Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Lazer on December 13, 2010, 11:03:28 PM

Title: RTE on Freeview
Post by: Lazer on December 13, 2010, 11:03:28 PM
Supposedly the headline in tomorrows Irish news is the RTE is coming North via Freeview - anyone got anymore details?
Title: Re: RTE on Freeview
Post by: JUst retired on December 14, 2010, 08:08:51 AM
I dont think it`s freeveiw,but you will have to buy a box which is something like the same system. I noticed an article in The Irish news at the weekend about this.
Post by: tbrick18 on December 14, 2010, 08:52:05 AM
My dad recently bought a new tv with built in freeview....and RTE is actaully recieved on the digital channels. I can only get an analogue signal though.
Post by: bailestil on December 14, 2010, 09:33:52 AM
I can get RTE freeview, but i can't get UK freeview in Derry!

I don't know if its some sort of dissident plot to try and force irish culture on the good citizens of londonderry.
Post by: ziggysego on December 14, 2010, 09:47:39 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on December 14, 2010, 08:52:05 AM
My dad recently bought a new tv with built in freeview....and RTE is actaully recieved on the digital channels. I can only get an analogue signal though.

I got a similar TV recently and had the same problem.  Point the aerial at Carlingford and you'll get RTE, TV3, RTE News and 3e.
Post by: isourboydownyet on December 14, 2010, 09:58:42 AM
to recieve rte freeview in the north your set needs to be mpeg 4 compatible,most new sonys and sharps are mpeg4 with other main brands having selected models (usually higer end spec) with mpeg4.
derry dont have freeview yet and the few in derry who do get it from the limavady transmitter.
currently you can buy a freeview hd box which will get it which costs around £149
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 01:40:33 PM

If you dont mind me asking what tv did he buy?
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 07:30:36 PM
So let me get this right.

There may be the possibility of receiving RTE in N.I if you have a tv with mpeg4 compatability???

Or am i completely wrong  ???
Post by: isourboydownyet on December 14, 2010, 08:09:48 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 07:30:36 PM

There may be the possibility of receiving RTE in N.I if you have a tv with mpeg4 compatability???

you are right as i posted above there are some tv's witch are mpeg4 compatible but your looking at mostly there higher end models,rte is on freeview channel 801 and if you are in a area which picks up rte via freeview most sets will give you audio but no picture
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 08:33:41 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on December 14, 2010, 08:09:48 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 07:30:36 PM

you are right as i posted above there are some tv's witch are mpeg4 compatible but your looking at mostly there higher end models,rte is on freeview channel 801 and if you are in a area which picks up rte via freeview most sets will give you audio but no picture

Cheers for that.

I have perfect digital signal in derry (south)

Fairly new tv.

Tried channel 801 for the craic there- Create & Craft came on so not sure what the deal is.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 15, 2010, 12:13:53 PM
Lads if you're getting the signal from Mexico you'll need a dvb-t2 receiver to get sound with all the channels and it's called saorView down here
Post by: ziggysego on December 15, 2010, 12:15:01 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 15, 2010, 12:13:53 PM
Lads if you're getting the signal from Mexico you'll need a dvb-t2 receiver to get sound with all the channels and it's called saorView down here

saorView is up here too.
Post by: Bensars on December 16, 2010, 12:00:12 PM
Just found out that rte are currently sending signals for freeview from the Sligo and Lonford transmitters only. It was the case that it was available on all transmitters for a short period while testing was conducted. Apparently RTE are under contract with SKY until 2012 and it therefore wont be available until then on other transmitters. Currently have perfect signal through freeview for
Rte1,Rte2,TV3,TG4,3e,Rte news now, Radio1,RnG,Radio2,gold,lyric fm,chill.
It may be of benefit to some of you
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 16, 2010, 12:06:56 PM
Bensars where are you based?
Post by: theskull1 on December 16, 2010, 12:43:37 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on December 16, 2010, 12:06:56 PM
Bensars where are you based?

More importantly, wheres that old avatar of yours  :P
Post by: Bensars on December 16, 2010, 01:50:37 PM
Just posted what was told to me Fionntamhnach . Thought it may have been of use to someone.
Either way im not concerned as i have perfect recption on all those channels
Post by: Eddie Stobart on December 20, 2010, 10:29:16 PM
I noticed I now have RTE Player on my PS3 home screen
Post by: tbrick18 on December 22, 2010, 08:12:04 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on December 14, 2010, 01:40:33 PM

If you dont mind me asking what tv did he buy?

I dont know exactly what model but it was a new Samsung. I bought a Samsung about Febuary this year but the one he bought seems to have been upgraded since mine, though it was around the same price.
Post by: johnneycool on February 25, 2011, 02:24:02 PM
Bloody typical, we'll miss out and yet the steel rods up in Greyabbey will have full access. Those feckin Mourne mountains.
Post by: Ulick on February 25, 2011, 02:48:18 PM
Can they really get it to that degree of accuracy? That's saying I won't be able to get it in Rosetta but someone a few hundred yards away on the Ormeau, Saintfield and Castlereagh roads can.
Post by: armaghniac on February 25, 2011, 02:56:57 PM
These maps are generated from elevation data in a GIS, they should be fairly accurate.
Post by: theskull1 on February 25, 2011, 03:23:30 PM
Just to be clear ...this mpeg4 isn't it so most of the freeview decoders/TVs in the north won't pick up the signal?

Is that right?
Post by: Ulick on February 25, 2011, 04:06:39 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 25, 2011, 03:23:30 PM
Just to be clear ...this mpeg4 isn't it so most of the freeview decoders/TVs in the north won't pick up the signal?

Is that right?

It'll pick up the signal but won't be able to decode it. If your box/telly isn't compatible, you'll probably see a fuzzy screen when it hits the signal
Post by: Ulick on February 25, 2011, 04:08:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 25, 2011, 02:56:57 PM
These maps are generated from elevation data in a GIS, they should be fairly accurate.

Fecks sake. Don't see why they can't just broadcast of Divis mountain like TG4.
Post by: isourboydownyet on February 25, 2011, 04:20:40 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 25, 2011, 03:23:30 PM

Is that right?

you will just have a blank screen although you will get audio.
alot of the higher end sets are mpeg4 compatible such as sony and panasonic but i know a few cheaper brands have mpeg4 in there newer models.
Post by: armaghniac on February 25, 2011, 04:51:12 PM
QuoteFecks sake. Don't see why they can't just broadcast of Divis mountain like TG4.

perhaps because they don't own it?

Quotealot of the higher end sets are mpeg4 compatible such as sony and panasonic but i know a few cheaper brands have mpeg4 in there newer models.

Most decent sets in the last year or so are mpeg4 capable, any set or box designed for Freeeview HD will probably work.  Panasonic and Phillips are known for setting up their sets differently for different markets, crippling some features. Samsung and LG etc. basically produce one model for Europe, which does everything. 

http://www.saortv.info/  is informative.
Post by: Ulick on February 25, 2011, 08:24:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 25, 2011, 04:51:12 PM
perhaps because they don't own it?

