GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 02:24:51 AM

Title: Concerned Gaels
Post by: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 02:24:51 AM
High-profile GAA members sign Palestine petition amid controversy over flags

Around 1,200 Ulster GAA members have signed a petition in support of the people of Palestine amid controversy over attempts to stop flags being flown at grounds.

All-Ireland winners Peter Canavan and Oisin McConville are among dozens of current and former county players to have added their names to the initiative by a group called 'Concerned Gaels'.

It is expected that a copy of the petition, which calls for support for the Palestinian people and their demands for human rights, will be handed to the Ulster Council in Armagh today.

Organisers say county players to have signed it include Armagh's Brendan Donaghy and Gavin McParland and Tyrone's Padraig McNulty, with former players including Tyrone's Paudge Quinn.

It is understood it has also received the backing of Tyrone manager Mickey Harte.

The petition comes after Ulster Council officials ordered the removal of two Palestinian flags during a championship game at Healy Park in Omagh last month, although it is believed an attempt to remove them was unsuccessful.

The council has said the only flags allowed in grounds are the official GAA flag, national flag and team colours.

Earlier this month, a match between Tyrone and Meath in Navan - not under the auspices of Ulster GAA - saw a Tyrone fan holding a Palestinian flag arrested by gardaí following an exchange with officers. The Dungannon man was later given an adult caution and released.

A prominent Palestinian campaigner, John Hurson, also revealed that he was told he would no longer needed as Tyrone's match day social media officer on the morning of the Meath game.

An honorary Palestinian citizen, he had voiced his criticism of the attempt to remove flags at Healy Park and believes the decision to drop him was linked to his comments.

Mr Hurson is known throughout Ireland for his work with the 'Tyrone to Gaza' group and managed the official Tyrone social media feeds voluntarily since 2011.

The petition states: "We, the undersigned members of Cumann Lúthchleas Gael, abhor the ongoing genocide in Palestine and call on all right thinking people to continue to stand in solidarity with the Palestinian people and support their demands for basic human rights.

"We also call on Comhairle Uladh CLG to guarantee that the appalling scenes in Páirc Tailteann, Navan, are never repeated at any GAA ground in the province of Ulster."

Organisers say the petition received more than 1,200 signatures in a week after every club in Ulster was contacted by email.

It is understood copies have also been distributed at both club and county training sessions across the province.

A spokeswoman for Concerned Gaels said the incident in Navan was "the final straw".

"It seems to be Ulster who are driving this," she said.

"Officials from the Ulster Council need to fully explain the thinking behind this."

The Ulster Council did not respond to requests for comment yesterday.

The petition organisers have set up a Facebook page and website for anyone who wants to add their names.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/20/news/high-profile-gaa-members-sign-palestine-petition-amid-controversy-over-flags-1360241/
Title: Re: Concerned Gaels
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 02:28:22 AM
HQ need to stand their ground on this one. A very small but very loud minority support this politicising of the games. It remains incredibly distasteful to me that these people use the Palestinian cause as a prop to further their own selfish ends.

If anyone wants to pretend that all but a few of these people have any real interest in their plights and it isn't yet another attempt to try to wind up unionists in the north, cop on. Creating divisions rather than trying to bridge them, even in sport.
Post by: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 03:14:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 02:28:22 AM
HQ need to stand their ground on this one. A very small but very loud minority support this politicising of the games. It remains incredibly distasteful to me that these people use the Palestinian cause as a prop to further their own selfish ends.

If anyone wants to pretend that all but a few of these people have any real interest in their plights and it isn't yet another attempt to try to wind up unionists in the north, cop on. Creating divisions rather than trying to bridge them, even in sport.

Just shut up. Please. Shut up and take time to read and understand the sentiments of the people not only in Ulster, but across Ireland  right now.

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 20, 2018, 07:01:07 AM
Do you have to go to the fb page to sign it?
Post by: thewobbler on June 20, 2018, 07:02:42 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 03:14:12 AM

Just shut up. Please. Shut up and take time to read and understand the sentiments of the people not only in Ulster, but across Ireland  right now.

Choices:

a) allow every politically attuned member of our Association to use the GAA as a vehicle for promoting their politics, and therefore inevitably over time generate negative publicity and infighting.

Or

b) remain politically neutral and concentrate on football and hurling.

—-

Those who would choose to follow a) are narrow minded, myopic fools.
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 07:38:54 AM
Good luck with the petition and highlighting such an injustice and sending that visible support. If it's through the GAA so be it. There is so much support has gone out from Ireland to the oppressed people of Palestine both moral support and in the way of aid. Pay no heed to the tory "Im alright fuc you Jack" crowd.
Post by: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 07:45:25 AM
If you see the cruelty in the flesh it is very hard to do nothing. There are so many parallels with our own history . GAA people are decent so why not leverage that ?
Post by: Hardy on June 20, 2018, 08:00:28 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 20, 2018, 07:02:42 AM

Choices:

a) allow every politically attuned member of our Association to use the GAA as a vehicle for promoting their politics, and therefore inevitably over time generate negative publicity and infighting.

Or

—-

Quote from: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 07:45:25 AM
If you see the cruelty in the flesh it is very hard to do nothing. There are so many parallels with our own history . GAA people are decent so why not leverage that ?

False dichotomy. Nobody said "do nothing".
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 08:18:44 AM

When I go to watch a match, I go to support my county and watch a match. I'm not interested in having my attendance be leveraged or exploited to support political causes, thanks very much. My being a decent skin, or an utter tosspot doesn't really come into it.
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 08:25:04 AM
Isn't about supporting a political cause... is highlighting the massacre of men, women and children. Regarding Palestine is the same as Argentina football team stand they took as does Ronaldo using his football profile.
Post by: haranguerer on June 20, 2018, 08:29:05 AM

You are UNBELIEVABLY clueless. A complete f**king idiot firing round falsehoods and stupid opinions on everything under the sun. Unless you're a WUM, I don't know why you bother.
Post by: Stan Laurel on June 20, 2018, 08:38:28 AM

Choices:

Or

—-

Fantastic post, totally agree.
Post by: haranguerer on June 20, 2018, 08:48:25 AM
Just to point out, its impossible for the GAA to 'remain politically neutral' as it never has been
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 09:29:18 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 08:25:04 AM
Isn't about supporting a political cause... is highlighting the massacre of men, women and children. Regarding Palestine is the same as Argentina football team stand they took as does Ronaldo using his football profile.

Grand so. I'm sure you won't mind me showing up in Clones with my Orange Order banners and flags, to highlight the massacre of insert Troubles incident of your choice here -------->

Can I hang some Union Jack bunting around the stand where Arlene will be sitting? Just so that she feels we are all in solidarity with the terrible mental trauma her kind must feel about not being let take their silly wee drums and their silly bowler hats down the Garvahy Rd on the Glorious 12th? Then after that, can I hang some Stars and Stripes flags from all the flag poles, to show solidary with The Donald for showing those dirty Mexicans whats what? Then I want to put up big billboards around the ground of waffles. Why waffles? Well, we need to highlight the terrible human rights abuses in the Belgian Congo in the 1950's. I won't rest until the world is rid of all waffles.

Do you see where this is going?
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 09:30:48 AM

Choices:

Or

—-

Spot on.
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 09:31:38 AM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 09:29:18 AM

Grand so. I'm sure you won't mind me showing up in Clones with my Orange Order banners and flags, to highlight the massacre of insert Troubles incident of your choice here -------->

Can I hang some Union Jack bunting around the stand where Arlene will be sitting? Just so that she feels we are all in solidarity with the terrible mental trauma her kind must feel about not being let take their silly wee drums and their silly bowler hats down the Garvahy Rd on the Glorious 12th? Then after that, can I hang some Stars and Stripes flags from all the flag poles, to show solidary with The Donald for showing those dirty Mexicans whats what? Then I want to put up big billboards around the ground of waffles. Why waffles? Well, we need to highlight the terrible human rights abuses in the Belgian Congo in the 1950's. I won't rest until the world is rid of all waffles.

Sounds like you're going to a DUP conference. West Brit
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 20, 2018, 09:43:24 AM

Choices:

Or

—-

Nailed it.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 20, 2018, 09:51:16 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 09:30:48 AM

Choices:

Or

—-

Spot on.

It is quite difficult ground though guys. Instinctively I'm an option B man - I think it is hugely important for the GAA to maintain at least an appearance of political neutrality, and I spoke out quite vehemently when pro-life GAA members tried to imply that the organisation itself supported that cause. I don't think Concerned Gaels have stepped over that line.

However, as someone who followed and supported the actions taken by Colin Kaepernick and his compatriots in the NFL, the right to protest by athletes should never be taken for granted.

So perhaps the way I thread the needle is that I am hugely opposed that an organisation like the GAA be co-opted by political causes, when it is ostensibly a sporting organisation (and its survival and prosperity in all 32 counties will depend on it appealing to a diverse population).

But I am not opposed to individual athletes or supporters taking a stand or protesting, providing that it is clear that it is a personal stance they are taking or that they are not trying to represent the GAA itself.

That said, it would be a different matter if the GAA were operating in an international sphere. The IRFU did not cover itself in glory during the apartheid years, and I do think that the situation in Palestine at the moment amounts to a form of apartheid.

It is a very difficult line to walk.
Post by: Rossfan on June 20, 2018, 09:56:36 AM
As a person who is  100% pro Palestinian I don't agree with this petition.
As pointed out  we'll have flags or placards for  every political or other cause all over our grounds on match days if allowed. .
Why doesn't Mr Hurson and the "Concerned Gaels" hold protests or demonstrations outside our grounds before big matches?

As for Syferus sadly he is a real person and is full of neo liberal right wing nonsense as his frontal lobe hasn't yet fully developed.
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 10:01:00 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 09:31:38 AM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 09:29:18 AM

Sounds like you're going to a DUP conference. West Brit

Yes, it does, doesn't it? And won't it be great craic altogether when every single match is invaded by politically motivated people who feel they are perfectly entitled to use a sporting occassion to further whatever it is that they believe in, or feel strongly about? I'd imagine most people would change their tune right sharpish, if said protests, demonstrations, banners and flags were for causes that they DIDN'T believe in. You don't get to pick and choose on things like this. If you open up GAA grounds to this issue in particualr, then you open them up to everything. The good. The bad. The ugly. The truly deranged. That would not be a good thing imo.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 20, 2018, 10:02:05 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 07:38:54 AM
Good luck with the petition and highlighting such an injustice and sending that visible support. If it's through the GAA so be it. There is so much support has gone out from Ireland to the oppressed people of Palestine both moral support and in the way of aid. Pay no heed to the tory "Im alright fuc you Jack" crowd.

