GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on October 28, 2013, 09:29:56 PM

Title: Michael Murphy
Post by: BennyCake on October 28, 2013, 09:29:56 PM
The man's a genius, and deserves his own thread. I reckon he's the best player in Ireland right now.

He put in a majestic performance against Australia, and in last weeks Donegal final by all accounts, just 24 hours after playing for Ireland in Cavan.

The man has everything. High fielding, can set up scores, great free taker, can play in a few positions, an accurate scorer, great strength and stamina.

He's one of the few players in the game that is worth paying in to see.
Title: Re: Michael Murphy
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2013, 09:34:50 PM
Come to Ballybofey next week, hopefully he won't be as good ;)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 28, 2013, 09:37:35 PM
yeah i would say hes the best player in ireland right now, likely was 2yrs ago too only Jim Guinness played him to far out the field to be effective and only seen sense in the final
Post by: Rossfan on October 28, 2013, 09:45:33 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 28, 2013, 09:29:56 PM
The man's a genius, and deserves his own thread. I reckon he's the best player in Ireland right now.

He put in a majestic performance against Australia, and in last weeks Donegal final by all accounts, just 24 hours after playing for Ireland in Cavan.

The man has everything. High fielding, can set up scores, great free taker, can play in a few positions, an accurate scorer, great strength and stamina.

Don't be upsetting Jinxy with this kind of praise of an elitist GPA member who dared play in the IR "shite".
Post by: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 08:22:25 AM

Colm Cooper is the best.  Murphy is good, but sometimes reports can exaggerrated about performances, i.e man of the match last week in the County final because he scored 1-5 yet none were from play.
Post by: Wee Roddy on October 29, 2013, 08:27:35 AM
The Gooch is the best player in Ireland at the minute. I don't think there is any question about it but Murphy is out on his own in 2nd place even if he is a darling of the media because of his nature I suppose. The man just brings class to everything he does both on and off the field. I always think that when a man is captain of his county at such a young age then he is special.
Post by: screenexile on October 29, 2013, 10:00:20 AM
That's all well and good about the Gooch being the best right now Murphy has another 7 years to get to the Gooch's age . . . he'll be the best around very shortly!

A colossus of a man with 2 feet, great free taker, leader, great in the air. There aren't too many like him around now!
Post by: larryin89 on October 29, 2013, 12:43:04 PM
Lol.
Post by: Sidney on October 29, 2013, 12:44:58 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 29, 2013, 08:27:35 AM
The Gooch is the best player in Ireland at the minute. I don't think there is any question about it but Murphy is out on his own in 2nd place even if he is a darling of the media because of his nature I suppose. The man just brings class to everything he does both on and off the field. I always think that when a man is captain of his county at such a young age then he is special.
The Gooch is the best player of all-time.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 01:36:05 PM
Quote from: Sidney on October 29, 2013, 12:44:58 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 29, 2013, 08:27:35 AM
The Gooch is the best player of all-time.

I wouldn't go that far, but he is up there.
Post by: J70 on October 29, 2013, 05:49:01 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 08:22:25 AM

Colm Cooper is the best.  Murphy is good, but sometimes reports can exaggerrated about performances, i.e man of the match last week in the County final because he scored 1-5 yet none were from play.

His man of the match award had zero to do with his score total.

Get some info on his actual performance before commenting.
Post by: Schkite on October 29, 2013, 06:10:54 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 29, 2013, 05:49:01 PM

A small segment from the game but his flick in the build up to another of Glenswilly's goals was a brilliant bit of improvisation and skill, something that almost all other players wouldn't even think of, or would make a balls of, but Murphy executed it perfectly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PkLQyK6quM4

I wouldn't go as far as saying he's the best player in Ireland right now, but he's up there and he has many years left.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 29, 2013, 06:58:26 PM
Have to say I hate these things unless the player has retired or died.
Post by: J OGorman on October 29, 2013, 07:18:55 PM

The man has everything. High fielding, can set up scores, great free taker, can play in a few p ositions, an accurate scorer, great strength and stamina.

A. Did you watch the final? B. Do you watch much winter football with its personal high scoring returns from play ?

Murphy is a class act on and off the pitch. His maturity in the days, weeks and months after winning Sam was exceptional for someone so young. .such adulation has wrecked men way beyond Murphys years
Post by: JimStynes on October 29, 2013, 08:31:37 PM
Quote from: Schkite on October 29, 2013, 06:10:54 PM

A small segment from the game but his flick in the build up to another of Glenswilly's goals was a brilliant bit of improvisation and skill, something that almost all other players wouldn't even think of, or would make a balls of, but Murphy executed it perfectly.

I wouldn't go as far as saying he's the best player in Ireland right now, but he's up there and he has many years left.

Am I the only one who thinks this flick is overrated and nothing special? Still he is some talent, complete beast of a man. For me the Gooch is out on his own as best in the game at the minute.
Post by: muppet on October 29, 2013, 08:41:24 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 29, 2013, 08:31:37 PM

Am I the only one who thinks this flick is overrated and nothing special? Still he is some talent, complete beast of a man. For me the Gooch is out on his own as best in the game at the minute.

Skill-wise there was nothing to it. However he took two men out of the game with it. In that regard it was clever and nicely improvised.
Post by: lawnseed on October 29, 2013, 08:53:12 PM
I glad someone started this thread. if I was back playing now i'd love to play alongside Michael murphy. hes a super footballer with a great attitude, tons of confidence and very unselfish.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 29, 2013, 09:32:00 PM
We might not turn up on Sunday, with Finn McCool playing flicking balls around like tiddlly winks and scoring 1-5 to boot and bookies having Glenswilly favs it will be a walk in the park
Post by: Saffrongael on October 29, 2013, 09:38:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 29, 2013, 09:32:00 PM
We might not turn up on Sunday, with Finn McCool playing flicking balls around like tiddlly winks and scoring 1-5 to boot and bookies having Glenswilly favs it will be a walk in the park

Why would they not be favourites, albeit slight favourites ?
Post by: rodney trotter on October 29, 2013, 09:49:36 PM
Milltown, the game is in Donegal and they have one of the best footballers in the Country in the side. Also an All Ireland winning player in midfield in Neil Gallagher. Slight favs is hardly a surprise even if its only their second time paying Ulster Cub football.
Post by: rrhf on October 30, 2013, 07:13:14 AM
But what about the megourtys
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 30, 2013, 09:14:29 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on October 29, 2013, 09:38:47 PM

Why would they not be favourites, albeit slight favourites ?

Tradition is the reason, but that suits our lads, takes pressure off as we don't do well when favs (Kilcoo last year). Donegal teams have only won this once before 75, for whatever reasons they must just go on the lash. Maybe this year will be different, hopefully not. I believe it will be plenty behind the ball sorta game, we've been playing against that all year and haven't really done well in fairness, just getting over the line against the 3 teams that deployed those tactics.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 30, 2013, 09:27:50 AM

You are definitely copying my posts!!!!

