GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:01:23 AM

Title: Cork v Tyrone
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:01:23 AM
Am I right in that we've never beaten Cork in the championship? 73 and 09?
Title: Re: Cork v Tyrone
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:06:20 AM
15/03/15
Round 5   

Tyrone 2-10
Cork 0-17    

Healy Park, Omagh
Referee: Marty Duffy

D McCurry (0-7), C McAliskey (1-3), P Harte (1-0)

C O'Neill (0-8), B Hurley (0-2), D O'Connor (0-2), C Dorman (0-1), C O'Driscoll (0-1), D Og Hodnett (0-1), F Goold (0-1), M Collins (0-1)
Post by: illdecide on July 02, 2018, 10:07:40 AM
Cracking tie but i think Tyrone are 2-3 pts better team than Cork

Tyrone 1-15
Cork 2-09
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:08:20 AM
30/03/14
Round 6   

Cork 2-14
Tyrone  0-20   

Páirc Uí Rinn, Cork
Referee: D Coldrick

B Hurley (0-5), C O'Neill (1-2), P Kerrigan (1-0), J Hayes (0-2), J O'Rourke (0-2), Barry O'Driscoll (0-1), C O'Driscoll (0-1), M Shields (0-1)

K Coney (0-9), D McCurry (0-4), N Morgan (0-2), C McAliskey (0-1), M Penrose (0-1), P Harte (0-1), R O'Neill (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-1)
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:10:11 AM
10/03/13
Round 4

Tyrone 0-8
Cork  0-14

Healy Park, Omagh
Referee: C Reilly

R O'Neill (0-2), C Gormley (0-1), Joe McMahon (0-1), K Coney (0-1), M Penrose (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-1), S O'Neill (0-1)

C O'Neill (0-5), A Walsh (0-3), D O'Connor (0-2), P Kerrigan (0-2), B O'Driscoll (0-1), M Collins (0-1)
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2018, 10:10:29 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:01:23 AM
Pre 03 Tyrone beat very few non Ulster teams.
Post by: redzone on July 02, 2018, 10:11:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:01:23 AM
JBM cut loose that day, thankfully they have knowone of that quality this time
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2018, 10:12:11 AM
We need coney back for this game.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:12:30 AM
2010 the last time we beat Cork - 3-9 to  0-16 - in Omagh
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2018, 10:13:36 AM
This is a huge game which will make or break Tyrone's era.
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2018, 10:15:12 AM
Parnell Park on Sunday?
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:19:51 AM
Might go west?
Post by: skeog on July 02, 2018, 10:34:06 AM
Big prize for Tyrone, Dublin in Healy Park if successful.
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2018, 10:45:02 AM
Quote from: skeog on July 02, 2018, 10:34:06 AM
Big prize for Tyrone, Dublin in Healy Park if successful.
The thing worse than not getting what you want is getting what you want-Oscar Wilde
Post by: Jayop on July 02, 2018, 10:47:16 AM
Great tie isn't it. That super 8 group is an absolute shark tank and very hard to call the second team in at the moment.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2018, 10:53:33 AM
I believe Cork have a lot of big, strong fellas this year.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 02, 2018, 10:54:40 AM
The winner of this tie, in my opinion, have got a great chance in super 8s. If I could have chosen a draw I'd have picked cork. Not because they're a soft touch but if you get through we'll meet Ros or Armagh in red 1 and (most importantly) get a home tie v Dublin. *If* you can get through in second place you'll miss the Dubs in semis.

Lots of miles to get there but may as well dream big. Bring it on!!
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2018, 11:18:05 AM
I'd agree with that. But by God we owe them cork ones.
Post by: ziggysego on July 02, 2018, 11:46:59 AM
Tough aul game this one, but sure when you're facing down the barrel of the Super 8, it'll test us rightly. I'd guess venue will be Portlaoise.
Post by: WT4E on July 02, 2018, 12:09:18 PM
It'll be on the box id say - RTE or SKY?

Hopefully atmosphere be better than brewster - from the box you could here the players calling the ball!!!!
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 02, 2018, 12:09:26 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 02, 2018, 11:46:59 AM
Tough aul game this one, but sure when you're facing down the barrel of the Super 8, it'll test us rightly. I'd guess venue will be Portlaoise.

McHale Parks Free   :D
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2018, 12:21:08 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 02, 2018, 10:47:16 AM
Great tie isn't it. That super 8 group is an absolute shark tank and very hard to call the second team in at the moment.
Could have situation of 3 teams on 2 points and the team that finishes 2nd will have got the closest to Dublin
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 02, 2018, 12:47:50 PM
Tyrone to get through, just about. Cork will do well to recover from that tanking last time out. Neither team will do anything in the Super 8's.
Post by: Jayop on July 02, 2018, 01:23:58 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 02, 2018, 12:47:50 PM
Tyrone to get through, just about. Cork will do well to recover from that tanking last time out. Neither team will do anything in the Super 8's.

Hard to agree with that. I'd expect Tyrone to beat the other qualifier team and with Donegal losing McBrearty they're not as big a threat. We've also beaten them the last two times we met in big games. Dublin you'd expect to beat anyone so that's hardly fair to use against tyrone.

Honestly. I now fully hope for Tyrone to get to a semi final against kerry or Galway.
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2018, 03:00:00 PM
Tyronie comments look very sophisticated in French :

Membre de héros

' 03, ' 05 + ' 08... pas mal !
Re : Liège v Tyrone

Jinxy does too. Of course the Meath accent is mostly Norman

Membre de héros

View Profile

Re : Liège v Tyrone

« Réponse #15 le : Aujourd'hui à 10:53:33 »

Je crois que Cork ont beaucoup de gars grands et forts cette année.

Si vous étiez toute utilisation que vous allaient jouer.

« Réponse #16 le : Aujourd'hui à 10:54:40 »

Le gagnant de ce lien, à mon avis, ont eu une grande chance dans super 8 s. Si j'aurais pu choisir un tirage au sort j'aurais pris Liège. Pas parce qu'ils ont un toucher doux, mais si vous passer à travers, nous allons rencontrer Ros ou Armagh en rouge 1 et (surtout) obtenir un match à domicile v Dublin. * If * vous pouvez obtenir par en second lieu vous raterez les Dubs en demi-finales.

Beaucoup de milles pour y arriver mais peut aussi bien rêve gros. Apportez-le !!
Post by: Dire Ear on July 02, 2018, 03:21:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 02, 2018, 11:46:59 AM
Think it is. Ros Arma at 5, Tyrone Cork at 7
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2018, 03:25:53 PM
Come in out of the sun, Seafoid.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 03:56:36 PM
5pm?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2018, 04:15:58 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 02, 2018, 10:54:40 AM
The winner of this tie, in my opinion, have got a great chance in super 8s. If I could have chosen a draw I'd have picked cork. Not because they're a soft touch but if you get through we'll meet Ros or Armagh in red 1 and (most importantly) get a home tie v Dublin. *If* you can get through in second place you'll miss the Dubs in semis.