Neither did TG4 the last time I checked.
Post by: Malvinas on June 09, 2011, 10:41:36 PM
I got an aeriel on the roof in January to get a better freeview reception.

At the time fella said i could pay another £100 for an rte aeriel which probably wouldnt work (house in south belfast) or i could wait six months when id get rte through freeview.

Six months nearly up but havent heard anything in news about extended saorview to north.

Anybody else hear anything?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2011, 07:10:32 AM
Picked up RTE/TV3 recently via freeview on my BTvision box, I only get the RTE Radio stations on another freeview tv I have in the house ,
Post by: J OGorman on June 10, 2011, 10:46:00 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2011, 07:10:32 AM
Picked up RTE/TV3 recently via freeview on my BTvision box, I only get the RTE Radio stations on another freeview tv I have in the house ,

you getting the sport on rte HD Newbridge? Magners League Final, CL Final, GAA on free HD, what a treat
Post by: gander on June 10, 2011, 10:48:40 AM
I have a samsung TV and getting all RTE1&2/TV3/TG4 on digital freeview. I live in Armagh
Post by: Bensars on June 10, 2011, 12:13:01 PM
Quote from: gander on June 10, 2011, 10:48:40 AM
I have a samsung TV and getting all RTE1&2/TV3/TG4 on digital freeview. I live in Armagh

Same as and have for some time. Perfect picture
Post by: Hereiam on June 10, 2011, 12:35:17 PM
Have a samsung as well and get RTE 1,RTE 2,TV3,TG4,3E,RTE NEWS NOW,RTE+1. All great picture quality.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2011, 02:50:56 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 10, 2011, 10:46:00 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2011, 07:10:32 AM

you getting the sport on rte HD Newbridge? Magners League Final, CL Final, GAA on free HD, what a treat
Na dont have a HD TV , good to get the games on TV3 though, where I'm at you are unable to get TV3 on Analogue
Post by: FermGael on June 21, 2011, 09:23:26 PM
I have a Sky dish on the side of the house.
Was looking at Bt vision and Sky today and would be inclined to head for Bt vision.
But was wondering is the any combo boxes that combine Saorview and Freesat with a TV recorder??
Not to keen on locking into a 18 month contract with either.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on June 21, 2011, 09:28:37 PM
If you are buying a tv with built in freeview if it is Mpeg4 then you can get perfect picture quality on on RTe1,network 2,tv3 tg4 and 3e
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2011, 09:30:41 PM
Lads, I have a Samsung Series 7 LCD TV, bought just after Christmas. I can't find the manual, so I don't know what it has re. MPEG4 or whatever. How would I go about trying to Tune in the RTE channels without an aerial?
Post by: FermGael on June 21, 2011, 09:34:32 PM
Quote from: Rocky Mc Guigan on June 21, 2011, 09:28:37 PM
If you are buying a tv with built in freeview if it is Mpeg4 then you can get perfect picture quality on on RTe1,network 2,tv3 tg4 and 3e
Tv has built in freeview but not for southern channels
Post by: FermGael on June 21, 2011, 09:50:04 PM
Fionntamhnach what about something like this??
Am i right in thinking that if you attached a portable harddrive you could record?

http://www.satellite.ie/acatalo/Free_to_air_HD_Satellite_and_Terrestrial_Digital_Ferguson_HD_Ariva_Combo_Box.html (http://www.satellite.ie/acatalo/Free_to_air_HD_Satellite_and_Terrestrial_Digital_Ferguson_HD_Ariva_Combo_Box.html)
Post by: clarshack on September 14, 2011, 10:55:21 AM
I have 2 tvs in house with built in freeview and both are unable to pick up the southern channels. I looked at the saorview coverage map and my area is covered in red which means i shouldnt be able to pick up the signal. however my brother who lives down the road was able to pick it up with the built in freeview on his tv.

anyway i did a bit more research and found out that the technika hd box (model: STBHDIS2010) currently on sale at £30 in tesco would be able to pick it up. therefore i went and bought it yesterday (had to buy a separate hdmi lead though) and lo and behold it picked up the southern channels right away including rte2 hd. so now i can look forward to watching the all-ireland final in hd on sunday  :)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 14, 2011, 11:48:43 AM
Quote from: clarshack on September 14, 2011, 10:55:21 AM
I have 2 tvs in house with built in freeview and both are unable to pick up the southern channels. I looked at the saorview coverage map and my area is covered in red which means i shouldnt be able to pick up the signal. however my brother who lives down the road was able to pick it up with the built in freeview on his tv.

anyway i did a bit more research and found out that the technika hd box (model: STBHDIS2010) currently on sale at £30 in tesco would be able to pick it up. therefore i went and bought it yesterday (had to buy a separate hdmi lead though) and lo and behold it picked up the southern channels right away including rte2 hd. so now i can look forward to watching the all-ireland final in hd on sunday  :)

Sounds like your tvs have an MPEG2 tuner built in, they will pick up the UK Freeview but to pick up Saorview you need an MPEG4 tuner. Enjoy the final in HD, not much joy to be had watching the 3 Nualas in even greater clarity though.
Post by: J OGorman on September 14, 2011, 12:33:36 PM

some treat Clarshack..have been on the rte HD for a a wee while...GAA, rugby, soccer ball,, some job
Post by: men in black on September 14, 2011, 12:48:40 PM
Quote from: clarshack on Today at 10:55:21 AM

anyway i did a bit more research and found out that the technika hd box (model: STBHDIS2010) currently on sale at £30 in tesco would be able to pick it up. therefore i went and bought it yesterday (had to buy a separate hdmi lead though) and lo and behold it picked up the southern channels right away including rte2 hd. so now i can look forward to watching the all-ireland final in hd on sunday   

My TV is HD ready. Will this make it full HD
Post by: clarshack on September 14, 2011, 01:17:43 PM
Quote from: men in black on September 14, 2011, 12:48:40 PM
Quote from: clarshack on Today at 10:55:21 AM

anyway i did a bit more research and found out that the technika hd box (model: STBHDIS2010) currently on sale at £30 in tesco would be able to pick it up. therefore i went and bought it yesterday (had to buy a separate hdmi lead though) and lo and behold it picked up the southern channels right away including rte2 hd. so now i can look forward to watching the all-ireland final in hd on sunday   

My TV is HD ready. Will this make it full HD

if you see the 'HD Ready' logo on a display screen it means the screen has sufficient resolution to support HD images and can play HD sources. However it may not display the full resolution from 1080p sources.

my main tv is hd ready and supports 1080i but it doesnt support 1080p. however sky and freeview hd both broadcast in 1080i.

Post by: FermGael on September 14, 2011, 02:37:04 PM
I have Bt Vision and have also been able to pick up rte digital
Noticed last week that for some of the rte programmes there was a HD logo displayed beside the channel name in the top right hand corner when the programme was on.
does this mean i am receiving these stations in HD??
Post by: J OGorman on September 14, 2011, 02:52:58 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 14, 2011, 02:37:04 PM
Noticed last week that for some of the rte programmes there was a HD logo displayed beside the channel name in the top right hand corner when the programme was on.

will only be rte 2 in HD FG
Post by: theskull1 on September 14, 2011, 08:02:03 PM
FTA DVB-S2 transmissions of RTE channels are being transmitted using the Irish spot beam and can be received in Northern Ireland or the Irish Republic using an 80cm antenna.

