Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Seany on September 21, 2007, 08:51:10 AM

Title: Ronan O Gara and French Media
Post by: Seany on September 21, 2007, 08:51:10 AM
Pardon me, but what was the 'scandalous rumour' that the French media was supposed to have put out about Ronan O Gara? Does anyone know?  I felt the local media were at pains yesterday trying NOT to let the cat out of the bag.  DOes anyone else think that our relationship with the French nation has suffered in recent years due to Rugby and spats between our crowd and their ones?
Title: Re: Ronan O Gara and French Media
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 21, 2007, 09:04:13 AM
He is ALLEGED to have 250K of gambling debts. Good piece on IT4 last night where the journo who wrote it had to be ushered out of the press conference before there was a scrum. It seems to have united the irish team as EOS said "you say something bad about one of us you say it to us all" !!
Post by: Uladh on September 21, 2007, 09:18:56 AM

They went further than that, making allegations about his marriage. to their credit, the irish media didn't even print the stories relating the french rumours.
i'd say a law suit will follow.
Post by: deiseach on September 21, 2007, 09:22:13 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 21, 2007, 09:04:13 AM
It seems to have united the irish team as EOS said "you say something bad about one of us you say it to us all" !!

What an absolute crock. I'm not one for believing that the Irish team somehow lacked 'passion' or 'pride in the jersey' against Namibia and Georgia. But if they turn on the style tonight and Eddie claims these allegations fired them up then basically it confirms that they didn't give a crap in those two games and they all need a good slap.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 21, 2007, 09:29:31 AM
But how can they not give a crap in a world cup game ? a few people are suggesting this, that they intentionally aren't firing on all cylinders and were saving themselves for the last 2 games, but surely this is impossible. 12 months ago we beat SA and Aus and were 2nd fav for the WC, now this last fortnight has been a disaster. I hope O'Gara and the boys have a blinder tonight. If they get slaughtered and also lose to Arg, then EOS has a lot of explaining to do on his return home.
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2007, 09:34:37 AM
At the end of the day tonight's gonna tell it's own tale. Were the team holding back against Georgia and Namibia? Maybe they were and if we have a good performance tonight then we probably were holding back against the Namibians and the Georgians. What would be wrong with that? As long as  we qualify for the Quarters I couldn't care less if Namibia and Georgia both walloped us. It's a tournament and it's about peaking at the right time so who cares if we don't play well against the minnows.

Having said that I don't think that our lacklustre performances can be blamed on holding back. The errors we made and the batterings we took from both teams would point to a team with problems. But as I said, tonight will tell the tale!
Post by: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 10:00:45 AM
Friend of mine went to NUIG and was friendly with a girl from Cork, as he put it a real "uppity, posh bi*ch", well to cut a long story short O'Gara was banging this girls friend and that he "played the field", my mate said she was the best looking woman he ever saw, so fair play to O'Gara
Post by: Bensars on September 21, 2007, 10:09:29 AM
EOS has always said priority was to get out of group.

Whether they were holding back or not its immaterial. It happens to all teams that despite the best intentions , preparations and good enough motivation and passion, that they just dont play well. From what ive seen, although not good, a lot of it seems to be timing issues.

In regards to Ronan o Gara, its his private life, whether true or not and he hasnt sought the media attention. Its obviously a cheap french shot to unsettle preparations.

On a more negitive note, Ireland have only beat France in Paris once in the last 39 years
Post by: thebandit on September 21, 2007, 10:09:39 AM
That's his own business I think
Post by: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 10:11:29 AM
Quote from: thebandit on September 21, 2007, 10:09:39 AM
That's his own business I think

It is but his wandering eye seems to be part of what the French media are getting at.
Post by: Bensars on September 21, 2007, 10:13:20 AM
And the French as a nation, famous for their monogamous  tendancies ::)
Post by: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 10:15:31 AM
Quote from: Bensars on September 21, 2007, 10:13:20 AM
And the French as a nation, famous for their monogamous  tendancies ::)

Unfortunately whether he likes it or not as a professional athlete he is "fair game", surely some of this stuff must have come from an Irish source......
Post by: blast05 on September 21, 2007, 10:46:13 AM
Quotewhether he likes it or not as a professional athlete he is "fair game",

What sort of a warped tabloidesque world do you live in ? Is "fair game" repeating 'libelous' 5th hand stories on an anonymous forum on the web that you step away from feeling happy with yourself for having such a cutting inside angle ? Yes, there is an unstated responsibility for professional sports people that they conduct themselves in an appropriate manner in the PUBLIC arena, however their personal life is just that - personal.
Post by: Hardy on September 21, 2007, 10:51:30 AM
I did a search on L'Equipe's site but I couldn't find that article. I found this, though, as translated by Babelfish:

