Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hereiam on November 27, 2014, 08:40:49 PM

Title: Wrightbus
Post by: Hereiam on November 27, 2014, 08:40:49 PM
Guys what is with this company that just doesn't sit right.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-30234234 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-30234234)

Title: Re: Wrightbus
Post by: T Fearon on November 27, 2014, 08:50:00 PM
Be interesting to see what percentage of their workforce is Catholic
Post by: Hereiam on November 27, 2014, 08:55:15 PM
I would say there would be very few.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 08:58:09 PM
Is it not renowned for being firmly under the control of some rather unseemly characters from the other side of the fence?
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 09:19:43 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 27, 2014, 08:55:15 PM
I would say there would be very few.

Is the law very strict about this in the North?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 27, 2014, 10:27:25 PM
It does tend to be. You've to fill in fec stuff pre employment. Not sure if that's the case elsewhere but i would guess it is?

If you don't cover yourself people could get a lot out of you at a tribunal.
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 10:28:17 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 27, 2014, 10:27:25 PM
It does tend to be. You've to fill in fec stuff pre employment. Not sure if that's the case elsewhere but i would guess it is?

If you don't cover yourself people could get a lot out of you at a tribunal.

That's what I thought.
Post by: Apparently so on November 27, 2014, 10:51:47 PM
They have been forced to start hiring more catholics in the last few years

Personally, I wouldn't work for them going by their history. A dodgy shower of bastards imo

Know a few lads who work there and they it is absolutely miserable
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 27, 2014, 11:29:09 PM
Christians own it. Even have Church in grounds of company. Have had loads of dealings with them in my last job. Didn't know any catholic workers that whole time
Post by: michaelg on November 28, 2014, 07:44:02 AM
Quote from: Apparently so on November 27, 2014, 10:51:47 PM

Personally, I wouldn't work for them going by their history. A dodgy shower of b**tards imo

Misreable for the non Christian / good-living Prods too I'm sure. 
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2014, 10:22:27 AM
In the language used in the previous posts there seems an acceptance that Catholics are not Christians, which seems rather odd. Perhaps Milltown's post should have had quotes, "Christians" own it.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 28, 2014, 10:27:54 AM
It is actually quite odd armaghniac that quite a number of protestants describe themselves as christian though I've never heard a catholic say it.

Christian and good living are two things you seem to hear certain denominations of the protestant faith say. It seems to be those of the presbyterian persuasion from what I have seen.
Post by: screenexile on November 28, 2014, 10:53:55 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 28, 2014, 10:27:54 AM
It is actually quite odd armaghniac that quite a number of protestants describe themselves as christian though I've never heard a catholic say it.

Christian and good living are two things you seem to hear certain denominations of the protestant faith say. It seems to be those of the presbyterian persuasion from what I have seen.

I was always fascinated by that quote "Oh they're good living". What does that mean? I like to think I live quite good but it seems to mean that you go to Church all the time and don't swear. Big whoop!!!
Post by: Franko on November 28, 2014, 11:17:01 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 28, 2014, 10:53:55 AM

I was always fascinated by that quote "Oh they're good living". What does that mean? I like to think I live quite good but it seems to mean that you go to Church all the time and don't swear. Big whoop!!!

I think it's the 10% of your earnings to the church that makes the difference between 'good living' and living good.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on November 28, 2014, 11:20:33 AM
Its all a load of oul shite.
Behind closed doors they are all bating their wives and riding each others wives and up to all sorts of dodgy antics.
The minute I hear about supposed good or 'clean living' folk it just conjures up images of the opposite.
Nobody on this island we live on is Good or Clean living.
Post by: johnneycool on November 28, 2014, 11:46:15 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 28, 2014, 10:53:55 AM

Good living for a living eh!
Post by: Hardy on November 28, 2014, 02:09:03 PM
Does anyone remember when people used to use "christian" as a synonym for "human being". It was standard around our way, to the extent that you'd never hear the term "human".

"That's no way to treat christian or beast."

"Ye'd think that dog was a christian, the way he can nearly talk to you."

That was before multiculturalism was discovered and nearly everyone, here anyway, was a Christian, apart from the odd Jew. We didn't even have Mormons calling to the door those times. And if we'd had, the Christian dog would probably have been set on them.

Which reminds me: What do you get if you cross a Hell's Angel with a Jehovah's Witness?
- A lad that comes to your door and tells YOU to f**k off!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 28, 2014, 02:19:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 28, 2014, 02:09:03 PM
Does anyone remember when people used to use "christian" as a synonym for "human being". It was standard around our way, to the extent that you'd never hear the term "human".

"That's no way to treat christian or beast."

"Ye'd think that dog was a christian, the way he can nearly talk to you."

That was before multiculturalism was discovered and nearly everyone, here anyway, was a Christian, apart from the odd Jew. We didn't even have Mormons calling to the door those times. And if we'd had, the Christian dog would probably have been set on them.

Which reminds me: What do you get if you cross a Hell's Angel with a Jehovah's Witness?
- A lad that comes to your door and tells YOU to f**k off!

Does anyone remember when the word Christian was used as a term to describe a good person, now it is used by certain elements as a term which expresses their moral superiority to the rest of us plebs and I frankly find it infuriating!
Post by: Apparently so on November 28, 2014, 07:28:10 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 28, 2014, 07:44:02 AM
Quote from: Apparently so on November 27, 2014, 10:51:47 PM

Personally, I wouldn't work for them going by their history. A dodgy shower of b**tards imo

Misreable for the non Christian / good-living Prods too I'm sure.

Well one of them is a prod so aye
Post by: T Fearon on November 28, 2014, 09:08:12 PM
Christian in the six county context is Bible Believing Evangelical Protestant. I once was told that a catholic lady conducting a health seminar used photos of naked parts purely to illustrate the theme,not in any gratuitous way.She was approached at the end by a former catholic nurse who had converted to evangelical Protestantism and told "As a Christian I was deeply offended by those images" The Catholic lady replied "As a Christian myself,I used the images appropriately among health professionals to enhance the training".
Post by: T Fearon on November 28, 2014, 09:48:57 PM
Shows the mindset all the same.evangelical Protestant and former catholic sees herself as "the Christian"
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2014, 09:57:48 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 28, 2014, 02:19:54 PM
Does anyone remember when the word Christian was used as a term to describe a good person, now it is used by certain elements as a term which expresses their moral superiority to the rest of us plebs and I frankly find it infuriating!

In this context Christian didn't necessarily refer to a pious person or one prone to churchgoing, but rather one that recalled that the greatest commandment was to Love Thy Neighbour, or perhaps to embrace the message in the Prodigal Son. Many of those using the term as in WrightBus are not too big on the love thy neighbour end of things. 

It is tough being a Catholic in the wee 6, the Freestaters and Unionists claim you are not Irish and the Prods claim you are not Christian!
Post by: Rossfan on November 28, 2014, 10:15:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 28, 2014, 09:57:48 PM
It is tough being a Catholic in the wee 6, the Freestaters and Unionists claim you are not Irish and the Prods claim you are not Christian!
Most people in the 26 Cos don't.
And by the way I'm not a "Freestater". My 2 grandfathers fought on the Anti Treaty side in the Civil War.  ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on November 28, 2014, 10:58:10 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 27, 2014, 11:29:09 PM
Christians own it. Even have Church in grounds of company. Have had loads of dealings with them in my last job. Didn't know any catholic workers that whole time

Had to visit the place for work once...might be a very successful company...but its a fcukin cold house....doesn't matter who you are.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2014, 11:52:49 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 28, 2014, 10:22:27 AM
In the language used in the previous posts there seems an acceptance that Catholics are not Christians, which seems rather odd. Perhaps Milltown's post should have had quotes, "Christians" own it.

Ok for the people who didn't catch what I meant...... Born again Christian. Ya have to be a numpty to not realise what I meant surely?
Post by: armaghniac on November 29, 2014, 12:00:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2014, 11:52:49 PM

Ok for the people who didn't catch what I meant...... Born again Christian. Ya have to be a numpty to not realise what I meant surely?