You'll need an HD receiver to decode MPEG-4 and DVB-S2, and most importantly, a Ka-band LNB able to pick up the higher-frequency circular-polarised transmissions.

I know that this hasn't been officially launched but I was wondering if any experts might dymistify the above for me

My plasma (with freesat tuner) supports MPEG4 and DVB-S, so I'm guessing I would need

A new freesat set top box?
A Ka Band LNB

Do I just need to add the new LNB along with my current Ku one and run a separate cable down for the Saorsat signal?

Any help appreciated

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:01:29 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 14, 2011, 02:52:58 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 14, 2011, 02:37:04 PM

will only be rte 2 in HD FG

As JOG says, only RTE2 is being broadcast in HD at the moment, if you are receiving this channel then your tv has a MPEG4 tuner and you are sorted for saorView. The other channels in HD will come on stream when the second multiplexer is launched (supposed to be shortly but that doesn't mean anything with RTENL) and when they are offered by the broadcaster. Most of the stuff on RTE2 HD is upscaled, i.e. instead of your HD telly upscaling the content to 1080i, RTE are upscaling and then broadcasting it. A good way to tell if the content was originally filmed in HD (apart from relying on the 2 holes in your head) is to check to see if there is a vertical line to the right of the RTE TWO HD logo or DOG.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:06:58 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 14, 2011, 08:02:03 PM
FTA DVB-S2 transmissions of RTE channels are being transmitted using the Irish spot beam and can be received in Northern Ireland or the Irish Republic using an 80cm antenna.

You'll need an HD receiver to decode MPEG-4 and DVB-S2, and most importantly, a Ka-band LNB able to pick up the higher-frequency circular-polarised transmissions.

I know that this hasn't been officially launched but I was wondering if any experts might dymistify the above for me

My plasma (with freesat tuner) supports MPEG4 and DVB-S, so I'm guessing I would need

A Ka Band LNB

Do I just need to add the new LNB along with my current Ku one and run a separate cable down for the Saorsat signal?

Any help appreciated

freeSat is the UK service, what they are referring to there is saorSat, the Irish satellite service. I'm not too well versed on saorSat but I do know you need a different dish pointed in a different direction to the one used for freeSat and Sky (both are these are interchangeable).
Post by: Ulick on September 15, 2011, 05:21:02 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:06:58 PM

A Ka Band LNB

Any help appreciated

freeSat is the UK service, what they are referring to there is saorSat, the Irish satellite service. I'm not too well versed on saorSat but I do know you need a different dish pointed in a different direction to the one used for freeSat and Sky (both are these are interchangeable).

Not quite. I'm planning to build my own dish as I'm in a reception black-spot in the north. The way I understand it you could install two LNBs into the same dish, one for SaorSat and one for the others. A DVB-S2 receiver should then be the only thing needed to decode the signal for the telly. What I'm holding out for is clear information on the required LNB. The information I can gather has said "at least" a Ka Band LNB is required but I haven't been able to source one yet that specifically says it is suitable for SaorSat. Read somewhere a while back that loads have been ordered from Asia but haven't arrived in the country yet.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:42:45 PM
Quote from: Ulick on September 15, 2011, 05:21:02 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 15, 2011, 05:06:58 PM

A Ka Band LNB

Any help appreciated

Not quite. I'm planning to build my own dish as I'm in a reception black-spot in the north. The way I understand it you could install two LNBs into the same dish, one for SaorSat and one for the others. A DVB-S2 receiver should then be the only thing needed to decode the signal for the telly. What I'm holding out for is clear information on the required LNB. The information I can gather has said "at least" a Ka Band LNB is required but I haven't been able to source one yet that specifically says it is suitable for SaorSat. Read somewhere a while back that loads have been ordered from Asia but haven't arrived in the country yet.

I think we are in agreement Ulick, I was pointing out that an existing freeSat/Sky dish (these are typically 65cm) would not double up as a satellite to receive saorSat. A quick search revealed this on http://www.techtir.ie/saortv/saorsat (http://www.techtir.ie/saortv/saorsat) "Receiving Sky/Freesat and Saorsat will need either a special dual feed 80cm dish or a 2nd Saorsat dish on existing Sky/Freesat systems" Fair play if you're gonna build one yourself.

Another snippet I found that may be of interest to skull is that a DVB-S2 tuner is needed, a DVB-S tuner will not work, check your spec skull.
Post by: theskull1 on September 15, 2011, 06:51:20 PM
DVB-S Croí, so I'll require a separate tuner as well. Might be the opertunity to get a PVR

Good info guys. I'm going to stick it out until tried and tested offerings are available at a decent price.

Cheers
Post by: Nally Stand on September 21, 2011, 08:21:45 PM

Took your advice and bought that freeview box. It wouldn't switch on when I set it up and after some research, found out I had to download a firmware update for it and install it via usb. All well and good, I tuned it in and just my luck, unlike every other freeview box I've ever used, it does pick up the southern channels perfectly. Unfortunately, also unlike other freeview boxes, it won't pick up anything else!! Any tech whizzkids on here fit to tell me how I could get all the other freeview channels tuned in now too? (bbc, itv, e4, dave etc etc etc)??
Post by: Nally Stand on September 21, 2011, 10:58:52 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 21, 2011, 10:43:49 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on September 21, 2011, 08:21:45 PM

Took your advice and bought that freeview box. It wouldn't switch on when I set it up and after some research, found out I had to download a firmware update for it and install it via usb. All well and good, I tuned it in and just my luck, unlike every other freeview box I've ever used, it does pick up the southern channels perfectly. Unfortunately, also unlike other freeview boxes, it won't pick up anything else!! Any tech whizzkids on here fit to tell me how I could get all the other freeview channels tuned in now too? (bbc, itv, e4, dave etc etc etc)??
Check to see if there are any channels from 800 upwards, 900 on some receivers.

I just did the auto channel tuning option and it picked up the southern channels only and they seem to be all in the 800 or so range if my memory serves me right (Im away from the house at the minute). I've no idea about the technical end of things but tried the usual tried and trusted methods of turning it off and on again and re-tuning. Very frustrating that the one freeview box I get that actually picks up RTÉ channels cannot pick up anything else  :-\

Can anything be done do you know Fionntamhnach? Looked a the manual tuning part earlier too but there doesn't appear to be any solutions jumping out at me.
Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2011, 11:22:36 PM
Did you set a country setting somewhere? This might affect the auto selection.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 21, 2011, 11:42:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 21, 2011, 11:22:36 PM
Did you set a country setting somewhere? This might affect the auto selection.

No I wasn't prompted at any stage to do so and couldn't find a menu for it either. Technology can be an awful pain in the hole when it wants to be.
Post by: NAG1 on September 22, 2011, 03:04:26 PM
OK guys I know this is strictly not an RTE on freeview question but I will get there. I currently have BT vision in and have no RTE through that I am going to put up a new aerial to boost the strength of the signal as is.