Whatever your political view, and there can't be many in the GAA who disagree with the sentiments that John and the others are trying to promote, the real question is whether the GAA should be used as a vehicle to promote this. If my memory serves me correctly, you yourself were very critical of Mickey Harte's use of the GAA to promote his views on the abortion debate (I agreed with you I'm most definitely not trying to reignite that debate here - but it is a case in point) and if we allow expressions of any political / divisive view points become the norm in the GAA then we are heading into very muddy waters. People can protest all they want, about whatever issue they want to protest about outside the ground, canvas opinions of GAA folk as they sup their pints in the pubs, encourage them to sign the petitions and get involved with the campaign. But I'm afraid I would come down on the side of the argument that once inside the ground we should be concentrating on the hurling and the football.
Post by: Keyser soze on June 20, 2018, 10:02:43 AM
There are indubitably some GAA people out there who support the Israeli stance on Palestine, should they also be allowed to use the Association as a vehicle to show that support?
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 10:22:36 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 20, 2018, 10:02:05 AM

Whatever your political view, and there can't be many in the GAA who disagree with the sentiments that John and the others are trying to promote, the real question is whether the GAA should be used as a vehicle to promote this. If my memory serves me correctly, you yourself were very critical of Mickey Harte's use of the GAA to promote his views on the abortion debate (I agreed with you I'm most definitely not trying to reignite that debate here - but it is a case in point) and if we allow expressions of any political / divisive view points become the norm in the GAA then we are heading into very muddy waters. People can protest all they want, about whatever issue they want to protest about outside the ground, canvas opinions of GAA folk as they sup their pints in the pubs, encourage them to sign the petitions and get involved with the campaign. But I'm afraid I would come down on the side of the argument that once inside the ground we should be concentrating on the hurling and the football.

I hear what you're saying but Harte was trying to use the GAA to influence a vote. This is a humanitarian issue and the GAA is being used all the time to highlight humanitarian issues. It's genocide it's not a war.
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 10:25:00 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 10:22:36 AM

I hear what you're saying but Harte was trying to use the GAA to influence a vote. This is a humanitarian issue and the GAA is being used all the time to highlight humanitarian issues. It's genocide it's not a war.

But that is what the No campaigners were saying too. They felt just as strongly about the human rights of the unborn, as you do about the Palestinians. If they had their way, there would be placards and billboards of aborted foetuses all over Croke Park. Who gets to decide who is right or wrong, or what displays are or are not acceptable? You?
Post by: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 10:27:11 AM
The US had just pulled out of the UN human rights council because Israel can't take the heat. Israel is an apartheid state.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/19/us-quits-un-human-rights-council-cesspool-political-bias
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 10:32:53 AM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 10:25:00 AM

But that is what the No campaigners were saying too. They felt just as strongly about the human rights of the unborn, as you do about the Palestinians. If they had their way, there would be placards and billboards of aborted foetuses all over Croke Park. Who gets to decide who is right or wrong, or what displays are or are not acceptable? You?

Harte was trying to influence a vote. This is highlighting the plight of people being slaughtered.
Post by: general_lee on June 20, 2018, 10:33:21 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 20, 2018, 10:02:43 AM
There are indubitably some GAA people out there who support the Israeli stance on Palestine, should they also be allowed to use the Association as a vehicle to show that support?
They should be repeatedly punched in the face.
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 10:36:01 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 10:32:53 AM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 10:25:00 AM

Harte was trying to influence a vote. This is highlighting the plight of people being slaughtered.

Which is what a lot of No campaigners were saying too.

That is what the vote they were trying to influence was all about.

Are you genuinely incapable of connecting the dots here?
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:46:30 AM
Everybody is in favour of the GAA being apolitical, until it is their personal political stance being excluded.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:49:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:46:30 AM
Everybody is in favour of the GAA being apolitical, until it is their personal political stance being excluded.

Is the GAA apolitical though? History tells a different tale.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:55:11 AM
True, but it is, and was, a worthy aspiration.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 11:01:36 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:49:07 AM

I thought it was not 'Party' Political.
Post by: Rossfan on June 20, 2018, 11:20:07 AM
We left a lot of stuff behind as we moved on like bans and bishops throwing in the ball.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 11:26:29 AM
Who actually decided this was an issue in the first place?
It's being going on for years, predominantly at games involving the Dubs or Ulster teams.
Or is this just natural progression from the fuss we saw over the Confederate flag being waved at Cork games.
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 11:32:37 AM
Quote from: Stan Laurel on June 20, 2018, 08:38:28 AM

Choices:

Or

—-

Fantastic post, totally agree.

it was until he let his bile and bias come out in the end.
I actually agree with him though.
the problem with allowing human rights/political displays at matches is not all are are clear cut as the Israeli situation,
it when the waters are a bit more mired and the  politically correct decision is not so easy to make  like in burma and Aung San Suu Kyi who made fools of many
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 11:40:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:55:11 AM
True, but it is, and was, a worthy aspiration.

I use to think that but no so sure any more, same way I use to laud the GAA for it's almost socialist outlook it's now moved beyond that, it can't take the corporate dollar and not bear the consequences that brings.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 20, 2018, 11:41:34 AM
If you flew a Palestine flag inside a premier league ground would you be asked to leave?
(Honest question, I dont know the answer).

While officially the GAA can take a non political stance , as a community and voluntary organisation, it will always be reflective of the views held by the majority of its members.
Post by: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 11:42:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 11:01:36 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:49:07 AM

I thought it was not 'Party' Political.
Some times are more political than others.
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 11:47:10 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 20, 2018, 11:41:34 AM
If you flew a Palestine flag inside a premier league ground would you be asked to leave?

While officially the GAA can take a non political stance , as a community and voluntary organisation, it will always be reflective of the views held by the majority of its members.

one of the reasons the GAA survived and thrived in the early day was because at official level it was not political, The civil War would have killed it other wise .
now I know  recent ( but getting older) history in the north is different but as fasr as possible it has remained neutral at a top level,
individual clubs and members are a different thing
Post by: weareros on June 20, 2018, 12:07:57 PM
Abhor israel's murder of Palestinians. But don't need to see a Palestine flag at a GAA match. I also abhor Palestine's treatment of Gay community, their zealous honor killings of women. Unfortunately theses are all religious fanatics and their flag represents  all that. I would not want to see a papal flag either. We've had our own religious fanatics and there's enough poor children buried in unmarked graves that I don't want to see a papal flag at a Roscommon match (which I haven't) even though it's close to our county colours.  Bring your own county colours - there's plenty of other outlets to protest for political and religious causes. And I also hate to see politicians canvassing outside the gates. Keep the frig away.
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 12:09:56 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 20, 2018, 12:07:57 PM
Abhor israel's murder of Palestinians. But don't need to see a Palestine flag at a GAA match. I also abhor Palestine's treatment of Gay community, their zealous honor killings of women. Unfortunately theses are all religious fanatics and their flag represents  all that. I would not want to see a papal flag either. We've had our own religious fanatics and there's enough poor children buried in unmarked graves that I don't want to see a papal flag at a Roscommon match (which I haven't) even though it's close to our county colours.  Bring your own county colours - there's plenty of other outlets to protest for political and religious causes. And I also hate to see politicians canvassing outside the gates. Keep the frig away.

Very, very well said.
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 12:18:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 11:26:29 AM
Who actually decided this was an issue in the first place?
It's being going on for years, predominantly at games involving the Dubs or Ulster teams.
Or is this just natural progression from the fuss we saw over the Confederate flag being waved at Cork games.

The Confedrate flag is an abhorant thing to be waving publicly in any capacity Jinxy, don't let yourself down by trying to minimise it because you think some head-the-balls in Cork don't have the sense to know basic facts of history.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 12:20:47 PM
Let myself down by trying to minimise it?
What, in the ever loving name of Christ, are you on about now?
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 12:21:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 12:20:47 PM
Let myself down by trying to minimise it?
What, in the ever loving name of Christ, are you on about now?

"Fuss"
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 12:24:09 PM

That very well may be. It doesn't mean we need to see the flags and banners related those political views at matches.
Post by: Hound on June 20, 2018, 12:35:56 PM

It would be confiscated. Not sure if you'd be asked to leave, I don't think so, but you'd be closely watched.
Post by: sid waddell on June 20, 2018, 12:36:41 PM
Amazing how confederate flags and bible-thumping evangelical nutcases with huge signs are allowed at GAA matches, but Palestinian flags aren't.

Post by: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 01:00:42 PM
The GAA has always been political in the north . The breakthrough Down team of 1960 and many others were regularly hassled by the insecurity forces.
The British Army built a helicopter base on the grounds of Crossmaglen Rangers. "f**k youse.  We are going to win an All Ireland" was the result.
Aidan McAnespie was shot dead outside a football pitch.

I think it was Nehru who said the man who has gotten all he wants is in favour of peace and order.
Post by: trailer on June 20, 2018, 01:02:59 PM
A very tricky one. Given the range of views on this thread alone it's easy to see why the Palestinian demonstration was banned.
Post by: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 01:39:20 PM

Choices:

Or

—-

While those who chose B are living in a fantasy land. Sport always has been and always will be political to some degree, but when it becomes as much or more about humanitarianism as bout politics, then people have a right, or a responsibility to speak up at every available opportunity. It was sporting boycotts (amongst other boycotts) which contributed hugely to the ending of apartheid in South Africa. Here is an opportunity to once again be on the right side of history, instead of hiding behind 'keep the politics out of it' bull.
Post by: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 01:41:04 PM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 08:18:44 AM

When I go to watch a match, I go to support my county and watch a match. I'm not interested in having my attendance be leveraged or exploited to support political causes, thanks very much. My being a decent skin, or an utter tosspot doesn't really come into it.

