Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 06:07:00 PM

Title: Mary Mc Aleese barred from the Vatican
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 06:07:00 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/mary-mcaleese-barred-by-vatican-from-conference-on-women-1.3377099

Quite right,if your views are at variance with the teachings of the Catholic Church you should not be welcome in the Vatican and arguably you should be excommunicated
Title: Re: Mary Mc Aleese barred from the Vatican
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 02, 2018, 06:26:51 PM
Top notch idea.....now apply that to the parochial house clerical paedos too & those in the hierarchy that provide cover for them. Maybe the pope should be banned from the Vatican, following his little episode recently in Chile, when the mask truly slipped.
Post by: Rossfan on February 02, 2018, 07:10:21 PM
I believe they simply moved the conference to another location.
Ithe says a lot about the Vatican if someone of Mary McAleese's stand ingredients and faith is on their banned list.
Post by: seafoid on February 02, 2018, 07:19:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 06:07:00 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/mary-mcaleese-barred-by-vatican-from-conference-on-women-1.3377099

Quite right,if your views are at variance with the teachings of the Catholic Church you should not be welcome in the Vatican and arguably you should be excommunicated
She must be a heretic.
The Catholic Church is not going to budge on LGBT issues because most of its adherents in developing countries are homophobic.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 02, 2018, 07:25:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 06:07:00 PMQuite right,if your views are at variance with the teachings of the Catholic Church you should not be welcome in the Vatican and arguably you should be excommunicated

Yet your paedo-enabler heroes are welcomed there
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 02, 2018, 07:42:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 02, 2018, 07:19:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 06:07:00 PM

She must be a heretic.
The Catholic Church is not going to budge on LGBT issues because most of its adherents in developing countries are homophobic.

Where's the Witchfinder General, just when you need him?
Post by: Rossfan on February 02, 2018, 08:09:22 PM
Scapaticci?
Might be otherwise engaged😊
Post by: Syferus on February 02, 2018, 08:21:33 PM
What a shïtstain that cardinal is.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 02, 2018, 08:25:03 PM
Breaking......our religious affairs correspondent, Anthony Interfering, is reporting tonight that the Vatican has banned god from its environs. More to follow.
Post by: longballin on February 02, 2018, 08:27:02 PM
Lucky her
Post by: Oraisteach on February 02, 2018, 10:12:35 PM
And then, no problems with Callista Gingrich's credentials as UN Ambassador to the Vatican, she becoming his third wife and having an affair with him while he was still married.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2018, 10:17:18 PM
Tony is going to be quite lonely in Heaven as none of us will be there it seems  :-\

Good on you President McAleese
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 02, 2018, 10:18:00 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 02, 2018, 10:12:35 PM
And then, no problems with Callista Gingrich's credentials as UN Ambassador to the Vatican, she becoming his third wife and having an affair with him while he was still married.

That's all fine, in the Spanish Inquisition's Book Of Misdemeanours. We must always concentrate our efforts on the continuous exposure of  the filthy nonces in our midst.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 10:18:48 PM
UN ambassador is beyond the Vatican's control.You would have thought a woman of Mc Aleese's intelligence would understand the Vatican cannot welcome someone who condones sin.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 02, 2018, 10:23:50 PM
The Vatican turns a blind eye to many a sin, particularly when indulged in by men dressed in long flowing attire.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 10:31:53 PM
So.We are all sinners.Point is most of us aren't advocates of it like Mrs Mc Aleese.
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2018, 10:55:04 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 10:31:53 PM
So.We are all sinners.Point is most of us aren't advocates of it like Mrs Mc Aleese.

You wouldn't be given to bit of public pride, would you, from time to time?
Post by: longballin on February 02, 2018, 10:59:15 PM
Association of Catholic Priests has condemned the Vatican's decision. Have to get them excommunicated as well.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 02, 2018, 11:32:34 PM
Actually, Tony, a country can decline another's ambassador if that person is guilty of espionage, which of course, Gingrich isn't, but given her credentials don't you think the Vatican might have selected a less morally compromised candidate. Personally, I don't really care, but rejecting McAleese . . .
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 02, 2018, 11:34:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2018, 10:31:53 PM

Says the man boasting about gambling every weekend
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 12:27:14 AM
Gambling within moderation is not a sin.The association of Irish Priests,aka a few egotistical twats like Brian D'Arcy should button it.If they can't accept Catholic teaching either form their own cult or join an existing Protestant one.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 03, 2018, 12:36:11 AM
Gambling is driven by greed, which God hates. (1 Corinthians 6:9, 10; Ephesians 5:3, 5) Gamblers hope to gain money through the losses of others, but the Bible condemns coveting other people's possessions.—Exodus 20:17; Romans 7:7; 13:9, 10.

Gambling, even for small amounts, can arouse a destructive love of money.—1 Timothy 6:9, 10.

Gamblers often rely on superstitions or luck. However, God views such beliefs as a form of idolatry, which is incompatible with his worship.—Isaiah 65:11.

Rather than promote a desire to get something for nothing, the Bible encourages hard work. (Ecclesiastes 2:24; Ephesians 4:28) Those who follow the Bible's advice can "eat food they themselves earn."—2 Thessalonians 3:10, 12.

Gambling can arouse an unhealthy competitive spirit, which is disapproved in the Bible.—Galatians 5:26.
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 06:02:41 AM
I do not have any of these traits.I have a few modest bets that's all,am not motivated by greed.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 03, 2018, 06:06:40 AM
But isn't Pride another of the 7 Deadly Sins?
Post by: seafoid on February 03, 2018, 06:34:36 AM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 03, 2018, 06:06:40 AM
But isn't Pride another of the 7 Deadly Sins?
So is gluttony.
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 06:38:37 AM
We are all human and fall short.At times we are all proud,guilty of gluttony (Christmas) etc,we recognise this and do our best to avoid it.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 03, 2018, 10:34:27 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 06:38:37 AM
We are all human and fall short.At times we are all proud,guilty of gluttony (Christmas) etc,we recognise this and do our best to avoid it.