Glenswilly will be very difficult to beat though if they bring their A game to the field and really they could be the surprise package of this years competition.  I am honest in that I don't really know much about their whole team but in Murphy and Gallagher you have 2 big, strong good footballers who are perfectly built for the dog fight of November football so if you can compliment them with 6-8 good solid club footballers then they could do damage.  Can understand why they might be slight favourites given the Murphy factor and also the bounce of winning the title again and maybe a sense of unfinished business from the last one as they did go on the lash after it.  Maybe a greater focus this time.

However, against that you have a very experienced St Gall's team who have been down this road before and know what is needed to win it.  The one thing that doesn't win generally in these types of games are the ultra defensive teams as you need to be able to have a good spread of scorers as generally the teams are generally fairly evenly matched in terms of fitness and size so the team with the greater know how will always have a distinct advantage.  Will be an interesting one alright.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 30, 2013, 10:25:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 30, 2013, 09:27:50 AM

You are definitely copying my posts!!!!

Glenswilly will be very difficult to beat though if they bring their A game to the field and really they could be the surprise package of this years competition.  I am honest in that I don't really know much about their whole team but in Murphy and Gallagher you have 2 big, strong good footballers who are perfectly built for the dog fight of November football so if you can compliment them with 6-8 good solid club footballers then they could do damage.  Can understand why they might be slight favourites given the Murphy factor and also the bounce of winning the title again and maybe a sense of unfinished business from the last one as they did go on the lash after it.  Maybe a greater focus this time.

However, against that you have a very experienced St Gall's team who have been down this road before and know what is needed to win it.  The one thing that doesn't win generally in these types of games are the ultra defensive teams as you need to be able to have a good spread of scorers as generally the teams are generally fairly evenly matched in terms of fitness and size so the team with the greater know how will always have a distinct advantage.  Will be an interesting one alright.

Big Bonner will be a handful too.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 30, 2013, 10:30:35 AM
Is Kevin McGourty playing or suspended?

St Galls have a lot of experience in ulster and should really be favourites but could be tough enough and they haven't waltzed antrim this year which they usually do. However I think they've done as much as needed to.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 30, 2013, 10:36:26 AM
I saw Glenswilly beat Cavan Gaels in 2011 , think it was a week after they won their first Co Final. Most of the team had been on the drink all week and hadn't done much preparation for the Gaels game but turned up and beat the Gaels in Breffni . Latton beat them in the next round in Donegal, I think Glenswilly were confident of beating Latton, so they might have some extra hunger on Sunday, although  Galls are an experienced  team .

Bonner is a good footballer , recalled to the Donegal panel for next seaon and Gary McFadden  is another good footballer, good at free's.
Post by: redcard on October 30, 2013, 11:01:08 AM

Micheal should have picked it up McFadden threw it and Bonnar was in the square  8)
Post by: Hardy on October 30, 2013, 11:17:26 AM
Quote from: redcard on October 30, 2013, 11:01:08 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PkLQyK6quM4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PkLQyK6quM4)

Bonnar was in the square  8)

Spot on. But it was the big square.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 30, 2013, 11:21:51 AM
Quote from: redcard on October 30, 2013, 11:01:08 AM

Micheal should have picked it up McFadden threw it and Bonnar was in the square  8)

He wasn't in the square when the ball was played though!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 30, 2013, 01:56:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 30, 2013, 10:30:35 AM
Is Kevin McGourty playing or suspended?

St Galls have a lot of experience in ulster and should really be favourites but could be tough enough and they haven't waltzed antrim this year which they usually do. However I think they've done as much as needed to.

Suspended and not playing I hear had he been not suspended, got his 8 weeks reduced also. Kevin be the first to admit he's not fit. We've been stiffled this year Tommy, don't how many games you have been to but we've played against packed defences all the time, really hard to break down. I'd be worried if Glenswilly leave Murphy up front on his own a draw our players out and lob in the big ball to him and Andy, though in fairness Andy is playing really well lately.

Should be a craic tussle, hopefully we are cute enough to sneak through
Post by: J70 on October 30, 2013, 02:30:34 PM
Don't forget Colin Kelly. Along with Ciaran Bonner, that's two men who have played for the county and should have been on the Donegal panel over the past few years, if they'd wanted it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 30, 2013, 02:37:10 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 30, 2013, 02:30:34 PM
Don't forget Colin Kelly. Along with Ciaran Bonner, that's two men who have played for the county and should have been on the Donegal panel over the past few years, if they'd wanted it.

I've booked a room in Jacksons too, ah well at least we'll have a cracking Saturday, Racing at Down Royal, Jackson for 6 ish!!
Post by: theticklemister on October 30, 2013, 11:52:53 PM
Youse are all tubes; Galls will walk this. Can't believe they are 11/10.

-Tradition
-Winners of Donegal championship do feck all in Ulster
-St.Galls are previous Ulster and All-Ireland champions
-Donegal cship this year was poor. Look at the other 3 semi-finalists
- Galls use to playing football at this time of year and will know the craic with the weather
- Kevin McGourty is not playing

All the above are massive pluses for the Milltown men. Especially the last.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 31, 2013, 12:09:26 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 30, 2013, 11:52:53 PM

-Tradition
- Galls use to playing football at this time of year and will know the craic with the weather

We are actually going into this game with our strongest panel, maybe one injury but strongest panel for this time of year, only downside is the fact that we are aging every year. I think this will be a really tight game with they tactics employed but hope we come through by 1/2 points

Ladbrookes are giving money away I think, a lot of the games this week are going to be tight, they have a bet 'close call' a draw or either team to win by four or less points! Generally 1/2 or 4/9
Post by: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 09:58:40 PM

-Tradition

I will be lumping on Glensilly after reading you're analysis. Tradition didn't mean much when Kilcoo beat Galls last year.
Post by: tommysmith on October 31, 2013, 10:03:20 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 09:58:40 PM

-Tradition

I will be lumping on Glensilly after reading you're analysis. Tradition didn't mean much when Kilcoo beat Galls last year.

Will put the docket or print screen of betting account here so we can see how much you are lumping on ?
Post by: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 10:17:15 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on October 31, 2013, 10:03:20 PM

-Tradition

Will put the docket or print screen of betting account here so we can see how much you are lumping on ?

Not online, that ok?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 31, 2013, 10:45:14 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 10:17:15 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on October 31, 2013, 10:03:20 PM

-Tradition

Not online, that ok?

Then photograph it and throw it online here ;) A fiver is not a lump
Post by: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 10:47:20 PM
Part of an accum tbh, along with the other 3 Quarter final games. All very close games.
Post by: rrhf on October 31, 2013, 10:59:34 PM
I'd go as far as to say him and cooper are the best 2 footballers since Canavan
Post by: haranguerer on November 01, 2013, 05:33:58 AM
He's good, but in terms of being worth the admission fee alone, he's no Seamie Quigley
Post by: tommysmith on November 01, 2013, 01:49:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 10:47:20 PM
Part of an accum tbh, along with the other 3 Quarter final games. All very close games.

