GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on November 09, 2018, 08:11:32 PM

Title: 2019 Bord na Móna Walsh Cup
Post by: Mossy Bruce on November 09, 2018, 08:11:32 PM
2019 Bord na Móna Walsh Cup

Round 1, Dec. 9th
Carlow v Dublin
Offaly v Laois

Round 2, Dec. 16th                
Dublin v Offaly
Laois v  Carlow

Round 3, Jan. 6th               
Laois v Dublin
Carlow v Offaly

Semi-Finals, Jan. 13th

Final, Jan. 20th

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Galway, Kilkenny, and Wexford bye to Semi-Finals.

http://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/bord-na-mona-walsh-cup-s-h-2018/
Title: Re: 2019 Bord na Móna Walsh Cup
Post by: Mossy Bruce on November 12, 2018, 03:28:04 AM
Thoughts?

After following League and the Joe McDonagh Cup this last year, I think we are in for a "good, country ass-whoopin'", as they say out here in the rural west U.S.

I hope I am wrong.
:'(
Post by: burdizzo on November 12, 2018, 07:55:16 AM
Depends who commits, and who doesn't. Ben Conroy is certainly out, and there'd be doubts over the likes of Ross King, Cian Taylor, Cahir Healy - and then there's the Camross crew. It'd be nice to see Ciaran Collier there, but how that pans out is anyone's guess. Joe Campion is another one...
The initial buzz around Eddie Brennan is probably fading a bit - and sure, he's still hurling away w/ his club.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 12, 2018, 11:26:09 AM
Who on earth thinks Walsh Cup hurling in December is a good idea?
Post by: burdizzo on November 12, 2018, 01:49:26 PM
Good God - hadn't even copped that!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on November 14, 2018, 03:36:03 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on November 12, 2018, 11:26:09 AM
Who on earth thinks Walsh Cup hurling in December is a good idea?

It is f*&king ludicrous. Hurling of any kind in December is mental. Who the hell would want to be an inter-county hurler?
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on November 14, 2018, 07:34:30 PM
Has a panel been rounded up? Or even a meeting?
Post by: Don Draper on November 14, 2018, 08:10:17 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on November 14, 2018, 07:34:30 PM
Camross are to be asked to fulfill the fixtures until the new year
Post by: blueandwhite1 on November 15, 2018, 07:15:31 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 14, 2018, 08:10:17 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on November 14, 2018, 07:34:30 PM
Camross are to be asked to fulfill the fixtures until the new year

This would be funny. 15 Camross men in Laois Jerseys.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on November 25, 2018, 06:05:52 PM
Two weeks away from the first match.

Any news?
Post by: redsetanta on November 26, 2018, 04:16:00 PM
The new manager is still hurling so hard to know what's happening.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 28, 2018, 01:50:40 AM
There was a meeting but not too many turned up
Post by: burdizzo on November 28, 2018, 08:53:19 AM
I hear a lot of the Rathdowney boys aren't going in. Also rumoured that Healy is going with the footballers, which would be a great shame.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:35:20 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on November 28, 2018, 08:53:19 AM
I hear a lot of the Rathdowney boys aren't going in. Also rumoured that Healy is going with the footballers, which would be a great shame.
Neither of these are a surprise. Hurling missed its window with cheddar, I don't see any saving it.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on November 28, 2018, 10:44:46 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:35:20 AM
Neither of these are a surprise. Hurling missed its window with cheddar, I don't see any saving it.

What a statement!  :'(
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:49:10 AM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on November 28, 2018, 10:44:46 AM

It's true though. Who is going to save it? If not Cheddar and Zoom, then who?
Post by: les Antiques on November 28, 2018, 01:53:16 PM
Can understand the decision of the Rathdowney lads to take a time out from the county set-up . Eddie Brennan's focus lies elsewhere presently and it's not actually an ideal scenario.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on November 28, 2018, 02:34:11 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:49:10 AM

There's the problem right there. People sitting around waiting to be saved as if they are not capable of contributing. Yes Cheddar and Pat are superb but we must have other leaders capable of organizing people.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 03:30:20 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on November 28, 2018, 02:34:11 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:49:10 AM

There's the problem right there. People sitting around waiting to be saved as if they are not capable of contributing. Yes Cheddar and Pat are superb but we must have other leaders capable of organizing people.
No it's not. The problem is Cheddar put his heart and soul into as did and has Pat and yet the clubs still had to try and fight back. Who's going to unite them if those two can't?
Post by: Blow-in on November 28, 2018, 03:33:35 PM
Brennan still hurling surely a hinderence
Post by: Blow-in on November 28, 2018, 06:37:17 PM
Also all Rathdowney/Errill players who were called in are back in training.
Post by: burdizzo on November 28, 2018, 06:41:00 PM
I heard that Ross King and James Ryan, specifically, were out. Hope you're right, though.
Post by: Blow-in on November 28, 2018, 06:52:50 PM
Apologies Ryan is out as he is doing his final Law exams. Seemingly not hurling with the club until Champ. King is back though
Post by: Mad Mentor on November 28, 2018, 07:39:08 PM
Seems like the Rathdowney Errill lads have more love for Laois hurling than the county board.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 09:01:24 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on November 28, 2018, 07:39:08 PM
Seems like the Rathdowney Errill lads have more love for Laois hurling than the county board.
Rathdowney Errill have never left Laois GAA down. They'd have been well within their rights to do so on this occasion, but credit to them.