Given you're likely to be trimmed by Dublin again it would have been much better not to have your game burnt by being against Dublin. The winners of Roscommon/Armagh get a home game against Donegal and an away game to Dublin.
Post by: Dire Ear on July 02, 2018, 05:11:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 03:56:36 PM
5pm?
Yip,  RTE had it wrong earlier
SATURDAY 7 JULY

All-Ireland SFC Round 4 qualifiers
Roscommon v Armagh, O'Moore Park, 3pm
Cork v Tyrone, O'Moore Park, 5pm
Fermanagh v Kildare, Páirc Tailteann, 7pm
Post by: mick999 on July 02, 2018, 05:13:50 PM
Saturday July 7

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 4

Roscommon v Armagh, O'Moore Park, Portlaoise, 3pm

Cork v Tyrone, O'Moore Park, Portlaoise, 5pm, Sky Sports

Fermanagh v Kildare, Pairc Tailteann, Navan, 7pm, Sky Sports

Sunday July 8

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 4

Laois v Monaghan, Pairc Tailteann, Navan, 2pm

**Referees to be confirmed and E.T. if Necessary & Winner on the Day

Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 06:56:49 PM
Some prize at stake for all counties.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 02, 2018, 07:13:12 PM
The list of teams Cork have beaten in the championship in the last few years

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

You look at the absolute hammering by Kerry (who I think turned in more of a 7 out of 10 performance than an 8 or 9 out of 10 performance ), the Tipp win  and Cork's league results  - 3 wins against Down, Louth and Meath and 4 losses to Tipp, Clare, Cavan and Roscommon and you would have to say it would be a massive shock if Tyrone didn't get the win here.

I think the biggest danger to Tyrone is a lack of appetite amongst the Tyrone lads to be playing in the Super 8s. Watching the Cavan and Meath games, I didn't exactly see much evidence of hunger/desire from the Tyrone players for long periods.
Post by: Onthe40 on July 02, 2018, 07:54:47 PM
The other side of that is they should've dumped Mayo out last year
Post by: omagh_gael on July 02, 2018, 08:08:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2018, 04:15:58 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 02, 2018, 10:54:40 AM

Given you're likely to be trimmed by Dublin again it would have been much better not to have your game burnt by being against Dublin. The winners of Roscommon/Armagh get a home game against Donegal and an away game to Dublin.

I don't know, I'd be happy enough to give the Dubs a rattle at home. See where we stand. Anyway, just the small matter of beating Cork who've always been a difficult team for us.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2018, 08:10:53 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 02, 2018, 07:13:12 PM

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

You look at the absolute hammering by Kerry (who I think turned in more of a 7 out of 10 performance than an 8 or 9 out of 10 performance ), the Tipp win  and Cork's league results  - 3 wins against Down, Louth and Meath and 4 losses to Tipp, Clare, Cavan and Roscommon and you would have to say it would be a massive shock if Tyrone didn't get the win here.

I think the biggest danger to Tyrone is a lack of appetite amongst the Tyrone lads to be playing in the Super 8s. Watching the Cavan and Meath games, I didn't exactly see much evidence of hunger/desire from the Tyrone players for long periods.
What I see is group of players under a smart manager pacing themselves in the qualifiers as they did in 2013 and 2015.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 02, 2018, 08:23:51 PM

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

You didn't see any hunger in the Meath game as they pulled out a draw with the last kick of the game? Funny how people view things differently. If nothing else, in a relatively poor performance, at least that game displayed a fight and desire not to lose that was very encouraging. And again on Saturday when Cavan got back to level, a team with no hunger or desire would easily have folded. We are negotiating our way through these rounds very well in my view. Cork worries me though, they always have.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:27:52 PM
Yeah, always hated playing Cork. 2010 in Omagh was the last win and a jammy one at that.

Time for the current crop to write their own history.
Post by: Itchy on July 02, 2018, 11:31:41 PM
Tyrone will win easy. They are  it brilliant but cork are terrible.
Post by: Niall Quinn on July 03, 2018, 03:15:19 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 02, 2018, 11:31:41 PM
They are  it brilliant

C++ at least
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2018, 07:15:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2018, 10:27:52 PM
Yeah, always hated playing Cork. 2010 in Omagh was the last win and a jammy one at that.

Time for the current crop to write their own history.
Who else do you hate playing?
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2018, 07:27:26 AM
Ardboe and Uruguay.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 03, 2018, 09:24:12 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 02, 2018, 08:23:51 PM

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

You didn't see any hunger in the Meath game as they pulled out a draw with the last kick of the game? Funny how people view things differently. If nothing else, in a relatively poor performance, at least that game displayed a fight and desire not to lose that was very encouraging. And again on Saturday when Cavan got back to level, a team with no hunger or desire would easily have folded. We are negotiating our way through these rounds very well in my view. Cork worries me though, they always have.

Thats very grim reading for Cork.

I wouldn't be worried by Cork, they might have given Mayo a game this time last year but it was a wide open game that suited Cork whilst Tyrone won't be so accommodating.

Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2018, 11:39:45 AM
Ye Tyrone bucks are fkd.
Frank Murphy is going at the end of the year so to send him off Cork hurlers will win the AI and their footballers will be in the last 8.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2018, 12:44:38 PM
Is the average height of the Corks ones still 6'6''?
Post by: Hound on July 03, 2018, 01:23:20 PM
Cork could be very dangerous. They could have a day where their forwards catch fire and score from everywhere.
Also any analysis of the game from "the experts" seems to ignore that Tyrone are a good notch below the level they were playing at this time last year. Meath-Tyrone was a very even game, and Cork are probably as good as Meath. Tyrone need to up their performance, both to beat Cork and to be competitive in S8.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 03, 2018, 03:04:03 PM
Maurice Deegan reffing
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 03, 2018, 06:01:40 PM

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

Agree that it's interesting how people see things in different ways. As far as I am concerned, Tyrone are a busted flush since last summer. Mickey was given a chance with a nice mix of good players with a few years experience and an U21 winning side to add to the mix. He made the call to go with a McGuinness plus style and the players bought into it. Dublin was the big test and the system was shown up within 5 minutes. That put the management in the awkward spot of going back to the players and saying this system we asked you to play and the huge effort put into it was actually flawed. Have looked rather unconvincing and rudderless ever since. The first half decent side they face will beat them, as Meath and Cavan would have with a bit more belief.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2018, 07:07:16 PM
How big a loss is cavanagh? I think that is an understated factor in tyrone's "decline".
Post by: omagh_gael on July 03, 2018, 10:18:41 PM
Ronan O'Neill to start this weekend? Surely we have to have more natural full forwards than McAliskey?

