GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on January 31, 2011, 11:44:56 PM

Title: NFL Division 2 2011
Post by: Jinxy on January 31, 2011, 11:44:56 PM
In a lot of ways, it's actually better than division 1.
Discuss.
Title: Re: NFL Division 2 2011
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 31, 2011, 11:52:50 PM
Good ol Division 2

Almost as sought after as the bihatimber
Post by: Maguire01 on January 31, 2011, 11:54:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 31, 2011, 11:44:56 PM
In a lot of ways, it's actually better than division 1.
Discuss.
You can still get promoted.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 01, 2011, 12:02:06 AM
Glad to be joining ye, looking forward to it.

Despite the usual shite talk from charlie in the papers on about promotion for Sligo, its totally inrealistic imo, staying up is a must. Anyone familiar with Sligos back to back promotions alot of it had to do with luck.

I dare say whoever loses between us and Donegal on Sat will be relegated so big game, we have Meath away and tyrone at home next 2 so i cant seeing getting much change there tbh.

We have problems to be sorted in some certain important positions, if we stay up and sort out these positions during the league aswell i will be well satisfied.
Post by: Jinxy on February 01, 2011, 12:27:15 AM
Welcome to division 2 Sligonian.
We're all great pals here.
Not like that mean old division 1.
Post by: Jinxy on February 01, 2011, 12:28:13 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 31, 2011, 11:52:50 PM
Good ol Division 2

Almost as sought after as the bihatimber

If we could win division 2 it would be some small consolation for last Saturday.
Post by: thejuice on February 01, 2011, 12:32:10 AM
Well Colm reckons Meath or anyone for that matter cannot win the All-Ireland if they play in any division other than 1. SOOoooo I guess we should probably try and get there then. No harm in trying is all I'm saying.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 01, 2011, 01:05:56 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 01, 2011, 12:32:10 AM
Well Colm reckons Meath or anyone for that matter cannot win the All-Ireland if they play in any division other than 1. SOOoooo I guess we should probably try and get there then. No harm in trying is all I'm saying.
Thats rubbish from colm, Down were in div2 last yr, kildare are still there and both were in AI semis and Final. This is the same re run of shite talk we hear every yr. Tyrone ffs some team to have in Div2.... it would be stupid to write them off for the AI.

There will be suprise packets in the summer like every other yr, some teams will confirm league form is relevant, and some other teams will blow that logic apart like roscommon, louth and mayo for other reasons last yr to name a few.

Its an exciting league for me, some great teams and games to look forward to, I reckon we'll stay up just with donegal, antrim or laois heading down.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 01, 2011, 01:21:53 AM
Hello................ Anybody here...............Right Pascal, Ricey, Hub, Sean, Philly, Davy.........follow me
Post by: Hardy on February 01, 2011, 10:12:20 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2011, 12:27:15 AM
Welcome to division 2 Sligonian.
We're all great pals here.
Not like that mean old division 1.

I think we're hero members of Division 2. Welcome to all the newbies.
Post by: Gold on February 01, 2011, 10:37:56 PM
To stay up would be class.

Big game at home to Kildare on sunday--home wins are a must.

All in all though unreal to be in Div 2 --some change from the disaster of 08 when 1 point from last 2 games away in Ardfinnan to Tipp and home to Waterford would have seen us finally out of Div 4--i thought those 2 defeats would set us back and swore i'd never go to another game

But the last 2 yrs have been class--importand not to do a Tipp last yr or Fermanagh the year before and get relegated in 1st season
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 01, 2011, 11:25:21 PM
Promotion:

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/nfl-division-2/winner (http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/nfl-division-2/winner)

Relegation:

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/nfl-division-2/relegation (http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/nfl-division-2/relegation)

Can't have Kildare as second favs for this. McGeeney doesn't appear to have taken the league too seriously in his three years in charge so I'd be surprised if this year was any different.

We're missing plenty of our better players at the moment - Dermot Earley and Peter Kelly will not play any football this spring and it's unlikely Mikey Conway will feature either. Andy McLoughlin, Morgan O'Flaherty and Gary White will miss the first few rounds at least and Daryl Flynn is suspended until March. Johnny Doyle is only coming back now after an injury so he might not start this weekend. I think James Kavanagh went back to Australia after Ballymore's defeat at the weekend so I presume he won't be home again for a few weeks.

I think we'll struggle without our starting midfield and both our first choice corner-backs. We do have 4 home games for the first time in a good few years though so I'd expect Kildare to finish mid-table again.

