesture from one man, no matter how much he has or where it came from.

Agreed.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 24, 2018, 09:56:33 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 24, 2018, 09:30:39 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on September 24, 2018, 08:48:30 PM

Agreed.

Exactly. No onus or obligation on him to do it. He's been a Godsend to Limerick GAA and he's putting his own money into it. To turn around and make this gesture is very very sound of him. Our own club will receive 1388 and while it's not going to do mad things, that's the price of a set of jerseys or 20 dozen sliotars or a well stocked first aid kit for all the teams. It's stuff you'd have to buy anyway as incidentals in keeping going, so even in a little way like that its very welcome.
Post by: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 10:31:40 PM
How much tax does JP pay each year on his earnings?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2018, 11:05:12 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 10:31:40 PM

I wonder how many pyjamas he has  :o

There's always one, probably same amount as Bono.

Great gesture and and a man who loves his GAA club and county, I heard a story when his club South Liberties were in the semifinals of the club championships (we were in the other semi) that he was going to give the players x amount of money as an extra incentive to get to the finals.

Must be great having a big investor belonging to your club

Post by: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 11:29:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2018, 11:05:12 PM

Great gesture and and a man who loves his GAA club and county, I heard a story when his club South Liberties were in the semifinals of the club championships (we were in the other semi) that he was going to give the players x amount of money as an extra incentive to get to the finals.

Most be great having a big investor belonging to your club

If Bono was to make the same offer would people feel the same way as they do to JP?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2018, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 11:29:08 PM

If Bono was to make the same offer would people feel the same way as they do to JP?

Who actually gives a shit? The man has given every county this sum of money that is very much needed. He didn't have to.

Now if you have something to say about the thread say it, or if you'd like to have a go at him, then start up another thread on JP and what tax he pays,  otherwise we'll be talking about The Gazza Strip and Trump and who blew up the twin towers
Post by: BennyHarp on September 24, 2018, 11:41:51 PM
I'd trust JP McManus to spend his money more wisely in Ireland through his various charities than I'd trust the Irish Government if he paid it to them in taxes.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 24, 2018, 11:49:17 PM
Nice gesture and welcome to local clubs and am sure he gives alot to charity but some organisations am sure could better spend the money
Post by: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 11:56:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2018, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 24, 2018, 11:29:08 PM

Who actually gives a shit? The man has given every county this sum of money that is very much needed. He didn't have to.

Now if you have something to say about the thread say it, or if you'd like to have a go at him, then start up another thread on JP and what tax he pays,  otherwise we'll be talking about The Gazza Strip and Trump and who blew up the twin towers

The man is a billionaire who hasn't paid income tax or capital gains tax in Ireland for 20 years.

While i'm happy to see clubs in our county get about £2,000 each, I would much rather see him pay his way in relation to
tax going towards hospitals and schools the same way as the ordinary working people do each week, people who in fact pay more tax than JP does each year.

Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:03:52 AM
PR gobshitery from McManus.

The little people are easily bought off with transparently empty gestures which are designed to gloss over his massive tax avoidance.

Robber barons like McManus are the problem with capitalism.

Post by: Therealdonald on September 25, 2018, 12:12:40 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 24, 2018, 11:41:51 PM
I'd trust JP McManus to spend his money more wisely in Ireland through his various charities than I'd trust the Irish Government if he paid it to them in taxes.

Exactly Benny. See the begrudgers down below. McManus built a stadium for Christ sake.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:31:23 AM
Quote from: Therealdonald on September 25, 2018, 12:12:40 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 24, 2018, 11:41:51 PM

Exactly Benny. See the begrudgers down below. McManus built a stadium for Christ sake.
McManus certainly begrudges paying taxes for healthcare, housing and education, things which actually benefit people far more than a PR stunt like this will, so one could very fairly say he's the ultimate begrudger.
Post by: give her dixie on September 25, 2018, 01:02:21 AM
Irish billionaire JP McManus 'has paid no tax in Ireland for 20 years'

Irish billionaire JP McManus has paid no income tax or capital gains tax in Ireland for the past 20 years, an official Revenue statement shows.

McManus "has not been registered for income tax or capital gains tax in Ireland since 1995," Revenue said in a statement reported by the Sunday Times.

McManus, who is regarded as the 11th richest person in Ireland, with assets just under €1.1billion, lives for part of the year in a €20million mansion near Kilmallock, Co Limerick.

The statement was included in court filings from the United States Inland Revenue Service, which is fighting an application by McManus to recoup €4.6million in taxes it held back after he won $17.4million playing backgammon with a fellow American billionaire.

McManus became tax-resident in Switzerland in the 1990s.

Under Revenue rules, he is not regarded as domiciled in Ireland if he is not in the state for 183 days or more during a year.

https://www.newstalk.com/Irish-billionaire-JP-McManus-has-paid-no-tax-in-Ireland-for-20-years
Post by: Therealdonald on September 25, 2018, 01:09:56 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 25, 2018, 01:02:21 AM

Irish billionaire JP McManus has paid no income tax or capital gains tax in Ireland for the past 20 years, an official Revenue statement shows.

McManus "has not been registered for income tax or capital gains tax in Ireland since 1995," Revenue said in a statement reported by the Sunday Times.

McManus, who is regarded as the 11th richest person in Ireland, with assets just under €1.1billion, lives for part of the year in a €20million mansion near Kilmallock, Co Limerick.

The statement was included in court filings from the United States Inland Revenue Service, which is fighting an application by McManus to recoup €4.6million in taxes it held back after he won $17.4million playing backgammon with a fellow American billionaire.

