Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 02:29:24 AM

Title: Sinn Fein TD: 'IRA did hold kangaroo courts'
Post by: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 02:29:24 AM
Dublin TD Dessie Ellis also admitted IRA volunteers were not equipped to deal with allegations of sexual assault or rape such as those made by Mairia Cahill.  "If an allegation was made against a volunteer it would have to be investigated,” he said. "I don't want to comment on specific cases but it would have happened.

"To be honest they were not qualified to deal with something like sexual abuse," he added. Mr Ellis's comments follows widespread calls for the Sinn Fein president Gerry Adams to address fresh claims that the IRA and Sinn Fein covered up sex abuse allegations made against their members.

http://independent.ie/irish-news/sinn-fein-td-ira-did-hold-kangaroo-courts-30673567.html
Title: Re: Sinn Fein TD: 'IRA did hold kangaroo courts'
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 18, 2014, 02:46:09 AM
I have a hatred toward the catholic church towards this stuff.

But........ The IRA fought a war against the British establishment for many years. Oh let th3e sectret out....... they didnt trust the cops with a crime................... Since Labour has been ousted the blue brits have tried to diminish the the republican movements importance bit by bit . They are trying to dismantle the progress that has been made. The Tories will only want to line the pockets of war mongers and that mind theres £50 million less going onto their cronies pockets from the withdrawal from NI. From the tories took over theres been nothing but hostility whether disguised or not toward shared power. its led to Peter 'the great' and his people to stick the heels in no matter what was agreed by SIR IAIN, a 2015 parliamentary election is on the horizon and the 'dumder' eton brigade need to keep a majority and the DUP are willing partners if they need be.
Post by: foxcommander on October 18, 2014, 03:47:47 AM
Quote from: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 02:29:24 AM
Dublin TD Dessie Ellis also admitted IRA volunteers were not equipped to deal with allegations of sexual assault or rape such as those made by Mairia Cahill.  "If an allegation was made against a volunteer it would have to be investigated," he said. "I don't want to comment on specific cases but it would have happened.

"To be honest they were not qualified to deal with something like sexual abuse," he added. Mr Ellis's comments follows widespread calls for the Sinn Fein president Gerry Adams to address fresh claims that the IRA and Sinn Fein covered up sex abuse allegations made against their members.

http://independent.ie/irish-news/sinn-fein-td-ira-did-hold-kangaroo-courts-30673567.html

What's your take on this Barry?
Post by: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 06:09:04 AM
SF/IRA's policy was agree or else!. We can dress it in all romantic Irish nonsense we want, but there never was a justification, moral or political, for their evil crimes.
Post by: foxcommander on October 18, 2014, 06:14:41 AM
Quote from: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 06:09:04 AM
SF/IRA's policy was agree or else!. We can dress it in all romantic Irish nonsense we want, but there never was a justification, moral or political, for their evil crimes.

SF/IRA ? Are you Gregory Campbell? Something stinks barry and the bang is coming from your direction....
Post by: Ulick on October 18, 2014, 01:15:52 PM
Of course they had their own courts. The procedure under which they operated has been in public record for decades:

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/othelem/organ/ira/ira_green_book.htm (http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/othelem/organ/ira/ira_green_book.htm)
Post by: muppet on October 18, 2014, 02:00:21 PM
While not commenting on whether on not there is any truth to the story, the last time a story like this came out it was certainly orchestrated. It was the story about Gerry's brother and was quickly followed by the Iris story. There was even rumours of more scandal.

But suddenly everyone went into Stormont and progress was made.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 18, 2014, 02:42:17 PM
Robinson going to visit the woman on monday. Quite sickening to see victims of this kind of thing be used for political gain >:(
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 03:37:36 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 18, 2014, 02:42:17 PM
Robinson going to visit the woman on monday. Quite sickening to see victims of this kind of thing be used for political gain >:(
Ms Cahill seems like a very intelligent woman. I don't think she's being used at all.
Post by: armaghniac on October 18, 2014, 07:05:42 PM
The IRA only had cuddly Koala courts.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 07:11:30 PM
Quote from: barryqwalsh on October 18, 2014, 06:09:04 AM
You sound like yet another knowledgeable individual - quoting directly from a cross between the Tory /unionist manifesto and the beano !

