GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: redandblackareback on December 21, 2010, 01:14:02 PM

Title: Paul Galvin
Post by: redandblackareback on December 21, 2010, 01:14:02 PM
Whats peoples view on this guy? After seeing the Late Late show on Friday past he has confirmed my beliefs about him.

This is obviously a clear dig at Tohill and proper order too... This trial by tv has got to stop in my opinion.. Dont know why the Sunday Game persist in using Tohill anyway, he is so mundane and dreary its unreal.

Fair play to Galvin, a superb footballer who gets seriously unfair criticism.

RTE won't comment on Galvin criticism

Kerry's Paul Galvin
21 December 2010

RTE have refused to respond to criticism of 'The Sunday Game' by Kerry star Paul Galvin.

Galvin and Kerry team-mate Tomas O Se were handed retrospective bans by the CCCC last summer after incidents involving them were highlighted by the long-running GAA programme. The suspensions are still a sore point in Kerry where it is believed that 'The Sunday Game' panellists are having too much of an influence on disciplinary matters.

Speaking on 'The Late, Late Show' last Friday night, Galvin referred to RTE's flagship GAA programme as 'CSI: Sunday Game'. But when contacted yesterday, the national broadcaster refused to comment on the matter.

Galvin, who is the subject of documentary to be screened on RTE over the Christmas period, told presenter Ryan Tubridy: "CSI: Sunday Game I like to call it.

"Well it's more like CSI something, it just seems to be a crime scene investigation every weekend. I don't know what's going on there.

"I don't have any hang-up on the programme, I don't watch the show to be quite honest."

When asked if he respected the views of 'The Sunday Game' panellists, the 2009 Footballer of the Year said: "I don't necessarily need the lads sitting in the studio to tell me what's what with the game. There are certain guys there, (Dara) O Cinneide I played with. O Cinneide was my captain when I won my first All-Ireland - obviously I respect Dara.

"Colm O'Rourke - I was a big fan of the Meath team. I like my teams like that Meath team in the late '80s, they were manly. I respect O'Rourke.

"Pat Spillane is Pat Spillane - he's a Kerry man, one of the greatest players of all time."
Title: Re: Paul Galvin
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 21, 2010, 01:20:26 PM
With all due respect redandblackareback, if he didnt do certain things it wouldnt be highlighted. He is the perpurtraitor thats given the media ammunicition every odd yr. This is in Galvins control completely. The thing that annoys me is he still looking outside himself and playing the victim for his own actions. Tohill isnt doing anything wrong pointing out his wrongdoings. Im a big fan of Galvin as a player but clearly he lacks the honesty with himself regarding these incidents. If he were honest with himself hed be blaming himself 100% not tohill.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 21, 2010, 01:45:31 PM
Ffs, not another Paul Galvin thread!!
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 03:12:27 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 21, 2010, 01:20:26 PM
With all due respect redandblackareback, if he didnt do certain things it wouldnt be highlighted. He is the perpurtraitor thats given the media ammunicition every odd yr. This is in Galvins control completely. The thing that annoys me is he still looking outside himself and playing the victim for his own actions. Tohill isnt doing anything wrong pointing out his wrongdoings. Im a big fan of Galvin as a player but clearly he lacks the honesty with himself regarding these incidents. If he were honest with himself hed be blaming himself 100% not tohill.
And as for Tohill being 'mundane and dreary', did you watch the Late Late?
Post by: sawel on December 21, 2010, 03:15:52 PM
And with his pose in New York the wife reckons he's in Donal Og's club
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 03:17:35 PM
Quote from: sawel on December 21, 2010, 03:15:52 PM
Cloyne?
Post by: ludermor on December 21, 2010, 03:37:53 PM
Quote from: sawel on December 21, 2010, 03:15:52 PM
i suppose the wife would have a lot of knowledge of such matters......being married to your goodself.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 21, 2010, 04:26:25 PM
Not that it matters but Galvin has a girlfriend.
Post by: Jinxy on December 21, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
Great footballer, interesting lad.
Couldn't care less if he WAS gay but this craic of people calling him gay because he likes clothes is the sort of stuff you'd hear in a primary school playground.
Post by: Jinxy on December 21, 2010, 04:43:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 21, 2010, 04:26:25 PM

I heard she's a great looking girl too.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 04:45:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 21, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
Great footballer, interesting lad.
Couldn't care less if he WAS gay but this craic of people calling him gay because he likes clothes is the sort of stuff you'd hear in a primary school playground.
It's pretty common in GAA circles. Any sense of style or male grooming and you're immediately 'a gay'.
I'm sure Galvin couldn't care less.
Post by: ziggysego on December 21, 2010, 04:48:40 PM
I heard all the banter on the board about this, since Friday night. Looked it up on YouTube last night. Honestly, it wasn't that bad. He's just taking a bit of pride in his appearance for goodness sake. That said, 80 pairs of shoes IS a bit on the extreme side.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 21, 2010, 05:13:41 PM

Michael Barrymore was married
Post by: HiMucker on December 21, 2010, 05:52:24 PM
He is as queer as a bottle of chips if he has 80 pairs of shoes unless they are football boots.
Jinxy if you are involved with a fooball team then youd know the following

dinking WKD = GAY
dyed hair  = your gay
ear rings = gay
excessive hair gel = gay
leather bracelets = rampant homo
bag of toileteries at training = your askin for a bum
white boots = gay
shavin your chest = your gay

But given boys a big stingin slap on the ass and slaggin them about their genitals in the changin rooms is not gay.  Simples
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 05:59:10 PM
I would have thought drinking WKD = spide, rather than gay.
Post by: tyssam5 on December 21, 2010, 06:06:29 PM
My view is YYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 06:49:55 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 05:59:10 PM

Not called poof juice for nothin
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 06:55:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 06:49:55 PM

Never heard it referred to as that.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 07:09:39 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 21, 2010, 06:55:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 06:49:55 PM

Never heard it referred to as that.
You have now
Post by: Tubberman on December 21, 2010, 07:30:34 PM
Jesus, I thought people would have more cop-on in this day and age.
Man interested in fashion. Can't understand this. Therefore he is gay.
Post by: ziggysego on December 21, 2010, 07:50:55 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 21, 2010, 07:30:34 PM

(http://pzrservices.typepad.com/.a/6a00d83451ccbc69e20134857afc14970c-400wi)
Post by: Jinxy on December 21, 2010, 08:24:30 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 21, 2010, 07:30:34 PM

That sounds like gay-talk to me. >:(
Git im boys!

(http://www.jackofallblogs.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/08/the-angry-mob.png)
Post by: heffo on December 21, 2010, 08:36:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 21, 2010, 04:43:07 PM

She is.
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 21, 2010, 10:02:13 PM
Galvin is a great player, when he puts his mind 100% to playing the game. He cant complain about getting banned for some of the things he has got up to the field of play. He could learn from Tohill!
Post by: 5 Sams on December 21, 2010, 10:37:50 PM
Couldnt really give a flyin f**k what he is..

Gay
Straight
Bi
Rides goats

If we had 15 of him we'd win the All Ireland every year....

As long as they stayed on the field of course ;)
Post by: oakleafgael on December 21, 2010, 10:49:38 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 21, 2010, 10:37:50 PM

Gay
Straight
Bi
Rides goats

I would agree with your first sentiment but 15 Paul Galvins would win sfa, Mulligan showed he isnt much of a full back.
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 21, 2010, 10:51:23 PM

Gay
Straight
Bi
Rides goats

;D ;D I would say the goats would be over the gate and out of the field if they saw Galvin coming after them, especially if they were Cork Goats! I might be mistaken but did he not get a two game ban in 2005 for trying to ride goats :-\ :-\
Post by: Asal Mor on December 22, 2010, 09:17:33 AM
 ;D ;D I would say the goats would be over the gate and out of the field if they saw Galvin coming after them, especially if they were Cork Goats! I might be mistaken but did he not get a two game ban in 2005 for trying to ride goats :-\ :-\

Yeah but only after Tohill reviewed the incident on The Sunday Game.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 09:28:30 AM

Gay
Straight
Bi
Rides goats

You would need someone to put the ball over the bar though.
Post by: HiMucker on December 22, 2010, 10:44:53 AM

Gay
Straight
Bi
Rides goats

Impossibble yous would be bummed out before the final.

if yous are looking for a good galvin article, there was one a while back called "time to galvanise"

I have also heard WKD refered to as poof juice along with other alco pops.  I have also heard it refered to as "leg spreader" when women are drinkin it
Post by: ross matt on December 22, 2010, 02:57:04 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 21, 2010, 10:02:13 PM
Galvin is a great player, when he puts his mind 100% to playing the game. He cant complain about getting banned for some of the things he has got up to the field of play. He could learn from Tohill!
That sums it up perfectly Leaveherinsir.
Post by: paco on December 22, 2010, 07:36:27 PM
When is this documentary being aired?
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on December 23, 2010, 01:56:05 PM
I think Tohill has 5 allstars and Galvin has 3

In my opinion Galvin is most overrated player of modern times, I would rate 4 or 5 kerry
players ahead of him.

Noel o' Leary always had him in his pocket, he was influential in the Cork games this year
because of the crazy management decision to put Kissane on him.

Post by: nrico2006 on December 23, 2010, 03:33:36 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on December 23, 2010, 01:56:05 PM

In my opinion Galvin is most overrated player of modern times, I would rate 4 or 5 kerry
players ahead of him.

Noel o' Leary always had him in his pocket, he was influential in the Cork games this year

You are spot on there, definitely overrated.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 23, 2010, 03:58:40 PM
He is a player Kerry struggle without because they don't have any other players like him. He'll win dirty ball and he'll get in the faces of opponents. They don't have too many like that.

He won't go down as a great but he's definitely a very very good player. As an individual he is not spectacular but in a team game he fits in very well. The cork games this year, no matter what anyone says about who was marking him, show how vital he was to Kerry.

It's like Brian Dooher. Brian Dooher, and I'm sure he'd tell you this himself, is not the most gifted player to come out of Tyrone however in the scheme of things I think he's probably the most important.

I always thought as well (though it can never be proven / disproven) that if Galvin was fit in 2008 Kerry would have beat Tyrone.
Post by: orangeman on December 23, 2010, 04:01:12 PM
We're going nowhere trying to compare Tohill to Galvin and vice versa. How many all stars might or might not dictate that Tohill was a better or more influential player. The greater number of Celtic crosses won by Galvin may or may not show that Galvin was a better player than Tohill.

Either way, neither comparison reveals all the answers.

Tohill was brilliant over a long period of time and never over rated.

Galvin likewise is a class and act in my opinion his value to the team has never been over rated. But that's just my opinion.

Brian Dooher will go down as one of the game's greats - so too will Galvin, againm in my humble opinion.
Title: Documentary
Post by: laoisgaa on December 23, 2010, 05:03:14 PM
Galvinised
Tuesday 28 December - 21:35 on RTE1
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2010, 08:48:17 PM
One of the Antrim players who played against Kerry in the 2009 qualifiers said Galvin was unreal, the most talented gaelic footballer on the field in terms of handling skills, distribution and ability to retain possession. I saw him against Sligo before that and thought he was sublime. He's be the first name on the sheet for any team lucky to have him.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 23, 2010, 09:16:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 23, 2010, 08:48:17 PM
One of the Antrim players who played against Kerry in the 2009 qualifiers said Galvin was unreal, the most talented gaelic footballer on the field in terms of handling skills, distribution and ability to retain possession. I saw him against Sligo before that and thought he was sublime. He's be the first name on the sheet for any team lucky to have him.

Aye...but you wouldnt want him ordering the club gear!!

Post by: winsamsoon on December 23, 2010, 09:36:56 PM
Galvin is a class act lads. Very rarely gives away possession, accurate with the ball and can take a score. He can also tackle back and his work rate is first class. So what if he seems a bit strange that's his own business. If he wants to have 300 pairs of shoes then good luck to him. Want he brings to the field of play outweighs all this shite. Sure he has done a lot of stupid things aswell but we all make mistakes. Met the lad once down in Tralee sat down with him and had a pint. I was rightly and throwing a bit of abuse at him about Armagh and he was having a laugh. We need more like him lads, will definetly make the game more exciting.
Post by: tyroneman on December 24, 2010, 08:56:31 AM
Galvin in pure footballing terms is a rolls Royce player. Every county in Ireland, Tyrone, Cork, Dublin, Armagh included would love to have him in the starting 15.

What galls me however is that Kerry feel so hard done by now thier players get done by TV. Sure it was all a laugh when Ricey and the Tyrone players got the same treatment before that ......
Post by: Jinxy on December 24, 2010, 11:36:51 AM
How many pairs of shoes does Ricey have?
Post by: Don Johnson on December 24, 2010, 03:50:20 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on December 24, 2010, 08:56:31 AM
Galvin in pure footballing terms is a rolls Royce player. Every county in Ireland, Tyrone, Cork, Dublin, Armagh included would love to have him in the starting 15.

What galls me however is that Kerry feel so hard done by now thier players get done by TV. Sure it was all a laugh when Ricey and the Tyrone players got the same treatment before that ......

Why include Armagh with those other teams?
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2010, 04:04:46 PM

players ahead of him.

Garbage. I dont like Galvin I think he's a first rate tosser.

But as a Gaelic Footballer he is in the Dan Carter mode because he provides excellence in a position where excellence is rarely achieved in the modern game. 

Ask any manager- hardest line in any team to get right is the half forward line.
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 24, 2010, 05:07:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 24, 2010, 11:36:51 AM
one, a pair of hobnail boots for kickin people! ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 24, 2010, 05:13:36 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 24, 2010, 05:07:58 PM
one, a pair of hobnail boots for kickin people! ;)

He probably has 50 pairs of trainers and as many shiny tracksuits. A complete skanger.
Post by: omagh_gael on December 24, 2010, 06:09:58 PM

None. I seen him in Sally's last Saturday night walking through the pub in bare feet. Tried to grab me by the ballix but I swerved it.
Post by: johnpower on December 24, 2010, 06:44:26 PM

players ahead of him.

Ah Chris Noel O Leary having him in his pocket . ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 24, 2010, 07:16:10 PM
Quote from: johnpower on December 24, 2010, 06:44:26 PM

players ahead of him.

Ah Chris Noel O Leary having him in his pocket . ?

Paul wouldn't be seen dead in such an unfashionable pocket.
Post by: muppet on December 25, 2010, 11:50:48 AM
Galvin is Kerry's Jesus nut.

