Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bcarrier on June 27, 2009, 12:13:13 AM

Title: glastonbury
Post by: bcarrier on June 27, 2009, 12:13:13 AM
neil young =  :)

A day in the life cover supports billys argument.
Title: Re: glastonbury
Post by: carnaross on June 27, 2009, 11:28:07 AM
Check this: http://www.myspace.com/fleetfoxes (http://www.myspace.com/fleetfoxes)

These guys are GOOD
Post by: Maguire01 on June 27, 2009, 11:42:08 AM
Fleet Foxes are class. The album has been out for over a year now.
Post by: deiseach on June 27, 2009, 11:47:26 AM
Watching it last night brought back memories - bad ones. Friday night and realising you were going to be stuck in this poxy field for next 60 hours . . . *shudder*
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2009, 09:22:20 PM
CS&N are there as well as Neil Young.
I thought Crosby was close to kicking the bucket but he looks okay and his voice is still strong but Stephen Stills's voice is shot.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2010, 11:51:30 PM
Anyone watching this.... great lineup with some awesome bands.

Gorillaz are ket though! Worst headliners I've ever seen at it!!!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2010, 11:53:57 PM
screen, was just tippin in and out, but i have to agree!! didnt hit the spot at all;

snoop dog is a cool mf tho..
Post by: ross4life on June 25, 2010, 11:58:52 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2010, 11:51:30 PM
Anyone watching this.... great lineup with some awesome bands.

Gorillaz are ket though! Worst headliners I've ever seen at it!!!

Didn't Gorillaz replace U2?
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2010, 12:15:41 AM
Have just seen the end of the Flaming Lips and Groove Armada sets and have to say they seemed infinitely better than the Gorillaz!have
Post by: wavesofTORRES on June 26, 2010, 12:26:56 AM
Never thought i'd say this- that Dizee Rascal was feckin brill.
Post by: mc_grens on June 28, 2010, 12:26:47 AM
Stevie Wonder. Special Stuff.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 28, 2010, 09:40:31 AM
Muse/Muse and Edge, bloody great.  great hangover cure (watched it next morn)
Post by: screenexile on June 21, 2011, 11:18:36 AM
Finally crossing this one off the list and on my way across the water as we speak to hit the greatest music festival in the world (apart from Glasgowbury of course).

The lineup probably isn't as good as previous years but I there is enough there to keep me interested.

Anyone know if any hidden gems of bands I should check out or is anyone else making the crusade??
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2015, 09:35:41 PM
Love watching Glasto weekend on BBC.

Libertines the surprise band on the Pyramid stage would have been deadly. Also a band I've never heard of before Wolf Aliss were on earlier and they are class!

It will be interesting to see how Kanye gets on tomorrow night. I know Jay Z went down well before but Kanye's a w**k and not as likeable so it could throw up a reaction!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2015, 09:44:12 PM
Seen bit earlier and usual quality is patchy. Boss in 2009 was great.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2015, 08:59:20 AM
Watched Florence and the machine, thought she was great, actually be interested in going to see her. My open air concert's days are over, but would be tempted
Post by: Over the Bar on June 27, 2015, 02:05:37 PM
Seen her at Vital a few years back and she was amazing.  The office suit didn't do much for her stage presence last night tho. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2015, 02:36:50 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 27, 2015, 02:05:37 PM
Seen her at Vital a few years back and she was amazing.  The office suit didn't do much for her stage presence last night tho.

She has serious energy in fairness, bounced along that stage like a ween
Post by: Last Man on June 27, 2015, 10:36:41 PM
Not getting Kanye at all, no connecrion with the crowd, maybe i'm getting old
Post by: muppet on June 27, 2015, 10:58:55 PM
Quote from: Last Man on June 27, 2015, 10:36:41 PM

Tell him to post here and we'll see if we can connect....
Post by: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:00:32 PM
Suede on BBC4 a better bet.
Post by: smelmoth on June 27, 2015, 11:02:37 PM
Quote from: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:00:32 PM

Indeed

If Strange Fruit was played at a KKK convention it would have got a more sypathetic rendition than Kanye's offering
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 27, 2015, 11:03:57 PM
Quote from: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:00:32 PM

100%
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:05:07 PM
What the f**k is it with the auto tune?? He needs to pull out goldigger or something decent shortly!!
Post by: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:22:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:05:07 PM
What the f**k is it with the auto tune?? He needs to pull out goldigger or something decent shortly!!
In the good old days he would have been inundated with bottles of piss by now.
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:26:54 PM
Quote from: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:22:26 PM

He seems to be getting reasonable feedback from the crowd... Is it just us?? It's f**king horrendous!!

I don't mind R&B and enjoyed Jay Z but at least he played the hits and didn't use f**king autotune!!!!!!!
Post by: ballinaman on June 27, 2015, 11:27:47 PM
Put down that flag...seriously...what gobshites are holding those flag poles for hours on end.

Chronic stuff from Kanye West. Hilarious, some shite.
Post by: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:30:48 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:26:54 PM
Quote from: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:22:26 PM

He seems to be getting reasonable feedback from the crowd... Is it just us?? It's f**king horrendous!!

I don't mind R&B and enjoyed Jay Z but at least he played the hits and didn't use f**king autotune!!!!!!!
No mate, it is utter pish - Reckon folk will be leaving in their droves.  Would draw the curtains if yon was in my back garden.
Post by: smelmoth on June 27, 2015, 11:37:05 PM
Meanwhile on BBC4 we are witnessing a master class in belting out the hits and doing so in some considerable style
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:40:24 PM
Suede aren't great but they're singling without autotune and singing their hits which puts them about 10 places ahead of that twat on the Pyramid stage!!

Reminds me of when the Gorillaz filled in for U2 5\6 years ago and they were possible worse!!
Post by: smelmoth on June 27, 2015, 11:44:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:40:24 PM
Suede aren't great but they're singling without autotune and singing their hits which puts them about 10 places ahead of that twat on the Pyramid stage!!

Reminds me of when the Gorillaz filled in for U2 5\6 years ago and they were possible worse!!

Jaysus I think Suede are hitting the mark. Have seen them at Glasto twice. It just didn't work the year I seen them outdoors but I think they might have been hitting the needle a bit too much back then. Indoors they are immense.
Post by: michaelg on June 27, 2015, 11:47:10 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on June 27, 2015, 11:44:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:40:24 PM

Jaysus I think Suede are hitting the mark. Have seen them at Glasto twice. It just didn't work the year I seen them outdoors but I think they might have been hitting the needle a bit too much back then. Indoors they are immense.
Defo on the Just for Men, but your man is in good nick for 47 - Especially given his previous over-indulgences.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 27, 2015, 11:47:55 PM
Thoroughly enjoying this Suede set. Last saw them live in the Ulster Hall, must've been about 1997.
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:55:54 PM
He just said he's the greatest rockstar on the planet...

Greatest bellend I reckon!!
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:00:21 AM
Joe Wylie doing her best to keep it in check but she knows it was tripe!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 28, 2015, 01:00:23 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 27, 2015, 11:47:55 PM
Thoroughly enjoying this Suede set. Last saw them live in the Ulster Hall, must've been about 1997.
It was the night Ken Doherty won the snooker world championship.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 28, 2015, 03:09:14 PM
Florence and the machine have been the stars of the show so far. Watched all of rudimentals set and thought they were good as well. Saturday night was as poor a line up at glastonbury as I can remember.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 28, 2015, 07:35:38 PM
lionel ritchie  8)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 28, 2015, 08:17:03 PM
A shocker this year. They definitely missed The Foo Fighters.
Post by: charlieTully on June 28, 2015, 08:43:43 PM
really enjoyed the hot chip set on Friday, will defo check them out at EP, Jon Hopkins class as well. Kanye is turd. Great albums but it doesn't work live.
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 10:12:04 PM
Paul Weller tearing up the Pyramid Stage... Glasto's about more than just headliners even if they are shit (which Kanye was, Flo was excellent and I'm hoping the Who will be too). Even with Kanye last night Suede were good!
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 10:51:47 PM
Forget the Who the Chemical Brothers are off the charts here... Class!!!
Post by: easytiger95 on June 28, 2015, 11:07:06 PM
Made the mistake of watching Kanye last night - not a fan, but wanted him to do well to stick it to those eejits signing petitions. But he was awful, underprepared and seemed not only out of his depth but oblivious to the gig he was actually meant to be doing - he was headlining and he just seemed not to connect with the experience at all. Very poor, and insulting to those who paid money. Hip hop should obviously be part of the festival, but this was bad music, bad gig, bad vibes.