Another WUM
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 07:14:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 03:37:36 PM
Ms Cahill seems like a very intelligent woman. I don't think she's being used at all.
Poor girl is being used by every anti sf or anti Republican Party north and south!
For Cheap political gain!

Ok I don't know the facts and right now my sympathy lies with her.
I don't think any sane girl would make that up
I could be wrong.
If she's right then the culprit should have been court martialed and shot
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 07:26:32 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 07:14:56 PM
Poor girl is being used by every anti sf or anti Republican Party north and south!

I could be wrong.
I think she's the one using the politicians. She seems far too switched on for it to be the alternative. Thats not to say that SF's opponents won't make the most of it.
Post by: foxcommander on October 18, 2014, 07:37:14 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1018/653259-mairia-cahill/

So she's having a meeting with Enda Kenny. Is he a trained councilor in this field?
Does it mean he regularly has visits from rape victims to hear their story? Unlikely. She's not even one of his constituents.

Being honest - This lady is being handed over to every single political party for a turn at publicity. Whether she thinks this is actually going to achieve something for her is a different story, depends on what retribution she is looking for.
FG/Labour etc cream themselves over any opportunity to smear SF's name.

There has been a recent case in Dublin of a woman falsely accusing someone of similar - she might go to jail for telling fibs. So it does happen..then you get into the Ched Evans case...
http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/brazilian-student-charged-making-false-4172517
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 08:19:57 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 07:26:32 PM

I could be wrong.
I think she's the one using the politicians. She seems far too switched on for it to be the alternative. Thats not to say that SF's opponents won't make the most of it.
Really????

God love her. She must be desperate to do this.

But these politicians are as low as my opinion of them always was!
Disgusting. Opportunist . Point scoring.
Doesn't mask their incompetence though.

At least you and your party have not indulged maguire. The sdlp actually being decent by holding back!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 08:31:18 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 08:19:57 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 07:26:32 PM

I could be wrong.
Really????

God love her. She must be desperate to do this.

But these politicians are as low as my opinion of them always was!
Disgusting. Opportunist . Point scoring.
Doesn't mask their incompetence though.

At least you and your party have not indulged maguire. The sdlp actually being decent by holding back!
I don't have a party.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 08:41:13 PM
Lol
I actually think you are more than just an sdlp activist!!
Post by: orangeman on October 18, 2014, 09:03:15 PM
This lady is taking to Twitter to fight her corner.

I sense that all is not as it seems.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 09:12:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 08:41:13 PM
Lol
Good for you. You're wrong, but if it makes you happy.  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 09:13:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2014, 09:12:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 08:41:13 PM
Lol
Good for you. You're wrong, but if it makes you happy.  ;)
Am I sounding 'arrogant' ?
:)
Post by: weareros on October 18, 2014, 09:19:21 PM
Sinn Fein's attitude not much different to Catholic Church. It was all about the protection of the institution. Anyone who who stood up for the sexually abused was attacking the Church. They gathered ranks and left the victim isolated. Those who might be inclined to stand up for the victim feared the wrath of the institution. Those who stand up today are anti the institution - and the victim is being used to attack the institution. God save the institution. Sinn Fein/IRA clearly showing themselves to the paramilitary wing of the padeophile Catholic Church. Two sides of the same bad penny.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 09:24:55 PM
Quote from: weareros on October 18, 2014, 09:19:21 PM
Sinn Fein's attitude not much different to Catholic Church. It was all about the protection of the institution. Anyone who who stood up for the sexually abused was attacking the Church. They gathered ranks and left the victim isolated. Those who might be inclined to stand up for the victim feared the wrath of the institution. Those who stand up today are anti the institution - and the victim is being used to attack the institution. God save the institution. Sinn Fein/IRA clearly showing themselves to the paramilitary wing of the padeophile Catholic Church. Two sides of the same bad penny.
You are confusing sf with the IRA

Please don't besmirch the good name of the IRA with those shinner folks!