Under Revenue rules, he is not regarded as domiciled in Ireland if he is not in the state for 183 days or more during a year.

https://www.newstalk.com/Irish-billionaire-JP-McManus-has-paid-no-tax-in-Ireland-for-20-years

Is he doing anything different than what we would do in the same position?? Get a grip folks. PR stunt or not, its a nice gesture. My club will be very glad of it
Post by: give her dixie on September 25, 2018, 01:30:47 AM
Quote from: Therealdonald on September 25, 2018, 01:09:56 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 25, 2018, 01:02:21 AM

Is he doing anything different than what we would do in the same position?? Get a grip folks. PR stunt or not, its a nice gesture. My club will be very glad of it

The next time a GAA player waits for hours to be seen in a hospital, or has to pay towards the upkeep of their local school
they can take comfort in the fact that JP pays nothing towards these services but threw them a few pounds to their club.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2018, 07:34:04 AM
Typically the topic goes way off!

anyone who's self employed will try and cook the books to ensure they don't pay as much tax, Christ anyone who's got a sum of money from a job they did and got cash in hand and didn't declare it is in the same bracket as JP, difference being he's more money..

the problem doesn't lie with JP on avoiding tax, the problem lies with those who set the laws in relation to claiming tax off Irish citizens.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 25, 2018, 08:04:24 AM
I could laugh at the slabbering about him not paying tax when every one of us would play the system and use the best accountants available to avoid paying tax if we were in his position.
Post by: bannside on September 25, 2018, 08:37:56 AM
I wonder how many clubs will refuse to accept the offer as a matter of principle lol?
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2018, 08:39:20 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 25, 2018, 08:04:24 AM
I could laugh at the slabbering about him not paying tax when every one of us would play the system and use the best accountants available to avoid paying tax if we were in his position.

Try not to project your faulty morals on others.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2018, 08:50:33 AM
Anyways we could do with the money, thanks JP..

Will we have to pay tax on that or is it a gift  ;) ?
Post by: thebar on September 25, 2018, 08:57:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2018, 08:39:20 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 25, 2018, 08:04:24 AM

Try not to project your faulty morals on others.

He got the better of you Syferus :)
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 09:21:24 AM
Quote from: bannside on September 25, 2018, 08:37:56 AM
I wonder how many clubs will refuse to accept the offer as a matter of principle lol?
Galbally ?
Post by: iorras on September 25, 2018, 09:38:57 AM
I wouldn't pay tax either to the shower of gobshites we have governing us (and in opposition) if I could get away with it.
What the f do I pay tax for? Live in the country so:
Water - no service, have my own well
Sewage - no service, septic tank
Fire Service - want a grand if you call them out
Gardaí - good luck, they once got called when I had a monitored alarm at 10 AM and rang me at 5 to see "if everything was allright there"
Roads - pay separate road tax and VRT on that for two cars. Roads are still in shite and I'm sure I replace one tyre a year on each car directly related to potholes
Refuse Collection - pay for it myself
Public transport - good luck, 7 miles to the nearest bus stop
Schools - school always looking for handouts and "contributions"
School transport - pay for it, and if there was a child with a medical card on the route we'd be fecked off it because we pay. Fact.
Health Service - pay for me own health insurance
and 50 cents out of every euro goes to the clowns up above for all of the above "services".
yeah I know, shouldn't have built in the country, blah de blah. But we cant all live in Dublin, someone has to try and balance the country out so it doesn't tip over into the Oirish Sea

So hes dead right not to be paying tax to them shower of wasters so they can keep beardy trade union wasters in jobs. <End of Rant>

I wonder how Galway will invest their bit?
Post by: johnnycool on September 25, 2018, 09:50:58 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:03:52 AM

The little people are easily bought off with transparently empty gestures which are designed to gloss over his massive tax avoidance.

Whilst I entirely agree with you I do think there are double standards at play WRT paying tax in the South where JP is rightly frowned upon for not paying his dues, but the likes of Apple, Microsoft or whoever pay very little either and even when we're forced by the EU to bill them for €Billions we don't want to do that for some greater good.

€3.2million is small change to JP but welcome by every club in the land I'd have thought.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 25, 2018, 09:51:17 AM
As always it's very to live by your moral, values and ethics than it is to write about them.

JP is an interesting one, well know for avoiding direct tax but does he do enough indirectly, his foundation has supported close to €40m in community projects around Limerick.

He has over 100 horses in training in Ireland, the average training fee is €15000 per year. Another €15m that goes towards the economy indirectly per year, that doesn't include winnings of which a percentage goes to trainer, jockey and yard staff. He spends millions buying and selling horses, helping to pay and support the industry around that also.

His contributions to Limerick GAA, Munster Rugby and other sports around Limerick run into the millions.

I am sure there is other philanthropy going on in the backgorund oblivious to us all.

He's very much a global business man who makes his money on the global market, the US and the UK are probably much more entitled to those taxes than Ireland. He just epitomises the good and the bad about capitalism but to me he still has a sense of responsibility to his community.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 10:02:16 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 25, 2018, 09:50:58 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:03:52 AM

Whilst I entirely agree with you I do think there are double standards at play WRT paying tax in the South where JP is rightly frowned upon for not paying his dues, but the likes of Apple, Microsoft or whoever pay very little either and even when we're forced by the EU to bill them for €Billions we don't want to do that for some greater good.

€3.2million is small change to JP but welcome by every club in the land I'd have thought.
"We?"

The EU are dead right.

Global tax avoidance is the biggest problem with capitalism.

Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 10:09:39 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 25, 2018, 09:51:17 AM
As always it's very to live by your moral, values and ethics than it is to write about them.

JP is an interesting one, well know for avoiding direct tax but does he do enough indirectly, his foundation has supported close to €40m in community projects around Limerick.

He has over 100 horses in training in Ireland, the average training fee is €15000 per year. Another €15m that goes towards the economy indirectly per year, that doesn't include winnings of which a percentage goes to trainer, jockey and yard staff. He spends millions buying and selling horses, helping to pay and support the industry around that also.

His contributions to Limerick GAA, Munster Rugby and other sports around Limerick run into the millions.

I am sure there is other philanthropy going on in the backgorund oblivious to us all.

He's very much a global business man who makes his money on the global market, the US and the UK are probably much more entitled to those taxes than Ireland. He just epitomises the good and the bad about capitalism but to me he still has a sense of responsibility to his community.
Sure that's straight of the 1920s robber barons' handbook.

The "libertarian" "tax is theft" nonsense, that essential services should be at the mercy of the charity of the rich rather than be funded by a proper redistributive tax system.

I would have hoped that people had moved beyond this simplistic nonsense. It's the kind of thing you expect to hear from anti-"gub'mint" nut jobs in the US.

Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:27:50 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 10:09:39 AM

The "libertarian" "tax is theft" nonsense, that essential services should be at the mercy of the charity of the rich rather than be funded by a proper redistributive tax system.

I would have hoped that people had moved beyond this simplistic nonsense. It's the kind of thing you expect to hear from anti-"gub'mint" nut jobs in the US.