Me, a numpty? You must have mistaken me for someone else.
I said that I would not have used the expression  "Christian" without quotes, because I do not accept its exclusionary use.
Post by: lawnseed on November 29, 2014, 05:01:56 PM
Last i remember hearing about wrights they being quized abou tt the lack of catholi cs in their workforce. Their answer was as inovative as their buses they started a few polish guys..
Well it was easier than starting fenians
Post by: armaghniac on November 29, 2014, 06:51:56 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on November 29, 2014, 05:01:56 PM
Last i remember hearing about wrights they being quized abou tt the lack of catholi cs in their workforce. Their answer was as inovative as their buses they started a few polish guys..
Well it was easier than starting fenians

While this recruits Catholics of a sort it, does not quite meet the fair employment requirements, which envisage that your local recruitment would reflect the approximate distribution of the region from which workers are drawn.
Post by: T Fearon on November 29, 2014, 10:06:01 PM
Sure big companies that employ loads of people are immune from prosecution anywat
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2014, 04:58:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 29, 2014, 12:00:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2014, 11:52:49 PM

Me, a numpty? You must have mistaken me for someone else.
I said that I would not have used the expression  "Christian" without quotes, because I do not accept its exclusionary use.

I'll just use born again Christians from now on
Post by: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 05:35:15 PM

People from the protestant-unionist-loyalist (PUL) community who aren't particularly religious or church-going, will often describe themselves as 'Prods'. It's almost more of an ethnic description than a religious one. These same people will describe other PUL people who do attend church or who are religious as 'Christian' or 'good-living'. The church going types themselves may use the generic term 'Christian' if you ask them about their beliefs. Others may be more specific and give you their denomination: CoI, Methodist, etc. Free P types or some of the evangelical nutters don't regard anyone as proper Christian except their own sect, but most ordinary protestant people would regard Catholics as fellow Christians. Oddly enough, it's Catholics themselves who hesitate before describing themselves as Christians. I think there's a sub conscious arrogance in there somewhere, in that Catholics see their own denomination as the true faith, with other Christian groups being, at best, well meaning but slightly misguided believers with whom Catholics don't want to be linked.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 30, 2014, 06:17:41 PM
I don't think there's arrogance there - in most anyway. I would construe it as a bit paranoid to think like that to be honest.
Post by: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 06:42:29 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 30, 2014, 06:17:41 PM
I don't think there's arrogance there - in most anyway. I would construe it as a bit paranoid to think like that to be honest.
My parents' generation was taught in catechism classes 'outside the Catholic Church there is no salvation'. They were also brought up with the Ne Temere decree, which taught that only marriages in a Catholic church were valid and that children in mixed marriages had to be brought up as Catholics. I think that left a legacy in many minds that 'non Catholics' (i.e most of the world) were slightly less than equal in the belief stakes, to be viewed with some pity for not belonging to the one truth faith. Over many years, I've heard elderly relatives say words to the effect: 'She / he's a Protestant, but she's a very religious person', as if being Protestant and being religious were mutually exclusive things. Even recently, in a conversation with a relative in her 80s, I mentioned the fact Muslims use prayer beads much like Catholics use rosary beads. 'Why do they do that?' she asked. 'Dunno' sez me. 'Maybe they're counting out their prayers too.' 'Sure what prayers would they be saying?' she replied. In her head, only Catholics have prayers worth counting.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2014, 08:11:24 PM
Surely the arrogance could equally be applied to the Protestant denominations,especially those of the evangelical variety? The difference is that we haven't had rabid anti Protestant demagogues wearing clerical garb with a toxic mix of politics/ religion to poison minds wholesale
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2014, 09:36:55 PM
Myles on your nostalgic note I remember many years ago my dear old and long departed Granny explaining to the Parish Priest that she was convinced one of the neighbours was a Protestant because " she looks like one" which caused the Priest to laugh out loud! ;D
Post by: illdecide on December 01, 2014, 12:15:54 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 29, 2014, 10:06:01 PM
Sure big companies that employ loads of people are immune from prosecution anywat

Aye right...unless you're a big catholic company and then I'd say you'd get the discrimination act and prosecution.
Post by: T Fearon on December 01, 2014, 10:55:10 PM
There's a big Catholic company not too far from me that continually pollutes a major river and is never fined yet if a small farmer does the same he is hammered
Post by: illdecide on December 01, 2014, 11:25:58 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 01, 2014, 10:55:10 PM
There's a big Catholic company not too far from me that continually pollutes a major river and is never fined yet if a small farmer does the same he is hammered

And how do u know this for certain?
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2014, 07:17:54 PM
Know it for a fact,big employers get away with all sorts
Post by: michaelg on December 02, 2014, 09:37:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2014, 09:36:55 PM
Myles on your nostalgic note I remember many years ago my dear old and long departed Granny explaining to the Parish Priest that she was convinced one of the neighbours was a Protestant because " she looks like one" which caused the Priest to laugh out loud! ;D
Correct me if I'm wrong, but would you not be crying foul if a protestant said the same in reverse?  Funny how the word bigot only ever gets levelled at one side of the community.
Post by: Apparently so on December 02, 2014, 10:20:28 PM
  :D  ;D  ;D

f**k sake
Post by: armaghniac on December 02, 2014, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: michaelg on December 02, 2014, 09:37:31 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but would you not be crying foul if a protestant said the same in reverse?  Funny how the word bigot only ever gets levelled at one side of the community.

I'll correct you as you are wrong. Tony's Granny did not express any dislike or bigotry towards Protestants, she merely could recognise them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2014, 10:56:49 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 02, 2014, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: michaelg on December 02, 2014, 09:37:31 PM

I'll correct you as you are wrong. Tony's Granny did not express any dislike or bigotry towards Protestants, she merely could recognise them.

Because they were clean and didn't have their eyes close together lol.

Belfast was funny in that regard, you had the Post Office (Royal Mail) which had a vast majority of Catholic workers (Belfast anyway) and the Royal Victoria hospital (Royal again lol) which was again vastly catholic workers....... both were the biggest employers in N. Ireland, nothing every said about that over the years. But countered balanced by the engineering firms and the council jobs. What a shit place
Post by: amanda on December 02, 2014, 11:34:46 PM
Had a B/F who worked there, though that was 15 years ago.
Now that is a very uninteresting first post!
Post by: T Fearon on December 03, 2014, 07:07:23 AM
Michaelg I was merely looking back nostalgically to my Young days.Working in a factory in Portadown in the early part of the 20th century my grandmother experienced plenty of bigotry and sectarianism but despite all of this I never heard her say a bad word about anyone.
Post by: illdecide on December 03, 2014, 08:59:55 AM
Quote from: amanda on December 02, 2014, 11:34:46 PM
Had a B/F who worked there, though that was 15 years ago.
Now that is a very uninteresting first post!

well it's really good of you to come out of the closet with your first post... :)
Post by: michaelg on December 03, 2014, 09:54:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 03, 2014, 07:07:23 AM
Michaelg I was merely looking back nostalgically to my Young days.Working in a factory in Portadown in the early part of the 20th century my grandmother experienced plenty of bigotry and sectarianism but despite all of this I never heard her say a bad word about anyone.
I think you have just proved my point!
Post by: T Fearon on December 03, 2014, 10:08:45 PM
Proved what point? Ffs when I was a child the saying "looks like a Protestant (or Catholic)" was very common and non derogatory,as was the saying in my first job when a problem was resolved "it's more Protestant looking now" which nowadays would probably land the person saying it in a tribunal
Post by: MoChara on September 23, 2019, 11:18:22 AM
https://twitter.com/dup_online/status/1175358929162907648

Interesting thread on the goings on at Wright bus

Same thing but easier to read on this link

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1175358929162907648.html
Post by: screenexile on September 23, 2019, 09:38:27 PM
WOW!!!
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 24, 2019, 01:39:11 PM
Don't think there is long left now.
Post by: NAG1 on September 24, 2019, 01:45:25 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 24, 2019, 01:39:11 PM

Any suggestions for a re purposing of the big white elephant the Pastor has built?  :D
Post by: imtommygunn on September 24, 2019, 01:47:04 PM
Surely there are quite a few illegal deeds in there??
Post by: NAG1 on September 24, 2019, 01:49:48 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 24, 2019, 01:47:04 PM
Surely there are quite a few illegal deeds in there??

