Ard Mhacha v Maigh Eo Craobh Cluiche Ceannais Peile Mionúir na hÉireann

Started by TacadoirArdMhacha, August 30, 2009, 06:18:37 PM

Real1995

McVerry looking forward to the day (and the win!)
Armagh's -  Eugene McVerry
17 September 2009

He may be only 5 foot 9 inches in height but key Armagh Minor footballer Eugene McVerry certainly packs a lot in for a man of his stature. The Mullaghbawn attacker is looking forward to this year's ESB All-Ireland Minor final - a chance to topple Mayo and bring a first All-Ireland title in this grade back to the Orchard County since 1949.

Like any teenager his age it's a hectic time for 18-year old Eugene McVerry as he looks ahead to embarking on a new period in his life this month as the former Abbey student begins his third level college days at the famed University of Ulster in Jordanstown.

But 'the Poly' - known for its' strong GAA tradition isn't the only thing on McVerry's mind at the moment - indeed the focus for him and the rest of his Armagh colleagues is about bridging a 60-year gap and bringing the Tom Markham Cup to the Orchard County for only the second time in the 125 year history of the GAA.

There have been some notable scalps along the way - most notable victory over Tyrone in the Ulster Championship earlier this Summer.

The Red Hands went into the game as reigning Ulster and All-Ireland champions and McVerry believes that victory was a crucial spring-board for his side this year.

"The Tyrone game - we were playing the defending Ulster and All-Ireland champions and it was always going to be a massive hurdle to get over. Robbie (Tasker) stepped up in the last minute and buried a penalty and once we beat Tyrone that day it gave us an extra bit of confidence," he said.

"We always knew that we were a good team but it was just to get over the first hurdle. A lot of boys hadn't played Ulster Championship football and it was just to get over the first hurdle and take it one game at a time. We've done that and luckily enough we have come this far."

It was a major turnaround for Armagh, who crashed out of last year's Championship to Cavan at the first hurdle.

McVerry recalls the disappointments his side have faced in the past two years.

"I played against Cavan last year and we were no good. We were given a lesson over in Breffni Park. The year before we were hammered by Tyrone in Clones. These have been the biggest games of my career so far this year.

"Getting to play in Croke Park is the main attraction. It's unbelievable playing there and that's what gets us nervous, but nerves are good and that's what gets us ready for the big battle.

"Last year was definitely disappointing and we gave a bad showing ourselves. But that was last year's team. This year's team is completely different and a lot better and stronger. We are together and proved that we are a good side. We have one more step to go and hopefully we'll get there."

This Summer on a balmy day at St Tiernach's Park in Clones all the talk was of a rare Ulster Senior final appearance for Antrim, but the undercard was just as memorable for the Minors of Armagh and Down, although McVerry concedes that it wasn't a classic Ulster Minor deciders.

"I think the Ulster derby and with a lot of the lads knowing each other and the rivalry - it got the better of both teams that day and it was a poor spectacle," he said.

McVerry felt that his side firmly made amends in the next their All-Ireland quarter-final and semi-final wins with some excellent performances.

"We played great stuff against Kildare in the first half, that was probably our best first half all year and then we played a good second half against Kerry. But I think we'll need to play two good halves to beat this good Mayo side."

McVerry has been one of Armagh's star performers this year, but insists it is very much a team effort. Robbie Tasker and Gavin McParland are two other forwards who have become household names this year, but the Coldplay fan says all of his side are well capable of sharing the scoring burden.

"There are six scoring forwards and two midfielders who can kick points. There are two half-backs who have scored as well. Caolan Downey from corner-back has popped up and got a point. Even on the subs bench there are a lot of talented players. You see it in training all the time that they are fit to kick points with either foot. It's great and it pushes us along that we know we are not guaranteed our starting place and it is good for our team selection."

After a bad year on both the Senior and Under 21 front it has been left to the Minor team to carry the can for Armagh Gaelic football this year.

McVerry says that following the exit of the Senior side from the Championship there has been a bigger interest in the minor side, but that the hype isn't effecting the players as the management have helped to shield the players from it.