The petition is not advocating that you be forced to carry a Palestine flag. It's demanding that the Palestine not be treated as an offensive item and barred by the authorities.
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 01:46:07 PM
Is calling for human rights political?
Post by: trailer on June 20, 2018, 01:53:59 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 01:46:07 PM

Who decides what is a human rights issue and what isn't? Should they be flying the Mexico flag given what is happening in Texas.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 01:54:12 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 01:39:20 PM

Choices:

Or

—-

While those who chose B are living in a fantasy land. Sport always has been and always will be political to some degree, but when it becomes as much or more about humanitarianism as bout politics, then people have a right, or a responsibility to speak up at every available opportunity. It was sporting boycotts (amongst other boycotts) which contributed hugely to the ending of apartheid in South Africa. Here is an opportunity to once again be on the right side of history, instead of hiding behind 'keep the politics out of it' bull.
Anyone who uses that term can jog on in my view.
Post by: dec on June 20, 2018, 01:56:58 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 01:54:12 PM

Choices:

Or

—-

Anyone who uses that term can jog on in my view.

Talking of annoying terms
Post by: rrhf on June 20, 2018, 02:02:46 PM
Has the Gaa top level allowed the organisation / personnelln/ grounds to be used for or involved itself in political expressions in the last 10 years? Honest answers only please.
Post by: longballin on June 20, 2018, 02:04:39 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 20, 2018, 01:53:59 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 20, 2018, 01:46:07 PM

Who decides what is a human rights issue and what isn't? Should they be flying the Mexico flag given what is happening in Texas.

Yeah and burn the Stars and Stripes
Post by: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 02:07:14 PM

No one is stopping you speaking out. No one is stopping you organizing a boycott of Israeli products or sporting events. Knock yourself out.
Post by: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 02:27:43 PM
Quote from: Beffs on June 20, 2018, 02:07:14 PM

No one is stopping you speaking out. No one is stopping you organizing a boycott of Israeli products or sporting events. Knock yourself out.

Well the Gardaí were confiscating Palestine flags in Navan, so....
Post by: seafoid on June 20, 2018, 03:12:53 PM
The Dunnes strikers back in the 80s got awful abuse from the Dunnes stores for better value is not political crowd  . Everything is political.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 03:25:47 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 20, 2018, 12:36:41 PM
Amazing how confederate flags and bible-thumping evangelical nutcases with huge signs are allowed at GAA matches, but Palestinian flags aren't.

That's harsh. Poor auld John 3:7 is a sound lad.

I saw a few Palestinian flags in the Gaelic Grounds for the Limerick - Tipp Match, and again in Cork for the Cork Limerick game and I don't think anyone was removed, so I'm not sure if a directive came out specifically for the Tyrone Meath game because those flags are more prevalent in some Ulster games.
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 04:05:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 03:25:47 PM

I saw a few Palestinian flags in the Gaelic Grounds for the Limerick - Tipp Match, and again in Cork for the Cork Limerick game and I don't think anyone was removed, so I'm not sure if a directive came out specifically for the Tyrone Meath game because those flags are more prevalent in some Ulster games.

I've heard a lot of stories about John 3:7 being a bit of a thoughtless twat with his antics actually, AZ. I can only imagine being stuck behind him at a match.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 20, 2018, 04:28:20 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 20, 2018, 10:02:43 AM

If they want to wave an Israeli flag let them. I don't see how waving a Palestine flag at a match is a form of protest though
Post by: tonto1888 on June 20, 2018, 04:30:26 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 20, 2018, 12:35:56 PM

It would be confiscated. Not sure if you'd be asked to leave, I don't think so, but you'd be closely watched.

I'm not sure it would. Although a different league there are always Palestine flags at Celtic park and why don't eat confiscated
Post by: charlieTully on June 20, 2018, 04:44:49 PM

My son had one at the R.O.I v USA friendly a couple of weeks back. No one said boo to him
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 05:07:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 04:05:20 PM

I've heard a lot of stories about John 3:7 being a bit of a thoughtless twat with his antics actually, AZ. I can only imagine being stuck behind him at a match.

Ah yeah but he's harmless.
Post by: themac_23 on June 20, 2018, 06:46:02 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 20, 2018, 04:44:49 PM

My son had one at the R.O.I v USA friendly a couple of weeks back. No one said boo to him

There was a Palestine flag at one of the WC games today, not sure which one (possibly portugal) was hanging in one of the corners of the stadium. wasn't watching the games just caught a glimpse of it so not 100% sure what game
Post by: weareros on June 20, 2018, 08:15:15 PM
Another point I would make is that these players are amateur who train their bollix off to entertain us. The entertainment draws huge crowds and huge exposure in TV audience. Big audience brings out the "marketers". So, you have two choices - bring a county flag to support them for their efforts  and what they represent or take advantage of the audiences they generate to get your message across. Have at it: Palestine. Abortion. FF. FG. SF. Think I will stick with a flag to support them. Don't think anyone has the right to use an amateur org to make a political point, no matter how right that political point may be.
Post by: Orchard park on June 20, 2018, 08:29:08 PM
I come into this as someone who as a child helped carry blankets  at half time in matches to fundraise for poliical prisoners. My father had considerable gaa officialdom resistance in organiding this  but  totally ignored it as he knew Denis Conroy and Frank Murphy together with most Northern Central council were supportive...

38 years later I see what happened then as totally wrong and it was politicising sport which is wrong.

I have no more objection to Palestinian or Israeli flags than i have to the annoying snd historically inappropriate usage of confederate ones by cork.....

None shoukd be allowed flown imho and yes that is s  is s serious change of opinion over a lifetime..... mostly these things might be deemed valid st the time but they look foolish when viewed through the prism of history......
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 20, 2018, 08:34:51 PM

Choices:

Or

—-

Could not agree more. As soon as you declare your political allegiance you immediately alienate half the people in the country, and the GAA should be open to everybody.

I'm a supporter of Palestinian rights, but I'd hate to see the GAA being dragged into this.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 20, 2018, 08:36:10 PM
How can you sign the petition? The article mentions a website but I couldn't find it online
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 09:30:30 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 20, 2018, 08:34:51 PM

Choices:

Or

—-

Could not agree more. As soon as you declare your political allegiance you immediately alienate half the people in the country, and the GAA should be open to everybody.

I'm a supporter of Palestinian rights, but I'd hate to see the GAA being dragged into this.

What if everyone wore a tee shirt with a Palestinian flag on it. It's naive to think you can separate global issues like this from sport. It's like saying the boycott of apartheid South Africa should have been kept out of sport.
Post by: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 09:33:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 20, 2018, 08:36:10 PM
How can you sign the petition? The article mentions a website but I couldn't find it online

http://www.concernedgaels.com/
Post by: SHEEDY on June 20, 2018, 09:39:28 PM
was the queen visiting croke park in 2011 not a political statement at the time??
Post by: macdanger2 on June 20, 2018, 09:39:42 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on June 20, 2018, 09:33:29 PM

Good man, thanks
Post by: SHEEDY on June 20, 2018, 09:45:28 PM

signed. thanks.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2018, 10:44:58 PM

Signed and passed on.
Post by: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 11:14:34 PM
This isn't a case of bringing politics into sport. It's not a political protest. It's a humanitarian issue in the same way as campaigning against apartheid in South Africa was a humanitarian issue. Terming it 'political' is just a cowardly excuse for burying the head in the sand. As I said on here earlier, campaigns and boycotts through the medium of sport was an important and an effective tool in the fight against S. African apartheid. If it was effective in helping ending apartheid in S. Africa then that made it the right thing to have done, and it makes it the right thing to do now. The GAA isn't being asked to do anything here. Nobody is demanding the Palestine flag be flown alongside the tricolour on the grounds flagpoles - they are merely being asked not to treat the flag of Palestine as some sort of nefarious, offensive item and their 'patrons' who carry it as some sort of criminals. Someone took exception earlier to my use of the 'right side of history' term, but it is appropriate. The GAA have to do very little here in order to stay on the right side of history. Their current stance will be one that they risk looking back on with some shame and embarassment..
Post by: weareros on June 21, 2018, 12:10:43 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 11:14:34 PM
This isn't a case of bringing politics into sport. It's not a political protest. It's a humanitarian issue in the same way as campaigning against apartheid in South Africa was a humanitarian issue. Terming it 'political' is just a cowardly excuse for burying the head in the sand. As I said on here earlier, campaigns and boycotts through the medium of sport was an important and an effective tool in the fight against S. African apartheid. If it was effective in helping ending apartheid in S. Africa then that made it the right thing to have done, and it makes it the right thing to do now. The GAA isn't being asked to do anything here. Nobody is demanding the Palestine flag be flown alongside the tricolour on the grounds flagpoles - they are merely being asked not to treat the flag of Palestine as some sort of nefarious, offensive item and their 'patrons' who carry it as some sort of criminals. Someone took exception earlier to my use of the 'right side of history' term, but it is appropriate. The GAA have to do very little here in order to stay on the right side of history. Their current stance will be one that they risk looking back on with some shame and embarassment..

The difference is, for example, that the Springboks at the time represented the Apartheid state and it was to the eternal shame of Ireland and the IRFU that we broke the boycott and toured there. Did IRFU every apologise? Will it cost Irishmen a bother at the weekend?

The GAA on the other hand gets used inappropriately for all kinds of causes, that are nothing to do with the GAA. The murder of Palestinians is to be utterly condemned. But Palestine too is a fundamentalist regime. Both crowds are a bunch of religious fanatics and I doubt those who fly the flag would want their wife, or girlfriend or daughter living under their fundamentalist laws. Both crowds, Zionist and Palestinian, murder and torture under the name of their fairy tales. Do we need flags like that flying at GAA games no more than we need flags under which innocent blacks were lynched, hung, murdered, burned alive. Like the rugby crowd, does it even cost us a bother.
Post by: Snapchap on June 21, 2018, 07:12:44 AM
Quote from: weareros on June 21, 2018, 12:10:43 AM
The difference is, for example, that the Springboks at the time represented the Apartheid state and it was to the eternal shame of Ireland and the IRFU that we broke the boycott and toured there. Did IRFU every apologise? Will it cost Irishmen a bother at the weekend?
It will not cost Irishmen a bother at the weekend but as you say, thr IRFU placed themselved on the wrong sode of history then and the black mark on its reputation is indelible. The GAA has to do nothing to remain on the right side of history. Just stop treating the Palestine flag as an offensive article that the Gardaí will be asked to confiscate on sight, as happened in Navan.

