Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

You hope we haven't dropped the ball at senior level. We're a big county with a lot of good in place due to the brilliant work by Club Tyrone and Conway.

There's still success at underage. But at senior level there seems to be a drop off for the last three years (22-24). The support has decimated too which is another study.

WT4E

Quote from: Truthsayer on August 02, 2024, 06:38:30 PM
Quote from: cynic on August 02, 2024, 02:50:17 PMThe sooner Tyrone is rid of Dooher, the better. Brilliant footballer, but no manager.  It's the players who are responsible for results, ultimately; but it's the manager who is responsible for morale and for the manner of those results.  Any team can get beaten, but there's a big difference in being beaten after a team has tried its best, and the hopeless, dispirited, low-energy shows put up by Tyrone recently.  They're playing like a team that wants to get beat, apart form a handful of older players such as Mattie Donnelly and Niall Morgan.  Dooher has pets and favourites. And he has alienated most of the squad through sheer ignorance and losing the head with players.  Someone told me he shouts at players the way you'd shout at cows.  Similar to Roy Keane, who like Dooher was ultra-committed and a great player, but who rules by fear, sarcasm and bullying.  Good players do not necessarily become good managers, and that stuff doesn't take you very far in modern management.  As for the Brennans, well Lee is one of the most gifted attackers in the county, a man that other clubs in Tyrone fear much more than some of the boys on the current Tyrone panel, that's for sure, and Trillick, the current double county champions, know how to use him – you treat him like the Gooch, and don't waste time asking him to track back.  But Dooher had no time for him.  His brother Rory is an excellent half back, tough and reliable and a superb reader of a game, and he reportedly quit the panel out of loyalty to his brother.  If Dooher gets another year, I won't even be going to a Tyrone game, as it'll not be worth watching.  In particular, it's a shame to see the likes of D Canavan being wasted.  The team is managed badly, and trained badly (players reportedly are surprised by how little attacking or defensive coaching takes place), and their morale is on the floor, and it's only the pride and efforts of some individual players that are keeping any sort of a show on the road at the moment.  The county board hung onto Harte for 3 or 4 years past his sell-by date, and they're exhibiting a similar timidity and deference towards Dooher.   

Not sure what way you shout at cows! but that is the GAA Board line of the day 👏 :D

Not a farmer myself but I have some experience:

When you are being nice to them but want them to go where you want you shout: Hup Hup Hup Hup
When they don't do what you want you shout: Hup Hup ..... you f**king bastid ye.... Hup Hup..... ah f**k off!
When you want them to come for some meal: suckie suckie suckie suckie

I have heard that is what happens at Tyrone training.

square_ball

Who gets told to 'hup ye fuckin bastid ye' the most?

Quote from: WT4E on August 09, 2024, 12:05:47 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on August 02, 2024, 06:38:30 PM
Quote from: cynic on August 02, 2024, 02:50:17 PMThe sooner Tyrone is rid of Dooher, the better. Brilliant footballer, but no manager.  It's the players who are responsible for results, ultimately; but it's the manager who is responsible for morale and for the manner of those results.  Any team can get beaten, but there's a big difference in being beaten after a team has tried its best, and the hopeless, dispirited, low-energy shows put up by Tyrone recently.  They're playing like a team that wants to get beat, apart form a handful of older players such as Mattie Donnelly and Niall Morgan.  Dooher has pets and favourites. And he has alienated most of the squad through sheer ignorance and losing the head with players.  Someone told me he shouts at players the way you'd shout at cows.  Similar to Roy Keane, who like Dooher was ultra-committed and a great player, but who rules by fear, sarcasm and bullying.  Good players do not necessarily become good managers, and that stuff doesn't take you very far in modern management.  As for the Brennans, well Lee is one of the most gifted attackers in the county, a man that other clubs in Tyrone fear much more than some of the boys on the current Tyrone panel, that's for sure, and Trillick, the current double county champions, know how to use him – you treat him like the Gooch, and don't waste time asking him to track back.  But Dooher had no time for him.  His brother Rory is an excellent half back, tough and reliable and a superb reader of a game, and he reportedly quit the panel out of loyalty to his brother.  If Dooher gets another year, I won't even be going to a Tyrone game, as it'll not be worth watching.  In particular, it's a shame to see the likes of D Canavan being wasted.  The team is managed badly, and trained badly (players reportedly are surprised by how little attacking or defensive coaching takes place), and their morale is on the floor, and it's only the pride and efforts of some individual players that are keeping any sort of a show on the road at the moment.  The county board hung onto Harte for 3 or 4 years past his sell-by date, and they're exhibiting a similar timidity and deference towards Dooher.   

