GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Nally Stand on October 30, 2012, 10:40:31 PM

Title: Ricey Retires
Post by: Nally Stand on October 30, 2012, 10:40:31 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/19917 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/19917)

Teamtalkmag.com has tonight learned that Dromore man Ryan Mc Menamin has indicated to Mickey Harte that he will not be making himself available for the 2013 season.  Mc Menamin won an Ulster Championship medal with Tyrone in 2001 and went on to win another four titles in '03, '07, '09 and 2010.  He was also on the field of play for the three All Ireland Senior Championships in '03, '05 and '08.  While many would have known that this day wasn't far away his decision to retire leaves Tyrone with a huge gap to fill in terms of experience and know how.  A fearless leader for the Red Hands for well over a decade and one of the men that never took a step back when Tyrone needed to go to war to win games. We wish him well in his retirement from county football and thank him for his contribution to the most successful era Tyrone football has ever enjoyed.
Title: Re: Ricey Retires
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2012, 10:52:43 PM
I'm sure there'll be some nice comments on here regarding Ricey.

He was some operator during the golden years.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 30, 2012, 10:53:06 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 30, 2012, 10:40:31 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/19917 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/19917)

Teamtalkmag.com has tonight learned that Dromore man Ryan Mc Menamin has indicated to Mickey Harte that he will not be making himself available for the 2013 season.  Mc Menamin won an Ulster Championship medal with Tyrone in 2001 and went on to win another four titles in '03, '07, '09 and 2010.  He was also on the field of play for the three All Ireland Senior Championships in '03, '05 and '08.  While many would have known that this day wasn't far away his decision to retire leaves Tyrone with a huge gap to fill in terms of experience and know how. A fearless leader for the Red Hands for well over a decade and one of the men that never took a step back when Tyrone needed to go to war to win games. We wish him well in his retirement from county football and thank him for his contribution to the most successful era Tyrone football has ever enjoyed.

Good footballer. The bit in bold is laughable
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 30, 2012, 11:03:04 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on October 30, 2012, 10:53:06 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 30, 2012, 10:40:31 PM

Teamtalkmag.com has tonight learned that Dromore man Ryan Mc Menamin has indicated to Mickey Harte that he will not be making himself available for the 2013 season.  Mc Menamin won an Ulster Championship medal with Tyrone in 2001 and went on to win another four titles in '03, '07, '09 and 2010.  He was also on the field of play for the three All Ireland Senior Championships in '03, '05 and '08.  While many would have known that this day wasn't far away his decision to retire leaves Tyrone with a huge gap to fill in terms of experience and know how. A fearless leader for the Red Hands for well over a decade and one of the men that never took a step back when Tyrone needed to go to war to win games. We wish him well in his retirement from county football and thank him for his contribution to the most successful era Tyrone football has ever enjoyed.

Good footballer. The bit in bold is laughable

The bit in bold is spot on. He gave his all for Tyrone and has 3 All Irelands to show for it. He would have got his place on any team in Ireland.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 30, 2012, 11:21:02 PM
gypsy - wont be missed
Post by: yellowcard on October 30, 2012, 11:33:16 PM
One of the nastiest snidiest and false players to grace the game in the last decade. There is no doubt he maximised his ability. For a player who wasn't that naturally gifted he made up for it with tenacity, will to win and relentless running. Let himself down on too many occasions to ever be liked outside of Tyrone. One of those characters who never liked to be liked.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on October 30, 2012, 11:39:16 PM
legend
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2012, 11:53:23 PM
Did he ever score a goal for the county? Was trying to remember. He probably did but don't recall it.

His point v Armagh in the semi-final in '05 is my most vivid recollection outside of Galvin's balls.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on October 30, 2012, 11:54:11 PM
The best of luck to him - one of the key players in Tyrone's golden years. He was a villian at times but who wouldn't want a player with his indomitable attitude in their team ?
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 31, 2012, 12:52:51 AM
Did he never play underage for Tyrone or is that a myth?? Class act but as a Derryman I obviously hate him :)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 31, 2012, 01:00:10 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 31, 2012, 12:52:51 AM
Did he never play underage for Tyrone or is that a myth?? Class act but as a Derryman I obviously hate him :)

Think that's right. Never featured at underage.

He's actually Canadian as well!
Post by: theticklemister on October 31, 2012, 07:34:07 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on October 31, 2012, 01:00:10 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 31, 2012, 12:52:51 AM

Think that's right. Never featured at underage.

He's actually Canadian as well!

I was calling him a tyrone p***k for years, so it should really be he is a Canadian p***k!
Post by: here comes 6 on October 31, 2012, 07:36:23 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 30, 2012, 11:21:02 PM
gypsy - wont be missed
Thats a disgrace what you have wrote
Post by: cadence on October 31, 2012, 08:32:46 AM
class act.
Post by: Club Rossa on October 31, 2012, 08:33:44 AM
He wouldn't have many friends outside of Dromore and while playing against Ardboe in club games i've called him every name under the sun but he's just the kind of player I would have loved on my own team.
Post by: Tubberman on October 31, 2012, 08:48:41 AM
Quote from: cadence on October 31, 2012, 08:32:46 AM
class act.

He had some 'qualities', but not an ounce of class in the man.
Post by: BennyHarp on October 31, 2012, 09:07:12 AM
Thanks for all the hard work, effort, drive and will to win over the years Ricey. Although undoubtedly a master of the dark arts, this shouldn't overshadow the fact that he was actually a superb footballer who would have been a great addition to any team of any generation. He successfully created a persona that had alot of inter county players intimated before they even took the field to mark him - more fool them! Enjoy your retirement - another one that will be very hard to replace.
Post by: EC Unique on October 31, 2012, 09:15:15 AM
He should go into Pantos now. Could do well.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 31, 2012, 10:02:48 AM
Des Cahill described him this morning as one of the great "characters" of the game....

