Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

Whether 39,000 is 1% or 10% its still far far more than any other footballing County.
The numbers coupled with the €s and an excellent structure for developing the cream of the 39,000 plus a walk through Leinster Chamoionship allied with all big games at home.......
No wonder yer man said the game is gone all Steve Davis- ruthless boring efficiency with the same winner annually.

By the way I'm still convinced the real figure for Cork is 23k not the 33k in that link I put up.
Can anyone elaborate?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Rossfan on February 16, 2021, 11:00:09 AM
Whether 39,000 is 1% or 10% its still far far more than any other footballing County.
The numbers coupled with the €s and an excellent structure for developing the cream of the 39,000 plus a walk through Leinster Chamoionship allied with all big games at home.......
No wonder yer man said the game is gone all Steve Davis- ruthless boring efficiency with the same winner annually.

By the way I'm still convinced the real figure for Cork is 23k not the 33k in that link I put up.
Can anyone elaborate?

Its not that much higher than other counties and the relatively small, if not smallest % of any county shows the challenges we face that you don't. Dublin does not have the numbers majority some make out

Are you asking us to elaborate on why you can't read/don't understand your own link?

TheGreatest

Quote from: Rossfan on February 19, 2021, 09:44:16 AM
Officialdom still on message ::)

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dont-cut-dublin-funding-county-boards-overwhelmingly-have-their-say-in-our-exclusive-survey-40108113.html

What's the begrudgers thoughts on this?

Anyone how here put any motions through their club to their country chairman about the issues you have all raised in this thread?

they dont want to rock the boat and piss off the boys in croke park because they're dependent on the monies that croke park grant them.

Quote from: TheGreatest on February 19, 2021, 03:37:10 PM

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dont-cut-dublin-funding-county-boards-overwhelmingly-have-their-say-in-our-exclusive-survey-40108113.html

Anyone how here put any motions through their club to their country chairman about the issues you have all raised in this thread?
Do you remember the China Syndrome,the film about a nuclear reactor that overheated and threatened to burn down through the ground and surface in China?
WE got something similar or hands now as the headless chickens, aka the Croke Park mandarins, realise too late that the monster they created is overheating and is out of control.
Dublin has to be propped up and, allowing for enhanced sponsorship potential and the many clubs with large membership dues, it hasn't the grassroots support to be viable.
The future of  the Gah in Leitrim is more secure than it is in Dublin. Mayo may never win another All Ireland but as long as Knockmore lock horns with the Stephenites or Breaffy and Castlebar knock the shite outa each other, the GAA will remain the opium of the people throughout the county. 
In Dublin I'd wager that more than 50% of the population has no idea what the All Ireland Championship is, never mind who or what are the reigning champions.
All those in the inner circle may bury their heads in the sand but harsh reality will inevitably give them a right good kick up the hole.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Tubberman on February 19, 2021, 07:31:32 PM
they dont want to rock the boat and piss off the boys in croke park because they're dependent on the monies that croke park grant them.

Not true, they will get their money, Has anyone on here, put a motion through their clubs to do anything about all the issues you all raise here?

TheGreatest

Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 19, 2021, 10:53:57 PM

Do you remember the China Syndrome,the film about a nuclear reactor that overheated and threatened to burn down through the ground and surface in China?
WE got something similar or hands now as the headless chickens, aka the Croke Park mandarins, realise too late that the monster they created is overheating and is out of control.
Dublin has to be propped up and, allowing for enhanced sponsorship potential and the many clubs with large membership dues, it hasn't the grassroots support to be viable.
The future of  the Gah in Leitrim is more secure than it is in Dublin. Mayo may never win another All Ireland but as long as Knockmore lock horns with the Stephenites or Breaffy and Castlebar knock the shite outa each other, the GAA will remain the opium of the people throughout the county. 
In Dublin I'd wager that more than 50% of the population has no idea what the All Ireland Championship is, never mind who or what are the reigning champions.
All those in the inner circle may bury their heads in the sand but harsh reality will inevitably give them a right good kick up the hole.

I have always said on here, the Inter County Senior football championship is not the whole GAA, Its a cog in the wheel. GAA is club and more so outside of Dublin.

Louther

Quote from: TheGreatest on February 22, 2021, 09:40:53 AM

Not true, they will get their money, Has anyone on here, put a motion through their clubs to do anything about all the issues you all raise here?

Have you ever tried to get a motion on anything onto the Clar at county convention? If it's anyway against the grain then it will take a serious effort to get it there.

Our club, along with other clubs, have tried to get number of matters in motions to county convention over the years. Louth has seen lots of unease over recent years.

Majority of these have never seen light of day, for various reasons, including:
Motion not correctly written or presented.
Has been referred to sub-committee for consideration as motion isn't a matter for convention.
Refers to incorrect by-law/county regulation/rule
Is covered by another motion that the county committee are taking to the clar but is then subsequently either withdrawn or is nowhere close to presented motion.
Gets to clar but top table votes and their clubs vote against it.

It's not an easy process. One that the county committee have to then take up the line is never welcome.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 19, 2021, 10:53:57 PM

But that 50% is definitely higher than it was before the Dubs started winning.

I have been in pubs in Dublin and had to ask for the AIF (not Dubs playing) be put on and the local barman embarrassed he had no idea it was on.

So you have to chose. The GAA existing in a meaningful sense in Dublin or not.

matchfit21

Quote from: TheGreatest on February 22, 2021, 09:40:53 AM

Yes. A motion to rebalance the development money allowance.

macker15

Have you example of clubs who lost grants due to putting motion about Dublin funding??

Quote from: macker15 on February 26, 2021, 10:06:48 PM

Have you example of clubs who lost grants due to putting motion about Dublin funding??

We have examples of Counties blackmailed for funding into giving Dublin home advantage in the Leinster Championship. We have examples of counties having to vote for weighted home games for Dublin in the Super 8 in order to get funding.

macker15

Quote from: From the Bunker on February 26, 2021, 11:24:11 PM

We have examples of Counties blackmailed for funding into giving Dublin home advantage in the Leinster Championship. We have examples of counties having to vote for weighted home games for Dublin in the Super 8 in order to get funding.

Like who?? Who might post on the links when get chance.

Quote from: From the Bunker on February 26, 2021, 11:24:11 PM

Where are these examples?