The GAA on the other hand gets used inappropriately for all kinds of causes, that are nothing to do with the GAA. The murder of Palestinians is to be utterly condemned. But Palestine too is a fundamentalist regime. Both crowds are a bunch of religious fanatics and I doubt those who fly the flag would want their wife, or girlfriend or daughter living under their fundamentalist laws. Both crowds, Zionist and Palestinian, murder and torture under the name of their fairy tales.
With the greatest respect, that is an absolute load of dung. The conflict is not two sides fighting a religious war. The Palestinian people in Gaza are a people who's own land was stolen from under their nose and who are forced to live in an open air prison with not even the right to protest. Numerically, the greatest victims are the children of Gaza, since its population is incredibly young. So your criticisms of their religious laws (as you rush to label every Palestinian as fundamentalist) is totally bogus. If you deplore what they are being put through by Israel (as a result of Israeli land grabbing), then stop qualifying your statement of condemnation with a "but...." like you have. You may not like their faith or how they practice it, but that should not even come into the equation when they are being subjected to the sort of regime they are being subjected to. Particularly when the ones who are paying the highest price for Israeli brutality are the children of Gaza. This is humanitarianism, not politics.

Do we need flags like that flying at GAA games no more than we need flags under which innocent blacks were lynched, hung, murdered, burned alive.
There you go falling into the GAA's mindset where the flag of Palestine has an equvilance to the Confederate flag. Just think for a second how stupid that is.
Post by: seafoid on June 21, 2018, 07:43:50 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 11:14:34 PM

The GAA on the other hand gets used inappropriately for all kinds of causes, that are nothing to do with the GAA. The murder of Palestinians is to be utterly condemned. But Palestine too is a fundamentalist regime. Both crowds are a bunch of religious fanatics and I doubt those who fly the flag would want their wife, or girlfriend or daughter living under their fundamentalist laws. Both crowds, Zionist and Palestinian, murder and torture under the name of their fairy tales. Do we need flags like that flying at GAA games no more than we need flags under which innocent blacks were lynched, hung, murdered, burned alive. Like the rugby crowd, does it even cost us a bother.
The Palestinians are not religious fanatics. They are an oppressed people.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 21, 2018, 10:44:56 AM
Signed
Post by: sid waddell on June 21, 2018, 11:01:46 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2018, 05:07:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2018, 04:05:20 PM

Ah yeah but he's harmless.
So John 3:7 is harmless but Palestinian flags are harmful?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2018, 11:22:43 AM
Where did I say that? All I said was you were being harsh on poor auld Frank Hogan.

I don't like what happened in Navan at all.
Post by: give her dixie on June 21, 2018, 11:34:34 AM
GAA says there is no ban on Palestinian flags at grounds

The GAA last night denied it has banned Palestinian flags from its grounds.

Responding to a petition from around 1,200 of its members, Ulster GAA said there is no ban "per se" on national flags being taken to matches.

All-Ireland winners Peter Canavan and Oisin McConville were among dozens of current and former county players to sign the petition from 'Concerned Gaels.'

The petition came after Ulster Council officials sought the removal of two Palestinian flags during a championship game at Healy Park, Omagh last month. And earlier this month, a match between Tyrone and Meath in Navan saw a Tyrone fans holding a Palestinian flag arrested by Gardai.

Meanwhile, Palestinian campaigner John Hurson was removed from a voluntary position as Tyrone social media officer after he criticised the attempt to remove the flags at Healy Park.

In a statement, Ulster GAA said: "The safety of the teams, supporters and volunteers who run our games is paramount and that duty of care by Ulster GAA is always at the forefront of how we run our games.

"There is no ban per se on national flags being taken into our grounds. However, should any flag cause an obstruction or present a risk to health & safety, for example, due to the size or type of flagpole used, the GAA reserves the right to have that flagpole removed from the grounds.

"Our protocols state that flags other than the national flag, Association flag and the flags of competing teams should not be flown from flagpoles at our games.

"We respect the right of any member to hold their own views or opinions but our games are sporting occasions and our venues are not an appropriate place to express such views. Ulster GAA today accepted a petition from 'Concerned Gaels' and were happy to do so."

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/21/news/gaa-denies-palestinian-flag-ban-1361100/?param=ds441rif44T
Post by: Armamike on June 21, 2018, 11:51:34 AM
I don't know what possesses people to bring Palestinian flags or any flags outside of their own county to a football match.  Have people nothing better to be at?  There's a time and place. Is it really because folk feel some empathy for others' plight or is it just a chance to stick two fingers up at unionists. Knowing how both sides here think I'd guess it's the latter sadly.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2018, 12:13:47 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 21, 2018, 11:51:34 AM
I don't know what possesses people to bring Palestinian flags or any flags outside of their own county to a football match.  Have people nothing better to be at?  There's a time and place. Is it really because folk feel some empathy for others' plight or is it just a chance to stick two fingers up at unionists. Knowing how both sides here think I'd guess it's the latter sadly.

On the drive to Cork for a game a couple of weeks there was a lad outside Charleville selling flags to Cork and Limerick fans. Alongside the usual Cork and Limerick flags with the county crests, he had a plethora of colourful flags for sale including the flag of the Confederacy, Japan, Japan rising sun, Poland (!), Austria, Palestine, Some sort of green skull and crossbones effort, and others. I don't think any were really supposed to convey political meaning, but are just masses of colours, some of which are the county colours. The Palestine one probably stood out the most, because of the black, and the Confederate flag obviously sticks out now too, but they were just part of a much larger colourful explosion.
Post by: give her dixie on June 21, 2018, 12:16:00 PM

Coming to that conclusion demonstrates your lack of understanding of the issue at hand.
Post by: Armamike on June 21, 2018, 01:01:52 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on June 21, 2018, 12:16:00 PM

Coming to that conclusion demonstrates your lack of understanding of the issue at hand.

Ach no.  More a case of grumpy old man condition than a lack of understanding.  AZ makes a good point about the flag selling and the colours though. 
Post by: general_lee on June 21, 2018, 01:11:38 PM
It's just a bit of solidarity. It's not much but if it gets people talking and raises awareness of the issue then it's doing its job. I don't think too many unionists will be attending games anyway but I'd also like to think most right-minded unionists would abhor the behaviour of the pariah state of Israel towards Palestinian civilians. High profile gaa games are perfect place for displaying these flags especially with sky cameras picking them up. Fair play to anyone who flies them
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2018, 02:32:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 21, 2018, 12:13:47 PM

On the drive to Cork for a game a couple of weeks there was a lad outside Charleville selling flags to Cork and Limerick fans. Alongside the usual Cork and Limerick flags with the county crests, he had a plethora of colourful flags for sale including the flag of the Confederacy, Japan, Japan rising sun, Poland (!), Austria, Palestine, Some sort of green skull and crossbones effort, and others. I don't think any were really supposed to convey political meaning, but are just masses of colours, some of which are the county colours. The Palestine one probably stood out the most, because of the black, and the Confederate flag obviously sticks out now too, but they were just part of a much larger colourful explosion.

The skull and crossbones is the flag of UCC sports teams, but I don't think it's usually in green.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2018, 02:37:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2018, 02:32:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 21, 2018, 12:13:47 PM

The skull and crossbones is the flag of UCC sports teams, but I don't think it's usually in green.

No it wasn't that one. I'm aware of that version, it's in red and black normally. This was some sort of green and white generic design thing to flog to Limerick fans I suppose.
Post by: give her dixie on June 22, 2018, 03:48:52 AM
If anyone is to blame for this GAA / Palestine flag issue it's the members of this board who first came forward with donations
of money towards my crazy idea to fill a van or a lorry with aid and go join a convoy to Gaza in the UK organised by George Galloway.

His idea was in response to the 21 day assault on Gaza by Israel called Operation Cast Lead that left over 1,400 dead in late 08/09. Having rallies was one thing, direct action was another and he came up with this idea of a convoy through North Africa and into Gaza via the Rafah crossing.

It was an incredible journey, and when we broke the siege I was so so proud to drive through the Rafah Crossing into Gaza in a Rocwell lorry filled not only with a token of aid, but with the love and solidarity from not only everyone on this site, but everyone in Ireland, and beyond.

What we witnessed over the time we were there so soon after the attacks changed each and everyone of us forever.

It got into our blood and we all pledged after our journey that we would do all we could to help in any way we could.

Because of the support of this site, I had a big GAABoard.com sticker on the lorry going in, and it represented everyone here.

The lorry stayed along with the aid. The GAA had arrived in Gaza.....

Throughout all that time from then to now I have dedicated my life to Gaza and Palestine.

With the love and support from my family and friends I have been able to do what I can for the Palestinians.

I have a big Tyrone to Gaza flag that has been signed by too many people to mention.

In 'early 09 when I decided to go to Gaza, Tyrone were All Ireland Champions.

Their sponsors Rocwell donated  a lorry, members of this board paid for the fuel, O'Neills in Strabane donated hundreds of jerseys, clubs across the land donated jerseys, I had the Sam Maguire in the lorry before departure,and on the front page of the Irish News. I had the full support of the All Ireland champions and beyond and off I went.....

And I turned my drive to Gaza into a journey of the GAA showing solidarity to Gaza........

When I got to Gaza I got to hand out Dublin and Meath jerseys, among others, and had something smart to say about it...

Gaza and Palestine is in my blood, an by my actions I tried to associate the GAA into their suffering.

It wan't long ago when we were suffering, and we were glad of all the help we could get.

The Choctaw Indians sent us help, the Ottoman Islamic Empire sent us help, and the least we can do right now is send some solidarity to the Palestinians, and repay the love and respect we got from others when we needed it.

If that means flying a flag at a GAA match, then so be it.

Let's not become the cow that forgot it was a calf...........

Please?

Post by: Dire Ear on June 22, 2018, 10:03:14 AM
100% John
Post by: stephenite on June 23, 2018, 03:34:50 AM
I don't doubt the sincerity of your efforts. I do however disagree with your efforts to link the GAA to your personal crusade.

I'd suggest by including the GAA, this has minimal benefit for the oppressed people you claim to be representing.
Post by: Syferus on June 23, 2018, 05:31:41 AM
This is one of the most utterly ridiculous attempts to create a fuss that I've yet seen in the GAA. I'm glad it's failing to gain much traction. Less politics, more inclusion.

When the GAA wilfully exlcudes much of the unionist population with its tri-colour waving and draping of itself in the clothes of Irish republicanism in the north the impassioned calls for solidarity and compassion ring a bit hollow when coming from many of the same areas on this issue. Start this journey at home and not thousands of miles away.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 05:46:33 AM
Great work John and best wishes for tomorrow at the Ulster final highlighting the plight of the Palestine people.
Post by: rrhf on June 23, 2018, 07:28:51 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on June 22, 2018, 03:48:52 AM
If anyone is to blame for this GAA / Palestine flag issue it's the members of this board who first came forward with donations
of money towards my crazy idea to fill a van or a lorry with aid and go join a convoy to Gaza in the UK organised by George Galloway.