That's one of your greatest euphemisms Des!!
Post by: orangeman on October 31, 2012, 10:19:33 AM
Whilst he will not have endeared himself to many outside of Tyrone, he was always one man you'd have wanted on your team.

He won most battles he fought in, had a huge rate of success and was a very important part of all conquering Tyrone team.
Post by: supersarsfields on October 31, 2012, 11:26:43 AM
They were all photoshopped. Sure look at the angles....
Post by: Armamike on October 31, 2012, 11:59:42 AM
He epitomised Tyrone (read into that what you like).
Post by: stibhan on October 31, 2012, 12:36:44 PM
Many teams have players like this - I mean, you've all been at club matches - but few have been given the attention that McMenamin has because he was in the spotlight for so long. To say he had limited ability is just a lie though, because that would mean that all the great players he marked over the years (and destroyed) were supposedly mentally weak.

He still shouldn't have sank his knees into John McEntee, though.
Post by: trileacman on October 31, 2012, 12:46:30 PM
Regardless of what you say he provided some good entertainment during his career. Crossed the line on several occasions but with the exception of the McEntee incident I don't think their was too many that there beyond the pale.
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 31, 2012, 01:01:38 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on October 30, 2012, 11:33:16 PM
One of the nastiest snidiest and false players to grace the game in the last decade. There is no doubt he maximised his ability. For a player who wasn't that naturally gifted he made up for it with tenacity, will to win and relentless running. Let himself down on too many occasions to ever be liked outside of Tyrone. One of those characters who never liked to be liked.

Think its harsh to imply that he wasnt gifted as a footballer and that he got by on other qualities.  His use of the ball was top top class.  Very rarely was Ricey ever caught in possession or gave a ball away or a stray pass.   He also has probably been one of the best club players for Dromore in Tyrone this past 5-6 years.  His kick passing and vision is actually one of his stronger points of his game, not to mention his ball control and ball carrying abilities.
In the golden era, he fitness and driving runs from cornr back where a sight to behold, probably the best corner back in the country for a few years at his peak.

Can understand why people outside the county would have distain for him but he was an essential cog in the Tyrone team down through the years.  Its true he obivously loved being the bad guy which put him in the spotlight more than others. 

Top Top player.   
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 31, 2012, 01:11:15 PM
Quote from: trileacman on October 31, 2012, 12:46:30 PM
Regardless of what you say he provided some good entertainment during his career. Crossed the line on several occasions but with the exception of the McEntee incident I don't think their was too many that there beyond the pale.
Spitting at Marc O'Se and grabbing Galvin by the balls weren't beyond the pale? Youse set a low bar in Tyrone.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 31, 2012, 01:18:15 PM
Lovely fella

(http://i3.ytimg.com/vi/jcxdaQ4-XR4/1.jpg)
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 31, 2012, 01:23:45 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on October 30, 2012, 11:33:16 PM

Think its harsh to imply that he wasnt gifted as a footballer and that he got by on other qualities.  His use of the ball was top top class.  Very rarely was Ricey ever caught in possession or gave a ball away or a stray pass.   He also has probably been one of the best club players for Dromore in Tyrone this past 5-6 years.  His kick passing and vision is actually one of his stronger points of his game, not to mention his ball control and ball carrying abilities.
In the golden era, he fitness and driving runs from cornr back where a sight to behold, probably the best corner back in the country for a few years at his peak.

Can understand why people outside the county would have distain for him but he was an essential cog in the Tyrone team down through the years.  Its true he obivously loved being the bad guy which put him in the spotlight more than others. 

Top Top player.   
Post by: Orior on October 31, 2012, 01:24:55 PM
Despite all the above, Ryan is one of a very few Tyrone players that I have a respect for.

I believe he has had to fight harder than most to get to the pinnacle, and he managed to stay there for a good few years. Hope he enjoys his intercounty retirement.

Btw, is he related in any way to Wee Oscar?
Post by: Redhand Santa on October 31, 2012, 02:16:17 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 31, 2012, 02:08:13 PM
He establishment in the Tyrone side could have been stymied if Decy McCrossan had remained at home to do his PGCE and had stayed with the Tyrone squad.  He was superior in so many ways to McMenamin and played the same part for Tyrone.

A ridiculous post. McMenamin would have been a key player for Tyrone no matter what. McCrossan was there in 03 and didn't make the team after the Ulster final. He was a very good player but not as good all round as McMenamin.

I don't believe McMenamin purposely spat at Marc O'Se despite what an earlier poster said. The McEntee incident was the one where he did cross line.
Post by: supersarsfields on October 31, 2012, 02:19:09 PM
He establishment in the Tyrone side could have been stymied if Decy McCrossan had remained at home to do his PGCE and had stayed with the Tyrone squad.  He was superior in so many ways to McMenamin and played the same part for Tyrone.

Both could have been accommodated. Declan McCrossan was a strong half back (I don't believe he was as good as Ricey tbh) but Ricey played his best football from the corner back position. Usually marking one of the opposition's key men. 
Post by: rodney trotter on October 31, 2012, 02:21:04 PM
Would Connor Gormley be following McMenamin and call it a day at inter county? Although he was probaly one of Tyrone's better players when they were hammered by Kerry.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 31, 2012, 02:46:34 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 31, 2012, 02:21:04 PM
Would Connor Gormley be following McMenamin and call it a day at inter county? Although he was probaly one of Tyrone's better players when they were hammered by Kerry.

No. Already committed to another year.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 31, 2012, 02:55:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 30, 2012, 11:53:23 PM
Did he ever score a goal for the county? Was trying to remember. He probably did but don't recall it.

2004 McKenna Cup vs Londonderry
Post by: ziggysego on October 31, 2012, 03:10:11 PM
A superb player, who could run rings around anyone during the glory years. Every county had their villians and Ricey was ours. Not that he ever did anything too bad, just people were looking for excuses to crucify him. The McEntee incident was terrible though.
Post by: LeoMc on October 31, 2012, 04:00:32 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on October 31, 2012, 02:19:09 PM

Both could have been accommodated. Declan McCrossan was a strong half back (I don't believe he was as good as Ricey tbh) but Ricey played his best football from the corner back position. Usually marking one of the opposition's key men.