It just doesn't work without him. Anyone who thinks he is overrated or frequently put in anyone's pocket is either delusional or works for Brian Lenihan, or both.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 25, 2010, 01:40:47 PM
If there was a football transfer market, Galvin is the first player I'd want Jimmy Staunton to bring to Mayo.
Post by: woodie on December 25, 2010, 04:59:39 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 25, 2010, 01:40:47 PM
If there was a football transfer market, Galvin is the first player I'd want Jimmy Staunton to bring to Mayo.
Who would the other 14 be? ;) ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on December 26, 2010, 12:44:08 AM
Your idea of a great footballer and mine must be very different so we can agree to disagree on this one! Paul Galvin is a decent footballer who plays an important role for Kerry but when discussing the greatest footballers I've ever seen, he wouldn't even enter my head as a possible candidate. If I was talking about a great talent I'd be thinking of Canavan, Fitzgerald, Joyce. If I was thinking of influence on a game and dictating the play I'd be thinking of McGeeney, McDonald, Giles, Cavanagh, McGuigan, Blaney, Dara o 'Se! If I was thinking of score getters I'd be thinking of McDonnell, Linden, Gooch, Brogan, O'Neill. That is before i even start thinkng about defenders. As a Tyrone man I'd never say Dooher was one if the greatest players I'd ever seen, I appreciate what he does and think he is a legend, but just not one of the greatest and I think Galvin is a notch below Dooher at the jobs they do! And in answer to the question about player of the year. As Dara O'Se never got player of the year throughout his career, this somewhat, in my mind, devalues that award as the be all and end all as a measure of a players worth!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 09:49:16 PM
The dickie bow - laughing my arse off :D
Post by: bloodybreakball on December 28, 2010, 09:52:49 PM
is tht john kelly narrating, him off the view, no harm thts the most interesting thing in it yet
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 09:57:33 PM
Quote from: bloodybreakball on December 28, 2010, 09:52:49 PM
is tht john kelly narrating, him off the view, no harm thts the most interesting thing in it yet

Yeah its him. A good show so far. Like him or hate him, you get a good picture of Galvin in this.
Post by: maggie on December 28, 2010, 10:00:25 PM
The bow tie has been the highlight so far. If its good enough for Kanye, its good enough for Galvo.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:02:46 PM
Quote from: maggie on December 28, 2010, 10:00:25 PM
The bow tie has been the highlight so far. If its good enough for Kanye, its good enough for Galvo.

It was priceless. Reminded me of Pee Wee Herman!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:06:02 PM
Paul would want to check the definition of irony. Giving out about a Sunday World piece saying that he is joining Expose. He reckons it would be a distraction to his football. How does he communicate this? To a fillm crew for a documentary about himself.
Post by: INDIANA on December 28, 2010, 10:13:27 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:06:02 PM
Paul would want to check the definition of irony. Giving out about a Sunday World piece saying that he is joining Expose. He reckons it would be a distraction to his football. How does he communicate this? To a fillm crew for a documentary about himself.

Great footballer but Christ he has a chip on both shoulders. Could do with a good psychologist. Years of material there.
Post by: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 10:16:03 PM
He had a massive influence on those 2 Cork v Kerry games - Cork's tactics were simple - just wind Galvin him up.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:19:14 PM
The line that Sunday Game panellists have no write to talk if they haven't won a lot of All-Irelands is very stupid. But Tohill certainly overreacted. I don't think it was that bad an act. Cadogan is no angel either.
Post by: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 10:21:09 PM
Galvin is coming across a whole lot better here tonight.

You never hear the stories about the charity work etc. You only hear the shite.

He's bound to have a chip on the shoulder.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 28, 2010, 10:24:30 PM
Credit where credit is due - he's been focused on a bit too much. Them Sunday game boys shouldnt be investigators, judge and jury all in one.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:43:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 10:21:09 PM

Charity work?
Post by: johnpower on December 28, 2010, 10:44:33 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:19:14 PM
The line that Sunday Game panellists have no write to talk if they haven't won a lot of All-Irelands is very stupid. But Tohill certainly overreacted. I don't think it was that bad an act. Cadogan is no angel either.

I agree over reaction all round . Yet RTE will love this
Post by: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 10:48:44 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:43:08 PM

Charity work?

Like a lot of high profile players. he's often called upon to lend his name / picture to charity work.

He definitely came across well tonight.

The journalists / media feel he's fair game - why do they think he is so different to the rest of IC players ?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:53:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 10:48:44 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 10:43:08 PM

Charity work?

Like a lot of high profile players. he's often called upon to lend his name / picture to charity work.

He definitely came across well tonight.

The journalists / media feel he's fair game - why do they think he is so different to the rest of IC players ?

I'd be mixed enough about him. Some of the phone calls he was getting was completely out of order. Like a local journalist texting him about his job situation, way over the line.

But I wouldn't warm to him either. Great footballer. At least he was honest and it was an honest depiction of him.

Re the fashion thing, fair play to him. We shouldn't knock individualism. Even if I still can't get over the bow tie  :D
Post by: Jinxy on December 28, 2010, 11:03:42 PM
For a lad that never reads the papers.......

he sure reads a lot of papers!
Post by: Last Man on December 28, 2010, 11:15:19 PM
The world will be a very boring place if we persist in hounding out chaaracters like Galvin, as for the fashion thing...f**king hilarious but magic at the same time....total nutter.... but what a footballer
Post by: BennyHarp on December 28, 2010, 11:16:58 PM

Charity work? Sure he only did that photo shoot to be in the same company as Bono, Jay Z and the lads! Wonder did Jay Z actually meet him for that pint in New York!
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 28, 2010, 11:28:08 PM

I know a man who has cognitive difficulties to put it mildly. A sound fella but a biteen simple in his outlook. He's a Dub through and through but he decided he wanted to meet Galvin and get his autograph. He went down to Killarney for a league game and tried to get into the Kerry dressing room to met Paul. Naturally enough he was stopped but one of the stewards took his request in to Paul. He returned to Dublin disappointed at his failure to meet his hero. Two days later, he got a letter in the post from Galvin with a signed photo and an invitation to meet him any time he went to a Kerry game. They have met up several times sinc e then and Paul always spends five minutes chatting.
That's the sort of stuff that never makes the headlines.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 11:30:01 PM
Quote from: Last Man on December 28, 2010, 11:15:19 PM
The world will be a very boring place if we persist in hounding out chaaracters like Galvin, as for the fashion thing...f**king hilarious but magic at the same time....total nutter.... but what a footballer

The GAA is often a boring place because of the lack of people who are willing to be honest and upfront. Galvin might not be everyone's cup of tea but he is who he doesn't try to be something he's not and you can take it or leave it.
Post by: orangeman on December 28, 2010, 11:33:46 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 28, 2010, 11:28:08 PM

I know a man who has cognitive difficulties to put it mildly. A sound fella but a biteen simple in his outlook. He's a Dub through and through but he decided he wanted to meet Galvin and get his autograph. He went down to Killarney for a league game and tried to get into the Kerry dressing room to met Paul. Naturally enough he was stopped but one of the stewards took his request in to Paul. He returned to Dublin disappointed at his failure to meet his hero. Two days later, he got a letter in the post from Galvin with a signed photo and an invitation to meet him any time he went to a Kerry game. They have met up several times sinc e then and Paul always spends five minutes chatting.
That's the sort of stuff that never makes the headlines.
[/b]

And there's plenty more stories like that. As you say, these stories never make the headlines.
Post by: ross matt on December 28, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
There was  absolutely no point to the entire documentary. The guy is completely up his own ass.  He constantly contradicts himself... complaining about media intrusion whilst allowing himself to be the centre of a fly on the wall hour long tv show. Obviously looking to raise his profile and forge a career in fashion... possibly media. Trying way too hard to look cool and complicated... rebel without a cause and all that shite. How many shots were there of him poncin around jeans that were spray painted on to him FFS? Farcical stuff. Totally contrived crap. Plenty of leverage there for his 2011 opponents there.
Post by: bloodybreakball on December 28, 2010, 11:52:37 PM
cant get over the cynicism of the last post, cqtch aq grip. i'll say this tht the documentary went out in december so it wasnt  DISTRACTION TO kerry the thing tht was a bti hypocritical to me was tht he doesnt watch or mind whts said on the sunday game then why was he so fu&king annoyed abt it
Post by: ziggysego on December 28, 2010, 11:55:40 PM
Bow ties are cool
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2010, 12:11:24 AM
Quote from: ross matt on December 28, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
There was  absolutely no point to the entire documentary. The guy is completely up his own ass.  He constantly contradicts himself... complaining about media intrusion whilst allowing himself to be the centre of a fly on the wall hour long tv show. Obviously looking to raise his profile and forge a career in fashion... possibly media. Trying way too hard to look cool and complicated... rebel without a cause and all that shite. How many shots were there of him poncin around jeans that were spray painted on to him FFS? Farcical stuff. Totally contrived crap. Plenty of leverage there for his 2011 opponents there.
Embarrassing post. This provided a a response to the radio shows, newspaper columns and The Sunday Game which slate the guy without giving him a right to reply. This was his right to reply so it's the exact opposite of media intrusion. At no point does he seem like he is trying to be cool or complicated. You might have a case with his Late Late appearance, but not this.
Post by: INDIANA on December 29, 2010, 12:21:53 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 28, 2010, 11:30:01 PM
Quote from: Last Man on December 28, 2010, 11:15:19 PM

The GAA is often a boring place because of the lack of people who are willing to be honest and upfront. Galvin might not be everyone's cup of tea but he is who he doesn't try to be something he's not and you can take it or leave it.

No problem with that. But far worse things have been said about others and they just get on with it. There is an element of self promotion there no matter how he says otherwise. Great player and a reasonably sound individual from what I've heard. He needs to let some of the shit go. Life is too short to be worrying about all the things he appears to worry about.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 29, 2010, 12:42:52 AM
He's a man who's very troubled - everyone is against him as far as he is concerned. I think it works for him on the football pitch as it's probably very easy to fire yourself up when you think everyone is against you. However in the rest of his life it'll cause him problems I would think.

Mattie Forde and Tomas O'Se to name but two have had a fair amount of "trial by television" and you don't see them going on tv raising all these problems.

I have no great problem with the guy - like I said before he's a very good footballer - however he does come across very troubled and I'm not sure he'd have the personality for a media career.

I have no idea whether he does or doesn't do any charity work but in the scheme of him as a footballer or him as a media personality it doesn't matter one iota.

Post by: Jinxy on December 29, 2010, 12:55:35 AM
I hope he can build a career for himself in whatever it is he wants to do.
Plenty of cavemen will give him abuse for being into fashion alright but the same cavemen will be giving other players abuse for wearing white boots, being overweight, too fond of drink/gambling or whatever.
Best of luck to him and I hope he keeps playing ball as long as he's able.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on December 29, 2010, 02:33:51 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 28, 2010, 11:03:42 PM
For a lad that never reads the papers.......

he sure reads a lot of papers!

If only he had had an opportunity to deny the Xposé story, if only the makers of the radio show had tried to contact him  ???

Also, did anyone else notice that the bit about him going on Xposé was out of sequence with the rest? It zoomed in on the date of the paper, July 18, but this bit was shown between the two Cork games, which were in June.

Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2010, 09:05:06 AM
Definitely a colourful character. I missed the start of it and assume this was a documentary on the life of the then current Player of the Year? No problem with that and always an interesting concept.

The man may be full of contradictions, especially regarding his attitude to the media be it on TV or print, but it was decent viewing and much better than a lot of the crap we're subjected to over Christmas.
Post by: lurganblue on December 29, 2010, 10:27:34 AM
Thought he came across quite well. I was tipped off that he would be full of himself before I watched this but I didn't think this was the case. No more than any county players I know anyway.

The fashion sense was weird but each to their own
Post by: Orior on December 29, 2010, 10:36:22 AM
What is a metrosexual?
Post by: Zapatista on December 29, 2010, 11:03:31 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 29, 2010, 10:36:22 AM
What is a metrosexual?

Someone who like to shag trains.
Post by: JimStynes on December 29, 2010, 12:04:39 PM
Is the programme on the net or anything? the RTE site doesnt have it on their iplayer thing for us brits in the north.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 12:26:08 PM
A lovely propaganda piece for "poor" Galvin.

Reality is, he's a liar. He DID bust Cadogans mouth with an elbow before the tussel on the ground, he was also caught on camera throwing a right hook that didn't connect, but according to him he was on his "best behavior that day".

A complete baby looking for attention with his tattoos and his clothes.

Post by: Kerry Mike on December 29, 2010, 12:48:02 PM
QuoteReality is, he's a liar. He DID bust Cadogans mouth with an elbow before the tussel on the ground, he was also caught on camera throwing a right hook that didn't connect

put up your evidence for viewing or feck off with this shite. I have a clip of O'Halpin's headbutt in the hurling and a few great clips of Cadogan and Canty and a few others in "action" too if you want to play tit for tat. At least the winter boxing in Rylane last year wasn't wasted on the Cork Footballers, if only the dumb shites could figure out how to put in a gum shield !!

Had a great laugh at Noel O'Leary prancing about like a rabid dog trying to get Galvin provoked, and Galvin laughing at him. Fair play to Galvin, who gives a flying f**k what he wears, his hatred of all things Cork is great to see and the 2011 season can't come soon enough.
Post by: neilthemac on December 29, 2010, 01:32:00 PM
he is a tit, end of.

good footballer though. pity he has to ruin people's perception of him by his actions on the field and words off it
Post by: DownFanatic on December 29, 2010, 01:39:46 PM
Galvin is a bit different. The media play on this. He's no angel and he's an easy target due to past form. Personally I think he seems like a cool dude who is a very committed footballer with a great will to win.
Post by: haze on December 29, 2010, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2010, 09:05:06 AM
Definitely a colourful character. I missed the start of it and assume this was a documentary on the life of the then current Player of the Year? No problem with that and always an interesting concept.

The man may be full of contradictions, especially regarding his attitude to the media be it on TV or print, but it was decent viewing and much better than a lot of the crap we're subjected to over Christmas.

Couldn't agree more. Regardless of what anyone thinks of Galvin or the show, it was nice to see a GAA programme on at a prime time on RTE-  whats rare is beautiful.. Pity RTE couldn't come up with a few more over Christmas. TG4 puts them to shame.

Also might get a few lads down in the pub to forget about the Premier League for 5 minutes at least... i can only hope
Post by: mannix on December 29, 2010, 02:01:05 PM
it is the irishmans fear of wearing anything the rest of the herd would not wear or looking different. Not a fan of galvin but he is right not to be too bothered about what the rednecks in kerry or elsewhere think.And if cork had one or two like him they would not be runners up so often.
Post by: ck on December 29, 2010, 02:06:13 PM
Galvin craves attention, simple as that.
When he then gets unwanted attention from people on the Sunday Game who simply point out what he has done (yet again) he plays the victim. He wants his cake and eats it!
You can't do an RTE documentary, go on the late late show, allow cameras follow him to NYC, plaster himself in tatoos and wear statement clothing and NOT crave the limelight... but then as soon as someone points out that he stuck his finger in an apponants mouth he huffs and puffs like a spoilt child.
I personally believe that there is loads of room for flamboyant characters in our games but not those who have low discipline levels and expect us to ignore these and concentrate only on his latest pair of shiny shoes!

Having got involved in all of the pr waffle lately it isnt going to be any easier for Galvin in 2011. Clearly all of the recent pr stuff is geared towards a new media career.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on December 29, 2010, 02:12:53 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 29, 2010, 12:42:52 AM
He's a man who's very troubled - everyone is against him as far as he is concerned. I think it works for him on the football pitch as it's probably very easy to fire yourself up when you think everyone is against you. However in the rest of his life it'll cause him problems I would think.

Mattie Forde and Tomas O'Se to name but two have had a fair amount of "trial by television" and you don't see them going on tv raising all these problems.