He  doesn't run his business from here and he's not tax-resident here. Should every emigrant be screwed by the Irish Revenue just because they'd the balls to succeed abroad?
Post by: iorras on September 25, 2018, 10:34:28 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:27:50 AM

He  doesn't run his business from here and he's not tax-resident here. Should every emigrant be screwed by the Irish Revenue just because they'd the balls to succeed abroad?
Well the good ole IRS want US citizens to file tax returns with them annually no matter where they live and if its over a certain amount will take a cut even after you have paid tax to the local gang wherever you live.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 25, 2018, 10:35:55 AM

He doesn't make his money in Ireland, so why the f**k should we be entitled to his taxes. Typical socialist bolloxology, as long as they have more money than me they should pay more taxes no wonder socialism as an ideology doesn't work. 
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:50:53 AM
Quote from: iorras on September 25, 2018, 10:34:28 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:27:50 AM

Well the good ole IRS want US citizens to file tax returns with them annually no matter where they live and if its over a certain amount will take a cut even after you have paid tax to the local gang wherever you live.

The likes of McManus pay damn all tax in the US. And the US has double tax treaties with almost all civilised countries, meaning that the same income is never taxed twice.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 10:51:44 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 25, 2018, 10:35:55 AM

He doesn't make his money in Ireland, so why the f**k should we be entitled to his taxes. Typical socialist bolloxology, as long as they have more money than me they should pay more taxes no wonder socialism as an ideology doesn't work.
If you think the wealthy shouldn't pay more taxes than the poor, your view is a very fringe, extremist, dangerous and plainly ludicrous one.

Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:53:50 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 10:51:44 AM

If you think the wealthy shouldn't pay more taxes than the poor, your view is a very fringe, extremist, dangerous and plainly ludicrous one.
The poor pay no tax here, as do a decent percentage of the comfortable, including OAPs.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:03:36 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 10:53:50 AM

The poor pay no tax here, as do a decent percentage of the comfortable, including OAPs.
Incorrect. Everybody pays tax, well, apart from the likes McManus, obviously.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:11:34 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:03:36 AM

How do you work that out??? Don't start with "the poor pay VAT" because so does McManus whenever he's here.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 11:21:51 AM
Paddy loves slobbering over the wealthy even though he's paying through the nose to make up for what the wealthy don't pay.
For all the giving out about him Michael O'Leary still lives here officially even though he makes an awful lot ofor his money abroad.
Anyway he didn't have to give this money so let's all take it.
Mind you it won't do a lot for Cork's 259 Clubs.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:22:52 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:11:34 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:03:36 AM

How do you work that out??? Don't start with "the poor pay VAT" because so does McManus whenever he's here.
Oh, well done Mr. McManus, paying a tiny bit of VAT while he's here. What a hero.

Yes, the poor do pay VAT and it affects them a hell of a lot more than it affects Mr. McManus.

As of 2015, the bottom 10% of people pay 29% of their incomes in tax, the top 10% pay 28%.

Leona Helmsley once said that only the little people pay taxes. Mr. McManus presumably is of the same view. Some of those same little people are some of his biggest supporters, blissfully unaware that he's playing them for fools.

Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:34:08 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:22:52 AM

Yes, the poor do pay VAT and it affects them a hell of a lot more than it affects Mr. McManus.

As of 2015, the bottom 10% of people pay 29% of their incomes in tax, the top 10% pay 28%.

Leona Helmsley once said that only the little people pay taxes. Mr. McManus presumably is of the same view. Some of those same little people are some of his biggest supporters, blissfully unaware that he's playing them for fools.

Have you a credible source for that claim or did it come from some taxpayer- or Soros-funded left wing lobby group?  I suspect the latter. Do prove me wrong.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 11:38:01 AM
What is it with Right wing extremists and their naked hatred of Mr. Soros?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 25, 2018, 11:38:33 AM
If someone from Switzerland wants to give GAA clubs a windfall like this, then it should be welcomed.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:39:13 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:34:08 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:22:52 AM

Have you a credible source for that claim or did it come from some taxpayer- or Soros-funded left wing lobby group?  I suspect the latter. Do prove me wrong.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/fintan-o-toole-the-myth-of-ireland-s-progressive-tax-system-1.2370113
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:40:02 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 11:38:01 AM
Pretty much always anti-semitism.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:44:54 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:40:02 AM
::)  Yep the people who criticise the unrepentant ex-Nazi tycoon who bankrolls anti-Israeli pressure groups like Amnesty International are are only doing so because they're anti-Semites?

You're a funny guy Sid.

And a Tintin O'Fool article doesn't count as a credible source. Go on now, do your homework.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 11:46:38 AM
https://www.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/saveselections.asp

From 2012.
The Israel lobby alive and well I see.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:49:26 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 25, 2018, 11:38:33 AM
If someone from Switzerland wants to give GAA clubs a windfall like this, then it should be welcomed.
Ursula Andress paid for a new (an)dressing room for O'Tooles in 1965 when she was in Dublin filming "The Blue Max" (the Dublin County Board named its youth develpment plan of the time after the film), but you didn't hear her crowing about it. However, she had a short answer when the club asked her to fund a new doctor. "No."
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:51:37 AM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:44:54 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:40:02 AM
::)  Yep the people who criticise the unrepentant ex-Nazi tycoon who bankrolls anti-Israeli pressure groups like Amnesty International are are only doing so because they're anti-Semites?

You're a funny guy Sid.

And a Tintin O'Fool article doesn't count as a credible source. Go on now, do your homework.
You're just proving me right on the anti-semitism part.

"Tintin O'Fool". Yeah, thanks for that brilliant point.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 11:56:51 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 11:46:38 AM
https://www.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/saveselections.asp

From 2012.
The Israel lobby alive and well I see.

Dud link.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 12:01:18 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:51:37 AM

Anti-semites because they object to a guy who pays goons to attack Israel.  Yeah right.  ;D

No sign of your source for that other claim.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 12:08:49 PM
So people who object to the illegal activities and child murders of the rogue Israeli state are not alone "Anti Semites" but "goons" as well.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 12:13:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 12:08:49 PM
So people who object to the illegal activities and child murders of the rogue Israeli state are not alone "Anti Semites" but "goons" as well.

We were discussing Soros, remember? Ironically he made his fortune in the same way as McManus did - in currency speculation against countries and populations suffering economic downturns.  But two legs good eh?
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:20:01 PM
Quote from: five points on September 25, 2018, 12:01:18 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 11:51:37 AM

Anti-semites because they object to a guy who pays goons to attack Israel.  Yeah right.  ;D

No sign of your source for that other claim.
Invoking the word "Soros" followed by unhinged conspiracy theory nonsense is a well worn anti-semitic technique.