Chemical brothers are killing it at the moment, looks like an epic gig.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 28, 2015, 11:30:14 PM
The Who can still belt an oul tune to be fair to them.
Post by: thebigfella on June 29, 2015, 12:03:24 AM
Kayne achieved everything he set out to do.... we are all still talking about it. Have had the misfortune of hearing Florence and the Machine live twice; terrible stuff altogether but I suppose it could be worse, Gareth Brooks could be polluting us.
Post by: Franko on June 29, 2015, 09:20:50 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 29, 2015, 12:03:24 AM
Kayne achieved everything he set out to do.... we are all still talking about it. Have had the misfortune of hearing Florence and the Machine live twice; terrible stuff altogether but I suppose it could be worse, Gareth Brooks could be polluting us.

Bullshit... that's only true if his pre-concert pep talk went something like;

"You see after this gig Kimmy babes, I want the whole country talking about how big a twat I am and how shit I am at delivering a live performance".

Other than that, he fcuked up.
Post by: thebigfella on June 29, 2015, 09:27:29 AM
Quote from: Franko on June 29, 2015, 09:20:50 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 29, 2015, 12:03:24 AM

Bullshit... that's only true if his pre-concert pep talk went something like;

"You see after this gig Kimmy babes, I want the whole country talking about how big a twat I am and how shit I am at delivering a live performance".

Other than that, he fcuked up.

Whether or not you thought it was good, he polarised opinion and that's what he has made a name for recently. You know what you are getting with him and some people love it........ I thought it was sh1te by the way by it.
Post by: naka on June 29, 2015, 12:10:48 PM
poor enough this year
maccabbess & Ritchie( for the singalong) were good as was weller but I thought the headline acts on the pyramid stage just didn't steal the show
foo fighters were missed
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 29, 2015, 02:44:11 PM
Why do people refer to him as Kanye like they know the dude personally.
He should never been let near the stage or a music festival for that matter. Cant howl a tune and doesn't play an instrument. Ye may as well have had me up there jumpin and leppin about shoutin shite down a microphone.
Post by: Pub Bore on June 29, 2015, 03:56:01 PM
I am unfamiliar with the work of Kanye West but I watched a bit of this.  I doubt i'm in his target audience but I thought it was pure shite.
Post by: screenexile on June 29, 2015, 04:26:47 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 29, 2015, 02:44:11 PM
Why do people refer to him as Kanye like they know the dude personally.
He should never been let near the stage or a music festival for that matter. Cant howl a tune and doesn't play an instrument. Ye may as well have had me up there jumpin and leppin about shoutin shite down a microphone.

In fairness neither do the Chemical Brothers and they looked to be unreal.

A lot of times the bands on the Other Stage steal the show from the headliners. The year I was there QOTSA were up against Beyonce and were supposed to be twice as good!!

Kanye and The Who as pensioners wouldn't be my cup of tea but there was plenty over the weekend I thought was good and would have kept me more than entertained had I went!!
Post by: 50fiftyball on June 29, 2015, 05:28:54 PM
Ole Lionel was great entertainment if for nothing else.  ;D All night long got a good vibe going in our house before graveyard mass, nearly too good - I contemplated hitting the local for a few on the way past to mass!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 30, 2015, 05:24:28 AM
Anyone see the Fat White Family?  Clips look great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMNg5VwNua8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMNg5VwNua8)

Or The Fall

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H20bnXIVtkQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H20bnXIVtkQ)

Post by: Billys Boots on June 30, 2015, 09:09:15 AM
QuoteOr The Fall

Only Smithy could look cool wearing a blue jumper at Glastonbury.  :D
Post by: The Gs Man on June 30, 2015, 09:34:13 AM
Vintage Trouble and The Chemical Brothers were excellent.
Post by: Joe Blob on June 30, 2015, 12:42:48 PM
The content on bbc iplayer is fantastic. Outside of the pyramid stage there were some fantastic sets that I caught over the weekend. Chemical Brothers have been mentioned but some brilliant stuff from Jungle, Caribou and Run The Jewels to name some of the lesser mainstream acts.
Post by: johnneycool on June 30, 2015, 01:27:24 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 28, 2015, 03:09:14 PM
Florence and the machine have been the stars of the show so far. Watched all of rudimentals set and thought they were good as well. Saturday night was as poor a line up at glastonbury as I can remember.

Caught Florence doing the cover version of the Fu Fighters 'Times like these' and she was fantastic at it.

Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2017, 11:40:36 PM
Seen a few acts there.

Royal Blood are class

Radiohead as a band sound class but they've been around a long time and they have a lot of droney songs which can be quite boring

Dizee Rascal seems to have been great craic

Kris Kristofferson should not be doing live performances anymore

Elbow are meh

Always a good weekends viewing though and usually fires up a band or two that I haven't heard of that end up being great!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 23, 2017, 11:51:32 PM
Seen Royal Blood at Slane, thought they were ok nothing more, Radiohead, no harm to them but their music about 20years outdated, shows how stuck for headliners they are
Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2017, 11:56:16 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 23, 2017, 11:51:32 PM
Seen Royal Blood at Slane, thought they were ok nothing more, Radiohead, no harm to them but their music about 20years outdated, shows how stuck for headliners they are

You went to see Guns n Roses at Slane though right??
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2017, 11:56:33 PM
Was just gonna post on this. Enjoyed Radiohead and Royal Blood were very entertaining. People can say what they want about Radiohead but you have got 5 proper musicians there.

I enjoyed the big cheer when they sang the lyrics in No Surprises "bring down the government; they don't, they don't speak for us"!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2017, 12:09:00 AM
Yip and they were way better than Royal Blood
Post by: michaelg on June 24, 2017, 12:11:42 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2017, 12:09:00 AM
You damn them with faint praise.
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2017, 12:36:33 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2017, 12:09:00 AM

I don't doubt Royal Blood aren't as good after 2 albums as a band that started playing together 30 odd years ago!

I was referring more about your quip about Radiohead's music being twenty years outdated yet you thought it worth going to Slane to see Guns n Roses nearly 30 years after their last decent album. . .
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2017, 12:44:38 AM
Anyone around the age of 40 growing up with this is going to feel nostalgic when Street Spirit, Creep No Surprises, Karma Police etc. are played.
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2017, 01:04:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2017, 12:44:38 AM
Anyone around the age of 40 growing up with this is going to feel nostalgic when Street Spirit, Creep No Surprises, Karma Police etc. are played.