Did they not both feature at Wing back in 2002, both attacking wing backs. Ricey then got moved to the corner for 2003.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 31, 2012, 04:14:53 PM
Earlier than that - they were the wing backs in 2001
Post by: LeoMc on October 31, 2012, 04:40:55 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 31, 2012, 04:14:53 PM
Earlier than that - they were the wing backs in 2001
Robinson and McGinley were still in the corners in 2002 so Ricey did not back till after the Sligo debacle.
Post by: supersarsfields on October 31, 2012, 04:53:36 PM
Was Declan not plagued with some recurring injury around the time of his retirement as well? Norf would prob know better.
Post by: Puckoon on October 31, 2012, 06:17:37 PM
Declan has had a daily battle with ingrown hairs since about the age of 4.
Post by: Itchy on October 31, 2012, 06:35:48 PM
An out and out tr**p but its fair to say most teams would like a tr**p like him on their team
Post by: bennydorano on October 31, 2012, 07:32:08 PM
He's nothing to apologise for, all's fair in love & war. Brought more to the Tyrone team than his footballing ability & I think that that was ultimately more important.
Post by: tyssam5 on October 31, 2012, 08:42:23 PM
Winner!
Post by: rodney trotter on October 31, 2012, 08:43:54 PM
Quote from: stew on October 31, 2012, 07:39:56 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 31, 2012, 07:26:45 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on October 31, 2012, 02:16:17 PM

I don't believe McMenamin purposely spat at Marc O'Se despite what an earlier poster said. The McEntee incident was the one where he did cross line.

From the Belfast Telegraph...........

(http://cdn.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00071/ryan_mcmenamin_71041a.jpg)

From that angle he looks a bit like Roy Keane, and has even less class than Royboy.

He was a dirty animal who was all that was bad about gaelic football, himself and McMenamin are vermin of the lowest order. I am glad this filthy animal is gone from inter county football, it will be all the better for it!

Tyrone have had some gaggle of horrible hoors over the last ten years playing for them.

Keano did lots of things but he never spat at anyone ASAIK. McMenamin was low class, but very effective for Tyrone
Post by: Orior on October 31, 2012, 08:47:50 PM
I wish I could turn the clock back, announce my retirement from club football and then sit back and watch a thread grow discussing my achievements.

Hang on, I never retired, I was just permanently dropped. The final insult was when Poyntzpass only fielded 14 players while I was a sub.
Post by: cadence on October 31, 2012, 09:05:24 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 31, 2012, 08:48:41 AM
Quote from: cadence on October 31, 2012, 08:32:46 AM
class act.

He had some 'qualities', but not an ounce of class in the man.

yeah, well, y'know that's just, like, ah, your opinion man.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 31, 2012, 09:15:52 PM
in his hey-day he would have been the present day Luis Suarez of the GAA
Post by: Íseal agus crua isteach a on October 31, 2012, 09:17:02 PM
One of the all time greats. Was hoping he would give it one more year because I have a feeling that Tyrone won't be too far away.
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/DSC_6731-1.jpg)
Post by: 5 Sams on October 31, 2012, 09:22:23 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 31, 2012, 09:15:52 PM
in his hey-day he would have been the present day Luis Suarez of the GAA

Thats a bit harsh on Suarez Hoof :-\
Post by: Aaron Boone on October 31, 2012, 09:35:02 PM
He'd be a type that could do well in management.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 31, 2012, 09:55:53 PM
Decent enough footballer, but no class and will not be missed, brought all that is wrong, into the game, spent more time talking to the oppostion instead of playing football. Ricey along with Paul Donnelly (of boot throwing fame) is the reason so many football supporters have a dislike for Tyrone. I have time for S O`Neill, Cavanagh, etc but not for ricey. Got lucky that he came about when Tyrone had so had good players
Post by: BennyHarp on October 31, 2012, 10:01:18 PM
When Ricey is at home counting his three all Ireland medals, I'm sure he'll be gutted that Wildweasel74 had no time for him.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 31, 2012, 10:05:25 PM
Just 3, sure  Darragh O`Shea counting his 5, not too worried sitting at home either. Again not the most civil of players but one who i would have time for.
Post by: Tubberman on October 31, 2012, 10:07:48 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 31, 2012, 10:01:18 PM
When Ricey is at home counting his three all Ireland medals, I'm sure he'll be gutted that Wildweasel74 had no time for him.

How many goes will it take him? ;-)
Post by: machaman on October 31, 2012, 10:32:45 PM
Goodbye and good riddance. Pure unadulterated tr**p on the GAA field. What he did on McEntee in particular shows how much he thought of himself, others, his teammates and the GAA. Goodnight sleep tight.
Post by: EC Unique on October 31, 2012, 10:50:22 PM
I would say he is having a right laugh at some of the comments on this thread. A degree of satisfaction seeing he can still wind people up. (mostly Armagh muppets it seems).
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 31, 2012, 10:50:52 PM
A terrific footballer and a key member of the great Tyrone teams of the noughties.
Some of you lot need to take a long hard look at yourselves.
McMenamin has been called a tr**p(on a number of occasions), an animal, and a gypsy  all on this thread.
Why don't all of you lads who see fit  to use such words to describe him, show some testicular fortitude and put forward your full name, club and county to back up your posts.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 31, 2012, 10:51:25 PM
well if he was a muppet we go with animal!!
Post by: moysider on October 31, 2012, 10:54:45 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 31, 2012, 11:08:50 AM
A gallery of some of his moments...........

(http://www.teamtalkmag.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/ryan_mcmenamin_30474t.jpg)
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44886000/jpg/_44886423_mcmenamin.jpg)

Edited for the sake of the children.