I think Meath and Derry will be the teams to beat. McEnaney always seemed to have Monaghan well primed for the league so I'd expect Meath to go well. Traditionally Derry have always performed well at this time of year and they look to be in good shape going on their McKenna Cup results. It's hard to know where Tyrone stand. They've obviously had a very difficult time of things over the last month but you'd expect them to come back as strong and unified as ever. You have to wonder how seriously they'll take the league though with so many of their big names having plenty of miles on the clock. I think a lot of them will be saving themselves for the summer.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 04, 2011, 01:54:46 PM
Kildare team v Antrim:

1. Shane Connolly (Naomh Lorcan)
2. Hugh McGrillen (Cill Droichid)
3. Mick Foley (Áth Í)
4. Ciarán Fitzpatrick (Cill Chóca)
5. David Whyte (Achadh Mordha)
6. Mark Scanlon (Na Cloigthithe)
7. Emmet Bolton (Baile Éide)
8. Hugh Lynch (Confaigh)
9. Pádraig O'Neill (Naomh Lorcan)
10. Éamonn Callaghan (Nás na Roigh)
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty (Cairbre)
12. Tommy Moolick (Léim an Bhradáin)
13. Karl Ennis (Má Nuad)
14. Willie Heffernan (An Urnaí)
15. Alan Smith (Na Sairséalaigh)

Can't see that fifteen lining out. Ciarán Fitzpatrick is supposed to have a broken hand. I'd say there'll be one or two changes in the forward line too.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 04, 2011, 01:58:51 PM
No chance of that team playing. Agree with your assessment, 4 wins will be a good return and should ensure Division 2 status.

I actually think Newbridge is a handicapp for Kildare, small tight grounds don't suit our style of football at all, plus it's a sh*thole (our sh*thole I know)...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 04, 2011, 02:07:51 PM
Newbridge should have been levelled about forty years ago - asbestos roofed stand, iron bars blocking your view of the pitch, a terrace that suddenly ends at the twenty one yard line, dressing rooms that you couldn't swing a cat inside, the state of the jacks!

Still though, the old girl can generate a great atmosphere. Looking forward to the Meath and Laois matches. I can't remember the last time we played Meath at home in the league.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 04, 2011, 03:55:05 PM
Have we Sligo at home? too lazy to look up!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 04, 2011, 04:02:30 PM
Yep. 10 April in the last round.

I hope they've no problem with the teamsheet this time!
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 04, 2011, 05:32:46 PM
Meath, Laois and Sligo at home, amazing always seem to be away to those sides.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2011, 07:42:07 PM
Antrim 0-11 Kildare 1-17

Similar match to the qualifier between the two teams at the same venue last summer. Kildare gave their usual curate's egg performance. The backs were overly zealous in some of their tackling during the first half and Paddy Cunningham punished them with his frees. Lynch and O'Neill struggled at midfield early on but once they got a hold of the game after half an hour Kildare took control.

Brian Flanagan had a great game and chipped in with a few scores. He was back to his 2009 form this afternoon and he looks a lot leaner than he did last year when he was too bulked up IMO. Leper was very effective again. Johnny looked a bit rusty but he got through a mountain of ball as usual. Rob Kelly was a handful at full-forward and will be a key player this year if he stays fit. Dowling showed well and Cribbo is making a habit out of these injury time goals!

David Whyte mixed the good with the bad. Ennis and Smith never really got into the game and Tommy O'Neill didn't look particularly comfortable in the corner. Hopefully we can get a few corner backs fit before the Derry match because we could struggle against better forwards.

Not a match that will live long in the memory but a positive result considering we're missing so many players at the moment.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2011, 10:16:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 06, 2011, 10:12:08 PM
We were complete gash.

Martin Higgins is a d**khead.

That is all for now.

Desperately poor alright. Par for the course from referees these days it seems.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2011, 10:18:08 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 04, 2011, 02:07:51 PM
Newbridge should have been levelled about forty years ago - asbestos roofed stand, iron bars blocking your view of the pitch, a terrace that suddenly ends at the twenty one yard line, dressing rooms that you couldn't swing a cat inside, the state of the jacks!

Still though, the old girl can generate a great atmosphere. Looking forward to the Meath and Laois matches. I can't remember the last time we played Meath at home in the league.