His idea was in response to the 21 day assault on Gaza by Israel called Operation Cast Lead that left over 1,400 dead in late 08/09. Having rallies was one thing, direct action was another and he came up with this idea of a convoy through North Africa and into Gaza via the Rafah crossing.

It was an incredible journey, and when we broke the siege I was so so proud to drive through the Rafah Crossing into Gaza in a Rocwell lorry filled not only with a token of aid, but with the love and solidarity from not only everyone on this site, but everyone in Ireland, and beyond.

What we witnessed over the time we were there so soon after the attacks changed each and everyone of us forever.

It got into our blood and we all pledged after our journey that we would do all we could to help in any way we could.

Because of the support of this site, I had a big GAABoard.com sticker on the lorry going in, and it represented everyone here.

The lorry stayed along with the aid. The GAA had arrived in Gaza.....

Throughout all that time from then to now I have dedicated my life to Gaza and Palestine.

With the love and support from my family and friends I have been able to do what I can for the Palestinians.

I have a big Tyrone to Gaza flag that has been signed by too many people to mention.

In 'early 09 when I decided to go to Gaza, Tyrone were All Ireland Champions.

Their sponsors Rocwell donated  a lorry, members of this board paid for the fuel, O'Neills in Strabane donated hundreds of jerseys, clubs across the land donated jerseys, I had the Sam Maguire in the lorry before departure,and on the front page of the Irish News. I had the full support of the All Ireland champions and beyond and off I went.....

And I turned my drive to Gaza into a journey of the GAA showing solidarity to Gaza........

When I got to Gaza I got to hand out Dublin and Meath jerseys, among others, and had something smart to say about it...

Gaza and Palestine is in my blood, an by my actions I tried to associate the GAA into their suffering.

It wan't long ago when we were suffering, and we were glad of all the help we could get.

The Choctaw Indians sent us help, the Ottoman Islamic Empire sent us help, and the least we can do right now is send some solidarity to the Palestinians, and repay the love and respect we got from others when we needed it.

If that means flying a flag at a GAA match, then so be it.

Let's not become the cow that forgot it was a calf...........

Please?
Fcuk them John. Plenty of support on here.
Post by: JoG2 on June 23, 2018, 09:20:15 AM
Good man John, huge support for yourself and the Palestinian people in the North West. You are not 'claiming', by your actions, you 'are' supporting these people. You've the heart of a lion.
Some freestaters never cease to amaze me with their views on the North and northern folks solidarity for others.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 09:46:23 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 23, 2018, 09:20:15 AM
Good man John, huge support for yourself and the Palestinian people in the North West. You are not 'claiming', by your actions, you 'are' supporting these people. You've the heart of a lion.
Some freestaters never cease to amaze me with their views on the North and northern folks solidarity for others.

It's the "we're all right fuc you Jack" mentality. Nothing new. Keep her lit John
Post by: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 11:51:27 AM
Keep up the good work John. Never mind the begrudgers, some of whom post on this thread
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 23, 2018, 11:56:48 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 11:51:27 AM
Keep up the good work John. Never mind the begrudgers, some of whom post on this thread
+1  on both counts!
Keep up the good work and frig the begrudgers!
Post by: southtyronegael on June 23, 2018, 01:15:58 PM
Fair play to you John I hope clones is a sea of Palestine flags tomorrow. I'm sure the people of Palestine will see the pictures through social media and it will give them a great boost that they won't have to fight their fight alone.
Post by: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:00:51 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 20, 2018, 02:27:43 PM

Have you any evidence of that whatsoever?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 02:39:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:00:51 PM

Pretty sure there's a video of the gardai taking the Palestine flag off the guy
Post by: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:49:15 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 02:39:26 PM

He was asked to take it down as it was obstructing people trying to view the game. Was it subsequently held onto?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 02:51:19 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:49:15 PM

He was asked to take it down as it was obstructing people trying to view the game. Was it subsequently held onto?

That's the reason they gave. Regardless of wether it was held onto or not, it was confiscated
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 02:52:12 PM

:D the game hadn't started
Post by: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:52:58 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 23, 2018, 02:51:19 PM

That's the reason they gave. Regardless of wether it was held onto or not, it was confiscated

Well no, it's not irrelevant. Context is everything.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 02:54:11 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:52:58 PM

Context is there were  cones on the field and no players
Post by: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:58:25 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 02:54:11 PM

Ah i see, you're only entitled to watch, having paid your money down from...? The anthem? The throw in?
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 03:31:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 23, 2018, 02:58:25 PM

Ah i see, you're only entitled to watch, having paid your money down from...? The anthem? The throw in?

I suppose if looking at comes is your thing ... have to be no more waving flags before games so.
Post by: Syferus on June 23, 2018, 04:03:13 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 03:31:36 PM

I suppose if looking at comes is your thing ... have to be no more waving flags before games so.

You're sinking big time here.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 05:08:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 23, 2018, 04:03:13 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 03:31:36 PM

You're sinking big time here.

We'll see whose sinking in Clones  tomoro..... Palestine supporters or you blue shirts
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 04:44:44 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on June 23, 2018, 01:15:58 PM
Fair play to you John I hope clones is a sea of Palestine flags tomorrow. I'm sure the people of Palestine will see the pictures through social media and it will give them a great boost that they won't have to fight their fight alone.

It will make f**k all difference to the oppressed people of Palestine.

This seems to be a vanity project for a 1 individual, hitching his cause to the GAA.

John, you are a misguided fool at best, and a dangerous f**ker at worst, I think you should be ashamed of yourself
Post by: longballin on June 24, 2018, 06:11:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 04:44:44 AM

This seems to be a vanity project for a 1 individual, hitching his cause to the GAA.

John, you are a misguided fool at best, and a dangerous f**ker at worst, I think you should be ashamed of yourself

Good luck today John in Clones in drawing attention to the plight of Palestine to 10s of 1000s and more watching it on TV. You certainly got this boy's attention and is he uncomfortable with it or what?! .
Post by: tonto1888 on June 24, 2018, 07:49:28 AM

Like I said John, never mind the begrudgers, some of whom post on this thread, keep up the good work
When Celtic made their massive Palestine display a few years ago, it didn't change anything but it did give Palestinians a lot of comfort to know that there were people who weren't forgetting them and were supporting them and highlighting their plight
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 08:47:07 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2018, 08:19:57 AM
If all you achieve is to annoy the shite outta stephenite, I'm behind you.
Best of luck.

I'm not annoyed, mildly amused if anything.

Gives them great comfort indeed .... ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2018, 09:55:37 AM
Best of luck.

What did the stephenites ever do to you?
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 10:33:16 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2018, 08:56:14 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 08:47:07 AM
Best of luck.

Aye, whatever you say.

*Clearly raging*

Clearly  ;D ;D :-* :-*
Post by: trileacman on June 24, 2018, 11:21:18 AM

That's a disgusting post.

He's a lad from Ireland who's been on humanitarian convoys that relieve the suffering of the Palestinians and draws attention to their plight. Disagreeing with his position is one thing but that personal abuse is completely out of order and you should apologise for it,
Post by: tonto1888 on June 24, 2018, 11:25:35 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2018, 08:47:07 AM
Best of luck.

Aye. Sure what would you know about it anyway
Post by: rrhf on June 24, 2018, 12:12:55 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 24, 2018, 11:21:18 AM

That's a disgusting post.

He's a lad from Ireland who's been on humanitarian convoys that relieve the suffering of the Palestinians and draws attention to their plight. Disagreeing with his position is one thing but that personal abuse is completely out of order and you should apologise for it,
Agree with that. Hopefully nice and quickly also, please.
Post by: give her dixie on June 25, 2018, 09:55:42 PM
The experience in Clones yesterday was fantastic. Not only did dozens of flags fly proudly at the game, but the streets of Clones had flags everywhere.

I was along with a good friend from Gaza who has been living here for a long time. He was the proudest person in Clones yesterday as he saw his flag flying everywhere. To see his pride at the sight of the flags was a joy to behold, and to be in among the Fermanagh and Donegal supporters flying the flag was extra special.

Not only did this photo make it into today's Irish News, but also in the Daily Record in Scotland on an article about Arlene going to the game !!

Viva Palestina

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/dup-leader-arlene-foster-attends-12782961

http://www.irishnews.com/paywall/tsb/irishnews/irishnews/irishnews//news/2018/06/25/news/palestinian-flags-on-display-during-ulster-final-as-gaa-appears-to-soften-its-stance-1364063/content.html

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DgiVlPVXUAE0UN6.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2018, 10:06:32 PM

https://electronicintifada.net/blogs/david-cronin/we-must-challenge-israeli-mindset-says-rugby-star-turned-blockade-buster
"It was very interesting to notice the attitude of the Israelis towards us. They couldn't comprehend why were doing this. What we were doing challenges their mindset and that is why it is such an effective tactic. They treat the Palestinians as if they are subhuman. They don't think Palestinians deserve to live in a normal society, to be able to import and export and fish and farm. It's great to be able to meet that mindset head on."
Trevor Hogan

Just like the French on Bothar na Sop in 1798, Stephenite. Jaysus Chrisht. 

Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on June 25, 2018, 10:20:02 PM
In our thousands in our millions....
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 08:00:28 AM

The man was arrested before the match even begun. Video widely shared online shows the incident with the Gardaí and not a player on the field. What view was being obstructed?
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DfeYIxxWAAAN-du.jpg)
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 08:17:22 AM

Apart from having witnessed it with my own eyes? And I wasn't the only one to witness it:

https://twitter.com/seamusdonnelly/status/1005586670039728128

https://twitter.com/ColmYorke/status/1005474438282964994

https://twitter.com/JJHurson/status/1006125039836696582

https://twitter.com/PaulMcGuckin1/status/1006440333792743424

They have previous form for this too:
https://twitter.com/Revolution_IRL/status/496268228495417345
Post by: Keyser soze on June 26, 2018, 09:57:23 AM
One very noticeable thing about the Palestine flags on sunday was that quite a number of them were continually waved throughout the National Anthem when everyone else was standing to attention.
Post by: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:10:30 AM
The Palestinian people have more than enough to put up with without being pulled into the small petty world that is Northern Irelan politics.