(http://assets.u.tv/galleries/101252/598x448/03.jpg)

(http://www.squareball.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/riceys-balls.jpg)

(http://www.herald.ie/multimedia/dynamic/00204/SPT_20080917_SFB_10_204023t.jpg)

(http://s2.jrnl.ie/media/2011/07/inpho_004445401-630x437.jpg)

(http://www.tyroneabu.com/images/news/rmcmenamin2_champ_cork09.jpg)

(http://b.vimeocdn.com/ts/195/008/19500891_640.jpg)

He will be missed!

What happened the swastika tattoo on his forehead?

Oops sorry!

Got this mixed up with the ' Free Charlie Manson' thread.

I actually would have the height of time for 'Ricey' and I wish him all the best. He wasn t the biggest lad and if he was so bad I m sure other s had the opportunity to put him in his place. Wouldn t annoy me as much as many 'respected' whinny types out there.

When he first appeared on Tyrone senior team I remember him as being a very good attacking wing back, and it looked his normal game. The fact that he made such a good job of becoming a nasty marker was a brilliant reinvention.

Like it or lump it he was as important to Tyrone as much as their 'important' players. Mickey Harte knew that.

Post by: Redhand Santa on October 31, 2012, 10:59:37 PM
I'm still convinced he didn't deliberately spit on o'se. A still picture can be very misleading.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 31, 2012, 11:28:18 PM
He was a briliiant man-marker at his peak to be fair, tight, good on the ball, moved it quickly etc. Selfless team player.
He was also filthy though, some of the incidents he was involved in, dropping knees on McEntee, spitting etc...are just not on and Tyrone fans know it I'm sure. Seemed quite unhinged at times to be honest. This year as Tyrone were warming up in Killarney, he came over to the terrace side and started having verbals with a fan for example.  ::)
Post by: imtommygunn on October 31, 2012, 11:28:46 PM
Putting him back to corner back in 03 was possibly oneof harte's best ever moves imo.

Wasn't really a corner back but had the nastiness to do a good enough job. Tyrone have always struggled for corner backs since fay devlin and he was key to helping this.

Hard to like him but 3 all irelands and being a key player in each one not to be sniffed at.

Always did wonder what he was saying to corner forwards...
Post by: moysider on October 31, 2012, 11:46:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 31, 2012, 11:28:46 PM
Putting him back to corner back in 03 was possibly oneof harte's best ever moves imo.

Wasn't really a corner back but had the nastiness to do a good enough job. Tyrone have always struggled for corner backs since fay devlin and he was key to helping this.

Hard to like him but 3 all irelands and being a key player in each one not to be sniffed at.

You know well what he was saying.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 31, 2012, 11:58:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 31, 2012, 11:46:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 31, 2012, 11:28:46 PM

You know well what he was saying.

Rumour has it he once asked Conor Mortimer for his number in the middle of a game...the Mort went giddy with excitement and never touched the ball for the rest of the game.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 01, 2012, 12:32:59 AM
And you seem such a classy bloke yourself Stew!
Post by: trileacman on November 01, 2012, 12:44:38 AM
Quote from: stew on November 01, 2012, 12:16:20 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 31, 2012, 03:10:11 PM
A superb player, who could run rings around anyone during the glory years. Every county had their villians and Ricey was ours. Not that he ever did anything too bad, just people were looking for excuses to crucify him. The McEntee incident was terrible though.

He was your villain, fair enough, we had Francie as our's, the difference in the two men was night and day, one was hard as nails and uncompromising, the other was a slabber cheap shot artist who was an ugly human being on and off the field.

I have posted my details on here when challenged before so i won't do it again, I will say this though, I hope that tr**p gets whats coming to him and to me he, along with mcmenamin, is one of the biggest scumbags ever to play gaelic football at ANY level, never mind senior!

If you were so indifferent to doing it before then why would it be so hard to do it again?
Post by: trileacman on November 01, 2012, 12:48:06 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 31, 2012, 11:28:18 PM
He was a briliiant man-marker at his peak to be fair, tight, good on the ball, moved it quickly etc. Selfless team player.
He was also filthy though, some of the incidents he was involved in, dropping knees on McEntee, spitting etc...are just not on and Tyrone fans know it I'm sure. Seemed quite unhinged at times to be honest. This year as Tyrone were warming up in Killarney, he came over to the terrace side and started having verbals with a fan for example.  ::)

He engaged with some of the darker arts of the game but then so does Glavin, Mark McHugh, Ger Brennan and Aidan O'Mahoney. If you categorise one of them as filthy then you have to be fair and realise what some other players get up to is equally as abhorrent to you.
Post by: Íseal agus crua isteach a on November 01, 2012, 01:12:39 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 01, 2012, 12:32:59 AM
And you seem such a classy bloke yourself Stew!
Was thinking the same myself.

I heard ricey puts a lot of hard work into underage teams. That should never be under estimated. Any way, most Tyrone people that I've met that knows him say he's a wild nice fella. Don't know him personally but I just loved the way he played during a game.  He could just pop up any where grab a point, then head full of the pipe back down the field to his position. Some boy. I will always remember in the 2005 final after big Thomas O Se grabbed and smashed Kerry's second goal and looked like they would turn the game a round. Comenth the hour comenth the man up comes Ricey running the full length of the field to assist in the move where wee Peter nicked a point from a fierce tight angle. That settled any Tyrone nerves that day and they pushed on for home. For me that point was as good as a goal. Sad to see him go but as they say time batters on for all of us.

Will be for me always one of the "blanket men". All Ireland semi final 2003 will go down in epiphany. Tyrone that day changed the GAA. Then everyone including the hurlers and all started to copy them. I was so impressed with Tyrone that I started to laugh in disbelief at the fierce discipline and commitment in the tackles.

(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/rmcmen_independent_279724t.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/640px-Tyrone_Blanket_Defence.jpg)
Post by: mountainboii on November 01, 2012, 02:20:39 AM
An embarrassing cretin.

