Car Insurance!!!!!

Started by balladmaker, January 21, 2010, 07:18:31 PM

Quote from: trailer on November 08, 2023, 09:38:38 AMWe need Sean Quinn back. He was untouchable in the insurance market.

That's because he wasn't putting aside enough to pay the claims!

Hughes, am with them bollacks, why they say it jumped so much

Got a quote with Hughes 20 years ago and I thought they were very dear then.

toby47

Quote from: clarshack on November 07, 2023, 09:23:43 PMIf it keeps going the way it is will more and more people just end up driving around with no insurance? Probably worth the risk if you drive an old banger but maybe not so much if you're running around in a 20-30 grand motor.

What would happen if you were stopped? Not in an accident or anything, but just pulled in by the cops and no insurance.

Quote from: toby47 on November 09, 2023, 12:05:55 PM
Quote from: clarshack on November 07, 2023, 09:23:43 PMIf it keeps going the way it is will more and more people just end up driving around with no insurance? Probably worth the risk if you drive an old banger but maybe not so much if you're running around in a 20-30 grand motor.

What would happen if you were stopped? Not in an accident or anything, but just pulled in by the cops and no insurance.

6 points and a huge fine. Also in the north (not sure about the south) they don't need to pull you over and discover it. It flags up when they are driving past you, behind you etc.
Camera on the car picks up your reg and does the search automatically.

Saffrongael

Quote from: RedHand88 on November 09, 2023, 01:16:14 PM

6 points and a huge fine. Also in the north (not sure about the south) they don't need to pull you over and discover it. It flags up when they are driving past you, behind you etc.

Not sure every cop car has the ANPR capability ?
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Car insurance is compulsory by law, to the point that law enforcement will actively make the case against you for any discrepancy, rather than devolving it as a civil matter. What a wonderful perk for any business model.

It is therefore, for all intents and purposes, taxation. Except it is a tax which is set (as good as) independently from government regulation, and one in which our contributions make their way into the pockets of foreign shareholders.

Insurance is rotten from the top-down.

toby47

How huge would you be talking? More expensive than a years insurance?

Mike Tyson

Quote from: toby47 on November 09, 2023, 01:55:42 PM

Potentially a lot more expensive:

"The police could give you a fixed penalty of £300 and 6 penalty points if you're caught driving a vehicle you're not insured to drive.

If the case goes to court you could get:

an unlimited fine
disqualified from driving
The police also have the power to seize, and in some cases, destroy the vehicle that's being driven uninsured.
"

It's six points as well, which when you declare to your insurance company it inflates your premiums.
I get people saying it's a con but the alternate is a free for all on the roads. Imagine you having to fix a nice new car cause some shithead in hape of shite drives into you.

Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2023, 02:20:18 PM

It's six points as well, which when you declare to your insurance company it inflates your premiums.
I get people saying it's a con but the alternate is a free for all on the roads. Imagine you having to fix a nice new car cause some shithead in hape of shite drives into you.

Your still be able to claim of the motor insurers Bureau (MIB). Their the good guys dress in black, remember that, Just in case they ever make face to face contact.

I mean, you're going to have to pay the insurance anyway if you're caught without it, at a higher rate than if you'd just got it at the start as you now have 6 penalty points. So yes you'll be much much worse out of pocket.

Inviting sod's law but you could be tempted to go without Home Insurance, I've made one home insurance claim in 25 years, on at least a couple of occasions I've fixed stuff without claiming for fear of pushing up premiums. The maths (mine anyway) would favour the go without in the long run.

Good luck if the house burns down

Even more so if you've a mortgage

It's always the worst case scenario that stops ye from cancelling...

Inviting disaster no doubt