As for this girl - if this is true - it's a fecking disgrace. Think the timing of it is significant . Would never have been indulged in the militant times. I think as this seemingly happened towards the end - someone may have been indulged ( if this is true).

But good chap - you've managed to have a pot shot at the Catholic Church , the IRA and the shinners all in one go!
You missed out the GAA and the INLA. Must do better next time!
Post by: orangeman on October 18, 2014, 09:26:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 18, 2014, 09:24:55 PM
Quote from: weareros on October 18, 2014, 09:19:21 PM
You are confusing sf with the IRA

Please don't besmirch the good name of the IRA with those shinner folks!

As for this girl - if this is true - it's a fecking disgrace. Think the timing of it is significant . Would never have been indulged in the militant times. I think as this seemingly happened towards the end - someone may have been indulged ( if this is true).

But good chap - you've managed to have a pot shot at the Catholic Church , the IRA and the shinners all in one go!
You missed out the GAA and the INLA. Must do better next time!

Give Willie Frazer a touch as well while you're at it lads - don't miss him.  ;)
Post by: barryqwalsh on October 19, 2014, 12:11:44 AM
Imagine if peaceful political campaigns were continued?

WE SHALL OVERCOME!

The armed struggle was counterproductive,  as a result, the nationalist community lost the moral high ground.

The issue become the violence, the legitimate grievances got sidelined. Without the violence, politicians in Belfast and London would have to deal with the issues head-on.

We shouldn't defend the indefensible out of blind loyalty. Equally and justice for all, means just that.

Post by: lynchbhoy on October 19, 2014, 12:19:48 AM
Quote from: barryqwalsh on October 19, 2014, 12:11:44 AM
Imagine if peaceful political campaigns were continued?

WE SHALL OVERCOME!

The armed struggle was counterproductive,  as a result, the nationalist community lost the moral high ground.

The issue become the violence, the legitimate grievances got sidelined. Without the violence, politicians in Belfast and London would have to deal with the issues head-on.

We shouldn't defend the indefensible out of blind loyalty. Equally and justice for all, means just that.
Your retro history re-writing is blind alright!

The same politicians you say would have dealt with things were the same ones that ignored the issues and problems of oppression and nationalist second class citizen treatment as they progressively descended into violent persecution by the unionists/loyalist/gov establishment - so debate and peaceful protest was not saving the lives being ruined by this or stopping the need for innocent nationalist/catholic/Irish from fleeing the six counties.
No
Violence was then met with violence.
Sadly it took this to bring the oppressors to their senses.

I feel you are taking the p**s though - no one could be as naive as yourself in that low level thinking. Or are you an 18 year old sdlp/alliance activist?
Post by: barryqwalsh on October 19, 2014, 05:02:54 AM
Whatever you say, let's agree to disagree.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 19, 2014, 10:24:48 AM
Quote from: barryqwalsh on October 19, 2014, 05:02:54 AM
I never have an issue with people's different opinions

However you cross the line of fact and merge it with hysterical spin when you say things like lumping sf in with the IRA.
It's just plain wrong

I mean people could equally say
Unionists& loyalists/kkk
Sdlp/Opus Dei
Fine Gael & Fianna Fáil/ Anglo Irish bank
Etc
Post by: orangeman on October 19, 2014, 10:26:23 PM
Stop digging Gerry.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1019/653422-sf-president-ira-policing/
Post by: Hereiam on October 20, 2014, 09:36:29 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2799772/spies-covered-sex-abuse-teen-girls-hands-ira-leader-blackmailed-spying-them.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2799772/spies-covered-sex-abuse-teen-girls-hands-ira-leader-blackmailed-spying-them.html)

I know its the daily mail but it might not be far of the mark.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on October 20, 2014, 10:14:54 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 19, 2014, 10:24:48 AM

However you cross the line of fact and merge it with hysterical spin when you say things like lumping sf in with the IRA.
It's just plain wrong

Is it not true to since the IRA "left the scene" that a number of activists moved over to Sinn Féin?

I think that this is why this lady is claiming that there are people in Sinn Féin that know what went on.  So she is saying that you can't have Gerry, Dessie Ellis et al. all going round saying the know these things happened but can't comment on them.  Given her family history she will know individuals and seems to have some in mind.