Stew, that is.
Post by: rrhf on November 01, 2012, 07:56:13 AM
Put all the top corner forwards in his pocket at some point.  Was as good a back as o se. Gave great service tO his county. Enjoy your retirement Ricey.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 01, 2012, 08:15:30 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 31, 2012, 11:58:16 PM
Rumour has it he once asked Conor Mortimer for his number in the middle of a game...the Mort went giddy with excitement and never touched the ball for the rest of the game.

Must have been in 2004! Looks like it had no influence on the result!  ;)
Post by: onefaircounty on November 01, 2012, 08:41:37 AM
Not that he ever did anything too bad

. The McEntee incident was terrible though.

:o
Post by: J OGorman on November 01, 2012, 09:55:46 AM
some fierce chat on here. I wasn't Ricey's biggest fan, but the abuse is way over the top. A man slabbers on a football field in front of spectators and the TV camera's during a game when the adrenalin is pumping v a man slabbering behind a moniker on an online forum.?
Some folk cant separate what happens on a pitch to how a person maybe is off the pitch. I'd say there's very few on here who, at one stage or another have been affronted by the way they conducted themselves during a match.

A few of his highlighted misdemeanors that have been highlighted on this thread have no place on the pitch, and I'd say the man himself would be the first to admit that

Civil chap apparently off the field and was practically camped @ their football field 7 nights a week helping out. Will tell you what, always liked seeing his name on the team-sheet when Derry were playing Tyrone for a few reasons. Never wanted Tyrone to have any excuses if we beat them (that's a massy IF by the way). You'd always know there would be a bit of action and most importantly, you'd get to witness if our forwards were up for the battle.

Enjoy your retirement ye Tyrone hooer ;-)

Post by: nrico2006 on November 01, 2012, 10:12:55 AM
A lot of bitter, jealous and seemingly delusional Armagh men on here. I laughed at the comparison of wee civil Francie to Ricey. Big difference was that Ricey was a far better footballer. As for sticking knees into McEntee, while not what you want your players to be at it is no worse than any number of incidents in any given game, or not even as bad as sticking your elbow/forearm in Mickey Kindens ja and leaving him in a right mess
Post by: mackers on November 01, 2012, 10:24:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 01, 2012, 10:12:55 AM
A lot of bitter, jealous and seemingly delusional Armagh men on here. I laughed at the comparison of wee civil Francie to Ricey. Big difference was that Ricey was a far better footballer. As for sticking knees into McEntee, while not what you want your players to be at it is no worse than any number of incidents in any given game, or not even as bad as sticking your elbow/forearm in Mickey Kindens ja and leaving him in a right mess
What utter crap nrico.....Francie Bellew would not get involved in the sledging that McMenamin got involved in every match, would not grab a man by the balls and would not spit at any one.  Do not go down that line...you don't have a leg to stand on.
For the man who said that he had every corner forward in his pocket you obviously did not watch him trying to mark Stevie McDonnell.
Post by: ONeill on November 01, 2012, 11:20:34 AM
You're a very unchristian being young Stew.
Post by: EC Unique on November 01, 2012, 12:15:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 01, 2012, 11:20:34 AM

Ignore him. Just a bitter wee ballocks.
Post by: Bensars on November 01, 2012, 12:56:33 PM
Well Done Ricey, enjoy your retirement. An out and out winner. Competitive, tenacious, skillful leader who will always be remembered. So dominant over a long period of time the one word nickname is now known throughout the land.

Great to see so many who are still seething against him. Mainly Armagh men by the looks of it . But then again no suprise as somebody has to be blamed for their shocking underachievement in a period whereby  they had supposedly greatest ever side !
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2012, 01:04:39 PM

He was your villain, fair enough, we had Francie as our's, the difference in the two men was night and day, one was hard as nails and uncompromising, the other was a slabber cheap shot artist who was an ugly human being on and off the field.

I have posted my details on here when challenged before so i won't do it again, I will say this though, I hope that tr**p gets whats coming to him and to me he, along with mcmenamin, is one of the biggest scumbags ever to play gaelic football at ANY level, never mind senior!

I never mentioned Francie, a fine player he was too.

Lets not pretend that Armagh are angels. What about the carry on to get Peter Canavan and Stephen O'Neill sent off in the 2005 Ulster Final. Not the actions of purity is it.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2012, 01:06:12 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on November 01, 2012, 08:41:37 AM
Not that he ever did anything too bad

. The McEntee incident was terrible though.

:o

I put that in as an after-though to say it was an unforgivable action. But to say he was at that his entire playing career is unwarrented.
Post by: Club Rossa on November 01, 2012, 01:36:07 PM
He marked Paddy Bradley at Casement in the 2003 replay.As he came in to shake Paddy's hand he had Paddy's girlfriend's number written on his arm.Threw Bradley totally off his game and he was subbed that day.
Had heard that story before but was confirmed by Bradley himself when I asked him.
Post by: Club Rossa on November 01, 2012, 01:50:44 PM
Came from Bradley himself Bensars,perhaps it was on his right arm ;)
Post by: Hardy on November 01, 2012, 01:56:07 PM
It takes all sorts.
Post by: mackers on November 01, 2012, 02:07:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2012, 01:04:39 PM

Lets not pretend that Armagh are angels. What about the carry on to get Peter Canavan and Stephen O'Neill sent off in the 2005 Ulster Final. Not the actions of purity is it.
What did the Armagh players do to get Canavan and O'Neill sent off? Obviously Tyrone people have complained that they shouldn't have been sent off which I wouldn't comment on.....this is the first time I've seen a suggestion that Armagh players GOT them sent off.  You'll have to explain that one.
Post by: screenexile on November 01, 2012, 02:10:46 PM
Still don't understand that. Would that get you riled though? "Oh I rang somebody who knows your woman and got her number... I'll definitely ride her now!"

Stuff like that can't be getting to you at this level. I doubt it got under Paddy Bradley's skin either but if I remember correctly he did have 2 lads marking him for the entire match which probably had more to do with his performance than a trampish stunt like that!
Post by: Goats Do Shave on November 01, 2012, 02:29:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2012, 01:04:39 PM

Ziggy your memory is playing tricks on you...

