Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by Keyser soze - Today at 02:10:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on Today at 12:27:47 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 15, 2024, 09:53:35 AMMy god there are some crying hoors in the GAA who want everything for free, I surely hope they are over represented on this board or the organisation is truely in trouble.

Crying about the price of tickets to games, and the price of diesel to get to games, and how much a feed costs, and having to get a ticket for the wains, and not getting to see every game on FTA tv, and the game they just saw was lateral shite, and the forward mark, and the studio analysis, and negative managers, and people coming to the door selling tickets for their club, and the amount of money the GAA has, and the lack of money the GAA gives our club, ad nauseum ad nauseum ad nauseum.

And then thinking they are great GAA men when they've not ever wore a shirt or even washed a shirt.

I would say the vast majority of posters on here are not even GAA members.

You forgot the referee being biased against their team! Every single game!  ;D

That's a perfectly legitimate sporting gripe lol 
General discussion / Re: Man Utd Thread:
Last post by Cunny Funt - Today at 02:08:14 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on Today at 07:40:35 AMSpurs had a great season and they're only 6 pts, 2 wins better than a bad United side. If United by some miracle  win the Cup, Ten Hag has had a better season than the Farewell Flopp. The main issue with that team is being constantly over run in the middle. 1 correct purchase could be worth an extra 10 points next season, but it's not too often utd get it right in the transfer market this last 10 years or so.
Another big issue has been injuries. Near 70  separate cases of injuries this season with 14th different centre-back combinations and no natural left back for the majority of the season.  If Ten Hag is kept on for another season the injury riddled season will be taken into account and it's known with a lot less injuries last season finished 3rd and won the league cup.

Also worth noting in Arteta's first three seasons with Arsenal they finished 8th,8th and 5th. Regardless of manager it should be a busy summer with ins and out and United do and some good young players to build a team around now and it will be interesting to see how many of the U18s make the step up in the years ahead after their treble haul of trophies won this season.
Antrim / Re: Antrim Hurling
Last post by JonnyD_ - Today at 02:06:20 PM
JC - the problem with league is the county boys missing and it seems to always hit the ards teams worse.

for whats it worth, here's my view:

st johns v ballycran: jonhnies, simply because they are on a winning streak but if down boys back up the road and allowed to play it might be tighter than you think
c'dall v p'ferry - cushendall - getting good results and starting to form again after a few poor performances and seen portaferry this year and dont think they are terribly fussed on these league games
enda's v dunloy - this will be tight and i'm going to call it! Enda's for the win... :o
b'galget v rossa - agree with JC, Rossa. they are getting less and less reliant on dual players. could be brewing somthing. (just based on saffron gael teamsheets btw)
b'castle v loughguile - loughguile, until ballycastle are at full strength they are easily got at. even in ballycastle
GAA Discussion / Re: UTV & BBC & RTE & TV3
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 01:58:38 PM
i thought he wa poor too.

He wants to know more about the person wrt referees. What dies he want? shoe size favourite film?? Sure what do we know about player? why should we know things about these refs lives?
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by Would ye whist - Today at 01:56:46 PM
You mean the dominant force in Antrim football for quite some time now

Also as for the Feile, complete disgrace how Sarsfield's conducted themselves some of our adult mentors even getting assaulted by their U15's

Quote from: antrimman667 on Today at 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 01:13:23 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 01:04:04 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 12:34:08 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 10:55:55 AMWasnt at the game so relying on a good source

Cargin also scored a few late goals when the game was dead to put a gloss on the scoreline??

I was at it and your source has gave you a phoney account.
Listen I have seen many people comment on here within last 12 months about Bakers negative tactics, I commented something similar after watching them last night.
Ballymena scored their goal along with 3 or 4 points in the last 10 mins, Cargin were 7 points up at half time ended up scoring 6 goals, could have been 10. Just being honest.

https://thesaffrongael.com/2024/05/16/champions-cargin-hit-all-saints-for-six/

You should have went yourself rather than rely on wee Paddy's report.
Ballymena are a well organsised team to be fair to them, just prob need to work on the fitness to keep the lung busting forward runs required up for 60mins
All hail the great glorious Cargin
Quote from: lurganblue on Today at 01:16:50 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on Today at 11:27:33 AM
Quote from: Armamike on Today at 09:51:31 AM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on Today at 08:07:30 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 12, 2024, 05:33:53 PMCan you imagine how good this game could have been if they decided to play a decent brand of football? The score taking has been unreal but despite that the enjoyability of the football is pathetic.