I have no great problem with the guy - like I said before he's a very good footballer - however he does come across very troubled and I'm not sure he'd have the personality for a media career.

I have no idea whether he does or doesn't do any charity work but in the scheme of him as a footballer or him as a media personality it doesn't matter one iota.

mattie got everything he deserved, probably warranted more for the disgusting act which he did. he would have no right to complain
Post by: ck on December 29, 2010, 02:13:29 PM
Quote from: mannix on December 29, 2010, 02:01:05 PM
it is the irishmans fear of wearing anything the rest of the herd would not wear or looking different. Not a fan of galvin but he is right not to be too bothered about what the rednecks in kerry or elsewhere think.And if cork had one or two like him they would not be runners up so often.

His wearing of different clothes has never been an issue and as he said himself he has never got any stick about it.
My problem with him is that he states that he gets OTT attention from the media based on his antics on the pitch. He blames everyone except himself and when he does look at himself he does so reluctantly.
He cost Kerry an All-Ireland last year. If I was a Kerry man I'd be more annoyed with that than his latest centre fold.
Post by: Jinxy on December 29, 2010, 02:51:00 PM
Quote from: haze on December 29, 2010, 01:54:11 PM

Couldn't agree more. Regardless of what anyone thinks of Galvin or the show, it was nice to see a GAA programme on at a prime time on RTE-  whats rare is beautiful.. Pity RTE couldn't come up with a few more over Christmas. TG4 puts them to shame.

Also might get a few lads down in the pub to forget about the Premier League for 5 minutes at least... i can only hope

I thought it was very well filmed.
Some great shots of the beautiful scenery in Kerry.
Good soundtrack too.
The match footage really captured the speed and intensity of championship football.
Post by: supersub on December 29, 2010, 03:43:04 PM
What the hell does what type of clothes he wears have to do with anything? So what if he is stylish and doesnt wear O'Neills trackies or farming gear 24/7. Are you not allowed to have a personality in the GAA and interests away from the game?
Post by: hsthompson on December 29, 2010, 04:11:18 PM
He seems completely vacant to me. That documentary tried very hard to portray him well but the man just seems like a bit of an ignoramus. Just like the Late Late Show he wasn't able to articulate his thoughts at all, he just speaks in short cliches, "sure that's the way it goes like". He might make a good politician as he's able to talk away but say absolutely nothing of any substance. For somebody who obviously wants to portray themselves as being very much an individual and a bit of a maverick he's incredibly dull. Being vain and into clothes doesn't make him interesting, nor does it mean he'd actually be any good at working in fashion. A complete charisma free zone, cannot see why RTE bothered making that show.
P.s - he watches 'the city' on mtv? It's a show for 13 year old girls
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 29, 2010, 04:46:45 PM
Interesting piece of television last night, if only to show us that regardless of Paul Galvin's feet of gold on the field, off it he has feet of clay like the rest of us.

He's full of the frailties of human nature, contradictions and all, but so what? Though he may not have that telegenic appeal and articulacy in front of the camera, he may still find a niche in the media, possibly around fashion somehow (and a brave decision to ditch the teaching). And being slightly different in that respect with his attire is no issue either,vive la difference!
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 06:00:13 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 29, 2010, 12:48:02 PM
QuoteReality is, he's a liar. He DID bust Cadogans mouth with an elbow before the tussel on the ground, he was also caught on camera throwing a right hook that didn't connect

put up your evidence for viewing or feck off with this shite. I have a clip of O'Halpin's headbutt in the hurling and a few great clips of Cadogan and Canty and a few others in "action" too if you want to play tit for tat. At least the winter boxing in Rylane last year wasn't wasted on the Cork Footballers, if only the dumb shites could figure out how to put in a gum shield !!

Had a great laugh at Noel O'Leary prancing about like a rabid dog trying to get Galvin provoked, and Galvin laughing at him. Fair play to Galvin, who gives a flying f**k what he wears, his hatred of all things Cork is great to see and the 2011 season can't come soon enough.

Galvin spent the last year trying to whip up publicity for his pathetic fashion career, yeah good luck with that!
How many more shows and newspapers will he whore himself on? Oh and why did he give up teaching, nothing to do with busting some kids head with a duster? Funny the Doc didn't mention that bit ;D

Galvins in his last year along with a good many other kerry players, and I see feck all coming down the pipeline  :'(
Post by: The Worker on December 29, 2010, 06:13:45 PM
Anyone know is this show gonna be repeated?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 29, 2010, 06:30:31 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 06:00:13 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 29, 2010, 12:48:02 PM

Galvin spent the last year trying to whip up publicity for his pathetic fashion career, yeah good luck with that!
How many more shows and newspapers will he whore himself on? Oh and why did he give up teaching, nothing to do with busting some kids head with a duster? Funny the Doc didn't mention that bit ;D

Galvins in his last year along with a good many other kerry players, and I see feck all coming down the pipeline  :'(

There'll be no more soft AI for ye from now. We let ye have ye're "pity" AI to stop ye embarrasing the province. 

Stupid langers.
Post by: Tatler Jack on December 29, 2010, 06:36:06 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 29, 2010, 06:13:45 PM
Anyone know is this show gonna be repeated?

With Galvin you are always guaranteed a repeat! ;)
Post by: ross matt on December 29, 2010, 07:04:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2010, 12:11:24 AM
Quote from: ross matt on December 28, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
Embarrassing post. This provided a a response to the radio shows, newspaper columns and The Sunday Game which slate the guy without giving him a right to reply. This was his right to reply so it's the exact opposite of media intrusion. At no point does he seem like he is trying to be cool or complicated. You might have a case with his Late Late appearance, but not this.
Sorry you're embarrassed about the post Tony but it's my opinion on the programme. Have a look at some of the other posts and you'll see many others took the same view.
Post by: ross matt on December 29, 2010, 07:07:53 PM
Quote from: ck on December 29, 2010, 02:06:13 PM
When he then gets unwanted attention from people on the Sunday Game who simply point out what he has done (yet again) he plays the victim. He wants his cake and eats it!
You can't do an RTE documentary, go on the late late show, allow cameras follow him to NYC, plaster himself in tatoos and wear statement clothing and NOT crave the limelight... but then as soon as someone points out that he stuck his finger in an apponants mouth he huffs and puffs like a spoilt child. I personally believe that there is loads of room for flamboyant characters in our games but not those who have low discipline levels and expect us to ignore these and concentrate only on his latest pair of shiny shoes!

Having got involved in all of the pr waffle lately it isnt going to be any easier for Galvin in 2011. Clearly all of the recent pr stuff is geared towards a new media career.
Never a truer word spoken CK. But you're going to embarress Tony Baloney with that post!
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2010, 07:12:57 PM
Quote from: ross matt on December 29, 2010, 07:07:53 PM
You can't do an RTE documentary, go on the late late show, allow cameras follow him to NYC, plaster himself in tatoos and wear statement clothing and NOT crave the limelight... but then as soon as someone points out that he stuck his finger in an apponants mouth he huffs and puffs like a spoilt child. I personally believe that there is loads of room for flamboyant characters in our games but not those who have low discipline levels and expect us to ignore these and concentrate only on his latest pair of shiny shoes!

Never a truer word spoken CK. But you're going to embarress Tony Baloney with that post!

Did you actually watch the documentary? He stated a few times how stupid he was for doing that. He then shunned any media requests for a response. How on earth is that huffing and puffing?
Post by: ross matt on December 29, 2010, 07:14:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 29, 2010, 02:51:00 PM
Quote from: haze on December 29, 2010, 01:54:11 PM

I thought it was very well filmed.
Some great shots of the beautiful scenery in Kerry.
Good soundtrack too.
The match footage really captured the speed and intensity of championship football.
Agreed Jinxy. Thought that was by far the best part of the show. Galvin is an amazingly powerful and well balanced athlete to watch in motion. Pity there was'nt a bit of insight in to how much and what kind of training he does on his own... his diet etc. Unless he's a complete natural I imagine he must do quite alot of specialised training to reach the levels of performance he frequently achieves. Like I said before definitely the most effective player in the game. Pity about the rest of the baggage that goes with him.
Post by: ross matt on December 29, 2010, 07:19:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2010, 07:12:57 PM

Did you actually watch the documentary? He stated a few times how stupid he was for doing that. He then shunned any media requests for a response. How on earth is that huffing and puffing?
O'Neill did you see how he broke down one of the Cork incidences to claim innocence and unfair treatment? He has gone out of his way to infer Tohill is not worthy to judge him on TV.... bit of a coincidence considering it's big Anthony that highlighted the fishhook incident. Definitely went out of his way to paint himself as the misunderstood bad boy.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 08:38:53 PM
Sad to see the RTE license payers money go into what is just a publicity vehicle to launch some players career.
Post by: BroJolly on December 29, 2010, 10:44:24 PM
Have to say I really enjoyed the show last night.

Galvin is a great player. His ability to control and influence games was well documented last night.

And he is completely different. A lot of it may be superficial, and full of contradictions, and the man is prob a thesis waiting to happen. But I've read loads of articles in last few years complaining how gaelic players are clones with no personality. So I thought it was great.

We could get him to work in Armagh selling shoes in Middletown market and then he could transfer up
Post by: maggie on December 29, 2010, 11:27:34 PM
He has a great body.
I defo would.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2010, 11:29:16 PM

Most of his detractors on here made their minds up before seeing the documentary.

He's a f**king fancy dan disgrace with his oul tattoos and tight trousers. Probably a gaylord.  ::)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 29, 2010, 11:31:59 PM
Quote from: maggie on December 29, 2010, 11:27:34 PM
He has a great body.
I defo would.

You might have to kick "Chris agus snoop" out of the way. He seems to have a thing for Galvin.
Post by: andoireabu on December 29, 2010, 11:44:38 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 08:38:53 PM
Sad to see the RTE license payers money go into what is just a publicity vehicle to launch some players career.
Does the man not already have a career as a teacher?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2010, 11:59:58 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on December 29, 2010, 11:44:38 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on December 29, 2010, 08:38:53 PM
Does the man not already have a career as a teacher?
Quit teaching.
Post by: red hander on December 30, 2010, 03:12:15 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on December 29, 2010, 11:31:59 PM
Quote from: maggie on December 29, 2010, 11:27:34 PM
He has a great body.
I defo would.

You might have to kick "Chris agus snoop" out of the way. He seems to have a thing for Galvin.

He'd be hard pushed to be as obsessed by Mr Metrosexual as you obviously are  :-*
Post by: JimStynes on December 30, 2010, 12:29:42 PM
Any downloads for the prgoramme knocking about?
Post by: laoisgaa on December 30, 2010, 12:59:23 PM
Jim Stynes - http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1087872
Post by: new devil on December 30, 2010, 01:20:26 PM
Its also on You Tube
Post by: charlieTully on December 30, 2010, 03:43:16 PM

she has a big c**k.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 30, 2010, 05:42:50 PM

Sure Elton John had a wife once. And now he's had a baby with a man. It's a crazy world out there.
Post by: red hander on December 30, 2010, 06:05:09 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 30, 2010, 03:43:16 PM

she has a big c**k.

Aye... on her arm
Post by: ck on December 30, 2010, 06:30:46 PM

Yes I did watch it. Did you? Clearly the subtle inconsistancies were lost on you.
Yes he did say he was stupid but also he moaned about the Sunday Game analysing the incident. He indirectly took a swipe at Anthony Tohill (who spoke at length about the incident) by saying the Spillane and O'Rourke were the only ones worth listening to on the programme... but of course he didnt even watch it as he was far too cool for that and was watching MTV at the time. Just one of the many contradictory b-Sh*t statements he came out with on the show.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 30, 2010, 06:32:21 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 30, 2010, 06:05:09 PM

she has a big c**k.

Aye... on her arm

Oh, that crude britboy humour. Where would we be without it  ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 30, 2010, 06:36:08 PM

she has a big c**k.

Aye... on her arm
f**k you're funny! ::)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 30, 2010, 08:59:37 PM
Quote from: ck on December 30, 2010, 06:30:46 PM

Yes I did watch it. Did you? Clearly the subtle inconsistancies were lost on you.
Yes he did say he was stupid but also he moaned about the Sunday Game analysing the incident. He indirectly took a swipe at Anthony Tohill (who spoke at length about the incident) by saying the Spillane and O'Rourke were the only ones worth listening to on the programme... but of course he didnt even watch it as he was far too cool for that and was watching MTV at the time. Just one of the many contradictory b-Sh*t statements he came out with on the show.

You could admit to be wrong to doing what he did and still be correct to bemoan how Tohill over sensationalised what happened. I know there are certain things you don't do to an opponent - spitting, eye gouging etc are some. But a fish hook to me is hardly a big deal. A punch is much worse. Stupid thing to do but hardly that malicious. I had actually assumed it was an eye-gouge when I saw the fuss that was being made about it. Only later did I look at the video clip and see it was merely what it was.

His contradictions on Sunday Game were interesting though. He clearly did watch it. Or else read all the papers the following day.
Post by: ONeill on December 31, 2010, 01:47:48 AM
Clearly the subtle inconsistancies were lost on you.

If you think they were subtle you need to get out more. I said earlier he was riddled with inconsistencies. But to say he huffed and puffed suggests you never actually watched it really.
Post by: LilySavage on December 31, 2010, 10:55:32 AM
So much negativity on here about a documentary one of the games best exponents. Im just glad it was made, a great insight into a year in the life ofthe most famous Gaelic player out there. RTE usually dont touch GAA with a bargepole form September to May- would ye have been happeier to view a boring documentary on one of their beloved rugger buggers instead? The camera on Galvin at the Cork replay showed the class of the player, that was one of the greatest impact substitutions of all time.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 11:06:14 AM
Watched it online last night and enjoyed the program.  Good TV if you ask me, better than other reality shite like X Factor, Im a celeb, Dancing with the stars etc.  Nice to see camera's follow around an amatuer gaelic footballer so see how they act.  HBO in America run a great program called 24/7 where before every major boxing fight, they follow the boxers around for around 8 weeks in the build up to the fight.  You get to see first hand their training, how they act and just how they go about their daily business.  The RTE program sort of reminded me of the HBO programs.  I think they could do well to do this more often in the run up to big games, follow teams around etc, give them more TV exposure and get more personal with the players.  Think it would be a great marketing idea for our games and would add hype to the biggest championship games which i think has been lost a bit this past number of years.