I have it sussed. ....you're actually Sheldon Cooper's mother.
Post by: Avondhu star on February 03, 2018, 10:45:27 AM
We had 14 years of listening to her lecturing the nation shite
Now she wants to inflict herself on the rest of the world
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 03, 2018, 11:04:16 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on February 03, 2018, 10:45:27 AM
We had 14 years of listening to her lecturing the nation shite
Now she wants to inflict herself on the rest of the world

That's no way to talk about a well loved & respected member of this forum!!
Post by: Itchy on February 03, 2018, 03:26:14 PM
Mary would want to cop on. She is a forward modern thinking woman, this is completely incompatible with the Catholic church. I don't know why she insists on giving these talks to that organisation.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 03, 2018, 03:43:01 PM
The catholic church being a collection of utter moral bankrupts?
Post by: DuffleKing on February 03, 2018, 03:57:22 PM

What an utter irrelevance the Catholic Church is in modern life.

I often have a chuckle to myself observing the hilarious carry on of the church around school and parish life. Thankfully the majority of people now recognise them for what they are - a relic of an ancient past and little more than a novelty to be endured to meet the weird societal norms we have now settled on around Catholicism in Ireland.
Post by: longballin on February 03, 2018, 05:31:48 PM
Catholic Church about to find out again how irrelevent they are in abortion referendum.
Post by: armaghniac on February 03, 2018, 08:39:02 PM
It is rather self destructive to welcome a general decline in the moral fabric of society on the basis that it may annoy Catholics.
Post by: longballin on February 03, 2018, 08:45:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 03, 2018, 08:39:02 PM
It is rather self destructive to welcome a general decline in the moral fabric of society on the basis that it may annoy Catholics.

what moral decline? Equality and humanity more like..
Post by: Rossfan on February 03, 2018, 09:23:36 PM
For babies?
Post by: longballin on February 03, 2018, 09:26:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 03, 2018, 09:23:36 PM
For babies?

Not that simplistic and certainly not for a crowd of middle age male celebates to dictate
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 10:07:54 PM
You would think the Catholic Church is a commercial brand of ill repute.To reject catholicism means personal damnation.You are the loser not the Church.
Post by: Rossfan on February 03, 2018, 10:09:45 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 03, 2018, 09:26:06 PM
For babies?

Not that simplistic and certainly not for a crowd of middle age male celebates to dictate
Very simple for the baby.  - life or death.8
Post by: longballin on February 03, 2018, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 03, 2018, 10:09:45 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 03, 2018, 09:26:06 PM
For babies?

Very simple for the baby.  - life or death.8

or maybe death for the mother?
Post by: longballin on February 03, 2018, 11:09:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 03, 2018, 10:07:54 PM
You would think the Catholic Church is a commercial brand of ill repute.To reject catholicism means personal damnation.You are the loser not the Church.

jaysus Tony you're as mad as a box of monkeys  :D
Post by: DuffleKing on February 03, 2018, 11:09:31 PM

Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 04, 2018, 07:16:15 PM

Here we go......he's off again.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2018, 07:20:07 PM
I seriously don't understand it.Atheism yes,I can understand that,but if there is a belief in God then certainly the Catholic Church is relevant as are its views.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 04, 2018, 07:22:39 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2018, 07:20:07 PM
I seriously don't understand it.Atheism yes,I can understand that,but if there is a belief in God then certainly the Catholic Church is relevant as are its views.

And as for the bunch of criminals within its "ordained" ranks........?????
Post by: Avondhu star on February 04, 2018, 07:23:25 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 03, 2018, 03:57:22 PM

I often have a chuckle to myself observing the hilarious carry on of the church around school and parish life. Thankfully the majority of people now recognise them for what they are - a relic of an ancient past and little more than a novelty to be endured to meet the weird societal norms we have now settled on around Catholicism in Ireland.
Irrelevant to a gobshite like you maybe
Post by: Itchy on February 04, 2018, 08:06:33 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on February 04, 2018, 07:23:25 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 03, 2018, 03:57:22 PM

Irrelevant to a gobshite like you maybe

There must be a lot of gobshites in Ireland so when you see the churches empty and no new priests. It's totally irrelevant to the majority in my opinion.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2018, 08:45:18 PM
I don't think so.A lot of people rediscover faith etc.
Post by: johnneycool on February 05, 2018, 10:42:53 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2018, 08:45:18 PM
I don't think so.A lot of people rediscover faith etc.

All the same God needs to up the number of "callings" to the priesthood to meet this second wave.

does he not know how supply and demand works?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 05, 2018, 04:00:28 PM
Don't. Feed. The. TROLL.
Post by: rosnarun on February 05, 2018, 04:12:56 PM
 has nobody notices the little difference in the subject heading in the thread and the actual news paper headline .
she is not barred from the vactican but barred from preaching at a catholic conference in the Vatican where shoe was going to disagree with church teachings .
similar to the way Hillary Clinton  BARRED donal Trump from speaking at her Rallies
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 05, 2018, 05:19:52 PM
Look at who created the thread & then it'll make sense. He's the vatican's equivalent of Goebbels....self-appointed, of course, as well as self-important.
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2018, 06:22:13 PM
She is barred from the Vatican on this occasion.