Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: hairyUlsterman on July 15, 2014, 01:37:21 PM

Title: Tim McGarry Ulster-Scots
Post by: hairyUlsterman on July 15, 2014, 01:37:21 PM
Has anyone viewed this on BBC Northern Ireland?

I found it a bit patronising so I did, especially how it was repeated the day after the 12th July, it was a bit like saying 'this is why you lot should be unionists'.

Everyone knows that unionists use the ancient Dal Riada kingdom as a tool to promote modern unionism and it kept leaving out important details of it such as how the Gaels brought the language and gaelic games over to the scottish side of the kingdom.

It never even mentioned the Gallowglasses or how a few major Scottish clans are directly descended from O'Neill High kings.
Title: Re: Tim McGarry Ulster-Scots
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 15, 2014, 02:20:35 PM
It wud seekin a doag
Post by: Itchy on October 19, 2017, 10:42:01 PM
Anyone hear this Ulster scots native speaker on radio this week...

https://twitter.com/LADFLEG/status/920742992872214528?s=08
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 20, 2017, 12:17:10 AM
You know what they call vacuum cleaners? "Flure suckers." That's no joke.
Post by: T Fearon on October 20, 2017, 07:21:28 AM
Tim is a good lad.He was the MC at a recent business breakfast I was at.One of the speakers was from a company with a word in Irish in its title.On introducing her and her company,Tim emphasised the Irish word,then asked the DUP MP in attendance if he was happy with this!😂😂😂
Post by: michaelg on October 20, 2017, 07:23:25 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 20, 2017, 07:21:28 AM
Tim is a good lad.He was the MC at a recent business breakfast I was at.One of the speakers was from a company with a word in Irish in its title.On introducing her and her company,Tim emphasised the Irish word,then asked the DUP MP in attendance if he was happy with this!😂😂😂
Hilarious.
Post by: seafoid on October 20, 2017, 08:12:51 AM
Is there an Ulster Scots dictionary?
Is the Bible available in the language?
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 20, 2017, 08:57:31 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 20, 2017, 12:17:10 AM

Stormont = The Big Hoos on the Hill
Child with disabilities = dafty wain
Mary had a little lamb = Mary had a wee wee lamb
Whose fleece was white as snow = whose fleece was white as snoo

If my memory serves me correct, these are genuine translations sent out to primary school teachers a few years ago. The dafty wain one is a disgrace.

You can find some other crackers by picking up an Ulster Scots guide at the Titanic Centre. 'See it, touch it, feel it' is translated as 'luk see, fing'r it, pree it'.
Post by: Tyrdub on October 20, 2017, 08:59:51 AM
I've done some work with the Ulster Scots Agency, the chief executive sent me a "Happy New Years message", I replied as gaeilge. Must admit though that I face palmed looking at some of their words and dialect.
Post by: MoChara on October 20, 2017, 09:14:21 AM
Quote from: Itchy on October 19, 2017, 10:42:01 PM

Franks a very quick learner to pick it up so quickly  ;D ;D
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on October 20, 2017, 11:18:20 AM

Feck me could hardly listen to it I was so embarrassed for him. He couldnt even make some shit up for 30 seconds to try and make it sound different to English - pathetic. I can now see why 140 million is needed for this it will take at least that much to try and distract everyone from the actual ridiculous reality that this is English with an accent with a few slang words and sayings. You couldnt make it up but hey thats exactly what they are doing.
Post by: Rawhide on October 20, 2017, 11:35:58 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on October 20, 2017, 11:18:20 AM

Feck me could hardly listen to it I was so embarrassed for him. He couldnt even make some shit up for 30 seconds to try and make it sound different to English - pathetic. I can now see why 140 million is needed for this it will take at least that much to try and distract everyone from the actual ridiculous reality that this is English with an accent with a few slang words and sayings. You couldnt make it up but hey thats exactly what they are doing.

truly embarrassing, isn't it.
Post by: Franko on October 20, 2017, 11:44:06 AM
It must be hard to be a member of the PUL brigade.  Imagine having to make up your culture as you go along.
Post by: Itchy on October 20, 2017, 11:49:38 AM
There are a couple of possibilities how I understand this language.

- I was born in Ulster so picked it up as a child unbeknownst to myself.
- The lord above is bestowing on me the gift of tongues, previously only available to disciples of Jesus. He doesn't want to overload me up front so started me off on Ulster Scots.
- This is a made up bullshit.
Post by: Itchy on October 20, 2017, 11:50:16 AM

Prostitutes know as Flute Suckers?
Post by: sensethetone on October 20, 2017, 11:53:04 AM
Quote from: Rawhide on October 20, 2017, 11:35:58 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on October 20, 2017, 11:18:20 AM

truly embarrassing, isn't it.