Bradley and Brennan were completing sprinting drills during Tyrone training last week and must be close to be named on the bench at least.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2018, 10:21:46 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 03, 2018, 07:07:16 PM
How big a loss is cavanagh? I think that is an understated factor in tyrone's "decline".

Definitely.

Even though they still squeezed past Meath and Cavan, Sean would have taken those games by the scruff. But it's up to Mattie and Harte to do that now.
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2018, 10:35:25 PM
Even the passive influence of Sean Cavanagh on the field is missed. Mc Aliskey struggled on sat but embodies the best of the spirit of this Tyrone team. Key player. Would love harte to play full forward with Mc aliskey on one side and Brennan on the other.
Post by: Main Street on July 03, 2018, 11:16:02 PM
I don't miss Sean at all.

Isn't he in the Tyrone doghouse now along with any other refuseniks?
Post by: southtyronegael on July 03, 2018, 11:23:30 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 03, 2018, 10:35:25 PM
Even the passive influence of Sean Cavanagh on the field is missed. Mc Aliskey struggled on sat but embodies the best of the spirit of this Tyrone team. Key player. Would love harte to play full forward with Mc aliskey on one side and Brennan on the other.
i think peter harte has had enough chances in every other position without trying to turn him into a full forward. i dont think he would enjoy being marked anyway. only ever any use when he gets a free role against poor teams.
Post by: Whishtup on July 03, 2018, 11:31:35 PM
I like the fact that we haven't seen the best of Tyrone yet.  My only concern is how the heads drop after a couple of wides/misplaced passes. The accuracy just isn't there yet.  Sludden/Harte/Donnelly shaping up nicely.  I'd say hold off with Brennan/Bradley until needed.  Potentially a lot of games coming up.  Would like to see a new combo of maybe Mcaliskey/Brennan/O'Neill.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2018, 11:45:31 PM
That's a clatter of slashes.
Post by: Whishtup on July 03, 2018, 11:47:59 PM
Not too much/many.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2018, 11:59:14 PM
I just can't see the big performance. The only backdoor game I've been to is Carlow and for 25 mins you couldn't tell who was the division 1 team was. The Meath game we were out if they'd caught the last kick out.

I hope I'm wrong but I think the Dublin hammering last year is still sending its shockwaves. A half decent side will put us to bed.
Post by: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 12:24:57 AM
I favour us to raise the game for a big side or a do or die clash so all I hope is that we can negotiate these qualifiers against the lesser sides. I was very, very worried about Cavan and now Cork are troubling me a bit. It was their sheer size and physicality we could never match in the 2006 - 2014 period when we were paired against them frequently in Div 1. Now that they seem to have laid off the growth hormones I'm not just as nervous as I would be about facing them as I was back then.

I find this talk of Cavanagh being a miss as kind of shite talk. He had more bad games after his 30th birthday than he had good ones. Bar those booming kicks against Donegal in the Ulster final two years ago he didn't cover himself in glory against the top sides in the '13, '15 or '16 defeats to Kerry and Mayo. His decline as a footballer post-2012 was clear enough at times. That's my opinion of it anyway.

We arguably have a better full-back line than last year with yesterday's men McCarron and McCrory relegated to the bench and the fresh legs of Hugh Pat on the park. McNamee also seems at times to be bringing his excellent club form into the senior side more so than other years I seen him been handed the full-back shirt. Burns is a serious addition to the team sheet and is by some clear distance the Tyrone county footballer of the year so far. Harte and McCann are struggling for form, Mattie is racking scores and leading reasonably well, can't expect a whole lot more of him. Midfield is a washout, Colm has to do all the donkey work himself and McClure is currently just the lesser of two evils (McClure v McNulty). This scenario is replicated in goals where Morgan is clearly the more talented keeper but his weekly clangers deny himself and the fullback line of any confidence. O'Neill is a standard keeper from 15 years ago, catch and boot it out, no finesse to his game.

The sad truth of it is that this is simply a panel punching at it's weight and occasionally a bit over it, we just don't have the footballers in Tyrone to challenge Dublin and, by the look of it now, Kerry either. It's the sad realisation that 30 counties and their fans have to come to. We're set for possibly a 6-7 year period of Kerry/Dublin dominance were the best your team can hope for is a one-off shock victory against a team falling away from the top table (a la Mayo-Kildare). Now I'm sure this will serve up some classic finals but that will only serve to paper over the general malaise at the heart of the game. I'd imagine the press cheerleaders will gladly hark to the 70's Dublin Kerry rivalry with gusto and for a short time people will buy this horseshit but I see a tiered "champions league" championship being foisted upon us by about 2021 or 2022 as the game continues to decline.
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2018, 12:35:26 AM
Quote from: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 12:24:57 AM

I find this talk of Cavanagh being a miss as kind of shite talk. He had more bad games after his 30th birthday than he had good ones. Bar those booming kicks against Donegal in the Ulster final two years ago he didn't cover himself in glory against the top sides in the '13, '15 or '16 defeats to Kerry and Mayo. His decline as a footballer post-2012 was clear enough at times. That's my opinion of it anyway.

That's the kind of narrative I can't abide. I think Sean scored 0-15 from midfield last summer. On a bad year apparently. People remember the booming kicks of 2016 but can't appreciate the dirty stuff.
Post by: blanketattack on July 04, 2018, 12:44:25 AM

2018 Tipperary
2017 Tipperary
2017 Waterford
2016 Limerick
2015 Clare
2014 Sligo
2014 Tipperary

and the win over Waterford was only by a point
Post by: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 04:15:12 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 04, 2018, 12:35:26 AM

That's the kind of narrative I can't abide. I think Sean scored 0-15 from midfield last summer. On a bad year apparently. People remember the booming kicks of 2016 but can't appreciate the dirty stuff.

How much of that was from play? Against Dublin and Donegal he got 0-1 each day both frees. Sean's latter years became much less about leading the team and more about speaking to the ref about not getting a free.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2018, 08:10:19 AM
The current Cork senior football team remain an enigma. Won 5 of the last 7 Munster U21 titles and they should be competitive challengers to Kerry in Munster but they aren't and instead they are around the same level as Clare.

Tyrone should win this game by about 6 points or maybe by more if they are in the mood.
Post by: square_ball on July 04, 2018, 08:26:48 AM
Quote from: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 04:15:12 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 04, 2018, 12:35:26 AM

How much of that was from play? Against Dublin and Donegal he got 0-1 each day both frees. Sean's latter years became much less about leading the team and more about speaking to the ref about not getting a free.