As someone said, would like to have seen more of the individual training he does on his own.  Few things though:

-I dont like skinny jeans on men, makes the ole feet look like Sideshow Bob there, would never wear them myself, bootcut all the way
-I dont know how he trains teams or runs about in jeans??  Skinny jeans too!! Just uncomfortable like?
-His beard always seems to be the same, never grows anymore or he never seems to shave it, how is he doing this??
-2010 must have been one hell of a frustrating year for him, more suspensions than half un's
-I like him because he said Tyrone where a great team  ;D
-I like him because he slates Cork at every opportunity  ;D
-He looks to have a pretty nice house there down there in Kerry
Post by: LilySavage on December 31, 2010, 11:18:15 AM
Who cares about what he wears or how often he shaves. Its 2010, get over it.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 11:54:38 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on December 31, 2010, 11:18:15 AM

Get your head out of yer hole you parasite, where did I say I actually care about what he wears or if he ever shaves??  And yes, im well aware of the year. 
Post by: BennyHarp on December 31, 2010, 12:51:18 PM

Plainly Galvin thinks people care about what he wears as he spent the first half of the show talking about his fashion. The documentary, in my opinion, was concieved with the view of how a GAA player prepares for the latter stages of an all Ireland championship! This however went to pot when Kerry got knocked out so they had to pad the rest out with b*llocks about what he wears and that completely pointless section of him in New York! I hope they do this type of thing again, perhaps following someone else such as Bernard Brogan or Gooch. I'd be more interested in the football side of things than listening to someone give off about his treatment in the media, which in the big scheme of things isn't that bad! Hardly a big deal that he is accused of going to Lilys!
Post by: ONeill on December 31, 2010, 01:02:09 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 31, 2010, 12:51:18 PM

Plainly Galvin thinks people care about what he wears as he spent the first half of the show talking about his fashion. The documentary, in my opinion, was concieved with the view of how a GAA player prepares for the latter stages of an all Ireland championship! This however went to pot when Kerry got knocked out so they had to pad the rest out with b*llocks about what he wears and that completely pointless section of him in New York! I hope they do this type of thing again, perhaps following someone else such as Bernard Brogan or Gooch. I'd be more interested in the football side of things than listening to someone give off about his treatment in the media, which in the big scheme of things isn't that bad! Hardly a big deal that he is accused of going to Lilys!

They'd need to be picky about their subject matter though. It could be incredibly dull if the player was a dour hoor.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 31, 2010, 01:11:17 PM
Maybe they should follow Larry Reilly for a year? Though they'd struggle to keep up.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 31, 2010, 01:02:09 PM

They'd need to be picky about their subject matter though. It could be incredibly dull if the player was a dour hoor.

Agree but i think its something RTE should persue on a more regaular basis and air the programs in run up's to the big games.  Hype, Hype, Hype.  Hype the balls out of the things, hype sells.  Not enough hype at the minute in championship games, we need hype.  I think fly on the wall programs like these can add much needed hype.  Imagine following the Gooch around for a week before a clash with Cork and him maybe slating a few Cork defenders and bad mouthing opponents, would certianly add an edge (not that gooch would do this anyway but you get my point)  ;D
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 31, 2010, 01:49:24 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 01:33:39 PM

Agree but i think its something RTE should persue on a more regaular basis and air the programs in run up's to the big games.  Hype, Hype, Hype.  Hype the balls out of the things, hype sells.  Not enough hype at the minute in championship games, we need hype.  I think fly on the wall programs like these can add much needed hype.  Imagine following the Gooch around for a week before a clash with Cork and him maybe slating a few Cork defenders and bad mouthing opponents, would certianly add an edge (not that gooch would do this anyway but you get my point)  ;D

There's a difference between good promotion and the extremities of hype. We're no where even near the first stage. Getting there would be sufficient.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 31, 2010, 02:29:22 PM

Hype, Hype, Hype.  Hype the balls out of the things, hype sells.  Not enough hype at the minute in championship games, we need hype.  I think fly on the wall programs like these can add much needed hype.

So you're saying we need more hype?
Post by: red hander on December 31, 2010, 02:37:11 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on December 30, 2010, 06:32:21 PM

she has a big c**k.

Aye... on her arm

Oh, that crude britboy humour. Where would we be without it  ::)

Without any question marks for a start, obviously ... Kerry, mmmmmm, isn't that where the Famine Queen loved to holiday because it made her feel at home?
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 31, 2010, 02:39:44 PM

maybe rte should get a hold of dd12 avatar and ask her to present the sunday game or to patrol the sidelines like marty morrisey  just to generate a bit of interest in our wonderfull games
Post by: bloodybreakball on December 31, 2010, 04:34:13 PM
i wonder would a lot of yous ever wise up tohill didnt sensationalise it, jst called it as it was seen it, wicked, cowardly act, jst called paul out fr doin wrong

Post by: orangeman on December 31, 2010, 04:44:22 PM
For all you Celtic fans out there !

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_5E8JDqjzDcM/TCTZ1Uqw74I/AAAAAAAACHo/cY89d_hAlBg/s1600/fredrik-ljungberg-06.jpg)
Post by: JimStynes on December 31, 2010, 09:31:59 PM
Just watched the programme there. Galvin seems to be a 'celeb wanna be' and completely in love with himself. Saying that I like him and think we need more people like him in the gaa. He gives us something to talk about anyway.
Post by: ross matt on January 02, 2011, 06:28:54 PM
Quote from: bloodybreakball on December 31, 2010, 04:34:13 PM
i wonder would a lot of yous ever wise up tohill didnt sensationalise it, jst called it as it was seen it, wicked, cowardly act, jst called paul out fr doin wrong
Ah come on now Bloodybreakball. That's far too boring and honest of a take on the matter.  :)!
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 02, 2011, 06:35:45 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on December 31, 2010, 09:31:59 PM
Just watched the programme there. Galvin seems to be a 'celeb wanna be' and completely in love with himself. Saying that I like him and think we need more people like him in the gaa. He gives us something to talk about anyway.
Good show I thought. He's a bit of a maverick and I kind of admire the way he doesn't conform with the usual GAA player stereotype.
Post by: rrhf on January 03, 2011, 10:05:13 AM
I had half a notion he would claim that he could be the first Kerry James Bond.  No doubt in time he could become as big a fashion icon within the GAA as say Hector.  To be honest I felt embarassed for him watching it - whoever is advising him is letting him look a complete cod. Good footballer but the star quality stops there.   
Post by: isourboydownyet on January 03, 2011, 10:10:59 AM
has anybody read the article in the irish news today?andy watters actualy thinks that galvin was being serious about going to have a drink with jay z!! wtf!!
Post by: thejuice on January 22, 2011, 04:21:05 PM
There's talk that he's going to join a Dublin club as he is moving up to the capital.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 22, 2011, 04:50:06 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 22, 2011, 04:21:05 PM
There's talk that he's going to join a Dublin club as he is moving up to the capital.

All bollix...according to him apparently...

http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=3600&page=7
Post by: Any craic on January 27, 2011, 08:55:29 AM
Galvin was at the Ryan Cup final last night, his new team won at a canter...
http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/watch/Dublin-College-thanks-Late-Late-Show-for-Paul-Galvin-301 (http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/watch/Dublin-College-thanks-Late-Late-Show-for-Paul-Galvin-301)
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on January 28, 2011, 01:45:35 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0127/1224288405409.html

Galvin fashions early exit from launch - [EDIT: by Ian O'Riordan ... ATID]

GAELIC GAMES SIGERSON CUP: WE THOUGHT maybe he was just fashionably late, but Paul Galvin subsequently refused any interviews at yesterday's launch of the Sigerson Cup, despite being paid to be there for that very purpose.

Galvin posed for some photographs – suitably enough given his well-publicised venture into the fashion world – then promptly left Croke Park without explaining his sudden change of mind. A spokesperson for the GAA said "all they could do is apologise" but that was little consolation to the waiting journalists, many of whom had travelled considerable distance on the assumption Galvin would be available for interview.

Invitations to the launch – issued by the GAA's Higher Education Committee – clearly stated that "Paul Galvin, DIT and Kerry, will be available for media interviews", along with Liam Rushe of UCD and Dublin, who was there to promote the start of the Fitzgibbon Cup. While Rushe gladly obliged, Galvin had other ideas, much to the bemusement of everyone else in attendance, including the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon sponsors, Ulster Bank. We didn't even get to see what he was wearing.

Earlier this week Galvin was deemed eligible for this year's Sigerson competition having recently signed up for a one-year fashion course at the Dublin Institute. The 2009 footballer of the year is recovering from a minor hip operation but is expected to be fit for DIT's opening game against the University of Limerick, on February 17th – a game DIT will be well fancied to win.

In fact DIT are second favourites to win the Sigerson outright this year, behind defending champions DCU. DIT have yet to win a Sigerson title, but Galvin's addition and experience with Kerry will considerably boost their chances this year, given they already have the services of other established county players including Galway's Gareth Bradshaw, Peter Domican of Roscommon, Alan Freeman and Aidan O'Shea from Mayo, and Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly.

DIT recently recorded an impressive win over Wexford in the O'Byrne Cup, and the least of their ambitions will be to make the finals weekend on March 3rd-5th, where the quarter-finals, semi-finals and showpiece will be hosted by UCD – the inaugural winners of the competition, in 1911.

Yesterday's event in Croke Park was therefore billed as the launch of the centenary Sigerson Cup, and Galvin's presence was intended to highlight that. He'd previously played Sigerson football with UCC, captaining the team in 2002, but lost out in the final that year to Sligo IT.

Yet due to Galvin's refusal to reminisce on any such matters yesterday, it was left to GAA president Christy Cooney to drum up some interest, who said via a press release, that the "dedication and commitment of players participating in the various competitions should be acknowledged and it is heartening to note that the competitions continue to grow from strength to strength".

Galvin may have failed in his commitments in Croke Park yesterday, although he did talk earlier in the day to the Ryan Tubridy Show on RTÉ 2FM, saying he was looking for "a new abode, up in the big smoke".

"It's like I'm 18 all over again and I feel like I'm 18," Galvin told Tubridy. "I am probably a young 31-year-old."

A young 31 indeed, with plenty growing up to do yet.

So he takes the money and then doesn't bother to show up. What a DIVA.  ::)
Next he'll be saying he won't get out of bed for less than 10 grand.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 28, 2011, 08:02:44 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on January 28, 2011, 01:45:35 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0127/1224288405409.html

Galvin fashions early exit from launch - [EDIT: by Ian O'Riordan ... ATID]

GAELIC GAMES SIGERSON CUP: WE THOUGHT maybe he was just fashionably late, but Paul Galvin subsequently refused any interviews at yesterday's launch of the Sigerson Cup, despite being paid to be there for that very purpose.

Galvin posed for some photographs – suitably enough given his well-publicised venture into the fashion world – then promptly left Croke Park without explaining his sudden change of mind. A spokesperson for the GAA said "all they could do is apologise" but that was little consolation to the waiting journalists, many of whom had travelled considerable distance on the assumption Galvin would be available for interview.

Invitations to the launch – issued by the GAA's Higher Education Committee – clearly stated that "Paul Galvin, DIT and Kerry, will be available for media interviews", along with Liam Rushe of UCD and Dublin, who was there to promote the start of the Fitzgibbon Cup. While Rushe gladly obliged, Galvin had other ideas, much to the bemusement of everyone else in attendance, including the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon sponsors, Ulster Bank. We didn't even get to see what he was wearing.

Earlier this week Galvin was deemed eligible for this year's Sigerson competition having recently signed up for a one-year fashion course at the Dublin Institute. The 2009 footballer of the year is recovering from a minor hip operation but is expected to be fit for DIT's opening game against the University of Limerick, on February 17th – a game DIT will be well fancied to win.

In fact DIT are second favourites to win the Sigerson outright this year, behind defending champions DCU. DIT have yet to win a Sigerson title, but Galvin's addition and experience with Kerry will considerably boost their chances this year, given they already have the services of other established county players including Galway's Gareth Bradshaw, Peter Domican of Roscommon, Alan Freeman and Aidan O'Shea from Mayo, and Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly.

DIT recently recorded an impressive win over Wexford in the O'Byrne Cup, and the least of their ambitions will be to make the finals weekend on March 3rd-5th, where the quarter-finals, semi-finals and showpiece will be hosted by UCD – the inaugural winners of the competition, in 1911.

Yesterday's event in Croke Park was therefore billed as the launch of the centenary Sigerson Cup, and Galvin's presence was intended to highlight that. He'd previously played Sigerson football with UCC, captaining the team in 2002, but lost out in the final that year to Sligo IT.

Yet due to Galvin's refusal to reminisce on any such matters yesterday, it was left to GAA president Christy Cooney to drum up some interest, who said via a press release, that the "dedication and commitment of players participating in the various competitions should be acknowledged and it is heartening to note that the competitions continue to grow from strength to strength".

Galvin may have failed in his commitments in Croke Park yesterday, although he did talk earlier in the day to the Ryan Tubridy Show on RTÉ 2FM, saying he was looking for "a new abode, up in the big smoke".

"It's like I'm 18 all over again and I feel like I'm 18," Galvin told Tubridy. "I am probably a young 31-year-old."

A young 31 indeed, with plenty growing up to do yet.

So he takes the money and then doesn't bother to show up. What a DIVA.  ::)
Next he'll be saying he won't get out of bed for less than 10 grand.

..and how much money have the newspapers  made off selling stories about Paul Galvin to fools like you ? You can be sure Paul Galvin has seen none of that money.

More power to him, the middle finger is exactly what those t**ts deserve.
Post by: Tatler Jack on January 29, 2011, 12:28:17 AM
QuoteYou can be sure Paul Galvin has seen none of that money

How are you so sure Mike? Doubt the IT would infer he was getting payment if not true. And people buy the IT for lots of reasons and I suspect few buy it to read anything about PG.
Post by: gerry on January 29, 2011, 03:00:59 AM
god man mick. unbiased as normal
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 06:36:30 AM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on January 29, 2011, 12:28:17 AM
QuoteYou can be sure Paul Galvin has seen none of that money

How are you so sure Mike? Doubt the IT would infer he was getting payment if not true. And people buy the IT for lots of reasons and I suspect few buy it to read anything about PG.

Yes, no doubt he has gotten paid for direct media work. However, that is probably a fraction of what money has been made off his name of which he has seen nothing. Don't get me wrong, I dont like the idea of someone taking money and not delivering the "appearance" that was expected but gven the two parties  doing the complaining i.e journalists and GAA brass,  you'll forgive me for not being too cut up about it.

The only ones you might be tempted to feel sorry are would be the  DIT and the sigerson organizers but, then again,  I'm sure when they heard PG was going to study at DIT  his academic well being was their number one priority   ::)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 06:40:00 AM
Quote from: gerry on January 29, 2011, 03:00:59 AM

Proud to defend a fellow Kerryman. A Nordie like you wouldnt understand that given how your loyalties are more on a provincial level.
Post by: heffo on January 29, 2011, 09:05:21 AM
The point is though Mike if he's going to make full time living from the media then he's pissing off the wrong fellas.

I was playing a match in Lucan Sarsfields last Sunday and the talk of  the club was of how Galvin had been in the day before having a few pints and when word spread a big crowd turned up and he apparently obliged one and all with pictures and autographs

That's the kind of pr he wants, not standing up the fellas who can make or break a media career fr him..
Post by: BennyHarp on January 29, 2011, 09:24:51 AM
Do people actually rush out to buy a paper because there is a story about Paul Galvin in it? The world has collapsed!
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 29, 2011, 11:53:49 AM
The sooner Galvin gets over his recent injury and gets back playing football the better, the winter is boring enough without having to read all this shite about him all the time.

Hopefully we will see him back in the Green and Gold sometime during the league.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2011, 01:22:24 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 06:40:00 AM

Proud to defend a fellow Kerryman. A Nordie like you wouldnt understand that given how your loyalties are more on a provincial level.