It didn't sound offlay Wheel.
Post by: rrhf on October 20, 2017, 01:13:58 PM
Taken from the Latin word hoover
Post by: Orior on October 20, 2017, 01:22:51 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 20, 2017, 01:13:58 PM
Taken from the Latin word hoover

Howl your whisht.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 20, 2017, 01:43:46 PM
I reckon I should apply for a grant for South Armagh-ish....well beur....you're munya...can I feek you...thon feen is pure stone rulya!  Seriously we have more 'different' words that the wee dafties in the Oolster Scots crowd😂
Post by: tiempo on October 20, 2017, 02:10:29 PM
Give them partiy of esteem. Irish Language Act, Ulster Scots Language Act and then sit back and watch as they try to front pure gobbledygook at the expense of HM Trrasury. Their inward looking sectarian xenophobic land grabbing DNA will catch them out in the end. The Brits would soon ditch them if they spunked a good couple hunderd mill on the likes of Ulster Scots, eventually.
Post by: NetNitrate on October 20, 2017, 02:15:33 PM
Always enjoyed this one, like something out of Waterford Whispers but real story from BBC!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/478513.stm
Post by: rrhf on October 20, 2017, 02:17:26 PM
Quite certain the maloon rood has its own lingo too.
Post by: lurganblue on October 20, 2017, 04:17:11 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on October 20, 2017, 02:15:33 PM
Always enjoyed this one, like something out of Waterford Whispers but real story from BBC!

I'd love to see a few pics of those signs
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 20, 2017, 05:10:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 20, 2017, 08:12:51 AM

They're working on it. If you have a bit of time to kill and feel like a good laugh, you could get hours of endless fun out of this:

http://www.ulsterscotsacademy.com/words/dictionary/index.php

Check out the Gospel of Luke, or "Guid Wittins frae Doctèr Luik." The foreword begins "A hale lock o fowk haes taen ït ïn han tae draa up an accoont o aa tha things that haes cum aboot amang iz."
Post by: 5 Sams on October 20, 2017, 05:14:18 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 20, 2017, 04:17:11 PM

(https://extramuralactivity.files.wordpress.com/2017/06/04205-2017-06-07-heichbrae-airt.jpg?w=636&h=495)
Post by: red hander on October 20, 2017, 05:46:06 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 20, 2017, 05:14:18 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 20, 2017, 04:17:11 PM

They actually put a couple of Olster Scoots signs up in Silverstream about 20 years ago and they were vandalised within hours by the local loyalists, who thought they were Irish... the council didn't try that again  :)

(https://extramuralactivity.files.wordpress.com/2017/06/04205-2017-06-07-heichbrae-airt.jpg?w=636&h=495)
Post by: armaghniac on October 20, 2017, 06:19:39 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 20, 2017, 01:43:46 PM
I reckon I should apply for a grant for South Armagh-ish....well beur....you're munya...can I feek you...thon feen is pure stone rulya!  Seriously we have more 'different' words that the wee dafties in the Oolster Scots crowd😂

great kif altogether
Post by: seafoid on October 20, 2017, 09:27:37 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 20, 2017, 05:10:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 20, 2017, 08:12:51 AM

They're working on it. If you have a bit of time to kill and feel like a good laugh, you could get hours of endless fun out of this:

http://www.ulsterscotsacademy.com/words/dictionary/index.php

Check out the Gospel of Luke, or "Guid Wittins frae Doctèr Luik." The foreword begins "A hale lock o fowk haes taen ït ïn han tae draa up an accoont o aa tha things that haes cum aboot amang iz."
GRMA. Very interesting
Post by: stiffler on October 21, 2017, 07:35:03 AM
Is this an actual language or just bad English  :o

abatement noun: let-up; (no a~) nae let-up

abbatoir noun:  slauchtèr-hoose

abbey noun: (generic) monastrie; (specific and place-name) abbey; (hist.) abbacie

abbreviate verb:  cut doon, shoarten; (a~ the length of your speech) cut tha lenth o yer taak doon
Post by: screenexile on October 21, 2017, 09:59:13 AM
THere is no way on earth this nonsense is a language.