Viktor Orban of Hungary, a blatant anti-semite, is one of the primary practitioners. The US alt-right (far right) have made it a sinister art form.

The source is in the O'Toole article, dumbo. O'Toole makes specific reference to it. I'm presuming you can read, so please try and utilise that ability.
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 12:46:53 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 25, 2018, 12:20:01 PM
Invoking the word "Soros" followed by unhinged conspiracy theory nonsense is a well worn anti-semitic technique.
No it's not.
Viktor Orban of Hungary, a blatant anti-semite, is one of the primary practitioners. The US alt-right (far right) have made it a sinister art form.
The source is in the O'Toole article, dumbo. O'Toole makes specific reference to it. I'm presuming you can read, so please try and utilise that ability.
I'm not reading that crap. I asked you for the source, not some second-hand reference. I ask again, it's put up or shut up.

And I guarantee you again that some lobby group invented it. Whether they're funded by the taxpayer or by Soros is beside the point anyway.

Quotedumbo.
Clinching argument there.
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2018, 12:59:20 PM
When lads start banging on about George Soros, you know it's time to stick a fork in this place.
We had a good run.
Post by: trailer on September 25, 2018, 01:26:49 PM
Wow this thread has disappeared up it's own ass. From club donations to Israel. Excellent work, well done to all involved.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2018, 01:38:04 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 25, 2018, 01:26:49 PM
Wow this thread has disappeared up it's own ass. From club donations to Israel. Excellent work, well done to all involved.

The minute Give her dixie got on board it was only going one way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: five points on September 25, 2018, 01:41:58 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 25, 2018, 01:26:49 PM
It sums up how McManus is seen though.

In this country, if you're a fantastically rich socialist tycoon, they'll love you and make all sorts of excuses for you.

If you're a fantastically rich tycoon, but not a socialist, they'll attack you as a tax avoider and worse.
Post by: trileacman on September 25, 2018, 01:59:35 PM
Didn't take long for the begrudgers to roll out in force. Mcmanus breaks no laws by being a tax exile in Switzerland, if he has point them out.

I suppose you pay more tax than you're meant to every year lads, since that's seemingly what you expect McManus to do.
Post by: spuds on September 25, 2018, 02:22:29 PM
Good man JP and feck the begrudgers. He has helped the Staker Wallace club build class facilities also near where he lives when home in Co. Limerick.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/a-small-club-thinking-big-231640.html

Few shillings very welcome in many clubs up and down the country.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 03:13:23 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 25, 2018, 01:59:35 PM
Mcmanus breaks no laws by being a tax exile in Switzerland,
Neither did Hitler ;)
Post by: westbound on September 25, 2018, 03:13:52 PM
This really is a ridiculous thread!

Have any of you guys ever claimed tax relief on medical expenses?

Or claimed tax relief on your pension contributions?

It's the same principle that JP McManus is using to avoid paying tax. He is abiding by the laws to pay as little tax as possible (Just like every one of us here).

Blame the laws, blame the system or blame the government if you don't like the rules. But I cannot see how you can blame an individual for organising his affairs in such a way to pay as little tax as possible. As I said we all try to organise our affairs to minimise our tax exposure.

If he has broken laws to avoid paying tax then that's a different matter (I've never read anything to suggest that he has!)
Post by: dublin7 on September 25, 2018, 03:35:51 PM
Quote from: westbound on September 25, 2018, 03:13:52 PM

It's the same principle that JP McManus is using to avoid paying tax. He is abiding by the laws to pay as little tax as possible (Just like every one of us here).

Blame the laws, blame the system or blame the government if you don't like the rules. But I cannot see how you can blame an individual for organising his affairs in such a way to pay as little tax as possible. As I said we all try to organise our affairs to minimise our tax exposure.

If he has broken laws to avoid paying tax then that's a different matter (I've never read anything to suggest that he has!)

I'm just disappointed Dublin got the exact same as everyone else.  Dublin should have got at least twice the amount Leitrim got for example as the €100,000 wouldn't go anywhere near as far. How is that fair?
Post by: RedHand88 on September 25, 2018, 03:37:11 PM
The begrudgers here giving off about JPs tax bill would of course never run their cars on red diesel or accept cash in hand for a job on the sly.
Post by: Tubberman on September 25, 2018, 03:46:20 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 25, 2018, 03:35:51 PM
Quote from: westbound on September 25, 2018, 03:13:52 PM

I'm just disappointed Dublin got the exact same as everyone else.  Dublin should have got at least twice the amount Leitrim got for example as the €100,000 wouldn't go anywhere near as far. How is that fair?

Alright Mossy, you told that one before.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 25, 2018, 03:53:55 PM
Nobody seems to bothered that the money may be coming from gambling wins.

With so many unfortunates addicted out there it's sad to see the thread veer off into a tax avoidance matter (that I am guilty of as well in my pension contributions, my bike and, in the apst, investing in films) as opposed to commentary on the scourge of gambling.

Ah well!

Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2018, 04:17:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 25, 2018, 03:53:55 PM

With so many unfortunates addicted out there it's sad to see the thread veer off into a tax avoidance matter (that I am guilty of as well in my pension contributions, my bike and, in the apst, investing in films) as opposed to commentary on the scourge of gambling.

Ah well!

What no one has mentioned is that it's widely accepted JP McAnus made millions speculating against our currency back in the 80's which forced a devaluation crisis and resulted in misery for the vast majority of the population of the country at the time. I won't forget that, even if others seem to think he's some sort of latter day Robin Hood.

Very interesting the different attitudes to for example Bono, who pays tax in this country and is resident here and never did anything detrimental to the national economy versus this guy. Hypocrisy much?
Post by: trailer on September 25, 2018, 04:36:43 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2018, 04:17:59 PM

Ah well!

What no one has mentioned is that it's widely accepted JP McAnus made millions speculating against our currency back in the 80's which forced a devaluation crisis and resulted in misery for the vast majority of the population of the country at the time. I won't forget that, even if others seem to think he's some sort of latter day Robin Hood.

Very interesting the different attitudes to for example Bono, who pays tax in this country and is resident here and never did anything detrimental to the national economy versus this guy. Hypocrisy much?