I have a splitter in the roofspace and used to use the sky to send signal to the splitter and then around the various rooms. I have been unable to do this with the BT boc? Is it doable?

When I have the new aerial in place will I be able to get the RTE signal through the BT vision box or on freeview which is on the TV?
Post by: Nally Stand on September 22, 2011, 03:05:07 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 22, 2011, 02:55:45 PM
You might have to try manual tuning on the STB. Tune in to one of the RTÉ channels, then go into the menu and look for something like "Manual Tuning" or "Manual Installation" rather than an Automatic option. When you get into the manual tuning screen you'll probably seen a signal strength and signal quality meter, maybe a network ID (for Saorview this will be RTÉNL) and a channel number or frequency. This should be 53. Change this number to 30 and wait a few seconds to see the strength and quality metres change and if a network ID is available it should say Northern Ireland. If there is a decent signal, select the option then to scan for programmes or channels - this should give you most of the BBC TV channels (BBC1, BBC2, CBBC, BBC3, BBC News and a few others). If this is done successfully, you'll need to repeat the manual scan for the following channel number or frequency - 23, 26, 29, 33 and 34. If there is no signal on 30, try 29 instead. IF that works in saving some BBC channels, then repeat the process with 23, 26, 33, 34 and 48.

Thanks Fionntamhnach, I'll give that a rattle this evening and report back. Much appreciated.
Post by: NAG1 on September 22, 2011, 03:55:39 PM
Cheers for that Fionntamchnach
Post by: Nally Stand on September 22, 2011, 07:00:32 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on September 22, 2011, 03:05:07 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 22, 2011, 02:55:45 PM
You might have to try manual tuning on the STB. Tune in to one of the RTÉ channels, then go into the menu and look for something like "Manual Tuning" or "Manual Installation" rather than an Automatic option. When you get into the manual tuning screen you'll probably seen a signal strength and signal quality meter, maybe a network ID (for Saorview this will be RTÉNL) and a channel number or frequency. This should be 53. Change this number to 30 and wait a few seconds to see the strength and quality metres change and if a network ID is available it should say Northern Ireland. If there is a decent signal, select the option then to scan for programmes or channels - this should give you most of the BBC TV channels (BBC1, BBC2, CBBC, BBC3, BBC News and a few others). If this is done successfully, you'll need to repeat the manual scan for the following channel number or frequency - 23, 26, 29, 33 and 34. If there is no signal on 30, try 29 instead. IF that works in saving some BBC channels, then repeat the process with 23, 26, 33, 34 and 48.

Thanks Fionntamhnach, I'll give that a rattle this evening and report back. Much appreciated.

Unfortunately it's not working out Fionntamhnach. Tried channels 29 and 30 as a start and getting 0% for signal and quality. Seems to be the case for every channel other than 53.
Post by: Just_Browsing on September 28, 2011, 08:44:10 AM
Hi All,

I recently got a new TV (Alba one from Argos) - (http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5296077/Trail/searchtext%3EALBA+TV.htm) - live in one of the border counties.

Anyway - its a HD Ready TV not a HD which I think may be the problem.  I do a search for channels connecting the TV to my aerial on the roof.  It fines BBC, etc.  It also finds RTE1 RTE2, etc but I only hear the audio and I get a black screen with video format not supported.  Now as far as I know this is because the digital signal is MPEG4 and my TV can only present MPEG2 - is there anything I can buy to enable me to view RTE channels?  Thanks
Post by: armaghniac on September 28, 2011, 09:47:29 AM
QuoteAnyway - its a HD Ready TV not a HD which I think may be the problem.

Exactly.

is there anything I can buy to enable me to view RTE channels? 

Do a deal with Nally Stand for his box, it only picks up RTÉ!
Post by: Just_Browsing on September 28, 2011, 12:19:49 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 28, 2011, 09:47:29 AM
QuoteAnyway - its a HD Ready TV not a HD which I think may be the problem.

Exactly.

OK thanks armaghniac - may see if still have the receipt - be safer paying extra few quid for full HD TV in order to get the RTE picture.
Post by: oakleafgael on October 21, 2011, 12:17:19 PM
Any advise greatly appreciated.

Current set up is analogue. Have good quality analogue picture which comes from the Strabane transmitter and seperate RTE from Raphoe. In the roofspace there is a box fed from the aerial which splits the signal and sends it via coaxial cable to three rooms downstairs and three upstairs.

Bought a new tv last weekend which is MPEG 4. Able to pick up RTE digital on the new TV which is a great job.

I would like to be able to get FreeView as well which is where the problem begins.

Have been advised to leave the RTE aerial alone but that I cant get a Freeview aerial from Strabane as the signal will clash with the RTE digital signal coming from Raphoe. I cant pick up the signal from Brougher which would have cured the problem.

It has been recommended that I get FreeSat but it will only be available on the one TV.

Would it be posible to modify the box in the roofspace or replace it so that I could connect a feed into it from both the RTE aerial and the FreeSat dish, if this can be done would I then have both FreeSat and RTE Digital in the 6 rooms.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 21, 2011, 12:20:58 PM
Strabane isn't broadcasting freeview yet and won't be for another year
Post by: oakleafgael on October 21, 2011, 12:22:51 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on October 21, 2011, 12:20:58 PM
Strabane isn't broadcasting freeview yet and won't be for another year

So the FreeSat is the only option until then?
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 21, 2011, 12:28:17 PM
If you want digital now, then the answer is yes or wait until October 10th 2012.
Post by: oakleafgael on October 21, 2011, 12:47:42 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on October 21, 2011, 12:28:17 PM
If you want digital now, then the answer is yes or wait until October 10th 2012.

Think I may wait then. Will it work in every room then from the one coaxial cable?
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 21, 2011, 01:37:41 PM
Sorry I'm not sure on that, Fionntamhnach might be able to answer that.
Post by: Goldengreen on October 21, 2011, 03:27:56 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on October 21, 2011, 12:17:19 PM
Any advise greatly appreciated.

Current set up is analogue. Have good quality analogue picture which comes from the Strabane transmitter and seperate RTE from Raphoe. In the roofspace there is a box fed from the aerial which splits the signal and sends it via coaxial cable to three rooms downstairs and three upstairs.

Bought a new tv last weekend which is MPEG 4. Able to pick up RTE digital on the new TV which is a great job.

I would like to be able to get FreeView as well which is where the problem begins.

Have been advised to leave the RTE aerial alone but that I cant get a Freeview aerial from Strabane as the signal will clash with the RTE digital signal coming from Raphoe. I cant pick up the signal from Brougher which would have cured the problem.

It has been recommended that I get FreeSat but it will only be available on the one TV.

Would it be posible to modify the box in the roofspace or replace it so that I could connect a feed into it from both the RTE aerial and the FreeSat dish, if this can be done would I then have both FreeSat and RTE Digital in the 6 rooms.