Oi oi oi!!!! Easy on there early to mid thirties Tone!!
Post by: Over the Bar on June 24, 2017, 09:47:04 AM
Went to the original GNR concert in Slane.  Slane was some day out back then.
Post by: johnneycool on June 24, 2017, 10:14:21 PM
G'wan Dave and the foo fighters, giving it what for.
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2017, 11:35:47 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 24, 2017, 10:14:21 PM

Proper headline act nobody could have any complaints about this! Great show they're putting on here!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2017, 11:43:27 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 24, 2017, 11:35:47 PM

Proper headline act nobody could have any complaints about this! Great show they're putting on here!
Keeping the 13 year old up to give him an education!
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 24, 2017, 11:48:08 PM

+1 A type of band that produces their best for these live concert weekends.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2017, 11:52:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2017, 11:45:42 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2017, 11:43:27 PM

Keeping the 13 year old up to give him an education!
Stormzy is over though?
Exactly why he is up. Listens to whatever pish is peddled on youtube.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 25, 2017, 12:20:04 AM
Watching Liam Gallagher on Red Button. Class.
Post by: Main Street on June 25, 2017, 12:25:33 AM
That's the first time I heard the Foo Fighters, I thought they were corny, a banal pop chorus band but the crowd seemed to like them.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2017, 12:28:59 AM
Foos. Superb. That is all
Post by: DownFanatic on June 25, 2017, 12:35:27 AM
I've seen them live four times but that was something special tonight.
Post by: shark on June 25, 2017, 12:35:31 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 25, 2017, 12:20:04 AM

He seems to have got his voice back. When Oasis played there in 2004 he was pathetic, just snarled through the whole set. I was pleasantly surprised. Must be off the booze & fags.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2017, 12:52:57 AM
Quote from: shark on June 25, 2017, 12:35:31 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 25, 2017, 12:20:04 AM

He seems to have got his voice back. When Oasis played there in 2004 he was pathetic, just snarled through the whole set. I was pleasantly surprised. Must be off the booze & fags.
Interview with him in The Times today. On a fitness kick and runs etc.
Post by: Windmill abu on June 25, 2017, 01:46:57 AM
Foo Fighters were excellent. I'm glad the finished with Everlong. My personal favourite.
So much better than the depressing Radiohead last night.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2017, 06:20:52 PM
Barry Gibb!!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 25, 2017, 06:21:46 PM
Nile Rodgers, you genius.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 25, 2017, 08:43:46 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 25, 2017, 06:21:46 PM
Nile Rodgers, you genius.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2017, 06:20:52 PM
Barry Gibb!!
both bringing out all the old disco classics. Great stuff.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2017, 10:44:07 PM
Really not getting Ed Sheeran as a Glastonbury headliner his music is just too bland and generic!!
Post by: mrdeeds on June 25, 2017, 11:01:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2017, 10:44:07 PM
Really not getting Ed Sheeran as a Glastonbury headliner his music is just too bland and generic!!

The fact that it's acapella is wrong too.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 25, 2017, 11:15:09 PM
Wouldn't be a fan but with just a guitar for company ed sheeran puts on a good show. Think i would rather have a 'rock' band close Glastonbury though.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2017, 11:35:16 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 25, 2017, 11:15:09 PM
Wouldn't be a fan but with just a guitar for company ed sheeran puts on a good show. Think i would rather have a 'rock' band close Glastonbury though.

Yeah I think just him and his guitar is lacking something for headlining a festival.

Generally all the big bands have a huge sound which is missing from him performing with just an acoustic guitar it's all a bit bland. He needs some help up there for that size of a gig!

As someone on twitter said "If I had a 16-yr-old daughter I'd be pretty relieved if she liked Ed Sheeran. A reassuring sign she'd get good A-levels and go to Exeter Uni"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2017, 11:53:56 PM
Ed was brill, great finish.. seems to be a marmite approach to Ed for some reason, amazing song writer and singer
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2017, 12:05:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2017, 11:35:16 PM

Yeah I think just him and his guitar is lacking something for headlining a festival.

Generally all the big bands have a huge sound which is missing from him performing with just an acoustic guitar it's all a bit bland. He needs some help up there for that size of a gig!

As someone on twitter said "If I had a 16-yr-old daughter I'd be pretty relieved if she liked Ed Sheeran. A reassuring sign she'd get good A-levels and go to Exeter Uni"
Agree entirely. He's good at what he does but definitely lacking as a headliner on the main stage.
Post by: ONeill on June 26, 2017, 12:06:57 AM
Sheeran has more talent in his smallest toe than anyone else at that festival.

The thing about those types of festivals is a pretentiousness surrounding big sound bands who curse and scream a lot.

Mick Foster should close it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2017, 12:21:16 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2017, 12:05:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2017, 11:35:16 PM

Agree entirely. He's good at what he does but definitely lacking as a headliner on the main stage.

Good? Hmmm
Post by: The Gs Man on June 26, 2017, 08:53:08 AM
Turned him off after 3 songs. 

Think he left his guitar tuner backstage.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2017, 09:01:13 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 26, 2017, 12:06:57 AM
Sheeran has more talent in his smallest toe than anyone else at that festival.

The thing about those types of festivals is a pretentiousness surrounding big sound bands who curse and scream a lot.

If variations of the JCB song is your thing then you would be correct.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 26, 2017, 09:48:03 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on June 26, 2017, 08:53:08 AM

He seemed to be having major issues alright.

To be fair to him, its not easy to headline an event like glastonbury up there on your own.
I think he was a bit lost up there though and it didnt really work as a headline closing act
Post by: johnneycool on June 26, 2017, 03:52:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 26, 2017, 09:48:03 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on June 26, 2017, 08:53:08 AM

He seemed to be having major issues alright.

To be fair to him, its not easy to headline an event like glastonbury up there on your own.
I think he was a bit lost up there though and it didnt really work as a headline closing act

Turns out he'd a little help from his little friend, say hello to Chewie to the uneducated Ed fans;

(https://www.musicindustryhowto.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Buy-Chewie-2-Ed-Sheeran-Loop-Pedal.jpg)

It's not a backing track, its a loop station they tell me.
Post by: Taylor on June 26, 2017, 03:56:47 PM
Barry Gibb put on a good set IMHO.

The lads that threw up the gold jacket are from Belfast. Were on the radio this morning interviewed by Chris Evans.

Was more entertaining that Ed
Post by: easytiger95 on June 26, 2017, 03:59:33 PM
It's actually really skilful what he does (though I'm not a fan of his tunes) - he beats out 8 bars on the flat of the guitar - records it and loops it immediately, does the same for the riff, does the same for the backing vocals, and when that bed is built, continues playing and singing live over the top - he builds it in front of you.

He broke the strings on at least two guitars because he uses them literally as rhythm instruments.

The boy still can't rap though...
Post by: lurganblue on June 26, 2017, 04:28:13 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 26, 2017, 03:59:33 PM
It's actually really skilful what he does (though I'm not a fan of his tunes) - he beats out 8 bars on the flat of the guitar - records it and loops it immediately, does the same for the riff, does the same for the backing vocals, and when that bed is built, continues playing and singing live over the top - he builds it in front of you.

He broke the strings on at least two guitars because he uses them literally as rhythm instruments.

The boy still can't rap though...

Agreed.

Didnt get seeing all that i would like but have to say i enjoyed the Liam Gallagher set.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2017, 04:42:27 PM
Ed Sheeran gives me a pain in the 'nads.

I just don't see it or get it. Throw a stone anywhere, anytime and you'll hit a better non-ginger guitarist.

I agree that Barry Gibb was good! Never thought I would say this about a Bee Gee. That was a hanging offence back in the day.

Post by: StGallsGAA on June 28, 2017, 05:41:16 AM
Sheeran  has more talent in his smallest toe than anyone else at that festival.

Barry Gibb?  Nile Rodgers?  :o
Post by: Glens Og on June 28, 2017, 02:54:27 PM
Test
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 28, 2017, 11:23:41 PM

Sheeran  has more talent in his smallest toe than anyone else at that festival.

But does he have the talent and following to fill 7 stadium gigs in Ireland in 2018? (2 x Dublin, 2 x Cork, 2 x Galway and 1 x Belfast.
Post by: screenexile on June 29, 2019, 10:08:52 PM
Killers decent viewing here. Stormzy wouldn't be my cup of tea but apparently he put on a great show.

The Fontaines DC set looked class they'll be great to watch live when they're home later in the year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2019, 10:18:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 29, 2019, 10:08:52 PM
Killers decent viewing here. Stormzy wouldn't be my cup of tea but apparently he put on a great show.