Illegal deeds in the new Building? Sure the Pastor hasnt even got into yet  :D
Maybe in the old one  ;)
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 24, 2019, 02:51:59 PM
It certainly wouldn't be the norm that an almost £300m turnover organisation would have a small accountancy firm as their auditors.  Their auditors are Stevenson and Wilson from Ballymena, it would be more normal to have a Big 4 firm as auditors once you get to that size.
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2019, 03:21:06 PM
Read somewhere during week, can't remember where, that employees had part of their salary deducted to go to the religious nutters' planned Ballymena Disneyland. Apparently one guy objected and promptly lost his job. ASFAIK, it's illegal to deduct anything from salary that is not tax/national insurance without the employee's permission. Added to that, their buses are supposed to be absolute shite and hated by many commuters in London
Post by: MoChara on September 24, 2019, 03:24:46 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 24, 2019, 01:45:25 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 24, 2019, 01:39:11 PM

Any suggestions for a re purposing of the big white elephant the Pastor has built?  :D

Talk of moving Casement to the edge of Harryville, real cross community job.  ;D ;D
Post by: TabClear on September 24, 2019, 03:50:14 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2019, 03:21:06 PM
Read somewhere during week, can't remember where, that employees had part of their salary deducted to go to the religious nutters' planned Ballymena Disneyland. Apparently one guy objected and promptly lost his job. ASFAIK, it's illegal to deduct anything from salary that is not tax/national insurance without the employee's permission. Added to that, their buses are supposed to be absolute shite and hated by many commuters in London

There are a lot of wtf stories floating round about some of the employment practices they used. But sure when you've got God as a shareholder its all for the greater good  ::) ::)

https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Reviews/The-Wright-Group-Reviews-E764171.htm

https://www.indeed.co.uk/cmp/Wrightbus/reviews?fcountry=GB&floc=Ballymena
Post by: trailer on September 24, 2019, 04:48:09 PM

What a pathetic comment. Apparently, can't remember, supposed and shite.
Post by: markl121 on September 24, 2019, 05:23:30 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 24, 2019, 04:48:09 PM

Well the guy posted on twitter about salary deductions so you can check there princess.

Whats the craic with the sale of the land for 4 million? was the sale legit? I read a bbc news article about it from 2012 stating the land was on the open market and noone wanted it so I think if thats the case then it was fair game and it cant really be used as a stick to beat them with. Although funding the 4 million purchase with the sale of their church to wrights is dodgy.  If it wasnt on the open market then surely the big contractors in the north could demand an investigation into the sale?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19555107
Post by: red hander on September 24, 2019, 06:47:53 PM

I'll take that as a badge of honour, coming from the biggest clown on the board since Fearon was banned  ;D
Post by: square_ball on September 24, 2019, 08:12:57 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2019, 06:47:53 PM

I'll take that as a badge of honour, coming from the biggest clown on the board since Fearon was banned  ;D

You've had a nightmare there trailer son.
Post by: dec on September 24, 2019, 08:21:51 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/man-remanded-over-terrorist-offences-1.805642

Fri, Apr 13, 2007, 01:00

A factory manager at a major Northern Ireland bus builder that last week secured an order from Bus Éireann was charged today with being a loyalist terrorist.

Darren Leslie Richardson (30) of Randalstown, Co Antrim, was accused of being a member of the outlawed Ulster Volunteer Force when he appeared in court at Larne, Co Antrim.

He was further charged with the possession of documents likely to be of use to terrorists and possession of a quantity of ammunition at the Wrightbus plant at Galgorm outside Ballymena, Co Antrim, between a date unknown and April 11th....
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 25, 2019, 06:37:53 AM
Unfortunately for the workforce it looks like it's happening today: https://news.sky.com/story/boris-bus-maker-to-crash-into-administration-11818680?fbclid=IwAR3WyggXLnnWoupaw-25C6xkGLQNjEZytB9T0nEuEz3Z6mDjpXEPQiBNnyg
Post by: 6th sam on September 25, 2019, 08:08:20 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 25, 2019, 06:37:53 AM
Unfortunately for the workforce it looks like it's happening today: https://news.sky.com/story/boris-bus-maker-to-crash-into-administration-11818680?fbclid=IwAR3WyggXLnnWoupaw-25C6xkGLQNjEZytB9T0nEuEz3Z6mDjpXEPQiBNnyg

Regardless of people's feelings about Wrightbus,  there are 1300 workers and their families under pressure , hopefully a buyer can be found
Post by: bannside on September 25, 2019, 08:33:21 AM
Not a chance though of that happening. Ian Ogs dodgy connections, the greater DUP financial support base, the Leonard Steinberg Israeli connection, the usual empty promises from Boris to do all he can.....its useless when measured against an immediate capital injection of £30 million pounds, unfavourable currency trade prices and an estimated annual running cost loss of £15m a year. Not a businessman in the world would entertain that scenario...its not even close to adding up and it wouldnt take a top 4 accountancy firm to know that.

This business will be sold off in parts and the best employees can hope for is that their section of the business is sold as a going concern. A tough time for them no doubt, the mistakes of company management well outside their control.
Post by: square_ball on September 25, 2019, 08:40:08 AM
Will the fact Wrightbus announced last week that the employee contracts would be TUPE'd across to any new owner not have any potential investor running a mile? 1,300 jobs and god knows (pardon the pun) how many subcontractors and local suppliers affected too.
Post by: bannside on September 25, 2019, 09:05:53 AM
Any buyer to date whos looked at it in detail has run a mile. A company well known for its political affiliations (William Wright signed Paisleys nomination papers) various occurences of alleged para military type activity on the premises, a series of confidential leaks during the sale process, a well known culture of bullying in the workforce, led from top down, a CEO Pastor Geoff who by his own admission never passed an exam in his life but allegedly had a message from God to build his own shrine on the edge of town.....tell me who in their right mind wouldnt take one look at that and run the proverbial mile.

Sympathy indeed for the many innocent families, subbies at Green Pastures included) who could be badly affected by this, but for the Wright family its a case of the chickens coming home to roost, and the vast majority of people wont have one ounce of sympathy for them.
Post by: johnnycool on September 25, 2019, 09:29:59 AM
Ian Og was lamenting the loss of Wright bus this morning on the radio and when asked about the charitable donations of £4M two years ago when the company was on a downturn he got a little unsure but rallied with the line that it was the directors personal dividend and they could do with it what they pleased.

Distinct smell of that one.

Pity for the ordinary Joes all the same who'll take the biggest hit.
Post by: trailer on September 25, 2019, 09:39:43 AM
Quote from: square_ball on September 24, 2019, 08:12:57 PM

Did I?
AFAIK? Maybe? Go and check? People love a good rumour. If you think Wrightbus were deducing money from peoples wages WITHOUT THEIR CONSENT then you're in cloud cuckoo-land.

It's sad that these jobs are going to be lost. Hopefully someone will come in and buy the healthy parts of the business and keep the employment in the area.

Post by: Smokin Joe on September 25, 2019, 09:44:32 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 25, 2019, 09:29:59 AM
Ian Og was lamenting the loss of Wright bus this morning on the radio and when asked about the charitable donations of £4M two years ago when the company was on a downturn he got a little unsure but rallied with the line that it was the directors personal dividend and they could do with it what they pleased.

Distinct smell of that one.

Pity for the ordinary Joes all the same who'll take the biggest hit.

But they weren't dividends Ian.  They were charitable donations.  In 2017 the Holding company (Cornerstone) made £4.1m charitable donations as well as a dividend of £400k.

But ultimately the directors will have signed off on the fact that the charitable donations were the right thing for the company to do.  The directors of Cornerstone in 2017 were W Wright, L Rocks and A Knowles. 
Interestingly Mark Nodder who was brought in to be CEO of the trading company Wrightbus wasn't a director of Cornerstone.  So you have a guy brought in for his expertise in running the business yet he has no say at the top table where the decision was made for that much money to leave the group.  That certainly seems like a bit of a problem!
Post by: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 10:11:33 AM
Quote from: square_ball on September 25, 2019, 08:40:08 AM
Will the fact Wrightbus announced last week that the employee contracts would be TUPE'd across to any new owner not have any potential investor running a mile? 1,300 jobs and god knows (pardon the pun) how many subcontractors and local suppliers affected too.