Stevie shouldered Andy Mallon over the sideline, after he left himself open clearing the ball from defence.

& McKeever saved wee Peter from people standing on him, as he lay at the bottom of the shamozzle (a shamozzle he started I believe...)
Post by: supersarsfields on November 01, 2012, 03:57:58 PM
Fair play Stew.
Post by: stew on November 01, 2012, 04:00:18 PM

Not really Shane, was at a golf outing and that is the last time I ever post with beer in me.

My comments were way over the top and for that I apologize.

I still think he was a horrible hoor but I was way, way out of line and will be removing my posts.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 01, 2012, 04:08:07 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on October 31, 2012, 10:59:37 PM
I'm still convinced he didn't deliberately spit on o'se. A still picture can be very misleading.

You have to be joking here????
Post by: blanketattack on November 01, 2012, 04:25:38 PM
It's not a real retirement though, just what Stephen O'Neill, Philip Jordan, Brian McGuigan et al. have done in recent years only to come out of retirement almost immediately. Just looking for a bit of attention, God bless him.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 01, 2012, 04:49:24 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on November 01, 2012, 04:25:38 PM
It's not a real retirement though, just what Stephen O'Neill, Philip Jordan, Brian McGuigan et al. have done in recent years only to come out of retirement almost immediately. Just looking for a bit of attention, God bless him.

McMenamin is 35, it was only ineviatble he would retire sooner or later. He wasn't even going to play this year - 2012 until he changed his mind.. Might get a a few years at club level.
Post by: EC Unique on November 01, 2012, 04:50:20 PM
Quote from: stew on November 01, 2012, 04:00:18 PM

Not really Shane, was at a golf outing and that is the last time I ever post with beer in me.

My comments were way over the top and for that I apologize.

I still think he was a horrible hoor but I was way, way out of line and will be removing my posts.

Fair enough.
Post by: topgun on November 01, 2012, 05:44:16 PM
Ricey was no angel on the pitch but he was a great player, if anyone knew him off the pitch or ever met the man ud no he was 100%

Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 01, 2012, 05:52:22 PM
Its the comparsion to Mark O`Se thats beats me!
Post by: stew on November 01, 2012, 09:42:28 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 01, 2012, 05:52:22 PM
Its the comparsion to Mark O`Se thats beats me!

No shit, O'Shea is ten times the player Rice ever was or will be!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 01, 2012, 09:43:05 PM
Ditto wild weasel! Good player but not in that league.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 01, 2012, 11:27:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnATCSQxNwM

hard to say if francie took a dive against Cavan, don't think he did tbh.
Post by: Fuzzman on November 01, 2012, 11:49:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 01, 2012, 01:48:45 PM
Was that story not about Conor Gormley and one of the Brogans?

Eh? I'd say Paddy Bradley wasn't too pleased when Conor was giving them Dubs his girlfriends number.
Did he meet her in Coppers or wha?

Nice to say Ricey still has such an impact on Armagh and the sour apples.
Can't wait for their reaction when Mugsy retires.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 02, 2012, 12:02:36 AM
Dromore win in Tyrone every two years so he wants to be at his best for 2013.
Post by: Orchardman on November 02, 2012, 12:31:07 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on November 01, 2012, 11:49:31 PM

Eh? I'd say Paddy Bradley wasn't too pleased when Conor was giving them Dubs his girlfriends number.
Did he meet her in Coppers or wha?

Nice to say Ricey still has such an impact on Armagh and the sour apples.

i dont think armagh posters have been too hard on him considering. I think what he done on mcentee was the maybe the worst dirty act ive seen on a field in county football, different story to hitting a man a box on the head. In saying that, i wud still wish him the best as i know some of his club mates who asure me he is really a sound man, and i believe he was a decent player for tyrone in their prime.

As for mugsy, i dont know what ur on about, most of wont even notice when he retires. Yes he has been another good servant, and scored one of my favourite all time goals but he wouldn't have done enough damage against us or most other top sides to receive any nasty abuse. He has been more of a comical figure, bit like ricey i suppose in that respect, but sure he been known for clapping the dubs on hill 16 and also staying behind in kerry this year after their heavy beating to sign stuff and go on the sauce. good character
Post by: tyroneman on November 02, 2012, 07:23:33 AM
I would have thought that any county with Kieran mcKeever playing for them has little room to be pointing out the dirt in others ......
Post by: Tubberman on November 02, 2012, 08:25:13 AM
Been a while since the Armagh and Tyrone wans had a right go at each other. It's like the mid-noughties again!
Post by: onefaircounty on November 02, 2012, 09:42:04 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on November 02, 2012, 07:23:33 AM
I would have thought that any county with Kieran mcKeever playing for them has little room to be pointing out the dirt in others ......

Typical Tyrone bollix, even when trying to get a dig at Armagh you have to get Derry involved.

Personally, bar the McEntee incident. I liked Ricey.

A lot of Tyrone ones are getting wound up here and retaliating by saying typical Armagh ones getting wound up.  :D
Post by: Nally Stand on November 02, 2012, 09:54:26 AM
Quote from: onefaircounty on November 02, 2012, 09:42:04 AM

Typical Tyrone bollix, even when trying to get a dig at Armagh you have to get Derry involved.

A lot of Tyrone ones are getting wound up here and retaliating by saying typical Armagh ones getting wound up.  :D

Typical Armagh bollix. Giving off about Tyrone ones giving off about Derry while we're giving off about Armagh ones giving off about Tyrone ones  >:(
Post by: theticklemister on November 02, 2012, 12:39:20 PM
Pre 2003....................

Tyrone hoors: 'there's no Londonderry in Tyrone'
Derry lads (usually me): 'there's no sam maguire in tyrone'

We had to decomission that song after that fateful year.

our comebacks have not been as good in recent years
Post by: Armamike on November 02, 2012, 04:32:55 PM
It's not a spit from McMenamin, just slabbers.
Post by: armaghniac on November 02, 2012, 06:18:15 PM
Someone should buy him one of those new Armagh jerseys that make your nipples look like eyebrows.
Post by: EC Unique on November 02, 2012, 07:31:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 02, 2012, 06:18:15 PM
Someone should buy him one of those new Armagh jerseys that make your nipples look like eyebrows.