Sadly they, and the rest of those who put their shoulders to the wheel in Laois hurling get nothing back from their county board.
Post by: LOVEGAA on November 29, 2018, 08:54:38 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on November 28, 2018, 06:52:50 PM
Apologies Ryan is out as he is doing his final Law exams. Seemingly not hurling with the club until Champ. King is back though

Surprised to hear Ross King is back . Fair play to him if he is. Bigger man than all the Count Board cowards put together
Post by: burdizzo on November 29, 2018, 11:08:12 AM
Absolutely, fair play to him is right. And thanks for clearing that up Batman!!!.
Post by: redsetanta on November 29, 2018, 11:25:58 AM
Interesting to see Eddie Brennan up against selector Tommy Fitz in the intermediate final this weekend. It certainly wouldn't have been a consideration when he took the job!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 02, 2018, 05:11:57 AM
Seven days until the Offaly match--

Do we have a bainisteoir on deck? Do we have 15 committed to play?

:-\
Post by: merman on December 02, 2018, 01:33:11 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on December 02, 2018, 05:11:57 AM
Seven days until the Offaly match--

Do we have a bainisteoir on deck? Do we have 15 committed to play?

:-\

These pre-season games are a bit of an inconvenience to be honest Bruce.

The lads are training away and reports are generally quite positive. They'll be a bit leggy and we'll see new lads and different positions trialled. Some lads will show well on heavy ground, others won't.
Lads away in College will be carefully managed.
Incredibly, we also still have pretty much an entire U21 Championship to run off.

Don't read too much into it.
The fun will all start in the spring.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 02, 2018, 05:10:46 PM
Quote from: merman on December 02, 2018, 01:33:11 PM
Don't read too much into it.
The fun will all start in the spring.

You're right, Merman. I need to be patient.
The lack of news was getting to me.  :o
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 04, 2018, 05:07:50 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on November 29, 2018, 11:25:58 AM
Interesting to see Eddie Brennan up against selector Tommy Fitz in the intermediate final this weekend. It certainly wouldn't have been a consideration when he took the job!

I got to see this match broadcast on TG4, tonight. It's the first time I've ever actually seen a broadcast of any lads from Laois hurling--usually I have to experience a match through a radio broadcast or twitter updates. What a treat! Anyway, it looks like this Eddie Brennan can hurl--can't be bad.  ;)

Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 06, 2018, 02:02:26 AM
A very short article about Eddie Brennan and upcoming Walsh Cup match:

http://hoganstand.com/Laois/Article/Index/293268
Post by: burdizzo on December 09, 2018, 03:36:11 PM
2-16 to 1-16. I know it means virtually nothing, but a win against Offaly is way better than a loss any day!
Post by: les Antiques on December 09, 2018, 04:41:08 PM
Were you at it burdizzo?  Anyone catch your eye ? A positive start to the hurling season  regardless of its importance.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 09, 2018, 04:53:22 PM
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 09, 2018, 05:00:49 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on December 09, 2018, 04:53:22 PM
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?
Podge Delaney and Ciaran Comerford
Post by: merman on December 09, 2018, 05:15:58 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on December 09, 2018, 05:00:49 PM
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?

And Daniel Comerford.

Decent run out; Aaron Dunphy was immense.
I thought Donncha Hartnett, Podge Delaney and Eanna Lyons had fine moments. I like the deployment of Matthew Whelan at full back.

Word around Birr is that Roddy has had a change of heart and is opting out for the year. Management have left the door open in the hope he changes again.
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 09, 2018, 05:24:24 PM
Quote from: merman on December 09, 2018, 05:15:58 PM
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?

And Daniel Comerford.

I thought Donncha Hartnett, Podge Delaney and Eanna Lyons had fine moments. I like the deployment of Matthew Whelan at full back.

Word around Birr is that Roddy has had a change of heart and is opting out for the year. Management have left the door open in the hope he changes again.
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?

And Daniel Comerford.

It's vital for Laois that Roddy king is on board.
Great result!

Any Harps on the pitch?

And Daniel Comerford.

Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 09, 2018, 08:17:23 PM
From laoistoday.ie:

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/09/novice-laois-side-claim-first-win-of-the-season-against-offaly/
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 10, 2018, 03:54:28 PM
Anyone at the match? Wondering who showed?
Post by: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 09:17:29 AM
Roddy isn't coming back in this year.

It would appear Mark Kavanagh isnt either?
Post by: SCFC on December 12, 2018, 09:30:27 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 09:17:29 AM
I wouldn't blame him.
Post by: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 09:33:47 AM
Quote from: SCFC on December 12, 2018, 09:30:27 AM
I wouldn't blame him.
How would you even have the stomach to pick up a hurl.
Post by: LOVEGAA on December 12, 2018, 10:15:24 AM
Laois' loss and shame on the County Board.

What's the story with Mark Kavanagh ?
Post by: The PRO on December 12, 2018, 10:57:32 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 09:33:47 AM
I wouldn't blame him.
Didn't he play League of Ireland soccer for UCD? Wouldn't be impossible that he'd go off and get a few quid kicking for Limerick or Galway or that level.
Post by: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 11:11:30 AM
Quote from: The PRO on December 12, 2018, 10:57:32 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 12, 2018, 09:33:47 AM
I wouldn't blame him.
Didn't he play League of Ireland soccer for UCD? Wouldn't be impossible that he'd go off and get a few quid kicking for Limerick or Galway or that level.
I'd say that ship has sailed to a degree.