No expert here and am open to correction.
Fisrtly with the freesat, you can't split the cable coming from the dish (though I might be wrong on this as I have been looking into it recently, but think there is splitter available but can be expensive), best option there is to have a Octo LNB on the dish and have a line going to each room (http://www.tvtrade.ie/octo-lnb.html)
if you only have one line going to each room from the loft and you use it for the analog tv, you can combine the tv and sat feeds into one line and then split them out again in each room, to do that you would need two of these one to combine and one to split (http://www.tvtrade.ie/alltrade-tv-aerial-and-satellite-combiner.html)

But like another poster said wait untill freeview comes on line, if you wait you might have to have the following set up:
two aerials one point to Raphoe and one point to Strabane they might clash but the following page gives a good description on how to combine freeview and saorview. http://www.tvtrade.ie/how-to-combine-saorview-and-freeview-on-the-same-digital-receiver.html
Planning the same kind of set up too but will wait till I know what the frequencies are in the north before doing anything.
Post by: Sandino on November 28, 2011, 06:06:05 PM
Lads I had been watching Rte  digital on a samsung its had Mpeg 4, great pictures on channels. Now i have no RTE pictures at all. Has the set up changed or have I just done somthing silly? Thanks for any help in advance. Tried retuning etc but nothing has worked.
Post by: Sandino on November 28, 2011, 07:17:13 PM
I live in Omagh, all non RTE channels are fine.
Post by: Sandino on November 28, 2011, 08:30:47 PM
Could it have something to do with the settings on the tv, one minute perfect the next no rte, I think even the radio channels are gone. I must have another look tonight. Thanks for your help.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 27, 2012, 09:47:09 AM
this might have been covered already but:
i an trying to get RTE through my freeview box , but all i can get is sound, no pickture. the channels come up on the EPG alright, but just a black screen and sound. is this something to do with the freeview box i'm using or is it down to poor signal?
Post by: shezam on January 27, 2012, 09:54:15 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 27, 2012, 09:47:09 AM
i an trying to get RTE through my freeview box , but all i can get is sound, no pickture. the channels come up on the EPG alright, but just a black screen and sound. is this something to do with the freeview box i'm using or is it down to poor signal?

Does your freeview box support MPEG4?

Heres the supported boxs > http://www.saorview.ie/products-retailers/saorview-approved-product-listings/
Post by: tbrick18 on January 27, 2012, 10:03:41 AM
Ok this is probably a stupid question, but how do I scan for RTE freeview? I've a Samsung tv, not sure off the top of my head what the model is.
Also, I have the PlayTV box for Playstation3. Would I be able to get RTE freeview on it?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 27, 2012, 10:10:47 AM
Quote from: shezam on January 27, 2012, 09:54:15 AM

Does your freeview box support MPEG4?

Heres the supported boxs > http://www.saorview.ie/products-retailers/saorview-approved-product-listings/
well its not on that list so maybe it doesnt, its a thomson topup tv box
Post by: Goldengreen on January 27, 2012, 03:12:34 PM

Sounds with no picture would indicate that the decoder in yourset top box is MPEG-2. MPEG-2 is what the Freeview used. But Saorview used MPEG-4. Though I hear that the Freeview HD ste top boxes are MPEG-4 so if you had a Freeview HD box you would be able to get picture and sounds from Saroview.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 27, 2012, 03:44:49 PM
Sorry lads i know this whole thread is a full discussion on this but i couldnt be bothered reading through 7 pages. i have 3 tvs in the house, all digital, unfortunetly none of them have rte 1, rte2, tv3, or tg4 in the program list. now i am aware that these channels are going digital this year.
can someone tell me, what is it that i have to buy, is is a booster to go into my roof space or is it a dopey looking box that sits beside each and also how much dough are we talking??

thanks in advance  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on January 27, 2012, 04:58:01 PM
Assuming that you can get a analogue RTE signal then you need a dopey looking box or a new TV.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 27, 2012, 06:10:06 PM
You assumed right, I do get rte through analogue, how much are these boxes? Could I no buy 1 and put it in the attic along with my ariel?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 30, 2012, 11:21:14 PM
Anyone know if Saorview will be extending its package of channels?
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2012, 01:31:56 PM
Published on 1st February 2012 at 20:37 by Brian Butterworth
A special service for 80%-90% of households in Northern Ireland will see three Freeview additional channels being available. These will be:

TG4 - Irish language television channel - Teilifis Gaeilge
RTÉ Television: RTÉ One
RTÉ Television: RTÉ Two (in HD on Saorview)

Some homes will be able to receive the services directly from the Saorview transmitters in the RoI (see SAORVIEW - Ireland's free digital television service ), and others will, from the digital switchover date of Wednesday 24th October 2012, have a service provided from three Freeview transmitters in Northern Ireland.

Brougher Mountain at 2kW on C36
Black Mountain at 1kW on unknown channel
Carnmoney Hill 16w on unknown channel

However, you will not be able to view these services using a standard-definition Freeview receiver - a Freeview HD box or set will be required. It is not known at this time if the NIMM will carry RTE2 in HD, as per the Saorview service. TG4 and RTE1 are broadcast in standard definition at the moment.

The requirement for a Freeview HD receiver is because the services are being broadcasting in "D-Book Option 11", which uses the DVB-T2 standard ("a new mode, option 11, is being planned for a multiplex in Northern Ireland. Receivers should be able to switch between these automatically", D-Book 7, DTG164 is defined in appendix G as: FFT size 32k, 16QAM modulation, 1/128 guard interval, PP7, FEC 64800). Digital Television - Technical guidance on the availability of TG4 in Northern Ireland after digital switchover says that Option 11 is: DVB-T2 16QAM FEC 1/2.
Post by: LeoMc on February 02, 2012, 09:26:43 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 27, 2012, 06:27:27 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 27, 2012, 06:10:06 PM
You assumed right, I do get rte through analogue, how much are these boxes? Could I no buy 1 and put it in the attic along with my ariel?
Freeview HD set-top-box should work, though this goes beside your TV, not in the attic.

What about a HD TV with Freeview? or would you still need a set-top box?
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2012, 10:35:44 PM
QuoteWhat about a HD TV with Freeview? or would you still need a set-top box?

A set capable of picking up Freeview HD should be able to pick up RTE either from the Belfast transmitters or directly as Saorview from the cross border transmitters.
Post by: ludermor on February 08, 2012, 09:13:09 AM
Is there any way of picking up RTE in England? I know a few lads who have irish sky boxes which works but the place im in had BTvision
Post by: Applesisapples on February 08, 2012, 09:23:44 AM
Just a point on tuning for Saorview on an Mpeg4 TV. I have a panasonic and when I do an automatic scan it does not pick up or it removes RTE. However when I go into settings and make it region specific it then picks up all the saorview channels. I don't know if this applies to other makes.
Post by: mick999 on February 08, 2012, 10:17:32 AM
Quote from: ludermor on February 08, 2012, 09:13:09 AM
Is there any way of picking up RTE in England? I know a few lads who have irish sky boxes which works but the place im in had BTvision

Saorsat might be an option , which is the satellite version of saorview, but coverage will be very limited as it is a spot beam focused on Ireland :

(http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=188618&stc=1&d=1326717128)

More info here:

http://www.saortv.info/satellite-saorsat/
http://www.satellitetv.ie/shop/index.php?controller=product&path=27&product_id=352
http://www.techtir.ie/saortv/saorsat
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055968485

Post by: Goldengreen on February 08, 2012, 10:26:44 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 08, 2012, 09:23:44 AM
Just a point on tuning for Saorview on an Mpeg4 TV. I have a panasonic and when I do an automatic scan it does not pick up or it removes RTE. However when I go into settings and make it region specific it then picks up all the saorview channels. I don't know if this applies to other makes.