Good man fire it up so we can see this lump sum you are investing.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 01, 2013, 04:46:30 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on November 01, 2013, 01:49:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 31, 2013, 10:47:20 PM

Good man fire it up so we can see this lump sum you are investing.

20 euro :) big dolla
Post by: jftj on November 03, 2013, 05:12:01 AM
Galls are serious value here.i would have priced them1/2 or8/13.bookies have got it wrong.oisin and Jamie gone from cross,galls smell that elusive win against cross and will be well up for this years cship.
Post by: jftj on November 03, 2013, 05:40:40 AM
What bookies have galls underdogs Darren,can't find one.will be lumping on.
Post by: armaghniac on November 03, 2013, 06:25:13 PM
I think your bet was subject to Murphy's law.
Post by: theticklemister on November 03, 2013, 07:04:16 PM
I stand corrected in my prediction.

Je St.Galls must have fallen from grace. I knew they were making hard work of it in Antrim but I thought they would come good. The oul legs must be catching up on them
Post by: StephenC on November 03, 2013, 07:27:33 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 03, 2013, 07:04:16 PM

Je St.Galls must have fallen from grace. I knew they were making hard work of it in Antrim but I thought they would come good. The oul legs must be catching up on them

Aye, cause it sure as hell wasn't  the fact that Glenswilly are a good team now was it.
Post by: theticklemister on November 03, 2013, 07:59:26 PM
Quote from: StephenC on November 03, 2013, 07:27:33 PM

Aye, cause it sure as hell wasn't  the fact that Glenswilly are a good team now was it.

The Donegal championship has never done anything for me to back a Donegal representative success and this Glenswilly win will not change my mind. Although I fancy them against Roslea
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2013, 08:04:47 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 03, 2013, 07:59:26 PM

The Donegal championship has never done anything for me to back a Donegal representative success and this Glenswilly win will not change my mind. Although I fancy them against Roslea

You would have to fancy them to make the final  and given the games that the teams on the other side of the draw will have endured don't be surprised if Glenswilly win it outright.
Post by: FermGael on November 03, 2013, 09:21:42 PM
Would not go ruling out Roslea.
Have one of the most talented footballers in ulster playing

Post by: StephenC on November 03, 2013, 09:30:19 PM

All of that is fair and true - our club Ulster record is poor. But your post suggested that Glenswilly won because of a fall from grace by St Galls rather than acknowledging any possibility that they were simply the better team.
Post by: theticklemister on November 03, 2013, 11:18:27 PM
Quote from: StephenC on November 03, 2013, 09:30:19 PM

All of that is fair and true - our club Ulster record is poor. But your post suggested that Glenswilly won because of a fall from grace by St Galls rather than acknowledging any possibility that they were simply the better team.

For that I apologise, as that I really could not believe the price of the Galls!
Post by: haranguerer on November 04, 2013, 09:23:14 AM
Going by the Irish news st galls should have won at their leisure. I don't think I've ever saw a report be as adamant a ref got it wrong re the penalty either.

Looking forward to Glenswilly v Roslea, see if this Murphy lad is as good as quigley ;)
Post by: FermGael on November 04, 2013, 09:39:11 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 04, 2013, 09:23:14 AM
Going by the Irish news st galls should have won at their leisure. I don't think I've ever saw a report be as adamant a ref got it wrong re the penalty either.

Looking forward to Glenswilly v Roslea, see if this Murphy lad is as good as quigley ;)
Do not know if he is in the same class. 
Post by: Saffrongael on November 04, 2013, 09:44:08 AM

Same was said last year against Kilcoo, doesent matter how much of the ball you have if you don't have players that can take scores you won't win.
Post by: Fuzzman on November 04, 2013, 11:49:41 AM
Were any of ye at the game yesterday?
How did MM play?

I can help but notice the number of games where he only gets 1 or 2 points from play.
Does he not shoot as much as he used to?
Post by: Ultán on November 04, 2013, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: FermGael on November 04, 2013, 09:39:11 AM

Seán is playing just as well as Shéamus at the moment. One of his points yesterday was sheer class.
Post by: screenexile on November 04, 2013, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on November 04, 2013, 11:49:41 AM
How did MM play?

I can help but notice the number of games where he only gets 1 or 2 points from play.

Probably being double/triple marked would have an effect on that!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 04, 2013, 12:55:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 04, 2013, 12:19:27 PM
How did MM play?

Probably being double/triple marked would have an effect on that!

He was marked by one player yesterday, he wasn't like this super player he hit a couple of aimless balls and lost possession a lot. He scored a great point and his 45 near the end was a monster kick
Post by: haranguerer on November 04, 2013, 01:13:01 PM
Quote from: Ultán on November 04, 2013, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: FermGael on November 04, 2013, 09:39:11 AM

Seán is playing just as well as Shéamus at the moment. One of his points yesterday was sheer class.

That is very true, I had almost written we'll see if he's as good as either, but I didn't want the lads to think I wasn't serious :)

It was an outrageous fetch and finish, a few great flicks too.
Post by: jftj on November 04, 2013, 01:15:52 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 31, 2013, 10:59:34 PM
I'd go as far as to say him and cooper are the best 2 footballers since Canavan
Murphy has a lot to prove to be even mentioned alongside Oisin mc conville nevermind cooper and the king of them all Canavan.
Post by: J70 on November 04, 2013, 02:24:07 PM
How did MM play?

As with Donegal, he's their primary creator/target man, not necessarily scorer.

Still a superb finisher when he gets the chance though.
Post by: orangeman on November 04, 2013, 02:43:51 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 04, 2013, 02:24:07 PM
How did MM play?

At club level, Murphy would be a nightmare.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 04, 2013, 03:02:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 04, 2013, 02:43:51 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 04, 2013, 02:24:07 PM
How did MM play?

At club level, Murphy would be a nightmare.

Lads I didn't see it, not in the same mould as Osin but I'd rather have an Osin on my team than a Murphy. Horses for courses. Isolated up front, long ball into the corner or middle is a 50/50 IMO. They scored more than us and we missed more than they scored!!
Post by: Fuzzman on November 04, 2013, 03:17:18 PM
But that's my point. As he's so strong and such a good ball winner would he not be better played as Donegal play McFadden. I'd say he's a much better footballer than McFadden yet Colm seems to get a lot more scores from play than MM does.