You mean the one with the rainbow on it? The world wide symbol for gay pride?
Post by: babarino on November 02, 2012, 07:57:44 PM
Not surprised at the retirement and good luck to him. Last season he was well short of his form during the Tyrone Sam years. He came off a big second best in big tackles repeatedly. Agree he's the type of player you'd want on your side, but what does it say about Tyrone that he was started this year? Surely there was better around.
Post by: armaghniac on November 02, 2012, 08:44:09 PM
QuoteYou mean the one with the rainbow on it? The world wide symbol for gay pride?

None of that now.
Armagh have found a pot of gold, as one traditionally does with rainbows

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/21/Rainbow_Leprechaun.png)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 02, 2012, 10:48:03 PM
A very unsporting player. I think that picture of him spitting at Marc O'Se sums him up really.
Post by: spuds on November 03, 2012, 12:11:03 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on November 02, 2012, 10:48:03 PM
A very unsporting player. I think that picture of him spitting at Marc O'Se sums him up really.
This is your entry post on this thread, I'd wager you will get a bit more hardcore than that.

Mike Sheehy, the Gaaboard's own wee Ricey.
Post by: haveaharp on November 03, 2012, 08:44:14 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on November 01, 2012, 11:49:31 PM

Did he not stop playing a couple of years ago?
Post by: INDIANA on November 03, 2012, 12:03:02 PM
Best of luck to him but couldn't warm to him.

Too many nasty incidents.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 03, 2012, 12:12:12 PM
A fellow once told me every team needs a "schkutt" on it to be successful.

Ricey was such and as I don't know him from Adam all I can say is that I wish him all the best in his inter county retirement.
Post by: tyroneman on November 03, 2012, 03:20:02 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on November 02, 2012, 09:42:04 AM

Typical Armagh bollix. Giving off about Tyrone ones giving off about Derry while we're giving off about Armagh ones giving off about Tyrone ones  >:(

Ach blame my spelling...meant Ciaran.........the Armagh version...

Post by: orangeman on November 13, 2012, 12:39:24 PM
How will they remember you Ryan? He knows the question has to come and senses the rhetoric that may be attached to it. He knows it concerns something beyond the three All-Ireland medals, the All Star or his status as the player who revolutionised corner-back play – with his propensity to attack – and was just about the most audacious No 2 of the modern era.

He knows it's essentially about the other Ryan McMenamin, the man who wore a different game-face for 12 years from the one who is sitting across the table now, reflecting on that part of his life. The Ryan McMenamin he knew he had to be to extract the optimum out of himself.

He had long since reconciled that without that game-face, that edge, that streak that so easily wound opponents up, he just wasn't the same footballer.

So he appreciates that any citation now may reflect the misdemeanours more than the obvious achievements as a defender often portrayed as the heartbeat of Mickey Harte's Tyrone.

He says he is "comfortable" with that. Ideally, it's not what he wants but he knows that it's impossible now to fight the tide.

"I'd accept that. I know a lot of people would have written about me, about the negative side of the game," he says.

"I'd say they probably will (remember me for that) with justification but I'm not going to lose sleep over it.

"I know that's what I've got in the media and that's probably what's out there. If you look at any of those GAA discussions boards I'm sure I don't get a good send-off. But I'm content with what I gave to football, if I did my very best for Tyrone, I'm happy enough."

"No one is going to go through their whole life perfect. My football career will be remembered more for the off-the-ball stuff. At the end of the day I don't really care. I played county football to win and that's all I did. I just loved winning. It drove me too far sometimes."

spotlight

In his defence, he claims that there were "five or six different players from different counties that were at the same, just not getting the same level of spotlight".

The game-face was the most important piece of his armoury in a career that dates back to 2000. It brought him to a different place, made him say and do things that were at odds with the street-face as Tyrone ditched convention and rejected reputations throughout a glorious decade.

The conscientious husband and civil servant with the Department of Agriculture, renowned for his good company and dry wit, would never approve of some of the incidents he got immersed in.

"I know a lot of people think the way I act on the field is the way I act in life. If I did that, jaysus I'd be in Maghaberry! I'd be in jail. I couldn't do that," he laughs.

He's tried to do it differently, he's tried to be nice and conventional. But to little avail. "I tried it many times before, not getting myself up, not getting myself ready for it.

"It just didn't work. I knew myself that I always play better when I am on the edge. At the end of the day I was getting no thanks when we were getting beat and I didn't have that game-face on."

Some of the incidents that brought him notoriety he regrets. Dropping his knees into John McEntee's chest in that ill-tempered 2005 Ulster final replay made him wonder about himself afterwards. "It was one of those things you look back at and say to yourself, 'what were you thinking of'. I rang John after that. He was happy with that, for it to be left on the field. He didn't want it to carry on."

It led to a landmark case in the Disputes Resolution Authority's fledgling days when they rescinded his retrospective four-week suspension prior to the All-Ireland quarter-final with Dublin on the grounds that the referee Michael Collins had already dealt with the incident by giving him a yellow card.

Grabbing Paul Galvin in the groin area during a 2009 league match in Omagh brought further notoriety and eventually a six-week ban but he insists that there was more humour than malice attached to that.

"That was the spur of the moment. I don't even know why I did it. It wasn't an actual punch. I was kind of half laughing when I did it. I was watching it back on TG4 and even the commentators were laughing. Och, I shouldn't have done it. Right enough I had good craic at the appeals committee with it. It was good craic listening to them on it.

"I know the wife (Maura), she shakes her head now. I think maybe after the Galvin incident she says 'enough's enough'.