Don't forget the pitch!. Great for building up the auld quads.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 07, 2011, 08:15:40 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2011, 10:16:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 06, 2011, 10:12:08 PM
We were complete gash.

Martin Higgins is a d**khead.

That is all for now.

Desperately poor alright. Par for the course from referees these days it seems.

Martin Higgins (Fermanagh) - three words that should strike fear into any knowledgeable Gael.

Although he is, I'm told, the referee with the highest official rating in Ulster.

Expect to see much more of the little man.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 18, 2011, 04:26:27 PM
Kildare team v Derry:

1 Shane Connolly (Naomh Lorcan)
2. Hugh McGrillen (Cill Droichid)
3. Brian Flanagan (Baile Droichead Sheáin)
4. Tommy O'Neill (Naomh Lorcan)
5. David Whyte (Achadh Mordha)
6. Mark Scanlon (Na Cloigthithe)
7. Emmet Bolton (Baile Éide)
8. Hugh Lynch (Confaigh)
9. Pádraig O'Neill (Naomh Lorcan)
10. Éamonn Callaghan (Nás na Roigh)
11. Johnny Doyle (Fiodh Alúine)
12. Eoghan O'Flaherty (Cairbre)
13. Fionn Dowling (Crochta na Gréine)
14. Rob Kelly (Teach Srafáin)
15. Alan Smith (Na Sairséalaigh)

Brian Flanagan and Tommy O'Neill in the full-back line? Not sure if they'll line out there.

Forwards look strong especially when you consider Kavanagh is yet to return to the team.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 20, 2011, 09:29:17 PM
Kildare 0-11 Derry 0-13

Disappointing result and performance. Too many players not at the races yet we still had chances to win it that we squandered.

Tommy O'Neill and David Whyte both coughed up a few scores down the terrace side in the first half and were both replaced at half-time. We were well beaten at midfield and the forwards were starved of possession for long periods. Lynch and O'Neill are probably too similar but Daryl Flynn will be back after the next match so hopefully that won't be a long term problem. O'Flaherty and Smith in particular looked off the pace. Smith looks short of confidence at the moment. He needs to stop throwing himself on the ground at every opportunity. He might miss out next weekend if Kavanagh and Rob Kelly (who could have made a big difference today) are back.

McGrillen and Dowling were Kildare's best players. Dowling looks a real find. He kicked two great points off his left boot and should have been given the free-taking responsibilities from the right hand side. Tough trip up to Donegal next weekend. There should be another few lads back for that so hopefully we can improve.
Post by: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 10:52:38 PM
1. Laois       4pts   +8
2. Derry      4pts   +3
3. Donegal  3pts   +7
4. Kildare    2pts   +7
5. Meath    2pts   +4
6. Sligo      1pt     -7
7. Tyrone   0pts   -8
8. Antrim    0pts   -14

Next fixtures

Antrim v Meath, Casement Park, 7.30pm (SAT)
Derry v Laois, Celtic Park, 1.30pm
Donegal v Kildare, Ballybofey 2.30pm
Sligo v Tyrone, Markievicz Park, 2.30pm
Post by: leaveherinsir on February 20, 2011, 10:56:08 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 10:52:38 PM
1. Laois       4pts   +8
2. Derry      4pts   +3
3. Donegal  3pts   +7
4. Kildare    2pts   +7
5. Meath    2pts   +4
6. Sligo      1pt     -7
7. Tyrone   0pts   -8
8. Antrim    0pts   -14

Next fixtures

Antrim v Meath, Casement Park, 7.30pm (SAT)
Derry v Laois, Celtic Park, 1.30pm
Donegal v Kildare, Ballybofey 2.30pm
Sligo v Tyrone, Markievicz Park, 2.30pm
Sweet reading!!  :D
Post by: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 11:10:18 PM
might change next week. Sligo were poor today. Laois are looking good so you might be close to your friends in Tyrone in the table.
Post by: leaveherinsir on February 20, 2011, 11:22:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 11:10:18 PM
might change next week. Sligo were poor today. Laois are looking good so you might be close to your friends in Tyrone in the table.
Would have to fancy Dery to beat Laois at home. Joking aside, poor start for Tyrone in this league, but would be loathe to write them off completely, would only come back to haunt me in the summer, one thinks! That said, cant see them relishing a trip to Sligo next weekend
Post by: Jinxy on February 20, 2011, 11:47:41 PM
That's a handy couple of points for us up in Casement anyway.
Post by: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 11:59:36 PM
careful now
Post by: Jinxy on February 21, 2011, 12:00:14 AM
I'm not afraid of them.
Post by: thejuice on February 27, 2011, 09:27:28 PM
Quote1   Laois           22   6
2   Donegal      7   4
3   Derry          -11   4
4   Kildare        7   3
5   Meath        1   2
6   Tyrone      -2   2
7   Antrim      -11   2
8   Sligo         -13   1

