Has Keano Lost His Marbles? (£9 mill for a Jock keeper !! )

Started by Balboa, August 07, 2007, 10:39:40 PM

Deal_Me_In

Keane really has been spending big this summer in a bis to stay in the Premiership:

Dickson Etuhu              Norwich City                   £1.5m
Kieron Richardson        Manchester United           £5.5m
Michael Chopra            Cardiff City                      £5m
Russell Anderson         Aberdeen                        £1m
Greg Halford                Reading FC                     £2m
Paul McShane              West Brom                     £2m
Craig Gordon               Hearts                           £9m

Total = £26m

With the possibility of buying Mido for ~ £9m that would bring the total to ~ £35m which is among the biggest spenders of the summer.

Balboa

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 08, 2007, 02:02:57 PM
All household names too...  ::)

Classic example of buying championship standard players to try and stay in the Premiership......

Write them off at your peril.

Rocky - care to list the genius goalkeepers that played for Liverpool over recent years? Or the amount of points they have given United over the years? David James, Jerzy Dudek to name just two. Fair play lads.

Balboa

Quote from: magpie seanie on August 08, 2007, 02:48:48 PM

Rocky - care to list the genius goalkeepers that played for Liverpool over recent years? Or the amount of points they have given United over the years? David James, Jerzy Dudek to name just two. Fair play lads.

So because he is an ex-Utd/Republic player we should join the big Sunderland love-in on this board and "write them off at your peril"??? He has bought a pile of s*ite to complement the championship standard players already there.......a recipe for relegation.

Quote from: Balboa on August 08, 2007, 03:24:26 PM

So because he is an ex-Utd/Republic player we should join the big Sunderland love-in on this board and "write them off at your peril"??? He has bought a pile of s*ite to complement the championship standard players already there.......a recipe for relegation.

Maybe u'd be kind enough to offer some odds???

Gordon has looked steady for Scotland every time I have seen him play, and even though the fee seems excessive, there always is a premium for British players and he is still a number of years away from his prime.

Would that be the same Jerzy Dudek who saved Shevchenkos penalty to help Liverpool win the European Champions League for the fifth time :P

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 08, 2007, 06:22:35 PM

Would that be the same Jerzy Dudek who saved Shevchenkos penalty to help Liverpool win the European Champions League for the fifth time :P

And is now at Real Madrid

Balboa

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 08, 2007, 04:21:43 PM

Absolutely, 10/3 with PP, 5th favourites for the drop.

One of Clough's first major signings for Forest was Shilton at 250K (quite a bit then), could be a good buy, God knows he'll get plenty of practice!!

Not a bad keeper at all & by buying him Keane is illustrating he is building for the future, hopefully in the Premiership.
But it is an awful lot of money to pay for a keeper who is unproven in the EPL

Quote from: Balboa on August 08, 2007, 11:05:03 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 08, 2007, 04:21:43 PM

Absolutely, 10/3 with PP, 5th favourites for the drop.

Thanks Paddy  ::)

QuoteSo because he is an ex-Utd/Republic player we should join the big Sunderland love-in on this board and "write them off at your peril"

There's no point replying to that really is there? That's not the reason I make my point though I dare say the opposite isn't true for your good self.

Sunderland will be hard working but uninspired but that should be enough to keep them up. Then they can build from there. There's no point spending money on big name players who won't work their bollix off for the team. It scuppers the whole thing.

Tell me - what great players did Wigan in '05 and Reading last year buy to keep them up?

Quote from: full back on August 09, 2007, 10:13:18 AM
Not a bad keeper at all & by buying him Keane is illustrating he is building for the future, hopefully in the Premiership.
But it is an awful lot of money to pay for a keeper who is unproven in the EPL

What is the big deal about being proven in teh EPL as a keeper????? He would be used to a far more physical style in Scotland so that won't be a problem...
He has shown at International level against Italy/France etc that he is a quality keeper and also for Hearts in Europe...
I think that apart from Cech/Given he will probably be the next best keeper in the Division...

As for those slating Mido in his first season at Spurs he proved a good goal scoring centre forward who just needs to play week in week out to keep his fitness rates up....