I'm no expert on the process but I think a sale out of administration is much more atttractive for potential buyers as they can cherrypick what they want and leave certain liabilities behind. I would be surprised if a large chunk of the business is not of interest to multiple buyers, however potentially not with a Ballymena based manufacturing facility (and a church).
Post by: NAG1 on September 25, 2019, 10:17:54 AM
Is there not still a substantial amount owed to McLaughlin Harvey for the construction of the white elephant church?

Surely it will have to go as well, as there will be no more money coming from WrightBus to prop the cult up?
Post by: Keyser soze on September 25, 2019, 10:22:48 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 25, 2019, 09:39:43 AM

Did I?
AFAIK? Maybe? Go and check? People love a good rumour. If you think Wrightbus were deducing money from peoples wages WITHOUT THEIR CONSENT then you're in cloud cuckoo-land.

It's sad that these jobs are going to be lost. Hopefully someone will come in and buy the healthy parts of the business and keep the employment in the area.

There certainly was a story a few days ago from a person in exactly this situation, can't rem where I read it though but it was a named person who lost their job due to objecting to making the contribution.
Post by: Last Man on September 25, 2019, 10:35:00 AM
It's Martin and Hamilton and they pulled the pin before they were caught badly. I reckon the vanity project will continue once the dust settles. Nothing can stop the lords work. Pastor J has plenty in his own name to provide into the future.
Post by: NAG1 on September 25, 2019, 10:50:25 AM
Quote from: Last Man on September 25, 2019, 10:35:00 AM
It's Martin and Hamilton and they pulled the pin before they were caught badly. I reckon the vanity project will continue once the dust settles. Nothing can stop the lords work. Pastor J has plenty in his own name to provide into the future.

Cheers for the correction.

Post by: RadioGAAGAA on September 25, 2019, 10:54:47 AM
Quote from: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 10:11:33 AM
I'm no expert on the process but I think a sale out of administration is much more atttractive for potential buyers as they can cherrypick what they want and leave certain liabilities behind. I would be surprised if a large chunk of the business is not of interest to multiple buyers, however potentially not with a Ballymena based manufacturing facility (and a church).

But said facility is built on rented land is it not?

Who will want to hold themselves hostage to those landlords?
Post by: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 11:25:10 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on September 25, 2019, 10:54:47 AM

Thats my point. I think there is probably valuable IP/kit etc in the business but a new buyer might just want to take those pieces that it can easily transfer to a lower cost based economy and have no use for the Ballymena site or labour force. In an administration scenario  it is easier to leave behind the onerous contracts and liabilities you dont want (say through buying assets rather than shares) than if you bought the Company outright where those contracts generally continue to run.  I had though the staff were reasonably well paid but there was a guy  interviewed earlier who said the company refused payrises for 5 years because they were "investing in the facility". Clearly the x millions Pastor Jeff got for Green Pastures must have been classed as investment..... ::) ::)
Post by: NAG1 on September 25, 2019, 11:42:36 AM
Quote from: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 11:25:10 AM

Thats my point. I think there is probably valuable IP/kit etc in the business but a new buyer might just want to take those pieces that it can easily transfer to a lower cost based economy and have no use for the Ballymena site or labour force. In an administration scenario  it is easier to leave behind the onerous contracts and liabilities you dont want (say through buying assets rather than shares) than if you bought the Company outright where those contracts generally continue to run.  I had though the staff were reasonably well paid but there was a guy  interviewed earlier who said the company refused payrises for 5 years because they were "investing in the facility". Clearly the x millions Pastor Jeff got for Green Pastures must have been classed as investment..... ::) ::)

Surely there will have to be some sort of enquiry to find out if any of these X millions came from Invest NI or any other public body managing public funds.
Post by: MoChara on September 25, 2019, 11:46:33 AM

Wrights is owned by a group called The Cornerstone Group, and a subsiduary of TCG ( think its called prism or something similar) owns the land Wrights factory is on, Wrights pay them a yearly rent of 1.5 million, the Board for the subsiduary is Pastor Jeff and his sister.

Edit its Whirlwind Property
https://twitter.com/dup_online/status/1176426678467407872
Post by: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 11:49:33 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 25, 2019, 11:42:36 AM
Quote from: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 11:25:10 AM

Surely there will have to be some sort of enquiry to find out if any of these X millions came from Invest NI or any other public body managing public funds.

To be fair I think the payments were made when the Company was making big profits so its no difference to paying a dividend to shareholders. At the end of the day shareholders and directors can distribute surplus funds however they see fit. As long as the directors did not make the payments knowing that they were unlikely to be able to make creditor payments its up to them where the money goes.

If its true that one of the daughters sold shares (back to the company i think, it is in one of the links earlier in the thread) more recently for £1m, that transaction could attract more scrutiny in light of recent developments.
Post by: Ambrose on September 25, 2019, 12:29:59 PM

The Boris Bus didn't come with opening windows on the upper deck, they also didn't have aircon, which meant commuters couldn't really use the upper deck in warm weather. They were also terribly made, rattled more than a box of smarties and were £50k more expensive than other buses. It was never going to last.
Maybe the good lord greased a few palms in London to get the contract, who knows?
Post by: LeoMc on September 25, 2019, 01:29:34 PM
That is some thread. from dup_online.
IF I read it right The Cornerstone group (directors Jeff Wright, The Wright Evangelical trust & until lately his sister Lorraine Rock) own Wrightbus and Whirlwind Properties (directors Jeff Wright & Lorraine Rock). Whirlwind Properties in turn own £3.2m of land which they rent to Wrightbus for £1.5m per annum. The Cornerstone Group (Jeff) in a fit of largesse then gave away £4m to a Green Field pastures (Pastor Jeff Wright).
In addition Advance Engineering Ltd (a part of Wrightbus group) whose aim is to raise money for Green Pastures and Pastor Jeff.

Seem legit to me.

Apropos of nothing I wonder how many Wrightbuses have been sold to Sri Lanka or the Maldives.
Post by: tyroneman on September 25, 2019, 01:34:47 PM
If EVER there was a subject for a Spotlight special....

It's amazing to me that no-one has written a book compiling all the scandals the DUP have (allegedly) been involved in.........
Post by: red hander on September 25, 2019, 02:47:50 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on September 25, 2019, 10:22:48 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 25, 2019, 09:39:43 AM

Did I?

There certainly was a story a few days ago from a person in exactly this situation, can't rem where I read it though but it was a named person who lost their job due to objecting to making the contribution.

They'd have been all right if Wrightbus was only deducing money from their salary without their consent, though  ::)
Post by: paddyjohn on September 25, 2019, 02:55:19 PM
There is a spotlight show pending apparently.

Good enough for some of the staff, they are sc**bag bigots who wouldn't thank twice about sticking a knife or planting a bomb in any catholic. William Wright isn't innocent either, he sent his workers into Fisherwick to take down Tricolors (also paid any legal fees the incurred), paid the chip van for the Harryville chapel protest also.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on September 25, 2019, 03:01:58 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on September 25, 2019, 02:55:19 PM
There is a spotlight show pending apparently.

Good enough for some of the staff, they are sc**bag bigots who wouldn't thank twice about sticking a knife or planting a bomb in any catholic. William Wright isn't innocent either, he sent his workers into Fisherwick to take down Tricolors (also paid any legal fees the incurred), paid the chip van for the Harryville chapel protest also.
Probably why it was known as the Ballymena Shipyard.
Post by: tyroneman on September 25, 2019, 03:05:03 PM
From an Irish Times article on Green Pastures and Pastor Jeff...  https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/the-church-that-helps-you-fall-in-love-with-jesus-1.3299728

"In 2012, Green Pastures put in a bid of £4 million and one pound for the 97 acre plot of government-owned land at Ballee, near Ballymena, which was previously valued at £75 million.