He'd be better off f**king off for a summer and just enjoying life.
Post by: burdizzo on December 12, 2018, 01:04:21 PM
I'd heard he was going to do just that - ie. play soccer for the winter, and maybe go back in May.
Post by: les Antiques on December 12, 2018, 02:07:02 PM
Have to respect the man's decision.  He's been  clearly let down by people and has had enough . The sad thing about the aftermath of this situation was he was actually considering returning to the county set-up but the futile effort to entice him back was pathetic from all parties .
Post by: Jd on December 13, 2018, 12:50:02 AM
I can understand him not going in and who could blame him . But to say that efforts to get him back in were pathetic is unfair . I've spoken to two of the hurling management in the past fewdays and they were trying to accommodate him in any way possible but he just didn't want to come back in at this stage. The door is open to him still and hopefully he'll come back in . But there isn't always blame to be attached. The lad needs time and who knows what will happen in the new year
Post by: Giovanni on December 13, 2018, 03:55:44 PM
What happened to him in the county final was a total disgrace. The way it was handled afterwards added insult to injury. I could easily imagine that this would leave him very disillusioned and no one could blame him for feeling that way.

Having said that, what happened in the county final and afterwards has nothing to do with the current management of the county team or with his teammates in the county. I'm sure the vast majority of them would have exactly the same opinion on the matter as Roddy himself.  I don't believe that what happened in the county final should be forgotten but it is a different issue from his participation with the county team. Hopefully if he's given a bit of time, he'll agree to rejoin - I don't think the county setup bears any relationship whatsoever to the carry on of a handful of clowns after the county final.
Post by: Don Draper on December 13, 2018, 09:02:20 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on December 13, 2018, 03:55:44 PM
What happened to him in the county final was a total disgrace. The way it was handled afterwards added insult to injury. I could easily imagine that this would leave him very disillusioned and no one could blame him for feeling that way.

Having said that, what happened in the county final and afterwards has nothing to do with the current management of the county team or with his teammates in the county. I'm sure the vast majority of them would have exactly the same opinion on the matter as Roddy himself.  I don't believe that what happened in the county final should be forgotten but it is a different issue from his participation with the county team. Hopefully if he's given a bit of time, he'll agree to rejoin - I don't think the county setup bears any relationship whatsoever to the carry on of a handful of clowns after the county final.
I'd imagine he just doesn't have the appetite for it, and you couldn't blame him.
Post by: burdizzo on December 15, 2018, 05:47:12 PM

Kavanagh named corner forward for tomorrow.
Post by: Don Draper on December 15, 2018, 08:46:40 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 15, 2018, 05:47:12 PM

Kavanagh named corner forward for tomorrow.
Great news!
Post by: burdizzo on December 16, 2018, 07:41:34 PM
Disappointing result today. Obviously only the Walsh cup, and all, but still not great to beaten by 8 points by Carlow. Thought it might be a good day when Picky Maher opened the scoring w/ a well-taken goal, but the concession of two soft-ish goals before half-time gave Carlow a boost just when it seemed we might pull away. I don't think Flemming would be happy w/ the first, in particular - a series of handling errors in the backs let a Carlow man onto the ball, and although his shot wasn't exactly a rasper, it still found the net. In fairness to Flemming, he pulled off two very good saves in quick succession in the second half.
Aaron Berin and Picky Maher had very good games, I thought, as did Jack Kelly, and Donnacha Hartnet. Leigh Bergin going off injured may have unsettled the defence a bit, even though I don't think he was doing fantastically well. Perhaps corner back isn't his position? Hope he and Willie Dunphy - who also hobbled off - will recover in time for the league.
In the last quarter, Carlow completely took over - outscoring us by something like 10 points to three - and you'd imagine that they're a bit fitter at this stage. Quite a bit of work for Leix to do in that department for the next month or so!
Post by: on the hop on December 16, 2018, 08:17:27 PM
That was Aaron dunphy not Aaron Bergin 
Post by: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 09:55:40 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 16, 2018, 07:41:34 PM
Disappointing result today. Obviously only the Walsh cup, and all, but still not great to beaten by 8 points by Carlow. Thought it might be a good day when Picky Maher opened the scoring w/ a well-taken goal, but the concession of two soft-ish goals before half-time gave Carlow a boost just when it seemed we might pull away. I don't think Flemming would be happy w/ the first, in particular - a series of handling errors in the backs let a Carlow man onto the ball, and although his shot wasn't exactly a rasper, it still found the net. In fairness to Flemming, he pulled off two very good saves in quick succession in the second half.
Aaron Berin and Picky Maher had very good games, I thought, as did Jack Kelly, and Donnacha Hartnet. Leigh Bergin going off injured may have unsettled the defence a bit, even though I don't think he was doing fantastically well. Perhaps corner back isn't his position? Hope he and Willie Dunphy - who also hobbled off - will recover in time for the league.
In the last quarter, Carlow completely took over - outscoring us by something like 10 points to three - and you'd imagine that they're a bit fitter at this stage. Quite a bit of work for Leix to do in that department for the next month or so!
Please stop referring to us as Leix.
Post by: burdizzo on December 16, 2018, 10:06:29 PM
Why?

I must say, you do seem to enjoy trying to rile people! Again, I ask - why?
Post by: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 10:39:39 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 16, 2018, 10:06:29 PM
Why?

Our county's name is Laois. I asked nicely, there was no attempt to rile you or anyone.
Post by: smcder on December 17, 2018, 02:09:15 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 10:39:39 PM
Why?

Our county's name is Laois. I asked nicely, there was no attempt to rile you or anyone.

I'd double on this tbh.
Post by: Zooming around on December 17, 2018, 09:07:55 AM
I see Jack Nolan throwing his tuppence in on twitter
Post by: The Boy Wonder on December 17, 2018, 09:41:49 AM
Why?