Did Bono and U2 not move their company to the Netherlands?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 25, 2018, 04:40:33 PM
U2 have many companies - but the company that holds the publishing income is based in the Netherlands.

As an Irish resident Bono pays Irish tax/prsi and usc on his worldwide income. If he draws no income from NL then he is not taxed on this. The income generated in NL may be used to pay for famine relief in Sudan - I dont know.

But he pays his tax here - same as the rest of us living in Rep of Ireland.
Post by: westbound on September 25, 2018, 05:36:07 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 25, 2018, 04:40:33 PM
U2 have many companies - but the company that holds the publishing income is based in the Netherlands.

As an Irish resident Bono pays Irish tax/prsi and usc on his worldwide income. If he draws no income from NL then he is not taxed on this. The income generated in NL may be used to pay for famine relief in Sudan - I dont know.

But he pays his tax here - same as the rest of us living in Rep of Ireland.

That's the key point - JP is not 'living here' according to the tax rules.

As I said before, maybe the tax rules should be changed, but that's a different argument.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 25, 2018, 06:13:29 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 25, 2018, 03:37:11 PM
The begrudgers here giving off about JPs tax bill would of course never run their cars on red diesel or accept cash in hand for a job on the sly.
Most people don't
Post by: Therealdonald on September 25, 2018, 06:20:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2018, 04:17:59 PM

Ah well!

He also made millions from playing Backgammon as well. Too many do-gooders on this board. I call you guys the missionary missionaries.
Post by: bennydorano on September 25, 2018, 07:02:40 PM
Good man JP.

Wonder will we see an opinion piece on the evil JP from Ewan McKenna?  ???
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2018, 07:22:49 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 25, 2018, 06:13:29 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 25, 2018, 03:37:11 PM
Most people don't
That's only 6 Cos  behaviour.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2018, 08:07:28 PM
Not a real Irish man then!!!!
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2018, 09:03:57 PM
I expect you could count on one hand the number of mega-wealthy individuals whose careers didn't involve some combination of tax evasion, bribery, corruption, cruelty to employees, and peddling of products or services that have brought unhappiness to some people.

It goes with the territory.

But I've always found it odd and disappointing that Ireland's mega rich have seemingly no spirit of philanthropy, whereas their forefathers and cousins who left for America seem determined to leave this world with their name etched on bridges, libraries, scholarships and stadia.

Hopefully JP sets a trend in motion here. And even if he doesn't, 3.2m is not only a welcome boost to the clubs, but a wonderful recognition that we are all one association.
Post by: trileacman on September 25, 2018, 10:45:05 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2018, 09:03:57 PM
I expect you could count on one hand the number of mega-wealthy individuals whose careers didn't involve some combination of tax evasion, bribery, corruption, cruelty to employees, and peddling of products or services that have brought unhappiness to some people.

It goes with the territory.

But I've always found it odd and disappointing that Ireland's mega rich have seemingly no spirit of philanthropy, whereas their forefathers and cousins who left for America seem determined to leave this world with their name etched on bridges, libraries, scholarships and stadia.

Hopefully JP sets a trend in motion here. And even if he doesn't, 3.2m is not only a welcome boost to the clubs, but a wonderful recognition that we are all one association.

For me that stems from the narcissism of the Americans compared with the more unassuming nature of the Irish.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 25, 2018, 10:54:48 PM
JP McManus' tax issue is not new news. So to those people using the news of the donation to the GAA clubs as an opportunity to vent about his tax status, would you be happier if he didn't give this money to the GAA and will you be lobbying your club not to accept it as a point of principle?
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2018, 11:48:42 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 25, 2018, 10:54:48 PM
JP McManus' tax issue is not new news. So to those people using the news of the donation to the GAA clubs as an opportunity to vent about his tax status, would you be happier if he didn't give this money to the GAA and will you be lobbying your club not to accept it as a point of principle?

These attempts to pretend you can't have an opinion on tax dodging just because he gave a few Euros to the GAA are a crock of shít.
Post by: Therealdonald on September 26, 2018, 12:38:00 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2018, 11:48:42 PM

These attempts to pretend you can't have an opinion on tax dodging just because he gave a few Euros to the GAA are a crock of shít.

It's not about that. He's not breaking any laws. In same position we would all do the same and base ourselves outside of the country to save money. Don't pretend that we're all whiter than white
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2018, 12:48:45 AM
No we wouldn't.
Some of us would follow Michael O'Leary's example and stay at home full time in our own Country with no pretend residences overseas.
Some of us also are not overawed/arse lick people who have made loads of money.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/comment-generous-gaa-gesture-from-jp-mcmanus-comes-with-a-caveat-37352530.html
Post by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2018, 06:57:07 AM

But people have come out of the woodwork to sling the tax dodging accusation at him after this donation. The board wasn't full of anti JP posts three or four days ago. I'm just asking the question, as a point of principle are you going to lobby your club not to take the money?
Post by: Syferus on September 26, 2018, 06:59:04 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2018, 06:57:07 AM

But people have come out of the woodwork to sling the tax dodging accusation at him after this donation. The board wasn't dull of anti JP posts three or four days ago. I'm just asking the question, as a point of principle are you going to lobby your club not to take the money?

This was a terrible argument the first time you posed the 'question' too.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2018, 07:03:10 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 26, 2018, 06:59:04 AM

But people have come out of the woodwork to sling the tax dodging accusation at him after this donation. The board wasn't dull of anti JP posts three or four days ago. I'm just asking the question, as a point of principle are you going to lobby your club not to take the money?

Are you going to lobby your club not to accept the money? What a great opportunity for the GAA grassroots to stand up and take a principled position against tax dodging billionaires. Surely self styled principled people like yourself should be leading this charge by showing that his money is not welcome?
Post by: rrhf on September 26, 2018, 07:28:46 AM
Must not be involved in the running of a club. Couple of grand of footballs and jerseys makes a big difference.  This type of philanthropy is all too rare from the big earners towards the clubs and is to be welcomed. There wasn't too much critique when it was going into Limerick alone.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 26, 2018, 07:48:04 AM
It's obvious that Syferus is not involved with a club, nor played Gaelic games so would have absolutely no idea of the worth of a couple of grand going into a club, his reaction and that of others is like saying Kinahan Cartel has donated the money !
Post by: bennydorano on September 26, 2018, 08:06:55 AM
It's just the social media Contratranism mindset.
Post by: Hound on September 26, 2018, 09:03:25 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 26, 2018, 12:48:45 AM
No we wouldn't.
Some of us would follow Michael O'Leary's example and stay at home full time in our own Country with no pretend residences overseas.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/comment-generous-gaa-gesture-from-jp-mcmanus-comes-with-a-caveat-37352530.html

Not sure you can directly compare O'Leary and McManus like that. O'Leary is a director of an Irish company, so no matter what salary/benefits he gets from that company it has to be subject to income tax in Ireland, even if he spent 183+ days abroad.