I know McGuinness wouldn't give a f**k about that but I really hope the football review group implement some form of strategy to negate this anti football shite.
What would you suggest?

We can't keep messing about with the rules of the game just because we don't like how teams are playing the game. There's been enough of that over the years.  The answer isn't in 13 aside or any other mad cap notion.  It's in new, innovative coaches coming on the scene with a different approach.  And there will be at some point.

100% agree with this. There is constant tinkering with the rules. Get rid of the forward / defensive mark and then leave well alone.

I'd more or less be on board with this.  I'd like to introduce something like in basketball whereby once you cross the opposition 50m you cant go back.  I think that would be easy enough policed by all officials too. I realise something like this is unlikely to ever be introduced though, so just removing the advanced/defensive mark would be grand.
Would this be the same as it is in basketball though where you can go back into your own half for an inbound/sideline ball in the last 2 minutes of the game and last 2 minutes of extra time?
Quote from: Armamike on Today at 09:51:31 AM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on Today at 08:07:30 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 12, 2024, 05:33:53 PMCan you imagine how good this game could have been if they decided to play a decent brand of football? The score taking has been unreal but despite that the enjoyability of the football is pathetic.

I know McGuinness wouldn't give a f**k about that but I really hope the football review group implement some form of strategy to negate this anti football shite.
What would you suggest?

We can't keep messing about with the rules of the game just because we don't like how teams are playing the game. There's been enough of that over the years.  The answer isn't in 13 aside or any other mad cap notion.  It's in new, innovative coaches coming on the scene with a different approach.  And there will be at some point.

100% agree. Is there another sport in the world that changes rules as often? Just let the game develop. Players used to kick the ball away 9/10 times they got it so I don't see how thats any more enjoyable than what's being played at the minute. Some people need to appreciate what we have more
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by antrimman667 - Today at 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 01:13:23 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 01:04:04 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on Today at 12:34:08 PM
Quote from: NorthAntrim on Today at 10:55:55 AMWasnt at the game so relying on a good source

Cargin also scored a few late goals when the game was dead to put a gloss on the scoreline??

I was at it and your source has gave you a phoney account.
Listen I have seen many people comment on here within last 12 months about Bakers negative tactics, I commented something similar after watching them last night.
Ballymena scored their goal along with 3 or 4 points in the last 10 mins, Cargin were 7 points up at half time ended up scoring 6 goals, could have been 10. Just being honest.

https://thesaffrongael.com/2024/05/16/champions-cargin-hit-all-saints-for-six/

You should have went yourself rather than rely on wee Paddy's report.
Ballymena are a well organsised team to be fair to them, just prob need to work on the fitness to keep the lung busting forward runs required up for 60mins
All hail the great glorious Cargin
General discussion / Sports Research Questionnaire
Last post by sporttech - Today at 01:41:52 PM
Hi All! I'm on an early stage entrepreneurial course for start ups in Dublin. I'm conducting a quick Sport Market research and would love your input! Would you mind sparing less than 1 minute to fill out my 5 multiple choice survey questions please? Your feedback would be incredibly valuable and greatly appreciated! Thank you so much in advance for your help if you do complete it. It is completely anonymous too!

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/2LWSNKM
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by Maroon Manc - Today at 01:40:33 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 14, 2024, 04:25:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 14, 2024, 04:02:01 PMConor Lane, didn't give a stonewall penalty on O'Boyle, which would drew the game if scored. From the same play Galway broke up the field to score a goal from Cummins.

I was down in front of that getting drenched Wasn't a pen. I do remember Lane giving Galway 2 or 3 soft frees alright that Gary Sice kicked over. Derry were hard done by but considering Galway nearly won by double scores in the end it's a stretch to say he was the difference. Neither team were going anywhere fast that year

Brendan Cawley is in the middle Sunday, the worst referee in the rotation by a country mile. Hopefully he can have as little impact on proceedings as possible but I won't hold my breath

How are Derry shaping up injury wise aside from McGrogans unfortunate long term issue?

It was Cawley who reffed last years league final? He was shocking, he reffed a game recently and came away thinking how is he still reffing in the top tier.