Quite a bargain, wasn't it? "Well, that was the asking price," says Pastor Jeff, a little defensively."
Post by: snoopdog on September 25, 2019, 03:06:48 PM
And to think the money these boys were getting off Dublin bus for years.
Post by: tyroneman on September 25, 2019, 03:16:56 PM
"You cannot serve both God and money"

Some folks must have missed that bit on bible class .....
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2019, 03:21:12 PM
NI is getting hammered economically and Brexit hasn't even started
Between JTI Gallaher, Michelin and Wrightbus, Ballymena has lost 3,700 jobs.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2019, 03:32:30 PM
And all DUPUDA can worry about is blue passports and Union Jacks.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 25, 2019, 03:34:48 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on September 25, 2019, 03:16:56 PM
"You cannot serve both God and money"

Some folks must have missed that bit on bible class .....

Must'na been at Mass Sunday past there
Post by: TabClear on September 25, 2019, 04:21:39 PM
1,200 job losses confirmed as firm enters administration. Ballymena has been decimated in recent years as highlighted above.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49818156
Post by: omaghjoe on September 25, 2019, 05:21:35 PM
How feasible is the business model of Wrightbus?
Obviously when it is being run as a "normal" business?
Post by: red hander on September 25, 2019, 05:50:50 PM
North Antrim's perma-disgraced MP has seen all these local businesses go down the tubes under his watch and still keeps getting elected  ::)
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on September 25, 2019, 06:05:35 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 25, 2019, 05:50:50 PM
North Antrim's perma-disgraced MP has seen all these local businesses go down the tubes under his watch and still keeps getting elected  ::)

It's hard to keep a close eye on things from the Seychelles.
Post by: RedHand88 on September 25, 2019, 06:36:39 PM
Funny hearing a Ballymena man on the news saying people will have to go to Scotland or England for work now.

It's like the idea of going south of Newry is a complete impossibility.
Post by: Ambrose on September 25, 2019, 06:37:52 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 25, 2019, 06:36:39 PM
Funny hearing a Ballymena man on the news saying people will have to go to Scotland or England for work now.

They're just going home.....
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 25, 2019, 06:49:30 PM

Sooner this bridge gets built the better then
Post by: markl121 on September 25, 2019, 08:08:55 PM

May as well go to Spain, another foreign country.
Post by: Dire Ear on September 25, 2019, 08:21:17 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on September 25, 2019, 01:34:47 PM
If EVER there was a subject for a Spotlight special....

It's amazing to me that no-one has written a book compiling all the scandals the DUP have (allegedly) been involved in.........
But, why, why, why should it be up to a tv show to expose a scandal???
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 25, 2019, 08:24:31 PM
Quote from: markl121 on September 25, 2019, 08:08:55 PM

May as well go to Spain, another foreign country.

Downside: way too many fenians.
Upside: plenty of chapels to protest outside.
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2019, 08:43:11 PM

Perhaps one of the two Catholic employees will consider the idea.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 25, 2019, 08:48:23 PM
Wrightbus - (formerly) an equal opportunities employer.
Was there really 2 in there? One more than anyone ever knew about.
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2019, 08:52:25 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on September 25, 2019, 08:48:23 PM
Wrightbus - (formerly) an equal opportunities employer.
Was there really 2 in there? One more than anyone ever knew about.

They may have had a Pole sweeping the floor.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 25, 2019, 09:12:08 PM
Ballymena wans probably didn't realise that the Poles are taigs.
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2019, 09:19:58 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on September 25, 2019, 09:12:08 PM
Ballymena wans probably didn't realise that the Poles are taigs.

I'm sure the Pole didn't feel the need to tell them.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2019, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 25, 2019, 05:21:35 PM
the bigger question is :

How feasible is the business model of Northern Ireland ?
Post by: Dire Ear on September 25, 2019, 09:30:31 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 25, 2019, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 25, 2019, 05:21:35 PM
the bigger question is :

How feasible is the business model of Northern Ireland ?
Excellent, and viable point; and I live and work in it  :-[
Post by: rrhf on September 25, 2019, 09:31:42 PM
My thoughts earlier. Every strand is failing and wright bus failing is a microcosm of the state failing. There is no plan except no from every angle. Whatever else happens storming failed miserably. Shared government has failed and nobody is capable of changing that as the political talent pool is shocking.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on September 25, 2019, 09:50:48 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 25, 2019, 09:31:42 PM
My thoughts earlier. Every strand is failing and wright bus failing is a microcosm of the state failing. There is no plan except no from every angle. Whatever else happens storming failed miserably. Shared government has failed and nobody is capable of changing that as the political talent pool is shocking.

Aye but the union is safe (cough, cough!) and our fleg fills us full of proud!!
Post by: rrhf on September 25, 2019, 10:06:12 PM
 undeveloped and the place needs opened up. They talked for years aloofly about the influence of the church in the south. The north was worse with religion dominating election wards/ business / infrastructure/ political / schooling / govn investment/ medical / housing and every structure in the state. human civil rights and natural liberlisation of typical developed societies were stymied and people died over it..against it and to protect it.  It needs to be a part of Europe, Europe needs to invest in it and revitalise it and liberalise it and the federacy of New Ireland established.
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 25, 2019, 10:53:44 PM
From Sinn Fein website in 2005:
"The recent publication of Equality Commission figures on Employees in the Private Sector is a clear indictment of Wrightbus Ltd, one of Ballymena's biggest employers, which is in the same league as Harland and Wolfe in Belfast. For members of the Catholic community to make up under 6% of the workforce in one of the biggest employers in Ballymena is absolutely scandalous and certainly does not reflect the religious makeup of the council area which is over 20% Catholic according to the last Census.

"Wrights has always been considered as a cold house for nationalists in Ballymena and these figures certainly reflect this. I have written to the Irish Government regarding this situation and will be asking them if they are aware that the company that provides vehicles for Bus Eireann has not addressed the extreme level of inequality that exists in their workforce."
Post by: RedHand88 on September 25, 2019, 11:54:09 PM
I know alot of people that are not shedding a tear today.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 26, 2019, 12:26:45 AM
All these dodgy donations to his sons church is will have to come under review surely. How can a company donate money to a charity? If his son was/is under the counter a director of wrightbus
Post by: michaelg on September 26, 2019, 12:34:53 AM

The use of the terms 'son' or 'lad' in this fashion usually indicate a massive bellend on this forum.
Post by: TabClear on September 26, 2019, 08:14:56 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 26, 2019, 12:26:45 AM
All these dodgy donations to his sons church is will have to come under review surely. How can a company donate money to a charity? If his son was/is under the counter a director of wrightbus

Shareholders and directors can distribute surplus funds however they see fit. Given the company was making decent profits when the majority of the payments were made they can pretty much do what they like without breaching fiduciary duties. More recent distributions and transactions might be looked at though if they happened when the directors knew the company had cashflow issues. 

Post by: trailer on September 26, 2019, 10:22:45 AM
Reported that the Wright family paid the last months wages out of their own pocket.
Post by: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 10:38:59 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 26, 2019, 10:22:45 AM
Reported that the Wright family paid the last months wages out of their own pocket.

Also reported that the company safety net account has also been emptied..
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 26, 2019, 10:55:18 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 10:38:59 AM

What does the "company safety net account" mean?
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2019, 11:13:06 AM
In 1921 Ulster Unionists generated a massive proportion of economic value on the island of Ireland, well over 50%.
Now it's less than 15%.
Post by: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 11:14:21 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 26, 2019, 10:55:18 AM

Exactly what it says. Money in an account that was meant to used as a safety net in the event of cashflow problems and money issues.

Somebody sliced the net..
Post by: clarshack on September 26, 2019, 11:22:23 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 25, 2019, 03:21:12 PM

and that is the scary thing.

Post by: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 11:49:57 AM
Quote from: clarshack on September 26, 2019, 11:22:23 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 25, 2019, 03:21:12 PM

and that is the scary thing.

And thats not including local suppliers and subbies in these places.
Post by: The Wedger on September 26, 2019, 11:51:58 AM
In a future United Ireland we will be taking on a ever increasing pool of unemployed and probably unemployable Loyalists who used to have it good but are now very disenfranchised.
Post by: skeog on September 26, 2019, 12:05:45 PM
God was a shareholder.
Post by: trailer on September 26, 2019, 12:22:17 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 11:14:21 AM

Exactly what it says. Money in an account that was meant to used as a safety net in the event of cashflow problems and money issues.

Sure the company had cashflow problems and money issues. Would stand to sense then that such an account would be emptied.