Although he might be able to reduce his capital gains tax on sales of shares if he moves abroad
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2018, 10:14:42 AM
This is an example of philanthropy that is very welcome to clubs. But the bigger question is why anyone needs a billion euros. Adare used to have people who captured most of the cash-flows in the past. So did most parishes. They were called landlords. I don't think any club is named after them.
Post by: westbound on September 26, 2018, 10:50:49 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 26, 2018, 12:48:45 AM
No we wouldn't.

Do you have an issue with people choosing to claim tax relief on health expenses? Or should we all just decide to pay the tax and not claim the tax relief we are entitled to?

JP mcmanus chooses to spend less than 183 days living in Ireland in a year and pays less tax as a result.

Whilst the amounts of money involved are different, the principle is the same.

Also, I think your reference to 'pretend residences' is unfair. If you know that JP McManus (or anyone else) is illegally evading tax laws I suggest you report them to Revenue.
Post by: five points on September 26, 2018, 10:59:27 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 26, 2018, 10:14:42 AM
This is an example of philanthropy that is very welcome to clubs. But the bigger question is why anyone needs a billion euros. Adare used to have people who captured most of the cash-flows in the past. So did most parishes. They were called landlords. I don't think any club is named after them.

Struggling to detect a point here. JP McManus hasn't amassed his fortune by going round door-to-door ripping off people, or exploiting the people of Adare or anywhere else.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 26, 2018, 11:00:13 AM
Ye just KNOW the churlish cnuts on here complaining are EXACTLY the type of people who would NEVER put their hand in their own pocket to give a single sou to any charitable cause of any description. 
Post by: Orchard park on September 26, 2018, 11:49:23 AM

What tax dodging.... not domiciled here and earns his money abroad.  Invests and supports more in direct contributions in ROI than this gaa grant every year with no fanfare.....
Post by: magpie seanie on September 26, 2018, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2018, 07:03:10 AM

Are you going to lobby your club not to accept the money? What a great opportunity for the GAA grassroots to stand up and take a principled position against tax dodging billionaires. Surely self styled principled people like yourself should be leading this charge by showing that his money is not welcome?

The money is of course welcome but what bothers me is the multitudes praising him as "very generous" and a great men etc. When you go into that territory I think a fuller examination of the facts is warranted. We all know the dangers of groupthink in this country. The speculating against our currency forcing the devaluation and the ensuing misery for so many here sticks in my craw. My Dad was unemployed for a good period of time back then and it really affected him though thankfully not in a permanent way. Others were doubtless less fortunate. So I'm not going to sit idly by while eveyone hsails him as a great Irishman becasue the facts don't bear that out.
Post by: Orchard park on September 26, 2018, 12:07:31 PM
I dontbknow of his inbolvement in devaluing the Irish punt,

Sterling and more famously the Mexican peso were his huge currency plays I thought...
Post by: Therealdonald on September 26, 2018, 07:20:03 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 26, 2018, 12:07:31 PM
I dontbknow of his inbolvementbin devaluing ygebitish punt,

Sterling and more famously the Mexican peso were his huge currency plays I thought...

Former bookie-turned-gambler JP McManus was nicknamed the 'Sundance Kid' for his sensational betting coups at Cheltenham and other racetracks. But he's made far, far more money gambling on currency and financial derivatives from his Geneva trading centre. The 63-year-old Limerickman is said to have made an absolute killing when the Mexican peso devalued in 1995.

He often invests with close friend and Coolmore Stud boss John Magnier. The two hold a 23pc stake in €2.12bn British pub firm Mitchells & Butler. He is also prominent in property, often with Aidan Brooks' Sloane Capital, and has bought the €250m Unilever HQ in London as well as a major block of real estate by Place de Vendome in Paris. His family spent €10m to buy Bernard McNamara's home on Ailesbury Road in 2011 to add to the €100m faux Georgian pile in Martinstown, Limerick, which is believed to be Ireland's biggest residence.

Recently McManus spent about €30m to buy Adare Manor, where he hosts his charity pro-am golf competition. His charity, the JP McManus Foundation, has donated €56m to good causes in the last 13 years. McManus treated himself to a new €55m Gulfstream G650 jet last year.
Post by: give her dixie on September 26, 2018, 11:50:47 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on September 26, 2018, 11:00:13 AM
Ye just KNOW the churlish cnuts on here complaining are EXACTLY the type of people who would NEVER put their hand in their own pocket to give a single sou to any charitable cause of any description.

Have you any evidence to back that statement up ?
Post by: give her dixie on September 26, 2018, 11:55:24 PM

You raise a good point in that it will be interesting to see if any clubs refuse to take the money based on questions around his tax affairs.

Not only that, given his association to gambling, it will also be interesting to see if anyone speaks out around that issue.

I guess we will have to wait and see if there is any fallout in relation to those issues.
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2018, 11:56:55 PM
€140m to buy 3 houses in a Country he doesn't live in ::) ::)
Post by: sid waddell on September 27, 2018, 01:33:52 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 26, 2018, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2018, 07:03:10 AM

The money is of course welcome but what bothers me is the multitudes praising him as "very generous" and a great men etc. When you go into that territory I think a fuller examination of the facts is warranted. We all know the dangers of groupthink in this country. The speculating against our currency forcing the devaluation and the ensuing misery for so many here sticks in my craw. My Dad was unemployed for a good period of time back then and it really affected him though thankfully not in a permanent way. Others were doubtless less fortunate. So I'm not going to sit idly by while eveyone hsails him as a great Irishman becasue the facts don't bear that out.
He's a rapacious vulture and a disaster capitalist.