2 points from play in 5 matches last year. He was generally very poor last season in my opinion which i guess is understandable after 15 years at the top level.

Trileacman is spot on with his post on the current state of affairs of the Tyrone county side.
Post by: square_ball on July 04, 2018, 08:34:24 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 03, 2018, 10:18:41 PM
Ronan O'Neill to start this weekend? Surely we have to have more natural full forwards than McAliskey?

Bradley and Brennan were completing sprinting drills during Tyrone training last week and must be close to be named on the bench at least.

This kind of thinking annoys me. The lad has scored 1-20 in 4 games this summer, he has one poor game and you're looking him dropped? For me this sums up a lot of Tyrone fans nowadays - if a player isn't shooting the lights out every day he goes out he's no good and there has to be someone better out there.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 04, 2018, 09:10:04 AM
Quote from: square_ball on July 04, 2018, 08:34:24 AM

This kind of thinking annoys me. The lad has scored 1-20 in 4 games this summer, he has one poor game and you're looking him dropped? For me this sums up a lot of Tyrone fans nowadays - if a player isn't shooting the lights out every day he goes out he's no good and there has to be someone better out there.

I agree, Skeet has been our best forward this summer by a country mile and I think we would have been long gone from this championship but for him providing purple patches of sublime scoring throughout the season. As mentioned earlier, Cavannagh's loss is a factor too. His legs were going but he was still a major focal point for our attacks and generally the opposition put their best defenders on him. That focus is now on the likes of Skeet so there is likely to be games when he gets well marshalled. That's when we would like others to step up.
Post by: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 09:56:29 AM

Dead right, has proved this year that there's a definite step in class between himself and RON.
Post by: outsideoftheboot on July 04, 2018, 12:17:08 PM
I think RON has proved what hes capable off enough over the last few games. Woudnt have beat meath or cavan without him probably.

Getting increasingly concerned about cork as the week goes on and closer to the match...
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 04, 2018, 01:25:37 PM
QuoteCORK FOOTBALL MANAGER Ronan McCarthy has named a starting team showing five changes from the Munster final to face Tyrone in their All-Ireland SFC qualifier on Saturday.

Last month, Kerry stormed to the provincial crown with a 3-18 to 2-4 win over the Rebels at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Tyrone meanwhile, secured their spot in the Round 4 clash — a repeat of the 2009 All-Ireland semi-final which saw Cork triumph — after beating Cavan at the weekend.

Mallow's James Loughrey and Ballincollig's Cian Kiely are the two new additions to the Cork defence, with Kiely making his senior championship debut.

Brian O'Driscoll comes into midfield alongside Ian Maguire, while Castlehaven duo Brian Hurley and Michael Hurley start in the full-forward line.

Sam Ryan, Tomas Clancy, Aidan Walsh, Kevin O'Driscoll and John O'Rourke all make way.

Throw-in at O'Moore Park is 5pm on Saturday evening.

Cork
1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
3. Jamie O' Sullivan (Bishopstown)
4. Kevin Crowley (MillStreet)

5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
7. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)

8. Ian Maguire (St. Finbarrs) – Captain
9. Brian O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

10. Sean White (Clonakilty)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

13. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)

Subs

16. Anthony Casey ( Kiskeam)
17. Sam Ryan (St. Finbarrs)
18. Mathew Taylor (Mallow)
19. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
20. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
21. Killian O'Hanlon (Kilshannig)
22. Ronan O'Toole (Eire Og)
23. Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
24. John O Rourke ( Carbery Rangers)
25. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
26. Donnacha O' Connor (Ballydesmond)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 01:47:48 PM
Lads, you've missed my point. I meant surely RoN has to start alongside McAliskey. How long can we go on with one natural FF on the pitch?
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2018, 02:34:29 PM
The thing about Cork is they can turn on the style if they feel like it.
They wouldn't be afraid of Tyrone.

The worry is that Tyrone post Sean Cavanagh are like the Pussycat dolls without Nicole Scherzinger.
Post by: square_ball on July 04, 2018, 02:45:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 01:47:48 PM
Lads, you've missed my point. I meant surely RoN has to start alongside McAliskey. How long can we go on with one natural FF on the pitch?

Apologies omagh gael in that case. The sentence read as if you didn't rate McAliskey. Crossed wires!
Post by: WT4E on July 04, 2018, 02:48:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 04, 2018, 02:34:29 PM

The worry is that Tyrone post Sean Cavanagh are like the Pussycat dolls without Nicole Scherzinger.

LOL - you are a tube!  ;D

Probably more like Take That without Robbie Williams!
Post by: In hiding on July 04, 2018, 03:48:08 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 04, 2018, 09:56:29 AM

This kind of thinking annoys me. The lad has scored 1-20 in 4 games this summer, he has one poor game and you’re looking him dropped? For me this sums up a lot of Tyrone fans nowadays - if a player isn’t shooting the lights out every day he goes out he’s no good and there has to be someone better out there.

Dead right, has proved this year that there's a definite step in class between himself and RON.

You are exactly right there is a difference in class between the two
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2018, 04:06:32 PM
No Cork posters?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2018, 06:20:27 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2018, 08:10:53 PM

What I see is group of players under a smart manager pacing themselves in the qualifiers as they did in 2013 and 2015.

I don't buy this - the Meath game in particular punches major holes in the theory of Tyrone pacing themselves. No side pacing themselves ends up playing extra-time.
Also if they were pacing themselves they would have put Cavan away far far earlier. Cavan were woeful and were absolutely there for the taking early on but Tyrone did a mighty good job of keeping them in the match.

I said
QuoteI didn't exactly see much evidence of hunger/desire from the Tyrone players for long periods.
Not that I didnt see any hunger.
I said for long periods there wasn't much evidence of hunger/desire.
They showed a desire not to lose as opposed to going out there and showing a desire to win.
To me they look a team who have no faith in their ability to take on Dublin and were going through the motions a bit/ playing from rote memory of being hard to beat.

As a comparison Kerry look the hungriest team so far - running up a big score against Clare and then when they had their foot on Cork's windpipe they just kept on crushing.

I would say save your worrying for the Super 8s. I just can't see any scenario where Cork can get a win, unless they somehow rattle 3/4 goals.

Quote from: Blowitupref on July 04, 2018, 08:10:19 AM
The current Cork senior football team remain an enigma. Won 5 of the last 7 Munster U21 titles and they should be competitive challengers to Kerry in Munster but they aren't and instead they are around the same level as Clare.