I wonder how they went about classifying it? Whoever managed to get them to believe it was a language did some job!
Post by: imtommygunn on October 21, 2017, 10:45:12 AM
Yes... A bit like whoever convinced someone that paying people 1.60 per 1.00 was a good idea too!

Fund your mates springs to mind again...
Post by: tiempo on October 21, 2017, 11:57:27 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 21, 2017, 10:45:12 AM
Yes... A bit like whoever convinced someone that paying people 1.60 per 1.00 was a good idea too!

Fund your mates springs to mind again...

The entire basis of the proxy state is that one "culture" (I use that term loosely) could reign glorious over another, some hoor has to fund it. Fast forward to the 21st century, post-Agreement, you wouldnt want themmuns getting a slice of the pie and not getting in on the act yourself.

Honestly Sinn Fein should be lobbying that the Brits fund the shit out of this parody language so that
a) The Irish Language Act attained
b) waste of HM Treasury funds
c) we all get a good laugh at the cúnts having to front it
d) when the Brits wake up to it they'll run a mile

Read this and weep (laugh your balls off)...

Anything that leans one way or another in the North is open to suspicion: including, as I mentioned here before, a notorious punctuation mark in the title of the language agency, the Boord O Ulstèr Scotch.

At a press event promoting the Boord some years ago, I asked – out of genuine curiosity – what the effect of the accent on the E in Ulster was. Whereupon a spokeswoman admitted it had none: "we just thought it looked good". And so it does. But I couldn't help noticing that the accent pointed in the opposite direction from the Irish fada, which was hardly accidental.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/an-irishman-s-diary-1.523630
Post by: seafoid on October 21, 2017, 08:51:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 21, 2017, 09:59:13 AM
THere is no way on earth this nonsense is a language.

I wonder how they went about classifying it? Whoever managed to get them to believe it was a language did some job!
a language needs certain features to qualify. Using the words and structure of another language 95% of the time does not qualify ulster Scots as a language.
Post by: LeoMc on October 21, 2017, 10:43:11 PM
There are several variants of Scots (Scottish English). ulster Scots is linguistically identical to the lowland Scots variant. The question is whether Scots is a language or a dialect of English. Most speakers of Scots consider it a dialect. It is only here they try to argue it is a language.
Post by: johnneycool on October 21, 2017, 10:53:09 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 21, 2017, 10:43:11 PM
There are several variants of Scots (Scottish English). ulster Scots is linguistically identical to the lowland Scots variant. The question is whether Scots is a language or a dialect of English. Most speakers of Scots consider it a dialect. It is only here they try to argue it is a language.

Simples,
  themmuns have a language and want money to promote it, we need a language too.......
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 22, 2017, 05:43:49 AM
Isn't Ulcer Scoots for homosexual 'big Jessie'?

My da is Lurgan through and through and I think Shankill Estate has its own dialect. He calls a gay man 'nervous a himself'.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 22, 2017, 09:06:33 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 22, 2017, 05:43:49 AM
Isn't Ulcer Scoots for homosexual 'big Jessie'?

My da is Lurgan through and through and I think Shankill Estate has its own dialect. He calls a gay man 'nervous a himself'.

I would have heard a version of that he's a wee bit shy of himself....
Post by: tiempo on October 22, 2017, 09:10:03 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 21, 2017, 10:43:11 PM

Come to think of it if it was its own language specific to owc shouldnt it be called Norn Ironish, calling it Ulster Scots is like renaming Portugeue spoken in South America to Iberio Brazilian. So lazy they couldnt even create their own they had to kelp a lowland Scots dialect. I'd say they are homesick.
Post by: OgraAnDun on November 25, 2017, 10:21:29 AM
http://play.bbc.co.uk/play/pen/g5ljfgcl3v

Turns out I'm already fluent in this language.
Post by: Boycey on November 25, 2017, 11:46:46 AM
10/10  8)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2017, 12:01:26 PM
Quote from: Boycey on November 25, 2017, 11:46:46 AM
10/10  8)
+1. The Queen of the Glens in the background too  8)

Cutty is probably the only word of the 10 not used in that area. I have really only heard people from around Omagh use that word.
Post by: armaghniac on November 25, 2017, 01:45:24 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on November 25, 2017, 10:21:29 AM
http://play.bbc.co.uk/play/pen/g5ljfgcl3v

Turns out I'm already fluent in this language.

This isn't Ulster Scots though, just norn Iron dialect words. Gulpin likely isn't used in Scotland at all and the OED gives a use of cutty in Scotland not connected to the Tyrone usage.