The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

SaffronSports

Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:47:17 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 05:41:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:12:36 PMBrilliant?

So there stats out there to support his allegations? "Giant crime wave"? "Large numbers of illegal immigrants" committing murder?

Brilliant - as in he triggered all the Karen's

Right, because it absolutely can't be labeled "triggered Karen" behaviour for a president and his media ecosystem to lose the plot because a bishop made a pretty mild and compassionate plea to them.

Good to see you're firmly back on the Trump = 5D chess train whitey.

TBH, I don't think Trump takes guidance or advice from anyone. Just does the petulant child thing.

Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:43:50 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 05:38:59 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:28:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 22, 2025, 05:24:48 PMThe disgusting orange piece of anti human sh1te cancelled the acceptance of 2,700 already approved Refugees, mainly Afghans I think.

I suppose no point being a total disgusting piece of sh1te if you don't prove it.

The cruelty is the point.

They're not people to him.

Democrats only have themselves to blame

People of all stripes were and are absolutely furious over how Biden/Harris handled the border

Chickens are coming home to roost

https://www.blackenterprise.com/is-eric-adams-heading-toward-the-maga-train/

So "Democrats bad" makes Trump's treatment of these poor people ok?

There's no middle ground?

And f**k Eric Adams. He's trying to ingratiate himself to Trump so that his incredibly corrupt administration and his own personal sale of favours for f**king plane tickets will be either pardoned or made disappear altogether.

Who said Democrats were bad?

I said they left the border open for 3 years and -and now you're dealing with the consequences.

I just picked Adams because you're in NY

Plenty of other Democrats from all over are saying similar things

Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:47:17 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 05:41:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 05:12:36 PMBrilliant?

So there stats out there to support his allegations? "Giant crime wave"? "Large numbers of illegal immigrants" committing murder?

Brilliant - as in he triggered all the Karen's

Right, because it absolutely can't be labeled "triggered Karen" behaviour for a president and his media ecosystem to lose the plot because a bishop made a pretty mild and compassionate plea to them.

Good to see you're firmly back on the Trump = 5D chess train whitey.

Absolutely not

But everyone knew up front what he was going to do if he got elected this and 77 M people voted for him

That's how badly you're guys screwed this up

Did the right ever get the memo that there was a bipartisan border bill ready to go to Biden's desk until Trump rang up the Rethuglicans in congress and ordered them to kill the bill? He didn't want the problem solved because he needed it to be a problem on which he could blame the Democrats. Trump probably knew that low-information conservatives would know all about the border issue, but not about how it was him that prevented the problem from being addressed. And he was right.

Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 05:56:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 22, 2025, 05:24:48 PMThe disgusting orange piece of anti human sh1te cancelled the acceptance of 2,700 already approved Refugees, mainly Afghans I think.

I suppose no point being a total disgusting piece of sh1te if you don't prove it.

People of all stripes were and are absolutely furious over how Biden/Harris handled the border

And f**k Eric Adams. He's trying to ingratiate himself to Trump so that his incredibly corrupt administration and his own personal sale of favours for f**king plane tickets will be either pardoned or made disappear altogether.

I said they left the border open for 3 years and -and now you're dealing with the consequences.

I don't think anyone is disputing that Biden waited too long to deal with the border.

But Adams specifically has personal motives, which I guess will get a receptive ear from the completely transactional Trump.

And Dems or not, it is perfectly valid to point out the utter callousness of what Trump is doing to these Afghani people, many of whom I'm sure assisted the US in their operations there and may have serious issues facing them going back to a Taliban-led country.

Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 06:29:12 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 05:56:31 PM

I don't think anyone is disputing that Biden waited too long to deal with the border.

But Adams specifically has personal motives, which I guess will get a receptive ear from the completely transactional Trump.

And Dems or not, it is perfectly valid to point out the utter callousness of what Trump is doing to these Afghani people, many of whom I'm sure assisted the US in their operations there and may have serious issues facing them going back to a Taliban-led country.

