FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 12, 2012, 10:05:05 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on October 12, 2012, 10:00:08 PM
I think the knives have been out for Trap before this game. He was misding the better half of this team in Keane, Dunne, St Ledger, Doyle, Mclean and Whelan. You have to put it in context.

He was missing at least 6 or 7 lads, which a) makes it even more surprising that he doesn't pick his best players and b) doesn't excuse that the lads he put out there just did not try.

A) fair enough.
B) on the players heads, not his. You have to fight to keep the score at 3-nil down not give up and take it as gone.

Bit of both. The Irish lads are normally at least good for an honest, workmanlike effort. However, a sign of a 'lost' dressing room is poor morale and a defeatist attitude when things start to go wrong ('Here we go again syndrome'). I agree a player is ultimately responsible for his own performance, but it's a manager's job to get the most out of his players, in attitude and application as well as technical performance. Trap is getting neither at the moment, and it stinks to high heaven looking at players body language.

the knives are out for Trap, but others are blaming the Merkel Flag Crew on the defeat... Angela's revenge

Onlooker

Ireland are so bad that we would have no business going to Rio anyway.  The farther we are away from the World Cup finals the better.

Rio's chipper in Castletroy is more like it.

Quote from: Onlooker on October 12, 2012, 10:54:16 PM
Ireland are so bad that we would have no business going to Rio anyway.  The farther we are away from the World Cup finals the better.

Are you part of the Brolly School of thinking, that even if we qualify by beating some one in a play-off. We should let the team we beat go instead. And let our lads go on Summer Holiday.  :P

Why is Marc Wilson not starting in this team! Playing well week in week out in the premiership and cant get on ahead of that crap on the field tonight!

And is that Clarke lad not playing with Villa? Even the likes of Houlihan at Norwich, Pilkington, etc etc.

Quote from: ONeill on October 12, 2012, 10:24:12 PM
So:

Did Trapp work a miracle qualifying Ireland for the Euros?

We finished second in a weak group (apart from Russia) and that was largely down to a near miracle in Moscow. Then we were lucky to get the handiest draw going. We should have been comfortably second in that group. We have lots of guys playing in the prem but no - lets pick lads with no club/ playing in mickey mouse leagues ahead of them. Its a shambles. I hope Trapp is gone and players get picked on merit again. The last few years have been horrible and anyone defending it is unpatriotic in my book.

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 12, 2012, 11:02:50 PM
And is that Clarke lad not playing with Villa? Even the likes of Houlihan at Norwich, Pilkington, etc etc.

Quote from: JimStynes on October 12, 2012, 11:01:42 PM
Why is Marc Wilson not starting in this team! Playing well week in week out in the premiership and cant get on ahead of that crap on the field tonight!

It's all a plan by Trap to confuse Dunphy. He usually has one Martyr he chooses to row in behind, Andy Reid etc. With more than one martyr, Dunphy can't keep up with the various different options available to fill up the holes!

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 12, 2012, 11:02:50 PM

Sure Trapp doesn't bother going to watch English club games so he probably doesn't know who you're on about at all lads.

I think it's just back to the 70's / 80's era, the circle has gone full to that and the golden era of international footballing 'glory' is probably gonna be another 20 odd years away.

Have the FAI the money to sack Trapp and appoint a new manager?

They would have very little money to attract anyone decent, would they even be able to match the salary of a manage in the English Championship?

Will this result leave the FAI in financial difficulties, how will they fund their stadium repayments?

Should Delaney resign as well?

Sad times for soccer grass roots.

Celt_Man

Pathetic - an absolute embarrassment of the highest order...

How are Preimer League Players not getting on that team?

Wilson, Holohan (or the Squad), Long not starting?

Where is Paul Green when you need him?
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

I thought Delaney was an embarrasment over in Poznan. Fair enough he got the fans a round, but he got a bit to involved, stuck in all the papers downing shots etc. Looked like he was just there for the craic. He would want to wise up. Not many International managers are getting the money Trappatoni is getting

Celt_Man

The FAI are between a rock and a hard place.  It'll cost a bomb of money n doubt to get rid of Trap but honestly, how many people are gonna part with €60 plus to watch shite like that. Would there be 20,000 there on Tuesday if they were playing the Faroes at home?  Poor attendance will have a terrible effect on their finances, funds from tickets, money spent in the stadium, sponsorship etc
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010