I can appreciate a lot of teams will double mark him if he's playing at FF but even Sean Cavanagh seems to get a lot more scoring chances than him from MF or half forward.
All I'm asking is do managers get the most out of him.
Post by: rrhf on November 04, 2013, 05:44:00 PM
Yes but give the lad time. He has captained his team to an all Ireland senior so mc conville never managed to do that or cooper.i agree with you that  He certainly has a long way before he makes Canavan status but then again its a benchmark may never be surpassed. Michael beefcakes Murphy is one of the stars of today's game though he can't worry about yesterday's men  so good luck to him.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 04, 2013, 06:11:52 PM
oh i take Murphy over McConville, thank u very much
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2013, 06:33:42 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 04, 2013, 05:44:00 PM
Yes but give the lad time. He has captained his team to an all Ireland senior so mc conville never managed to do that or cooper.i agree with you that  He certainly has a long way before he makes Canavan status but then again its a benchmark may never be surpassed. Michael beefcakes Murphy is one of the stars of today's game though he can't worry about yesterday's men  so good luck to him.

So, by your logic, if you didn't happen to raise Sam, that makes you less of a player? McConville was just as important to Armagh in 02 as the captain, McGeeney was. And Cooper was far more vital in Kerrys win in 2006/07 that Declan O'Sullivan was.

There can be half a dozen leaders in any team in their own right, but just one captain. But just because you're not captain, doesn't suggest you're any less of a player.
Post by: rrhf on November 04, 2013, 07:07:51 PM
No but at 24 Michael Murphy is way ahead of where Oisin was at the same age, would you not agree?
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2013, 07:44:36 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 04, 2013, 07:07:51 PM
No but at 24 Michael Murphy is way ahead of where Oisin was at the same age, would you not agree?

Oisin was 24 in 2000. He'd already won 3 AI club titles, and probably Cross and Armagh's main man. 2-7 in an Ulster final in 1999. 1-7 v Seamus Moynihan in 2000 semi. Thats just the high profile scores. He had scored a shitload of points and goals at club and county.

I think there's a shitload more to come from Murphy, providing he stays injury free. Both players have/had achieved a lot at such a young age. But they have slightly different roles in the team, but as fine a player as Murphy is, Oisin had achieved more by 24. Helped no doubt by the success of Cross.
Post by: rrhf on November 04, 2013, 09:43:13 PM
Can't argue with too much of that.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 05, 2013, 07:42:58 PM
I never really looked at football club honours when comparing county men for the simple reason some may not play on a strong team, Pat Spillane won 8 all-irelands, as many kerry championships on the divisional side, but his own club went no farther than intermediate in Kerry, i believed he say they were in division 5 for a while. Saying McConville was better cause he happened to be part of a great cross team winning club all-irelands doesn't make him a better palyer. Glenswilly would not have the numbers crossmaglen have, and would not be expected to contest regularly club finals.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 05, 2013, 07:59:03 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 05, 2013, 07:42:58 PM
I never really looked at football club honours when comparing county men for the simple reason some may not play on a strong team, Pat Spillane won 8 all-irelands, as many kerry championships on the divisional side, but his own club went no farther than intermediate in Kerry, i believed he say they were in division 5 for a while. Saying McConville was better cause he happened to be part of a great cross team winning club all-irelands doesn't make him a better palyer. Glenswilly would not have the numbers crossmaglen have, and would not be expected to contest regularly club finals.

Pat Spillane won an All Ireland club with a college team, beat the mighty Johnnies team from Belfast that year. Some great club players never get to play for teams winning Senior All Irelands cause they play for shite county teams ;)

McConville was a great county player also and huge club player. Murphy and Osin are two different type of players, depends what you're looking for, a free takers and scorer from play? or Murphy great target man and free taker
Post by: Jinxy on November 06, 2013, 09:46:09 AM
Ollie Murphy was better.
Post by: rrhf on November 06, 2013, 07:46:39 PM
Club form was poor
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2013, 09:21:27 PM
Murphy was outstanding today for Glenswilly, without him they be fairly ordinary, i go as far to say that he going the way of Peter Canavan in that 1 player can make all the different on a ordinary team. He probably the number one player in Ireland right now and that's with the gooch on great from too. Hell them 2 in the same team would be a f**king nightmare to counteract. has great off the ball running and most importantly vision. he keeps on playing the way he does, he go down as one of the all time greats. He the different between Donegal being a good team and been an all-Ireland winning one.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2013, 09:23:33 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2013, 09:21:27 PM
Murphy was outstanding today for Glenswilly, without him they be fairly ordinary, i go as far to say that he going the way of Peter Canavan in that 1 player can make all the different on a ordinary team. He probably the number one player in Ireland right now and that's with the gooch on great from too. Hell them 2 in the same team would be a f**king nightmare to counteract. has great off the ball running and most importantly vision. he keeps on playing the way he does, he go down as one of the all time greats. He the different between Donegal being a good team and been an all-Ireland winning one.

Seriously? Flukey goal, a great point that was it, a way off the ones you have mentioned
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2013, 09:33:09 PM
It was his general play that made him stand out, even Ballinderry supporters would admit that, played deep alot of the time, done alot of the donkey work for his team, when he went to fullward his teammates couldn't get the ball into him. he has come on alot from the player who stayed on the edge of the square and scored a goal and 3 a game. Even Canavan when he played had to have the players put the ball into him. he a special player and i love to have him playing for Derry
Post by: haze on December 01, 2013, 09:44:48 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2013, 09:33:09 PM
It was his general play that made him stand out, even Ballinderry supporters would admit that, played deep alot of the time, done alot of the donkey work for his team, when he went to fullward his teammates couldn't get the ball into him. he has come on alot from the player who stayed on the edge of the square and scored a goal and 3 a game. Even Canavan when he played had to have the players put the ball into him. he a special player and i love to have him playing for Derry

Serious? I'd love to have playing for Laois, doing no donkey work and scoring 1-3 a game from edge of square. Some people never happy  ::)

As brilliant as he is, give me a Gooch any day
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 09:16:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2013, 09:23:33 PM

Seriously? Flukey goal, a great point that was it, a way off the ones you have mentioned

Jaysus Milltown were you at the match? If he didn't score he was the last pass for all of Glenswilly's scores... Every time he got the ball the crowd was on edge. I thought he was superb and only that Glenswilly have too many average footballers they could well have won the game because Ballinderry were far from their best.
Post by: rodney trotter on December 02, 2013, 09:22:54 AM
He had a great game, lazy analysis to judge a player on what he scored from play, which was 1-3... nothing wrong with that.
Set up lots of moves too.
Post by: J OGorman on December 02, 2013, 09:30:43 AM
MM was involved in absolutely everything yesterday. .an incredible footballer.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2013, 09:54:19 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 09:16:27 AM

Jaysus Milltown were you at the match? If he didn't score he was the last pass for all of Glenswilly's scores... Every time he got the ball the crowd was on edge. I thought he was superb and only that Glenswilly have too many average footballers they could well have won the game because Ballinderry were far from their best.

I was at the game he played against us and I listened to the game yesterday on the radio, I can only judge it on that, I seen a few stray passes that day and he bought a few frees also, as do most forwards.