Most of those Munster final wins were very narrow affairs. It's been the norm for years and years in Cork that the U21 team would do well and then a huge number of the players would show little or no development as footballers once they moved on to senior football. You look at those U21 teams and a huge chunk of the better players involved have been tried with the seniors at various points and the vast majority have made no impact. A junky club championship, zero belief in actual football coaching, a huge percent of the intercounty footballers playing hurling have all been given as some of the reasons. I think in the past Cork could get away with it but as football has developed, Cork's half-assed approach to football has meant they have been left behind, in spite of the their playing numbers.

Quote from: seafoid on July 04, 2018, 02:34:29 PM

Nonsense. They have no style to turn on. They might get some performances out of a few lads on the basis that there are a couple of lads in the last chance saloon in terms of having an intercounty career.

Quote from: Hound on July 03, 2018, 01:23:20 PM
Cork could be very dangerous. They could have a day where their forwards catch fire and score from everywhere.
Also any analysis of the game from "the experts" seems to ignore that Tyrone are a good notch below the level they were playing at this time last year. Meath-Tyrone was a very even game, and Cork are probably as good as Meath. Tyrone need to up their performance, both to beat Cork and to be competitive in S8.

Tyrone were poor for long periods against Meath, but it was definitely among the best Meath performances in a long while and yet Tyrone still didn't end up losing.

Imo Cork had their day where their forwards caught fire and it was the game against Tipp.
Tyrone will not need to up their performance to beat Cork but they will to be competitive in the S8.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 04, 2018, 08:15:22 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 04, 2018, 06:20:27 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2018, 08:10:53 PM

I don't buy this - the Meath game in particular punches major holes in the theory of Tyrone pacing themselves. No side pacing themselves ends up playing extra-time.
Also if they were pacing themselves they would have put Cavan away far far earlier. Cavan were woeful and were absolutely there for the taking early on but Tyrone did a mighty good job of keeping them in the match.

Tyrone also played Meath in 2013,2015 and had similar struggles but it didn't stop Tyrone from later reaching the All Ireland semi final. Cavan last weekend got a goal against the run of play and Tyrone took the sting out of any comeback and in the end it was a game where Tyrone kept Cavan at arms length without needing to hit top gears as I say smart play especially in this current heat.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 08:47:13 PM
Wouldn't read too much into the Cavan game. We were cruising and they scored a fluke goal and two quick fire points to level it. We upped the pace and got comfortably back in front.

If we can get past Cork and get two points in our first super 8 game It'll set us up well for a tilt at a semi final place. My money is on us sneaking into a semi against Kerry and getting beat by 3-4 points there.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 04, 2018, 09:12:50 PM
I think Tyrone's ability to cruise through the qualifiers is one of the major strengths of the Harte era. We have developed a knack of beating the teams outside the top 3 and we rarely get ambushed by the so called lower ranked counties. Often it isn't pretty but we do enough to survive. Since Cork beat us as defending champions in 2009 (and with the exception of the abomination v Armagh in 2014) Tyrone have only been finally knocked of the championship by either Dublin (3 times), Kerry (twice) or Mayo (twice) and I suppose the consistent defeats to those three teams is another feature of the last 10 years of the Harte reign as we just haven't been able to close that gap.
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2018, 10:18:58 PM
I hope you're right twohands.

I see a beating.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 11:48:11 PM
Looks like we might see Bradley on the bench.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/gaelic-games/44719876

I'd go with the following for Saturday:

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Think either Ritchy of McShane could be under pressure to hold their place. Surely we have to get more natural forwards on the pitch? Can see Ronan getting a start especially now that Bradley is available to get some game time off the bench.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 05, 2018, 08:19:48 AM
When is Lee Brennan back?
Post by: Dire Ear on July 05, 2018, 09:32:05 AM
Would Bradley came on before RON? 
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2018, 10:04:38 AM
Irish Times says Bradley fit and available; Brennan still struggling with hamstring and unlikely to play any part.
Post by: redhandefender on July 05, 2018, 10:43:21 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 08:47:13 PM
Wouldn't read too much into the Cavan game. We were cruising and they scored a fluke goal and two quick fire points to level it. We upped the pace and got comfortably back in front.

If we can get past Cork and get two points in our first super 8 game It'll set us up well for a tilt at a semi final place. My money is on us sneaking into a semi against Kerry and getting beat by 3-4 points there.

You say get 2 points in our first super 8 game like its no bother at all. Are we not playing Dublin?
Post by: Dire Ear on July 05, 2018, 10:50:03 AM
Dublin v Donegal is first game
Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 11:05:52 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on July 05, 2018, 10:43:21 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 08:47:13 PM

You say get 2 points in our first super 8 game like its no bother at all. Are we not playing Dublin?

Our first game if we get there would be against Ros or Armagh. If we've any intentions of making a Semi final that is a game we would need to be getting two points from. Donegal will play Dublin first and then are away to Ros/Armagh in game two, that'd be a tricky enough match for them.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on July 05, 2018, 11:30:28 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 11:48:11 PM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Think either Ritchy of McShane could be under pressure to hold their place. Surely we have to get more natural forwards on the pitch? Can see Ronan getting a start especially now that Bradley is available to get some game time off the bench.

Whilst I agree McShane is frustrating to watch I still think he has credit in the bank from the Meath equaliser and he has been tagging over a point or two in every game despite playing around the middle. If there are any changes I think McClure could be most under threat, he hasn't been playing well and with Cork traditionally being a big physical side I think it's possible McNulty could get the nod.

Richie Donnelly deserves to keep his place I think, Cork play a more open style of football compared to Cavan and Carlow which should give us more opportunities for direct ball into the full forward line which is what Richie is there for. Ronan O'Neill played very well the last day when he came on but he will have to settle for the same role this weekend, whilst it is also great to have Bradley back.

I'm expecting to see Morgan reinstated in goal and to keep his place for the rest of the year if we get through. I saw trileacman a couple of pages back on this board say about Morgan 'his weekly clangers deny himself and the fullback line of any confidence.' Maybe something has slipped my mind but has Morgan ever made a clanger costing us a goal? I think he is a far more reliable keeper than O'Neill and the only complaint I have with him is that he continues to come up for frees although even this obviously comes from management instruction.
Post by: Jayop on July 05, 2018, 01:04:43 PM
I thought McShane played well enough against Cavan. Tagged a few points and had a couple of good turn overs. Was working bloody hard in that heat too. He had been marking that Cavan no6 that got the goal for a fair bit of the first half and it wasn't until he switched off him that he got away for the goal.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 01:08:49 PM
Fair points regarding McShane. I couldn't get to the game so had to make do with TV coverage. Good shout re McNulty, he could definitely come in to do a job on Ian Maguire.
Post by: Jayop on July 05, 2018, 01:11:16 PM
My post should have said second half actually. I was right infront of where he was playing at every Cavan attack and McShane was marking him well.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 05, 2018, 01:11:40 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on July 05, 2018, 11:30:28 AM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Whilst I agree McShane is frustrating to watch I still think he has credit in the bank from the Meath equaliser and he has been tagging over a point or two in every game despite playing around the middle. If there are any changes I think McClure could be most under threat, he hasn't been playing well and with Cork traditionally being a big physical side I think it's possible McNulty could get the nod.