Next Fixtures:

12.03.11 (SAT)
TYRONE V ANTRIM

13.03.11 (SUN)
SLIGO V DERRY
MEATH V DONEGAL
KILDARE V LAOIS

Laois, Donegal and Derry are setting the pace so far but not out of touch of Kildare, Meath, Tyrone or Antrim. However by the next round of games the list of contenders should be a bit shorter.

Tyrone and Antrims clash is of vital importance to both teams if they want to avoid joining the relegation battle. , while Sligo simply have to win but against Derry close to impossible even at home but if they do they will get off the bottom.

A win for Kildare will keep them in the hunt but a loss could see them drop to 6th at worst. While Laois with a win would keep them ahead of the pack give them plenty of confidence of winning Div 2 outright.

Meath will need to make home advantage count against Donegal if they want to get back in the hunt. A loss pretty much locks us into a relegation battle. A win would really boost Meath if Derry lose to Sligo as they would pass them out on superior scores difference. 
Title: Cinnte
Post by: drici on March 07, 2011, 02:51:48 PM
http://gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/allianz-football-league-2011/roinn-2/
20.03.11 (Sun)Round 5
Antrim V Sligo B Team
Time: 1 30 PM, Venue: Casement Park
Referee: TBC

Sligo very confident about winning in Casement.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 13, 2011, 08:57:50 PM
(http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/217-02.gif)

Remaining fixtures:
Laois v Tyrone, Derry v Donegal, Kildare v Meath, Antrim v Sligo

Donegal v Antrim, Tyrone v Kildare, Derry v Meath, Sligo v Laois

Antrim v Derry, Laois v Donegal, Kildare v Sligo, Meath v Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on March 13, 2011, 09:08:55 PM
Nice knowing you Division 2.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 13, 2011, 09:10:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 13, 2011, 09:08:55 PM
Nice knowing you Division 2.
+1 >:(
Post by: ross4life on March 13, 2011, 09:42:30 PM
So you guys think Antrim will relegate Meath & Sligo?

I can't see them beating Derry or Donegal & Sligo game is 50/50
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on March 13, 2011, 09:51:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 13, 2011, 09:42:30 PM
So you guys think Antrim will relegate Meath & Sligo?

I can't see them beating Derry

Depends who your Da is.
Post by: Jinxy on March 13, 2011, 09:53:49 PM
Can't see us getting much out of the 3 games left anyway.
Post by: donegal lad on March 13, 2011, 10:49:56 PM
division still looking very tight is a matter of 2 teams from 6 that could get promoted with tyrone relying on other games to go there way think if we beat derry next saturday night we should get promoted but will be a hard game
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on March 19, 2011, 09:33:56 PM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/76066ec70b8e5c97f84a7cf936290285e3cf2f8104dee96830fad662c347cc176g.jpg)
Title: Amarach
Post by: drici on March 19, 2011, 09:39:19 PM
http://gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/allianz-football-league-2011/roinn-2/
20.03.11 (Sun)
Round 5
Antrim V Sligo D Team
Time: 1 30 PM, Venue: Casement Park
Referee: Martin Sludden

Sligo confidence increases.
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2011, 09:44:53 PM
Donegal have improved out of all recognition since this time last year. You'd expect Meath and themselves to be in each others place. Well done Jimmy McGuinness. .
Post by: Gold on March 19, 2011, 11:03:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 19, 2011, 09:40:17 PM
The Rugby panelist (Conor Ó Sé?) on RTÉ 2 has a cracking Antrim tie on.

Spotted that

Nearly bought that same tie last week--might get it at start of the month (would wear it with plain shirt though your man looked a bit too Rugby/Bangor for me with all the stripes !)
Post by: J70 on March 20, 2011, 12:15:38 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 19, 2011, 09:44:53 PM
Donegal have improved out of all recognition since this time last year. You'd expect Meath and themselves to be in each others place. Well done Jimmy McGuinness. .