The Fontaines DC set looked class they'll be great to watch live when they're home later in the year.
Killers not big enough to headline a Saturday night imo. Stormzy was good when he did the handful of songs I recognise but there were large parts where I didn't recognise the music and I was bored. Watched a wee bit of The Charlatans last night and Tim has A LOOK going! Liam's set earlier was decent enough in spite of him being a poor vocalist.
Post by: trailer on June 29, 2019, 10:31:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2019, 10:18:23 PM

Killers not big enough to headline a Saturday night imo. Stormzy was good when he did the handful of songs I recognise but there were large parts where I didn't recognise the music and I was bored. Watched a wee bit of The Charlatans last night and Tim has A LOOK going! Liam's set earlier was decent enough in spite of him being a poor vocalist.

Killers are absolutely bossing it.
You sound like someone who doesn't like music.
Post by: screenexile on June 29, 2019, 10:41:38 PM

Strange statement one of the top bands around for nearly 20 years and enough easily enough anthems to cope with top billing.

They've been excellent so far!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2019, 10:48:32 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 29, 2019, 10:41:38 PM

Strange statement one of the top bands around for nearly 20 years and enough easily enough anthems to cope with top billing.

They've been excellent so far!!
Recording it and will watch it back later. I've always found them a bit bland for my tastes but I recall they were good when they actually were a top band 10 years or so ago when they headlined. They'll get a fair hearing.  ;)
Post by: FermGael on June 29, 2019, 10:50:06 PM
Killers have been superb so far
Post by: StephenC on June 29, 2019, 11:20:17 PM
Amazing set from the Killers and guests  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2019, 11:48:35 PM
Take back what I said earlier. I'm only a couple of songs in (Spaceman) and Flowers is on it. Great frontman although he's bound to have some sweaty 🍒 in that suit 
Post by: StephenC on June 29, 2019, 11:52:31 PM
Ronnie Vannucci is an amazing drummer. Love him.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2019, 12:01:24 AM
That was great hi. Strong ending. Always leave them wantin more  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2019, 12:03:38 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2019, 12:01:24 AM
That was great hi. Strong ending. Always leave them wantin more  :D
Apply that to all aspects of life  ;D
Post by: Over the Bar on June 30, 2019, 12:06:57 AM
Killers very good and the addition of God that is  Johnny Marr just made the whole thing!
Post by: thejuice on June 30, 2019, 01:26:58 AM
Just saw Gojira tonight in Birmingham. They played a set at Glastonbury the night before. Even as a fan of metal I'm not sure having it a Glastonbury makes any sense. I get the idea of being open minded etc but metal music was always supposed to be out on its own or has evolved that way. Gojira were amazing tonight in a packed venue of their fans whereas in front of a non invested festival crowd it's going to fall a bit flat like a Leinster football final.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 30, 2019, 01:49:16 AM
 Killers were brilliant tonight , this charming man with Johnny Marr was an unexpected bonus
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2019, 02:45:40 PM
The encore saved that last night. He needed a couple of guests. Up til then they were.....The Killers. Bland enough.
Post by: charlieTully on June 30, 2019, 06:56:58 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 30, 2019, 01:26:58 AM
Just saw Gojira tonight in Birmingham. They played a set at Glastonbury the night before. Even as a fan of metal I'm not sure having it a Glastonbury makes any sense. I get the idea of being open minded etc but metal music was always supposed to be out on its own or has evolved that way. Gojira were amazing tonight in a packed venue of their fans whereas in front of a non invested festival crowd it's going to fall a bit flat like a Leinster football final.

Brilliant band.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 30, 2019, 09:00:42 PM
The Miley Cyrus set looked class. Can't believe I'm saying that.
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2019, 10:17:42 PM
Sunday's line up on all stages is weak. Is this year's Glastonbury  the poorest of them all?  Headline act of the whole festival are The Cure? as Gary Moore said, I knew it was time to quit that (Metalish music) when I was asked to put make-up on. The last headline act I thought fitted the occasion were the Foo Fighters.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2019, 10:35:29 PM
Robert Smith sounds f**king amazing. They are a perfect Sunday night closer.

MS agree about The Foo Fighters.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 10:49:12 PM
I loved The Cure growing up, didn't do the eye liner stuff but certainly loved their songs , but not convinced tonight.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 30, 2019, 11:10:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 10:49:12 PM
I loved The Cure growing up, didn't do the eye liner stuff but certainly loved their songs , but not convinced tonight.

??

Jeez I think they're superb!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 11:30:59 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 30, 2019, 11:10:38 PM

??

I'd watched couple more there, was a bit better. I'd few family down in Malahide couple weeks ago and they loved it, just was expecting more. That's just me
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2019, 11:31:38 PM
Christine and the Queens now, '80s mor pop with well rehearsed theatrical gyrations in sync.
I'm off to You Tube.

Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2019, 01:57:51 AM

WTF. That was brilliant.
Post by: charlieTully on July 01, 2019, 07:38:41 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 30, 2019, 10:17:42 PM
Sunday's line up on all stages is weak. Is this year's Glastonbury  the poorest of them all?  Headline act of the whole festival are The Cure? as Gary Moore said, I knew it was time to quit that (Metalish music) when I was asked to put make-up on. The last headline act I thought fitted the occasion were the Foo Fighters.

The cure sold out marley park in 5 mins. Stick to Nathan Carter man
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2019, 09:37:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 11:30:59 PM

??

I'd watched couple more there, was a bit better. I'd few family down in Malahide couple weeks ago and they loved it, just was expecting more. That's just me

Are you suffering hearing loss? The Cure were brilliant.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 01, 2019, 10:07:24 AM
Watched a brave bit of it.

Killers were fairly good.
Janet Jackson utter tripe.
Kylie was awful. Only Janet was worse.
Miley Cyrus couldn't decide whether she wanted to be some sort of Rock tribute act or act the slut (pitty as she can actually sing a bit) but the crowd seemed to love it.
Liam Gallagher wasn't technically great but got the crowd going
Same for Lewis Capaldi, George Ezra, Gerry Cinnamon and The Courteeners.
Stormzy got the crowd going too, decent for the couple songs I knew, boring enough for the ones I didn't (I didn't watch/listen to it all but production seemed huge).
Foals and Two Door Cinema Club - only seen a couple songs and seemed average enough.
Sigrid was very good.
Babymetal, the Japanese kawaii metal band, were a bit mad. Their songs sounded like the background music of an arcade games boss level. Crowd seemed to enjoy it though.
Jeff Goldblum interacted with the crowd well but I couldn't tell you if he's any use on the piano having watched a few songs. Not big into Jazz but it seemed ok.
Enjoyed the clip of your young lad up on stage singing the Tiago Silva song (no idea on Artist or song or anything but was just enjoyable to see)
Actually haven't seen The Cure yet but am going to watch it back.
I know I seen a bit of others but can't remember off the top of my head.

Without having seen The Cure yet i'd say it was a weak enough year, Sigrid or The Killers probably my favorite performance although I enjoyed the crowd at Gerry Cinnamon.
Post by: johnnycool on July 01, 2019, 10:26:42 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2019, 10:35:29 PM

Bit partial to the Foo Fighters so wouldn't disagree.

Though the Killers were goodish and the bit at the end with the Pet Shop Boys and Johnny Maher in particular was a nice touch.

Not a Cure fan but at least Smiths voice seems to have held up better than most of the 80's singers doing the rounds yet again.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 01, 2019, 10:32:53 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 01, 2019, 10:26:42 AM

Though the Killers were goodish and the bit at the end with the Pet Shop Boys and Johnny Maher in particular was a nice touch.

Not a Cure fan but at least Smiths voice seems to have held up better than most of the 80's singers doing the rounds yet again.
Did he break any sticks?  ;D
Post by: johnnycool on July 01, 2019, 10:40:29 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 01, 2019, 10:32:53 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 01, 2019, 10:26:42 AM

Did he break any sticks?  ;D

Sure they just anglicised his name anyway the hoors.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2019, 06:29:44 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2019, 09:37:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 11:30:59 PM

??

Are you suffering hearing loss? The Cure were brilliant.