Not sure what way you shout at cows! but that is the GAA Board line of the day 👏 :D

Not a farmer myself but I have some experience:

When you are being nice to them but want them to go where you want you shout: Hup Hup Hup Hup
When they don't do what you want you shout: Hup Hup ..... you f**king bastid ye.... Hup Hup..... ah f**k off!
When you want them to come for some meal: suckie suckie suckie suckie

I have heard that is what happens at Tyrone training.

Can confirm. I've heard " here sook sook sook sook" numerous times over the years and have used this myself on the odd times I was asked to help move the cows

As you were 🤓

Wonder could we see Conor McKenna next year. He seems to have lost form and is now playing for the seconds out there.

God14

Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2024, 07:14:06 AMWonder could we see Conor McKenna next year. He seems to have lost form and is now playing for the seconds out there.

He's still another year after this one on this contract. Plenty of Australian dollar to collect yet
McKenna strikes me as the kind of guy who just about does enough to get by. Put in a massive shift last year to earn a lucrative 2 year contract extension. Now he has got it... It's chilled out laid back Conor again. Fair play to him,living the dream. Love to see him in a Tyrone jersey again, 2026???

An Watcher

Would take him back no problem but was HD really that great for us a few years back.  Had a bit if an x factor but hardly set the world alight

Name me any players that have scored 2 goals against Kerry in a championship game apart from McKenna.

An Watcher

Quote from: clarshack on August 10, 2024, 09:06:43 PMName me any players that have scored 2 goals against Kerry in a championship game apart from McKenna.

Fantastic but thought he could have contributed alot more than he actually did.  I'd say the player himself would agree. 

Truthsayer

Huge loss. Don't think people realised what he contributed. Could light up a game in a flash. That pass, without hardly looking, to Dazzler for the goal in the All Ireland final was unreal. Most players would have kicked the ball over the bar...

An Watcher

It was as if he saved his best for the biggest game of the year

An Watcher

I'm guessing Dooher is staying for another year otherwise we'd have heard by now?

GaaGPT

If Dooher/Logan stay we at least need a revamp of background team

An Watcher

If they stay, the next few years are written off unfortunately.  As are the final years of the likes of mattie donnellys career if he continues

Goals_Will_Come

Quote from: An Watcher on August 12, 2024, 10:53:01 AMIf they stay, the next few years are written off unfortunately.  As are the final years of the likes of mattie donnellys career if he continues
And Hampsey, Meyler, McGeary, Burns who are all in their 30s in 2025.
Big issue with Dooher and Logan staying is that they won't recall players who dropped off the panel. So we are in a situation that call ups are going to be limited to the recent Under 20s - likes of Callum Daly, Gavin Potter, Ruairi McCullagh, Ben Hughes - and boys who are doing well at club level who haven't been involved before - Danny Fullerton, Neil Kilpatrick being the only obvious ones of the top of my head going by league form so far - and then the likes of Paul Donaghy, Peter Teague, Rory Brennan etc. not getting the called up again due to leaving the panel previously.
What other top county is operating without their top players not being involved in the county set up. And don't start with the Tyrone club league excuse - majority of players from the top clubs are nowhere near worried about relegation. The big issue is the county set up, training, tactics and team selections.