I assume that you make it region specific to Ireland, and when you do that can you still pick up the freeview stations.
Post by: cornafean on February 08, 2012, 10:37:29 AM
Quote from: mick999 on February 08, 2012, 10:17:32 AM
Quote from: ludermor on February 08, 2012, 09:13:09 AM

Saorsat might be an option , which is the satellite version of saorview, but coverage will be very limited as it is a spot beam focused on Ireland :

(http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=188618&stc=1&d=1326717128)

More info here:

http://www.saortv.info/satellite-saorsat/
http://www.satellitetv.ie/shop/index.php?controller=product&path=27&product_id=352
http://www.techtir.ie/saortv/saorsat
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055968485

Is this map for real? Is Inishowen's Saorsat coverage going to be as bad as parts of Brittany? :o
Post by: armaghniac on February 08, 2012, 10:56:33 AM
QuoteI have a panasonic and when I do an automatic scan it does not pick up or it removes RTÉ

Panasonic seem to be big into having different settings for different places and give more problems than some other models. LG, Samsung etc seem to just have European models that are less tuned to each country.

QuoteIs there any way of picking up RTE in England?

Moving to the Scilly Isles seems a definite solution for Saorsat, but Plymouth might do.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 09, 2012, 11:22:47 AM
Quote from: Goldengreen on February 08, 2012, 10:26:44 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 08, 2012, 09:23:44 AM

I assume that you make it region specific to Ireland, and when you do that can you still pick up the freeview stations.
No strangely region specific to the North.
Post by: NAG1 on February 10, 2012, 09:02:47 AM
Not strictly part of this discussion guys but I know most of you are well up on your tech. I am installing Sky multi room in an older house. There is not a phone point beside where either of the tvs are going, does any one know if those power line adaptors would do the same job, with one plugged into the main phone socket in the house?
Post by: Applesisapples on February 10, 2012, 12:44:06 PM
Best solution is to get a cable that connects to the box so that you can set it up then stow it away. They only check that your phone is connected every couple of months. Alternatively you can by a wireless phone connection, but I've had trouble with mine.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 24, 2012, 09:37:37 PM
Any of you well informed poster able to help here?

I Have a freeview HD TV with DVB-T2 tuner that is MPEG4 compatible.  It is not picking up any RTE TV or radio stations on the digital platform but I think it should in theory do so.  I am getting the RTE, TG4, TV3 etc on analogue but the reception is not what it previously was.

I also have an older freeview TV, previously I have been able to receive the RTE radio stations on the digital platform but they seem to have disappeared off it also.

Am I right in thinking something has happened my signal, perhaps due to the aerial moving in the wind or something or some type of interference?

I live in Ardboe.
Post by: ziggysego on May 29, 2012, 12:03:13 PM
@barrabest: Confirmed that RTÉ One and Two, as well as TG4 will be available for NI Freeview viewers following the digital switch over in October.

- @BarraBest
Post by: johnneycool on May 29, 2012, 12:43:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 29, 2012, 12:03:13 PM
@barrabest: Confirmed that RTÉ One and Two, as well as TG4 will be available for NI Freeview viewers following the digital switch over in October.

- @BarraBest

Ask BarraBest if it will be possible to pick up using existing freeview TV's and set-top boxes or do we need new MPEG4 ones?
Post by: ziggysego on May 29, 2012, 12:57:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 29, 2012, 12:43:33 PM

- @BarraBest

Ask BarraBest if it will be possible to pick up using existing freeview TV's and set-top boxes or do we need new MPEG4 ones?

I'll let you know, when he gets back to me.
Post by: ziggysego on May 29, 2012, 01:13:42 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 29, 2012, 12:43:33 PM

- @BarraBest

I think it's for Freeview in general.  Here's more detail: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-18246907 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-18246907)

- @BarraBest
Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2012, 05:16:05 PM
Receiving TG4 and RTÉ channels in Northern Ireland

The UK and the Republic of Ireland Governments have confirmed their intention to make TG4 available on Freeview to much of Northern Ireland, and to facilitate the provision of RTÉ One and RTÉ Two. See here for more information.

Following the final stage of switchover on 24 October, most people in Northern Ireland will be able to get these channels via an aerial through either Freeview or Saorview - the Republic of Ireland digital TV service. Viewers can check the Freeview channels predicted to be available at their address by typing their postcode into our coverage checker (coverage of TG4, RTÉ One and RTÉ Two will be shown from Thursday, 31 May).

Freeview HD equipment will be required to watch these channels on Freeview. Digital UK recommends seeking advice from a good local retailer about the channels you want and the different equipment options.

The Republic of Ireland is also switching
The Republic of Ireland Freeview service, Saorview, will be extended to people who cannot currently receive it. The Republic will switch to digital in a single stage on 24 October 2012. Visit www.goingdigital.ie for more information.

http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/when_do_i...n_ireland_info
Post by: Rossfan on May 29, 2012, 07:30:29 PM
Any word on us getting BBC1,2,3,4 on Saorview to reciprocate?
Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2012, 07:50:18 PM
QuoteAny word on us getting BBC1,2,3,4 on Saorview to reciprocate?

Why would the BBC want to do that?
Post by: AQMP on May 30, 2012, 09:31:21 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 29, 2012, 07:50:18 PM

Parity of esteem??
Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2012, 09:55:56 AM

Do they not sell programs to RTE already? Eastenders and the likes?

That would be messy and counterproductive for the BBC.
Post by: Rossfan on May 30, 2012, 11:20:09 AM

To continue the service that we can get  now on Analogue in many parts of the 26.
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2012, 11:29:09 AM
QuoteTo continue the service that we can get  now on Analogue in many parts of the 26.

Most people in the 26 who got analogue will continue to receive digital, except perhaps those on dodgy deflectors.
As the satellite service is free and has many more channels it isn't exactly a tragedy.
Post by: ziggysego on May 30, 2012, 11:44:53 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 30, 2012, 11:29:09 AM
QuoteTo continue the service that we can get  now on Analogue in many parts of the 26.

Most people in the 26 who got analogue will continue to receive digital, except perhaps those on dodgy deflectors.
As the satellite service is free and has many more channels it isn't exactly a tragedy.