Richie Donnelly deserves to keep his place I think, Cork play a more open style of football compared to Cavan and Carlow which should give us more opportunities for direct ball into the full forward line which is what Richie is there for. Ronan O'Neill played very well the last day when he came on but he will have to settle for the same role this weekend, whilst it is also great to have Bradley back.

I'm expecting to see Morgan reinstated in goal and to keep his place for the rest of the year if we get through. I saw trileacman a couple of pages back on this board say about Morgan 'his weekly clangers deny himself and the fullback line of any confidence.' Maybe something has slipped my mind but has Morgan ever made a clanger costing us a goal? I think he is a far more reliable keeper than O'Neill and the only complaint I have with him is that he continues to come up for frees although even this obviously comes from management instruction.

Agree about Morgan. Other than missed frees and some poor kickouts in 15 v Kerry he has been very reliable. I can think of more obvious blunders from O'Neill from less games played.

Hoping to see a bit of improvement this week, it'll be needed. I'd personally make a change in midfield though not convinced McNulty the option either.
Post by: trileacman on July 05, 2018, 01:40:30 PM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Cost us a goal against Dublin in the league when the game was very much in the balance with a foray outfield. Really what I'm referring to is his short kick outs not finding their man. I'd safely say in the last 3 years of matches against division 1 opposition I'd find a clear example in every game of a point conceeded with a loose kickout. Add that to the fact that he's too small to dominant the aerial ball into the square and he doesn't save many goalward bound shots then I don't really rate him. He's actually a poorer shot stopper than O'Neill the only reason it's not common knowledge is that Tyrone's defence allows such few goal scoring opportunities. We really only allow 1 goal scoring opportunity to arise in a match and I'd say Morgan concedes 90% of those shots at him.

The lack of an aerial presence I can forgive but in the modern game it's his inconsistency with kick outs that make him a b-rate keeper. In his defence it has to be said that the lack of decent high fielders in the Tyrone squad means that when teams push up and rule out the short kick out he's left with practically no good options.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 05, 2018, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 05, 2018, 01:40:30 PM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Cost us a goal against Dublin in the league when the game was very much in the balance with a foray outfield. Really what I'm referring to is his short kick outs not finding their man. I'd safely say in the last 3 years of matches against division 1 opposition I'd find a clear example in every game of a point conceeded with a loose kickout. Add that to the fact that he's too small to dominant the aerial ball into the square and he doesn't save many goalward bound shots then I don't really rate him. He's actually a poorer shot stopper than O'Neill the only reason it's not common knowledge is that Tyrone's defence allows such few goal scoring opportunities. We really only allow 1 goal scoring opportunity to arise in a match and I'd say Morgan concedes 90% of those shots at him.

The lack of an aerial presence I can forgive but in the modern game it's his inconsistency with kick outs that make him a b-rate keeper. In his defence it has to be said that the lack of decent high fielders in the Tyrone squad means that when teams push up and rule out the short kick out he's left with practically no good options.

God it's weird how different people see things differently. I would have said that Morgan's kickouts are relatively strong. Certainly I'd be much more confident of him over O'Neill. I actually rate Morgan and definitely think he's Tyrone's strongest option in nets and actually for the size of him I'd rate him over O'Neill in the air as well. I'd be more than happy with him in there going forward and think he'll get stronger. With regards to the frees, I'd definitely limit his input there. I know we're not strong here anyway and I'd say it's a case of, needs must with him. But I'd rather see us taking some of the long range frees short (And Quickly, Not waiting and looking around to see what's happening and allowing the opposition to get men back). But other than that, happy with Morgan and always have been.
Post by: square_ball on July 05, 2018, 01:54:11 PM
Yeah I'd rate Morgan over O'Neill in all those aspects you mention especially shot stopping. You'd be hard pressed to find a keeper who doesn't make a mistake every match (or at least most matches) that leads to the score. In the era of short kick outs that's the risk every keeper takes now. O'Neill was poor against Cavan.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on July 05, 2018, 02:21:57 PM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Haha you really don't rate him at all. Total difference of opinion here, I would have said his reliability under the high ball is one of his biggest strengths as a keeper and I would be surprised if he is any shorter than Mickey O'Neill. I also think that goal v Dublin in the league was completely Hampsey's fault, Morgan was trying to create the overlap as Dublin had pressed our kickout but Hampsey messed it up
Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 02:22:08 PM

Morgan
Hampsey
McNamee
McKernan
McCann
Burns
Harte
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Donnelly
RoNeill
McAliskey
R Donnelly/McShane

Niall Morgan was not at fault for that goal against Dublin, that's utter rubbish. He went short to Hampsey (straight into the chest) and went for return pass to create the overlap. Hampsey completely fcuked up the return handpass and sent it straight to a Dublin man who passed off to O'Gara for the simple finish.

See 1hr 17mins here...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WkCvZnLKU0
Post by: WT4E on July 05, 2018, 03:39:24 PM
What about this curve ball play both Morgan and O'Neill!
Post by: twohands!!! on July 05, 2018, 03:57:07 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 05, 2018, 03:39:24 PM

Sssh - don't be giving the more defensive minded managers ideas
Post by: Dire Ear on July 05, 2018, 04:07:03 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 05, 2018, 03:39:24 PM
Aye,  Ronan...!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 05, 2018, 10:41:37 PM
Tír Eoghain

1 N Morgan

2 P Hamspey

3 R McNamee

4 M McKernan

5 T Mc Cann

6 F Burns

7 P Harte

8 C Cavanagh

9 D McClure

10 M Donnelly

11 N Sludden

12 C Meyler

13 C McShane

14 R Donnelly

15 C McAliskey

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2018, 06:26:51 PM
Anyway, happy enough with that 15, and with both R O'N and Mark Sparky to spring from the bench, amongst others, should be more than enough to trouble the Langers :)
Post by: rrhf on July 06, 2018, 06:44:32 PM
Good enough to make the super dooper 8s.
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2018, 08:46:10 PM
I was up at Garvaghey last night (locked out for a while!) and saw a paraglider in the wilds of Tyrone soaring over the training pitches. Those Cork lads will stop at nothing  8)
Post by: longballin on July 06, 2018, 09:14:23 PM
Wouldn't need a handglider to know Tyrone's tactics.
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2018, 10:33:04 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 06, 2018, 09:14:23 PM
Wouldn't need a handglider to know Tyrone's tactics.
It wasn't a handglider, it was a paraglider. Subtle differences are important. In cruising air currents and in setting up a football team.
Tyrone by 3.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 06, 2018, 10:44:52 PM
http://gordondunn.co.uk/
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2018, 04:48:56 PM
I stuck all my savings on Cork at 4/1
Post by: on the sideline on July 07, 2018, 05:05:11 PM
Any streams? Had one but it's just stopped.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2018, 05:13:25 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on July 07, 2018, 05:05:11 PM
Any streams? Had one but it's just stopped.