Fellas can witter on here about justice but this is nothing more than an extension of the republican/loyalist feud which sees one side waving Palestinian flags while the other waves flags from the State of Israel. The irony of slagging loyalists about "flegs" while getting all het up about this is priceless.

Lads ye're fooling no one with this nonsense & outside committed republicans you have no support for this crap inside GAA grounds,
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 26, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 26, 2018, 09:57:23 AM
One very noticeable thing about the Palestine flags on sunday was that quite a number of them were continually waved throughout the National Anthem when everyone else was standing to attention.
Well the mindset of the sort of gurrier that goes to matches to use it to push their political agenda with flying such flags is such that they'll fly it throughout, with no consideration of those around or behind them. The Tyrone guy in Navan would have been no different.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 10:24:24 AM
Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:10:30 AM
The Palestinian people have more than enough to put up with without being pulled into the small petty world that is Northern Irelan politics.

Fellas can witter on here about justice but this is nothing more than an extension of the republican/loyalist feud which sees one side waving Palestinian flags while the other waves flags from the State of Israel. The irony of slagging loyalists about "flegs" while getting all het up about this is priceless.

Lads ye're fooling no one with this nonsense & outside committed republicans you have no support for this crap inside GAA grounds,

If you are so naive as to believe that the motivation for this is anything remotely to do with six county politics, then you need to go away and have a good lie down to yourself. Your implication appears to be that we in the six counties are a bunch of sectarians and everything we do is framed by sectarianism. I could quite as easily throw an insult back at you and suggest that the folk of the 26 counties a are utterly spineless, have no principles beyond wealth accumulation, and find the very notion of people having publically expressing genuine empathy and solidarity for the plight of others as just incomprehensible. Do you think it is a mere coincidence that Palestinian flags at matches (particularly in Ulster) become more prevalent in the aftermath of an escalation of Israeli violence?

P.s. There was a petition handed in to Ulster GAA last week with the signatures of over 1,200 GAA members in support of the right to fly the Palestinian flag. Are you suggesting that they are all "committed republicans" and that that's the only reason they signed the petition? Away and cop yourself on.

Stand for nothing, and you'll fall for anything.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 10:43:46 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 26, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 26, 2018, 09:57:23 AM
Well the mindset of the sort of gurrier that goes to matches to use it to push their political agenda with flying such flags is such that they'll fly it throughout, with no consideration of those around or behind them. The Tyrone guy in Navan would have been no different.

The Tyrone guy who had his flag confiscated for 'obstructing people's views of the game' before the match had even begun, and before the players had even run onto the pitch? That guy?

Support for Palestine and an end to Israeli apartheid is humanitarian, not political. Just as was the case with supporting an end to apartheid in South Africa. No doubt you were running around then, lambasting anyone who dared oppose the S.African regime and accusing them of just "pushing a political agenda" too  ::)
Post by: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:51:57 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 10:24:24 AM

If you are so naive as to believe that the motivation for this is anything remotely to do with six county politics, then you need to go away and have a good lie down to yourself. Your implication appears to be that we in the six counties are a bunch of sectarians and everything we do is framed by sectarianism. I could quite as easily throw an insult back at you and suggest that the folk of the 26 counties a are utterly spineless, have no principles beyond wealth accumulation, and find the very notion of people having publically expressing genuine empathy and solidarity for the plight of others as just incomprehensible. Do you think it is a mere coincidence that Palestinian flags at matches (particularly in Ulster) become more prevalent in the aftermath of an escalation of Israeli violence?

P.s. There was a petition handed in to Ulster GAA last week with the signatures of over 1,200 GAA members in support of the right to fly the Palestinian flag. Are you suggesting that they are all "committed republicans" and that that's the only reason they signed the petition? Away and cop yourself on.

You obviously know nothing about history and especially the history of Irish Republicanism as anti Semite & indeed pro Nazi during WW2. I'm not going to bother rhyming it out for you here as I have better things to be doing but here's a link.

https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/63297/allied-anti-semitism-irish-connection-rob-harris

Face facts, you are being used here by people who couldn't care less about the Palestinians & whose only aim is to politicise the GAA. Where are the flags for the Rohyinga Muslims, where are the flags for all the oppressed peoples in Africa & Central America?

This has nothing to do with compassion for Palestinians & everything to do with hatred of Israel & the Jewish people in general & the vast majority of Irish people are not so stupid as to be taken in by it.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 11:11:02 AM
Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 10:51:57 AM

You obviously know nothing about history and especially the history of Irish Republicanism as anti Semite & indeed pro Nazi during WW2. I'm not going to bother rhyming it out for you here as I have better things to be doing but here's a link.

https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/63297/allied-anti-semitism-irish-connection-rob-harris

Face facts, you are being used here by people who couldn't care less about the Palestinians & whose only aim is to politicise the GAA. Where are the flags for the Rohyinga Muslims, where are the flags for all the oppressed peoples in Africa & Central America?

This has nothing to do with compassion for Palestinians & everything to do with hatred of Israel & the Jewish people in general & the vast majority of Irish people are not so stupid as to be taken in by it.

So it's impossible to oppose the inhumane treatment of the Palestinian people for reasons other than sectarian hatred of Jews? Again away and cop yourself on you absolute f***ing tube.
Post by: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 11:24:34 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 11:11:02 AM

So it's impossible to oppose the inhumane treatment of the Palestinian people for reasons other than sectarian hatred of Jews? Again away and cop yourself on you absolute f***ing tube.

Good man Snapchap, when you run out of arguments the old fallback position of abuse is always handy. Away you go now & ask Gerry/Slab/Michelle/Mary-Lou what the official position is & come back to me, there's a good lad.
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2018, 11:32:08 AM
The good old Israel lover trick...
Any criticism of Israel or any word of support for Palestinians and it's "Anti semitism,  hates Jews" repeated over and over.
Post by: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 11:43:18 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 26, 2018, 11:32:08 AM
Any criticism of Israel or any word of support for Palestinians and it's "Anti semitism,  hates Jews" repeated over and over.
Maybe because there is some truth in it. Did you ever for one second consider that?

Mind you use of the term "Israel lover" does give the game away a bit.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 11:59:05 AM
Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 11:24:34 AM

Good man Snapchap, when you run out of arguments the old fallback position of abuse is always handy. Away you go now & ask Gerry/Slab/Michelle/Mary-Lou what the official position is & come back to me, there's a good lad.

When you genuinely believe that it is impossible for anyone to have genuine sympathy for Palestinians and when you believe that everyone who claims to be sympathetic to them is only motivated by a sectarian hatred of jews, then you deserve all the personal abuse you get and more.
Post by: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 12:21:50 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 11:59:05 AM

When you genuinely believe that it is impossible for anyone to have genuine sympathy for Palestinians and when you believe that everyone who claims to be sympathetic to them is only motivated by a sectarian hatred of jews, then you deserve all the personal abuse you get and more.
If you can show me where I said that it is impossible for anyone to have genuine sympathy for Palestinians or that anyone who claims to be sympathetic to them is only motivated by sectarian hatred then I will eat my own fee. These are your words not mine.
If you look carefully at my first post I said that the people of Palestine have enough to put up with without being used by people with other agendas. The Palestinians are having a desperate time & Israel is not without fault here but neither is the Palestinian leadership which clings to the claim that Israel has no right to exist & must be wiped from the map.
The people of Israel know full well that they cannot rely on anyone to look out for their interests except themselves. History & Irish history as well has told them that. If their country is to be wiped from the face of the earth then where are they to go?
At the moment they are fighting like cornered rats sorrounded as they are by enemies. Only for the Americans I shudder to think what would have happened to them by now.
At it's core all they want is to be left in peace & allowed to have a homeland free from threat. As long as the Palestinians, Iran & others refuse them that & threaten them they will fight no holds barred & all the flags in the world flying in Clones isn't going to change that.
Post by: give her dixie on June 26, 2018, 12:41:16 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how those who know so little do the most crying over something they know they know so little about, or even care about.
Post by: Insane Bolt on June 26, 2018, 01:00:22 PM
Israel is a bully and is backed by the biggest bully of all ...the US....Illegal land grab and settlements.....yes that's living in peace. If you can't see why the vast majority of Nationalist people would have empathy with the Palestinian situation then you are a clown of the highest order.
I'm no republican but I will support the Palestinian people as long as I draw breath.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 01:45:31 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 12:21:50 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 11:59:05 AM

If you can show me where I said that it is impossible for anyone to have genuine sympathy for Palestinians or that anyone who claims to be sympathetic to them is only motivated by sectarian hatred then I will eat my own fee. These are your words not mine.
If you look carefully at my first post I said that the people of Palestine have enough to put up with without being used by people with other agendas.

You stated that those flying the flags were motivated by "the small petty world that is Northern Irelan politics" and that those flying the flag "have no support for this crap inside GAA grounds" except for from "committed republicans". When you say "no support" that sound fairly emphatic to me. It appears to be your view that it is impossible for any of these people to have genuine empathy for the Palestinian plight. You then stated fairly emphatically that someone flying the Palestinian flag "has nothing to do with compassion for Palestinians & everything to do with hatred of Israel & the Jewish people". If that's not you claiming it is impossible for anyone to have genuine sympathy for Palestinians without being motivated by anti-antisemitism, then I don't know what is. 

And as long as anyone who dares publicly show support for Palestinians is labelled by you as just being anti-semetic, then your petty, token reference to the "terrible time" Palestinians are having sounds exceptionally hollow.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2018, 02:34:38 PM
Anyone who honestly thinks this isn't mainly beng used as a proxy for wee six political buffoonery needs to reassess the situation.

If you want to support the Palestinian cause the thing not to do is make them a prop in a political disagreement half way around the world. Do something that actually helps.
Post by: longballin on June 26, 2018, 02:50:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2018, 02:34:38 PM
Anyone who honestly thinks this isn't mainly beng used as a proxy for wee six political buffoonery needs to reasses the situation.

If you want to support the Palestinian cause the thing not to do is make them a prop in a political disagreement half way around the world. Do something that actually helps.

Which John does and much aid has gone from here while you stand sniping from the side.
Post by: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 03:14:12 PM
Anyone who honestly thinks this isn't mainly beng used as a proxy for wee six political buffoonery needs to reasses the situation.

Anyone who thinks that those bringing Palestinian flags to matches is doing so just to annoy "themuns" has their head firmly wedged up their own a55. If people wanted to fly Palestinian flags to annoy unionists, don't you think they could pick somewhere better than a GAA ground, where the number of unionists available to offend would be fairly negligible? Have you considered why the proliferation of the flags at matches tends to be larger in the wake of instances of increased Israeli brutality?