I just don't think he's in the Linden, Cooper and Cavanan style. Though they are different types of forwards. He's probably in the Sean Cavanagh type player for me. I still think Murphy is a class act but he's really got to find a position
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 10:03:19 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2013, 09:54:19 AM

I was at the game he played against us and I listened to the game yesterday on the radio, I can only judge it on that, I seen a few stray passes that day and he bought a few frees also, as do most forwards.

I just don't think he's in the Linden, Cooper and Cavanan style. Though they are different types of forwards. He's probably in the Sean Cavanagh type player for me. I still think Murphy is a class act but he's really got to find a position

I thought he suffered from the opposite yesterday he was getting fouled a good few times and because he's big and he's Michael Murphy the ref let play go on. A few ones are giving out about the ref but I thought he did fairly well yesterday.
Post by: CD on December 02, 2013, 10:06:46 AM

Murphy is a one man team for Glenswilly. He dragged them to that final almost single handedly and on another day Ballinderry would have hammered them. Well done to Murphy for getting them there - a brilliant achievement by a fantastic footballer.
Post by: CD on December 02, 2013, 10:09:11 AM
Quote from: CD on December 02, 2013, 10:06:46 AM

Murphy is a one man team for Glenswilly. He dragged them to that final almost single handedly and on another day Ballinderry would have hammered them. Well done to Murphy for getting them there - a brilliant achievement by a fantastic footballer.

And don't talk to me about former all star Neil Gallagher.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2013, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: CD on December 02, 2013, 10:09:11 AM

I thought against us he was their best player
Post by: sheamy on December 02, 2013, 10:36:44 AM
Time to start the Gareth McKinless thread I think. Murphy will remember him.
Post by: CD on December 02, 2013, 12:25:05 PM
Quote from: sheamy on December 02, 2013, 10:36:44 AM
Time to start the Gareth McKinless thread I think. Murphy will remember him.

Had a fabulous game yesterday. I'm sure Brian McIvor was rubbing his hands together after watching his performance. Great prospect.
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2013, 12:56:07 PM
Should be interesting next summer all right. Murphy has torn  Derry asunder in the past when they'd no one who could handle him.
Post by: J OGorman on December 02, 2013, 01:04:52 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2013, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: CD on December 02, 2013, 10:09:11 AM

I thought against us he was their best player

Galls must be in bother so
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2013, 01:43:30 PM
We are well past our best, heading towards a transitional period, we have done well and won the big one but have under achieved a few times. Hopefully with good structures in place we can build another decent team.

We've never had a main player over the years, just a hard working team. Ballinderry have the same, young old players blended well, and what a sub to bring on in Mulldoon, who salvaged a draw against us in Casement with a injury time goal the year they won the All Ireland >:(

Post by: jftj on December 04, 2013, 05:38:19 AM

i have to agree there.murphy is a ff full stop.i played mcrory cup against tohjll,brewster,mc cartan etc and the first time i saw canavan kick a ball[ulster minor league in coalisland]i thought tyrone had beamed hjm in from outer space.murphy will not hit these heights.id guess top 20-30 all time great along with joe mc kenna[very simialar]peter the great out on hjs own.
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2019, 10:21:07 PM
It's time to revive the big man's thread.

Great game today from him. Great player to watch.

Never thought he'd miss that last free to draw the game.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 21, 2019, 10:22:04 PM
He's twice the player Cillian O'Connor is.
Post by: maigheo on July 21, 2019, 10:32:10 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 21, 2019, 10:22:04 PM
Jeez South Dublin Bro you are an idiot. Michael Murphy is a super player and I do not know why you bring C.O.C into it
Post by: under the bar on July 21, 2019, 10:41:47 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 21, 2019, 10:32:10 PM
Jeez South Dublin Bro you are an idiot. Michael Murphy is a super player and I do not know why you bring C.O.C into it

Perhaps 'cos most Dub fans today are glory-hunting knob-jockeys?
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 10:51:37 PM
Has Murphy ever been sent off?
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2019, 11:00:54 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 10:51:37 PM

Yep, v Cavan in 2011. Unfairly though.

And v Galway 2 or 3 years ago when they lost heavily.
Post by: moysider on July 21, 2019, 11:53:20 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 21, 2019, 10:32:10 PM

+1. You couldn't make some of the shit here up.
Post by: J70 on July 22, 2019, 12:19:16 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 21, 2019, 11:00:54 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 10:51:37 PM

Yep, v Cavan in 2011. Unfairly though.

And v Galway 2 or 3 years ago when they lost heavily.

I remember him getting the line in Omagh in a league game six or seven years ago. Think it was two yellows though.
Post by: J70 on July 22, 2019, 12:20:56 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 21, 2019, 10:21:07 PM

He's been immense since he returned to the team late in the league. Player of the year level performances, although he won't be a contender unless we make the AI final.
Post by: omochain on July 22, 2019, 06:46:24 AM
The player of the Championship so far. Most important player to his team and he always comes through in the clutch. Now if he had sense he would move to Keady ;)
Post by: Tubberman on July 22, 2019, 07:04:28 AM
Quote from: omochain on July 22, 2019, 06:46:24 AM
The player of the Championship so far. Most important player to his team and he always comes through in the clutch. Now if he had sense he would move to Keady ;)

He'd return to his parents county and we'd finally win the shagging thing - maybe
Post by: under the bar on July 22, 2019, 08:31:00 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 22, 2019, 07:04:28 AM

He'd return to his parents county and we'd finally win the shagging thing - maybe

You might need something more than just MM returning for that, maybe an Irish Ebola epidemic ;D
Post by: rosnarun on July 22, 2019, 04:00:54 PM

Id rather win or lose  it fairly that have the likes of murphy on the team.
Post by: inthrough on July 22, 2019, 11:38:53 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 22, 2019, 04:00:54 PM

"The likes of Murphy"  What the hell does that mean?
Post by: Armagh18 on July 22, 2019, 11:57:17 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 22, 2019, 11:38:53 PM

Wouldn't dignify that with an answer if I was you. Any football fan knows Murphy's an absolute class act and has been one of the top players in Ireland for the best part of a decade.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 23, 2019, 06:26:02 AM

Before or after he milked the 10metres?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 23, 2019, 10:38:00 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on July 23, 2019, 06:26:02 AM

I actually thought he might.  He missed a simple one out of the hands earlier.  For the last one, he had put it on the ground but then changed his mind.  When he hits them off the floor he never misses though. 
Post by: inthrough on July 23, 2019, 10:40:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on July 23, 2019, 06:26:02 AM

Part of what makes him great ;D ;D ;D
Post by: BennyCake on July 23, 2019, 11:19:22 AM
What happened to the Kerry v Donegal thread?  :o
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 23, 2019, 12:45:57 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 22, 2019, 11:57:17 PM

Wouldn't dignify that with an answer if I was you. Any football fan knows Murphy's an absolute class act and has been one of the top players in Ireland for the best part of a decade.