I had all their albums when they came out (well my brother had them all) I just couldn't get into it last night, copious amounts of alcohol from watching the hurling and having friends round didn't help my hearing!
Post by: michaelg on July 01, 2019, 06:39:28 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 01, 2019, 10:07:24 AM

Miley Cyrus couldn't decide whether she wanted to be some sort of Rock tribute act or act the slut (pitty as she can actually sing a bit) but the crowd seemed to love it.
Stormzy got the crowd going too, decent for the couple songs I knew, boring enough for the ones I didn't (I didn't watch/listen to it all but production seemed huge).
Foals and Two Door Cinema Club - only seen a couple songs and seemed average enough.
Sigrid was very good.
Babymetal, the Japanese kawaii metal band, were a bit mad. Their songs sounded like the background music of an arcade games boss level. Crowd seemed to enjoy it though.
Jeff Goldblum interacted with the crowd well but I couldn't tell you if he's any use on the piano having watched a few songs. Not big into Jazz but it seemed ok.
Enjoyed the clip of your young lad up on stage singing the Tiago Silva song (no idea on Artist or song or anything but was just enjoyable to see)

Without having seen The Cure yet i'd say it was a weak enough year, Sigrid or The Killers probably my favorite performance although I enjoyed the crowd at Gerry Cinnamon.
Did you see Maggie Rogers?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 01, 2019, 08:10:34 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 01, 2019, 06:39:28 PM

Sigrid was very good.

She was really good supporting Mumford and Sons last year in the Odyssey

Post by: michaelg on July 01, 2019, 09:11:20 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on July 01, 2019, 08:10:34 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 01, 2019, 06:39:28 PM

Sigrid was very good.

She was really good supporting Mumford and Sons last year in the Odyssey
Thought she was excellent.
Post by: Tyrdub on July 02, 2019, 04:28:08 PM
My cousin's son plays lead guitar in The Idles, they played Glastonbury on Saturday i think it was. They're on the iPlayer, clean mad, say they are not punk but they as well be. Fair play to them though
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 02, 2019, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrdub on July 02, 2019, 04:28:08 PM
My cousin's son plays lead guitar in The Idles, they played Glastonbury on Saturday i think it was. They're on the iPlayer, clean mad, say they are not punk but they as well be. Fair play to them though

Fist time I seen/heard of them watching the BBC clips, thought their Tune 'Danny Nadelko' (?) was excellent. Also enjoyed Chemical Brothers/ Jon Hopkins / Jorga Smith / Christine & the queens / Lizzo / Wu tang /  The Killers (when Johny Marr came on). Wouldn't have wasted to much time around the Pyramid stage to be honest. Fair play to Kylie but how anyone could stand and watch that for and hour and a half with so much else going on is beyond me.
Post by: lurganblue on July 02, 2019, 04:55:02 PM
This lad who jumped up on stage to do a bit of rapping is getting a few minutes of fame out of it. I watched the clip and i am astounded that people consider that a hit song, or even music.
Post by: screenexile on July 02, 2019, 05:03:57 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 02, 2019, 04:55:02 PM
This lad who jumped up on stage to do a bit of rapping is getting a few minutes of fame out of it. I watched the clip and i am astounded that people consider that a hit song, or even music.

I'm sure your parents loved all the music you were into going through your teens/early twenties as well!!!

Nothing wrong with the music just the ones listening to it!!!  :P :P
Post by: lurganblue on July 02, 2019, 05:25:59 PM
Nah my parents probably hated it. I've no problem with a bit of rap music. My parents would have had to endure some of that too. That Thiago Silva is still shite.

Anyway, set up or not?
Post by: screenexile on July 02, 2019, 07:48:12 PM
Watched Miley Cyrus there... apart from the ridiculous amounts of swearing it was quite good.

Pop country rap rock she covered a lot of genres. She's talented but seems a bit mental!
Post by: Ed Ricketts on July 02, 2019, 08:01:26 PM

Idles are excellent. Been listening to them for a couple of years now. Knew from hearing yer man's accent that he was from over here, but never found out where exactly. Any help?
Post by: michaelg on July 02, 2019, 08:38:15 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on July 02, 2019, 08:01:26 PM

Idles are excellent. Been listening to them for a couple of years now. Knew from hearing yer man's accent that he was from over here, but never found out where exactly. Any help?
Guessed they had a link here from opening sample of crazy 'No Surrender' woman from City Hall fleg protest on first track on their debut album.
Post by: The Gs Man on July 03, 2019, 08:28:36 AM
He's a dentist from Belfast living in London playing in a band from Bristol.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2019, 12:48:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 02, 2019, 07:48:12 PM
Watched Miley Cyrus there... apart from the ridiculous amounts of swearing it was quite good.

Pop country rap rock she covered a lot of genres. She's talented but seems a bit mental!

She's a decent talent but needs to cut out some of the over the top attention seeking stuff she does.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 03, 2019, 02:03:37 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2019, 12:48:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 02, 2019, 07:48:12 PM

She's a decent talent but needs to cut out some of the over the top attention seeking stuff she does.

Funny when her Da came on and his singing started yet wasn't at the microphone yet, you could see her usher him across.
Post by: screenexile on July 03, 2019, 02:16:56 PM
Him and Lil Nas X were both miming!!
Post by: Tyrdub on July 05, 2019, 01:35:41 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on July 03, 2019, 08:28:36 AM
He's a dentist from Belfast living in London playing in a band from Bristol.

That's him alright, like his dad

Watched The Cur set last night, the hit songs were brilliant but the other stuff was more for their hardcore fans.

also watched Bastille, thought they were brilliant. Have seen them live here, would definitely go back again
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2022, 11:40:50 PM
Well what's the verdict on the first day?

Didn't see as much as I'd like thought Sam Fender was very good and was showing my age with Billie Eilish she's not my cup of tea at all really.

Those who like her seemed to enjoy the show though.
Post by: God14 on June 25, 2022, 07:35:23 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 24, 2022, 11:40:50 PM

Didn't see as much as I'd like thought Sam Fender was very good and was showing my age with Billie Eilish she's not my cup of tea at all really.

Same as that screen. Thought Sam fender was excellent. He will be back headlining in a few years
Post by: michaelg on June 25, 2022, 08:38:59 AM
Quote from: God14 on June 25, 2022, 07:35:23 AM

Same as that screen. Thought Sam fender was excellent. He will be back headlining in a few years
Thought Jesus and Mary Chaine were pretty good. Agree re Billie Eilish - Music not my bag, lacking in tunes. Quite likable stage persona though / seems like a nice, not too diva ish, performer.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2022, 09:56:50 AM
Quote from: michaelg on June 25, 2022, 08:38:59 AM
Quote from: God14 on June 25, 2022, 07:35:23 AM

Thought Jesus and Mary Chaine were pretty good. Agree re Billie Eilish - Music not my bag, lacking in tunes. Quite likable stage persona though / seems like a nice, not too diva ish, performer.
Oh didn't see them. I wonder can it be found on the red button.
Post by: ONeill on June 25, 2022, 10:10:13 AM
Enjoyed Wet Leg and Sigrid. Had been looking forward to Phoebe Bridgers but her voice was middlin.

Would like to have seen the Acoustic Stage but couldn't find it.
Post by: smort on June 25, 2022, 10:57:16 AM
Agree on Sam Fender, just watched his set this morning, spectacular. He is special
Post by: SHEEDY on June 25, 2022, 02:09:56 PM
Sam fender excellent, he'll be a headliner in years to come. Sigrid was very good as well, supergrass not bad either, hadn't seen them in years. Billie Eilish wouldn't be my idea of a headliner but seemed decent enough from all I seen of her set.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2022, 09:30:22 PM
What time for Macca? Schedule says 9.30 but BBC has it at 10.30
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2022, 11:36:35 PM
Paul 80 years young and the many thousands in attendance enjoying the entertainment. What this festival is all about.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 11:54:22 PM
If yis want an oul stir in yer loins tip over to bbc3 for a bit 😃

Wonder who taught Megan Thee Stallion to speak like that hi
Post by: Rudi on June 26, 2022, 12:27:10 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 11:54:22 PM
If yis want an oul stir in yer loins tip over to bbc3 for a bit 😃

Wonder who taught Megan Thee Stallion to speak like that hi

On the sauce all day long, fair play
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 12:35:24 AM
I wish 😂

McCartney on bbc1 singin obla dee obla da and yer woman on bbc3 shakin her big booty. Cameraman with a few closeups thinks its christmas
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2022, 12:54:02 AM
Couldn't get the missus away to bed to get seeing Megan!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 01:18:51 AM
😂😂 unlucky sahn.