How do you know those bringing Palestine flags to matches aren't also "doing something that actually helps" (leaving aside the fact that merely flying the flag is helpful to raise awareness)? I have  had a Palestine flag to matches before and have made numerous donations to Medical Aid for Palestine and been involved in several Gaza aid programmes. Do you think I do that in order to stick two fingers up to my Protestant neighbours? John brings his flag to games too and he has personally delivered a lorry load of aid to Gaza. Was he just doing that to stick two fingers up at Protestant neighbours? Away and cop yourself on, you absolute halfwit.
Post by: gallsman on June 27, 2018, 07:31:09 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 26, 2018, 02:50:17 PM

Which John does and much aid has gone from here while you stand sniping from the side.

He does, which is great, through his humanitarian work. Not by trying to politicise the GAA.

Maybe that would ring less hollow if there hadn't been such naked anti Semitism on the board over the last few months.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 27, 2018, 08:53:04 AM

Pretty sure I saw Palestinian flags on hill 16 at the weekend. Bloody northerners taking their sectarianism down to dublin
Post by: tonto1888 on June 27, 2018, 08:59:08 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 27, 2018, 07:31:09 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 26, 2018, 02:50:17 PM

He does, which is great, through his humanitarian work. Not by trying to politicise the GAA.

Maybe that would ring less hollow if there hadn't been such naked anti Semitism on the board over the last few months.

What naked anti semitism?
Post by: Dire Ear on June 27, 2018, 10:38:00 AM
Ignore it Tonto,  some arn't worth it
Post by: gallsman on June 27, 2018, 02:50:38 PM
Ignore what? Anti-Semitism? Why?

Baile an Taigh had posts removed from another thread because of their naked antisemitism.

Seafoid up there throws up anti-Semitic tropes every other week ffs.
Post by: inthrough on June 27, 2018, 04:56:30 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 03:14:12 PM

Anyone who thinks that those bringing Palestinian flags to matches is doing so just to annoy "themuns" has their head firmly wedged up their own a55. If people wanted to fly Palestinian flags to annoy unionists, don't you think they could pick somewhere better than a GAA ground, where the number of unionists available to offend would be fairly negligible? Have you considered why the proliferation of the flags at matches tends to be larger in the wake of instances of increased Israeli brutality?

How do you know those bringing Palestine flags to matches aren't also "doing something that actually helps" (leaving aside the fact that merely flying the flag is helpful to raise awareness)? I have  had a Palestine flag to matches before and have made numerous donations to Medical Aid for Palestine and been involved in several Gaza aid programmes. Do you think I do that in order to stick two fingers up to my Protestant neighbours? John brings his flag to games too and he has personally delivered a lorry load of aid to Gaza. Was he just doing that to stick two fingers up at Protestant neighbours? Away and cop yourself on, you absolute halfwit.
I doubt whether "themmuns" are watching GAA matches that much so no it isn't the reason it is done. It is done in an effort to politicise the GAA nothing more, nothing less.
Anyone who wants to fly the Palestinian flag by all means fly it outside your house, wave it about when you go shopping or are taking the missus for a bite to eat.
Just leave it outside of Clones or any other GAA ground for that matter.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 27, 2018, 08:30:32 PM

So Give Her Dixie and hundreds of others drove 3,000 miles with aid to Gaza just to annoy Unionists?  ;D
Post by: Syferus on June 27, 2018, 08:38:54 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 27, 2018, 08:30:32 PM

So Give Her Dixie and hundreds of others drove 3,000 miles with aid to Gaza just to annoy Unionists?  ;D

Christ. What's the point of even arguing with someone who will so wilfully try to manipulate facts?

How many people does it take to drive a lorry these days? How many were even Irish, let alone GAA supporters? This isn't the north, you can't just invent facts and expect them to stick.
Post by: Therealdonald on June 27, 2018, 09:06:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 27, 2018, 08:38:54 PM

Christ. What's the point of even arguing with someone who will so wilfully try to manipulate facts?

How many people does it take to drive a lorry these days? How many were even Irish, let alone GAA supporters? This isn't the north, you can't just invent facts and expect them to stick.

L O L, this coming from the ultimate truth-bender. It's a fact that Palestine's plight is world-wide known. I suppose the Argentina County Board should have banned Messi from the WC for getting in the way of the Israel friendly....
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on June 27, 2018, 09:35:22 PM
I am a Roscommon man. I am a member of the IPSC. I support BDS. i have attended marches,stood with IPSC members collecting signatures, bought Palestinian products etc. I dont know any unionists. I have no issue with flags appearing at matches.

everything I have done I am aware makes little or no difference to Palestinians or their suffering but it may have raised awareness and hopefully helped the likes of give her Dixie and all the others who do much more than I've done.
Post by: give her dixie on June 27, 2018, 09:44:32 PM

you must be some craic on a night out......
Post by: Syferus on June 27, 2018, 09:47:49 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on June 27, 2018, 09:44:32 PM

Facts are facts. I commend you on your personal dedication to humanitarianism but if you can't see that others are using the cause as a prop in a way that isn't befitting the gravity of the situation I fear you can't see the forest for the trees.
Post by: thebar on June 27, 2018, 10:17:14 PM

What has the north got to do with inventing facts? Highly comical comment alright.
Post by: give her dixie on June 27, 2018, 10:59:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 27, 2018, 09:47:49 PM

Facts are facts. I commend you on your personal dedication to humanitarianism but if you can't see that others are using the cause as a prop in a way that isn't befitting the gravity of the situation I fear you can't see the forest for the trees.

Can you give me any examples of what you are seeing that i'm not?
Post by: Over the Bar on June 27, 2018, 11:39:20 PM

I fear you've as huge c**k growing out of you're forehead!
Post by: Snapchap on June 28, 2018, 12:03:38 AM
Quote from: inthrough on June 27, 2018, 04:56:30 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 26, 2018, 03:14:12 PM

I doubt whether "themmuns" are watching GAA matches that much so no it isn't the reason it is done. It is done in an effort to politicise the GAA nothing more, nothing less.
Anyone who wants to fly the Palestinian flag by all means fly it outside your house, wave it about when you go shopping or are taking the missus for a bite to eat.
Just leave it outside of Clones or any other GAA ground for that matter.
Again, you confuse humatarianism with politicism. As I've said before, some of the most effective protests against South African apartheid were done through the medium of sport. Was that wrong too? Or does the fact that it contributed to raising awareness and contributed to the ending of apartheid mean it was a worthwhile thing to have done? Expressing humanitarian concern is not political and it should be a welcome gesture in any forum, be it a sporting one or otherwise.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 28, 2018, 12:05:28 AM

Who are these others you are talking about?
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 11:30:11 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 28, 2018, 12:05:28 AM

Who are these others you are talking about?
The Others are a mysterious shadowy group who come out of the shadows & stand around whenever your shaky case needs bolstering.

We've all called on them at one time or another.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 28, 2018, 12:03:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 27, 2018, 02:50:38 PM

Baile an Taigh had posts removed from another thread because of their naked antisemitism.

Anti semitism is blown completely out of proportion,  but it is wrong, like all discimination
One question for you however;  who exactly are who trying to impress- is it protestants, unionists, israelis, yanks?
How do you feel about all the innocent children who are tortured, beaten, jailed or shot; for nothing or sometimes throwing a stone at one of the most protected armies ( thugs) in the world?
Thanks
Post by: johnnycool on June 28, 2018, 01:39:12 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on June 28, 2018, 12:03:58 PM

Anti semitism is blown completely out of proportion,  but it is wrong, like all discimination
One question for you however;  who exactly are who trying to impress- is it protestants, unionists, israelis, yanks?
How do you feel about all the innocent children who are tortured, beaten, jailed or shot; for nothing or sometimes throwing a stone at one of the most protected armies ( thugs) in the world?
Thanks

Just one point that needs clarified. if you highlight the injustices of Israel and the IDF are you being anti-semitic?

It obviously depends on your motives but by and large I don't think you are.
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:51:36 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 28, 2018, 01:39:12 PM

Thanks

Just one point that needs clarified. if you highlight the injustices of Israel and the IDF are you being anti-semitic?

Highlighting the injustices of Israel, and there are many, in not anti semitic, but when someone can only see wrong in Israel & apportion no blame at all to the Palestinian leadership for the state their people find themselves then I have to ask why that is.
Let's call a spade a spade here. There has always been an anti semitic thread in Irish republicanism & I think it is reasonable to ask if that is poisoning the well here.
If it is then I do not want to see the GAA being used to further that thread. I go to GAA games to get away from the shite that is daily life & do not want to see the Association being linked with any extraneous political cause.
Post by: haranguerer on June 28, 2018, 02:12:24 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:51:36 PM

Thanks

Highlighting the injustices of Israel, and there are many, in not anti semitic, but when someone can only see wrong in Israel & apportion no blame at all to the Palestinian leadership for the state their people find themselves then I have to ask why that is.
Let's call a spade a spade here. There has always been an anti semitic thread in Irish republicanism & I think it is reasonable to ask if that is poisoning the well here.
If it is then I do not want to see the GAA being used to further that thread. I go to GAA games to get away from the shite that is daily life & do not want to see the Association being linked with any extraneous political cause.

Can you elaborate?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 28, 2018, 04:28:41 PM

Thanks

And what thread would that be?
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 04:58:07 PM

Give us 10 examples from the last fortnight Gallsman.
If you can.
Post by: Therealdonald on June 29, 2018, 12:05:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 04:58:07 PM

If you can.

I dont understand the defence of the Israeli population? They literally annexed a plot of land with the support of their rich Western friends. Their last of enemies in the Middle East is as long as Bin Laden's beard but I suppose this is purely coincidental.

On the 1 hand everyone here lauds Slaughtneil for their pursuit of a gaeltacht area, yet their complete cessation of football during the Hunger Strike is glossed over? This kind of hypocrisy annoys me.

Yer man from Tyrone is 100% right. It's a free world, he's flying a flag of a country. He's not flying a banner with a tasteless description.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 29, 2018, 12:28:16 AM

That's not calling a spade a spade. That's making stuff up. Prefixing your outlandish claim with "let's call a spade a spade" is like adding "in fairness" or "to be honest" to the end of a statement. The person thinks it makes them sound more correct without having to add any actual information that backs up their case.

