All Ireland Final Armagh v Galway 28 July 2024

Started by Dougal Maguire, July 14, 2024, 05:37:51 PM

Quote from: Mario on July 29, 2024, 07:21:30 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 29, 2024, 02:56:39 AMThiugh Hurson was poor, did Walsh not kick Barry at one stage?
As a neutral I thought he was very good. Not too many contentious decisions. One that went Armaghs way at a key time was when Jarly og was bundled over the end line and he gave a free out, I thought it was a Galway 45 myself.

Definitely feels like there has been a bit of a shift in Gaelic football towards the defensive side. The old cliche of needing 20 points to win the big games in Croke park is no longer true. 16 or 17 would nearly do it. The best sides this year in Armagh, Galway and Donegal do not give up goal chances due to how well they are structured in defence.

I agree. I thought Hurson did well.

It definately was a 45. Never a free out. Armagh were lucky with that at a crucial time but in saying that, there's a decent chance Galway wouldn't have score it anyway. Especially the way they were shooting was off at that stage of the game.

Quote from: onefineday on July 29, 2024, 07:39:20 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 28, 2024, 07:47:28 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 28, 2024, 05:56:53 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 28, 2024, 05:52:49 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 28, 2024, 05:51:13 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 28, 2024, 05:25:57 PMUlster football looking good! Clean up!

All Ireland County:
Senior: Armagh
U20 - Tyrone
U17 - Derry

All Ireland Club:
Senior - Glen (Derry)
Intermediate - Cullyhanna (Armagh) Junior - Arva (Cavan)...

Colleges:
Hogan Cup - Omagh CBS (Tyrone) Sigerson Cup - UUJ.

League:
Div 1 - Derry
Div 2 - Donegal

Tailteann Cup - Down.

Kimacud 7s: Dungannon Clarkes.

Ethan Rafferty  won the All Ireland Road Bowls  title as well

Ulster Poc Fada winner be the icing...

And the Scor novelty  act  will be the cherry on top

Dungannon won the Kilmacud 7s yesterday!

Ulster football is dominant.

I was listening to radio commentary on Cork v Donegal in the group stages and Tomas O'Se gave it the auld "ulster football looks good when they're playing each other, but you have wonder about the strength of it really...."

In reality, it's only one decent year for Ulster.

Bit silly, I think, getting high and mighty on one year over....140ish.

Maybe if we win 8 of out 10 All-Ireland, we can brag  a bit.

Cahir O'Kane's report in the Irish News today is a thing of beauty

Quote from: marty34 on July 29, 2024, 08:06:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 29, 2024, 02:56:39 AMThiugh Hurson was poor, did Walsh not kick Barry at one stage?
As a neutral I thought he was very good. Not too many contentious decisions. One that went Armaghs way at a key time was when Jarly og was bundled over the end line and he gave a free out, I thought it was a Galway 45 myself.

Definitely feels like there has been a bit of a shift in Gaelic football towards the defensive side. The old cliche of needing 20 points to win the big games in Croke park is no longer true. 16 or 17 would nearly do it. The best sides this year in Armagh, Galway and Donegal do not give up goal chances due to how well they are structured in defence.

It definately was a 45. Never a free out. Armagh were lucky with that at a crucial time but in saying that, there's a decent chance Galway wouldn't have score it anyway. Especially the way they were shooting was off at that stage of the game.

100% a free

Quote from: snoopdog on July 29, 2024, 07:53:01 AMAny cynicism in the Finnerty challenge.?
The Sunday game didn't show it last night.
From the only time I saw it , looked like the Armagh man went very low towards the knee on the tackle?

No I don't think so. Two players bending to lift a loose ball and Finerty got there marginally quicker. Certainly a  foul, but nothing more

Quote from: Mad Mentor on July 29, 2024, 07:44:27 AMAs a hurling man it wasn't the worst football match I've seen. One of the Galway attacks where they quickly moved the ball the full length of the field with some tight passing at speed and scored a point showed what the game of football could be. The slow build-up allowing the blanket defence to get in place seems to be what kills the excitement. All rule changes should be aimed towards stopping this happening.
Well done to Armagh.

It certainly was never going to be a scoring shoot out but nonetheless an interesting contest which Armagh shaded both on the field and the scoreboard.

I can now see why counties are looking at outfield players to do goals, as there are very few goal scoring opportunities at the highest level.
Defences are on top.

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 29, 2024, 08:27:16 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 29, 2024, 07:53:01 AMAny cynicism in the Finnerty challenge.?
The Sunday game didn't show it last night.
From the only time I saw it , looked like the Armagh man went very low towards the knee on the tackle?

No I don't think so. Two players bending to lift a loose ball and Finerty got there marginally quicker. Certainly a  foul, but nothing more

I think he had actually hurt the knee kicking the previous free. The Galway doctor apparently had said this.

Must have been carrying it into the game, massive loss to Galway.

Armagh deserving winners.

statto

Quote from: tyrone08 on July 28, 2024, 05:38:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 28, 2024, 05:34:14 PMGeezer will be getting a big letter of apology in the morning from all his begrudgers

Wouldnt exactly be saying that. Hes been there for 10 years and relegated multiple times. Could easily have lost today but luckily galways shooting was horrendous

[/quote  ::)

statto

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 28, 2024, 06:05:39 PMDublin 7/8yrs ago would had both teams well beat by the 50min Mark. So the standard of fball has dropped well off.
or you are dealing with a once in a lifetime team. 

statto

Quote from: tiempo on July 28, 2024, 06:53:12 PMThere's no romance in Galway
At least Mayo had the good grace to die with their boots on

Fair to say neither of them teams will make the semi final next year
Galway with Kelly Walsh comer finnerty fully fit will be hard beat the hurt of yesterday should drive them on as well.

statto

Quote from: David McKeown on July 28, 2024, 11:53:34 PMJust another two quick things.

1. Hurson had a very good game, a big improvement on his earlier performances.

2. The Galway fans are a great bunch, none of the ones near us left until after the presentation and I didn't see a single fan who didn't take the result with great dignity, not sure I could have been so magnanimous.
I'd second that couple lads from Galway behind me sound lads.

statto

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2024, 12:25:11 AMThe old psni to get a touch in the morning from the usual suspects, the bitter pricks.
Carla Lockhart at her work already absolute bigot.

Quote from: tonto1888 on July 29, 2024, 08:23:08 AM
Quote from: marty34 on July 29, 2024, 08:06:40 AM

100% a free 
Thought he overcarried myself but do not give one f**k

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2024, 12:25:11 AMThe old psni to get a touch in the morning from the usual suspects, the bitter pricks.
Fair play to them, do more for community relations in South Armagh than any politician .

Quote from: tyrone08 on July 28, 2024, 05:38:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 28, 2024, 05:34:14 PMGeezer will be getting a big letter of apology in the morning from all his begrudgers

Wouldnt exactly be saying that. Hes been there for 10 years and relegated multiple times. Could easily have lost today but luckily galways shooting was horrendous

Yeah hes useless...