I listened to her on Newstalk this morning and I have to say she sounds very creditable.  Her critique of Adams' Blog suggested she has a bone to pick and isn't going to let it go.  She pointed out that her alleged attacker was involved in Restorative Justice schemes which Adams praised in his blog.  She went as far as saying he did this to have a cut at here.

Also she said the usual measures won't work:
1)  She said no efforts by republicans to discredit her will drive her away because she has already gone out on a limb and very public.   
2)  She said she is going to all parties so that no one can saw she is being politically manipulated
3)  She said there are others that are going to come out of woodwork.

So I think Adams and Shinners are either telling the truth or else have to hope that she loses airtime before no. 3 comes to pass.

/Jim.

Post by: gallsman on October 20, 2014, 11:10:06 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on October 20, 2014, 10:14:54 AM

It's just plain wrong

Is it not true to since the IRA "left the scene" that a number of activists moved over to Sinn Féin?

It is of course true, but some board members don't let facts get in the way of a good rant.
Post by: LeoMc on October 20, 2014, 11:18:18 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 20, 2014, 11:10:06 AM

It's just plain wrong

It is of course true, but some board members don't let facts get in the way of a good rant.

Is it not true to since the RUC "left the scene" that a number of activists moved over to the PSNI?
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on October 20, 2014, 11:30:25 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 20, 2014, 11:18:18 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 20, 2014, 11:10:06 AM

It's just plain wrong

Is it not true to since the RUC "left the scene" that a number of activists moved over to the PSNI?

Possibly but hardly relevant to this discussion. 

My point is that if some members who interrogated this girl moved from the IRA to Sinn Féin after the IRA "left the scene" then she is being truthful when she says there are people in Sinn Féin who know the truth.

/Jim
Post by: Fíor Gael on October 20, 2014, 12:36:48 PM
Am I the only one who thinks her story doesnt add up?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 20, 2014, 01:53:47 PM
The stories/allegations are coming fast & thick. If your in a newsagent in the north have a glance at the Daily mirror headline. Strange goings on...
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 20, 2014, 04:06:56 PM

It's just plain wrong

I think that this is why this lady is claiming that there are people in Sinn Féin that know what went on.  So she is saying that you can't have Gerry, Dessie Ellis et al. all going round saying the know these things happened but can't comment on them.  Given her family history she will know individuals and seems to have some in mind.

I listened to her on Newstalk this morning and I have to say she sounds very creditable.  Her critique of Adams' Blog suggested she has a bone to pick and isn't going to let it go.  She pointed out that her alleged attacker was involved in Restorative Justice schemes which Adams praised in his blog.  She went as far as saying he did this to have a cut at here.

Also she said the usual measures won't work:
1)  She said no efforts by republicans to discredit her will drive her away because she has already gone out on a limb and very public.   
2)  She said she is going to all parties so that no one can saw she is being politically manipulated
3)  She said there are others that are going to come out of woodwork.

So I think Adams and Shinners are either telling the truth or else have to hope that she loses airtime before no. 3 comes to pass.

/Jim.
without knowing the full story myself..
I also think it sounds like she is credible and has a case in terms of being abused.

however,
she hasn't gone to sf like she has gone to the big political parties (she has not gone to them all....), the political parties are jumping on this just to try and discredit sf rather than helping this poor girl.
so it is a political stunt like the parties.
I also think that this is now turning into a stunt to try and feck up sf's inroads into power in the south (and upset them in the north).
the catholic church took a huge hit from the abuse scandals, so it might work again here on sf ......

jim , what would activists be doing in sf - there is no activism. unless putting up posters is the new bombmaking !!
we are lucky this girl didn't say that there were people in the GAA that knew the story - as it would prob be as apt and as relevant!
Maybe the boy scouts or Tesco's will be in as much trouble as sf!! if they have people that also know the story.

it has fcuk all to do with sf.
the guilty party should be outed and arrested by police
(though wasn't he already tried and they made a 'balls up' of the case - so legally nothing can now be done??)