For comparative purposes it would be gas to see the reaction had some of these vulture funds thrown a few crumbs to GAA clubs for PR purposes.
Post by: trailer on September 27, 2018, 10:48:12 AM
Irish man does good. We'll show him, bring him down a peg or two. Begrudgery alive and well. 
Post by: general_lee on September 27, 2018, 11:05:50 AM
Nice gesture. Yes he's filthy rich and what he gave is pittance but so what? I don't ever recall my club getting money handed to them anytime recently without having to compete with, among others, Orange halls for funds, grants etc
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2018, 11:16:36 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 27, 2018, 10:48:12 AM
Irish man does good. We'll show him, bring him down a peg or two. Begrudgery alive and well.
A good sense of begrudgery is what keeps this Country sane! !
Otherwise we end up as slobberers over our "betters" like the Brits over their Royals or Yanks over various arseholes.
Begrudgery and Cynicism ABÚ
Post by: Hound on September 27, 2018, 03:46:45 PM
It should probably be looked at as a Swiss man with Limerick roots who's been giving generously to Limerick/Munster sports and has now decided to give €3.2m to the GAA as a whole.

We could go down a route (I think the US has something like this), where if an Irish resident wishes to move tax residence elsewhere, part of the process is that he hands in his Irish passport.

And then if you wish to come back to Ireland as a resident in the future, you need to file tax returns for all the periods you were resident outside Ireland (again, I've heard that the US has such a rule for US residents who go away and come back - hence when they do emigrate, they continue to file US tax returns so as not to fall into this scenario).

However, the above would obviously have bad consequences for all the Irish who move abroad because the have to for jobs, etc. and forcing them to give up Irish passports, just so we can get at the McManuses and Denis O'Briens, etc, would hardly be fair.
Post by: five points on September 27, 2018, 04:03:29 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 03:46:45 PM

We could go down a route (I think the US has something like this), where if an Irish resident wishes to move tax residence elsewhere, part of the process is that he hands in his Irish passport.

The US is neither partitioned nor has lost at various stages since independence half its people to emigration in search of work.
Post by: Beffs on September 27, 2018, 06:47:30 PM
It should probably be looked at as a Swiss man with Limerick roots who's been giving generously to Limerick/Munster sports and has now decided to give €3.2m to the GAA as a whole.

And then if you wish to come back to Ireland as a resident in the future, you need to file tax returns for all the periods you were resident outside Ireland (again, I've heard that the US has such a rule for US residents who go away and come back - hence when they do emigrate, they continue to file US tax returns so as not to fall into this scenario).

However, the above would obviously have bad consequences for all the Irish who move abroad because the have to for jobs, etc. and forcing them to give up Irish passports, just so we can get at the McManuses and Denis O'Briens, etc, would hardly be fair.

A Swiss man with Limerick roots my hole !  ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 28, 2018, 02:19:05 PM
Of course not. But plenty of GAA folk popped at rugby and soccer taking O'Briens cash...
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 28, 2018, 02:20:56 PM
He is Jewish
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 28, 2018, 02:24:21 PM
Quote from: five points on September 27, 2018, 04:03:29 PM

The US is neither partitioned nor has lost at various stages since independence half its people to emigration in search of work.
You are comparing an offshored billionaire to someone who had to emigrate to work?
Post by: sid waddell on September 28, 2018, 02:33:09 PM

Have you ever looked at a map?

What other US state does Alaska border?
Post by: five points on September 28, 2018, 02:42:10 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 28, 2018, 02:33:09 PM

::) Do you know what partition means?
Post by: armaghniac on September 28, 2018, 10:32:04 PM

The US bought Alaska, it is like a farmer buying an outfield. Hardly a tragedy.
Post by: trailer on September 28, 2018, 11:21:31 PM

Is this a serious comment?
Post by: omaghjoe on September 29, 2018, 05:18:46 AM
In theory it should be interesting how a topic could go from gaa clubs getting a few extra pounds to Alaska becoming a us state.
In practice tho.... :-\
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2018, 08:03:26 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 29, 2018, 05:18:46 AM
In theory it should be interesting how a topic could go from gaa clubs getting a few extra pounds to Alaska becoming a us state.

It just took one clampit to steer away off topic and low and behold pages of crap... this was a three page topic at best on what he done and how well it will be received by clubs
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 29, 2018, 11:35:29 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2018, 08:03:26 AM

It just took one clampit to steer away off topic and low and behold pages of crap... this was a three page topic at best on what he done and how well it will be received by clubs
Asking should the GAA accept money from source x is not off topic in a thread about x giving money to the GAA in the context of x not paying tax
Post by: bennydorano on September 29, 2018, 06:03:54 PM
I hope all the conscientous objectors have written letters to their clubs' management committees imploring them to reject the funds out of hand.
Post by: thejuice on September 29, 2018, 07:46:18 PM
I'm glad of the money especially for my club as we are trying to sort out a new pitch but I still don't like tax dodging and currency speculation but none of that is ever going to go away it seems. Not much more to say is there really?
Post by: trileacman on September 29, 2018, 08:20:38 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 29, 2018, 07:46:18 PM
I'm glad of the money especially for my club as we are trying to sort out a new pitch but I still don't like tax dodging and currency speculation but none of that is ever going to go away it seems. Not much more to say is there really?

I'm sure JP probably doesn't like tax dodging or the ill effects of currency speculation either but if you're faced with the reality of it costing you several hundred million euro I'm sure your moral objections would diminish fairly significantly.

I'm not saying JP is the good guy but the C Montgomery Burns charicature of Irish billionaires is something I find to be unfair. They're really the same as you or me the sole difference being they're a lot more successful at being greedy than we are.
Post by: thejuice on September 29, 2018, 09:16:48 PM
I don't hold onto any caricatures of Irish billionaires and I'm sure handing over millions to the government isn't a joyful experience but with public services badly in need of funding it's not like we can ignore it. Not that I expect anything to be done about it either.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2018, 09:29:42 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 29, 2018, 08:20:38 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 29, 2018, 07:46:18 PM

I'm sure JP probably doesn't like tax dodging or the ill effects of currency speculation either but if you're faced with the reality of it costing you several hundred million euro I'm sure your moral objections would diminish fairly significantly.

