GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on November 10, 2008, 01:46:56 PM

Title: Mayo lads re: Tom Parsons
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 10, 2008, 01:46:56 PM
What's that all about? I thought he had no interest in AFL.

http://www.worldfootynews.com/ (http://www.worldfootynews.com/)

Monday, November 10 2008 @ 08:08 PM EST
Contributed by: Brett

The first Gaelic football players from player agent Ricky Nixon's talent search program in Ireland are arriving in Australia. Nixon has sought to become the conduit by which Irish players are introduced to AFL clubs (see Nixon makes good on Irish scouting pledge).

The Age has reported that Conor Meredith (18) and Niall McKeever (17) arrive this week in Australia, McKeever to spend 1 week each with North Melbourne and Richmond, and similarly Meredith with Richmond and St Kilda. James Kielt arrives later to trial with the Roos and possibly the Saints.

Two more players are reportedly due in soon, and 20 year old Tom Parsons has stayed on since the International Rules Tests to look for an AFL contract.

"We have got to look to new markets to find talent, especially with the two new teams (Gold Coast and West Sydney) on the horizon in the next four years and us being hamstrung in the draft by the concessions they will receive," said Richmond football manager Craig Cameron.

Title: Re: Mayo lads re: Tom Parsons
Post by: Tubberman on November 10, 2008, 02:16:49 PM
First I heard of it. Last I heard he said "I love Mayo football. I love Charlestown football" and was looking forward to coming home after the Int'l rules.  ???
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 10, 2008, 02:35:45 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Good man TOM loyal as ever..... i
Post by: Aghdavoyle on November 10, 2008, 02:46:29 PM

Who's niall mckeever?
Post by: mattockranger on November 10, 2008, 03:01:42 PM
as far as i know he's a underage player for antrim
Post by: joemamas on November 10, 2008, 04:29:34 PM
you may want to verify , before you start the character assassination.
Post by: mattockranger on November 10, 2008, 05:47:42 PM
verified.....just got the word of our gerry!!

Post by: imtommygunn on November 10, 2008, 05:57:55 PM
Niall McKeever is from Portglenone.

Not sure what age he is now but think he's a few years older than 17??

Played in the county final last year against Galls.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 11, 2008, 04:07:03 AM
Ah for f**k's sake
Post by: Tubberman on November 11, 2008, 02:39:39 PM
There nothing in the online edition of The Mayo News about this - hopefully the Aussie reporters have got it wrong, because I haven't seen it anywhere in the Irish media.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on November 11, 2008, 03:34:53 PM
I heard from a "source" that he was extremely keen on a move down under but I was relieved when I read that he was committed to Mayo. Unfortunately it looks like they were right.
Post by: stephenite on November 11, 2008, 11:44:27 PM
I don't think he'll make it at AFL to be honest, what position would he play?
Post by: Bod Mor on November 12, 2008, 12:10:24 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 11, 2008, 11:44:27 PM

I'd say he'd fit in at half forward. I hope this isn't true anyway. Fairly depressing if it is.
Post by: moysider on November 12, 2008, 12:14:31 AM

Dont know enough about the game to speculate whether he d make it or not. But they might think he s worth a look.

I did a bit of digging last night when heard about this and I was informed he was back in this country.
Hard to blame any young fella looking for this option now. We re looking at a lot of players being lost to this recession. I can see a lot of small clubs amalgamating now as a lot of the small rural clubs were full of construction workers who are going to have to look further afield.
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2008, 01:20:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on November 12, 2008, 12:14:31 AM

Dont know enough about the game to speculate whether he d make it or not. But they might think he s worth a look.

I did a bit of digging last night when heard about this and I was informed he was back in this country.
Hard to blame any young fella looking for this option now. We re looking at a lot of players being lost to this recession. I can see a lot of small clubs amalgamating now as a lot of the small rural clubs were full of construction workers who are going to have to look further afield.

It'll cost any club feck all to see if he's worth a look, still don't see him making it to be honest. He'll probably get a contract if he wants one - play a year or two getting the shite hammered out of him in the reserve VFL (see Kevin Dyas) and head home with 2 years full time training under his belt - still 22 years of age
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2008, 09:36:13 AM

You're right  - I don't think he'd fit in either - a great GAA player doesn't make a great AFL player.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 12, 2008, 12:05:51 PM
Read towards the bottom of the article, phew!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/1112/1226408554381.html

Walsh latest star to get trial in Australia
In this section »
THE CELEBRATORY tone which greeted Jack O'Connor's return to Kerry football management went a little out of tune yesterday with the news that the county's most promising footballer Tommy Walsh may end up pursuing a career with the Australian Football League.