Post by: Denn Forever on October 20, 2014, 04:49:15 PM
Quotehowever,
she hasn't gone to sf like she has gone to the big political parties (she has not gone to them all....)

I thought she'd gone to SF and is going to the other parties so that they can apply pressure (on who?).

Still don't know she hopes will happen.
Post by: T Fearon on October 20, 2014, 11:16:13 PM
Did Skippy ever appear in any of these courts?
Post by: orangeman on October 20, 2014, 11:36:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 20, 2014, 11:16:13 PM
Did Skippy ever appear in any of these courts?

He did but skipped bail.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 21, 2014, 10:35:15 AM
Tsk tsk tsk
Post by: rosnarun on October 21, 2014, 01:57:07 PM
i cannot understand much like the church cases is why anyone would expect SF to investigate Rape Cases ?
and what would she expect them to do if they did investigate find im guilty and punish him? or report it to the Cops? if so why would she not have gone to the cops herself?

why any one would  report a crime to the orgamization they are complaining about is beyound me
Post by: seafoid on October 21, 2014, 02:00:02 PM
Sinn Fein TD: 'IRA did hold kangaroo courts'

Pope also "suspected of defecating in wooded areas"
Bears "may be catholic" 
Post by: mikehunt on October 21, 2014, 03:03:38 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 21, 2014, 01:57:07 PM
i cannot understand much like the church cases is why anyone would expect SF to investigate Rape Cases ?
and what would she expect them to do if they did investigate find im guilty and punish him? or report it to the Cops? if so why would she not have gone to the cops herself?

why any one would  report a crime to the orgamization they are complaining about is beyound me

She didn't tell them. She told a couple of friends and word got to the IRA and they basically arrested and questioned her.
Post by: armaghniac on October 21, 2014, 03:08:59 PM

Perhaps because they might shoot you for reporting them to the RUC?
Post by: johnneycool on October 21, 2014, 03:18:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 21, 2014, 03:08:59 PM

And that the RUC will do SFA other than try and get more information out of you about their goings on rather than the offence you want investigated especially if you're Joe Cahill's Grand Niece.

The girl had no one to turn to.
Post by: muppet on October 21, 2014, 03:58:47 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 21, 2014, 03:18:56 PM

And that the RUC will do SFA other than try and get more information out of you about their goings on rather than the offence you want investigated especially if you're Joe Cahill's Grand Niece.

That is reminiscent of the father of the girl being abused by Brendan Smyth in the docudrama on Smyth's abuse. The wife wants to call the cops (RUC) and the Dad says that would be nuts as they would be seen as touts.
Post by: armaghniac on October 21, 2014, 04:09:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 21, 2014, 03:18:56 PM

True.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 23, 2014, 07:28:03 PM

It's just plain wrong

I mean people could equally say
Unionists& loyalists/kkk
Sdlp/Opus Dei
Fine Gael & Fianna Fáil/ Anglo Irish bank
Etc
Why then is Gerry Adams apologising for what the IRA did?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-29723101
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 23, 2014, 07:36:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 23, 2014, 07:28:03 PM

That hoary old canard: Gerry Adams is the leader of Sinn Féin, and ergo leader of all Irish republicans associated with SF, be that ex-IRA or not; therefore who else is there to speak on behalf of what, a now disbanded, organisation might have done in the past? 

Probably one of the most puerile pieces of pap being thrown in his direction these days, and that's saying something
Post by: Maguire01 on October 23, 2014, 07:39:24 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 23, 2014, 07:36:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 23, 2014, 07:28:03 PM

That hoary old canard: Gerry Adams is the leader of Sinn Féin, and ergo leader of all Irish republicans associated with SF, be that ex-IRA or not; therefore who else is there to speak on behalf of what, a now disbanded, organisation might have done in the past? 

Probably one of the most puerile pieces of pap being thrown in his direction these days, and that's saying something
I'm not arguing with what you're saying. I was responding to someone who was suggesting that SF and the IRA were unconnected.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 23, 2014, 11:14:49 PM
And how does that connect them?
( this should be good)

I could apologise to the Sporting and GAA world for dick clerkins dirtyness - as I'm an ulster man and GAA coach ... Does that mean I'm connected to Monaghan ??
Post by: Syferus on October 23, 2014, 11:51:41 PM
The rest of Ireland can't understand how Adams keeps his politically dead hands on the reigns of power.