Post by: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 12:29:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 26, 2019, 12:22:17 PM

Sure the company had cashflow problems and money issues. Would stand to sense then that such an account would be emptied.

Emptied into a personal account?
Post by: trailer on September 26, 2019, 12:44:05 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 12:29:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 26, 2019, 12:22:17 PM

Emptied into a personal account?

Well you didn't say that. I'd imagine that's a very very serious thing to happen with a business like this in difficulties. The Administrators would take a very dim view.
Post by: StephenC on September 26, 2019, 01:03:37 PM
Quote from: The Wedger on September 26, 2019, 11:51:58 AM
In a future United Ireland we will be taking on a ever increasing pool of unemployed and probably unemployable Loyalists who used to have it good but are now very disenfranchised.

Won't the protestant work-ethic be a factor too? Genuinely, when I was growing up there was a culture and a tradition of hard work that was sometimes joked about, but in reality was envied, by the catholic community.
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2019, 01:45:50 PM
Quote from: StephenC on September 26, 2019, 01:03:37 PM

Won't the protestant work-ethic be a factor too? Genuinely, when I was growing up there was a culture and a tradition of hard work that was sometimes joked about, but in reality was envied, by the catholic community.
They never replaced the jobs in the old hard industries that collapsed in the 1960s
In the 20s NI was prosperous and well developed. There were economic advantages to being part of the UK .
Now there are none.

Ulster including NI has the same standard of living as Connacht.
Post by: The Wedger on September 26, 2019, 02:01:15 PM

Now matter how 'hard working' you are in a manufacturing job, the alternatives in places like China will still be far cheaper and attractive.

In the digital age you need to be smart, adaptable, creative etc. I'm not sure how easily that cap fits with worker bee Protestants.
The tradition of giant industries and heavy subsidies has probably stifled entrepreneurship up North.
This is why the once impoverished agricultural economy of the South has caught up with and roared past the North.

Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2019, 02:20:50 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on September 26, 2019, 02:04:05 PM

I think David Irvine talked about this, a lot of ulster protestants in the past when they left school were able to get apprenticeships and jobs in the shipyards back etc. were as Catholics to get ahead were pushed to stay in school, get an education.  Now in a lot of professions e.g. law, a high percentage of the jobs have gone to Catholics from working class areas where as protestants from similar backgrounds are lagging behind without having been pushed at school now that there is no 'jobs for the boys' type professions left.
NI is post industrial.
The South was never really industrialised.
Now it's services based
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 26, 2019, 02:51:13 PM

Not it the shipyard where most of them wouldn't work on a battery
Post by: johnnycool on September 26, 2019, 03:05:36 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 26, 2019, 02:51:13 PM

That's my experience as well, probably no different than anywhere else to be fair.

The protestant work ethic was generally used to convey that catholics were lazy.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 26, 2019, 03:25:18 PM
 At least we're going to heaven.
Post by: trailer on September 26, 2019, 03:36:42 PM
Protestants love to wash their cars. Catholics prefer to get them washed. A fundamental difference that says everything.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 26, 2019, 04:15:37 PM
Never understood how the whole double predestination thing lead to the protestant work ethic. If anything you'd think that they'd be a bunch of feckless hoors instead of the Catholics who have the freewill to do what they want and are judged on their performance.
Post by: charlieTully on September 26, 2019, 04:43:09 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 26, 2019, 03:36:42 PM
Protestants love to wash their cars. Catholics prefer to get them washed. A fundamental difference that says everything.

Started a reply thought better of it.....
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2019, 06:20:00 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 26, 2019, 03:05:36 PM

That's my experience as well, probably no different than anywhere else to be fair.

The protestant work ethic was generally used to convey that catholics were lazy.
There are hard workers and lazy scrounging bastards on all sides.
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2019, 06:45:55 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 26, 2019, 03:36:42 PM
Can't ye just lave them out in the rain?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 26, 2019, 06:46:48 PM
Protestants?
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2019, 06:47:52 PM
 ;D :D
Post by: Ball Hopper on September 26, 2019, 06:57:53 PM
Statues...the Catholics prefer statues.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 26, 2019, 07:01:50 PM
Preferably statues that do various 'tricks', so that you can make a few bob out of the spectacle.

Just when the poor buggers thought it couldn't get any worse, Ballymena United are going to let them in for free this Saturday.  Wonder if that's anything to do with fact that Cliftonville are the opposition?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 26, 2019, 08:02:21 PM
As if they havent suffered enough...  ;D
Post by: paddyjohn on September 26, 2019, 08:16:20 PM
The workforce from Wright's were mostly Protestants because they were offering silly money on apprenticeships to 16 years olds. It was expected if you left one of the local High Schools that you'd end up there. Wrights went hand in hand with the ethos of Protestant jobs for Protestant people.  I know of a catholic supplier who had a sales rep calling once a week. The rep ended up calling the police on one visit as he feared for his own safety. A few catholic lads I know ending up working in NuTrack which was based in Antrim Town, they were getting paid over £1700 for being store men. The bonus was off the scale, all because they were Catholics.
Post by: under the bar on September 26, 2019, 10:40:46 PM
All the while Wrightbus was going down the tubes Junior was too busy knobbing the little penguin to realise his party's Brexit strategy was destroying manufacturing in his heartland. Just like BJ he will ride it out blaming fenian-inspired anti-brexiteers!
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2019, 12:04:30 AM
Saw a bit of Bozo being interviewed on 6 Co BBC.
Apparently everything is wonderful in the North, exports booming etc and he'll make it better after Brexit.
So presumably the former Wright workers will all walk into new jobs next week then!
Post by: tyroneman on September 27, 2019, 08:08:50 AM
Really don't understand why Wrightbus should get any form of state bail out when the owners (and ex-owners) have so much capacity to help the situation themselves.

Post by: trailer on September 27, 2019, 08:53:01 AM
The knowledge and business acumen shown on this thread is absolutely brilliant. I am in doubt that many of you run hugely successful business employing tens and hundreds of people.
Post by: sensethetone on September 27, 2019, 09:36:56 AM
Sam McBride's next book could be about Wrightbus.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 27, 2019, 10:20:32 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 27, 2019, 08:53:01 AM
The knowledge and business acumen shown on this thread is absolutely brilliant. I am in doubt that many of you run hugely successful business employing tens and hundreds of people.

You are the gift that keeps on giving trailer. I have no doubt you run a multi national company generating billions plus of revenue based on your posts ;D
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on September 27, 2019, 10:50:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 27, 2019, 10:20:32 AM

You are the gift that keeps on giving trailer. I have no doubt you run a multi national company generating billions plus of revenue based on your posts ;D

Be realistic.

Trailer is too busy polling all the farmers in Ireland to then tell us all their unanimous opinion on here.
Post by: johnnycool on September 27, 2019, 12:13:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2019, 06:20:00 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 26, 2019, 03:05:36 PM

There are hard workers and lazy scrounging b**tards on all sides.

Exactly.
Post by: t_mac on September 27, 2019, 12:33:17 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on September 27, 2019, 10:50:41 AM

Be realistic.

Trailer is too busy polling all the farmers in Ireland to then tell us all their unanimous opinion on here.

;D 8)
Post by: imtommygunn on September 27, 2019, 12:43:31 PM
Ah come on be realistic... it was only every farmer in the six counties was it not ;D
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 27, 2019, 06:04:48 PM

Please quit quoting the eejit, when I have him on ignore already.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2019, 06:37:31 PM
He seems to have taken over Syferus' role.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 27, 2019, 06:54:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 27, 2019, 06:37:31 PM
He seems to have taken over Syferus' role.

I guess there has to be one total prat on here at any one time.
Post by: Dire Ear on September 28, 2019, 09:36:22 AM
Please quit quoting the eejit, when I have him on ignore already

I'd second this motion
Post by: imtommygunn on September 28, 2019, 09:47:01 AM
On another note with paisley junior you wouldn't be surprised if he is up to his neck in something here too.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 02, 2019, 07:34:45 PM
So, now it emerges that Wrightbus got £2.5 million from Invest NI only a few months ago, in June 2019....truly the Lord doth move in mysterious ways.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 02, 2019, 07:40:03 PM
If wright get buyers then these charlatans running it get off. I really hope that they have broken the law somewhere here as what they are up to is extremely dubious at best. Complete greed done under the name of god. It would be even better we're they to get done and paisley junior to get implicated.