Like it or not the name Leix is part of our heritage and was in common use up the 1960s (as was Maryborough).
The great Laois team of the 1930s would have been called Leix at the time.
When Laois GAA people refer to our county as Leix, e.g. C'mon Leix, you can take it that they are using it as a term of affection.

Post by: Don Draper on December 17, 2018, 09:44:11 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on December 17, 2018, 09:41:49 AM
Why?

Like it or not the name Leix is part of our heritage and was in common use up the 1960s (as was Maryborough).
When Laois GAA people refer to our county as Leix, e.g. C'mon Leix, you can take it that they are using it as a term of affection.
Would you shout out "Cmon Maryborough"?

Would you shout out "Cmon the Queens County"?

Its an anglacised version of our heritage. We threw the f**kers off, throw off their terminology as well if you can.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 17, 2018, 10:17:05 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 17, 2018, 09:44:11 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on December 17, 2018, 09:41:49 AM
Why?

Would you shout out "Cmon Maryborough"?

Would you shout out "Cmon the Queens County"?

Its an anglacised version of our heritage. We threw the f**kers off, throw off their terminology as well if you can.

Legally, the area we call Laois from a GAA perspective, is still Queen's county! Anyone who buys or sells land or a house will see that in the legal paperwork. The ancient Loigis or Leix is not the county we have today. Leix was in the east and north. Ossory was in the south and West and contained towns like Rathdowney, Durrow, Borris-in-Ossory. Queens county unites them. However, many older people from inside and outside the county who talk about hurling still call it Leix.

So anyway, it matters little, we got well beaten by Carlow yesterday, again who are in all respects a superior hurling outfit to us. This is the challenge that Eddie Brennan has, to get everyone on board and hurling at a higher level than we currently are. If anyone thinks we are being beaten by Carlow because they have a 'little bit more done' at this time of year they have their heads in the sand. They were better than us last summer and beat most of our senior team at U21 level two years in a row a couple of years ago. Their county champions also disposed of ours 12 months ago.
Post by: redsetanta on December 17, 2018, 04:36:36 PM
Eddie has had his say on hurlers not committing to Laois. Jack Nolan did post about this as he asked Eddie after game if Ciaran Collier had come in and Eddie said he declined the call up. He comes from KK where the culture is so different and he finds it hard to understand why the best club players don't want to go to the next level and represent their county. Welcome to Laois Eddie!
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on December 17, 2018, 05:14:34 PM
Eddie is starting to remind me of the last Kk man to manage Laois by getting his excuses out in public as early as possible. Managementis about adapting and helping to change an unhelpful culture. Sugrue has set about doing this quietly and its good to see. Eddie looks like he came to Laois with his eyes closed. Now he is opening them and saying what he sees. No doubt its a big task that would even challenge the skills of Joe Schmidt but he needs to try change attitudes instead of making it sound like a lost cause in the media.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 17, 2018, 05:14:49 PM
It is further evidence that we are potentially going backwards. Just like the pre-Cheddar doldrums. No major new talent coming through, players won't commit (especially from Camross), a f@*king clueless county board, and growing animosity between certain clubs.

Eddie Brennan sounds like every county manager from Babs Keating to Teddy McCarthy so far.

Post by: Blow-in on December 17, 2018, 06:22:19 PM
Jack Nolan like a dying dog. Thinks he can still bite but nobody really cares
Post by: clonadmad on December 17, 2018, 07:54:37 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on December 17, 2018, 05:14:49 PM
It is further evidence that we are potentially going backwards. Just like the pre-Cheddar doldrums. No major new talent coming through, players won't commit (especially from Camross), a f@*king clueless county board, and growing animosity between certain clubs.

Eddie Brennan sounds like every county manager from Babs Keating to Teddy McCarthy so far.

They can't all be wrong

Brennan's coming from a county where the county jersey is viewed as something you'd shoot your granny for
Post by: welcomehome on December 17, 2018, 08:01:19 PM
isnt it just typical of laois people .Blame everyone except the players,that wont commit to the county.Eddie comes from a county that have great pride to wear there county jersey..Every year there is excuses.He was asked a question about the players not committing and he answered it.Fair play to the players that have committed..
Post by: HURLING1 on December 17, 2018, 08:25:09 PM
Since Cheddar no manager has had the best players on the panel and unfortunately this remains the same for next year.
Post by: Don Draper on December 17, 2018, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: HURLING1 on December 17, 2018, 08:25:09 PM
Since Cheddar no manager has had the best players on the panel and unfortunately this remains the same for next year.
And lads couldn't wait to blackguarded Cheddar. You reap what you sow.
Post by: HURLING1 on December 17, 2018, 09:13:12 PM
Cheddar realised the only way to relative success was to ensure the best players were available. Some on here weren't happy after small beatings by the likes of Galway. Now Carlow are too strong for us.
Not blaming Eddie but we need our best players available.
Post by: redsetanta on December 17, 2018, 09:25:08 PM
Ross King's favourite manager to play for. A crime to let Cheddar go. Laois hurling was on the rise, minors doing well, big crowds in O'Moore Park and actually going to games in a confident mood. Sure you can't be having that!
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 17, 2018, 11:58:19 PM
Don't take much joy in reminding people how a vocal few of us pointed out the nucleur nature of allowing Cheddar to walk away. And the downward slide that was about to follow!

