Travellers and the GAA

Started by Hollow Man, July 23, 2007, 12:02:38 PM

Hollow Man

Good craic about this on the AFR message board. Anyone got any good stories? Going by An Fear Rua, there are loads of them playing handball...

Don't know of any of them involved in football or hurling myself

Well done, everybody, for resisting the easy response!

WJP from Mayo or was that just rumours at the time.

WJP has done a lot of travelling since he retired but for various reasons
John Maughan was rumoured to be of that ilk

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: ludermor on July 23, 2007, 12:39:21 PM
WJP has done a lot of travelling since he retired but for various reasons
John Maughan was rumoured to be of that ilk
Ithink there was a mongan from Ballinrobe who lined out for Mayo back in the 70/80's. Again i could be wrong.

Hollow Man

Lol Hardy, I'm amazed someone hasn't jumped on this yet

Never heard the rumour about WJP, doubt very much that is true...

There was a team in Dublin now that you mention it, there was a chapter on it in Humphries book "Green Fields".

QuoteWJP from Mayo or was that just rumours at the time.

:o May God strike you down!  :D

I could be wrong but I think that PJ Duke who was right half back on the polo grounds team was a traveller

Wee Roddy

Do not bite the head off me hear folks but the rumour around our part of the world is that Ciaran McDonald is one! There are a few who played very successfully for Pomeroy over the years as well.

Quote from: thebandit on July 23, 2007, 01:01:27 PM
I could be wrong but I think that PJ Duke who was right half back on the polo grounds team was a traveller

I remember ole boys on about it.

Was it Gypsy Dune or Dunne who played for Cavan

The Bottom Brick

QuoteI could be wrong but I think that PJ Duke who was right half back on the polo grounds team was a traveller

Whoa whoa whoa!

Wind your neck in pal! Duke was no pikey, he was a Laragh man born and bred.

You could be thinking of Bill Doonan, he played in 47 and was a pikey. Jaysus, not Duke. He was a legend among settled men!

Next you'll be saying John Joe wa sone
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

Quote from: The Bottom Brick on July 23, 2007, 01:13:02 PM
QuoteI could be wrong but I think that PJ Duke who was right half back on the polo grounds team was a traveller

Whoa whoa whoa!

Wind your neck in pal! Duke was no pikey, he was a Laragh man born and bred.

You could be thinking of Bill Doonan, he played in 47 and was a pikey. Jaysus, not Duke. He was a legend among settled men!

Next you'll be saying John Joe wa sone

Sorry Bottom Brick! I knew there was one alright!

There's a few lads that play for Fergal O'Hanlon's (new club in Monaghan town) who are settled.

I think they have a good underage team with a few as well.

Hollow Man

Didn't know that about O'Hanlons. i heard they were a real Ra outfit...

I've heard rumours about Lima Dunne and Davy fitz before, pure shite I'd say.

mayo51

jimmy maughan who played for mayo in the early eighties was from the travelling community.he also won an all ireland minor medal in 1978.he is no relation to john maughan.