Post by: nrico2006 on July 23, 2019, 01:24:16 PM
One of the few players from a county outside my own that I can say only good things about.
Post by: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 23, 2019, 12:45:57 PM

Wouldn’t dignify that with an answer if I was you. Any football fan knows Murphy’s an absolute class act and has been one of the top players in Ireland for the best part of a decade.

murphy is one of the nastiest hoors in the game always mouthing whining trying to intimidate ETC  but to refs he's the baby Jesus
Post by: Jayop on July 23, 2019, 03:27:52 PM
Read a lovely story about him on twitter today. On the way back from Croker last weekend the team bus pulled into a service station on Cavan and seen a load of weens in Donegal jerseys. Murphy comes over for a chat. One of them tells him their granny is in hospital so Murphy records a video message for them to send to her. Made everyone's day especially the granny.

Whatever you want to say about the man on the pitch that's a class act. He's an amazing footballer, he does seem to get away with blue murder but a pure gent off the pitch going by what I hear anyway.
Post by: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 04:13:41 PM
I really don't care what player do when they are not playing that's no concern of any body .
its their conduct on the pitch only that Supporters can only judge them .
im sure the Magee  volunteers in puppy shelters but is still  a bollixes on the pitch
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 23, 2019, 04:28:51 PM
Enjoyable watch here on Michael in "The Toughest Trade" from March 2017...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1T1gCEBVpY
Post by: Jayop on July 23, 2019, 04:35:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 04:13:41 PM
I really don't care what player do when they are not playing that's no concern of any body .

im sure the Magee  volunteers in puppy shelters but is still  a bollixes on the pitch

What a load of utter bollocks. This is the GAA and without getting all misty eyed of course you judge an amatuer player with how he conducts himself off the pitch as well as on, just the same as you would do with a club player and how he maybe helps out with the younger players etc. There's a few lads that go over and above to interact with supporters, especially younger fans and those are the lads that these young fans will put on a pedestal. Murphy is seemingly great, Aiden O'Shea is another.

Honestly don't understand why some people bother with GAA at all. Like I think Johnny Cooper is a complete kn**ker on the pitch but that's kinda his job and he's f**king excellent at it. Does that mean I have a lesser opinion of him as a man? Does it shite. Because I'm a grown up with the ability to separate things logically.

Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 23, 2019, 04:43:13 PM
The Mayo lad is well within his rights to hate Murphy. He does have a bit of a scummy streak in him as seen in his late hit against the Cavan goalie.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 23, 2019, 04:49:20 PM
Murphy has fired in a few lates hits in his time but nothing that he hasn't been entitled too given the abuse he takes.  I would never look at him and think he is a sc**bag for anything he has done on the pitch, run of the mill stuff really.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2019, 04:50:01 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 23, 2019, 12:45:57 PM

murphy is one of the nastiest hoors in the game always mouthing whining trying to intimidate ETC  but to refs he's the baby Jesus
A bit like Naomh Cillian (na n-uileann géara)??
Post by: Jayop on July 23, 2019, 04:51:28 PM
Exactly. I can't believe I'm in here defending a Donegal player but he's don't nothing that many other players from every county does all the time. My only gripe is that he gets away with a lot more but that's down to the refs to decide on, not him.

If you can't seperate the player from the man then you really need to go outside and talk to people more. This isn't soccer ffs.
Post by: inthrough on July 23, 2019, 05:05:19 PM
While I agree that he does suffer from the odd rush of blood to the head, the hit on the Cavan keeper being an example, I can't help but think it's his sheer bulk & physicallity that gets him into trouble at times.

He is a collosus & a hit from him is always going to look & feel worse than from the average player.
Post by: Angelo on July 23, 2019, 10:33:54 PM
Murphy is a bully on the pitch. The best players have to be able to look after themselves and cross that line from time to time.

He's an extraordinary footballer and it's great to see him back to his brilliant best after a few years of looking like he was going to be flogged playing everywhere for Donegal. The thing I admire most about Murphy is that there doesn't seem to be any ego about him, he's a superstar of gaelic football but he plays whatever role he can give his team the most from - even if it's the donkey work.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 24, 2019, 01:34:01 AM
Talking to Murphy and big gallagher at a Derry game before the Ulster final with Tyrone few yrs bck. 2 lads talked away. Nice as you get.
Post by: larryin89 on July 24, 2019, 06:25:10 AM
Will aido nullify his influence the next day or would it be a job for lee Keegan , I think I'd go with Keegan , perhaps it sounds a little unorthodox for an attacking hb but he's not playing great ,obviously still a niggle but a man marking job on a star  brings the best out in him .
Post by: StephenC on July 24, 2019, 09:14:10 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 24, 2019, 06:25:10 AM
Will aido nullify his influence the next day or would it be a job for lee Keegan , I think I'd go with Keegan , perhaps it sounds a little unorthodox for an attacking hb but he's not playing great ,obviously still a niggle but a man marking job on a star  brings the best out in him .

Aidan O'S did a great job against MM in the 2nd half of the league game in Cbar.
Post by: rosnarun on July 24, 2019, 12:17:08 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 23, 2019, 04:35:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 04:13:41 PM

What a load of utter bollocks. This is the GAA and without getting all misty eyed of course you judge an amatuer player with how he conducts himself off the pitch as well as on, just the same as you would do with a club player and how he maybe helps out with the younger players etc. There's a few lads that go over and above to interact with supporters, especially younger fans and those are the lads that these young fans will put on a pedestal. Murphy is seemingly great, Aiden O'Shea is another.

Honestly don't understand why some people bother with GAA at all. Like I think Johnny Cooper is a complete kn**ker on the pitch but that's kinda his job and he's f**king excellent at it. Does that mean I have a lesser opinion of him as a man? Does it shite. Because I'm a grown up with the ability to separate things logically.

you start off say my post was a load of bollocks and that is you right but when you end it by basically making the same point as I do im confused.

what #t im saying I don't care how well MM or any other player treat young kids in wheelchairs and grannies in nursing homes that just make them possibly a good person, if their motivation is right and they  DO it when the cameras aren't rolling . that's his personal private business
what is of concern to me is how he behaves on the pitch and that leaves an awful lot to be desired and no he does not get a lot of abuse from the opposition because  a strong wind would knock him down and he wins a free  which he invariably scores .
Post by: ck on July 24, 2019, 04:05:43 PM
Some funny comments here on Murphy.
My own view is that he gets away with more than most players in the pitch. Late tackles etc that could be reds are never reds, always yellows. In the Div 2 league final against Meath he should have got a red card for a very poor tackle along the sideline but got a yellow, minutes later he pulled down a player which was a yellow and the ref just warned him. That brings me onto my second point - he absolutely influences referees, no doubt about it. You see him constantly beside refs shouting at them and he usually gets away with it. He manipulates decisions, steals yards and takes opposition players out of it.