I'm not saying JP is the good guy but the C Montgomery Burns charicature of Irish billionaires is something I find to be unfair. They're really the same as you or me the sole difference being they're a lot more successful at being greedy than we are.
Speak for yourself buck.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2018, 09:42:30 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on September 29, 2018, 11:35:29 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2018, 08:03:26 AM

Asking should the GAA accept money from source axis not off topic in a thread about x giving money to the GAA in the context of x not paying tax

Pure bullshit! But carry on
Post by: AZOffaly on September 29, 2018, 11:13:49 PM
I see Mayo have excluded two hurling only clubs apparently. Ironic.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2018, 11:41:46 PM
Anything that stops the spread of hurley stuff.......
Post by: Syferus on September 29, 2018, 11:44:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 29, 2018, 11:13:49 PM

That'll teach them.
Post by: dec on September 30, 2018, 02:21:34 AM

"Both clubs are hurling clubs directly involved with the promotion of Gaelic games at an underage level in Mayo, participated in County Board ran  competitions in 2018 up to U21 level and were host clubs for the national Feile na nGael competition held in Connacht in June this year."

I wonder is it anything to do with them not having senior teams. Do the clubs count as clubs for other purposes (all Ireland tickets, delegates to congress)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 30, 2018, 08:27:38 AM
Quote from: dec on September 30, 2018, 02:21:34 AM

"Both clubs are hurling clubs directly involved with the promotion of Gaelic games at an underage level in Mayo, participated in County Board ran  competitions in 2018 up to U21 level and were host clubs for the national Feile na nGael competition held in Connacht in June this year."

I wonder is it anything to do with them not having senior teams. Do the clubs count as clubs for other purposes (all Ireland tickets, delegates to congress)
That's very mean if true
U21 is an adult competition
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 09:35:05 AM
Ballyvary is my Club. Disappointed that it has come to it being aired in the National media in order to get our rightful dues.  A Club that constantly is fighting against the odds to provide a Hurling option to our local community. I know if this club did not exist my three children more than likely would not be playing hurling.

A disgrace.
Post by: didlyi on September 30, 2018, 09:44:49 AM
Considering where the money came from and his investment to promote the games around the country then this is a poor decision by the Mayo county board. And for them not to comment on it makes it worse.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 10:10:37 AM
If the money was shared out evenly - everybody would get €2,000

With the 2 clubs excluded - everybody gets €2,083.

Mayo County Board have brought on all this hassle on themselves so that 48 clubs get  €83 extra each!

Crazy!
Post by: larryin89 on September 30, 2018, 10:37:14 AM
If I had my way I'd ban fcooking hurling completely from Mayo .
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 11:47:28 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on September 30, 2018, 10:37:14 AM

The village idiot has spoken!
Post by: theticklemister on September 30, 2018, 01:28:18 PM
So why did they not get their share?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 01:53:24 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 30, 2018, 01:28:18 PM

Probably because they don't have Senior teams and like the Larry89 Lad they are hoping these clubs will fade away and leave the county to playing Football.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 30, 2018, 03:04:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 01:53:24 PM

Probably because they don't have Senior teams and like the Larry89 Lad they are hoping these clubs will fade away and leave the county to playing Football.

Any hope of these clubs getting a senior team any time soon? Ballyvary has been on the go for quite a while now.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 30, 2018, 03:14:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on September 30, 2018, 10:37:14 AM
Mayo are actually doing  better at football with more hurling clubs in the county.
Go figure
Post by: Real Talk on September 30, 2018, 05:28:58 PM
I wonder how much the Football Clubs in Kilkenny are getting ?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 08:26:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 30, 2018, 03:04:59 PM

Any hope of these clubs getting a senior team any time soon? Ballyvary has been on the go for quite a while now.

Ballyvary club is 13 years old.  Their oldest player if still playing would be 25. The club has teams up to under 14 on their own and amalgamate with James Stephenites Ballina for older age groups. Holding onto players in a Gaelic and Soccer dominated area is very difficult. It's hard to go up against tradition! Athletic lads naturally gravitate towards the glamour of Gaelic as they come into their teenage years. The nearest Sportstar that any young lad sees as a hero, from Mayo and a Hurler is Keith Higgins.

Anyway the club does great work and after a few patchy years have turned a corner the last year or two with huge numbers in registration. A Senior team remains a dream and hopefully in time there will be enough lads still living in the county to achieve this goal.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 30, 2018, 08:30:20 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on September 30, 2018, 05:28:58 PM

They be dual clubs, should get double
Post by: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 08:28:37 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 30, 2018, 08:26:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 30, 2018, 03:04:59 PM

Ballyvary club is 13 years old.  Their oldest player if still playing would be 25. The club has teams up to under 14 on their own and amalgamate with James Stephenites Ballina for older age groups. Holding onto players in a Gaelic and Soccer dominated area is very difficult. It's hard to go up against tradition! Athletic lads naturally gravitate towards the glamour of Gaelic as they come into their teenage years. The nearest Sportstar that any young lad sees as a hero, from Mayo and a Hurler is Keith Higgins.

Anyway the club does great work and after a few patchy years have turned a corner the last year or two with huge numbers in registration. A Senior team remains a dream and hopefully in time there will be enough lads still living in the county to achieve this goal.

Are they a properly affiliated club, i.e. do they pay the same affiliation and insurance fees as every other club?
Post by: johnnycool on October 01, 2018, 09:50:53 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on September 30, 2018, 05:28:58 PM

I'd say the same as the hurling ones or you would have heard about it by now.

Post by: five points on October 01, 2018, 10:57:29 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 08:28:37 AM

Are they a properly affiliated club, i.e. do they pay the same affiliation and insurance fees as every other club?

Highly unlikely. They were asked this question over the weekend on Twitter but didn't reply. Their twitter account has been active in the meantime.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 12:39:39 PM
Quote from: five points on October 01, 2018, 10:57:29 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 08:28:37 AM

Highly unlikely. They were asked this question over the weekend on Twitter but didn't reply. Their twitter account has been active in the meantime.

That's the answer so.
Post by: five points on October 01, 2018, 01:21:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 12:39:39 PM
That's the answer so.

Amazing how clubs can get away with acting the maggot like this and effectively bringing their own county boards into disrepute.

The question posed to Ballyvary on twitter was prompted by someone calling the Mayo county board "morons".
Post by: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 01:58:53 PM
Quote from: five points on October 01, 2018, 01:21:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 12:39:39 PM
That's the answer so.

Amazing how clubs can get away with acting the maggot like this and effectively bringing their own county boards into disrepute.

The question posed to Ballyvary on twitter was prompted by someone calling the Mayo county board "morons".

County Boards and GAA officialdom are easy targets. They don't get everything right, far from it, but are probably in possession of more information than most when they make decisions.