Im away to sleep. Perchance to dream. About my big bootied merican foul mouthed ho'
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2022, 01:27:40 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 01:18:51 AM
😂😂 unlucky sahn.

Im away to sleep. Perchance to dream. About my big bootied merican foul mouthed ho'
To misquote the Bard - no rubbing  ;)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 08:23:59 AM
😃😃😊
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2022, 10:24:07 PM
I've no idea who this balloon is
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 10:27:49 PM
Pet Shop Boys bbc4 maybe more y(our) scene MR2 😉
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2022, 10:34:51 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 10:27:49 PM
Pet Shop Boys bbc4 maybe more y(our) scene MR2 😉

Daughters just came in from work and trying to give me more intel, basically they said he's crap too
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 10:46:11 PM
Wifeys read on twitter hes playin to a half empty field. Duno if accurate. Call me old fashioned i like a song ye can actually sing along to
Post by: SHEEDY on June 26, 2022, 11:18:42 PM
Pet shop boys stealing the show, hit after hit.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2022, 11:24:50 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 26, 2022, 11:18:42 PM
Ripping I'm missing it. Better be on iPlayer!
Post by: JoG2 on June 26, 2022, 11:46:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2022, 11:24:50 PM
Ripping I'm missing it. Better be on iPlayer!

T'is!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2022, 11:48:49 PM
Hated them as a teenager for some reason few clinker tunes though the end was low key. I would guess considerably better than that other drivel on main stage
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 27, 2022, 12:01:35 AM

I canny bare them , wile englishy or something lol. Like Arsenal or cricket or Pimm's
Post by: Loughshore2022 on June 27, 2022, 09:50:35 PM
I'd neve go near that woke place, I bet they would hang me up on a cross for being someone who slants to the right.

I went to Download Festival one day, it is full of wokes there too. I actually was laughed at by several people that day for going alone. That is the sort of thing I have to put up with as a solo concert goer, then people wonder why I am a misanthrope. Loners are an easy target for harassment.

I actually was abused by a group of girls outside Croke Park on Saturday but that is a story for another day. If you don't look like the typical GAA athletic jock you are laughed at.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2022, 10:12:12 PM
Post by: Olly on June 27, 2022, 10:38:13 PM
Although McCartney was good for his age he completely forgot to play 2 of my favourite tunes of all time, The Pipes of Peace and Ebony and Ivory.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 27, 2022, 11:47:23 PM
Was cryin out for a Frog Song tbh

In other news, is Loughshore this decades Olly?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2022, 11:53:51 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 27, 2022, 11:47:23 PM
Was cryin out for a Frog Song tbh

In other news, is Loughshore this decades Olly?!
thought the teaching thread post was for sure
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2022, 01:26:55 AM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on June 27, 2022, 09:50:35 PM
I'd neve go near that woke place, I bet they would hang me up on a cross for being someone who slants to the right.

I went to Download Festival one day, it is full of wokes there too. I actually was laughed at by several people that day for going alone. That is the sort of thing I have to put up with as a solo concert goer, then people wonder why I am a misanthrope. Loners are an easy target for harassment.

I actually was abused by a group of girls outside Croke Park on Saturday but that is a story for another day. If you don't look like the typical GAA athletic jock you are laughed at.

How would other people at a concert know you slant to the right?

I've been to quite a few concerts by myself in my time as few of my close friends liked the same music I did. I don't recall anyone ever saying a word or giving me a second glance.
Post by: johnnycool on June 28, 2022, 08:26:40 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2022, 01:26:55 AM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on June 27, 2022, 09:50:35 PM

How would other people at a concert know you slant to the right?

I've been to quite a few concerts by myself in my time as few of my close friends liked the same music I did. I don't recall anyone ever saying a word or giving me a second glance.

I think when you don't join in full throated when the "fúck the torys" chant goes up, it would be a giveaway.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 28, 2022, 09:30:52 AM
It was a pretty disappointing glastonbury overall this year I thought.
Jack White and Sam Fender probably the pick of any that I seen.
Post by: Tyrdub on June 28, 2022, 01:25:11 PM
Thought Noel Gallagher was superb ,Macca was brilliant.

Diana Ross should be put back in her cave

Billie Eilish shouldn't be allowed on a stage

yep, grumpy old man syndrome has kicked in
Post by: Last Man on June 28, 2022, 01:56:51 PM
Anybody catch Wet Leg on Friday night?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2022, 05:28:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrdub on June 28, 2022, 01:25:11 PM
Thought Noel Gallagher was superb ,Macca was brilliant.

Diana Ross should be put back in her cave

Billie Eilish shouldn't be allowed on a stage

yep, grumpy old man syndrome has kicked in

Anyone that was there, was there to see Diana Ross - definitely not to hear her!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 30, 2022, 10:16:45 PM
Quote from: Last Man on June 28, 2022, 01:56:51 PM
Anybody catch Wet Leg on Friday night?

No but they are a leathal band, would go to see them even at my age
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2023, 09:34:58 PM
Kicking things off this year. This FF set is class at the min.
Post by: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 10:12:10 PM
Be interesting to see what the arctic monkeys play. Their Glastonbury sets have been class previously. Seen them live myself in Belfast and they were shite  ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2023, 10:17:25 PM
Pity you can't see the Acoustic Stage.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 23, 2023, 10:25:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2023, 09:34:58 PM
Kicking things off this year. This FF set is class at the min.

Yassir

Saw bit of Fred Again not bad hi
Post by: Itchy on June 23, 2023, 10:25:58 PM
Cancelled viewing of Jeremy Corbyn docu movie as sponsors Vodafone claimed it was anti semitic. f**k Glastonbury.  Oh and artic monkeys are pure piss.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2023, 10:26:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 23, 2023, 10:17:25 PM
Saw Doctors?
Post by: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 10:27:25 PM
what the f**k are this band Sparks? never heard of them, a bizarre experience
Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2023, 10:52:17 PM
Is it the cocaine or has he turned into a massive p***k?

The clothes and the fake voice Jesus. I loved their first few albums as he sang with his own voice and the music was raw and genuine. I'm struggling to get this. He's murdering decent tunes with this weird voice he's putting on.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2023, 11:02:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 23, 2023, 10:52:17 PM
Is it the cocaine or has he turned into a massive p***k?

The clothes and the fake voice Jesus. I loved their first few albums as he sang with his own voice and the music was raw and genuine. I'm struggling to get this. He's murdering decent tunes with this weird voice he's putting on.