The 19-year-old Young Footballer of the Year is unquestionably one of Kerry's most exciting talents in years, and yet along with fellow young team-mate David Moran, Walsh has decided to take up a one-week trial with Melbourne-based outfit St Kilda, possibly leading to the offer of a contract for next year.

Both players will travel to Australia in a fortnight's time, with Walsh due to line out for Kerins O'Rahilly's in this Sunday's Kerry county final, also under O'Connor, although club chairman Seán Kissane was last night aghast at the prospect of the game losing another of its most exciting young stars.

"I'm sick of it, to be honest," said Kissane, "the way these young footballers are being treated. You bring them through from the age of 12 or 13 and then they're taken away. But at the same you can't blame the player, and I wish Tommy all the best with whatever he decides to do, but I just wonder where it will all stop."

The offer has come through Australian sports agent Ricky Nixon, who staged the AFL camp in Ireland last August, and speaking on Australian radio, Nixon seemed quite aware the impact of Walsh's potential move: "It probably won't make people in Ireland too happy, but he's coming out," Nixon told Melbourne's SEN radio. "I can't tell you if he'll want to play or stay or if he'll be good enough but he's definitely one of the best talents that I've seen."

Nixon described Walsh as an athletic power forward "in the mould of a Wayne Carey", the AFL star, adding that: "We pulled off a pretty big coup . . . he's previously resisted every attempt to get him out here."

Nixon's programme has already resulted in several other Irish youngsters currently training with AFL clubs, with Conor Meredith of Laois and Niall McKeever of Antrim currently with Richmond. James Kielt of Derry is also set to train with both Kangaroos and St Kilda in coming weeks.

However, Mayo's young talent Tom Parsons, who was part of the Irish team on the International Rules tour to Australia, was also linked with a potential trial in Australia, but which he completely denied yesterday with an obvious sense of bemusement.

"There were some reports in the papers yesterday saying I had actually stayed down in Australia for an extra week in order to try out with a AFL club," said Parsons, a student of civil engineering at Sligo IT. "In fact I was walking down the street today when someone passed me and said, 'I though you were in Australia?'

"I don't know where it came from, but it's absolute total rubbish. I never talked with any club, any agent, nor did I want to. I went to Australia to do my best from Ireland, but I was always intent on coming back, and it never even crossed my mind that I may try out in the AFL.

"All I was thinking about was getting back with Mayo next year, and I've already started into the pre-season weights programme."

Meanwhile, the GAA announced that Seán Ó Laoire is to retire from the position of Bainisteoir na gCluichí at the end of the year, ending one of the longest serving terms within the GAA with over 40 years dedicated service.

© 2008 The Irish Times
Post by: Tubberman on November 12, 2008, 12:15:43 PM
Thank God for that!! Wherever that story emerged from, it's good to know Tom had no interest in looking for an AFL contract. That's the end of that story.

Sligonian will be bitterly disappointed I'm sure.....  ;D
Post by: thebandit on November 12, 2008, 12:37:56 PM
I dont think he'd be suited, he didn't play at all well in the Inernational Rules.
Post by: joemamas on November 12, 2008, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 12, 2008, 12:15:43 PM
Thank God for that!! Wherever that story emerged from, it's good to know Tom had no interest in looking for an AFL contract. That's the end of that story.

Tubberman, you went a little overboard your self with your earlier comments.

Sligonian if you had an ounce of class/credability you would retract your earlier comment.
Post by: Tubberman on November 12, 2008, 01:28:24 PM
QuoteTubberman, you went a little overboard your self with your earlier comments.

Sligonian if you had an ounce of class/credability you would retract your earlier comment.

I went overboard with my earlier comments?? Which comment? I think I know what you're getting at but I was directly quoting this article http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5299&Itemid=39

"I'm happy with how I'm going at home. I've two years done in college and another two to do. I love Mayo football, I love Charlestown football. To be honest, I don't think I'd have any interest in coming over. I haven't even thought about it. Nobody said anything about playing, you would have had to have a good series for that to happen."

