FAI...New Manager is Heimir Hallgrimsson

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Capt Pat

Ireland should have had a penalty in the first half. It could have changed the game if we scored it. VAR obviously thought they couldn't award a penalty against this great England team. A bit like city getting away with things in the premier league.

AustinPowers

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on November 17, 2024, 10:34:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2024, 06:54:21 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 17, 2024, 06:49:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2024, 06:39:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 17, 2024, 06:34:45 PMCarsley is enjoying himself anyway.

Why wouldn't he?

40 caps for the Republic....

The lad is English, he couldn't get an international cap with England and settled for the republic due his granny or someone like that.

This. Didn't he take a sabbatical from Ireland to concentrate on club so hardly fully committed and the only actual thing I remember him doing in a green shirt is giving away the most pathetic penalty and costing us qualification to euro 2000. He then f#cked around over the Ireland job will be or won't he take it before leaving the fai high and dry ( although they are a bunch of f#cks too

Was it him that  handled the ball in the Turkey play off?

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2024, 10:55:43 PMI was there today. Us fans gave it our all. The frckin military display at the beginning was a disgrace. Even a Para was there.

Simply outclassed everywhere. I was worried about 4-5 nil at the beginning.

Half time ......hmmm

Second half. Fcuk me.

I didn't see the build  up. What was that  about? 

A shower of soldiers came out to unfurl banners. Prob 20 in all. Diff regiments. To unfurl 'Come on England' banners. Belfast man beside me pointed out the Para.

Absolute bastards. Grinned at us booing.

Cnuts.

Quote from: Capt Pat on November 17, 2024, 10:57:35 PMIreland should have had a penalty in the first half. It could have changed the game if we scored it. VAR obviously thought they couldn't award a penalty against this great England team. A bit like city getting away with things in the premier league.

Having a moan about the penalty claim is glossing over the fact that this was a wretched Irish performance, as dire as we've ever produced, in a long line of bad ones. The penalty incident is literally the one positive from a night when we didn't test the English keeper or have practically one shot on goal. Ball retention and passing ability going forward was zilch and our creativity would make the fall-out area around Chernobyl look like a verdant oasis. I seriously doubt Halgrimmson realised we were this bad when he took the reins. On last night's evidence we're light years away from the top-tier nations, and even middle-ranking ones who can all at least play football, and sliding further away every year.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: mouview on November 18, 2024, 11:10:55 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 17, 2024, 10:57:35 PMIreland should have had a penalty in the first half. It could have changed the game if we scored it. VAR obviously thought they couldn't award a penalty against this great England team. A bit like city getting away with things in the premier league.

Having a moan about the penalty claim is glossing over the fact that this was a wretched Irish performance, as dire as we've ever produced, in a long line of bad ones. The penalty incident is literally the one positive from a night when we didn't test the English keeper or have practically one shot on goal. Ball retention and passing ability going forward was zilch and our creativity would make the fall-out area around Chernobyl look like a verdant oasis. I seriously doubt Halgrimmson realised we were this bad when he took the reins. On last night's evidence we're light years away from the top-tier nations, and even middle-ranking ones who can all at least play football, and sliding further away every year.

The fall-out area around Chernobyl actually is a verdant oasis.

The Irish football team is still shite though, unfortunately.

Apart from the scoreline, the biggest eye opener was the gulf in class in speed, athleticism and football skills of the English players. In our memories, those are not the type of traits we associate with English soccer teams. Where were the lads strolling back as Maradona waltzed through them. Then again Harry Kane was dribbling in the penalty area like he was George Best. It's possible we made them look way better than they were. One can only live in hope.

mrdeeds

I must be mad, because I was encouraged by so much of what I saw up to the penalty. Ireland had one stonewall penalty turned down and one debatable. But they were well organised up to that point and England barely had a shot.

Quote from: mrdeeds on November 18, 2024, 03:42:04 PMI must be mad, because I was encouraged by so much of what I saw up to the penalty. Ireland had one stonewall penalty turned down and one debatable. But they were well organised up to that point and England barely had a shot.

Agreed. Looking better for the future and we're the in the division where we need to be.

tiempo

Quote from: mrdeeds on November 18, 2024, 03:42:04 PMI must be mad, because I was encouraged by so much of what I saw up to the penalty. Ireland had one stonewall penalty turned down and one debatable. But they were well organised up to that point and England barely had a shot.

Was loathed to watch it but inadvertently caught the first half, Ireland played well enough to be fair, compact and game, the only rationale for that penalty not being given/reviewed is corruption, absolute joke of a sport

England are important in world football, we are not.
Last night's non penalty was an eye opener. With VAR on board you have to believe there is an agenda for England to automatically get back to Group A in the Nations league.

What were England doing in group B anyway? Group B is the soccer equivalent of Junior C

I never seen the penalty claim live, just the replay, did Evan have any of his jersey at the same time?

As that would be my only thinking.

Not sure foreign ref's be them on the pitch or at VAR give a stuff about England so I'm not bought on the corruption thing.

There'd be more whistleblowers claiming that all the ref's in Europe favour England, sounds bizarre when I say that!

Even on our worst days before, I can never recall us not at least creating one scoring chance or forcing the opposing keeper to make a save. We were set-up for nothing better than containment, to score nil. All well and good if it's the second leg of a tie where we're 2-0 up from the first match and defending a lead. Last night, as Sadlier said beforehand, we were not going to finish better or worse than third. It was a free shot at having a go, to try things in an attacking context without any consequence if it went wrong. We had nothing to lose but we didn't even get that. Hallgrimmson is probably a more grounded manager than Kenny, more pragmatic in what can be achieved with the players at his disposal, but a Kenny team last night would probably have had more of a creative cut off England. The home side didn't even have to be much good last night, they knew once they exerted a modicum of pressure on the Irish midfield / attack they would win possession back again imminently. Bar a couple of incisive raids forwards from Festy I could see literally nothing positive to glean from last night.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 18, 2024, 06:45:52 PMI never seen the penalty claim live, just the replay, did Evan have any of his jersey at the same time?

As that would be my only thinking.

Not sure foreign ref's be them on the pitch or at VAR give a stuff about England so I'm not bought on the corruption thing.

There'd be more whistleblowers claiming that all the ref's in Europe favour England, sounds bizarre when I say that!

Here you can see the ball played through. Does not look like Ferguson fouled him.

That's as clear a penalty you'll see. It's mad