All Ireland Final Armagh v Galway 28 July 2024

Started by Dougal Maguire, July 14, 2024, 05:37:51 PM

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 01, 2024, 11:09:19 AM
Quote from: galwayman on August 01, 2024, 10:54:32 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 01, 2024, 09:30:31 AM
Quote from: galwayman on August 01, 2024, 09:25:38 AMCould not face the online world before now since the final whistle on Sunday.
Absolutely gutted.
Congrats to all the Armagh posters on here. Enjoy the celebrations lads.
Thanks Galwayman. As has been said- someone has to end up disappointed, commiserations to yourselves though. Have to say every Galway fan I met in Dublin was as gracious in defeat as yourself.

Wish yous all the best for next year and I'm sure there will be more battles between us to come.
I've no doubt there will. The 4 games in the last 3 seasons have been serious stuff!
Saw a video online of McGeeney letting the hair down to Sweet Child O'Mine at some homecoming event. Even as a disappointed Galwayman I love to see stuff like that. It shows what it means to people.
Unbelievable to see it. Never met a more dedicated man and just delighted for him and the lads. The way the players look at and speak about him is something special. Man deserves a statue in Armagh.

Joyce probably has similar status in Galway given what he did as a player and although he hasn't got over the line yet he's brought Galway from a low enough starting point to being for sure in the Sam Maguire conversation and wouldn't have begrudged him and Galway if yous had got over the line on Sunday.
100%. On the other side of it we have gobshites from other counties putting up videos on social media of Pj and some of the players letting their hair down on the Monday night - criticizing them for it (i.e. what are they at - they lost the match type thing). Braindead stuff

AustinPowers

Quote from: galwayman on August 01, 2024, 09:25:38 AMCould not face the online world before now since the final whistle on Sunday.
Absolutely gutted.
Thanks Galwayman. As has been said- someone has to end up disappointed, commiserations to yourselves though. Have to say every Galway fan I met in Dublin was as gracious in defeat as yourself.

Wish yous all the best for next year and I'm sure there will be more battles between us to come.
I've no doubt there will. The 4 games in the last 3 seasons have been serious stuff!
Saw a video online of McGeeney letting the hair down to Sweet Child O'Mine at some homecoming event. Even as a disappointed Galwayman I love to see stuff like that. It shows what it means to people.

Did he play the  air guitar?  He would go  up in my estimation if he did  ;D

Quote from: galwayman on August 01, 2024, 11:28:45 AM
Absolutely gutted.

Unbelievable to see it. Never met a more dedicated man and just delighted for him and the lads. The way the players look at and speak about him is something special. Man deserves a statue in Armagh.

Joyce probably has similar status in Galway given what he did as a player and although he hasn't got over the line yet he's brought Galway from a low enough starting point to being for sure in the Sam Maguire conversation and wouldn't have begrudged him and Galway if yous had got over the line on Sunday.
100%. On the other side of it we have gobshites from other counties putting up videos on social media of Pj and some of the players letting their hair down on the Monday night - criticizing them for it (i.e. what are they at - they lost the match type thing). Braindead stuff
Aye sure you'd expect them to get straight back to training night ffs. They put enough in let them blow off some steam.

Quote from: AustinPowers on August 01, 2024, 11:29:31 AM
Absolutely gutted.

Did he play the  air guitar?  He would go  up in my estimation if he did  ;D

yup. It is a great video

Absolutely gutted.

I got that video, think it was locals roaring at Shane Walsh and others in Eyre Square.

Quote from: APM on August 01, 2024, 09:10:14 AMWith some pundits there is no honeymoon period at all.

If you want an example just listen to the begrudgery and backhanded compliments from Dick Clerkin on the Independent Throw-in podcast.

Turned it off after the first 5 mins.  Only tuned into it to for morbid curiosity to see how Dick was getting on since Sunday.  If you're going to be a so called expert at least try to show a smidgen of impartiality the odd time.

Quote from: Tubberman on August 01, 2024, 01:28:08 PM
Absolutely gutted.

I got that video, think it was locals roaring at Shane Walsh and others in Eyre Square.
And footage of Pj "dj-ing" presumably on Sunday night. Certain individuals were also posting it on X.
Just leave them alone like ffs.

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 01, 2024, 09:12:04 AMAnd btw there is not a team in the country Armagh will fear, but I'm sure the big teams won't fear us either. We were more than deserving winners but if a few small margins went the other way Kerry or Galway could have beaten us, same as Galway Dublin. Been saying it now for a long time, very little between the top teams and comes down sometimes to a bit of luck and who turns up on the day. (But sure was told Armagh are clean useless because they kept losing penalties)
This is the nail on the head.  I have to say after the provincials last year I thought no Ulster team were in with a shout of winning Sam.  Then both Derry and Monaghan gave Kerry and Dublin a hell of a fright in the semis and I thought that Armagh were in with a big chance along with these teams.  We were lucky in win it this year as we were in 02 but I don't make any apologies for that as the 02 team were unlucky to lose out for quite a few years before and after and this team have not exactly been blessed with luck for the last few years either.

Finally I'd like to add to the Armagh posters' gratitude to the Galway supporters' best wishes at the final whistle.  The Galway supporters around me were great sports and I genuinely hope that if we don't retain it that Galway see the promised land.

Haven't read the whole thread but agree with the last post especially. Often you put yourself in a position where you might win and hard work and luck does the rest.
I shocked a lot of people in Irish bar in Toronto wearing my Tyrone shirt with an Armagh headband on for my good friend Gary in Dublin and Matt in Toronto who treated us very well post match in the WheatSheaf Tavern.

Maybe it's cos we did win recently or that rivalry and hatred is long gone now but I had great craic with Armagh fans and most Galway ones took it well too.

Congrats Armagh and we're so jealous of how ye boys got to celebrate. We didn't have that in 2021.
Our fans have gone to F##K

Armagh hadn't won a semi final previously and came out of Division 2. Maybe relegation last year was a blessing in disguise. 

Quote from: seafoid on August 02, 2024, 12:26:48 PMArmagh hadn't won a semi final previously and came out of Division 2. Maybe relegation last year was a blessing in disguise. 

In hindsight can look back and argue a few things aligned for us.  Losing the Ulster final on penalties was absolutely gutting for the team and supporters at the time.  But if we had won it, would the drive and hunger have been there to push on and salvage the season the only way we could, by winning the big one? The appetite may not have been the same.  Remember thinking the day after the Ulster final, could the team turn it around by using it as a motivator.  Never dreamt it would work out the way it did.

Quote from: seafoid on August 02, 2024, 12:26:48 PMArmagh hadn't won a semi final previously and came out of Division 2. Maybe relegation last year was a blessing in disguise. 

Div 2 gives you an opportunity to tweak your system and try out subs etc without too much pressure.
Certainly Armagh paced their season better than Derry.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Mario

There is definitely something to be said for going into Division 2 if you are a top 8 team. You aren't giving the top teams the opportunity to drill into your game plan, the games are easier so you can give lads game time and build the squad without fear of losing. Good for building momentum going into championship as well.

2022 had two semi finalists from D2 in Galway and Derry
2023 Derry and Dublin
2024 Armagh and Donegal

I'll be shocked if the same thing happens next year though as I think the best 8 teams in the country are in D1 for the first time in a while.