O' Gara: "That the beginning"

The half of Irish opening Ronan O' Gara weighs less than with accustomed on the play of its selection. That does not seem to have to deteriorate its confidence for as much. "We know that this weekend, if we do not produce a great match, we are likely to return on our premises earlier than envisaged. I hope that this great expiry will mark the beginning of our adventure." Acting of the absence of his companion of always, Peter Stringer, at his sides, as a half of fray, O' Gara made a point of stressing that its substitute, Reddan, are "a player extremely mentally and of great quality. Even if I played only little with him, I know it well. It was exceptional with Wasps this season and deserves what arrives to him. With its alert play, it certainly will shake the back lines." Irish or Frenchwomen?

I couldn't agree more.
Post by: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 10:53:53 AM
Quote from: blast05 on September 21, 2007, 10:46:13 AM
Quotewhether he likes it or not as a professional athlete he is "fair game",

What sort of a warped tabloidesque world do you live in ? Is "fair game" repeating 'libelous' 5th hand stories on an anonymous forum on the web that you step away from feeling happy with yourself for having such a cutting inside angle ? Yes, there is an unstated responsibility for professional sports people that they conduct themselves in an appropriate manner in the PUBLIC arena, however their personal life is just that - personal.

So you have never seen a "kiss & tell" story in a Sunday tabloid, regardless of the rights and wrongs it is a fact of life.
Post by: rosnarun on September 21, 2007, 10:55:01 AM
sad day when a team purporting to represent Ireland have to use Tabloid tattle to get them motivated. they have been far too smug for far too long . thinking that beating a second string auusier team or 3rd string SA team with a dodgy try made them contenders.
and when you dont give a crap about a game that is the definition of no passion even if it is against the chicken farmers of south west africa.
This world cup just get funnier and funnier
Post by: blast05 on September 21, 2007, 11:02:43 AM
QuoteSo you have never seen a "kiss & tell" story in a Sunday tabloid, regardless of the rights and wrongs it is a fact of life.

Of course, but it doesn't make it right - just as it doesn't make it right that you come on here with stories that couldn't even be classified as 'high' as kiss and tell
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 21, 2007, 11:11:44 AM
Lads, O'Garas personal life whether right or wrong, is HIS personal life - "let he who is without sin cast the first stone!"

The real point here is that the French media are using cheap, low dirty tricks to undermine the Irish squad before this crucial game for both teams - smacks of desperation from the French - lets hope Ireland can do their talking on the pitch.
Post by: Orior on September 21, 2007, 11:23:14 AM
Quote from: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 10:00:45 AM
Friend of mine went to NUIG and was friendly with a girl from Cork, as he put it a real "uppity, posh bi*ch", well to cut a long story short O'Gara was banging this girls friend and that he "played the field", my mate said she was the best looking woman he ever saw, so fair play to O'Gara

You should really have written that in French to make it easy for the frog journos.
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2007, 11:23:58 AM
QuotePeter Stringer, at his sides, as a half of fray,

That's replacing Scrum Half in my vocabulary anyway!
Post by: ONeill on September 21, 2007, 12:23:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 21, 2007, 10:51:30 AM
I did a search on L'Equipe's site but I couldn't find that article. I found this, though, as translated by Babelfish:

O' Gara: "That the beginning"

The half of Irish opening Ronan O' Gara weighs less than with accustomed on the play of its selection. That does not seem to have to deteriorate its confidence for as much. "We know that this weekend, if we do not produce a great match, we are likely to return on our premises earlier than envisaged. I hope that this great expiry will mark the beginning of our adventure." Acting of the absence of his companion of always, Peter Stringer, at his sides, as a half of fray, O' Gara made a point of stressing that its substitute, Reddan, are "a player extremely mentally and of great quality. Even if I played only little with him, I know it well. It was exceptional with Wasps this season and deserves what arrives to him. With its alert play, it certainly will shake the back lines." Irish or Frenchwomen?

I couldn't agree more.

So, there's the crux of the accusations.....
Post by: Evil Genius on September 21, 2007, 12:39:29 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 21, 2007, 09:22:13 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 21, 2007, 09:04:13 AM
It seems to have united the irish team as EOS said "you say something bad about one of us you say it to us all" !!