This one has worked so far, quality tolerable.
http://livetv.sx/enx/eventinfo/679875_cork_tyrone/
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 05:21:42 PM
Deegan is a f**king joke. Screwed Tyrone out of a goal and how that was a yellow card for Cork and not a black after two intentional trips. Corrupt f**k shouldn't be let ref games.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 07, 2018, 05:35:51 PM
Cork are brutal bad. 
Post by: Harold Disgracey on July 07, 2018, 05:36:41 PM
https://youtu.be/nOvg7JVPFpE
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 05:41:35 PM
Tyrone should be out of sight by now. Screwed out of a goal and butchered 3 good chances themselves as well as a few bad wides.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2018, 06:05:29 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on July 07, 2018, 05:36:41 PM
https://youtu.be/nOvg7JVPFpE
That stream's quality is desperate though,  both the stream and the game
at least this stream has a better quality
http://livetv.sx/enx/eventinfo/679875_cork_tyrone/ (http://livetv.sx/enx/eventinfo/679875_cork_tyrone/)
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 07, 2018, 06:13:50 PM
Tyrone cruising at the minute. Don't have to get out of 3rd gear.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 06:14:13 PM
Tyrone kicking on well in the second half.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 06:15:08 PM
Aaaand game over. Deegan finally figured out the advantage rule.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 07, 2018, 06:21:38 PM
Cork are a shambles
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 07, 2018, 06:30:01 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 07, 2018, 06:21:38 PM
Cork are a shambles

That's being kind to them sadly. Desperate stuff over the past two games.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 06:33:32 PM
Kerry kicked 3 18 against them and we've already got more than that. Crazy how bad Cork are.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2018, 06:33:53 PM
It will be a long long time before Cork beat Kerry again in Munster.

I am nowhere near a tv feed but it sounds like they are dia-f**king-bolical.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 06:36:01 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2018, 06:33:53 PM
It will be a long long time before Cork beat Kerry again in Munster.

I am nowhere near a tv feed but it sounds like they are dia-f**king-bolical.

Tyrone playing well but Cork are useless. All they have to offer the last twenty is trying to hurt people.
Post by: befair on July 07, 2018, 06:45:18 PM
Why are Cork so poor; big playing population, great tradition, they should be competitive every year. They looked disorganised and demotivated. It does put Kerry's performance against them in perspective
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2018, 06:53:08 PM
Well done Tyrone. This time 4-weeks ago we were punch-drunk on the ropes in Navan. Funny old game.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2018, 07:01:03 PM
Job done and super 8s secured. Bradley back and Brennan shouldn't be far behind. We'll give it a rattle, anyway.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 07, 2018, 07:04:01 PM
Just like the humiliation of Armagh last year, Tyrone will have learned nothing from that. Would much have preferred a sterner test heading into the Super 8s.
Post by: redzone on July 07, 2018, 07:07:48 PM
Sludden again immense
Post by: yellowcard on July 07, 2018, 07:09:09 PM
Based on that match you would have to review how good Kerry's performance was in the Munster final. Cork are woeful as they showed in the last 2 matches.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 07:11:32 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 07, 2018, 07:07:48 PM
Sludden again immense

Our best player now I think. Now more important than Harte.

I think that was the perfect type of game for Tyrone before the super 8. The team will be full of confidence next week against roscommon and we were able to take key players off early and give the likes of Bradley game time.
Post by: redzone on July 07, 2018, 07:17:10 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 07, 2018, 07:09:09 PM
Based on that match you would have to review how good Kerry's performance was in the Munster final. Cork are woeful as they showed in the last 2 matches.
Silly statement. Cork were woeful in that final. Could you not see that at the time.
Post by: yellowcard on July 07, 2018, 07:25:35 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 07, 2018, 07:17:10 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 07, 2018, 07:09:09 PM
Silly statement. Cork were woeful in that final. Could you not see that at the time.

No, but I can see it now after a defensive functional side like Tyrone racked up a huge score against them. At the time I thought that Kerry gave the most impressive performance of any side this season but that performance has to be reviewed in hindsight given how poor Cork looked today.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2018, 07:33:56 PM
First time I have seen Cork live in person for a number of years. I can't understand how a side with their pick and tradition can be so woeful now.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 07:40:28 PM
It's kinda funny how when Kerry hockey them it's because Kerry are an amazing attacking side but when they we score even more against them it's purely down to Cork being shite.

Tyrone had the second highest average score last season. Tyrone have been a high scoring team for several years.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 07, 2018, 07:44:26 PM
We were horrible in the first half but really pushed on at the start of the second half and finished the game swiftly.

Colm Cavanagh, Harte and Sludden were all excellent, encouraging to see Harte back to form after a poor 2018 to date. Good to see Bradley back and I think we needed a comprehensive win to regain a bit of confidence in the qualifiers.

Thought Rory Brennan looked very sharp when he came on.

Mattie had a very quite game.

Post by: redzone on July 07, 2018, 07:51:20 PM
Mattie seems to be playing a lot more defensively with burns maybe getting forward more. A great 3 weeks comping up
Post by: southtyronegael on July 07, 2018, 07:51:54 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 07:40:28 PM
It's kinda funny how when Kerry hockey them it's because Kerry are an amazing attacking side but when they we score even more against them it's purely down to Cork being shite.

Tyrone had the second highest average score last season. Tyrone have been a high scoring team for several years.
yeah very high scoring against mediocre teams. check out out our scoring average against the big teams this last 3 yrs in croke park.
Post by: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 07:55:23 PM
All teams in the top play shite teams too so it's irrelevant the point you're making.
Post by: southtyronegael on July 07, 2018, 08:14:37 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 07, 2018, 07:55:23 PM
All teams in the top play shite teams too so it's irrelevant the point you're making.
so is yours then
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2018, 08:15:46 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2018, 07:33:56 PM
First time I have seen Cork live in person for a number of years. I can't understand how a side with their pick and tradition can be so woeful now.