Hard-line republicans are so out of touch with what constitutes acceptable behaviour it's become a sad joke to watch them react and explain away the crises that regularly engulf them.
Post by: larryin89 on October 24, 2014, 12:14:15 AM
Former RNU secretary ?

Tried to get a couple of shinners done on membership charges?

Joe Cahills gran niece? ( story of brit spooks blackmailing him about photos they had of him sexually assaulting a 14 year old girl a few days ago, mirror i  think ran it) pure fuckin shite but strange the timing of it .

Walked out on her case because she refused to be questioned by defence?

Michael Martin sitting on it for two years?

Why did she approach FF leader?

I really cant make out whats going on with this but its certainly not as black and white as some think. There are other things ive heard but im not going type it in here.

The anti republican drive behind this is completely wrong, its driven by politics not sympathy for the alleged victim.
Post by: trileacman on October 24, 2014, 12:15:38 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 23, 2014, 11:14:49 PM
( this should be good)

I could apologise to the Sporting and GAA world for dick clerkins dirtyness - as I'm an ulster man and GAA coach ... Does that mean I'm connected to Monaghan ??

Did Gerry not meet this girl and play a direct role in the whole affair? I mean it's not like blaming the pope for what Brendan Smyth did but more like blaming Sean Brady.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 24, 2014, 01:00:42 AM
Quote from: trileacman on October 24, 2014, 12:15:38 AM
Did Gerry not meet this girl and play a direct role in the whole affair? I mean it's not like blaming the pope for what Brendan Smyth did but more like blaming Sean Brady.

Yes, he did (though never a direct role FFS!), and this is what Maíría Cahill said of him in 2010:

"I have no interest in attacking Gerry Adams, I have been fond of him at times in my life, he was sympathetic at times. (Sunday Tribune)
Post by: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 07:06:29 AM
( this should be good)

You don't apologise for something you have no responsibility or accountability for.

If you apologised in the scenario you've suggested, everyone would be wondering why you're doing so. It would make no sense.
Post by: johnneycool on October 24, 2014, 09:07:14 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 07:06:29 AM
( this should be good)

You don't apologise for something you have no responsibility or accountability for.

If you apologised in the scenario you've suggested, everyone would be wondering why you're doing so. It would make no sense.

Like Dave Cameron apologising for the massacre on Bloody Sunday, he wasn't personally responsible for something the British Army did, but its more a symbolic thing as he's now head of that particular state.

Did it make no sense for Dave to apologise?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2014, 11:04:47 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 24, 2014, 09:07:14 AM
( this should be good)

Like Dave Cameron apologising for the massacre on Bloody Sunday, he wasn't personally responsible for something the British Army did, but its more a symbolic thing as he's now head of that particular state.

spot on there Ted!

for the life of me - after ive heard maria cahill say ina tv interview , that she had no truck with Gerry adams etc - why are people hell bent on trying to drag him into this
I think the guy is a dinosaur, yes he was good yesteryear, but imo is the Joe Brolly of sf (very entertaining but effects and affects the square root of feck all).
only people/detractors jumping on the potential to discredit sf , adams are trying to make tenuous links here....I think Maguire is jumping on it from his sdlp boat.
in the south, we have fg, ff et all trying to use it to discredit sf as they are growing as a party and will be a big player in Irish politics in the not too distant future it seems.
if I was fg ff lab - id be worried too.
would I resort to the dirty slanderous tricks to do it...maybe I would if I too was one of these slimey useless politicians (though I doubt if I would)
Post by: Syferus on October 24, 2014, 03:46:28 PM
If I were a major political party (FF and FG are the only ones that really count) I wouldn't be one bit worried about SF's magic sums and their closet full of skeltons. Karma's a bitch, lads.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2014, 04:28:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 24, 2014, 03:46:28 PM
If I were a major political party (FF and FG are the one onlys that really count) I wouldn't be one bit worried about SF's magic sums and their closet full of skeltons. Karma's a bitch, lads.
Well obv yer not a political party and it's not the shinners who have much to worry about unless Mary Lou was actually the famous south Armagh sniper

