Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Quote from: LCohen on January 07, 2018, 01:16:32 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 01:06:40 PM
Quote from: LCohen on January 07, 2018, 12:45:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 07, 2018, 12:44:50 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 12:40:39 PM
Shinner bashers having a field day!

That's how it works in politics, if he wasn't a moron there would be no field day

You can't blame them.

SF making it easy
It was at best utterly stupid but whether it was deliberate or not is questionable. The criticism coming from Unionism is a bit rich and outrage from stoops laughable.

Don't buy that line at all.

Only the wee fella himself knows if was deliberate. So its easy to argue that it is questionable. But once you look at the issue of probability then your argument becomes wafer thin. The chances of his actions not being deliberate are fantastically remote.

Criticism of his actions is very understandable. An argument that you cannot or should not criticise him because you are either a unionist or a SDLP member/voter has no basis in logic
I saw the video within minutes of it being posted on his social media. It wasn't until yesterday morning that I had learned that it had coincided with the anniversary of the Kingsmill massacre. I find it hard to comprehend that someone could be so unbelievably stupid to knowingly post something like that given its significance. The vast majority of republicans are ashamed of Kingsmills, so why  someone would want to deliberately mock it in such a "blatant" manner is hard to understand. Even more so when they're a SF elected rep.

McElduff can actually give his party the high moral ground here by resigning which would be a big statement that they are serious about respect across the board and show that there is a bit of decency. Considering his apology and subsequent offer to meet the families, I don't believe it was a deliberately malicious act but it was an idiotic thing to do and he would be best doing the right thing for his party and for nationalists/republican's in general and that mean's stepping down.

It would negate any accusations of hypocrisy when SF call on Foster et al to resign. Frampton should stick to the boxing instead of weighing into this debate.

Unconfimed reports that Mc Elduff has resigned and will become a Hovis Witness!😂😂

Quote from: T Fearon on January 07, 2018, 02:11:06 PM
Unconfimed reports that Mc Elduff has resigned and will become a Hovis Witness!😂😂

His video was funnier

The absolute hack of some of the lads on here like. Yeah, it's non-Shinners who are the ones to be laughed at here. f**king state of you all.

square_ball

Quote from: yellowcard on January 07, 2018, 01:30:49 PM
McElduff can actually give his party the high moral ground here by resigning which would be a big statement that they are serious about respect across the board and show that there is a bit of decency. Considering his apology and subsequent offer to meet the families, I don't believe it was a deliberately malicious act but it was an idiotic thing to do and he would be best doing the right thing for his party and for nationalists/republican's in general and that mean's stepping down.

It would negate any accusations of hypocrisy when SF call on Foster et al to resign. Frampton should stick to the boxing instead of weighing into this debate.

So Frampton isn't allowed an opinion on anything other than boxing? Always have to laugh at people saying this that sportsmen should stick to their sport whilst at the same time offering an opinion on said situation.

Quote from: gallsman on January 07, 2018, 03:59:21 PM
The absolute hack of some of the lads on here like. Yeah, it's non-Shinners who are the ones to be laughed at here. f**king state of you all.
Would you have known, off the top of your head, prior to Friday, the date of the Kingsmill massacre?

LCohen

Agree re the opportunity for SF to adopt the high moral ground.

Can't agree that Frampton has any lesser right than any of the rest of us to comment

LCohen

Quote from: square_ball on January 07, 2018, 04:23:08 PM

So Frampton isn't allowed an opinion on anything other than boxing? Always have to laugh at people saying this that sportsmen should stick to their sport whilst at the same time offering an opinion on said situation.

Not specifically aimed at yellowcard but there also more broadly an issue of thinking that sport stars should only speak on political issues if they happen to agree with your own political stance

michaelg

Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 04:28:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 07, 2018, 03:59:21 PM
Would you have known, off the top of your head, prior to Friday, the date of the Kingsmill massacre?
No, but it would appear that Barry McElduff did.  The odds do not stack up well in his favour.

Avondhu star

Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 12:40:39 PM
Shinner bashers having a field day!
Sorry. We didn't realise that Sinn Fein are entitled to be exempted from criticism. When you have
gobshites like this gent it's a bit much to expect his stupidity not to be subject of comment
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

If this guy wasn't malicious he is surely the most stupid elected person in Ireland (thats saying something). Either way he should resign.

Quote from: Itchy on January 07, 2018, 05:11:47 PM
If this guy wasn't malicious he is surely the most stupid elected person in Ireland (thats saying something). Either way he should resign.

He should. And SF should not run yet another eejit candidate but should support an agreed Anti-Brexit candidate who will actually go to Westminster and contradict the nonsense there.

Idiotic behaviour.

But politicians here don't resign. Did Arlene resign for dancing on the stage with that crowd of DUP loons at the La Mon or RHI? Did Nelson resign over Red Sky? Did Peter resign over Nama? Did Paisley resign for labelling the Reaveys as IRA members? Did junior resign for any amount of f**k-ups and lining of his own pockets?

Don't be holding your breath

Quote from: red hander on January 07, 2018, 05:32:26 PM
Idiotic behaviour.

But politicians here don't resign. Did Arlene resign for dancing on the stage with that crowd of DUP loons at the La Mon or RHI? Did Nelson resign over Red Sky? Did Peter resign over Nama? Did Paisley resign for labelling the Reaveys as IRA members? Did junior resign for any amount of f**k-ups and lining of his own pockets?

Don't be holding your breath

Irrelevant what bigoted dinosaurs in unionism do. As a nationalist I expect a lot more from people who claim to represent me. People here comparing it to what a grade A bigot like Sammy Wilson said previously are missing the point I think.