Now I'm not saying he's trying to do any worse than any other player but I am saying he gets away with more. There's no doubting he's one of the greats, but maybe he uses that greatness to influence games by manipulating referees?
Post by: tyrone08 on July 24, 2019, 05:25:11 PM
You wont find 2 worse players for mouthing to the ref than Murphy and ryan mchugh. Always over complaining. I remember years ago in an article where Murphy admitted that peter harte got special attention in a donegal v tyrone game in 2013.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 24, 2019, 05:29:47 PM
Sean Cavanagh was the same. As were the o'ses. Well more dara I think. If you read shefflin's book he was always at it too.

Murphy can't tackle. Sometimes he tackles very lazily and sometimes cynically. He's that strong he could wreck someone easy enough.

He's not quite the monster he's being made out but not exactly clean either.
Post by: J70 on July 24, 2019, 05:32:41 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 24, 2019, 05:25:11 PM
You wont find 2 worse players for mouthing to the ref than Murphy and ryan mchugh. Always over complaining. I remember years ago in an article where Murphy admitted that peter harte got special attention in a donegal v tyrone game in 2013.

I remember Murphy getting plenty of special attention in that championship game that year too.

But carry on.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 24, 2019, 05:43:18 PM
Jaysus imagine paying special attention to one of the oppositions best players. Donegal should be ashamed. Ffs have you watched this sport before?
Post by: J70 on July 24, 2019, 05:55:10 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 24, 2019, 05:43:18 PM
Jaysus imagine paying special attention to one of the oppositions best players. Donegal should be ashamed. Ffs have you watched this sport before?

There's a few Tyrone boys on here who seem unusually oversensitive to the perceived misconduct of various Donegal GAA figures.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 24, 2019, 06:15:30 PM
Quote from: ck on July 24, 2019, 04:05:43 PM
Some funny comments here on Murphy.
My own view is that he gets away with more than most players in the pitch. Late tackles etc that could be reds are never reds, always yellows. In the Div 2 league final against Meath he should have got a red card for a very poor tackle along the sideline but got a yellow, minutes later he pulled down a player which was a yellow and the ref just warned him. That brings me onto my second point - he absolutely influences referees, no doubt about it. You see him constantly beside refs shouting at them and he usually gets away with it. He manipulates decisions, steals yards and takes opposition players out of it.

Now I'm not saying he's trying to do any worse than any other player but I am saying he gets away with more. There's no doubting he's one of the greats, but maybe he uses that greatness to influence games by manipulating referees?

Fair play to him then. That's a skill in itself and everybody would utilise it if they could.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 24, 2019, 08:40:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 24, 2019, 05:55:10 PM

There's a few Tyrone boys on here who seem unusually oversensitive to the perceived misconduct of various Donegal GAA figures.

To be fair we get enough ourselves. Take a look at the players fake injury thread and the usual WUM posts from Lenny, screen etc. Wrecks decent threads. And your right we've a fair number of similar posters from Tyrone as well. T'is little better than Hogan stand at times.
Post by: tyrone08 on July 24, 2019, 09:42:35 PM

The special attention I was referring to was sledging which sure apparently only tyrone players do. The only reason he admitted it was there was lots of rumours going around that they were giving him abuse about michaela. He denied this was the case he did admit they were giving verbal abuse.
Post by: J70 on July 24, 2019, 11:12:39 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 24, 2019, 09:42:35 PM

The special attention I was referring to was sledging which sure apparently only tyrone players do. The only reason he admitted it was there was lots of rumours going around that they were giving him abuse about michaela. He denied this was the case he did admit they were giving verbal abuse.

It was the 2011 game where those allegations were going around, including being vigourously voiced on here, all without an ounce of evidence.

Kevin Cassidy detailed the yapping at Harte during in the Bogue book.

He also said he ended up feeling bad for Harte as his game went to pieces and ended up easing off on the shouting at him when he was lining up the frees.

And he also spoke about all the yapping the likes of Ricey and the lads used to send their way.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 26, 2019, 10:30:01 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 24, 2019, 11:12:39 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 24, 2019, 09:42:35 PM

It was the 2011 game where those allegations were going around, including being vigourously voiced on here, all without an ounce of evidence.

Kevin Cassidy detailed the yapping at Harte during in the Bogue book.

He also said he ended up feeling bad for Harte as his game went to pieces and ended up easing off on the shouting at him when he was lining up the frees.

And he also spoke about all the yapping the likes of Ricey and the lads used to send their way.

Tit for tat.

Nothing stuff.

Murphy is a class act. I'm from Tyrone, these lads do what they do - No point crying over what someone might have said, Murphy got plenty of nasty belts from McMahons et al in the day and not a word of it.

Pisses me off this back and forth 'but he done this...'. Who cares. They are on the pitch willing to do anything to win for their counties and to be honest, it's not really any of our business.

Take county lenses off for a minute and appreciate a true giant of the game when he's at his pomp.
Post by: JoeSoap on July 26, 2019, 12:33:50 PM
He is our greatest ever player, there's no doubt about it. All those years of nonsense punditry talking about "Murphy should be in at the square", most of them hadn't a clue what Michael does for Donegal in reality. He seems to be really enjoying his football this year, it's the first year in a while that he has come into the season without any niggly injuries that won't clear up fully. I think you'll start seeing him a lot more as a centre-forward type, he was playing some lovely kick passes into McBrearty and Brennan in the first half v Kerry before the midfield injuries had him play much deeper.

He gives absolutely everything for his club and county, an incredible leader from such a young age as well.
Post by: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 01:07:21 PM
In my opinion he is the best player in the country. He has it all size, skill and a great footballing brian. Also lead an unheralded Letterkenny IT team to Trench cup success earlier this year. Very good with kids reagrding photos, autographs and event apperances, decent fella.
One small thing I dont like about his game, is he constantly leads with the hand and pushes opponents out of the way, per rule book this is not allowed, but he gets away with it.
Overall fantastic player and very decent fella, Donegal are fortunate to have him.
Post by: rosnarun on July 26, 2019, 02:25:50 PM
Ive always found it odd that Murphy continually wear the number 14 jersey  even though he has been playing midfield for years .
Is this Just pure Ego showing the management who really runs the time. 'Im Michael murphy I do what I Want?'
Post by: imtommygunn on July 26, 2019, 02:38:00 PM
Maybe he doesn't choose the jersey number?
Post by: JoeSoap on July 26, 2019, 03:02:58 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 26, 2019, 02:25:50 PM
Ive always found it odd that Murphy continually wear the number 14 jersey  even though he has been playing midfield for years .
Is this Just pure Ego showing the management who really runs the time. 'Im Michael murphy I do what I Want?'

What an idiotic statement.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 26, 2019, 03:04:36 PM
Quote from: JoeSoap on July 26, 2019, 03:02:58 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 26, 2019, 02:25:50 PM

What an idiotic statement.