Sf are not the IRA ( and most people now realise this - hence the big voting figures for sf) therefore will have same skeletons that most folk might have in the dail

Post by: Rossfan on October 24, 2014, 05:21:18 PM
I'd say FF ( The Frs) and Lab are worried plenty about the SF rise. Plenty of skeletons in them two oul closets Syfín.
FG are unlikely to lose any of their real support to SF but the floaters who voted for them in 2011 will be moving on to god knows where.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 05:24:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2014, 11:04:47 AM
( this should be good)

spot on there Ted!
Actually way off the mark there Ted. It proves my point.

Cameron was of course correct to apologise. He is the PM and as head of the government, is ultimately accountable for the actions of the army.

To suggest the British PM is unconnected to the British army is ludicrous.
Post by: foxcommander on October 24, 2014, 05:56:06 PM
If I were a major political party (FF and FG are the one onlys that really count) I wouldn't be one bit worried about SF's magic sums and their closet full of skeltons. Karma's a bitch, lads.

Skeletons?

What about Joanna Tuffy's "No water charges" promise in 2009 or Frank Feighans Roscommon Hospital A+E promise before the last election.

The current exercise is fixed on the sensational to take the focus off the lies the public have been told in the past. I'm sick of the opportunism of FG, FF etc. Should concentrate their efforts on repairing a country they have totally fkd up.
Post by: armaghniac on October 24, 2014, 06:00:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 05:24:21 PM
Cameron was of course correct to apologise. He is the PM and as head of the government, is ultimately accountable for the actions of the army.

The difference is that Cameron was only starting school when Bloody Sunday occurred, while Adams was leading the Republican movement when these events occurred.
Post by: muppet on October 24, 2014, 06:19:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 24, 2014, 06:00:25 PM

The difference is that Cameron was only starting school when Bloody Sunday occurred, while Adams was leading the Republican movement when these events occurred.

That is a serious allegation. I have seen no evidence that Cameron went to school.
Post by: armaghniac on October 24, 2014, 06:38:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 24, 2014, 06:19:58 PM
That is a serious allegation. I have seen no evidence that Cameron went to school.

He went to Eton, don't you know. A right Eton mess.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 07:33:21 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 24, 2014, 06:00:25 PM

So by that logic, Adams is more accountable than Cameron?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 07:38:01 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 24, 2014, 04:28:10 PM
Well obv yer not a political party and it's not the shinners who have much to worry about unless Mary Lou was actually the famous south Armagh sniper

Sf are not the IRA ( and most people now realise this - hence the big voting figures for sf) therefore will have same skeletons that most folk might have in the dail
Nonsense. People always understood the difference between SF and the IRA. The difference is that the IRA is no more, SF has embraced peace, and is no longer on people's TV screens refusing to condemn IRA shootings and bombings.
That and the fact that SF has focused on 'bread and butter' politics in the south rather than pushing the one agenda that is way well down the priority list of many of their current voters.
Post by: larryin89 on October 24, 2014, 09:55:15 PM
http://feilimohadhmaill.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/republicans-and-the-mairia-cahill-abuse-case/
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 01:05:56 AM
( this should be good)

spot on there Ted!

Do you actually believe that!!!!!
Lol!!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 01:07:14 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 24, 2014, 07:38:01 PM

Nonsense. People always understood the difference between SF and the IRA. The difference is that the IRA is no more, SF has embraced peace, and is no longer on people's TV screens refusing to condemn IRA shootings and bombings.
That and the fact that SF has focused on 'bread and butter' politics in the south rather than pushing the one agenda that is way well down the priority list of many of their current voters.
Great
So people like you will no longer try to equate the IRA with the shinners !

That makes a nice change!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 25, 2014, 10:21:56 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 01:05:56 AM
( this should be good)

spot on there Ted!

Do you actually believe that!!!!!
Lol!!!
That's some counter-argument.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 25, 2014, 10:50:52 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 01:07:14 AM

Great

I didn't "equate" the two, I objected to the idea they were "unconnected".