Life sadly does not work like that though :(
Post by: bannside on October 02, 2019, 08:11:00 PM
The upstanding Paisley and Wright familys joined at the hip ITG. After that one can draw one owns conclusions.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 02, 2019, 09:00:10 PM
Exactly >:(
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 10, 2019, 01:32:19 PM
Quote from: bannside on October 02, 2019, 08:11:00 PM
The upstanding Paisley and Wright familys joined at the hip ITG. After that one can draw one owns conclusions.

haha, well there is a fallout now.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49996934

QuoteBut Jeff Wright said Mr Paisley's role had been "unhelpful to say the least" and he advised that the MP to "leave the business of deal making to the professionals at Deloitte".

"In what could be considered a vote-campaigning exercise, Mr Paisley continually championed Mr Bamford throughout this process," added Jeff Wright.

So looks like from the article Wright ain't all that Christian. I'd say it looks like Bamford is after a decent price on land near the factory for expansion - and Wright wants to get him in the door and then sell it at an exorbitant price.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 01:38:35 PM
Wright has no shame. Good to see him falling out with paisley though. Greed greed greed. I was hoping there was something he had done in the transfer of money to that green acres church that was illegal and he could be prosecuted. Ethically it certainly isn't right though I suspect for that much money there are legal advisers at play so it is all above board legally. Christian my arse.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 10, 2019, 01:49:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 28, 2019, 09:47:01 AM
On another note with paisley junior you wouldn't be surprised if he is up to his neck in something here too.

Balls deep is probably a more apt expression for him.
Post by: NAG1 on October 10, 2019, 02:09:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 01:38:35 PM
Wright has no shame. Good to see him falling out with paisley though. Greed greed greed. I was hoping there was something he had done in the transfer of money to that green acres church that was illegal and he could be prosecuted. Ethically it certainly isn't right though I suspect for that much money there are legal advisers at play so it is all above board legally. Christian my arse.

Best that could be hoped for would be that the workers would place the blame with Jeff and also see through Paisley but I can't see the latter happening. They will still go to the ballot box and vote him back in.
Post by: johnnycool on October 10, 2019, 02:17:11 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 10, 2019, 02:09:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 01:38:35 PM

Best that could be hoped for would be that the workers would place the blame with Jeff and also see through Paisley but I can't see the latter happening. They will still go to the ballot box and vote him back in.

Ian Og has done with the Wrights as they've lost their influence in the area.

He needs another sugar daddy.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:35:39 PM
On a local level I don't think there can be any more. Michelin's, gallagher's and now Wrightbus. The major employers have been ripped out of ballymena.
Post by: NAG1 on October 10, 2019, 02:37:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:35:39 PM
On a local level I don't think there can be any more. Michelin's, gallagher's and now Wrightbus. The major employers have been ripped out of ballymena.

ITG - I have noticed SF playing a low key role of support throughout this issue, wonder how that has gone down with the workforce, any idea?
Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:40:56 PM
No idea nag. Given what has been reported about the demographic of the workforce it would be interesting to hear. Paisley is trying to save some face last minute by the looks of it. Given the area and how he always comes up smelling of roses that will probably redeem him any lost votes.
Post by: NAG1 on October 10, 2019, 02:45:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:40:56 PM
No idea nag. Given what has been reported about the demographic of the workforce it would be interesting to hear. Paisley is trying to save some face last minute by the looks of it. Given the area and how he always comes up smelling of roses that will probably redeem him any lost votes.

Yeah just thought it a strange one with the demographic. JW seems as if he is going to come out as the big bad guy in this one and Paisley can point the finger at him and say he tried his best to get a buyer for them bla bla bla.

Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:51:20 PM
You would wonder would he have any dirt on paisley he'd be prepared to use if there's a big fallout. There is bound to be some.
Post by: paddyjohn on October 10, 2019, 03:22:29 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 10, 2019, 02:37:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 02:35:39 PM

ITG - I have noticed SF playing a low key role of support throughout this issue, wonder how that has gone down with the workforce, any idea?

They wouldn't be welcome about the place..
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 10, 2019, 03:24:27 PM
Wifey told me that Paisley helped Wrights when they bought the land (at a much reduced price)

Mind you i trust her even less than them two shysters  ;D

Be great to see one or both sink the other
Post by: sensethetone on October 10, 2019, 03:44:37 PM
Ian Og. was championing J. Bamford of the JCB group to buy out Wrightbus. J. Bamford is also big pals with the Tory 1922 outfit apparently.

Ian has a plan.
Post by: johnnycool on October 10, 2019, 04:29:51 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on October 10, 2019, 03:44:37 PM
Ian Og. was championing J. Bamford of the JCB group to buy out Wrightbus. J. Bamford is also big pals with the Tory 1922 outfit apparently.

Ian has a plan.

The Da Bamford of JCB fame is a big pro Brexit supporter.

I was told by someone from the vicinity that the Wrights bought the whole site two years ago for a knockdown £4M on the proviso that they couldn't sell on for a profit for 10 years.
Evidently Bamford knows this and has offered the £4M but Pastor Jeff is wanting more as it's currently valued at £10M.

No pockets in a shroud Jeff!
Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2019, 04:45:00 PM
There's deep pockets in jeff's  :P
Post by: Orior on October 10, 2019, 06:38:42 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 10, 2019, 03:24:27 PM
Wifey told me that Paisley helped Wrights when they bought the land (at a much reduced price)

Mind you i trust her even less than them two shysters  ;D

Be great to see one or both sink the other

Me too, lol.
Post by: Imposerous on October 10, 2019, 07:59:43 PM
Would the fact the Bamfords are Catholic have any bearing on the Pastor's reluctance to sell the property?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 10, 2019, 08:52:50 PM
Nope....money is money, but it's all the sweeter when you rip off some English Taigs. Pastor Jeff will do a deal....when he's advised to do so, by his lord & saviour.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 10, 2019, 09:04:22 PM
They're English Taigs clearly with the same political opinions as Rees Mogg and Duncan Smith.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 10, 2019, 09:13:17 PM
If you toe the line, you can avoid Tyburn.
Post by: Will it ever end on October 10, 2019, 09:31:06 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 10, 2019, 04:29:51 PM

Ian has a plan.

I was told by someone from the vicinity that the Wrights bought the whole site two years ago for a knockdown £4M on the proviso that they couldn't sell on for a profit for 10 years.
Evidently Bamford knows this and has offered the £4M but Pastor Jeff is wanting more as it's currently valued at £10M.

If there was such a restrictive covenant youve alluded to below I would be very surprised anyone would value the land at £10m
Post by: tyroneman on October 11, 2019, 07:51:37 AM
I wonder, if both the Shipyard and Wrightbus are saved, will those workers who previously contributed to the religious intolerance in both have a Damscence conversion and appreciate the support that has been given from both sides of the community in the fight to keep the two places afloat?
Post by: sensethetone on October 11, 2019, 08:03:18 AM
Quote from: Will it ever end on October 10, 2019, 09:31:06 PM

Ian has a plan.

If there was such a restrictive covenant youve alluded to below I would be very surprised anyone would value the land at £10m

The land was bought at a knocked down price, no doubt because of who was the buyer. Ian P wouldn't have set that deal up, now he like the ground back.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 11, 2019, 08:37:36 AM
Never seen media attention like it the past few months to both Wrightbus and H & W.  Im sure there have been many more large companies that have closed down over the past 10 years who haven't got a mention or any sort of a campaign to save them.
Post by: johnnycool on October 11, 2019, 08:41:39 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on October 11, 2019, 08:03:18 AM
Quote from: Will it ever end on October 10, 2019, 09:31:06 PM

Ian has a plan.

The land was bought at a knocked down price, no doubt because of who was the buyer. Ian P wouldn't have set that deal up, now he like the ground back.

The sticking point seems to be 40 acres of agricultural land attached to the factory but not part of the factory but was part of the original deal for the Gallaghers plant.