Looking very good so far all right, with several of last year's U-21s doing very well and McGuinness having them play deep and break very quickly. The form of Murphy is obviously a huge factor too. I doubt if too many Donegal people will be getting carried away this early though. We've had excellent leagues many times before, only to fall flat come May/June. 2007 we won the whole thing, before getting out of jail against an Armagh team who couldn't finish the game off when they were on top and then getting hammered by Tyrone.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2011, 12:34:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 20, 2011, 12:15:38 PM

Looking very good so far all right, with several of last year's U-21s doing very well and McGuinness having them play deep and break very quickly. The form of Murphy is obviously a huge factor too. I doubt if too many Donegal people will be getting carried away this early though. We've had excellent leagues many times before, only to fall flat come May/June. 1997 we won the whole thing, before getting out of jail against an Armagh team who couldn't finish the game off when they were on top and then getting hammered by Tyrone.

I'm stunned by this but fair play to them. I was at the Donegal/Sligo game and Donegal looked poor and we looked pretty good! Things turned out totally the opposite.
Post by: thejuice on March 20, 2011, 04:21:16 PM
(http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/241/div220mrch.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on March 20, 2011, 04:30:05 PM
Big win for the Sligo men today if they can beat Laois at home they should stay up!
Post by: J70 on March 20, 2011, 04:34:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 20, 2011, 12:34:53 PM

Looking very good so far all right, with several of last year's U-21s doing very well and McGuinness having them play deep and break very quickly. The form of Murphy is obviously a huge factor too. I doubt if too many Donegal people will be getting carried away this early though. We've had excellent leagues many times before, only to fall flat come May/June. 1997 we won the whole thing, before getting out of jail against an Armagh team who couldn't finish the game off when they were on top and then getting hammered by Tyrone.

I'm stunned by this but fair play to them. I was at the Donegal/Sligo game and Donegal looked poor and we looked pretty good! Things turned out totally the opposite.

The comeback in that Sligo game seems to have lit a fuse under them in this league and they've played extremely well in three of the four games since. Even the Kildare game, when they weren't great, they should have won, but conceded 1-1 in the final minute to give Kildare a draw.
But its only March and its only the league. They've still some work to do just to get a promotion spot. Not sure whether they've Antrim or Laois at home in the final two games. Anyone got the fixture list?
Post by: RMDrive on March 20, 2011, 04:39:18 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 20, 2011, 04:34:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 20, 2011, 12:34:53 PM

The comeback in that Sligo game seems to have lit a fuse under them in this league and they've played extremely well in three of the four games since. Even the Kildare game, when they weren't great, they should have won, but conceded 1-1 in the final minute to give Kildare a draw.
But its only March and its only the league. They've still some work to do just to get a promotion spot. Not sure whether they've Antrim or Laois at home in the final two games. Anyone got the fixture list?

Antrim at home on the 3rd of March and Laois away on the 10th.
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 04:45:51 PM
FFS Antrim.  >:(
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 20, 2011, 04:47:19 PM
I see Banty and McGeeney went toe to toe after the final whistle. Anyone know what that was about?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2011, 04:56:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 04:45:51 PM
FFS Antrim.  >:(

This result was not a surprise, Sligo have beaten us when its needed and today was one of those days. Did the lad Kelly play? we have had some good footballers missing through injury and this has not helped. Straight back down and get ready for Championship now :(
Post by: omagh_gael on March 20, 2011, 05:01:02 PM
Going to be a tight run in for the last promotion place. There'll be a lot of ears listening out for scores in other games.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on March 20, 2011, 05:16:50 PM
(http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/banty%20geezer.jpg)

Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 05:21:53 PM
Hit him Banty!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2011, 05:26:54 PM
Only one winner there I'd say
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 05:28:39 PM
Not if he tags Grimley!
Post by: RMDrive on March 20, 2011, 05:30:35 PM
Eskimo kiss.
Post by: thejuice on March 20, 2011, 05:36:32 PM
i just don't think Banty will ever fit in here. such aggressive behavior is unbecoming of a Meath man
Post by: Tyrones own on March 20, 2011, 05:43:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 05:21:53 PM
Hit him Banty!
He'd better make it a good one  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on March 20, 2011, 06:05:55 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 20, 2011, 05:36:32 PM
i just don't think Banty will ever fit in here. such aggressive behavior is unbecoming of a Meath man
Post by: tyroneman on March 20, 2011, 06:20:03 PM
Is it head to head first then scoring average?
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 06:39:37 PM
Are we still talking about Banty v Geezer?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 20, 2011, 06:44:39 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on March 20, 2011, 05:16:50 PM
(http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/banty%20geezer.jpg)

Give us an aul shift geezer
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on March 20, 2011, 06:48:12 PM
Your all quick in criticise Peter when he gives his frank and correct opinion but your not quick in thanking him for a post that panders to everyone.
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 06:52:55 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on March 20, 2011, 06:48:12 PM
Your all quick in criticise Peter when he gives his frank and correct opinion but your not quick in thanking him for a post that panders to everyone.