I thought analogue was being switched off in the south in October too.
Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2012, 12:08:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 30, 2012, 11:44:53 AM

So did I and was going to lose my RTE channels via that lovely big aerial in my attic.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on May 30, 2012, 12:16:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 30, 2012, 12:08:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 30, 2012, 11:44:53 AM

So did I and was going to lose my RTE channels via that lovely big aerial in my attic.
It is being switched off. It is a digital service after the 24th.
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2012, 01:37:13 PM
QuoteIt is being switched off. It is a digital service after the 24th.

The point is that the Freeview is not at full power and RTÉ Saorview is restricted northwards until the changeover, so some people cannot now get digital that can get analogue. However, pretty much everyone with analogue, and a few more besides, will have terrestrial digital when the services go to full power.
Post by: giveherlong on June 01, 2012, 04:24:09 PM
I'm moving house in the next week (to directly under Carnmoney Hill Transmitter) and I contacted the Digital Switchover team and they told me I will be able to recieve RTE and TG4 via Freeview from October which is great

My problem is how to recieve RTE and TG4 between now and October?

I have bought a new HD TV etc but i haven't tried it out yet in the new place and was wondering if  this new digital signal would be available before October and if not; is there is any other way (apart from Sky/Virgin) of picking up these channels before October?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2012, 04:35:54 PM
TG4 is already broadcast in analogue i from Divis, is it not. Perhaps you could get this?
RTE might be a bigger problem. 
Post by: Ulick on June 05, 2012, 11:18:32 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on June 01, 2012, 04:24:09 PM
I'm moving house in the next week (to directly under Carnmoney Hill Transmitter) and I contacted the Digital Switchover team and they told me I will be able to recieve RTE and TG4 via Freeview from October which is great

My problem is how to recieve RTE and TG4 between now and October?

I have bought a new HD TV etc but i haven't tried it out yet in the new place and was wondering if  this new digital signal would be available before October and if not; is there is any other way (apart from Sky/Virgin) of picking up these channels before October?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Stuck a Saorsat dish up myself over the weekend. The whole rig cost about £100 for 80cm dish, cheap Xoro HD receiver & Ka band lnb, though I already had my own cabling. Got a second Ku band lnb for £5 and attached it to the same dish for the Freesat. RTE 2 HD is very impressive as are the BBC, ITV & C4 HD channels. 99% of Freesat is keek though. If doing it again I'd probably get a better receiver as the program guide on the Xoro is the worst I've ever seen but it's only to get me through till October. 

Never put a dish up before but it was all fairly simple in the end. Probably took about 4 hours from start to finish:

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/556387_10150896198479961_415390286_n.jpg)
Post by: giveherlong on June 05, 2012, 11:35:04 AM
Thanks Fionntamhnach
Post by: Ulick on June 05, 2012, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 05, 2012, 10:03:06 PM
Would be interesting to see how Saorsat reception there copes in the rain that is predicted later this week Ulick, RTÉNL are recommending a 100cm dish for reception in Belfast due to (a) running the transponder at a lower than maximum power and (b) to compensate for the bigger vulnerability to rain-fade on the 20GHz Ka band frequencies Saorsat uses rather than the 11-12GHz that Freesat/Sky use.

Raining quite a bit here this evening. Saorsat is coming through clear but some of the CBS and ITV stuff is breaking up on Freesat. The Xoro box doesn't give signal strength so it's difficult to estimate how far it's dropped. Need to fine tune the whole setup anyway as I only had the use of a cheap signal meter borrowed from a lad in work and I don't think I was using it properly. 
Post by: DuffleKing on July 15, 2012, 11:11:40 AM

My TV is awful thru the coat hanger. Is it possible to get it thru sky by tuning it in or something?
Post by: johnneycool on July 16, 2012, 11:57:53 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 15, 2012, 11:11:40 AM

My TV is awful thru the coat hanger. Is it possible to get it thru sky by tuning it in or something?

Yeah,
    you need to change the shape to a four pronged star as MPEG-4 uses Quadrature Phase Shift Keying and the default triangle or even the straight rod used in many a student house is no longer capable of picking up these new fangled technologies.

I also find a wire hanger better than the wooden or plastic ones.
Post by: Gazzler on July 18, 2012, 09:11:01 PM
I'm hoping someone can help me.
I have just put a Saorview ready TV in the spare room,I was also trying to get Sky signal from my sky digibox in the sitting room working on the TV.

What I done was bring a cable from the Sky box and a cable from the Saorview aerial into the attic and and connected them to a Powerpass 2 way TV splitter and then from the powerpass I brought a cable to the a Sky eye and from that into the TV.

My problem is I can only get one signal working at once,If it is all connected as above I can only get the Saorview channels,when I disconnect the saorview cable going into the powerpass I can get the Sky channels and the use of the sky eye working perfectly,but then when I connect the Saorview cable back into the powerpass the signal from the sky goes again.

Sorry I know I'm rambling but I hope ye can get the jist of what I'm trying to say .I've been at this all day and it is wreaking my head.
I have it just left now with the Saorview channels which are working great.
Post by: Goldengreen on July 19, 2012, 11:13:00 AM
Quote from: Gazzler on July 18, 2012, 09:11:01 PM
I'm hoping someone can help me.
I have just put a Saorview ready TV in the spare room,I was also trying to get Sky signal from my sky digibox in the sitting room working on the TV.

What I done was bring a cable from the Sky box and a cable from the Saorview aerial into the attic and and connected them to a Powerpass 2 way TV splitter and then from the powerpass I brought a cable to the a Sky eye and from that into the TV.

My problem is I can only get one signal working at once,If it is all connected as above I can only get the Saorview channels,when I disconnect the saorview cable going into the powerpass I can get the Sky channels and the use of the sky eye working perfectly,but then when I connect the Saorview cable back into the powerpass the signal from the sky goes again.

Sorry I know I'm rambling but I hope ye can get the jist of what I'm trying to say .I've been at this all day and it is wreaking my head.
I have it just left now with the Saorview channels which are working great.

Think you would need to bring the Saorview cable down tot he SKy box and connect it in there, and then just have the one cable going from the Sky box to attic and then onwards to the spare TV.
Post by: WaterBoy on July 23, 2012, 08:53:19 PM
Little help please folks
Im in the market for a new HDTV which I will most likely be buying online and want to make sure that it is capable of picking up RTE with the built in Freeview, what should I be looking for in the specs to ensure it can do this?  Is it an MPEG4 tuner??

Im in the 6 counties btw incase it makes a difference.     
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 09:16:56 PM
Get a Freeview HD set and you'll be fine.
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.
Post by: WaterBoy on July 23, 2012, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 09:16:56 PM
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.

Cheers, I was just reading http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/ and it said freeview HD would be needed alright.  If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices
Post by: ziggysego on July 23, 2012, 09:58:40 PM
Quote from: WaterBoy on July 23, 2012, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 09:16:56 PM
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.

Cheers, I was just reading http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/ and it said freeview HD would be needed alright.  If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

A standard TV, that supports MPEG4, is Freeview HD.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 10:01:12 PM
QuoteIf you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

RTÉ from NI transmitters is broadcast as Freeview HD. A Freeview set with MPEG4 might pick up Saorview from a 26 county transmitter, I would be careful about picking such a set though.