Yeah, sometime we all might be as small-minded, insular and parochial as you, we can only aspire!  :D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on January 29, 2011, 01:56:31 PM
That university stuff is a complete farce. Paul galvin at 31 modelling knickers and tight blouses around some college and he gets to play football. Surely there were plenty of young county footballers in them universities who have played football in these competitions than someone that the reports said haven't been to a class yet.
Post by: laoisgaa on January 29, 2011, 02:43:10 PM
QuoteThat university stuff is a complete farce. Paul galvin at 31 modelling knickers and tight blouses around some college and he gets to play football. Surely there were plenty of young county footballers in them universities who have played football in these competitions than someone that the reports said haven't been to a class yet.

I have to say I take issue with this comment, having served on the National Higher Education GAA Committee in the past five years as PRO, and only having stepped down from the role because of the five-year rule, I'm still heavily involved on the fringes.

Paul Galvin, like him or lump him is a fully bona-fide student of DIT. He is doing a full-time course, is showing academic progression (as a change of career direction is allowed subject to a permission to play form being filled in).

I also take issue with your talk of guys not going to classes, blah blah blah. The vast majority of players in Higher Education competitions are full time students who attend classes, exceptions are made for repeat students while you are allowed one sabbatical officer per college team.

Comhairle Ardoideachais has one of the hardest tasks of any GAA committee in my estimation and excels itself for the most part, in having to deal with the eligibity of upwards of 7,000 players in the shortest timeframe possible of any sector of the GAA from late October to late March.

Yet it is the sector which is constantly frowned upon, dragged through the media etc etc. That's hugely wrong in my view.

Galvin is a huge asset to third level GAA, to DIT and to the Sigerson Cup as are the countless other players involved in all competitions from Junior Football, through to Freshers on to the Further Education Championships and ultimately the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups.

It's time that someone stood up for Third Level GAA and I know the current Chairman Ray O'Brien is doing his best, but ill informed comments or rumours such as those prevailing GAA Discussion boards and elsewhere need to be counteracted.

I've no loyalties as such to the current committee, but having just finished up last September I'm a good man to ask if it's informed discussion you are after.

If anyone wants to fire any general questions about the sector at me re eligibility or otherwise don't hesitate to ask on here and I'll do my best to answer you.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on January 29, 2011, 03:03:15 PM
Get a grip laoisgaa. A man of 31 playing colleges football. what sort of college would have a course for modelling tight blouses!
Post by: omagh_gael on January 29, 2011, 03:18:05 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on January 29, 2011, 03:03:15 PM
Get a grip laoisgaa. A man of 31 playing colleges football. what sort of college would have a course for modelling tight blouses!

You're not a very open minded guy tones.
Post by: jodyb on January 29, 2011, 04:26:47 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on January 29, 2011, 03:03:15 PM
No fan of the guy TFAL, but you cant be serious givin him a hard time bout playing sigerson at 31. Why shouldn't he? Look how long Jim Mc Guinness played Sigerson FFS. As for the venture into telly and fashion, again I think he has the persinality of a gnat, but fair fcuks to him if he can pull it off! He's just right laying the groudwork for a career when he's still in the limelight. Look at soccer stars the world over with advertising and endorsemnets of all sorts. Good Luck to him. (Just hope him or his ilk wont see another celtic cross for bout 20 years  :D)
Post by: laoisgaa on January 29, 2011, 04:38:34 PM
If you have a problem with Paul Galvin taking a fashion course then it is you that needs to catch a grip and not me.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 07:39:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2011, 01:22:24 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 06:40:00 AM

Yeah, sometime we all might be as small-minded, insular and parochial as you, we can only aspire!  :D

wow..a one line put down from FOSB. Quite an acheivement for such a windy hoor. I'll bet you are clenching that sphincter of verbosity trying to hold it all in  :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2011, 11:38:31 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 29, 2011, 07:39:14 PM
wow..a one line put down...

Indeed!  ;)
Post by: gerry on January 30, 2011, 10:01:48 AM
todays indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sigersons-values-lost-in-time-warp-2516750.html)

Sigerson's values lost in time warp

A friend of mine used to describe Donegal footballer Jim McGuinness as "Ireland's brainiest man." McGuinness, you see, seemed to forever be playing in the Sigerson Cup and we reckoned all this third-level education must surely have done wonders for him.

There were other players who also discovered the joys of third-level education, and football, at an advanced age, the likes of Anthony Finnerty, Brendan Jer O'Sullivan, Conor Mortimer and Michael Moyles come to mind. But the revelation that Paul Galvin will be playing in the tournament next year for DIT means that the man who introduced the phrase 'skinny jeans' into the lexicon of the GAA follower should set a unique record.

Because Galvin, who won a Munster club title with UCC in 1999 and played in the All-Ireland semi-final against Crossmaglen Rangers the following February, must surely be the first footballer to play colleges football in three different decades. And in doing so he raises questions about exactly who the Sigerson Cup is for.

Galvin is 31 now and will be lining up against, by and large, under 21 footballers. By and large because he won't be the only player who has come to the Sigerson Cup late.

Galvin will be taking a one-year diploma course in fashion buying. His interest in fashion has after all been well documented. But it will surely be an odd experience for the player who will probably be lining up against players he encountered while he was managing St Brendan's, Killarney and they were on the field. It's an anomaly which makes you wonder if the third-level cups might benefit from an age limit so that true undergraduates don't find themselves up against much older opposition.

In other Galvin news, he stalked, stylishly no doubt, out of the Sigerson launch without speaking to a soul even though the organisers had announced beforehand that he'd be available to the media. Paul, there's such a thing as an enigma. And then there's such a thing as an asshole. Don't start getting them confused.

- Eamonn Sweeney
Post by: spuds on January 30, 2011, 10:14:32 AM
Quote from: gerry on January 30, 2011, 10:01:48 AM
todays indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sigersons-values-lost-in-time-warp-2516750.html)

A friend of mine used to describe Donegal footballer Jim McGuinness as "Ireland's brainiest man." McGuinness, you see, seemed to forever be playing in the Sigerson Cup and we reckoned all this third-level education must surely have done wonders for him.

There were other players who also discovered the joys of third-level education, and football, at an advanced age, the likes of Anthony Finnerty, Brendan Jer O'Sullivan, Conor Mortimer and Michael Moyles come to mind. But the revelation that Paul Galvin will be playing in the tournament next year for DIT means that the man who introduced the phrase 'skinny jeans' into the lexicon of the GAA follower should set a unique record.

Because Galvin, who won a Munster club title with UCC in 1999 and played in the All-Ireland semi-final against Crossmaglen Rangers the following February, must surely be the first footballer to play colleges football in three different decades. And in doing so he raises questions about exactly who the Sigerson Cup is for.

Galvin is 31 now and will be lining up against, by and large, under 21 footballers. By and large because he won't be the only player who has come to the Sigerson Cup late.

Galvin will be taking a one-year diploma course in fashion buying. His interest in fashion has after all been well documented. But it will surely be an odd experience for the player who will probably be lining up against players he encountered while he was managing St Brendan's, Killarney and they were on the field. It's an anomaly which makes you wonder if the third-level cups might benefit from an age limit so that true undergraduates don't find themselves up against much older opposition.

In other Galvin news, he stalked, stylishly no doubt, out of the Sigerson launch without speaking to a soul even though the organisers had announced beforehand that he'd be available to the media. Paul, there's such a thing as an enigma. And then there's such a thing as an asshole. Don't start getting them confused.

- Eamonn Sweeney
Sounds like Mr Sweeney has issues with Galvin, when a journalist has to resort to calling someone an asshole you know they have lost the plot. Aside from all this his article is a load of nothing, such an offence not to be wearing same slacks as Eamon Sweeney.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 30, 2011, 11:01:30 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 29, 2011, 04:38:34 PM
If you have a problem with Paul Galvin taking a fashion course then it is you that needs to catch a grip and not me.

Whatever about Galvin, would you not agree there should be a limit on Sigerson eligibility? Say a max of 4 years, something similar to US college sports?
Post by: laoisgaa on January 30, 2011, 02:05:46 PM
No the only limit on eligibility should be as at present you have to be doing a full-time course! I don't think the sector should go down the ageist route - bad enough that freshers have to be Under 21 (that one makes sense by the way!)
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 02:07:41 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 30, 2011, 02:05:46 PM
No the only limit on eligibility should be as at present you have to be doing a full-time course! I don't think the sector should go down the ageist route - bad enough that freshers have to be Under 21 (that one makes sense by the way!)

I disagree. Over 25's should not be permitted to play University Football. In my view. This is ridiculous.

Post by: laoisgaa on January 30, 2011, 02:09:57 PM
Of course there is a school of thought which imposes an age limit, but in reality you are talking about a small number of players - virtually none in hurling and I can only think of around ten in Sigerson.
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 02:14:11 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 30, 2011, 02:09:57 PM
Of course there is a school of thought which imposes an age limit, but in reality you are talking about a small number of players - virtually none in hurling and I can only think of around ten in Sigerson.

Universities cannot be trusted unfortunately. Sigerson Football has largely turned into a cattle factory of inter county footballers.
You have:

- Universities where you can fail to pass the LC and still get in if you're inter county

- Universities where high ranking Gaa officials use their influence to get inter county players admitted

- Univerisities who enroll students on mickey mouse courses that they never attend. One UCD student worked on a farm all year while picking up a Dublin SFC title a few years ago.

The ethos and spirit Sigerson was famous for has evaporated. Its nothing more then an exhibition competition anymore where county players play largely only in the Sigerson tournament arriving for matches not even knowing the names of some fo the players they are playing with.

A Total farce in my view.
Post by: ross matt on January 30, 2011, 04:59:29 PM
Quote from: spuds on January 30, 2011, 10:14:32 AM

- Eamonn Sweeney
Sounds like Mr Sweeney has issues with Galvin, when a journalist has to resort to calling someone an asshole you know they have lost the plot. Aside from all this his article is a load of nothing, such an offence not to be wearing same slacks as Eamon Sweeney.
Normally like Sweeney and agreed with previous stuff he wrote about Galvin but his comments above the player are over the top.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 05:44:10 PM
Quote from: ross matt on January 30, 2011, 04:59:29 PM
Quote from: spuds on January 30, 2011, 10:14:32 AM

- Eamonn Sweeney
Normally like Sweeney and agreed with previous stuff he wrote about Galvin but his comments above the player are over the top.
But he turned up at the media event and then refused to engage with the media. He brings things on himself.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 05:47:01 PM
Why would anyone engage with the media when they treat him like Sweeney did in that article?

QuotePaul, there's such a thing as an enigma. And then there's such a thing as an asshole. Don't start getting them confused.

Sweeney might start taking his own advice.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 30, 2011, 05:54:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 05:47:01 PM
Why would anyone engage with the media when they treat him like Sweeney did in that article?

QuotePaul, there's such a thing as an enigma. And then there's such a thing as an asshole. Don't start getting them confused.

Did he really write that? I've no love for Galvin but thats out of order from Sweeney, a Gaelic footballer shouldnt have to take abuse like that from the media.
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 06:03:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 30, 2011, 05:54:02 PM

Did he really write that? I've no love for Galvin but thats out of order from Sweeney, a Gaelic footballer shouldnt have to take abuse like that from the media.

I think if you actively seek publicity like Galvin. You have to take the consequences that go with it.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 06:06:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 06:03:58 PM

I think if you actively seek publicity like Galvin. You have to take the consequences that go with it.
Exactly. It's not nice, but Galvin put himself up to publicise the competition and then shunned the media. That's not the way to play the game.
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 06:12:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 06:06:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 06:03:58 PM

Exactly. It's not nice, but Galvin put himself up to publicise the competition and then shunned the media. That's not the way to play the game.

Thats just it. Galvin has heavily publicised his interests in fashion, writes a newspaper column, done a documentary on himself etc. You cant just pick out the bits of being in the public eye you like and get a carte blanche on criticism from the media. He's more then an amateur Gaelic Footballer at this stage. He earns money from the media.
So for me Sweeney is well within his rights.
Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:17:48 PM
Sweeney, when you read this you're way,way out of order.

If you wanted to call Galvin an asshole, why did you have to try and conceal it under these auspices ?.

The Indo has reached a new low.

Is it now acceptable to insult an IC player in the national press ?.

I know the journos weren't happy that Galvin didn't wait arond the other day, but come on lads, this is out of order. To say that he brought this on himself is not right either. He doesn't speak to media, so it's alright to be insulted publicly the following Sunday in the national papers cos he "brought it on himself" ? How do you come up with that one ?.

Post by: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 06:21:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:17:48 PM

If you wanted to call Galvin an asshole, why did you have to try and conceal it under these auspices ?.

I know the journos weren't happy that Galvin didn't wait arond the other day, but come on lads, this is out of order. To say that he brought this on himself is not right either. He doesn't speak to media, so it's alright to be insulted publicly the following Sunday in the national papers cos he "brought it on himself" ? How do you come up with that one ?.
Did you not read the previous posts?
Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:27:19 PM
Jesus Indiana, I'm shocked.

He's more then an amateur Gaelic Footballer at this stage. He earns money from the media.

There are plenty of GAA lads earning money from the media but no journo has publicly sunk to this low before. I don't see how it's acceptable at all.

What sort of a precedent is this setting ? Where is it going to finish ?

Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:29:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 06:21:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:17:48 PM

Did you not read the previous posts?
[/b]

I did and still don't see any justification for this. I'm sorry but I don't.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 30, 2011, 06:34:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:27:19 PM

He's more then an amateur Gaelic Footballer at this stage. He earns money from the media.

There are plenty of GAA lads earning money from the media but no journo has publicly sunk to this low before. I don't see how it's acceptable at all.

Sweeney has sunk much lower before.
Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:36:19 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 30, 2011, 06:34:33 PM

Sweeney has sunk much lower before.
[/b]

How ?
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 06:46:10 PM
Sweeney is basically calling him unprofessional, by calling him an Asshole in a newspaper article.

Hilarious hypocrisy really.
Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2011, 06:52:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 06:46:10 PM
Sweeney is basically calling him unprofessional, by calling him an Asshole in a newspaper article.

Hilarious hypocrisy really.

Callling him unproferssional would have been fine.

Calling him an asshole surely isn't on ?.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 06:57:37 PM
He didn't actually call him an asshole at all.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on January 30, 2011, 07:12:50 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 28, 2011, 08:02:44 PM

..and how much money have the newspapers  made off selling stories about Paul Galvin to fools like you ? You can be sure Paul Galvin has seen none of that money.

More power to him, the middle finger is exactly what those t**ts deserve.

I'd say Galvin hasn't given the middle finger to very many tw*ts...   :-*
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 07:15:21 PM

Hang on a second:

- How many Gaa players personally commissioned a documentary about themselves and broadcast it?

Thats inviting celebrity in my view. No problem with him doing it but you have to take what goes with that and he doesn't actually call him an asshole.

He doesn't just see himself as a Gaa player anymore. Cant just take the bits you like that go with that anymore. His day job is now essentially the public eye.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 07:52:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 07:15:21 PM

Hang on a second:

- How many Gaa players personally commissioned a documentary about themselves and broadcast it?

Thats inviting celebrity in my view. No problem with him doing it but you have to take what goes with that and he doesn't actually call him an asshole.