Steady on Peter.  :D
Post by: imtommygunn on March 20, 2011, 06:54:38 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on March 20, 2011, 06:48:12 PM
Are you feeling unloved Peter? :D

Division 2 very interesting. Just a pity Antrim couldn't step itup. Donegal doing very well and we play them in championship :-\
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 07:00:34 PM
I don't like division 2 anymore.
It's boring.
I'd say there's more craic in division 3.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2011, 07:02:06 PM
Good man Jinxy, we'll see what we can do to propel you there!  :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 20, 2011, 07:02:52 PM
Nothing to see here....
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2011, 07:04:17 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2011, 07:02:06 PM
Good man Jinxy, we'll see what we can do to propel you there!  :D

Oh don't worry, we're saving one last big performance for you f*ckers!  :D
Post by: ck on March 20, 2011, 11:54:00 PM
I was at the Sligo Antrim game today and thought the Antrim defence was poor. We were not firing on all cyliders yet we racked up 2-17 without really breaking sweat. Antrim looked clueless at times. They really didnt seem to have a pattern of play at all. A few observations;

- Small crowd. The media all said the game was at 2.30pm and I met more than a few supporters coming in with 10 to go.
- Baker Bradley wasnt there befroe the game and arrived with 5 to go till half time. Strange.
- The Antrim half forward line were poor. Very poor.
- Eamon O'Hara is 36 years old and was possibly the best player on the pitch today!
- McGourty got sent off at the end by being very stupid indeed. It was not a sending off offence however.
- Casement is a class venue, albeit a little rough round the edges. It will be some 40,000 seater stadium!
- Sligo management got the big calls right today, we now should stay up.
- Antrim did not seem to have any obvious tactics today. Good individual players but a bit clueless.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 21, 2011, 12:02:14 AM
Quote from: ck on March 20, 2011, 11:54:00 PM
I was at the Sligo Antrim game today and thought the Antrim defence was poor. We were not firing on all cyliders yet we racked up 2-17 without really breaking sweat. Antrim looked clueless at times. They really didnt seem to have a pattern of play at all. A few observations;

- Small crowd. The media all said the game was at 2.30pm and I met more than a few supporters coming in with 10 to go.
- Baker Bradley wasnt there befroe the game and arrived with 5 to go till half time. Strange.
- The Antrim half forward line were poor. Very poor.
- Eamon O'Hara is 36 years old and was possibly the best player on the pitch today!
- McGourty got sent off at the end by being very stupid indeed. It was not a sending off offence however.
- Casement is a class venue, albeit a little rough round the edges. It will be some 40,000 seater stadium!
- Sligo management got the big calls right today, we now should stay up.
- Antrim did not seem to have any obvious tactics today. Good individual players but a bit clueless.
2-18 we scored today. Look people should know the throw in time no excuse. Baker bradley i thought was watching the game in the stand and went down to change things is my interpretation of him sauntering down with 25mins gone.

CK 159 posts and ive never seen you comment on Sligo before?
Title: Roinn 2
Post by: drici on April 01, 2011, 09:30:00 PM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/e4446175722c139bb8ed961051406fd3121f77bc69d4e39034f0efacb1a0530f6g.jpg)
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/e2513a18934bce11fb8c3ffb5075c172738397fa4599be9e2a550262e1c75c016g.jpg)
Toals
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 04:51:59 PM
Allianz Football League Division 2
   Team    P    W    D    L    F    A    +/-    Pts
1    Donegal    6    4    2    0    6-79    5-54    28    10
2    Laois     6    4    0    2    5-83    6-61    19    8
3    Tyrone    6    4    0    2    4-75    3-63    15    8
4    Derry    6    4    0    2    5-72    6-79    -10    8
5    Kildare    6    3    1    2    4-65    2-68    3    7
6    Sligo     6    1    1    4    5-71    7-74    -9    3
7    Meath    6    1    0    5    6-63    3-83    -11    2
8    Antrim    6    1    0    5    3-65    6-91    -35    2
Last updated: 3 Apr 2011

