Watching Ireland in the Rugby World Cup in Sydney

Started by plain man, September 05, 2007, 04:30:42 AM

plain man

In Sydney:

Considering the Ireland matches are at either 4am, 5am or 1am in the group stages (and I don't have Foxtel) - does anyone know a decent bar staying open late or opening early to show matches, preferrably with other Irish supporters.

Also, is TEN showing any of the Ireland group matches, I know they're showing all the Group B matches but they also say they're showing another 10 group matches - anyone know what these are, as they're not online yet?

Cheers.

plain man

I'm still looking for a decent bar, PJ Maguires maybe? or has anyone been to Kelly's in Newtown?

..but I've got the TV schedule, its in todays SMH

the games in Irelands group that TEN are showing:

- France v Argentina - 4.30am Saturday Sept. 8th
- France v Ireland - 4.15am Saturday Sept. 22nd
- Ireland v Argentina - 1.15am Monday Oct. 1st

Bod Mor

Quote from: plain man on September 05, 2007, 05:20:56 AM
I'm still looking for a decent bar, PJ Maguires maybe? or has anyone been to Kelly's in Newtown?

..but I've got the TV schedule, its in todays SMH

the games in Irelands group that TEN are showing:

- France v Argentina - 4.30am Saturday Sept. 8th
- France v Ireland - 4.15am Saturday Sept. 22nd
- Ireland v Argentina - 1.15am Monday Oct. 1st

Where is PJ Maguires? Don't you mean PJ O'Briens.
Kelly's in Newtown is a dive and doesn't stay open late as far as I know. I had a pint of Guinness in there once and it was feckin rank!!
The most likely places to watch matches would be either Scruffy Murphy's (if you can manage to hold your breath all night and not smell domestos for the night) or possibly The Pine Inn in Burwood.
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

Think the Score bar in Star City Casino would be a fairly good bet for watching these games - otherwise Scruffy's as Bod mentioned or Cheers the other side of George St

plain man

Thanks for the info, I meant Paddy Maguires in Haymarket..I've heard it can be ok, wouldn't be bother with Scruffy's unless I was really desperate - never really liked that place, but there's cheap grub upstairs.

I'll probably try Cheers or Score.

Thanks

Paddys is OK, you might want to confirm Score before heading down

does the sports bar in kings cross show any of the matches? used to be great craic 5 years ago

plain man

Watched the Australia v Wales match in Score Bar in Star City the other night - wasn't a great atmosphere, think I might give Scruffy's a go for the France match at 5am on Saturday..

Anyone any other ideas?

What is best to do, stay up on the lash on Friday (watch the collingwood match etc.) until 5am, or get up early on the Saurday morning? decisions, decisions.

Gave up the trying to staying up all night on the lash crack, if I tried it now I wouldn't remember the rugby game the next day. I'm getting up to watch it

Fishbat

What about the aussie rules club on darlinghurst road/the cross, the screen in there is huge

plain man

Yeah, you're prob right about the staying up all night craic - wouldn't be so bad if it was 2 or 3am but a 5am kick off means that it'll be 7 or after once its finished...

Yeah, if you're out to watch the AFL it means about 12 hours of drinking, might have managed it once upon a time, but them days are long gone.
Scruffy's is a dump but there should be a good crowd there so the atmosphere should be good