It's terrible but as it doesn't directly impact people day to day it's not top of mind

On the other hand-here in Massachusetts-here's what we're dealing with

https://www.nbcboston.com/news/local/man-arrested-with-ar-15-drugs-at-revere-emergency-shelter-site-now-facing-federal-charges/3595833/?amp=1

And yet our Governor/Mayor/AG are refusing to hand CRIMINALS over to ICE

People are absolutely furious

(And after leaving the border wide open for the first 3 years why would the Republicans have given Biden/Harris a win on immigration 6 months before the election-they're have ended their heads examined if they voted for that bill. And when the Bill failed.....guess what.....Joe went back and figured it out didn't he)

Be some craic if we start putting links of  white collar crimes were people getting away with a lot more money and no jail time

Personally, if it was an issue that I felt was a dire problem facing the country (which is what the Republicans and Trump would have us believe), I would have jumped on the deal there and then, especially as it was so aligned with what they've been asking for for so long. But maybe that's just me. And even if the politics mattered more to you, there was no particular reason to believe at that point that Trump was anything other than a 50/50 shot at best to win. So they're basically full of shit - they just wanted the political football.

Am I missing something with the drug dealer? He was arrested on December 27th. The Justice Dept (i.e. Feds) announcement is dated January 8th. Is that now how it SHOULD be handled?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2025, 07:29:25 PMBe some craic if we start putting links of  white collar crimes were people getting away with a lot more money and no jail time

Or lads beating the shit out of cops as they invade government buildings, getting 22 years, and then getting freed on day one by the "Back the Blue" party.

Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 07:33:45 PMPersonally, if it was an issue that I felt was a dire problem facing the country (which is what the Republicans and Trump would have us believe), I would have jumped on the deal there and then, especially as it was so aligned with what they've been asking for for so long. But maybe that's just me. And even if the politics mattered more to you, there was no particular reason to believe at that point that Trump was anything other than a 50/50 shot at best to win. So they're basically full of shit - they just wanted the political football.

Am I missing something with the drug dealer? He was arrested on December 27th. The Justice Dept (i.e. Feds) announcement is dated January 8th. Is that now how it SHOULD be handled?

Completely disagree-Democrats essentially adopted an open borders policy for the first 3 years of the Biden Administration and let millions upon millions of people in who should have been stopped at the border.

Only when it looked like they were going to get hammered at did the polls did they find religion

Then the mayors/governors of so called sanctuary states refused to hand over CRIMINALS to ICE

In this case a local police force requested their assistance to ID the suspect-ICE then nabbed him themselves

If he had being arraigned and ICE issued a detainer he would not have been handed over

MA spent close to $1B last year on emergency housing and this is the type of trash I'm subsidizing

Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 07:52:00 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 22, 2025, 07:33:45 PMPersonally, if it was an issue that I felt was a dire problem facing the country (which is what the Republicans and Trump would have us believe), I would have jumped on the deal there and then, especially as it was so aligned with what they've been asking for for so long. But maybe that's just me. And even if the politics mattered more to you, there was no particular reason to believe at that point that Trump was anything other than a 50/50 shot at best to win. So they're basically full of shit - they just wanted the political football.

Completely disagree-Democrats essentially adopted an open borders policy for the first 3 years of the Biden Administration and let millions upon millions of people in who should have been stopped at the border.

Only when it looked like they were going to get hammered at did the polls did they find religion

Then the mayors/governors of so called sanctuary states refused to hand over CRIMINALS to ICE

In this case a local police force requested their assistance to ID the suspect-ICE then nabbed him themselves

If he had being arraigned and ICE issued a detainer he would not have been handed over

MA spent close to $1B last year on emergency housing and this is the type of trash I'm subsidizing

Will ICE be picking up the illegal Irish? You'll be there waving them back on the planes

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2025, 07:59:38 PM

Will ICE be picking up the illegal Irish? You'll be there waving them back on the planes
i

If they are hiding out in a taxpayer subsidized hotel with an automatic weapon and $1M in drugs-I sure hope they'll be picked up

Quote from: whitey on January 22, 2025, 08:02:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2025, 07:59:38 PM

i

If they are hiding out in a taxpayer subsidized hotel with an automatic weapon and $1M in drugs-I sure hope they'll be picked up

Forgot, there are good criminals and bad ones, those that are black and Hispanic  ;D

Bolded, if true, is fair comment.

And while I believe some sanctuary policies are fair in that they can promote cooperation with the law, I think criminals should absolutely be handed over to the feds.

We'll agree to disagree on the cynicism of the GOP.

That pardon for Ross Ulbricht exceeds all or any of the other pardons. ::)