Ian O'g alluded to all the help he's given the Wrights over the years and I'm sure he wants this to go through with no fuss as he himself might not want too many looking under this particular stone.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 11, 2019, 08:56:26 AM
I'm sure of course he gave all this help out of the goodness of his heart and not for any material reasons...
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 11, 2019, 09:00:45 AM
Some boy chris knowles on fb, nephew of the man himself has on his profile that it was all sold to secure jobs at the time, farmland and all, so the same should be done again now

Thats him off the Will....

Edit - hes it off now. Hes back in the Will...
Post by: Smokin Joe on October 11, 2019, 09:19:35 AM
I presume this is what you're referring to:
https://twitter.com/ExWrightEmploye/status/1182423425689817088
Post by: FermGael on October 11, 2019, 09:50:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 11, 2019, 08:37:36 AM
Never seen media attention like it the past few months to both Wrightbus and H & W.  Im sure there have been many more large companies that have closed down over the past 10 years who haven't got a mention or any sort of a campaign to save them.
The difference between these two companies and when Quinn bust is unbelievable.
Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2019, 09:57:37 AM
When do their Directors get kidnapped and tortured, have finger nails pulled out and letters carved on their chests?
Post by: GetOverTheBar on October 11, 2019, 10:37:59 AM
Well, you wouldn't want it to be too straight forward but....

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-50013959
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 11, 2019, 10:38:36 AM
Deal done?

God bless you Pastor Jeff ill see you on Sunday
Post by: FermGael on October 11, 2019, 10:46:33 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 11, 2019, 09:57:37 AM
When do their Directors get kidnapped and tortured, have finger nails pulled out and letters carved on their chests?

Not talking about that.
I am talking about the amount of pr this has received and the fact that both companies have been found buyers in a very short space of time .
Quinn's stayed under AIB ownership for at least a year and neither the northern or southern politicians did much to try and save the company
Post by: MoChara on October 11, 2019, 10:50:16 AM
Interesting how Jo Bamford is thanking Ian Og for his help and Pastor Jeff was telling him yesterday to keep his nose out of it.
Post by: Rossfan on October 11, 2019, 11:02:32 AM
Quote from: FermGael on October 11, 2019, 10:46:33 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 11, 2019, 09:57:37 AM

Not talking about that.
I am talking about the amount of pr this has received and the fact that both companies have been found buyers in a very short space of time .
Quinn's stayed under AIB ownership for at least a year and neither the northern or southern politicians did much to try and save the company
We in the 26 are paying around €70 extra per year on  our Insurances because of the Quinbs.
And theres the 2.5Bn  of Anglo Irish money....
Post by: screenexile on October 11, 2019, 11:30:40 AM
Heard the bold Pastor had 2 mortgages on the JTI property which he was able to leverage because he bought it for basically nothing and that was the main sticking point!!!
Post by: johnnycool on October 11, 2019, 11:37:24 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 11, 2019, 11:30:40 AM
Heard the bold Pastor had 2 mortgages on the JTI property which he was able to leverage because he bought it for basically nothing and that was the main sticking point!!!

Bamford more or less said yesterday he'd clear those mortgages to secure the sale but Pastor Jeff was looking way above and beyond what he'd payed for it and Ian O'g obviously knew this
Post by: MoChara on October 11, 2019, 11:44:18 AM
Pastor Jeff has seems to have gifted the other lands to Ballymena Borough Council

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EGlxhqUXYAAeHR0?format=jpg&name=small)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EGlxhqnWsAAPJAB?format=jpg&name=360x360)
Post by: under the bar on October 11, 2019, 12:04:16 PM
Brexiteer Bamford has been thanking the Pengelly-knobber I see. ::)
Post by: johnnycool on October 11, 2019, 12:24:35 PM
Quote from: MoChara on October 11, 2019, 11:44:18 AM
Pastor Jeff has seems to have gifted the other lands to Ballymena Borough Council

Then all is right with the world again.

£od spoke to Jeff in the night it seems before the flock turned on the shepard.
Post by: LeoMc on October 11, 2019, 01:21:10 PM

Ian has a plan.
Ian is running with the big boys now. The Bamfords are looking their brexit dividend by picking up a few Companies pushed to the wall by the Brexit fiasco they bank-rolled.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 11, 2019, 01:45:18 PM
Quote from: MoChara on October 11, 2019, 11:44:18 AM

AKA Mid & East Antrim Borough Council, for the past 5 years.
Post by: 6th sam on October 11, 2019, 02:03:52 PM
Delighted that jobs are saved , and hope that suppliers get all monies due as part of the package. Ballymena has already been decimated by Gallagher and Michelin , if Wrightbus went the socioeconomic turmoil would have been unthinkable. Brilliant news for local families who have gone thru a torrid time in recent weeks
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on October 11, 2019, 02:35:17 PM
how the family came to own the 40 acres is the real question
Post by: under the bar on October 12, 2019, 07:06:06 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on October 11, 2019, 02:35:17 PM
how the family came to own the 40 acres is the real question

Cos just like Ian og and the Penguin, DUP so-called Christians are f**king everyone in sight
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2020, 09:38:21 PM
BBC Spotlight tonight to show how  Wright bus gave a whack of money to the church when they didn't have it
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-51538544
Post by: screenexile on February 18, 2020, 10:49:13 PM
Fuckin hell!!!!
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2020, 11:06:02 PM
It seems that there has been divine intervention to stop the transmission.
Post by: square_ball on February 18, 2020, 11:29:53 PM
This God fella is some businessman.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on February 19, 2020, 07:04:31 PM
Shame I missed this...

Anywhere to watch online...

Iplayer?
Post by: angermanagement on February 19, 2020, 09:43:53 PM
It's repeated at 11:15 tonight on BBC2.
Post by: The Subbie on February 20, 2020, 01:08:03 AM
Any sign of it on you tube ?? Would like to see this
Post by: Keyser soze on February 20, 2020, 12:15:01 PM
Unbelievable that anyone would let a space cowboy like Jeff Wright within a country mile of running a multimillion pound business, lad couldn't string a sentence together. 
Post by: johnnycool on February 20, 2020, 12:29:58 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on February 20, 2020, 12:15:01 PM
Unbelievable that anyone would let a space cowboy like Jeff Wright within a country mile of running a multimillion pound business, lad couldn't string a sentence together.

he wasn't running it, God was.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on February 20, 2020, 12:34:26 PM

He's not the first offspring To f..k up a business that took generations to build up, but then again GOD has to take 26% of the blame here. Why is everyone not more up in arms with Invest NI as they seem to know they where throwing food money after bad. Is this not taxpayer money
Post by: johnnycool on February 20, 2020, 12:39:19 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on February 20, 2020, 12:34:26 PM

He's not the first offspring To f..k up a business that took generations to build up, but then again GOD has to take 26% of the blame here. Why is everyone not more up in arms with Invest NI as they seem to know they where throwing food money after bad. Is this not taxpayer money

I have serious reservations about those high up in the Civil Service in NI and their links to evangelical christianity and it clouding their judgement.

There should have been more made about the very senior civil servant spilling the beans to Jonny Bell the time of RHI which Bell recorded but the civil servant felt they were kindred spirits in the evangelical work!!!

If that had been two taigs you'd have heard about it alright!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on February 20, 2020, 12:50:00 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on February 20, 2020, 12:39:19 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on February 20, 2020, 12:34:26 PM

I have serious reservations about those high up in the Civil Service in NI and their links to evangelical christianity and it clouding their judgement.

There should have been more made about the very senior civil servant spilling the beans to Jonny Bell the time of RHI which Bell recorded but the civil servant felt they were kindred spirits in the evangelical work!!!

If that had been two taigs you'd have heard about it alright!

Yeah agree but this spotlight BS is no Joe Rogan for sure. Surely there is another program chasing the money invest NI Threw at them ( it's millions of pounds) in full knowledge of the fact Jeff and God where skimming. Investigative reporting my Ass.
Civil service and accountability in this place are non existent.
Post by: johnnycool on August 25, 2020, 01:43:14 PM
Advance Engineering, a supplier to Wrightbus goes belly up as well with Pastor Jeff at the helm...

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/jobs/supplier-to-wrightbus-goes-bust-with-loss-of-30-jobs-39475016.html (https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/jobs/supplier-to-wrightbus-goes-bust-with-loss-of-30-jobs-39475016.html)

Wonder if he was still keeping the funds going to his church!!!