Ulster Under 21 Football Club Championship (at Creggan)

Started by drici, December 12, 2010, 12:09:55 AM

elk

Quote from: bannside on February 18, 2014, 03:34:28 PM
Does  anyone know how many of the Truagh U-21 team played in their  intermediate All Ireland success or in the build up to it?

They were comfortable enough against Cullyhanna at the weekend, and as KYMI says, they have a lot of momentum going into these semis.

Portglenone weren't fancied to be in the top four in Antrim, we might have been about fifth or sixth in the "perceived" pecking order. Great excitement around the town, we should bring a decent crowd with us on Sunday. Truagh probably a bridge too far - but sure we will go up and give it a lash. Great to get to this stage and every extra day is a bonus now.

A perception is as dangerous as an assumption! Any team with the crowd behind it will be tricky opponents.

Quote from: bannside on February 18, 2014, 02:46:54 PM
Think Clonoe and Warrenpoint will be tight enough.

Anyone fancy putting up what you think the odds should be to win outright?

Portgleone evens favourites.

12-1 bar.

bannside

Even money youre in the bar with odds like those lol.

Any craic

bannside

Truagh just a bit too strong for us (Portglenone) today. We had a horrendous week and lost our captain (Shane Delargy) to tonsilitis and a midfielder diagnosed with bad  flu, (he played against medical advice). We had a player sent off after 5 mins (possibly deserved) and vice captain (Kieran Mc Kenna) black carded after ten (very soft). Thats 4 players from previous games not available or near scratch.

Paul Kane (other midfielder) taken off with hamstring when teams were level after 40 mins, and midfielder with flu (Michael Donnelly) played on with suspected broken hand - will confirm tomorrow. We had no chance with all this going on.

We were in rags at this stage, and our bench had not got the strength in depth needed. Truagh then tagged on a few goals to open up the scoreboard, and ran out easy enough winners at the end.  No sour grapes though. Truagh are a good team with some fine players and we wish them well in the final.

Any craic

Bannside, that's a bad luck to lose all that but I have to say that your lads were fantastic in the first 15 minutes of the second-half. Truagh didn't score for the first 17 minutes despite having a strong breeze and youse pegged it back to level. Great effort.

crookes

Portglenone where definitely well in the game until the final 15 minutes. They just run out of steam by the looks of it. Where they the first Antrim team to reach the Semi Finals?
Where Crookes is, there is light.

Quote from: crookes on February 23, 2014, 11:48:46 PM
Portglenone where definitely well in the game until the final 15 minutes. They just run out of steam by the looks of it. Where they the first Antrim team to reach the Semi Finals?

What about Creggan themselves ?

bannside

Cheers AC and Crookes. We think our luck finally ran out today. To be fair we had plenty of it in earlier rounds.

We really shouldnt have beaten the hosts Creggan.  They were 9 up against us in the Antrim rounds and their best player Martin Johnston got sent off for a soft enough second yellow. But for that we wouldnt have been there at all.  We beat a great Cargin team by a point and they had a few legitimate hard luck claims. We then met the St Pauls Ulster minor champions who were without two of their better players Declan and Ryan Stranney. We wouldnt have at the Creggan tournament if those two were fit.

So we had a great innings. We believe we will be a stronger team next year, so fingers crossed we will be back. Great competition.

Knock Yer Mucker In

Delighted to be in the final, a serious amount of effort from the lads yesterday, and to be in an Ulster u21 final without one of main men speaks volumes, I saw that he came on the last ten minutes, so hopefully he will be ready for the final in 2 weeks time. The club is in rude health with this team coming hot on the heels of the sen success. We have 12 of the team back next season, so there will be further development in many of the players of the next 24 months. Truagh Gaels will be favourites I suspect, but if they are to win they will have a battle royal to over come.

crookes

I think they got beaten in two Quarter Finals and Cargin also got beat in the Quarter Final stages if I'm not mistaken.

Any predictions for the Final? It's pushed back to the 8th now because of MacRory Cup Semis I see..
Where Crookes is, there is light.

Any craic

VIDEO: See brilliant scenes in the Clonoe dressing-room after today's Ulster U-21 Final win, as well as their goal and the cup presentation - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9-_nfaHN5o

Well done to the Rahillys.

Clonoe are in flying form. Well done to all involved. Thid is going to be another Clonoe dynasty.

skeog

clonoe have some future ahead of them great display today