When historical issues arise, such as this one, SF will continue to be associated with the IRA, at least until that generation moves on. The fact that SF continues to sell IRA memorabilia on its website hardly shouts "unconnected organisation" either.
Post by: Syferus on October 25, 2014, 01:51:15 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on October 24, 2014, 05:56:06 PM

Skeletons?

What about Joanna Tuffy's "No water charges" promise in 2009 or Frank Feighans Roscommon Hospital A+E promise before the last election.

The current exercise is fixed on the sensational to take the focus off the lies the public have been told in the past. I'm sick of the opportunism of FG, FF etc. Should concentrate their efforts on repairing a country they have totally fkd up.

We're talking about literal skeletons as opposed to gombeenism.

If anything will make undecided voters forget about FF's misdeeds it's Gerry Adams' gang getting embroiled in their third abuse/murder crisis of the last two years.

Michael Martin must be counting his blessings, a massive own goal in the Roscommon by-election has been off-set by SF's c**k-up in Dublin and now this.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 02:06:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 25, 2014, 10:50:52 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 01:07:14 AM

Great

I didn't "equate" the two, I objected to the idea they were "unconnected".

When historical issues arise, such as this one, SF will continue to be associated with the IRA, at least until that generation moves on. The fact that SF continues to sell IRA memorabilia on its website hardly shouts "unconnected organisation" either.
But not connected in the manner that many people ( including yourself?) seem to be attempting to do.
( it's not that the IRA regrouped as sf)

Sf arose from republicanism needing a political presence and a voice.

Sf selling memorabilia etc is trying to win favour with older Supporters of militant republicanism and IRA etc - it certainly doesn't work for me - it has the reverse effect to be honest.
That said there are some good sf politicians. There are a couple of good ones in every party
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 02:11:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 25, 2014, 01:51:15 PM

Skeletons?

If anything will make undecided voters forget about FF's misdeeds it's Gerry Adams' gang getting embroiled in their third abuse/murder crisis of the last two years.

Michael Martin must be counting his blessings, a massive own goal in the Roscommon by-election has been off-set by SF's c**k-up in Dublin and now this.
Wishful thinking in your part - if you are attempting to portray incidents as sf related let alone that they would have any real correlation to votes for the shinners!

Back on topic
If this guy has sexually abused Maria Cahill before the Good Friday agreement - he would have been sent to live abroad ( never heard of guilty parties bring allowed to settle south of the border)
Or at worst he would have been shot or kneecapped.
My preference would be the shooting- IMO all sex offenders deserve this.
Post by: Syferus on October 25, 2014, 02:36:03 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 02:11:43 PM

Skeletons?

Wishful thinking in your part - if you are attempting to portray incidents as sf related let alone that they would have any real correlation to votes for the shinners!

Back on topic
If this guy has sexually abused Maria Cahill before the Good Friday agreement - he would have been sent to live abroad ( never heard of guilty parties bring allowed to settle south of the border)

Ah sure you're right - Gerry was never a member of the IRA  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 03:08:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 25, 2014, 02:36:03 PM

Skeletons?

Back on topic

Absolutely correct!
He did associate with them in long kesh- but association doesn't constitute membership.
Plus he wasn't IRA material. More of a talker.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 25, 2014, 06:52:05 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 03:08:39 PM

Skeletons?

Back on topic

Absolutely correct!
He did associate with them in long kesh- but association doesn't constitute membership.
All organisations need talkers.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 08:07:31 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 25, 2014, 06:52:05 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2014, 03:08:39 PM

Skeletons?

Back on topic

Absolutely correct!
All organisations need talkers.
Not the IRA - they were (are) a covert group

They had negotiators who linked up with British gov spooks for example

There was no need for public facing pr guy like Adams

Until republicans then began to turn to politics and ran in some elections
- that's when sf came about and the likes of Adams was tailor made for that!

Adams did have friends high up in the IRA from his days in long kesh so did take on the mantle of republican spokesperson - which pissed off a lot of vols who weren't pals in the kesh with him.
They didn't like or trust him and he was never one of them.