I notice that you're a "newbie" here. You wouldn't happen to be on someone's payroll to influence online discussions, would you?

https://jacobinmag.com/2017/07/israel-social-media-app-idf-shin-bet-bds (https://jacobinmag.com/2017/07/israel-social-media-app-idf-shin-bet-bds)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 29, 2018, 12:31:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 04:58:07 PM

If you can.

I wouldn't hold your breath. It's like the supposed antisemitism controversy in the UK Labour party. All I ever hear is some nebulous accusation that people like Jeremy Corbyn are antisemitic, but actual specific examples of antisemitism are a bit thin on the ground.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 29, 2018, 12:45:26 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 29, 2018, 12:28:16 AM

That's not calling a spade a spade. That's making stuff up. Prefixing your outlandish claim with "let's call a spade a spade" is like adding "in fairness" or "to be honest" to the end of a statement. The person thinks it makes them sound more correct without having to add any actual information that backs up their case.

I notice that you're a "newbie" here. You wouldn't happen to be on someone's payroll to influence online discussions, would you?

https://jacobinmag.com/2017/07/israel-social-media-app-idf-shin-bet-bds (https://jacobinmag.com/2017/07/israel-social-media-app-idf-shin-bet-bds)

Well spotted,  through and through.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 29, 2018, 01:23:15 AM
Quote from: inthrough on June 26, 2018, 12:21:50 PM
If you look carefully at my first post I said that the people of Palestine have enough to put up with without being used by people with other agendas. The Palestinians are having a desperate time & Israel is not without fault here but neither is the Palestinian leadership which clings to the claim that Israel has no right to exist & must be wiped from the map.
The people of Israel know full well that they cannot rely on anyone to look out for their interests except themselves. History & Irish history as well has told them that. If their country is to be wiped from the face of the earth then where are they to go?
At the moment they are fighting like cornered rats sorrounded as they are by enemies. Only for the Americans I shudder to think what would have happened to them by now.
At it's core all they want is to be left in peace & allowed to have a homeland free from threat. As long as the Palestinians, Iran & others refuse them that & threaten them they will fight no holds barred & all the flags in the world flying in Clones isn't going to change that.

Okay, there's a lot to unpack there but there are three big whoppers of claims that need to be challenged.

1 - the oft-quoted "Israel must be wiped from the map" claim that's been attributed to various people, most notably Mahmoud Ahmadinejad (who, incidentaly, was hugely unpopular, whose rigged election sparked weeks of vigorous protests, and who hasn't been president of Iran since 2013, but that quote still appears regularly in American conservative commentary). It's a bit like saying that Irish Republicans want the state of Northern Ireland wiped off the map. They want the map re-drawn, which happens to be a perfectly legitimate political aspiration. When Iranian and Arab leaders talk about their legitimate wish for the state of Israel to not exist* they are referring to their wish to re-draw the map, but when translated into English it comes out in the form of a metaphor that implies the physical destruction of the actual territory. Which is complete and utter nonsense. Palestinians just want to return home. Why would they want their own land to be destroyed first?

2 - "The people of Israel know full well that they cannot rely on anyone to look out for their interests except themselves"

Are you serious? I can't believe I just read that. Israel has been the single largest recipient of US aid since 1976, swallowing up about a fifth of the USA's annual foreign aid budget. Each Israeli citizen gets about $500 / year from US taxpayers. This despite Israel being an advanced and developed industrialized country.

3 - The old "Israel is surrounded by enemies" trope. Let's look at this one country at a time.

To the north: Lebanon. They did not participate in the 6-day war of 67 or the Yom Kippur War of 1973 in any big way. A country that's barely able to cope with refugees from Syria and can barely deal with its own waste management issues. A disfunctional state if ever there was, but hardly a major threat to Israel.

To the Northeast: Syria. I think they're a bit preoccupied at this time, don't you?

To the East: Jordan. Jordan and Israel have had diplomatic relations since signing their peace treaty in 1994.

To the South: Egypt. Signed a peace treaty in 1979 and have had diplomatic relations since 1980.

To the West: The Mediterranean Sea.

So what's all this about being "surrounded by enemies?"

*States don't have rights, people have rights. "Should Israel have a right to exist" is a meaningless question.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2018, 06:01:18 AM
Im as horrified about Israeli atrocities as the next man but the extent of this whole Palestinian flag thing is a bit perplexing.

The whole exercise seems to be pointless but at the same time I dont see a massive amount of harm in it.

BTW didnt Irish Nationalists support the Zionist movement in the early 20th century and didnt the Officials get help from the founders of the Israeli state?
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:22:35 PM
We'll there'll be no Guards in Enniskillen this weekend to take flags from anyone inside the ground so I expect to see plenty being flown.
Post by: inthrough on July 01, 2018, 12:37:19 AM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:22:35 PM
We'll there'll be no Guards in Enniskillen this weekend to take flags from anyone inside the ground so I expect to see plenty being flown.
95% of the people watching won't have a clue what they are and even amongst those whho do know most couldn't care less.
Still don't like to see the GAA being used for this.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2018, 12:40:58 AM
He almost had a whole terrace to himself this evening.
Post by: snoopdog on July 01, 2018, 08:30:34 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 01, 2018, 12:40:58 AM
He almost had a whole terrace to himself this evening.

Its poinless but as someone said earlier harmless also.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:12:14 PM

The powers that be were more concerned with a man playing a drum on the the terrace. What has the game become... must we remain in silence whilst the game is on??
Post by: inthrough on July 01, 2018, 12:19:18 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:12:14 PM

The powers that be were more concerned with a man playing a drum on the the terrace. What has the game become... must we remain in silence whilst the game is on??
What kind of a fecking eejit decides to bring a drum to a football match. Lucky it wasn't wrapped round his neck.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2018, 12:20:09 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 01, 2018, 12:19:18 PM

What kind of a fecking eejit decides to bring a drum to a football match. Lucky it wasn't wrapped round his neck.

Saw that. What was going on?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:21:19 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 01, 2018, 12:19:18 PM

Tbh it doesn't bother me. If it creates a bit of atmosphere then so be it. Look at the hill when Dublin play and it's hard to not be impressed.
Post by: inthrough on July 01, 2018, 10:01:07 PM
I marvelled at the Cork supporter who brought a Palestinian flag with him today considering the fact that the Cork supporters were better known for waving Confederate flags at games.

The world is indeed a strange place.
Post by: give her dixie on March 01, 2019, 12:15:16 AM
Well folks, and to bring you up to speed and bring some closure, and no doubt some further debate,
let me bring you all up to speed.

Following the arrest in Navan that day of the Tyrone fan with the Palestinian flag, the Gardai issued a statement
that contained 2 lies.

They said that people complained that their view of the match was obstructed by his flag, when in fact he was arrested
25 minutes before the match had begun. All video and photo evidence prove this.

The second lie is in that they said he was dealt with by way of an Adult Caution and released.

When he was released he was told he was to sign a form that said he had received an adult caution.

That was to be the end of it. July last year.

Then 5 weeks ago he received a summons to appear in Trim court last Tuesday on charges of Threatening Abusive
and Insulting behaviour.

So much for the Gardai statement saying he was dealt with by way of an Adult Caution and released?

Anyhow, myself and 2 good friends accompanied him to court on Tuesday and we had a good chat with the duty
barrister and after presenting him with the Gardai statement and the video evidence, he promised to fight
the case based on their words.

When the case came up the judge asked the Gardai clerk what was the charge before the court, he replied

"Your honor, we have no file" to which the judge replied, "Struck Out"

What a result. And as you can imagine, delighted........

What happened that day in Navan was a disgrace, and if the Gardai had of wanted to put up a case, there
was plenty of video, photos, and their own statement. to put up a defence that would have seen the case thrown out.

Justice was served last Tuesday when the case against Paddy Reilly from Dungannon was struck out because the Gardai
couldn't produce a file in court.

They tried to smear his name and character, and when push came to shove, they couldn't put a case before the judge.

Case against Dungannon man arrested after Palestinian flag incident struck out by Co Meath court

A COURT in Co Meath has struck out a case against a Tyrone man charged after a Palestinian flag was flown at a GAA match last year.

Dungannon man Paddy Reilly had been accused of engaging in threatening, abuse or insulting words or behaviour with intent to provoke a breach of the peace.

The 41-year-old was arrested after being told by gardai to stop flying a Palestinian flag before an all-Ireland qualifier match between Meath and Tyrone in Navan last June.

A video of the Tyrone man, who needs a hip replacement and uses crutches, being taken from the terraces was later posted online.

At the time Mr Reilly was also recovering from a condition known as encephalitis - which involves the swelling of the brain.

Mr Reilly was taken to Navan Garda station and later released.

However, he later received a letter telling him he was being charged and given a date to appear in court.

He believed he had received an adult caution before leaving the Garda station.

He claims that during a hearing at Trim District Court on Tuesday a judge struck the case out.

Mr Reilly, whose father is currently ill, last night said he was pleased with the result.

"It was the last thing I needed," he said.

"I'm pleased this is struck out and I can move on with my own life and look after my da.

"It's a victory for showing solidarity for the oppressed Palestinian people in their difficult times at our national sport - the real beautiful game that is the GAA."

That incident took place weeks after an Ulster Council official ordered the removal of two Palestinian flags during an Ulster championship match featuring Tyrone and Monaghan in Omagh.

Well known Palestine campaigner John Hurson, who managed the official Tyrone social media feeds during games involving the county, was later removed from the role after he intervened in Omagh.

A spokesman for the Irish Court Service confirmed the case had been struck out.

A spokesman for An Garda Síochána it does "not comment on matters before the court".

At the time a garda spokesman said officers attending the Tyrone match "received a number of complaints from attendees that their view was obscured by a flag".

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2019/02/28/news/case-against-dungannon-man-arrested-after-palestinian-flag-incident-struck-out-by-co-meath-court-1562203/
Post by: BennyCake on March 01, 2019, 03:35:10 PM
So, basically the coppers can do nothing about the flying of Palestinian flags at matches?
Post by: tonto1888 on March 01, 2019, 04:39:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 01, 2019, 03:35:10 PM
So, basically the coppers can do nothing about the flying of Palestinian flags at matches?

Why would they want to?

Great result Dixie
Post by: BennyCake on March 02, 2019, 12:57:22 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 01, 2019, 04:39:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 01, 2019, 03:35:10 PM

Why would they want to?

Great result Dixie

Or match stewards even.

Maybe because the suits don't like it.