Who?
Post by: smort on June 23, 2023, 11:07:25 PM
Arctic monkeys

Was coming on to say they are going well here but board doesn't seem to agree, and that's alright

They've been like this for a good few years now, it is getting towards 20 years since that first album, and they were only teenagers. He has gone very Richard Hawley on it
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2023, 11:09:06 PM
Was looking forward to them. But....no.
Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2023, 11:15:13 PM
Quote from: smort on June 23, 2023, 11:07:25 PM
Arctic monkeys

Was coming on to say they are going well here but board doesn't seem to agree, and that's alright

They've been like this for a good few years now, it is getting towards 20 years since that first album, and they were only teenagers. He has gone very Richard Hawley on it

I get that they aren't teenagers anymore but this all seems very put on!
Post by: maldini on June 23, 2023, 11:21:15 PM
Thought it was Joey Barton
Post by: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 11:28:31 PM
Other great bands can pull out their old stuff and sing it properly. This crowd is dead, every song that sounds vaguely familiar then they get into it. A gig like this isn't rocket science, but this is crap. Plus he is singing at half speed in some sort of American accent
Post by: Saffrongael on June 23, 2023, 11:36:25 PM
https://twitter.com/philwilliams/status/1672371729312751616?s=46&t=p6a2iuyvhhHTNPUOLtbXgA

Liam Gallagher knew
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 23, 2023, 11:37:32 PM
I had tickets for Marlay Park on Tuesday, was disappointed when the cancelled but I am slightly underwhelmed by the Arctic Monkeys so far.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 23, 2023, 11:41:48 PM
Crowd seem a little bit muted or just the way it's coming across on TV?
Post by: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 11:43:33 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 23, 2023, 11:41:48 PM
Crowd seem a little bit muted or just the way it's coming across on TV?
Yes the crowd is dead because this is shite
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 23, 2023, 11:43:38 PM
Am gonna call them poor,
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 23, 2023, 11:47:40 PM
Im a simple being when it comes to this. I just want a few anthems a few songs ye can sing along to, theres fcuk all of that goin on. Was never a fan but hoped id be surprised.

Ben howard on at 12 today. Shameful.

Ah well. Onto G'N'R tomoro nite. Even if axel cant sing no more should still be good

Edit - Monkeys gettin slated on the twitter also
Post by: thewobbler on June 23, 2023, 11:48:39 PM
I must have sleepwalked through the noighties for I'm struggling to remember any Arctic Monkeys songs. I mean I've heard of the band, and they obviously were pop culture for a while . I just can't rhyme a banger tune from them out of my head.

And this isn't helping.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2023, 11:51:01 PM
Caught Texas earlier, that's my age group
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2023, 11:51:51 PM
Loved Texas.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 23, 2023, 11:56:05 PM
I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor in the encore now no doubt.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 24, 2023, 12:16:00 AM
I wouldn't  call myself  a huge fan of the Artic Monkeys but that was underwhelming IMHO
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 24, 2023, 12:44:49 AM
Quote from: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 10:27:25 PM

They're not my cup of tea, but they were the subject of a recent Netflix doc., apparently very influential.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparks_(band) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparks_(band))
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 24, 2023, 12:54:15 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 23, 2023, 11:48:39 PM
I must have sleepwalked through the noighties for I'm struggling to remember any Arctic Monkeys songs. I mean I've heard of the band, and they obviously were pop culture for a while . I just can't rhyme a banger tune from them out of my head.

And this isn't helping.

I had no idea they had more than that one song that was sort of good until you got tired of it halfway through.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 24, 2023, 08:09:02 AM
Re Sparks - https://youtu.be/UkoHDtth-3U

I think the cool kids have always liked them but in the last while their popularity is overblown.
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 09:05:57 AM
Quote from: smort on June 23, 2023, 11:07:25 PM
Arctic monkeys

From the very beginning Hawley has probably been the biggest influence on both the music and songwriting. Problem is Hawley is borderline perfect as a solo singer. It doesn't really work for a four piece guitar band and just comes across as a poor tribute.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 24, 2023, 10:20:50 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on June 24, 2023, 12:44:49 AM
Quote from: markl121 on June 23, 2023, 10:27:25 PM

They're not my cup of tea, but they were the subject of a recent Netflix doc., apparently very influential.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparks_(band) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparks_(band))
I was gonna make a smart arse comment about This Town Ain't Big Enough For Both If Us being my favourite song of theirs before discovering that it actually the same group from the 70s.
Post by: bridgegael on June 24, 2023, 08:11:41 PM
Rick Astley had a great day
Post by: Armamike on June 24, 2023, 08:49:40 PM
Manics showing how it should be done.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 24, 2023, 09:04:46 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on June 24, 2023, 08:11:41 PM
Rick Astley had a great day
Rick Astley with the blossoms covering the smiths was very good, crowd loved it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2023, 09:14:08 PM
The more I watch Lewis the more I will end up with ticks myself!!

Post by: Main Street on June 24, 2023, 09:53:13 PM
It's not Woodstock  :D
I find it a load of hyped up pop, right now 6 very plump nearly naked ladies romping around the main stage.
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 09:55:18 PM
Lizzo's set was class. Crowd eating out of the palm of her hand.

Axl doing a bit better here than I expected but showing signs of getting tired. Vocal a bit loose on Welcome to the Jungle. He looks absolutely dreadful though.
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 10:12:40 PM
They've fixed the mic anyway, Axl sounding a lot better now.
Post by: bennydorano on June 24, 2023, 10:13:49 PM
Cut the shit and play Paradise City
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2023, 10:19:18 PM
Slash can still play a bit!!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2023, 10:23:13 PM
GnR - brilliant imo.
Dodgy earlier but better now. Better vocally than i thought hed be lol. Slash some operator
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2023, 10:25:21 PM
Still needs subtitles
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2023, 10:34:38 PM
Us hardcores dont 😉
Ya know what ye mean. If he pranced about less youd make him out better
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 10:34:43 PM
Seen them fair lot of time, that's the way Axel been sining for a long time now, depending on the venue he can be worse. Man late 50's now, what u expect.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 10:35:55 PM
Wait to I see Motley Crue Tuesday week, to I see what poor singing is.
Post by: thewobbler on June 24, 2023, 11:08:09 PM
This is a dreadful set list from GNR.

Was expecting worse from Axl's voice.

Just play the fucken anthems lads
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2023, 11:10:30 PM
It's not his voice (well not all) - the people operating the faders can't manage the changes and are always late after a guitar solo. It's the same every year - Paul McCartney was a shit show last year.

Hopefully the bangers are on the way.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2023, 11:12:28 PM
That keep yis happy?!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 11:16:22 PM
The amazing thing is they haven't wrote a decent song since Izzy left. Hows that even possible, as some of Duff 's stuff was good.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 24, 2023, 11:27:01 PM
Fatboy slim serious set!
Post by: thewobbler on June 24, 2023, 11:29:40 PM
Getting there now.

Could be epic after all
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 11:36:19 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 11:16:22 PM
The amazing thing is they haven't wrote a decent song since Izxy left. Hows that even possible, as done of Duff 's stuff was good.

Sure Duff was gone the whole time as well.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 11:38:51 PM
He been back 5+yrs now.
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 11:48:36 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2023, 11:38:51 PM
He been back 5+yrs now.

And they haven't had an album in 15!
Post by: gallsman on June 24, 2023, 11:49:02 PM
And that album itself took 15 years to come out!
Post by: Blowitupref on June 24, 2023, 11:58:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2023, 11:10:30 PM
It's not his voice (well not all) - the people operating the faders can't manage the changes and are always late after a guitar solo. It's the same every year - Paul McCartney was a shit show last year.

Hopefully the bangers are on the way.

Thought it was decent when you consider he's in his 80s now.
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2023, 12:04:11 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 24, 2023, 11:27:01 PM
Fatboy slim serious set!

Turned over as soon as paradise city was finished and he's playing an absolute stormer.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 25, 2023, 12:14:43 AM
Did I see a Roscommon flag in the crowd?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 12:20:38 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 25, 2023, 12:04:11 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 24, 2023, 11:27:01 PM
Fatboy slim serious set!

Turned over as soon as paradise city was finished and he's playing an absolute stormer.

Strong ending hope to get it all on iplayer. Great nite for the oldies all in all 😃
Post by: ONeill on June 25, 2023, 12:25:23 AM
Cutting off Del Rey was a rough move.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 12:37:37 AM
Jaysus some blades on now way the baps out
Post by: Main Street on June 25, 2023, 12:54:30 AM
Away from the main stage schmaltz, Christine and the Queens,  what a performance yet again at Glastonbury, one for the ages.
Post by: thedice on June 25, 2023, 10:43:04 AM
Have been a bit underwhelmed this year, it would put me off looking about tickets (much as its a lottery to get them) when you don't know the line up!