Regular Freeview will be dead in a decade, HD is the way to go.
A standard TV, that supports MPEG4, is Freeview HD.

Not necessarily true. Freeview HD has a different transmission as well as using MPEG 4. Saorview sets have MPEG 4, but not necessarily DVB-T2. Some sets also support MPEG-4 for playback from computers and the like, but not broadcast TV.
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2012, 10:07:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 10:01:12 PM
QuoteIf you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

RTÉ from NI transmitters is broadcast as Freeview HD. A Freeview set with MPEG4 might pick up Saorview from a 26 county transmitter, I would be careful about picking such a set though.

Regular Freeview will be dead in a decade, HD is the way to go.

I'd imagine HD will be dead in a decade.
There are already Ultra High Definition Tv sets being built which will have a resolution of  4320p which they say will be 16 times the number of pixels of 1080p
Post by: take_yer_points on July 23, 2012, 10:26:34 PM
Are you sure that any Freeview HD television can currently pick up RTE? I have this TV:

http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/KDL-40EX403/specifications

This is a Freeview HD TV and in the tuner section you will see the following - "Digital Terrestrial Tuner (MPEG-2):   YES (DVB-T2/T)"

I can currently see RTE One on channel 800 when I look at the digital channels but there is no picture - just a blank screen. As I understand it I will be able to pick up RTE channels from October onwards on this Freeview HD TV but I can't yet because it is not MPEG4.

Am I wrong here?
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 10:51:04 PM
It says here that the Sony kdl 40ex403 has MPEG 4. It has to, to be Freeview HD.

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/television/sony-kdl-40ex403/details/

Are you expecting to pick up RTÉ from NI or ROI?
Post by: take_yer_points on July 23, 2012, 11:04:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 10:51:04 PM
It says here that the Sony kdl 40ex403 has MPEG 4. It has to, to be Freeview HD.

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/television/sony-kdl-40ex403/details/

Are you expecting to pick up RTÉ from NI or ROI?

The link I put up mentioned that it has MPEG4 as well but for USB playback.

I'm in NI and pick up RTE1, RTE2, TV3 and TG4 on analogue
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2012, 11:06:47 PM
QuoteI'm in NI and pick up RTE1, RTE2, TV3 and TG4 on analogue

Download the latest software update.
Try changing country to Ireland and see what happens.
Ask Fionntamhnach!

Post by: Applesisapples on July 24, 2012, 10:14:48 AM
I got a Panasonic 42 in Freeview HD TV in Curries. Picks up Saorview, freeview and with a dongle (£32) you can play Youtube and BBC Iplayer through it as well. Only £600. Great picture free 3D glasses. Although I wouldn't be fussed on the 3D. By the way Halographic TV is the future.
Post by: AQMP on July 24, 2012, 10:27:45 AM
On a related but slightly different subject, bough a Sony Bravia recently, cracking TV (for my needs) all southern stations RTE2 HD etc (great for the hurling) but the picture keeps freezing/pixellating and when recorded programmes are played back they "jump".  I've heard various explanations for this e.g. it's work on the transmitters taking place, to it's the heavy rain.  Any ideas/solutions.  I'm working off a rooftop aeriel.
Post by: armaghniac on July 24, 2012, 10:38:06 AM
It depends on where you are. The NI transmitters are not at full power until October and Clermont Cairn is restricted in its broadcasts in a northerly direction. Perhaps picture stability will improve in October when transmission power is ramped up.
Post by: stpatsgael on July 25, 2012, 02:31:17 PM
Does anyone know if it's possible to receive these channels in England? (Liverpool to be precise). Been living over here for a few years now and have been looking into getting the Irish channels for a while but it seems quite difficult. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 25, 2012, 03:32:57 PM
Quote from: stpatsgael on July 25, 2012, 02:31:17 PM
Does anyone know if it's possible to receive these channels in England? (Liverpool to be precise). Been living over here for a few years now and have been looking into getting the Irish channels for a while but it seems quite difficult. Any ideas would be appreciated.
You could try an mpeg4 tv and an RTE aerial pointed at your nearest transmitter.
Post by: stpatsgael on July 25, 2012, 04:11:36 PM
Are the irish sky cards still available, and if so how do you go about this?
Post by: stpatsgael on July 27, 2012, 11:08:51 AM
I've just found a website that claims they can supply an Irish sky card to anywhere in Europe that will give you all the irish channels, the site is irishskycards.com. Does anyone know if this is legit/legal or if it would actually work? Apparently you dont need an irish address or bank account, they just send the card and box, arrange your subscriprion and you just need to have a dish fitted then activate the card! This seems a little too good to be true so was just wondering if anyone has any experience of this website. Mabe this is what the Irish pubs do to recieve the Irish channels?
Post by: omagh_gael on September 21, 2012, 03:35:24 PM
Wondering if someone could help me. Bought a new house at the end of last year and moved my sky tv  to this address. Have now decided to ditch the Sky as I have two kids under 18 months so never get a chance to watch much Tv  and I'm fed up paying the £30 direct debit each month.

Why queries are:

1. What are the best freeview boxes around that will receive RTE etc.

2. What aerial setup do I need? Are standard analogue aerials still required?

I have an LG lcd Tv that is HD freeview ready.

Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2012, 03:57:54 PM
QuoteI have an LG lcd Tv that is HD freeview ready.

A Freeview HD set will receive RTÉ or a Freeview HD box will enable any other set.
Aerials haven't changed in general, bar a few areas with local relays, if you have a good analogue signal you should be good to go.
Post by: omagh_gael on September 21, 2012, 08:25:53 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 21, 2012, 03:57:54 PM
QuoteI have an LG lcd Tv that is HD freeview ready.

A Freeview HD set will receive RTÉ or a Freeview HD box will enable any other set.
Aerials haven't changed in general, bar a few areas with local relays, if you have a good analogue signal you should be good to go.

This may sound extremely stupid but will you still need an aerial  for freeview even though there is no longer an analogue signal?
Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2012, 10:35:07 PM
QuoteThis may sound extremely stupid but will you still need an aerial  for freeview even though there is no longer an analogue signal?

The signal hasn't changed, good or bad, only the encoding of the pictures. So you'll need the same aerial you'll always needed.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 09:11:13 AM
I bought a new TV a few months ago for the spare room.  It came with a Saorview transmitter built in, the model is an LG 32cs460.  hen it was originally set-up in February, I could get all my Sky channels from down stairs as well as the RTE, TV3 and TG4 channels.  However, since that I thought I had lost the Irish channels as they were appearing on my list of channels but nothing was coming up on screen (I since figured out that it was because for whatever way its set-up, I only get those 3 channels when my sky box is on downstairs.  I had then automatically tuned the channels back in, and I can access Sky and DTV but on my freeview list of channels the 3 Irish channels are no longer there and I cant figure out how to get them back.  Any ideas?
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:33:21 AM
If it has Saorview built in then you should be able to access all RTE Channels (and extras like RTE1+ etc) independently of the Skybox/dish. If you've tried retuning, to no avail, probably best at this stage to ring the supplier and/or tv manufacturer.