"I suppose there is a bit more hype since the Seniors have underperformed, but it has not got to the extent where we are put under so much pressure. I think the management have done a great job to separate all that media hype and pressure from the fans away from the players. Really it's not too bad and you can deal with it."

Armagh racked up their lowest score to date when they beat Down by 1-8 to 1-5 in the Ulster decider. However both teams underperformed that day, with Down firmly making amends with a 2-16 to 2-14 All-Ireland quarter-final win over Dublin.

McVerry expected to be meeting his close neighbours and friends from the Mourne County in this weekend's decider, but says that the lads from the West showed in the All-Ireland semi-final that they are a force to be reckoned with.

"Down had a great win against Dublin and I thought that they might have beaten Mayo, but Mayo got two crucial goals in a four or five-minute period which really killed off the Down challenge. Mayo have shown that they are a good side and it is going to be a tough
game."

It's been one of the closest Minor Championships to date across the four provinces, and McVerry believes that whoever comes out on top this weekend is fully worthy of the tag of All-Ireland champions for 2009.

"The way we see it is that if you win on the day you normally deserve to do it. If we lose on Sunday there are going to be no excuses. We have to perform on the day. It's a big day - an All-Ireland final. It's going to be a very nerve wracking occasion and the best team will win on the day and that's what we are trying to do."

Two goals were the difference in both semi-finals this year, with Armagh accounting for Kerry by 2-10 to 0-10 in their semi-final, with Gavin McParland bagging two vital second half goals.

It was a big day for the Orchard County minors, with all of them lining out in Croke Park for the first time.

And on such a rare appearance at GAA headquarters McVerry was keen to soak up the atmosphere of the day.

"It was a brilliant occasion, just to drive into Croke Park the whole atmosphere and to soak it up. Then maybe we were caught up a bit in the atmosphere and in the first half we didn't really perform. Then in the second half we had two great goals from Gavin (McParland) which sort of gave us a bit of a lift and pushed us on a bit from there."

This weekend Armagh will be a lot more focussed and McVerry expects to face a well oiled Mayo outfit this weekend.

"Definitely they have good players. Mayo's free-taker Aidan Walsh at midfield is an excellent player. Their full-forward got two goals last day out, they have a lot of good players and a tight defence.

"You can't go into an All-Ireland final thinking you are going to beat a team without a tough battle. It's going to take 60 minutes, or whatever it takes to win an All-Ireland final. We know we are going to have to play for the whole lot if we are going to win."

He added, "We work really hard on the training field, and we are training great all year. So just maybe two good halves of football and maybe we will be there."
Nice guys always finish second!

Quote from: AFS on September 17, 2009, 07:55:42 PM
5'9"? Looks a bit more than that.

Kerry said that about Donaghy when we didn't know who he was.

I remember reading a programme for the 1988 semi final saying that Mick Lyons occupation was 'healer'.

Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2009, 08:00:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 17, 2009, 07:55:42 PM
5'9"? Looks a bit more than that.

Kerry said that about Donaghy when we didn't know who he was.

I remember reading a programme for the 1988 semi final saying that Mick Lyons occupation was 'healer'.

m@yoman

Fair play to the Mayo lads for getting to back to back All-Ireland Finals...that is a serious achievement no matter what grade!

If anyone is around on saturday night, I see the lads over at www.clubmayo.ie have a bit of a shindig organised in Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge. Bit of music, bit of food and plenty craic to kick the All-Ireland weekend off! ;) And I hear they have a few tickets being raffled off for Sunday as well!

Ah m@yoman. It wasn't so good in 1996+97. It's only good when they close out the bloody thing. Hopefully we can do it with the young ones this time round.

QuoteAnd I hear they have a few tickets being raffled off for Sunday as well!