He doesn't just see himself as a Gaa player anymore. Cant just take the bits you like that go with that anymore. His day job is now essentially the public eye.

Ok please explain why the word asshole appears in Sweeney's article about Galvin.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 08:37:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 07:52:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 07:15:21 PM

Hang on a second:

Ok please explain why the word asshole appears in Sweeney's article about Galvin.
He's referring to the thin line that exists.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 08:56:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 08:37:52 PM

That thin line would exist between the two. He refers to both without pointing in any way to anything in between.

He specifically says not to confuse them. I interpret that as meaning you may think your are being one (enigma) while in your confusion you are being the other (asshole).
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 08:57:42 PM
I'm sick hearing about Galvin.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 09:30:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 08:57:42 PM

Why would you read a thread titled 'Paul Galvin' then?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 09:48:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 09:30:19 PM

Because it keeps going to the top of the board and curiosity got the better of me.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 10:11:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 09:48:19 PM

Because it keeps going to the top of the board and curiosity got the better of me.

Geddawayouttadat you are a closet fan of Galvin's.
Post by: Puckoon on January 30, 2011, 10:22:16 PM
Personally I think Galvin comes in for a serious amount of criticism, some of it unwarranted - but such is the nature of the beast  - it is always going to be that way. That said - I don't think he (nor any other second or third pass college student) should be eligable for Sigerson cup. Nothing to do with the length of course (which could be a semi valid reason - 1 year course?), nor the study material. I'd prefer a system where the students get one declaration for their university- with one transfer situation allowed for if needed. A clock starts ticking at the freshers stage and after that there are 5 consecutive years to play for the university. This accounts for 4 year courses with a year out (for any reason). When you have college teams offering more than a backbone of established intercounty players - then it is just intercounty football in another guise.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 10:27:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 10:11:57 PM

I wouldn't have particularly strong feelings either way about him but he's becoming the David Beckham of the GAA and it's a bit fecking boring.

We'll have a kiss and tell next.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 30, 2011, 10:51:14 PM
I read his fashion column in Saturday's indo. He said socks were in this year.
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2011, 11:53:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 30, 2011, 10:27:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 10:11:57 PM

I wouldn't have particularly strong feelings either way about him but he's becoming the David Beckham of the GAA and it's a bit fecking boring.

We'll have a kiss and tell next.

No thanks, I'm married.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 31, 2011, 08:54:12 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 30, 2011, 10:51:14 PM

i never realised they were out must get up to date on this fashion crack .
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 31, 2011, 12:43:41 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 31, 2011, 08:54:12 AM

Wearing socks inside-out is in. Or are they out? I'm not sure.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 31, 2011, 12:50:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 30, 2011, 08:56:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 30, 2011, 08:37:52 PM

That thin line would exist between the two. He refers to both without pointing in any way to anything in between.

He specifically says not to confuse them. I interpret that as meaning you may think your are being one (enigma) while in your confusion you are being the other (asshole).
The thin line isn't a space that exists between the two; it separates the two. And yes, your interpretation is correct - but he left it open to that interpretation.
Post by: rosnarun on February 01, 2011, 12:34:37 AM

as soon as sweeney starts paying him im sure Galvin will have no problem being at his beck and call.

do people have a problem with mature students or just fooballing mature or just paul galvin
no one seems to mind an equally  ol peader gardiner or getting there alan dillion playing ?
or is it just because of the whole fashion/homosexual link?
Post by: gerry on February 01, 2011, 07:07:32 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 31, 2011, 08:54:12 AM

i wonder did paul get the job of designing these

Meanwhile, new attire to be worn by GAA referees will be unveiled at Croke Park later today. New black, red and blue strips have been designed for referees as part of an extensive makeover.

It is also anticipated that umpires will ditch the white coats in preference for a modern look based on the shirts worn by AFL umpires. This has not yet been finalised, however. (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sludden-kept-out-of-league-picture-for-first-weekend-2518827.html)
Post by: Hardy on February 01, 2011, 10:27:28 AM
Quote from: gerry on February 01, 2011, 07:07:32 AM

It is also anticipated that umpires will ditch the white coats in preference for a modern look based on the shirts worn by AFL umpires.  (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sludden-kept-out-of-league-picture-for-first-weekend-2518827.html)

That's brilliant, especially if they have to wear the the little trilby hats. A clown should always have a funny hat, I think.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 18, 2011, 09:49:39 PM
Good interview with Tomas...gives Paul a wee touch at the end :D :D

http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/22/tuesday/2/popup
Title: Documentary
Post by: 5 Sams on August 09, 2011, 10:20:53 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on December 23, 2010, 05:03:14 PM
Galvinised
Tuesday 28 December - 21:35 on RTE1

Agus arís anocht ar fiche do dtí a haon déag ar RTE 1...
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 09, 2011, 10:32:57 PM
Enjoyed that show, like galvin alot, great great player........................
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 10, 2011, 12:10:41 AM
The show made him come across as a decent lad, a bit full of his self importance, the irony of the media invading his private life on a show following him was clearly lost, but a nice lad none the less.

And sure if ge wants to go into fashion who gives a f**k, more power to him.

Savage footballer, that's all that matters in my book.......... Now if he could only pick up that injury where the harder he try's to run the slower he gets again we'd all be happier
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 10, 2011, 07:27:58 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 31, 2011, 12:43:41 PM
Wearing socks inside-out is in. Or are they out? I'm not sure.

Some socks are better worn inside out so the seams don't chafe your toes. It seems that they put the seams on the inside and they're uncomfortable, it's more comfortable if you wear them the 'wrong' way with the seams on the outside. Socks with decent seams (like sports socks) are okay, a bit more thought seems to have been put into the seams.
Post by: gaagaa on August 10, 2011, 10:58:54 PM
i wasn't that impressed with him "JayZ wnts to meet me" and all that crap  ::)

jeez those jeans need to go  ???

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 11, 2011, 07:45:57 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on August 10, 2011, 10:58:54 PM

Ah it was good crack...................mans gotta have a dream outside of the gaa

the jeans with socks and boots were a bit much  ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 11, 2011, 08:27:07 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 11, 2011, 07:45:57 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on August 10, 2011, 10:58:54 PM

Ah it was good crack...................mans gotta have a dream outside of the gaa

the jeans with socks and boots were a bit much  ;D

SINA whats your problem with Paul Galvin?
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2013, 10:42:35 AM
Had Paul Galvin been dishing this out, he'd have been hung, drawn and quartered and would have had an "appointment" with the CCC in Dublin at this stage.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/galvin-arrives-to-rebel-welcome-29151327.html

The look on Noel O'Leary's face is priceless.
Post by: rrhf on March 25, 2013, 10:55:26 AM
Unbelievable catalogue of offences there: Biting, pummelling by the elbow, gouging.  Id expect there to be repercussions.  The black card will no doubt prevent this happening in future. These boys need a month each. 
Post by: God14 on March 25, 2013, 10:58:40 AM
unbelievable pic that. wonder how the incident looked in real time?

Noel O'Leary is one hardy boy... thats the most positive term i could think of to describe him!
Post by: Main Street on March 25, 2013, 03:02:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 25, 2013, 10:42:35 AM
The look on Noel O'Leary's face is priceless.
The 'fingers caught in the till' look.
Galvin would be forgiven for letting his gnashers bite down hard.

Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2013, 05:34:44 PM
Galvin has to be done for biting there. Kissane and O'Leary do well not to react.
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2013, 06:24:03 PM
The Central Council has confirmed it is to establish an investigation into allegations of biting during Sunday's national football league game between Kerry and Cork. The referee's report of referee is exptected to say that as son as Galvin came on as sub, he looked boxing and bit Noel O'Leary with O'Leary reportedly going to Tralee General Hospital for treatment on the bitten finger.

At a meeting this evening the Central Council GAA competitions control committee "agreed to establish an investigation" that will be "based on the contents of the referee's report and few partial Cork supporters and officials which should be more than enough to find Galvin guilty."

Making the announcement on Twitter, the Council added: "A group has been established to conduct the investigation and will be reporting back to the CCC in due course.

"There will be no further comment on this issue until the investigation is complete."

Cork's Noel O'Leary alleged he was repeatedly physically abused by Paul Galvin and that the Gooch gave him a dirty look during Sunday's defeat in Tralee.

Ard Stiurthoir Padraig Duffy made it clear yesterday, that any player found guilty of biting will face severe penalties and that if it is found to be Galvin, they're talking about debarment and excommunication from the chapel as well as refusing entry to all boutiques in Dublin.

Kerry have promised to "cooperate fully" with the investigation, admitting they were "shocked and saddened but not surprised" by the allegations.

© 2013 irishtimes.com
Post by: BartSimpson on March 25, 2013, 10:28:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 25, 2013, 06:24:03 PM
The Central Council has confirmed it is to establish an investigation into allegations of biting during Sunday's national football league game between Kerry and Cork. The referee's report of referee is exptected to say that as son as Galvin came on as sub, he looked boxing and bit Noel O'Leary with O'Leary reportedly going to Tralee General Hospital for treatment on the bitten finger.

At a meeting this evening the Central Council GAA competitions control committee "agreed to establish an investigation" that will be "based on the contents of the referee's report and few partial Cork supporters and officials which should be more than enough to find Galvin guilty."

Making the announcement on Twitter, the Council added: "A group has been established to conduct the investigation and will be reporting back to the CCC in due course.

"There will be no further comment on this issue until the investigation is complete."

Cork's Noel O'Leary alleged he was repeatedly physically abused by Paul Galvin and that the Gooch gave him a dirty look during Sunday's defeat in Tralee.

Ard Stiurthoir Padraig Duffy made it clear yesterday, that any player found guilty of biting will face severe penalties and that if it is found to be Galvin, they're talking about debarment and excommunication from the chapel as well as refusing entry to all boutiques in Dublin.

Kerry have promised to "cooperate fully" with the investigation, admitting they were "shocked and saddened but not surprised" by the allegations.

© 2013 irishtimes.com
LOL
Post by: Main Street on March 25, 2013, 10:42:30 PM
Orangeman's on a roll,
staring at that Div 2 trapdoor does bring out the biting humour.
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2013, 11:00:58 PM
Except that he's from Tyrone.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 25, 2013, 11:10:57 PM
You can be sure those offences are noted in the black book and that those Cork boyos will get their cuppance come July..........
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2013, 10:56:03 AM
The statement he released about his beard on his blog is hilarious. Fair play to him for having a laugh at himself.

http://www.thisispaulgalvin.com/
Post by: orangeman on March 26, 2013, 11:26:01 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 26, 2013, 10:56:03 AM
The statement he released about his beard on his blog is hilarious. Fair play to him for having a laugh at himself.

http://www.thisispaulgalvin.com/

CCC will question him about the length of his beard when he appears before them to explain what went on v Cork.

A representative of the GPA has been dispatched to Cill na Martra with a bottle of Lucozade and a bunch of grapes and a Get Well Soon card.
Post by: deiseach on March 26, 2013, 11:40:40 AM
Paul Galvin has always struck me as being a bit of a knob. Having read that 'statement', I'm inclined to change my mind.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 26, 2013, 11:48:05 AM
I know the Kerry ones are always spying on us Tyronies but they need to live their own lives.

(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2008/0927/1222419961833_1.jpg?ts=1222543441)
Post by: spuds on March 26, 2013, 12:16:32 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 26, 2013, 11:48:05 AM
I know the Kerry ones are always spying on us Tyronies but they need to live their own lives.

(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2008/0927/1222419961833_1.jpg?ts=1222543441)

(http://www.classicalvalues.com/Jed-Clampett.jpg)
Post by: BennyHarp on April 09, 2013, 10:06:48 AM
Hadn't realised who the lad's father was ..... He's lucky to get away with a €8000 fine  :)

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/kerry-star-galvin-and-school-pay-8000-to-boy-in-duster-case-29182686.html
Post by: God14 on April 09, 2013, 10:41:57 AM
Galvins an absolute tr**p!

Im sure that the young kid must have been out of line, but you cant expect to throw a duster at a 15 year old, cut him, and there to be no consequences... Fair play to the young lad & his father for highlighting the incident, & bringing it to court.

I hope he use's the 8k wisely.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 09, 2013, 11:06:34 AM
I think Galvin has calmed down a bit though in the last year or two.
He's found his right clothes now and he's become a bit more mature I think.

Is he still teaching I wonder or has he moved into fashion design?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 09, 2013, 11:15:09 AM
I'm sure that money will be put into the party pot will all the other money that members of SF 'earn' and will be spread out across the board, maybe to get this wan a new dress or something designed by PG himself :-*

(http://img.spokeo.com/public/900-600/toireasa_ferris_2006_02_15.jpg)
Post by: ballinaman on April 09, 2013, 12:01:11 PM
Jeeze, I should be a millionaire...Often had to hold both my arms up in the air for the day after not putting my hand up when answering a question.

Another good one was standing up for the day when you were answering a question and if you did it twice in a week, you'd have to stand up for the week.

What a legend of a teacher when I look back on it, hilarious. ;D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2013, 05:38:25 PM
Hit on the head with a duster, thats f**k all, lads these days went to school, back in the 80`s when the cane and ruler was used for corrective behaviour. Anyone acting the bollix got a well deserved clip out of view in the store as well. Sign of the times, u took your medicine if you were outa line. These days the kids know the law better than adults, combine that with parents letting kids run riot at home, half the reason today youth got no manners
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 09, 2013, 06:50:13 PM
Duster? Pah! Teacher in our school used to throw hammers at us.
Post by: RMDrive on April 09, 2013, 06:52:40 PM
Our teachers used to throw other students at us after giving them dusters and hammers to hold.
Post by: muppet on April 09, 2013, 06:53:02 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 09, 2013, 06:50:13 PM
Duster? Pah! Teacher in our school used to throw hammers at us.

We used to get dropped, head first, from the top of the Chapel tower. Then they drove a tractor over us before feeding us to the pigs.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2013, 07:37:50 PM
Sheer luxury. Oh what we wouldn't have given to be dropped, head first, from the top of the Chapel tower. Then have a tractor driven over us before feeding us to the pigs.

We used to have traipse up to the convent full of pimply girls and mad nuns in Longford town to sing in front of them while they chose which one of us they wanted to humiliate further.
Post by: Minder on April 09, 2013, 07:48:21 PM
"The teenager was "shocked and distressed" and taken to a GP. He sustained a laceration to his scalp and was bleeding. He was left with a scar to his head, and he suffered pain, upset and inconvenience. He also suffered distress, psychological upset and his social, domestic and recreational life was affected, according to the claim."

Pure shite
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2013, 08:17:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2013, 07:37:50 PM
Sheer luxury. Oh what we wouldn't have given to be dropped, head first, from the top of the Chapel tower. Then have a tractor driven over us before feeding us to the pigs.