Cork were completely disinterested.
Post by: Hound on July 07, 2018, 08:52:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 07, 2018, 08:15:46 PM

I would have said uninterested!

Tyrone impressive, maybe it's my imagination, but they seem to have more proper ball players this year, like the years when they were champs.

Post by: Baggio90 on July 07, 2018, 09:28:40 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 07, 2018, 08:52:34 PM

Tyrone impressive, maybe it's my imagination, but they seem to have more proper ball players this year, like the years when they were champs.

Not really much of a change in personnel this year, certainly having McAliskey back from injury is a good thing. We do seem to be leaving more players forward and Frank Burns is having a super year.

I don't think we're playing anywhere near as well as we were this time last year but on the plus side I think we are less one dimensional than last year.

Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2018, 09:59:13 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 07, 2018, 08:52:34 PM

You're correct, sorry.

Looked like fellas booked on a plane to Portrush for the summer.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 07, 2018, 10:19:56 PM
Was today Tyrone's equivalent of the 2008 quarter final ?  The game where they leapt the ditch?
Post by: DuffleKing on July 07, 2018, 10:29:28 PM

Something I've been wondering about - do club teams in Tyrone have the same aversion to kicking the ball as Harte's lads or is this a style of play they learn when they get selected?

Surely there must be clubs who play football? Ejat way to the better teams play?
Post by: SkillfulBill on July 07, 2018, 11:02:22 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 07, 2018, 10:29:28 PM

Something I've been wondering about - do club teams in Tyrone have the same aversion to kicking the ball as Harte's lads or is this a style of play they learn when they get selected?

Surely there must be clubs who play football? Ejat way to the better teams play?

Club football in Tyrone is actually very different than county. Tyrone clubs at senior level tend to be much more traditional with the exception of one or two club's such as mickeys Errigal
Post by: Jayop on July 08, 2018, 12:43:19 AM

Kinda funny to be crying about a lack of kicking on a day where Tyrone kicked the ball plenty.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 08:16:59 AM

I.dont usually count off the tee
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 08:24:21 AM

It's embarrassing for you to make a bullshit observation like this on the day Tyrone hit 3-20. Pick your moments better if you want to be a wum!
Post by: RedHand88 on July 08, 2018, 08:52:27 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 07, 2018, 07:51:54 PM

yeah very high scoring against mediocre teams. check out out our scoring average against the big teams this last 3 yrs in croke park.

1-21 last year versus Donegal. Or does clones not count? I can't keep up with these rules anymore.
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:30:07 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 08, 2018, 08:52:27 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 07, 2018, 07:51:54 PM

1-21 last year versus Donegal. Or does clones not count? I can't keep up with these rules anymore.

Donegal were diabolical last year. Galway annihilated them in qualifiers as well.
Post by: southtyronegael on July 08, 2018, 12:27:41 PM
its what you score against the big teams in the big games that counts. we scored 1-11 against kerry in 2015, 12 points mayo 2016 and 11 against dublin 2017.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:28:23 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 08, 2018, 12:27:41 PM
its what you score against the big teams in the big games that counts. we scored 1-11 against kerry in 2015, 12 points mayo 2016 and 11 against dublin 2017.

It's the result that counts, not what you score.
Post by: southtyronegael on July 08, 2018, 12:33:43 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:28:23 PM

well if you score 11 or 12 points against a big team in croke park there is only gonna be one result.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:36:32 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 08, 2018, 12:33:43 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:28:23 PM

well if you score 11 or 12 points against a big team in croke park there is only gonna be one result.

Kerry and Mayo were narrow defeats where we had enough chances to win the games but our forward's finishing and our frees let us down.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 12:38:16 PM

What's the score got to do with whether you kick the ball or not? or the result.

It was a genuine question about club football in Tyrone - not the county team or yesterday, last week or last year.

Touchy much?
Post by: southtyronegael on July 08, 2018, 12:43:26 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 12:38:16 PM

What's the score got to do with whether you kick the ball or not? or the result.

It was a genuine question about club football in Tyrone - not the county team or yesterday, last week or last year.

Touchy much?club football in tyrone bears no resemblence to the county football bar a couple of clubs. the moy being an obvious example. tyrone club championship is mighty viewing.
Post by: Jayop on July 08, 2018, 12:58:32 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 12:38:16 PM

Touchy much?

It was a shit effort and your effort to cover it up is just as shit. Did you even watch the game yesterday or will you read a tweet by Joe Brolly and build your opinion based on that?
Post by: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 01:23:46 PM

Maybe you boys don't bother with club football? Just send them to the athletics and 20 yard pop pass factory?
Post by: redzone on July 08, 2018, 02:00:08 PM
You near think Armagh won yesterday and we were beat.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 03:05:39 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 01:23:46 PM

Maybe you boys don't bother with club football? Just send them to the athletics and 20 yard pop pass factory?

Duffkeking, had Armagh just won a championship match by 16 points to cruise into the Super 8, whilst Tyrone had just been beaten by a fairly mediocre Roscommon outfit, then I'd doubt very much that I'd be on here having a pop at Armagh football. Clearly you were out in the sun too long yesterday. Sun and Buckfast does make a man say and do silly things I suppose, so you can have a fools pardon for this one.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 03:15:05 PM
Simple question about Tyrone club football - that one poster has been kind enough to take the time to answer - which had nothing to do with anyone's county games yesterday.

Not sure why you are all so defensive about the perceived implications of a simple question.

Maybe your reactions are projecting your own subconscious frustrations
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:19:00 PM
Take it over to the club football thread DK, not sure what you find so difficult to understand about that?  ::)
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 03:19:42 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 03:15:05 PM
Simple question about Tyrone club football - that one poster has been kind enough to take the time to answer - which had nothing to do with anyone's county games yesterday.

Not sure why you are all so defensive about the perceived implications of a simple question.

Maybe your reactions are projecting your own subconscious frustrations

Aye maybe. But like I said, I wouldn't be having a pop at Armagh in similar circumstances so maybe your subconscious frustrations are projecting themselves too.  ::)
Post by: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 03:21:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:19:00 PM
Take it over to the club football thread DK, not sure what you find so difficult to understand about that?  ::)

I didn't get an answer...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:24:11 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 08, 2018, 03:21:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:19:00 PM

I didn't get an answer...

So what brings you to a conclusion that the County forum is the best option for your Tyrone club query?
Post by: trailer on July 09, 2018, 09:28:21 AM
Cork were desperately bad. They lack any sort of rudder and two fairly hefty hidings show were they are at. Tyrone did well. They only had to beat what was put in front of them. Stiffer tests await.