Can Armagh people also buy tickets?

rootthemout

ticket sorted,good luck to armagh players and management,if nerves dont get us can see us winning by 5-6 pts ;D

Quote from: rootthemout on September 17, 2009, 10:08:15 PM
ticket sorted,good luck to armagh players and management,if nerves dont get us can see us winning by 5-6 pts ;D

Root, have a great day and make sure that you go back to the club for a few scoops to toast our fist minor AI since Jack Bratten was a pup.  ;D

All the best to the lads on Sunday - looking forward to watching it on D'telly.

Armagh boys fierce cocky but apparently there team is a bit special

harlechman

Quote from: stephenite on September 17, 2009, 11:50:25 PM

Sure didn't the boul Ray Dempsey himself say that Mayo were just hoping to keep up with this great side??  ;)

Quote from: stephenite on September 17, 2009, 11:50:25 PM

Do not think it is cocky. We have just had that bad a year with the seniors we are grasping at straws!

harlechman

Quote from: Feckitt on September 17, 2009, 01:27:48 PM
I hear that the homecoming for Armagh is on the Sunday night at the Carrickdale.  Is this right?  Do the lads not get a night in Dublin?  Does anyone have any idea what time they'll be getting there at.  I might take the childer down.

The banquet is in the Carrickdale alright, kicking off at 9pm. The tickets are sold out at this stage.

Homecoming details

Monday September 21st
Depart Carrickdale Hotel  6-00pm
Arrive  Killeavy              6-10pm
Depart Killeavy              6-15pm
Through Forkhill             6-25pm
Arrive Mullaghbawn        6-35pm
Depart Mullaghbawn       6-40pm
Arrive Silverbridge          6-50pm
Depart Silverbridge         7-15pm
Through Newtown          7-30pm
Arrive Keady                  7-45pm
Depart Keady                 7-55pm
Arrive Ballymacnab         8-05pm
Depart Ballymacnab        8-10pm 
Arrive Primates Wall        8-15pm
Arrive Athletic Grounds    8-30pm   

Tuesday September 22nd

Depart Armagh City Hotel   6-00pm
Arrive Annaghmore            6-35pm
Depart Annaghmore           6-45pm
Arrive Derrytrasna             7-10pm
Depart Derrrytrasna           7-25pm
Arrive Éire Óg                   7-40pm
Depart Éire Óg to go to Davitt Park via Taghnevin
Arrive Davitt Park              8-00pm

Hopefully there'll be a big turn out for the boys win or lose.

Quote from: harlechman on September 18, 2009, 12:30:11 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 17, 2009, 01:27:48 PM
I hear that the homecoming for Armagh is on the Sunday night at the Carrickdale.  Is this right?  Do the lads not get a night in Dublin?  Does anyone have any idea what time they'll be getting there at.  I might take the childer down.

The banquet is in the Carrickdale alright, kicking off at 9pm. The tickets are sold out at this stage.

Homecoming details

Monday September 21st
Depart Carrickdale Hotel  6-00pm
Arrive  Killeavy              6-10pm
Depart Killeavy              6-15pm
Through Forkhill             6-25pm
Arrive Mullaghbawn        6-35pm
Depart Mullaghbawn       6-40pm
Arrive Silverbridge          6-50pm
Depart Silverbridge         7-15pm
Through Newtown          7-30pm
Arrive Keady                  7-45pm
Depart Keady                 7-55pm
Arrive Ballymacnab         8-05pm
Depart Ballymacnab        8-10pm 
Arrive Primates Wall        8-15pm
Arrive Athletic Grounds    8-30pm   

Tuesday September 22nd

Depart Armagh City Hotel   6-00pm
Arrive Annaghmore            6-35pm
Depart Annaghmore           6-45pm
Arrive Derrytrasna             7-10pm
Depart Derrrytrasna           7-25pm
Arrive Éire Óg                   7-40pm
Depart Éire Óg to go to Davitt Park via Taghnevin
Arrive Davitt Park              8-00pm

Hopefully there'll be a big turn out for the boys win or lose.

That is unbelievable arrogance.

BerfArmagh

Hows it arrogance, merely a schedule for people to show their appreciation whether they win or lose

Best of luck to Declan & the lads on sunday