Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

SHEEDY

Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 27, 2015, 09:04:43 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on June 27, 2015, 08:49:23 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 27, 2015, 08:40:04 PM
I fear what will happen in Div 1 next year. We could do  a westmeath and lose all our games. McCorry's stubbornness not to bring lads back in if they were available has bit him in the ass. Do Down have an issue with mental strength? .F..k that was hard to listen too. God help anyone driving home from that tonight. Wexford are a poor team. As already stated this is sligo longford wicklow all over again Clare was nearly a disaster also in 2011. Sickening absolutely sickening. Wouldn't you think we would be used to it by now. First Ulster team out of the championship,  laughing stock. Seriously questioning McCorry's ability to take this team anywhere.

The Down players won't be too bothered as they are not coming home tonight but staying in Wexford.  Who in their right mind would have even planned this and how exactly would the players have benefited if we had actually won anyway? Our County has debt coming out of our ears but we think this a good way to blow a few grand. Down Way again? Everything in our county is an absolute shambles.

What clown decided that, surely staying the night before and being spared a long drive on match day would have been far better.
the same clowns that have been running/ruining down football for years and continue in a job. club football is as poor as i can remember, the county team now has to be ranked in the bottom 3 of teams in ulster, we are miles behind other counties in terms of youth development but its ok because we can continue to live on past glories. those days seem a very long time ago.
nil satis nisi optimum

outinfront

Obviously a bad bad result. Can anyone report anything about the match? Did we struggle in midfield? How was our attack/defence?

sdg

Can't believe people are shocked by this result!

Line Ball

As we are the first Ulster team out of the Championship, does that make us the worst team in Ulster at present?

OgraAnDun

Quote from: Line Ball on June 27, 2015, 09:29:13 PM
As we are the first Ulster team out of the Championship, does that make us the worst team in Ulster at present?

We'll only find out when Wexford play Antrim next year... in Division 4.

DownFanatic

Simply can't replace quality with quantity.
Genuinely thought we would have won today.

Line Ball

Quote from: DownFanatic on June 27, 2015, 09:36:35 PM

What do you mean quantity?

outinfront

Quote from: Line Ball on June 27, 2015, 09:43:44 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on June 27, 2015, 09:36:35 PM

What do you mean quantity?

Presumably training and making concessions for older more experienced proven players?

Line Ball

Quote from: wobbller on June 27, 2015, 09:45:46 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 27, 2015, 09:16:33 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 27, 2015, 09:04:43 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on June 27, 2015, 08:49:23 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 27, 2015, 08:40:04 PM
I fear what will happen in Div 1 next year. We could do  a westmeath and lose all our games. McCorry's stubbornness not to bring lads back in if they were available has bit him in the ass. Do Down have an issue with mental strength? .F..k that was hard to listen too. God help anyone driving home from that tonight. Wexford are a poor team. As already stated this is sligo longford wicklow all over again Clare was nearly a disaster also in 2011. Sickening absolutely sickening. Wouldn't you think we would be used to it by now. First Ulster team out of the championship,  laughing stock. Seriously questioning McCorry's ability to take this team anywhere.

The Down players won't be too bothered as they are not coming home tonight but staying in Wexford.  Who in their right mind would have even planned this and how exactly would the players have benefited if we had actually won anyway? Our County has debt coming out of our ears but we think this a good way to blow a few grand. Down Way again? Everything in our county is an absolute shambles.

What clown decided that, surely staying the night before and being spared a long drive on match day would have been far better.
the same clowns that have been running/ruining down football for years and continue in a job. club football is as poor as i can remember, the county team now has to be ranked in the bottom 3 of teams in ulster, we are miles behind other counties in terms of youth development but its ok because we can continue to live on past glories. those days seem a very long time ago.
Very disappointing end to our season. No more County Football until Jan. Time for heads to roll
although I hear that process is underway with Mulholland axed. County board could maybe look
at themselves as they preside over these shambles year in year out.

Is the County Secretary's paid position up this year?  There is the perfect place to start rather than continuing with what he calls himself the 'Down Way' of doing things. We are all sick of this shit.

Oglach

Some of the latest posts on here are a complete Joke.
Down were beaten tonight on simple complacency. It happens at all levels of sport including professional sport.
These players aren't professional but train as if they are, and give as much of their time as any other sportsman, so to have a night in a hotel after the match i don't think is a lot to ask.
As for the constant moaning and whining regarding the missing Down men, well, get over it, they were asked and couldn't commit! We move on with new faces, who would relish their chance to play for Down and are prepared to put in the long nights like everyone else. Not prance in  mid May and expect everyone to move over!

SHEEDY

Quote from: Oglach on June 27, 2015, 10:27:24 PM
Down were beaten tonight on simple complacency. It happens at all levels of sport including professional sport.
These players aren't professional but train as if they are, and give as much of their time as any other sportsman, so to have a night in a hotel after the match i don't think is a lot to ask.
As for the constant moaning and whining regarding the missing Down men, well, get over it, they were asked and couldn't commit! We move on with new faces, who would relish their chance to play for Down and are prepared to put in the long nights like everyone else. Not prance in  mid May and expect everyone to move over!
how are the the latest posts a joke?? They are posted by people who are fed up and frustrated at being served up the same shit year after year and have had enough. We are a joke and are being laughed at by gaa people in neighbouring counties. The county board are the real joke but at least this result gives them more time to concentrate on this crumlin road jail break shit.
nil satis nisi optimum

snoopdog

Unfortunately lads, the performance tonight was the Down way apart from the 60's and a few other years. The Down way is predominantly mediocre. We live in a myth. It's so depressing. I don't see club football in Down anymore as I live in the capital but seriously has it got bad? Why isn't the biggest populated area Newry producing players?.  The county board must be useless. Anyone think the manager needs to go after that??

Line Ball

Who is to blame for this?  The team were prepared in a certain way and didn't perform.  Wexford missed as many goal scoring chances as they scored, so things could have been worse.  Little impact from the bench as usual.

Planned night is my problem.  Take them down the night before and get them in the right frame of mind rather than planning a party night like happened when they went to London for the weekend.  Get ready for plenty of tweets and snapchats tonight.

We need the best Down players on the field and this year this hasn't happened.  It has cost us and the arrogance of the manager is to blame.  He'll still pick up his big cheque in the morning though.

The Raven

Quote from: SHEEDY on June 27, 2015, 10:40:08 PM
how are the the latest posts a joke?? They are posted by people who are fed up and frustrated at being served up the same shit year after year and have had enough. We are a joke and are being laughed at by gaa people in neighbouring counties. The county board are the real joke but at least this result gives them more time to concentrate on this crumlin road jail break shit.
100% this has to be the ludicrous idea anyone has come up with. The videos are cringeworthy to say the least making a laughingstock of us all. Many a good Down Gael was locked up in the crum for nothing more than the love of our games and our country. This is just an insult to their memory

Line Ball

Quote from: The Raven on June 27, 2015, 10:55:11 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 27, 2015, 10:40:08 PM
100% this has to be the ludicrous idea anyone has come up with. The videos are cringeworthy to say the least making a laughingstock of us all. Many a good Down Gael was locked up in the crum for nothing more than the love of our games and our country. This is just an insult to their memory

I'd actually pay if they would keep them.  A few lads in work were giving me grief over it, what could you say?  The whole idea and the way it was publicised was just embarrassing, we are just an absolute joke at present both on and off the field.