The good old CB have well and truly washed their hands. Can't be accused of not spending money- "what more can we do?"
Post by: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 12:20:34 AM
You could write a book about Eddie's comments today, but I don't think he really understands. I remember someone on Laoistalk had a phrase under their profile about the width of the ditch between Kilkenny and ourselves and how much difference it made. Eddie was on the other side of that ditch for a long time and still is. He has taken a few steps over the border but the picture isn't as transparent as he'd like to think. There are layers and depths to our story that go beyond lads not wanting to commit. It's not just an issue in Laois, and criticising lads for not committing is no longer fair game in my opinion. We'd all love to see what we think are the best lads involved, but like us all, they have lives too. Sometimes, the balancing act in Laois is not that easy, and there could be any number of reasons for that. Let's be honest with ourselves here. You would need to have an unconditional love for the blue and white jersey to go throwing yourself around a field in winter when in your heart of hearts you know there will be little reward for it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 18, 2018, 12:26:40 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 12:20:34 AM
Let's be honest with ourselves here. You would need to have an unconditional love for the blue and white jersey to go throwing yourself around a field in winter when in your heart of hearts you know there will be little reward for it.

And yet the footballers are doing it, and in bigger numbers than ever before. Sugrue must have something about him lads .....
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 18, 2018, 09:00:02 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 12:20:34 AM
You could write a book about Eddie's comments today, but I don't think he really understands. I remember someone on Laoistalk had a phrase under their profile about the width of the ditch between Kilkenny and ourselves and how much difference it made. Eddie was on the other side of that ditch for a long time and still is. He has taken a few steps over the border but the picture isn't as transparent as he'd like to think. There are layers and depths to our story that go beyond lads not wanting to commit. It's not just an issue in Laois, and criticising lads for not committing is no longer fair game in my opinion. We'd all love to see what we think are the best lads involved, but like us all, they have lives too. Sometimes, the balancing act in Laois is not that easy, and there could be any number of reasons for that. Let's be honest with ourselves here. You would need to have an unconditional love for the blue and white jersey to go throwing yourself around a field in winter when in your heart of hearts you know there will be little reward for it.

I would accept that view if lads were not busting a gut for their clubs as if it was a county team. Lads are choosing to play and train for Palmer cups, league titles and county titles with their clubs rather than play for the county. It's not quite the same level of commitment but it isn't far off. Let's face it too - committing to Laois hurling is a six month commitment, not 12. Our year in best case conditions is over in 7 months. I'm not diminishing the level of commitment, it is still huge but it is a short window of your life and pushes you to your limits rather than the comforts of club hurling.

It is important the Eddie gets one thing right that Cheddar did and Kelly didn't - players need to go back to their clubs as better hurlers and lift the clubs. Then there is incentives for clubs to push their players to the county set up. Last year the better hurlers weren't the county lads, many of them looked jaded and disinterested with their clubs.
Post by: merman on December 18, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Eddie is shocking naive if he was expecting the same level of commitment in Laois as is in Kilkenny. I suppose to be fair, he was asked a question and he answered it; I doubt he sought out anyone to complain to.

Part of our issue is down to mentality but a larger part is pure realism.

Hurling with Laois is not an attractive proposition. I think too much is made of issues between clubs. Yes, the Rathdowney/Errill-Camross dynamic might be strained but in general, I don't think these things really affect the panel.
The issue is the level of commitment required for Laois to be competitive at Joe McDonagh; the levels needed to win it or to step up a level are even more daunting.
We have a young panel who are miles off the pace in terms of strength and conditioning. We focus on that too much and there aren't enough nights available to work on their actual hurling. Cheddar saw this and expected 5-6 nights a week; it's somewhat doable for a year or two but it's not sustainable...especially when the end result won't see us hurling in August and will garner little respect or acknowledgment outside of Laois and a token paragraph or two in the national media.

Looking down through the panel for the Carlow game, we simply don't have enough Matthew Whelans. He has been on the Laois panel since he was 19; hurled three years minor before that. I don't think he ever took a year out and bar one fall-out, has never had an issue with management in any kind of destructive way.
We as a supporter base accentuate an issue here. We, and I am culpable too, still harp on about the Zane Keenans ahilst taking for granted the Tommy Fitz, Willie Hyland or Brian Stapletons who committed over the guts of a decade.
There are a handful of other current panelists who are in the same boat and may some day achieve the same longevity.
But there are others who have fallen away and come back in for a multitude of reasons. They lose conditioning and have to restart again, if not from scratch, at least a level below where they were or where they could be.

Some of the social media commentary is laughable. The blaming of the County Board is overly simplistic and plainly wrong.
The only way we will pull our way out of this malaise is to develop our underage structures and that starts with clubs. Yes, the county board can and must facilitate this but they County Executive will only ever be as good as the ideas, energy and personnel sent in from the clubs.
We need a mindset change at juvenile level and we need a mentality shift when young lads move into secondary school at U13 level. It must become an accomplishment to make a Development Panel like it was with the footballers back in the 90s.
We need to promote a standard of excellence that engenders a sense of pride in being a Laois hurler. That needs to be an achievement in itself. Our current senior panel has, for the last couple of years, been filled out by players who have not established themselves as club hurlers. I'm not critical of these individuals because their commitment is commendable but it does dilute the overall quality of the panel and I believe, by extension, the level of focus, determination and commitment of the panel as a whole.

The mentality side of things is evident in some clubs more than others. Certain players will see their prospects of success at club level as far more attainable than county level. For others, the only way they will test themselves is by going in with the county; the alternative is to slog away at Division 1a/2/3 in the Spring.
It's hard to blame them as things stand but it further highlights the desperate need for us to develop a sense of identity and pride in being a Laois hurler. Starting that at senior is simply too late; we have to look much younger.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 18, 2018, 11:32:40 AM
Quote from: merman on December 18, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Eddie is shocking naive if he was expecting the same level of commitment in Laois as is in Kilkenny. I suppose to be fair, he was asked a question and he answered it; I doubt he sought out anyone to complain to.