We used to have traipse up to the convent full of pimply girls and mad nuns in Longford town to sing in front of them while they chose which one of us they wanted to humiliate further.
Was that in German ?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 09, 2013, 08:19:27 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2013, 07:37:50 PM

Sisters of Mercy nuns? You were lucky.   We had to crawled naked through the briers in the Park while Dick Dargan bate us over the hole with his little purple hurling stick(oh Matron!),  the whole way down to the Portakabins of the nuns of the Scared Heart who would then invite the nuns in from the Poor Clares beside them whereby they would rub vinegar into the scratches on our arses and after that they would get the 7th year girls to line us up and giggle at our puny(or not so puny, raaaahr!) appendages!  We would then be made parade up and down the Mall wearing their beautiful bottle green uniforms on us singing 'i'm a little teapot!'!!!!!
Post by: 5 Sams on April 09, 2013, 09:16:34 PM
Holy fcuk BC1?.......Dick Dargan!!! Remember that hoor.
There were some sadistic bastards in that school in my time. I'll not bother naming any of them cos there's a few of them still around >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2013, 09:31:01 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 09, 2013, 09:16:34 PM
Holy fcuk BC1?.......Dick Dargan!!! Remember that hoor.
There were some sadistic b**tards in that school in my time. I'll not bother naming any of them cos there's a few of them still around >:(
They must be in the running for world's oldest man.

Quote from: Minder on April 09, 2013, 07:48:21 PM
"The teenager was "shocked and distressed" and taken to a GP. He sustained a laceration to his scalp and was bleeding. He was left with a scar to his head, and he suffered pain, upset and inconvenience. He also suffered distress, psychological upset and his social, domestic and recreational life was affected, according to the claim."

Pure shite

The psychological trauma and nightmares is a great one these days when the old physical scars let you down.
Post by: rrhf on April 09, 2013, 11:21:39 PM
Wrong uniform? 
Post by: orangeman on September 28, 2014, 07:23:00 PM
This Dromintee thing has got out of hand. Men wearing jeans to matches needs dealt with. Paddy doesn't seem to have trained much if any before the final.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/shocking-scenes-as-paul-galvin-attacked-by-pitch-invader-with-hurley-in-club-final-30622085.html
Post by: BennyCake on September 28, 2014, 07:28:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 28, 2014, 07:23:00 PM
This Dromintee thing has got out of hand. Men wearing jeans to matches needs dealt with. Paddy doesn't seem to have trained much if any before the final.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/shocking-scenes-as-paul-galvin-attacked-by-pitch-invader-with-hurley-in-club-final-30622085.html

Paidi was right...
Post by: sans pessimism on September 28, 2014, 07:56:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 28, 2014, 07:23:00 PM

Christ,if Barrett had a hurley in Limerick,he'd have done some slaughterin!!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 28, 2014, 08:01:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 28, 2014, 07:28:55 PM
"We're not used to this kind of thing in Kerry".

Eh, in fairness in North Kerry, especially in the hurling, yes we are! There has been some absolute carnage over the years and they now bring in refs from outside the county for every championship game. Apparently Galvin had a row with a Kilmoyley player and they both got booked, then this nutter ran in and started swinging at Galvin..he should get a 5 year ban at least, but of course won't.
Post by: Jinxy on September 28, 2014, 09:31:14 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 28, 2014, 08:01:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 28, 2014, 07:28:55 PM
"We're not used to this kind of thing in Kerry".

Eh, in fairness in North Kerry, especially in the hurling, yes we are! There has been some absolute carnage over the years and they now bring in refs from outside the county for every championship game. Apparently Galvin had a row with a Kilmoyley player and they both got booked, then this nutter ran in and started swinging at Galvin..he should get a 5 year ban at least, but of course won't.

Was it his aul fella that ran on?
That's usually the way these things work.
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2014, 12:04:58 AM
The GAA have issued new guidelines on how to deal with pitch invaders and are recommending the College football model in USA :

http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-how-to-deal-with-a-pitch-invader-college-football-coach-body-slams-fan-30621818.html
Post by: armaghniac on September 29, 2014, 12:29:27 AM
At least in Armagh when there are club officials in jeans on the pitch they only take phone calls rather than battering people with sticks.
Post by: didlyi on September 29, 2014, 12:41:22 AM
I can tell by the grip that lad has on the hurl that he never hit an honest puck of a sliothar in his life. Why is that these mad fools always make it on to the sidelines of our games.
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2014, 08:45:11 AM
Looking at the pictures it looks like Paddy didn't fare that well in the row. He seemed happy enough to get out of it with just a bloody nose.

O'Neills will soon be doing a retro denim look after all the recent goings on.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 29, 2014, 09:11:36 AM
Why was the tube not arrested?
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2014, 09:25:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 29, 2014, 09:11:36 AM

Club vice chairman and Lixnaw don't want to take the matter further.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 29, 2014, 10:56:32 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 29, 2014, 09:25:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 29, 2014, 09:11:36 AM

Club vice chairman and Lixnaw don't want to take the matter further.

Heard he was a club official but shouldn't really be anyones choice.
Post by: johnneycool on September 29, 2014, 01:33:59 PM
Quote from: didlyi on September 29, 2014, 12:41:22 AM
I can tell by the grip that lad has on the hurl that he never hit an honest puck of a sliothar in his life. Why is that these mad fools always make it on to the sidelines of our games.

Thought the same myself, someone should have taken it of him and drove the hurl up his hole sideways.
Post by: shawshank on September 29, 2014, 03:57:12 PM
Hard to believe but they are everywhere, we had a prominent official in Derry Gerard O'Kane, an ex County Board Chairman who only recently went on to the pitch after a championship match and allegedly started getting involved in a bully bat, he completely lost the run of himself, couldn't be restrained, allegedly he has received a six month suspension.
Post by: Jinxy on September 29, 2014, 04:05:08 PM
What's a bully bat?
Post by: J OGorman on September 29, 2014, 04:08:12 PM
Quote from: shawshank on September 29, 2014, 03:57:12 PM
Hard to believe but they are everywhere, we had a prominent official in Derry Gerard O'Kane, an ex County Board Chairman who only recently went on to the pitch after a championship match and allegedly started getting involved in a bully bat, he completely lost the run of himself, couldn't be restrained, allegedly he has received a six month suspension.

The one man Derry PR machine continues una'bat'ed
Post by: cuyahoga on September 30, 2014, 03:13:14 PM

What's a bully bat?

...is a row.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 02, 2014, 12:28:57 AM
At the risk of sounding like a name dropper..... ;) ;). I was talking to Jimmy Deenihan today...he tried to convince me that in his day Galvin's hurlin skills would have put him in the same league as the Tipp and Kilkenny lads. Any thoughts from the North Kerry lads on here? Found it hard to believe.
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 02, 2014, 12:28:57 AM
At the risk of sounding like a name dropper..... ;) ;). I was talking to Jimmy Deenihan today...he tried to convince me that in his day Galvin's hurlin skills would have put him in the same league as the Tipp and Kilkenny (football) lads. Any thoughts from the North Kerry lads on here? Found it hard to believe.

That is probably what he meant.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2014, 01:04:53 AM
At the risk of sounding like a name dropper..... ;) ;). I was talking to Jimmy Deenihan today...he tried to convince me that in his day Galvin's hurlin skills would have put him in the same league as the Tipp and Kilkenny lads. Any thoughts from the North Kerry lads on here? Found it hard to believe.

Jimmy doesn't be too well at times.  :)
Post by: AZOffaly on October 02, 2014, 10:08:16 AM
Galvin has always been known as a better hurler than a footballer. As to whether his touch would be at a Kilkenny level or whatever, hard to say because he never developed it in that sort of environment. The Kerry lads first touch was woeful against even Offaly this year, so I don't think Galvin would have been at that level either. But could he have progressed to that level if he was from Tipp or Kilkenny? Absolutely.
Post by: Keane on October 02, 2014, 10:26:01 AM
I wouldn't think there's anything intrinsic to people inside the imaginary lines that make Kilkenny or Tipp that make their people with natural talent for hurling levels above those born inside other imaginary lines with natural talent for hurling. I'm sure there are people from Kerry to Kuala Lumpur born with the intrinsic pace, strength, hand-eye coordination etc to be marvellous hurlers, the difference is how that talent gets looked after.

From that POV I'm sure Galvin was an extremely talented hurler, but I would seriously doubt he would have looked like he belonged in a top class Intercounty match.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 02, 2014, 10:30:03 AM
Exactly.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 02, 2014, 07:44:37 PM

He was good, very good by Kerry standards..but that's a massive exaggeration by Jimmy. If he grew up in Kilkenny or somewhere sure..but he never even played hurling in UCC and he wouldn't have been a Fitz player if he did.
Maybe some people still don't realise this but Galvin and Fitzmaurice are from Lixnaw. There is no football played in Lixnaw, hurling only. It's on the dividing line of that hurling enclave in North East Kerry. Galvin would be about 7-8 miles from Finuge which is where he played his football. He even went to secondary school in Causeway Comp which is predominantly hurling. It's part of the reason he was a bit of a late developer in football.
Post by: orangeman on October 03, 2014, 12:09:04 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 02, 2014, 07:44:37 PM

He was good, very good by Kerry standards..but that's a massive exaggeration by Jimmy. If he grew up in Kilkenny or somewhere sure..but he never even played hurling in UCC and he wouldn't have been a Fitz player if he did.
Maybe some people still don't realise this but Galvin and Fitzmaurice are from Lixnaw. There is no football played in Lixnaw, hurling only. It's on the dividing line of that hurling enclave in North East Kerry. Galvin would be about 7-8 miles from Finuge which is where he played his football. He even went to secondary school in Causeway Comp which is predominantly hurling. It's part of the reason he was a bit of a late developer in football.

Imagine how good he'd have been had he been football only ?. Galvin was and is a serious talent.
Post by: theticklemister on October 03, 2014, 06:22:40 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 03, 2014, 12:09:04 AM

Imagine how good he'd have been had he been football only ?. Galvin was and is a serious talent.

The old clothes melarkey has hindered his football career alright
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2014, 09:11:17 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 03, 2014, 06:22:40 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 03, 2014, 12:09:04 AM

The old clothes melarkey has hindered his football career alright

I'd say it's not the only thing that 'hindered' him...

(http://www.thisispaulgalvin.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/20130326-095852.jpg)
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2014, 12:36:08 PM
(http://thisispaulgalvin.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/IMG_0727.png)

The red shoes diaries.............
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2014, 12:55:19 PM
Miss Duffy wore wore red shoes in a number of photos when I was stalking sorry researching her photos so maybe it is a theme they have (or maybe she only has 1 pair of shoes!!!)
Post by: Jinxy on October 03, 2014, 12:58:55 PM
I have to say, he's done very well for himself has Paul.
Louise Duffy is probably the only person on Irish radio I actually enjoy listening to.
Lovely genuine personality and a great sense of humour as well.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2014, 06:33:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 03, 2014, 12:58:55 PM
I have to say, he's done very well for himself has Paul.
Louise Duffy is probably the only person on Irish radio I actually enjoy listening to.
Lovely genuine personality and a great sense of humour as well.

I have no idea who she is, but I agree looking at her picture.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 07, 2014, 01:28:55 PM
Galvin on the Late Late tonight apparently..
Post by: rodney trotter on March 03, 2015, 07:24:15 PM
http://t.co/ZBPGf7P4LD

Three-time All Star Paul Galvin has re-joined the Kerry senior football squad and resumed training.

Éamonn Fitzmaurice said that Galvin would be training with the squad on Tuesday evening.

Galvin, who has won four All-Ireland titles, three National League medals and seven Munster Championships with the Kingdom, retired last February.

The 35-year-old's glittering inter-county career was pock-marked by controversy, including a six-month ban in 2008 for slapping the notebook from referee Paddy Russell's hands and an eight-week ban in 2010 for an incident involving Cork's Eoin Cadogan.

More recently, he was attacked with a hurley while playing for his club Lixnaw in the Kerry senior hurling final in September.
Post by: Frank Casey on March 03, 2015, 07:36:06 PM
(http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inp00715724.jpg)

http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inp00715724.jpg (http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inp00715724.jpg)

Noel O'Leary being sent for urgently by Cork Management

Pairc Ui Rinn next Sunday at 2.00pm - we've missed this......................
Post by: yellowcard on March 03, 2015, 07:43:04 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 03, 2015, 07:24:15 PM
http://t.co/ZBPGf7P4LD

Three-time All Star Paul Galvin has re-joined the Kerry senior football squad and resumed training.

Éamonn Fitzmaurice said that Galvin had trained with the squad on Tuesday evening.

Galvin, who has won four All-Ireland titles, three National League medals and seven Munster Championships with the Kingdom, retired last February.

The 35-year-old's glittering inter-county career was pock-marked by controversy, including a six-month ban in 2008 for slapping the notebook from referee Paddy Russell's hands and an eight-week ban in 2010 for an incident involving Cork's Eoin Cadogan.

More recently, he was attacked with a hurley while playing for his club Lixnaw in the Kerry senior hurling final in September.

I find it very strange that after winning an AI with a fresh team last year that Fitzmaurice has gone back and recalled a 35 year old who struggled to win a place on the team before finally retiring at the start of last year. What next, Tomas O'Se to make a return also? Can he really improve an all Ireland winning team at 35 years of age?
Post by: rodney trotter on March 03, 2015, 07:56:52 PM
Yeah strange enough, but he will add more strength and depth to panel. It will be 3 new additions to the team/ panel, with Walsh and Cooper. I thought he was fairly impressive in his last apperance against Dublin in 2013. He would be naturally fit anyway, shouldn't make a big difference at 35.

He probaly regrets retiring and didn't think Sam was possible last year after O Se and Brosnan retiring.
Post by: larryin89 on March 03, 2015, 08:25:07 PM
Good to hear ,great player and will still be able to play a role at 35, no bother to him.

Any Gaelic football person who thinks Kerry ever make a move like this without giving it great thought is not the full shillin.
Post by: orangeman on March 03, 2015, 08:51:51 PM
Welcome back. The game needs men like this.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2015, 09:15:11 PM

Great boost for best squad out there already. Great player. Brilliantly athletic so age not a big issue.
Post by: yellowcard on March 03, 2015, 09:24:02 PM
Don't agree, great player in his day but his game was based mostly on athleticism and work rate, his last year or two he struggled with the pace of the game and rarely completed 70 minutes. He won't have got any better since. It's no slight on the player but how many 35 year olds are still playing at the top level in Gaelic football? More than likely a romantic notion that he can come back and win another All Ireland and credit to him if he does it and makes a contribution he must really have missed the game.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 03, 2015, 09:29:00 PM
He would be a good player to bring on for the last 15/20 minutes, very calm in possesion, and able to use his experience.

Marc O Se will be 35 in April.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 03, 2015, 09:37:34 PM
Delighted to hear this. He has been missed.
Post by: rrhf on March 03, 2015, 09:40:48 PM
I think its great when the retired players make a comeback.  Fair play to him.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2015, 09:55:48 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 03, 2015, 09:24:02 PM
Don't agree, great player in his day but his game was based mostly on athleticism and work rate, his last year or two he struggled with the pace of the game and rarely completed 70 minutes. He won't have got any better since. It's no slight on the player but how many 35 year olds are still playing at the top level in Gaelic football? More than likely a romantic notion that he can come back and win another All Ireland and credit to him if he does it and makes a contribution he must really have missed the game.