What an absolute crock. I'm not one for believing that the Irish team somehow lacked 'passion' or 'pride in the jersey' against Namibia and Georgia. But if they turn on the style tonight and Eddie claims these allegations fired them up then basically it confirms that they didn't give a crap in those two games and they all need a good slap.

Whether it be soccer or rugby (and, I assume, GAA), it is rare in my observation for players playing at a high standard in a representative team to lack pride or passion, since it is almost impossible to get to that level unless you already have those qualities in abundance.

As for this present Ireland rugby team, the players who were so listless in their first two WC games are pretty much the same as those who 18 months ago were getting to be No. 2 in the World Rankings - not least due to their pride and passion! Therefore, unless the players have suddenly aged in that time, or are all suffering fitness problems (neither of which really applies, imo), we must look to another explanation.

For me, the answer lies fairly and squarely with a lack of conviction, not desire. That is, having climbed to within sight of the mountain top, they suddenly have the extra weight of expectation on their shoulders, and they can't handle it.

And the man I feel responsible for this is EOS! Which is not to say that he is a bad coach, or lacks many qualities. Rather, his greatest attributes which have brought the team this far - loyalty, consistency, reliability etc - are also the self-same qualities which I fear will see us fail when put to the ultimate test of a World Cup. In other words, loyalty can be blind (e.g. persisting with Stringer until far too late), consistency can be predictable (e.g ROG's kicking game) and reliability can fail (in which case you need a "Plan B", which EOS patently lacks)

And if we can see this following the first two games, then the players will have spotted this months ago. Which is why, even when going into this World Cup, instead of steamrollering mediocre opponents like SA's third team, or Italy, so as to set down a marker for the tournament, the team struggled, through a basic lack of belief in their ability to meet the challenge beyond.

And what I think must have "put the tin lid" on this process, was the decision (insane, imo) by the IRFU to give him another four years in post before we even saw how he did in the World Cup! So instead of EOS having to face up to the choice of carrying on as before, or, taking a chance and really going for it, he knew that he could persist with the former, without fear of recrimination. And what's worse, the players knew it as well, so that the "favourites" in the squad knew that they were safe pretty much regardless of how badly they played, and the "others" knew that they had little or no chance, regardless of how well they played.

All of which would be bad enough, imo, except that there is, as yet, no outstanding team which looks like taking this tournament by the scruff of the neck and just winning the damned thing! The French seem to be suffering the usual burden of home advantage/expectation; the All Blacks are serial chokers when it comes to the World Cup; England are in disarray; Australia are at a low point in the cycle and South Africa's team spirit/unity has to cope with the perpetual pressure of the race issue (i.e. the "best" team vs the "fairest" team).

So just when the opportunity opens up for the most talented and best prepared Irish team in decades (ever?), instead of a "Fast Eddie Felson" at the helm, we have "Steady Eddie O'Sullivan".

And they say he's a "shoe-in" to be the next Lions Coach?  Utterly, utterly insane! :o

P.S. Regarding tonight, my fear is that if France can find the conviction to take the game to Ireland, then they'll win comfortably, so that the only question will be how much resistance Ireland put up.
That said, if the French don't put it up to us, then the game could turn out like a rugby equivalent of this year's British Open golf, where neither player (Harrington or Garcia) could be said to have won it; rather Sergio choked even worse than Padraig and threw it away...
Either way, I really can't see this Ireland team making any significant impact on the tournament, much as I'd love them to do so.  :(
Post by: illdecide on September 21, 2007, 12:55:34 PM
This is the story coming out of Old Wesley (ex-international apparently)

The team are p issed off with O'Sullivan en masse for being too
conservative and there is dissention in the ranks about players not
being given time on the pitch. Apparently they have been for while

O'Gara & Stringer have not spoken "properly" for a few yrs..

O'Driscoll is running the show out there now and insisted that Reddan be
started and should have been in the team for the past 12 months

O'Gara was caught in bed with his wifes sister and not for the first
time

She was taking him to the cleaners but JP McManus has stepped in to stop
it going public and is looking after her financially - no mention of
Rog's gambling debts

O'Sullivan hates Geordan Murphy period and was forced to bring him

Trimble is in ahead of GM because of Ulster representation with Best out

Hickie had to declare his retirement pre world cup due to some venture
post world cup

D rico had a go at the munster forwards, Stringer and Hickie in the dressing room after the match Saturday.

This was after he did his usual interviews and after Paulie had tried to rally the troops, and it didn't go down well, particularly his scathing attack on Hickie.