I wasn't having a go at Parsons. I quoted the above to show that it seemed very strange that he'd still be in Oz looking for an AFL contract based on what he had said.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 12, 2008, 01:52:16 PM
Quote from: joemamas on November 12, 2008, 01:14:11 PM

If Mayo had an ounce of class theyd be happy with there 51 to our 26 clubs and leave players from across the border alone. He is inside the sligo border after all. You'll be waiting a long time to see a retraction from me in fact i wrote a way more agressive reply which would of pissed yee off big time but decided against it. Yer actions, arrogance and smugness make it very easy to shout against yee in all irelands very easy. Have a long look at yereselves for a change instead of judging me, parsons is no declan browne now is he joemanas?. Do you expect me not to angry and pissed off about parsons ffs? All I did was called his loyalty into question, was he loyal to sligo after as a youngster wearing the Sligo jerseys to games supporting Sligo with his Dad?

Theres no smoke without fire and like ronaldo in the summer parsons did his best to get a AFL contract but looks like he may have been unsuccessful sadly and now its being spun to make him look better now that he maybe staying, stayed on for a holiday and met a AFL agent for the craic ::).
Post by: Tubberman on November 12, 2008, 02:04:33 PM
QuoteTheres no smoke without fire and like ronaldo in the summer parsons did his best to get a AFL contract but looks like he may have been unsuccessful sadly and now its being spun to make him look better now that he maybe staying, stayed on for a holiday and met a AFL agent for the craic .

He didn't stay on in Australia, he came back with the rest of the squad
Post by: MacDanger on November 12, 2008, 09:58:59 PM
Read this in the indo yesterday alright.

would have been a huge loss to Mayo football.

Apparently D Moran and T Walsh are going down under for trials.

Anyone else put a lot of this blame on N Brennan?
Post by: Rossfan on November 12, 2008, 10:08:26 PM
Quote from: MacDanger on November 12, 2008, 09:58:59 PM
Anyone else put a lot of this blame on N Brennan?

Ehhhh?
Did he start the rumour about Parsons or what the hell are ya on about?
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2008, 10:12:32 PM
Cheers to my contact who swore he 'saw' Parsons in Melbourne on Tuesday - ****
Post by: imtommygunn on November 12, 2008, 10:13:57 PM
Yeah why blame Nicky Brennan when they're poaching players who weren't even in Australia?

Maybe yes you could say he gave them the shop window but the boy's they're looking at weren't taken from that shop window.

How many players who have went to Oz have played in the international rules? (prior to going to oz?)

Sligonian from the outside looking in you come across as a very bitter man...
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2008, 11:09:08 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 12, 2008, 01:52:16 PM
If Mayo had an ounce of class theyd be happy with there 51 to our 26 clubs and leave players from across the border alone. He is inside the sligo border after all.

You're not the brightest really, are you? How many times does it have to be explained to you that not one person from Mayo approached Parsons as a 10 year old to come and play in 'Mayo'

It was entirely off the family's own bat - they chose for him to play for a Mayo club, for reasons best known to themselves.

Now would you ever shut your f**king mouth and stop embarrassing yourself - you're ruining a great discussion board.
Post by: moysider on November 13, 2008, 12:46:39 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 12, 2008, 01:52:16 PM
Quote from: joemamas on November 12, 2008, 01:14:11 PM

If Mayo had an ounce of class theyd be happy with there 51 to our 26 clubs and leave players from across the border alone. He is inside the sligo border after all. You'll be waiting a long time to see a retraction from me in fact i wrote a way more agressive reply which would of pissed yee off big time but decided against it. Yer actions, arrogance and smugness make it very easy to shout against yee in all irelands very easy. Have a long look at yereselves for a change instead of judging me, parsons is no declan browne now is he joemanas?. Do you expect me not to angry and pissed off about parsons ffs? All I did was called his loyalty into question, was he loyal to sligo after as a youngster wearing the Sligo jerseys to games supporting Sligo with his Dad?
Theres no smoke without fire and like ronaldo in the summer parsons did his best to get a AFL contract but looks like he may have been unsuccessful sadly and now its being spun to make him look better now that he maybe staying, stayed on for a holiday and met a AFL agent for the craic ::).

I ve a nephew that wears the Maroon  underage who has often worn the Red and Green when he goes to Mayo/Galway games with the clan because he got his grá for the game from his dads brothers. Fact is he s torn and loves both teams and nothing wrong with that.  But in a game he would take the head off a Mayo lad if he got the chance and I d bollock him if he did nt. Football allegiance is not cut and dried.
Post by: whitey on November 13, 2008, 01:26:41 AM
Hey Slogonian....another famous Charlestown man once wrote a book-"No one shouted stop".

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

We wont make the same mistake again
Post by: Bod Mor on November 13, 2008, 02:51:34 AM
Sure did ye not know that Niall Naoi nghíollaidh is alive and well and working for the Mayo county board!