All Ireland Final Armagh v Galway 28 July 2024

Started by Dougal Maguire, July 14, 2024, 05:37:51 PM

Armagh fully deserved to win that game, the neighbors fought the good fight over the crucial last 15 minutes.

I guess that means Geezer is a 'made' manager, one for life.

No way Campbell passed that, the low angle camera shows he never lifted his head once to see the run of McKay. Fair play to McKay for keeping his run going though.

Dublin 7/8yrs ago would had both teams well beat by the 50min Mark. So the standard of fball has dropped well off.

On watching it back maybe he didn't mean it ;D

Weasel you're a bit sore about this...

Wonder who motm.

For neutrals watching the game it was pure piss. That said the tightness of the game made it tense..

An Ulster team winning and Gezzer ramming down doubters throats is good.

No one in time remembers how the game is won, only that you won it.

Off licences in Lurgan will run out of buckfast tonight

And the biggest cheer in the club was the cash out at £17grand!!

Would the keeper or anyone have taken the long range frees from Walsh? He clearly wasn't on it.

Armagh deserved it I'd say as a neutral.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 28, 2024, 06:05:39 PMDublin 7/8yrs ago would had both teams well beat by the 50min Mark. So the standard of fball has dropped well off.

Yeah, but that Dublin team were of an incredible standard. You don't win 6 in a row otherwise.
There will be peaks and dips over the years. Some counties are lucky to nip in during a dip and steal an AI. Kerry were always amazingly talented at doing this.

I do think there's a slight, tiny chance he passed it because it was a crazy angle to go for the point from in the first place. Soupy has generally been excellent this year but rushes of blood to the head and terrible decision making would be things he's well familiar with  ;D

If he did mean it, it's one of the best and most important handpasses ever seen because it was absolutely blind and pinpoint accurate.

Some amount of spite from Mayo and Tyrone posters! (not all)

A defining moment of the championship this year was immediately after the Dublin-Mayo Armagh-Galway group games. Mayo and Galway both missed out on topping their groups in almost identical circumstances with last second points be the oppposition. Galway wipe themselves down and get on with it. Mayo management, player and fans all despondent say it's impossible to progress playing 3 games in 3 weeks!  Then after a super performance v Dublin they play horrendously v Derry, and still nearly won. I've no doubt they would have beaten Derry and Kerry with a proper attitude and who knows what happens after that.

And some Tyrone posters have embarrassed themselves. Long may those lads dwell in Armagh's glory!

The best two teams this year in the final and it was an enthralling affair. Loved the game. Hard luck Galway, my learning would be you're not actually reliant on Walsh and Comer as I thought you were. If they are not 100% fit, then the next lad in is good enough to be the better option. You do have strength in depth.

But almighty congrats to Armagh. Some absolute wonder scores kicked today. Jarlaith deserved this. Geezer deserved this. Enjoy!!

I enjoyed that game too hound. Hugely tactical. Armagh's defensive setup was superb. Galway's decent too but not quite as good.

I still maybe think soupy maybe passed it. He couldn't score from there... Wonder will he admit it.

grounded

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 28, 2024, 06:07:55 PMOn watching it back maybe he didn't mean it ;D

Weasel you're a bit sore about this...

Wonder who motm.

Defences well on top. Mc Kay got a goal as well so in with a strong shout.
    For me Ben Crealey was outstanding as well. Scored a few very important points in a game of tight margins. Also a few crucial interceptions.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 28, 2024, 06:05:39 PMDublin 7/8yrs ago would had both teams well beat by the 50min Mark. So the standard of fball has dropped well off.

A bit of myth about Dublin. They were far from great in some of those All Ireland finals they won. In the drawn All Ireland final match 2016 they performed poorly and very thankful Mayo scored two goals for them.

I think he went for a pass. The technique of the punch...

Sportacus

Congratulations Armagh, they deserved it on the day.  Fine margins, as Jimmy Smyth said, two balls off the post decided it.  Winner takes all.  Devastating for Galway and I think they'll regret it a lot - could they not have thrown a couple of balls into the mixer?
A great day for Armagh who've had their fair share of sickeners.
I think it was a pass.

Congrats to Armagh. Genuinely happy to see Sam just south of the Blackwater. Will make the clashes next year livelier.