That being said looking forward to Cat Stevens today!

Also all those F!@#KING FLAGS... sick looking at them + people trying to be funny with them as well. "I'M HERE" etc etc ....seems to get worse every year. I'm surprised the BBC don't have more of a sway as it nearly ruins the broadcast experience
Post by: ziggy90 on June 25, 2023, 10:51:43 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2023, 10:26:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 23, 2023, 10:17:25 PM
Saw Doctors?

And The Mary Walloppers.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 25, 2023, 08:45:06 PM
Never heard of 'em before but the Teskey Brothers (from Australia) are class.
Looking forward to Elton soon.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 25, 2023, 09:19:51 PM
Thought I was looking at the Armagh highlights. Turns out it was just Elton John! Some crowd.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2023, 09:24:33 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 25, 2023, 09:19:51 PM
Thought I was looking at the Armagh highlights. Turns out it was just Elton John! Some crowd.
Pity the other acts as it looks like everyone is there. Hard to make out a lot of what he's singing!
Post by: Louther on June 25, 2023, 09:39:50 PM
This is some set by Reg.

Some belters.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 25, 2023, 09:41:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2023, 09:24:33 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 25, 2023, 09:19:51 PM
Pity the other acts as it looks like everyone is there. Hard to make out a lot of what he's singing!

It was never easy at the best of times to understand him.
A doddery old queen he may be but what a performer.

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 09:46:49 PM
Some tunes in fairness and he only gettin started
Post by: From the Bunker on June 25, 2023, 09:58:22 PM
Debbie Harry (77) Cat Stevens (74) Chrissie Hynde (71) Elton John (76) Candi Staton (83) all performing at Glastonbury this weekend.
Are there no young people in the Rock n Roll business anymore?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 10:04:07 PM
Seen that Bunker. Huge respect to them but aye, know what yer sayin
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2023, 10:16:39 PM
Brandon Flowers looks like he could save my soul for a contribution to his church.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 25, 2023, 10:29:54 PM
This is some show.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2023, 10:32:35 PM
He has some back catalogue to call on.
Post by: thewobbler on June 25, 2023, 10:33:49 PM
Brilliant Elton.

Completely in touch with what people want.

Glastonbury is bucked when the legends of the 60s-80s all end up in the music hall in the sky.

But for now, wow
Post by: square_ball on June 25, 2023, 10:53:20 PM
That 2 hours has flown in. Deadly stuff.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2023, 10:54:46 PM
Ones on making excuses for Rose last night saying he's 61 one don't expect his voice to be great! This lad is 77
Post by: JimStynes on June 25, 2023, 10:58:06 PM
Great show man and performer and doesn't need to jump around the stage
Post by: FermGael on June 25, 2023, 11:10:44 PM
Lucky enough to see Elton a decade ago
He's still got it and he keeps it simple
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 25, 2023, 11:21:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 25, 2023, 09:58:22 PM
Debbie Harry (77) Cat Stevens (74) Chrissie Hynde (71) Elton John (76) Candi Staton (83) all performing at Glastonbury this weekend.
Are there no young people in the Rock n Roll business anymore?

"rock is dead." Gene Simmons of Kiss claimed a few years ago

Rock is dead because if we play the game from 1958 until 1988, which is 30 years, you had Elvis, The Beatles, The Stones, Pink Floyd, and on and on and on,". "And you can go to the heavy part of it, which is Metallica, Maiden, if you want to put KISS in there, that's fine. AC/DC, on and on and on. Even U2, Prince, Bowie, Eagles. And then you get to disco stuff, and Madonna, and that stuff, and Motown, of course. And then from 1988 until today, who's the new Beatles?"

"I've heard a reaction of Foo Fighters, one of my favorite bands, but you're kidding yourself. There's also the boy bands: NSYNC, One Direction, BTS, and good for them that they've got success. Don't kid yourself. As soon as those girls are gonna grow a little bit older, that's going to go away. It's like sugar: you taste it, it gives you that little energy boost, and then it's gone forever and you don't care. But don't kid yourself, it ain't The Beatles. They don't write songs, they don't play instruments, it ain't that. And we all love Elvis, never wrote a song in his life. There's just nothing that compares to The Beatles."

"The reason for that is not because there's a lack of talent, but because young folks, that kid living in his mom's basement, decided one day that he didn't want to pay for music. He wanted to download and file share. And that's what killed the chances for the next generation of great bands. The fact that the music was for free. So nowadays new bands don't have a chance."

"It's like flowers — people water them and make sure there's enough sun and all that stuff. And as soon as you take your eyes off and you don't water the flowers, they will die. And people wonder why there aren't beautiful flowers. Well, because you don't water them

"'Rock is dead' — you bet your ass it is — not because the talent isn't there, but because the business model just doesn't work,"  "And so that leaves live performances. that people go out to the local clubs and see all the new bands and support new bands. Like a baby that's on the floor, go up there, pick that baby up and coddle it, give it love, because those new bands need your love."

"It's not going to affect me. I make a living, but the new bands need the love and attention. Don't just go see Metallica and Taylor [Swift] or KISS. On the weekends, go to a place that's got live music. And I don't mean guys that press a button and do EDM. That's fine, too. But that guy, if you put an instrument in his hands, wouldn't have a clue what to do with it — never wrote a song, wouldn't know what an A minor, A major or a seventh is. You need to support the new generation of talented people who are musicians and writers and so on. Don't let the robots take away everything."

Good 2hr set from Elton John tonight.
Post by: AustinPowers on June 25, 2023, 11:33:36 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 25, 2023, 10:33:49 PM
Brilliant Elton.

Glastonbury is bucked when the legends of the 60s-80s all end up in the music hall in the sky.

But for now, wow

Did he  play "I'm Dill Danding"?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 11:39:03 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on June 25, 2023, 11:33:36 PM
Brilliant Elton.

But for now, wow

Yes 😃😉
Showed that clip to wifey earlier. Thankfully he was better tonight
Post by: Rudi on June 26, 2023, 09:13:12 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 11:39:03 PM
Brilliant Elton.

But for now, wow

Yes 😃😉

Ah jaysus would ya stop. Are ya an Irish man >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2023, 09:33:08 AM
From stepping off the stage last night, Elton landed in his garden in Windsor 39 minutes later!! I took longer to queue up for the showers at the place than it did for him to get home!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2023, 10:10:55 AM
Quote from: Rudi on June 26, 2023, 09:13:12 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2023, 11:39:03 PM
Brilliant Elton.

But for now, wow

Yes 😃😉

Ah jaysus would ya stop. Are ya an Irish man >:(

Dont be rude, Rudi
What would you rather i called her
Post by: LeoMc on June 26, 2023, 11:46:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2023, 09:33:08 AM
From stepping off the stage last night, Elton landed in his garden in Windsor 39 minutes later!! I took longer to queue up for the showers at the place than it did for him to get home!

He didn't take the train then!
https://twitter.com/chrispwebb/status/1672339288673996803?s=46&t=DMV_b69FttsNJUeqtS-Zyg
Post by: mrdeeds on June 26, 2023, 06:54:49 PM
I thought Axl sounded good. Voice went near end but put that down to all the running he did.
Post by: johnnycool on June 27, 2023, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 26, 2023, 06:54:49 PM
I thought Axl sounded good. Voice went near end but put that down to all the running he did.

He has nowhere near the same power in his voice as he did in the early 90's but that is to be expected due to his age and the strain he put on his vocal chords
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 27, 2023, 07:07:24 PM
Put it to you like this, I heard him worse, so I can what was on offer.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 28, 2023, 10:40:40 PM
A bit more lively and a lot more crowd interaction with the Killers this weekend than was with Arctic monkeys at Glastonbury

https://youtu.be/4hbZbdXIf7c?si=XfFteCVA6LxVaNFp