Recent posts

General discussion / Re: The far right
Last post by burdizzo - Today at 07:32:56 AM
So you're insinuating I'm out burning down hostels?
General discussion / Re: Time Travel
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 07:29:25 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 14, 2024, 11:29:19 PMAny hidden gems movie wise?

About time, simple well written and acted and pulls at the heart strings
General discussion / Re: The far right
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 07:26:37 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 14, 2024, 11:00:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2024, 10:42:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2024, 12:51:33 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 14, 2024, 12:14:15 PMYeah, exactly. When are the Guards and politicians going to stop harassing local populations by forcibly planting hundreds of unvetted men from completely different cultures into peaceful communities?

Under the current laws (cause whether you like that or not, that's the way its meant to be, until its changed)

Unvetted person comes to Ireland and seeks asylum, under the current system how should that be done?

If they are vetted and approved, are you ok with that?  even though they are from different cultures? Or is it just different cultures that have you up in arms (literally) ?

Must have missed this question I asked earlier burdizzo

Oh. Most people don't answer my questions, either. I'd actually forgotten.

Yes, it is almost impossible to properly vet people, so most will be 'unvetted'. Given that, I think the rate of enforced deportations should be much higher. That is absolutely possible under the current laws.

What do you mean by "up in arms (literally)", referring to me, by the way?

Out protesting is up in arms, burning hostels , graffiti on walls and so on, are you protesting to get the judiciary to do it quicker or not have any asylum system in place or
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by Puckoon - Today at 05:32:06 AM
Quote from: screenexile on Today at 12:05:06 AMI don't care if City win it's not that big a deal and I won't have to listen too much.

The way Arsenal fans I know have been slabbering all year I'm more than happy for them to come up short.

Fuggawayaff :-\
General discussion / Re: The Official Golf Thread
Last post by Puckoon - Today at 05:30:14 AM
Quote from: screenexile on Today at 12:02:28 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 14, 2024, 05:32:18 PMRory and the wife divorcing - not the greatest prep for a major you'd imagine.

I don't get why they haven't waited until next Monday... why have the hype around it the week of a major?

See above - because I think he's fine with it. Something happened...No doubt.
General discussion / Re: Death Notices
Last post by Jell 0 Biafra - Today at 02:03:03 AM
Arsenal's title hopes.
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by onefineday - Today at 01:52:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2024, 12:55:07 PMNo need to be tarnishing a mans business ffs!

If he's not great at being a pundit, that's grand, but lots of lads behind the computer putting a mans and his families business down is out of order
I didn't see the comments, but cavanagh's firm is doing very well by the looks of it with 4 or 5 offices now open and about 50 staff including many qualified professionals - so I doubt the comments on here would have too much impact on its future. Fair play to him.
Last post by Truthsayer - Today at 01:48:38 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on Today at 12:11:57 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 12:01:14 AMIt is GAA elite's attempts to carve up our national games and privatise and sell off the profitable, prestige games. Our best and most high profile games should be available to all grass roots GAA members via our national broadcaster. Jarlath's efforts to play the man and not the ball in this debate betrays the weakness of his argument.

Only the high profile games, so half the counties would never appear? Is that the GAA you want?
That is some interpretation on what I said! 😆 whatever games are covered should be free to air but they are selling off the profitable high prestige games. Its not that complicated!
Last post by onefineday - Today at 01:45:00 AM
Don't see much wrong with cavanagh's comments in that the gaa has huge cash reserves and is undoubtedly cherry picking attractive games to try and drive subscriptions to gaago.
I recall this being denied by rte/gaa last year, but seriously....

Interesting to hear burns now state that he wants gaago to be a major revenue generator for the association, it'd be great to know how the numbers are looking in that regard?
What was the revenue generated for 2023 like, was there a profit generated?
Only when we see the first few years of numbers will we know if this is a failed vanity project, which has caused tremendous harm to the goodwill of gaa and promotion of our games or a crucial revenue generating stream that's here to stay.
I know which scenario my money is on anyway!!

I do think there's a market for a gaa streaming service, but it should be for games that won't be shown on TV otherwise and it should include the various club championships which are currently on a myriad of different platforms.