Hurling puts football in the shade

Started by Wildweasel74, August 11, 2013, 04:04:07 PM

Hurling is more skilful. Massed defences dont work . Offaly had 2 sweepers and 2 midfielders playing back and still got hammered.

mrhardyannual

No doubt about it but a good hurling match will always top a good football game. Hated when Railway Cup hurling final or Club hurling final were put on before the football as it made the football look so slow and lacking in skill.

Quote from: laoislad on August 06, 2017, 07:17:53 PM
👍
Great game compared to that muck yesterday.

Hurling has a serious inferiority complex.

snoopdog

Quote from: RedHand88 on August 06, 2017, 08:27:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 06, 2017, 07:17:53 PM
👍
Great game compared to that muck yesterday.

Hurling has a serious inferiority complex.
[/quote
Totally agree. The hurling crowd are always at this Craic. 

The only thing great about that hurley game today was the closeness of the contest and the dramatic winner.

didlyi

Its just a bit of fun lads. Sure Cork people are known to have inferiority complexs yet think they are greater than everyone else. Theres a thin line between greatness and mediocrity.

Why do we need to bring this crap thread up again. Can't we just be glad to get some good games at all.

Yes today's hurling match was awesome.

Yes, this weekends football was dull.

The fact is I've sat through plenty of dull hurling matches that were over after 10 minutes, football at the moment is just lacking in competitiveness at the moment. Hurling was in a similar spot when Kilkenny were winning all round them. Soon enough we'll have more teams up to Dublins level but we'll just have to grin and bear it for now.

Agree with thejuice -- this is not the place for footballing fecking self-flagellation! Go to the hurling forum if that's what floats your boat.

Quote from: thejuice on August 06, 2017, 10:27:51 PM
Why do we need to bring this crap thread up again. Can't we just be glad to get some good games at all.

The fact is I've sat through plenty of dull hurling matches that were over after 10 minutes, football at the moment is just lacking in competitiveness at the moment. Hurling was in a similar spot when Kilkenny were winning all round them. Soon enough we'll have more teams up to Dublins level but we'll just have to grin and bear it for now.

Unlike Dublin Kilkenny had no unfair advantage, they were just better.

Quote from: armaghniac on August 06, 2017, 10:47:38 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 06, 2017, 10:27:51 PM

Unlike Dublin Kilkenny had no unfair advantage, they were just better.

Agreed

The Sunday Game Retweeted
Joe Brolly
Joe Brolly @JoeBrolly1993
·
6h
THANK GOD FOR HURLING

It was entertaining stuff for the last 10 minutes, but by no means a great or even a 'very good' game of hurling.
The gushing praise any half decent game of hurling gets is a small bit embarrassing at this stage.
It's like the entire country just agrees to pretend it was a great game, because well, it's 'the greatest game in the world'.

I was there and I've never known excitement like it. Was a nervous wreck through the whole second half. And the joy/relief when the winner went over and the final whistle blew - no words. Over the moon for Joe too. There was plenty of sloppiness but that just added to the tension and drama.

Juice said it, why do we need to bring this crap thread up again?

Football is a great game, but obviously the massive gap between the top few and the rest is causing some dull games.

Quote from: Asal Mor on August 07, 2017, 07:31:09 AM
I was there and I've never known excitement like it. Was a nervous wreck through the whole second half. And the joy/relief when the winner went over and the final whistle blew - no words. Over the moon for Joe too. There was plenty of sloppiness but that just added to the tension and drama.

Football is a great game, but obviously the massive gap between the top few and the rest is causing some dull games.

Off the top of my head I'm thinking of canavan free v Armagh 05, cluxton v Kerry 2011, coc miss in last year's final...
And the gap is worse in hurling. It's that bad that half the counties in the country don't even bother entering.

Quote from: RedHand88 on August 07, 2017, 08:04:51 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on August 07, 2017, 07:31:09 AM

Off the top of my head I'm thinking of canavan free v Armagh 05, cluxton v Kerry 2011, coc miss in last year's final...
And the gap is worse in hurling. It's that bad that half the counties in the country don't even bother entering.
This year the provincial finals and 3 out of 4 quarter finals were over after 50 minutes