Hurling with Laois is not an attractive proposition. I think too much is made of issues between clubs. Yes, the Rathdowney/Errill-Camross dynamic might be strained but in general, I don't think these things really affect the panel.
The issue is the level of commitment required for Laois to be competitive at Joe McDonagh; the levels needed to win it or to step up a level are even more daunting.
We have a young panel who are miles off the pace in terms of strength and conditioning. We focus on that too much and there aren't enough nights available to work on their actual hurling. Cheddar saw this and expected 5-6 nights a week; it's somewhat doable for a year or two but it's not sustainable...especially when the end result won't see us hurling in August and will garner little respect or acknowledgment outside of Laois and a token paragraph or two in the national media.

Looking down through the panel for the Carlow game, we simply don't have enough Matthew Whelans. He has been on the Laois panel since he was 19; hurled three years minor before that. I don't think he ever took a year out and bar one fall-out, has never had an issue with management in any kind of destructive way.
We as a supporter base accentuate an issue here. We, and I am culpable too, still harp on about the Zane Keenans ahilst taking for granted the Tommy Fitz, Willie Hyland or Brian Stapletons who committed over the guts of a decade.
There are a handful of other current panelists who are in the same boat and may some day achieve the same longevity.
But there are others who have fallen away and come back in for a multitude of reasons. They lose conditioning and have to restart again, if not from scratch, at least a level below where they were or where they could be.

Some of the social media commentary is laughable. The blaming of the County Board is overly simplistic and plainly wrong.
The only way we will pull our way out of this malaise is to develop our underage structures and that starts with clubs. Yes, the county board can and must facilitate this but they County Executive will only ever be as good as the ideas, energy and personnel sent in from the clubs.
We need a mindset change at juvenile level and we need a mentality shift when young lads move into secondary school at U13 level. It must become an accomplishment to make a Development Panel like it was with the footballers back in the 90s.
We need to promote a standard of excellence that engenders a sense of pride in being a Laois hurler. That needs to be an achievement in itself. Our current senior panel has, for the last couple of years, been filled out by players who have not established themselves as club hurlers. I'm not critical of these individuals because their commitment is commendable but it does dilute the overall quality of the panel and I believe, by extension, the level of focus, determination and commitment of the panel as a whole.

The mentality side of things is evident in some clubs more than others. Certain players will see their prospects of success at club level as far more attainable than county level. For others, the only way they will test themselves is by going in with the county; the alternative is to slog away at Division 1a/2/3 in the Spring.
It's hard to blame them as things stand but it further highlights the desperate need for us to develop a sense of identity and pride in being a Laois hurler. Starting that at senior is simply too late; we have to look much younger.

Not a hurling man but completely agree.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 18, 2018, 11:34:32 AM
Quote from: merman on December 18, 2018, 10:16:38 AM

Great post Merman. The only thing I wouldn't agree with is the county board statement. I don't think it is plainly wrong to blame the county board. At critical times (Cheddar's master plans, the Ross King incident, general management of fixtures, promotion of hurling in Portlaoise) they were found badly wanting and are well behind other county boards in terms of leading player development initiatives. Of course they do good work too. They have to be kept under pressure and held accountable to improve standards and participation. I fundamentally agree with your views on the clubs developing players and instilling a love of their county. I do believe that some clubs culturally put their own ambitions above the county (yes, I blame Camross especially, not that they would particularly give a f*ck about what anyone thinks). 
Post by: merman on December 18, 2018, 11:47:40 AM
Fair enough blueandwhite1; on reflection, I think you are right on the County Board. The Roddy incident was particularly poorly managed, perhaps especially from a Public Relations point-of-view; the message that has been inferred by many is criminally unhelpful!

These are elected positions, however, and clubs need to take ownership of their complicity in this problem.

The hurling board needs a complete overhaul. Every hurling club should have representation.
Post by: Giovanni on December 18, 2018, 12:24:00 PM
As usual, great contributions from Merman and Blueandwhite. You two lads couldn't be parachuted into the County Board, could you?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 18, 2018, 01:11:26 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on December 18, 2018, 12:24:00 PM
As usual, great contributions from Merman and Blueandwhite. You two lads couldn't be parachuted into the County Board, could you?