Ok this is complicated. Am I right in thinking that the rule is if teams finish level on points it goes to head to head but if more than 2 teams finish level on points it goes to score difference?
I think that's the way it is. Now last day fixtures are Donegal v Laois, Tyrone v Meath, Derry v Antrim, Sligo v Kildare.
If Laois beat Donegal, Tyrone beat Meath and Derry beat Antrim they will all be on 10 points so it has to go to score difference because how else would you decide?
Derry's score difference rules them out unless they beat Antrim by 20+points. If Laois beat Donegal by 5 points or more they go through, anything less than a 5 point defeat for Donegal will mean they go through. If Laois beat Donegal by less than 5 points, Tyrone will have to beat Meath by 4 points more than Laois beat Donegal.
Ah I could go on but it's giving me a headache. Work it out yourselves.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2011, 04:55:39 PM
Tyrone could be promoted?
Not on our watch!  >:(
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 04:57:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2011, 04:55:39 PM

Well don't lose by more than 4 points and your job will be done but I can see them destroying you by 15 points just to be sure.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 03, 2011, 04:58:25 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 04:57:07 PM

Well don't lose by more than 4 points and your job will be done but I can see them destroying you by 15 points just to be sure.

Not strictly true. If Laois and Derry lose then any Tyrone victory will suffice for promotion.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:01:04 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 03, 2011, 04:58:25 PM

Not strictly true. If Laois and Derry lose then any Tyrone victory will suffice for promotion.

Oh yeah, forgot about that. If Donegal beat Laois then Tyrone will just have to win, Derry are out.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 03, 2011, 05:00:25 PM
Antrim to win and escape relegation. Laois - Tyrone head to head. Tyrone promoted.

Not if laois beat Donegal, then it goes to score difference.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:10:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 03, 2011, 05:06:09 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 03, 2011, 05:00:25 PM
Antrim to win and escape relegation. Laois - Tyrone head to head. Tyrone promoted.

Not if laois beat Donegal, then it goes to score difference.
No, it doesn't.

How do you work that out?
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2011, 05:17:48 PM

Nonsense.
They're terrified of us.
They've been hoarding bandages all year just for this game.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:19:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 03, 2011, 05:16:24 PM
Quite easily.

Antrim beat Derry
Tyrone beat Meath
Laois beat Donegal

Laois - 10
Tyrone - 10
Derry - 8

Tyrone beat Laois in head to head.

Tyrone promoted.
QED

No it will be:
Donegal 10
Laois 10
Tyrone 10
If that happens Laois will have beaten Donegal but lost to Tyrone but Donegal beat Tyrone. How can you decide who goes through? It goes to score difference.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 03, 2011, 05:25:25 PM
I think Don't Matter is right - ould have to be score difference if 3 teams on 10 points.
The most clearcut outcome would be for Laois, Tyrone & Derry to lose and Kildare win to take 2nd spot  :o
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 05:25:45 PM
All four throw-ins at 2.30pm next Sunday.
It'll be down to the wire.
Title: Áthrach
Post by: drici on April 03, 2011, 05:37:35 PM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/e4446175722c139bb8ed961051406fd3121f77bc69d4e39034f0efacb1a0530f6g.jpg)
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/464564257cc779c59462956d6334dfdd61b6e92a1e33ea46de6b79d1a1e827fb6g.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on April 04, 2011, 12:31:12 AM
I assume if both Antrim and Meath win next week and Sligo lose we go down since Antrim beat us irrespective of points difference.
Post by: donegal lad on April 04, 2011, 12:38:39 AM
Quote from: Bluebell on April 04, 2011, 12:25:26 AM
Somebody take a shot at the promotion battle in division 2. Do Derry stand a chance if they hammer Antrim at Casement next Sunday?
as far as i can understand if donegal beat laois next weekend all derry have to do is win there game as it wouldnt matter how tyrones game goes as derry won the head to head against them
Post by: Jinxy on April 04, 2011, 09:36:07 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 04, 2011, 12:31:12 AM
I assume if both Antrim and Meath win next week and Sligo lose we go down since Antrim beat us irrespective of points difference.

Yep.
We need Antrim and Sligo to lose.
Post by: thejuice on April 04, 2011, 09:51:27 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 04, 2011, 09:36:07 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 04, 2011, 12:31:12 AM

Yep.
We need Antrim and Sligo to lose.