"I chatted to Mickey (Harte) too and he says 'if you do it again I can't back you'. I said, 'I know, I know.' He said I'd have to channel that aggression some other way. When I was retiring we agreed that he was going to have less disciplinary problems, less trips to Dublin!"

There were other times when he was less willing to cop the flak. He knows reputation alone invited a charge after the infamous league match in Omagh against Dublin in 2006.

"I wasn't involved in any of the fights. It confirmed to me that I was a marked man, that I was being picked out in the media and that they were just looking for something to spear me with.

"If I didn't take that well I wouldn't have lasted in the game," he figures.

He has always maintained innocence too for the incident that derailed Colm Cooper for a critical spell during the first half of the 2005 All-Ireland final. No Tyrone player was punished but 'Gooch' was still floored in the Canal End goalmouth.

"Me and big Packie (McConnell) debate this all the time. When I turned around, he (Cooper) was on the ground. I absolved myself but I knew rightly I was going to get the blame.

"Big Packie says to this day 'no, no it wasn't me, it was you'. But I was standing in front of him. Big Packie says no it was me. I think he blamed me one time. I knew rightly I was going to get the blame here."

Nor does McMenamin accept that he said half the things to opponents that were attributed to him on the field.

"It wasn't like that. I wasn't chatting the whole game. There have been a lot of times I would talk in the game. Putting players right. You would see boys tell you 'ah shut the f*** up'. You would always give a comment back.

"But there was nothing ever wild, nothing personal. I think it has become more urban myth. I have heard more stories and you're left wondering 'did I really do that'. It was more chatting."

Early on, however, he appreciated how verbals could work and tells a story of some advice he got from a former Tyrone player.

"He told me to target this particular player. 'If he misses the first free, get you straight into him,' he said. Of course the player missed the first free and I was straight into him telling him about that.

"He missed three or four points and we won the game by three or four points. I got crucified but at the end of the day the player missed the frees and maybe I got him thinking about that.

"People may say it's unsporting or whatever but I'd watch a lot of American sports and I think it's accepted. It's part of the psychology.

"There are a lot more players who are worse than me but weren't getting the same spotlight as me, maybe because Tyrone are successful. I knew there were a lot of other players, plenty of our forwards were coming off saying 'jaysus he is a total tr**p, he was onto me about everything'."

In his book 'The Gambler', Oisin McConville vividly recalled some of the dialogue he claimed McMenamin had engaged in. McMenamin held his counsel and is adamant that he remains on good terms with McConville.

"There was stuff in his book that I had a problem with, Conor Gormley had a problem with too. I know Oisin has beaten his own demons and made a great comeback but there is stuff in the book I could have made an issue about.

"I'd have a thick skin. I let it go over my head. To me, it wasn't right. What's done on the field is done on the field. It affected different ones. People in my club took it worse. It wasn't exactly as he put it, I felt. There were some bits I felt were mixed up."

Firming up a decision about retirement wasn't difficult. It was on his landscape from the beginning of the season. Somewhat aptly, it ended for him in Kerry in July, that thumping qualifier defeat in sun-drenched Killarney drawing a line under it all.

"It was great to play in that atmosphere in your last game. The scoreline didn't reflect it, the result didn't reflect it but at the end of the day going down among the Kerry people afterwards, they were telling you not to retire because they had no one to hate. A few of them said that to me! I enjoyed that and I enjoyed the banter."

The relationship with Kerry has been uneasy, he acknowledges, the legacy of winning all three Croke Park encounters that spanned the rivalry.

"We just loved playing Kerry. When they won the All-Ireland in 2004, their chairman at the time (Sean Walsh) said the natural order had been restored. There is no natural order.

"I thought the players didn't take it badly, maybe the officials, some supporters, maybe some of the coaching staff took it badly but none of the players ... I know Tomas O Se well, he was texting me since I retired... they never took it that bad. For a while they didn't like us but they respected us. Tomas never once cried about the style of play or what we did but at the same time, after we beat them, we felt we weren't being respected."

He says he never saw the fallout from the 2003 All-Ireland semi-final coming and picked up the Monday morning newspapers in Dublin expecting a different experience. "I was staying down in my wife's aunt's place. I went to read the back pages of some of the morning newspapers expecting to read about 'fantastic Tyrone' saying this will be great.

"We had got to an All-Ireland final and I couldn't wait to see what the papers were saying. Needless to say I didn't see any of those headlines. I didn't hear the famous 'puke football' jibe but it was on one of the back pages. What we got was total negativity.

"You have to look at where Tyrone were coming from. We were coming as a team to make our name. All we wanted to do was go and tear the whole pitch up. A lot of that was about Peter Canavan too. We were told we could never win without Peter. Everyone lifted their game once they realised they could beat Kerry without Peter (he went off injured). We threw away the inferiority complex we had."

The environment created by Harte where any internecine club bitterness was left at the door was something special. "If there was a club match and we bate the hell out of each other on a Sunday, once we went into the changing room there was no mention about it. All there was was a bit of slagging, a bit of craic. Boys didn't even have to shake hands. They just nodded and agreed. 'The oul' club's competitive isn't it!'"

Harte, he insists, is the right man to lead Tyrone forward for some time yet. In Killarney, when his own thoughts were turning to retirement, he sensed a renewed enthusiasm, even then, in the few words spoken.

Lately it's Mickey making the calls to invite players to trials again. But for 'Ricey' it's all over. The game-face has been put away for good.

- Colm Keys GAELIC GAMES

Post by: rrhf on November 13, 2012, 02:13:16 PM
great article.
Now who would argue with any of that. 
Post by: Fuzzman on November 13, 2012, 05:18:40 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 13, 2012, 02:13:16 PM
Now who would argue with any of that.

Oisin?
Gooch?
Galvin?

I would have imagined of all those boys mentioned there would have been very bad feeling between Ricey, Gormley and Oisin.
Oisin seemed to give as good as he got from those two verbally I thought whereas Stevie McD seemed to let a lot of it go over his head.

I'd say Mickey H is glad to see the back of Ricey.  ::)