Too young and optimistic for that job!! Would love to see the hurling board filled with men like Cheddar, Critchley, Paul Cuddy, Willie Hyland, Joe Fitz, Matthew Whelan and others whose passion for the county would bring everyone together. That is in the power of the clubs.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 18, 2018, 03:47:20 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on December 18, 2018, 12:24:00 PM
Hear, Hear
Post by: burdizzo on January 06, 2019, 04:15:36 PM
1-16 to 1-18. Very creditable performance after the last time. Thought we were going to be swamped early on, but it was like once they got the goal to bring them back into it, they started to believe they could compete. Should have been ahead at half time, but for some sloppy free-taking, and possibly could have got the draw, only for a few wides and shots that dropped short near the end. In fairness, the Dubs had some strange misses, too.
In general, our forwards struggled a bit to win ball against the bigger Dublin backs, though Mark Kavanagh, for a small lad, was really lively. Made the goal, and was unfortunate not to have a couple more points. P.J. Scully did better when dropped back to sweeping, but was a bit inclined to hit in balls without looking. The support play from the forwards was pretty poor, though. At one stage in the second half Maher won a good ball on his own, and was surrounded by five Dublin lads and none of ours making themselves available or helping. Of course he was turned over. Patrick Purcell was off the boil completely, but the backs did well, especially Joe Phelan in the corner. Ryan Mullaney had a couple of decent bursts, too. Enda Rowland was sound, and brought off one very good save early on.
So, ending the campaign on a bit of positivity. At least they competed. A couple of lads need a bit more fitness, but a definite improvement on last time.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 06, 2019, 05:02:00 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 06, 2019, 04:15:36 PM
1-16 to 1-18. Very creditable performance after the last time...
This sounds encouraging. Thanks for the report, burdizzo!
Post by: Don Draper on January 06, 2019, 05:49:51 PM
Disappointing to hear Leigh Bergin gone from the panel, what happened?
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on January 06, 2019, 09:52:52 PM
Judged on what I saw against Carlow before Christmas and todays offering against a makeshift Dublin team, this is going to be a bleak year for Laois Hurlers.
In the last 2 years, Healy,King and Conroy were often the players who dug us out of a hole, all 3 are unavailable in 2019 for different reasons and there are simply no special hurlers emerging from the younger ranks.
We will be beaten in all our league games and relegation looks a near certainty.
in the championship, we are behind Offaly and Westmeath.  we have just had the number on Antrim in recent years, with Anthony Daly assisting them this year, they will be better organised and positioned to give us some payback. our record against Kerry has been dreadful.
we are away to Offaly and Kerry and home to Westmeath and Antrim.
Eddie Brennan has no idea what he has stepped into. On the basis of the panel at his disposal and strength of other sides, we have the most regressive panel, and all I can see is 4 defeats in the Joe McDonagh and relegation.

the last Kilkenny manager we had, Fennelly was a disaster, poor Eddie could be at the helm of a team which is likely to loss all league and championship games in 2019 and suffer a double relegation.
I will add, it may not matter who is in charge, the current panel is poor save for a few like Rowland, cha and matt. the future is not bright.

we need critchley and cheddar to start back with underage and build a base of good young minors, that may be the long term solution.
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:06:14 AM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on January 06, 2019, 09:52:52 PM
we need critchley and cheddar to start back with underage and build a base of good young minors, that may be the long term solution.
Poor auld Cheddar. When things were going well, we couldn't wait to get rid of him and look to move on. Now he has to come back, when we're almost at a lower ebb than we were at the last time.

Stay away Cheddar, no man could save the ball of shite that hurling is in Laois sadly.
Post by: burdizzo on January 07, 2019, 10:52:35 AM
I'd be inclined to general pessimism meself, but there's a terrible lot of negativity about.
Post by: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 10:55:15 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:06:14 AM
Poor auld Cheddar. When things were going well, we couldn't wait to get rid of him and look to move on. Now he has to come back, when we're almost at a lower ebb than we were at the last time.

Stay away Cheddar, no man could save the ball of shite that hurling is in Laois sadly.

Best use all hurleys then for kindling,Good man yourself Don

Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:55:21 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 07, 2019, 10:52:35 AM
I'd be inclined to general pessimism meself, but there's a terrible lot of negativity about.
Its as bad as I can recall. We can't keep asking Cheddar and Zoom to come put out the fires, we should look at the deadwood and timber merchants that are causing the fires.
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:56:03 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 10:55:15 AM

Keep selling them to Limerick men, they seem to know what to do with them at least. And its not firing them through faceguards.
Post by: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 11:15:52 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:56:03 AM

Keep selling them to Limerick men, they seem to know what to do with them at least. And its not firing them through faceguards.

They might show us how to set up and run a proper underage academy too

Awaiting On Cue

your comment about JP and his millions

Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 11:16:43 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 11:15:52 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:56:03 AM

They might show us how to set up and run a proper underage academy too

Awaiting On Cue

your comment about JP and his millions
Shur if we had the likes of Joe McKenna up here, we'd blackguard him the way we did Cheddar.
Post by: LOVEGAA on January 07, 2019, 11:17:15 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 07, 2019, 10:52:35 AM

Hard to be positive to be fair. Leigh Bergin gone. Dwayne Palmer gone. Ross King gone.
It's not a great sign to be losing this many lads .
Can understand King going but whats the story with the other 2 ?

I thought yesterday that some of the younger lads stood up well but 1 or 2 of the "bigger names" were so disappointing . Their work rate was shocking.

Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 11:23:18 AM
Bergin baffles me, and concerns me greatly. A stellar servant, vice captain, gave up his time on Christmas Day to visit Portlaoise Hospital.

Something stinks. We've lost a captain and vice captain now.

Post by: welcomehome on January 07, 2019, 12:14:37 PM
Nothing stinks..its just typical in laois..U get a ood manager and selectors..,and this happens..To be honest there should be no more running around after players.Let eddie deals with what he has,,,There are like spoilt childrens,let them on...
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 12:31:32 PM
Quote from: welcomehome on January 07, 2019, 12:14:37 PM
Nothing stinks..its just typical in laois..U get a ood manager and selectors..,and this happens..To be honest there should be no more running around after players.Let eddie deals with what he has,,,There are like spoilt childrens,let them on...
Ah thats grand so. Nothing to see here. Bate on lads.
Post by: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 12:36:19 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 12:31:32 PM

Cody himself wouldn't manage Laois and that's the reality

Brennan is coming from a place where lads would shoot their granny to get even within touching distance of a black and amber jersey
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 12:41:13 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 12:36:19 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 12:31:32 PM

Cody himself wouldn't manage Laois and that's the reality

Brennan is coming from a place where lads would shoot their granny to get even within touching distance of a black and amber jersey
We have plenty of lads who'd maim someone for a black and amber jersey to be fair.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 07, 2019, 12:49:15 PM
There is plenty of gloom but it isn't all bad.