Sure we ll see how it pans out. He had some radar for where to be on the pitch. Other men can work as hard but will never be in the right place as much as he would be. He wouldn t come back unless he was still up to it.
Glad he s back but might regret that sentiment later.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 03, 2015, 09:56:32 PM
There must be nothing coming through in Kerry. Worrying times for the Kingdom.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 03, 2015, 10:06:11 PM
Delighted to see him back. Fitzmaurice obviously has a role in mind for him. He is building a serious squad there. Sheehan is at the top of his game already early in the league..when did that happen before? David Moran is turning into one of the best players in the country. Gooch, M Sé Mahony and JOD still to return. Paul Geaney flying. The new young defenders like Murphy, Sherwood and Griffin are stepping up to the mark. Then we have Donaghy doing his stuff as well. Ominous .
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 03, 2015, 10:29:37 PM
Not sure I really see the point in this move. Galvin, great player though he was really looked like he was slowing down considerably during his last 18 months of playing intercounty. After over a year off and at 35 that situation will hardly have improved any. It won't be a 28 year old Galvin returning. That said if they want to throw an experienced player on for 20 minutes I guess you can see the logic.
Post by: haze on March 03, 2015, 10:42:16 PM
What a headache for Fitzmaurice - he can pick 6 from Gooch, Paul Geaney, Michael Geaney, Tommy Walsh, Donnacha Walsh, Darren O'Sullivan, BJ Keane, Donaghy, B.Sheehan, Stephen O'Brien, James O'Donoghue, J.Buckley, KOLeary and now Galvin
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2015, 11:01:56 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 03, 2015, 10:29:37 PM
Not sure I really see the point in this move. Galvin, great player though he was really looked like he was slowing down considerably during his last 18 months of playing intercounty. After over a year off and at 35 that situation will hardly have improved any. It won't be a 28 year old Galvin returning. That said if they want to throw an experienced player on for 20 minutes I guess you can see the logic.

Didn't notice that myself. It s not a 70 min game for him now anyway. You let Donnacha Walsh annoy the shite out of opposition for 50 mins and miraculously avoid any colour of card (with his angelic face and hair,obviously beyond reproach) and then unleash Galvin. That s just one way to use him.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 03, 2015, 11:13:57 PM
Quote from: haze on March 03, 2015, 10:42:16 PM
What a headache for Fitzmaurice - he can pick 6 from Gooch, Paul Geaney, Michael Geaney, Tommy Walsh, Donnacha Walsh, Darren O'Sullivan, BJ Keane, Donaghy, B.Sheehan, Stephen O'Brien, James O'Donoghue, J.Buckley, KOLeary and now Galvin
Buckley and  Sheehan can play midfield as well. Another headache. Maher and Moran the incumbents. Poor Kerry...nothing coming through?? :'(
Post by: rrhf on March 03, 2015, 11:23:16 PM
No all Ireland won in march
Post by: blanketattack on March 03, 2015, 11:30:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 03, 2015, 10:06:11 PM
Delighted to see him back. Fitzmaurice obviously has a role in mind for him. He is building a serious squad there. Sheehan is at the top of his game already early in the league..when did that happen before? David Moran is turning into one of the best players in the country. Gooch, M Sé Mahony and JOD still to return. Paul Geaney flying. The new young defenders like Murphy, Sherwood and Griffin are stepping up to the mark. Then we have Donaghy doing his stuff as well. Ominous .

Building a squad capable of retaining an All-Ireland is tricky but not impossible but what I'm dreaming of achieving is the holy grail of Kerry Gaelic Football - that one involving the number '5', yes I'm talking about finally getting the Down monkey off our backs  :)
Post by: NP 76 on March 03, 2015, 11:33:54 PM
It has to end sometime Blanket
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2015, 11:34:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 03, 2015, 11:23:16 PM

Eh?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 03, 2015, 11:40:20 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 03, 2015, 11:34:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 03, 2015, 11:23:16 PM

Eh?

Corofin & Slaughtneil are going to be raging when they hear about this
Post by: From the Bunker on March 04, 2015, 12:23:06 AM
Big ask for to expect Walsh, Gooch and Galvin to hit the heights of former years.
Gooch has had a serious injury, he's in his 30's now. There will be a loss of pace plus will there be fear of injury again? He'll get extra special attention and extra hits to test his nerve.
Walsh has suffered continuously with injury. If a professional Aussie outfit could not sort this out the last 5 years or so it is unlikely Kerry will? Galvin is 35. There is probably a role for him, but it is hard to see it being longer than a half hour.
Post by: anfheardubh on March 04, 2015, 01:32:29 AM
IS THIS A JOKE ,  CAUSE  I AM LAUGHING MY ARSE OFF

The man is past it and wouldnt cap cows in to a bloody field

Grow up Paul and face facts your legs are gone which was the mainstay of your game and the referees arent pushovers any more

STILL  LAUGHING AT THIS  ,  glad that the osheas  had the common sense to call it a day on top, Galvin will need a running aid
Post by: BennyHarp on March 04, 2015, 06:37:03 AM
Just heading back to a forward line that wasn't good enough in 2008 but is now 7 years older. I'd worry if I was a Kerry fan.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 04, 2015, 07:04:15 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 04, 2015, 06:37:03 AM
Just heading back to a forward line that wasn't good enough in 2008 but is now 7 years older. I'd worry if I was a Kerry fan.

Let's hope they meet you lot this year!
Post by: Hardy on March 04, 2015, 09:56:37 AM
Who does he think he is - David Brady?

No - delighted he's back. Clearly the brother-in-law has a role in mind for him. Probably a last-20 option, as mentioned but he's doubtless a huge asset to the squad even if he never gets game time.
Post by: yellowcard on March 04, 2015, 11:49:02 AM

I'd be more worried if I was a Tyrone fan. Given the players Kerry have to come back in it will be a close call between them and Dublin in the race for this years All Ireland title.
Title: Re: Paul Galvin Did THE BATTLE OF KILLARNEY force his hand
Post by: rrhf on March 04, 2015, 01:46:27 PM
There seem to be a more physical edge to Kerry this year as emphasised in THE BATTLE OF KILLARNEY.  GAlvin seems to be the logical next step
Post by: BennyHarp on March 04, 2015, 03:21:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 04, 2015, 07:04:15 AM

Hopefully we'll have Mugsy and Plunkett Donaghy back by then.  ;)

In all seriousness, although my last few posts were tongue in cheek, I genuinely don't see how or why this would be a good thing for a Kerry team that are All Ireland champions, who must have any number of lads, inspired by that win, chomping at the bit to break into the squad. Eamon Fitzmaurice is a top manager who proved last year he not afraid to make tough calls, like leaving out Thomas o'se for the replay, but in this instance it seems like he has indulged the wishes of a mate who feels that there may a chance to rise his profile again by collecting another All Ireland. Kerry didn't need him last year and they don't need him this year, especially with the return of Gooch and Walsh. In my view this is a step backwards - and I'd say the same if Tyrone recalled Philip Jordan or Stephen O'Neill. I'll ask a serious question that I don't know the answer to, was Paul Galvin one of the outstanding performers in Senior Club football in Kerry this year? Has his form being pushing him for a recall?
Post by: 5 Sams on March 04, 2015, 03:57:15 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 04, 2015, 03:21:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 04, 2015, 07:04:15 AM

Hopefully we'll have Mugsy and Plunkett Donaghy back by then.  ;)

In all seriousness, although my last few posts were tongue in cheek, I genuinely don't see how or why this would be a good thing for a Kerry team that are All Ireland champions, who must have any number of lads, inspired by that win, chomping at the bit to break into the squad. Eamon Fitzmaurice is a top manager who proved last year he not afraid to make tough calls, like leaving out Thomas o'se for the replay, but in this instance it seems like he has indulged the wishes of a mate who feels that there may a chance to rise his profile again by collecting another All Ireland. Kerry didn't need him last year and they don't need him this year, especially with the return of Gooch and Walsh. In my view this is a step backwards - and I'd say the same if Tyrone recalled Philip Jordan or Stephen O'Neill. I'll ask a serious question that I don't know the answer to, was Paul Galvin one of the outstanding performers in Senior Club football in Kerry this year? Has his form being pushing him for a recall?

He didn't play any football in Kerry this year. Just hurling...and with my pedantic head on me..it was Marc Ó Sé who was dropped ;)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 04, 2015, 04:05:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 04, 2015, 09:56:37 AM
Probably a last-20 option, as mentioned but he's doubtless a huge asset to the squad even if he never gets game time.

Yeah I wonder if any bookies are offering odds on him not actually lining out for Kerry again?

This particular Kerry team are still a young enough inexperienced squad overall (despite the All-Ireland win) bar a couple of exceptions, so I think an experienced campaigner joining the battle for a squad place puts more pressure on others to perform and maintain standards.

The thing is that even if he doesn't make the bench for Kerry's Munster semi-final, Cuthbert and co will surely have to spend some time trying to figure out some potential counter-tactics for fear that he might make an appearance at some stage in the Munster final.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 04, 2015, 06:26:28 PM
Maor Uisce Id imagine.................. glad hes back around, I like hs head and tight shorts
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 04, 2015, 06:45:55 PM
Abit of Stephnes King`s "Sometimes they come back",
Will be a benefit in the last 15 mins, but woudlnt be starting for the Green and Gold,
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2015, 06:52:12 PM
If the Kingdom don't want him we could use him in the West.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 04, 2015, 08:23:16 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 04, 2015, 01:46:27 PM
There seem to be a more physical edge to Kerry this year as emphasised in THE BATTLE OF KILLARNEY.  GAlvin seems to be the logical next step

Where were you last year? They battered everyone (who gave them a game) before and after them last year in the Championship!
Post by: 5 Sams on March 05, 2015, 01:25:02 AM
Kerry lads are split on this one!
http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/thread/5686/paul-galvin-back-training?page=1
Post by: blanketattack on March 05, 2015, 12:52:17 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 04, 2015, 08:23:16 PM

Where were you last year? They battered everyone (who gave them a game) before and after them last year in the Championship!

Red card count says differently - more sinned against than sinned.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 05, 2015, 01:06:53 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on March 05, 2015, 12:52:17 PM

yup.Lads were able to kick us around the place last year and escape suspension. It's a miracle that we won anything.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 05, 2015, 02:59:45 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 05, 2015, 01:06:53 PM

yup.Lads were able to kick us around the place last year and escape suspension. It's a miracle that we won anything.

Pish! What were the black and yellow card counts?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 05, 2015, 03:06:21 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 05, 2015, 02:59:45 PM

Even your fans attacked our players for gods sake ! Definitely more sinned against than sinned.

Post by: Thy Kingdom Come on March 05, 2015, 03:33:23 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 05, 2015, 03:06:21 PM

Even your fans attacked our players for gods sake ! Definitely more sinned against than sinned.

Do the Red Card count Mr. Bunker! Mayo players sent off in both games!!!!! Mayo fans play the holier than thou card, but the reality is far from the truth.
Post by: Hardy on March 05, 2015, 07:33:00 PM
Quote from: Thy Kingdom Come on March 05, 2015, 03:33:23 PMthe reality is far from the truth.

OK
Post by: BennyHarp on March 05, 2015, 07:46:40 PM
Quote from: Thy Kingdom Come on March 05, 2015, 03:33:23 PM

Do the Red Card count Mr. Bunker! Mayo players sent off in both games!!!!! Mayo fans play the holier than thou card, but the reality is far from the truth.

This is rich coming from a Kerry fan.  :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 05, 2015, 07:52:09 PM

I thought he ran after the ref...but he gave ye almost everything that day so I suppose he was one of your players.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 06, 2015, 09:29:48 PM
Pat Spillane hopes he proves wrong in his opinion that Paul Galvin's return to the Kerry jersey will backfire.

The outspoken RTE pundit would like to see it work out but can't help thinking it's a gamble not worth taking by Eamonn Fitzmaurice.

"The bottom line is I think, personally speaking, that it's a major mistake," the eight- time All-Ireland winner revealed to The Irish Independent.

"I think it's going to be a distraction. I think it'll put awful pressure on his brother-in-law, who's the manager, Eamonn Fitzmaurice.

"Paul is 35 and in his last two years with Kerry, 2012 and 2013, he had lost that vital yard of pace and I'm not too sure whether between 33 and 35 that you can get the pace back.

"He's a maverick, an independent man. He was a brilliant servant to Kerry. He was a warrior. I hope it works out but I have a bad feeling."
Post by: muppet on October 17, 2015, 07:58:26 PM
http://www.joe.ie/life-style/video-paul-galvin-has-released-a-line-of-clothing-with-dunnes-stores/516052 (http://www.joe.ie/life-style/video-paul-galvin-has-released-a-line-of-clothing-with-dunnes-stores/516052)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 19, 2015, 03:40:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 17, 2015, 07:58:26 PM
http://www.joe.ie/life-style/video-paul-galvin-has-released-a-line-of-clothing-with-dunnes-stores/516052 (http://www.joe.ie/life-style/video-paul-galvin-has-released-a-line-of-clothing-with-dunnes-stores/516052)

Dunnes should open pop up shops outside The Wolfe Tones gigs.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 03:47:33 PM
Is this a joke? A line of clothing with the English translation of Amhran na bhFiann printed on it? Paul Galvin is a weird cat. :)
Post by: NAG1 on October 19, 2015, 03:53:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 03:47:33 PM
Is this a joke? A line of clothing with the English translation of Amhran na bhFiann printed on it? Paul Galvin is a weird cat. :)

Any one else find that slightly disrespectful or am I being hyper sensitive.

Or maybe that he was going for, courting the publicity.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 03:55:44 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 19, 2015, 03:53:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 03:47:33 PM

Any one else find that slightly disrespectful or am I being hyper sensitive.

Or maybe that he was going for, courting the publicity.

I did, to be honest. It's our national anthem. I'm not that comfortable with someone trying to make money off it for himself.
Post by: rrhf on October 19, 2015, 09:59:06 PM
At least he is proud of it..
Post by: Keyser soze on October 20, 2015, 09:47:54 AM
Surely merits inclusion in the WTF thread.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 20, 2015, 10:22:53 AM
maybe should have got the rugby team to wear some between games
Post by: rosnarun on October 20, 2015, 10:56:46 AM
the Soldiers Song was Written in English and Translated later so i can see any Problem with the lyrics being in English . or am i missing the point?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 20, 2015, 12:04:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 17, 2015, 07:58:26 PM

The video is hilariously pretentious anyway.
Post by: Beffs on October 20, 2015, 11:42:52 PM
I refuse to believe that is a real ad & and not a Waterford Whisperer piss take.  :o
Post by: rrhf on October 25, 2015, 02:03:00 PM
If you grew up on the unforgiving  tough streets of kerry,  unfortunately if you aren't a natural rapper, urban warrior fashion is your only other outlet to express yourself and your grievances.. Fair play but I'd have called the range GALVINised alas not hardcore enough.
Post by: easytiger95 on October 26, 2015, 01:13:26 PM
Read the full press release - Galvin wrote it himself. reminded me a little of this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no_elVGGgW8
Post by: From the Bunker on October 26, 2015, 01:21:42 PM
Is he going to tog out for the Kingdom this year? Personally, I hope so, He made a big impression in the final last year. ;)

No on a serious note, he must have a sh1t load of mirrors in his house. I'd say he spends a lot of time admiring himself.