I've made 'worser' (Kilbride English) bets.

Us winning is another matter.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 04, 2011, 11:22:39 AM
Quote from: donegal lad on April 04, 2011, 12:38:39 AM
Somebody take a shot at the promotion battle in division 2. Do Derry stand a chance if they hammer Antrim at Casement next Sunday?
as far as i can understand if donegal beat laois next weekend all derry have to do is win there game as it wouldnt matter how tyrones game goes as derry won the head to head against them
As long as Laois don't win, Derry just need a victory against Antrim to take the 2nd spot.  If Laois win Derry would need to win by roughly 30 pts!!

There a few interesting sub-plots in the derry game, namely Baker managing Antrim and his 2 sons (think eoin back from suspension next week, though unlikely to start) playing for Derry.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 04, 2011, 11:57:43 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 04, 2011, 11:22:39 AM
As long as Laois don't win, Derry just need a victory against Antrim to take the 2nd spot.  If Laois win Derry would need to win by roughly 30 pts!!

There a few interesting sub-plots in the derry game, namely Baker managing Antrim and his 2 sons (think eoin back from suspension next week, though unlikely to start) playing for Derry.

The Antrim boys I know have been talking about this scenario for weeks. Ever since they beat Meath, they have been convinced that they would stay up. A win over Derry, coupled with Sligo losing would guarantee another year in Division 2. When you note the family ties, the likelihood that Derry won't be promoted even with a win, a guaranteed 2 points for the Oakleafers next year and the not unattractive 6/1 being offered on Antrim, it wouldn't be the biggest surprise in the world if the Derry men were unable to raise a gallop.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 04, 2011, 12:47:58 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 04, 2011, 11:57:43 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 04, 2011, 11:22:39 AM

The Antrim boys I know have been talking about this scenario for weeks. Ever since they beat Meath, they have been convinced that they would stay up. A win over Derry, coupled with Sligo losing would guarantee another year in Division 2. When you note the family ties, the likelihood that Derry won't be promoted even with a win, a guaranteed 2 points for the Oakleafers next year and the not unattractive 6/1 being offered on Antrim, it wouldn't be the biggest surprise in the world if the Derry men were unable to raise a gallop.
6/1 Antrim, who's offering that?  Not that any Derry men would ever have been involved in a betting coup like that in a league game, and certainly not any Lavey connections.
I think a derry win would be enough to get promoted as I don't see Laois beating Donegal.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 04, 2011, 03:26:38 PM
Laois are home to Donegal so I think this could be a cracker game.

If Donegal & Derry both win then both will be promoted no matter how Tyrone does.

If Laois beat Donegal & Derry beat Antrim then all four will have 10 points so it goes to score difference.
Tyrone are currently -4 behind Laois with Derry miles behind again.

So Tyrone would need to beat Meath by four points or more than what Laois beat Donegal for Tyrone & Donegal to get promoted. I can't see Donegal's huge score difference being caught.

Could Donegal offer Laois a deal where they let them win by 5 or 6 points so both go up and meet again in the NFL Div 2 final. Haha

I'd say Donegal wouldn't want to be meeting Tyrone or Derry in the final so close to the start of the championship.
Post by: oakleaf stateside on April 04, 2011, 08:42:15 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 04, 2011, 03:26:38 PM
Laois are home to Donegal so I think this could be a cracker game.

If Donegal & Derry both win then both will be promoted no matter how Tyrone does.

If Laois beat Donegal & Derry beat Antrim then all four will have 10 points so it goes to score difference.
Tyrone are currently -4 behind Laois with Derry miles behind again.

So Tyrone would need to beat Meath by four points or more than what Laois beat Donegal for Tyrone & Donegal to get promoted. I can't see Donegal's huge score difference being caught.

Could Donegal offer Laois a deal where they let them win by 5 or 6 points so both go up and meet again in the NFL Div 2 final. Haha

I'd say Donegal wouldn't want to be meeting Tyrone or Derry in the final so close to the start of the championship.
o never though of that lol
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on April 05, 2011, 09:59:43 AM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/464564257cc779c59462956d6334dfdd61b6e92a1e33ea46de6b79d1a1e827fb6g.jpg)
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/1636defaa44372fb3a619273e6fc8e1a567fcf2ce49609b3b79ec9cf5ba0fe856g.jpg)
Toals