Dublin yesterday are not very far from what they will be this year. They brought on some of their big names (Chris Crummy for example) and still didn't look that much better than us. We could have won that game. There were some real highlights for me:

- Ryan Mullaney at centre back played really well and Matthew I thought looked quite natural at full back.
- Jack Kelly won plenty of ball at wing back
- Both corner backs were tenacious and crowded their men out preventing plenty of scores or forcing bad decisions. The backs in general played in the faces of the Dublin lads which made us very competitive.
- Aaron Dunphy is a huge addition. He wins balls and is very efficient with it. Him and Mark Kavanagh were our go-to men.
- Mark Kavanagh was excellent and was dangerous throughout. Made the goal.
- Donnacha Hartnett has plenty of hurling and mopped up loads of ball.
- PJ Scully was a changed man when they brought him out the field. Won the ball and scored one super point.

I highlighted the above because almost none of the above was a feature last year. The crying shame was that this team would benefit massively from having players like Leigh and Ross around them in particular. I don't know what the story with Ciaran Collier is but his hand on the half forward line would make a massive difference too. I hate to go back to the desperation of the 'if only' but the following team have a McDonagh cup in them:

Rowland
J Phelan
Whelan
Cleere
Bergin
Mullaney
Kelly
Purcell
King
Picky
Cha
Collier
Kavanagh
Foyle
Dunphy

Subs: Fleming, Scully, Downey, Bergin, Hartnett, Taylor and all others from yesterday etc.

I still hold out hope (maybe naively) that Ross and Leigh at a minimum can come back in.

DUBLIN:  A Nolan; D Gray, E O'Donnell, J Madden; S Barrett, S Moran, T Connolly; R McBride, J Malone; F McGibb, J Hetherton, F McGibb; E Dillon, L Rushe, D Burke. Subs: L Gannon for Barrett (16 inj), F Whitely for Boland (30 inj), C Crummey for Connolly (h-t), O O'Rorke for Burke (43), D Keogh for O'Donnell (48), G Whelan for McBride (50), C Conway for Rushe (53), C Burke for Dillon (62)

LAOIS: E Rowland; P Delaney, M Whelan, J Phelan; J Kelly, R Mullaney, E Killeen; D Hartnett, P Purcell; A Dunphy, E Lyons, S Maher; M Kavanagh, PJ Scully, E Gaughan. Subs: S Downey for Gaughan (51), C Phelan for Kavanagh (58), J Cranney for Killeen (69), N Foyle for Lyons (70)
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 07, 2019, 05:40:18 PM
Maybe I should temper my earlier optimism.

I see Podge Lalor is also not involved. I thought he had come on well last year.

That's a lot of young lads that aren't involved that should be - Ross, Leigh, Dwayne, Podge and Collier. Eddies noises on Cha wouldn't fill you with confidence either.
Post by: HURLING1 on January 07, 2019, 05:56:55 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 07, 2019, 05:40:18 PM

I see Podge Lalor is also not involved. I thought he had come on well last year.

That's a lot of young lads that aren't involved that should be - Ross, Leigh, Dwayne, Podge and Collier. Eddies noises on Cha wouldn't fill you with confidence either.
And Joe Campion by far the best of the BK contingent.
Post by: burdizzo on January 07, 2019, 06:26:27 PM

What noises are those?
Post by: SidelinePeering on January 07, 2019, 07:55:20 PM

From what I hear Bergin and Dwayne withdrew for personal and understandable reasons. Which is where the likes of KK don't bat an eyelid where as we panic due to lack of depth on panel.. I personally don't think we are looking for a league win by any means.. it will be all trial and error like Walsh Cup.. All eyes are in for Mcdonagh Cup in my opinion..
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 07, 2019, 08:26:57 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 07, 2019, 06:26:27 PM

What noises are those?

The end of the interview he gave yesterday. Was asked whether he is involved. Eddie confirmed he was but in a less than emphatic tone. I might be reading it wrong. Hope so.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 07, 2019, 10:34:16 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 07, 2019, 08:26:57 PM
The end of the interview he gave yesterday. Was asked whether he is involved. Eddie confirmed he was but in a less than emphatic tone. I might be reading it wrong. Hope so.

I read it the same way, blueandwhite.
Post by: Leixlad on January 08, 2019, 08:15:47 AM

Shur if we had the likes of Joe McKenna up here, we'd blackguard him the way we did Cheddar.

Sadly very very true. Could you imagine cheddar in the likes of kilkenny or tipp the role he would be playing -if he were kilkenny he would take over from Cody. But he is from Laois and was kicked through the door.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 08, 2019, 09:41:32 AM
Chedder is taking the James Stephens job I hear, far play to him if true
Post by: Don Draper on January 08, 2019, 09:42:30 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on January 08, 2019, 09:41:32 AM
Chedder is taking the James Stephens job I hear, far play to him if true
A fine tradition of Portlaoise men in Stephens.
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2019, 04:44:40 PM
Quote from: Leixlad on January 08, 2019, 08:15:47 AM

Sadly very very true. Could you imagine cheddar in the likes of kilkenny or tipp the role he would be playing -if he were kilkenny he would take over from Cody. But he is from Laois and was kicked through the door.

Cheddar was mentioned as a possible candidate for the position of head of games development in Tipp when the position becomes vacant

The reality is that in tipp or kk they have men of the likes of Critchley or Cheddar in every club driving them on