Its not his only one the past week.
Post by: Jayop on July 26, 2019, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 26, 2019, 10:30:01 AM

Tit for tat.

Nothing stuff.

Murphy is a class act. I'm from Tyrone, these lads do what they do - No point crying over what someone might have said, Murphy got plenty of nasty belts from McMahons et al in the day and not a word of it.

Pisses me off this back and forth 'but he done this...'. Who cares. They are on the pitch willing to do anything to win for their counties and to be honest, it's not really any of our business.

Take county lenses off for a minute and appreciate a true giant of the game when he's at his pomp.

Well said. The only comment I made regarding him is that he gets away with a lot from refs but that's not his fault. He's an absolute beast of a player and you'd really struggle to come up with another man at the minute with as much in the locker as he has.

Sean Boylan was saying they are as close to a one man team as he's seen. I don't buy that at all, they have some other truly fantastic players but at the same time above all teams and players in the country, if you take Murphy from that Donegal team they don't look half as tough a prospect. I don't think you could say that about another single top 5/6 team and one player. That's more a testament to him than a slight on the rest of the panel.
Post by: inthrough on July 30, 2019, 09:10:39 AM
Quote from: Jayop on July 26, 2019, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 26, 2019, 10:30:01 AM

Tit for tat.

Nothing stuff.

Well said. The only comment I made regarding him is that he gets away with a lot from refs but that's not his fault. He's an absolute beast of a player and you'd really struggle to come up with another man at the minute with as much in the locker as he has.

Sean Boylan was saying they are as close to a one man team as he's seen. I don't buy that at all, they have some other truly fantastic players but at the same time above all teams and players in the country, if you take Murphy from that Donegal team they don't look half as tough a prospect. I don't think you could say that about another single top 5/6 team and one player. That's more a testament to him than a slight on the rest of the panel.
It's a bit of a double edged sword for Donegal in that the is such a great player that he overshadows the whole team even though there are some great players there.

As for his tackling, I think half the problem is that the is so powerful that a hit from him has far more effect than from most other players. Mind you I do have to agree that he sails close to the wind at times.
Post by: screenexile on August 01, 2019, 04:35:13 PM
Is it just me or are the comparisons between Murphy and O'Shea not fair?? While O'Shea is an excellent player he's nowhere close to the level of ability or skill that Murphy is.

Seems strange to me that they would lump the 2 of them together just because they're big lads!
Post by: skeog on August 01, 2019, 05:45:25 PM
MM is a freak of a man who seems to be in the form of his life this year.
Post by: lenny on August 01, 2019, 05:56:10 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 01, 2019, 04:35:13 PM
Is it just me or are the comparisons between Murphy and O'Shea not fair?? While O'Shea is an excellent player he's nowhere close to the level of ability or skill that Murphy is.

Seems strange to me that they would lump the 2 of them together just because they're big lads!

Murphy can do everything O'Shea can do but he can also score at will in most games.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2019, 11:09:34 PM
Quote from: lenny on August 01, 2019, 05:56:10 PM

Murphy can do everything O'Shea can do but he can also score at will in most games.

Both are similar the in that they are both expected to fill a lot of roles for their team. That is why you will not get Murphy compared to Brian Fenton. Fenton has only one role to fill on the Dublin team. Nothing more is expected of him.
Post by: JoeSoap on August 02, 2019, 12:33:28 PM

I think it's because they're the same age, burst on the scene at similar times and aye, they're similar builds. A big factor too for a good few years, both of them would get horrid treatment from opposition and refs would do nothing to protect them.

But yes I'd say it's probably not fair to compare O'Shea to Murphy on the pitch. I think O'Shea has perhaps suffered in that maybe people think he is a similar player to Murphy and he gets asked to do a lot of different things for Mayo, whereas if he was given a singular role that he could excel at, he would probably be even better than he is now.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 02, 2019, 01:02:53 PM
Remember the day O'Se marked Donaghy. I was one of those moments you remember where you were when you saw it.
Post by: thewobbler on August 02, 2019, 01:07:35 PM
Look I could be wrong here, but I think you'd need to go back to 2012 to find an "at the level expected" performance from Murphy against Mayo. This is surely related to the fact that he rarely comes up against similar physical specimens.

Murphy is clearly a step up on O'Shea (and I mean no disrespect to AOS here, for Murphy is an all time great of the game in my eyes), but it would seem that Aidan and Seamie are among a select few who can reduce Murphy's influence on the game.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 02, 2019, 10:55:47 PM
Murphy better overall footballer.  OShea the better midfielder. I still have Connolly ahead of both fball wise.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2019, 11:20:41 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 02, 2019, 01:07:35 PM
Look I could be wrong here, but I think you'd need to go back to 2012 to find an "at the level expected" performance from Murphy against Mayo. This is surely related to the fact that he rarely comes up against similar physical specimens.

Murphy is clearly a step up on O'Shea (and I mean no disrespect to AOS here, for Murphy is an all time great of the game in my eyes), but it would seem that Aidan and Seamie are among a select few who can reduce Murphy's influence on the game.

Murphy's sheer body size helps him win a lot of ball.He doesn't have that advantage against those two. I think he needs to be further up the field in this game to influence it as they might curb him a bit more again. Not completely but more than anyone else so far this year.
Post by: screenexile on August 03, 2019, 06:52:18 PM
Being well shackled today!!
Post by: tonto1888 on August 03, 2019, 07:04:43 PM
Ye couldn't like him at all
Post by: nrico2006 on August 03, 2019, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 03, 2019, 06:52:18 PM

Really?
Post by: tonto1888 on August 03, 2019, 07:12:59 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 03, 2019, 07:11:59 PM

Really?

Think he spoke a little too soon
Post by: tyrone08 on August 03, 2019, 07:23:22 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 03, 2019, 07:12:59 PM

Really?

Hope this game today shows what kind of player he is. A very dirty person who constantly fouls and seems to constantly get away with it. His overall size.helps him but please don talk about him being the best player in Ireland
Post by: Hound on August 03, 2019, 07:28:03 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on August 03, 2019, 07:23:22 PM

Really?

Hope this game today shows what kind of player he is. A very dirty person who constantly fouls and seems to constantly get away with it. His overall size.helps him but please don talk about him being the best player in Ireland
Some of his teammates letting him down today, he's done all he can
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2019, 07:29:07 PM

Really?

f**k me you're an idiot.

"Very dirty person"
Post by: tyrone08 on August 03, 2019, 07:31:59 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 03, 2019, 07:29:07 PM

Really?

f**k me you're an idiot.

"Very dirty person"

Seriously are you blind. Watch every single time he comes in for a challenge.  Always late and hits the player after the ball is played and is constantly complaining to the ref
Post by: Rudi on September 01, 2019, 10:04:05 PM
First decent analyst today unlike gobdas like Whelan, Spillane, Brolly, O Ses and O Rourke.