Leinster Munster divide is evident

Drico insisted on redden being picked ahead of Eddies choice Boss - what are they paying Eddie to do if BOD if picking the team?

Hickie and Quinlan not speaking - Quinlans fiancé is an ex of Hickies

Wallace is on painkillers to play but has told EOS he's not right and can't sidestep - Eddie doesn't want to know

Leamy was diagnosed by Liam Hennessy as a borderline diabetic but Eddie won't let him either take medicine as you have to declare before the world cup or rest.

O Gara is in charge of the dress code when they're going out but lost the plot on Sunday night when some players slagged him over the Newbridge cufflinks he had given to the squad. (They all have to donate a present to the squad). That ended up with O gara refusing to go out and going back to the hotel.

Mal and Donnacha had a blazing row in training yesterday - not the usual training dustup. Quinlan and Easterby also had a few pops at each other.

Before the Georgia game the 2nd 15 beat the starting 15, 32-20 in a 40 minute game

O Donovan not happy as EOS has got extra 4 years
Post by: naka on September 21, 2007, 12:59:55 PM
sounds like a normal  gaa club set up to me ::)
Post by: full back on September 21, 2007, 01:06:33 PM
Quote from: illdecide on September 21, 2007, 12:55:34 PM

time

Rog's gambling debts

post world cup

D rico had a go at the munster forwards, Stringer and Hickie in the dressing room after the match Saturday.

This was after he did his usual interviews and after Paulie had tried to rally the troops, and it didn't go down well, particularly his scathing attack on Hickie.

Drico insisted on redden being picked ahead of Eddies choice Boss - what are they paying Eddie to do if BOD if picking the team?

Wallace is on painkillers to play but has told EOS he's not right and can't sidestep - Eddie doesn't want to know

Leamy was diagnosed by Liam Hennessy as a borderline diabetic but Eddie won't let him either take medicine as you have to declare before the world cup or rest.

O Gara is in charge of the dress code when they're going out but lost the plot on Sunday night when some players slagged him over the Newbridge cufflinks he had given to the squad. (They all have to donate a present to the squad). That ended up with O gara refusing to go out and going back to the hotel.

Mal and Donnacha had a blazing row in training yesterday - not the usual training dustup. Quinlan and Easterby also had a few pops at each other.

Before the Georgia game the 2nd 15 beat the starting 15, 32-20 in a 40 minute game

Did some French journo tell you this illdecide?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 21, 2007, 01:10:32 PM
Looks suspiciously like an article that was on Munsterfans.com and PlanetRugby earlier this week  ;)

Post by: Mentalman on September 21, 2007, 01:11:10 PM
Quote from: illdecide on September 21, 2007, 12:55:34 PM

time

Rog's gambling debts

post world cup

Got this pile of dung into my inbox yesterday too.

Funny how none of this is mentioned, or relevant, when we're winning.
Post by: illdecide on September 21, 2007, 01:11:55 PM
Me too, some female in the office e-mailed it to me earlier
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 21, 2007, 01:13:47 PM

I don't think posting allegations about someone's private life is a wise thing to be fair.

It is a small country after all.
Post by: Ryano on September 21, 2007, 01:46:56 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 21, 2007, 11:11:44 AM
Lads, O'Garas personal life whether right or wrong, is HIS personal life - "let he who is without sin cast the first stone!"

The real point here is that the French media are using cheap, low dirty tricks to undermine the Irish squad before this crucial game for both teams - smacks of desperation from the French - lets hope Ireland can do their talking on the pitch.

Nail on the head for me. My friend works with an immediate family member of ROG's in Cork and i heard about the alleged gambling and womanising thing at the start of this year. But all that is the mans own personal life and it is his to deal with. Its not for you me or anyone else to speculate about on a forum. For some slimey frog journo to go dragging it up in his "news" paper the week before the sides meet it pathetic. I for one hope to God ROG uses all this garbage to motivate himself and ram every last bit of it back down his critics throats.

As GDA said lets hope they reply in a suitable manner on the pitch this evening.
Post by: deiseach on September 21, 2007, 01:50:06 PM
Three priests in conversation:

"The Irish team are tinkers"
"O'Sullivan is a tr**p"
"And they're all on drugs"
Post by: magpie seanie on September 21, 2007, 03:00:31 PM
Don't tell Loughnane!
Post by: Seany on September 21, 2007, 03:11:28 PM
Great to see the Munster lads would have no truck with those posh idiots from Dublin 4 with their stupid made up accents, daft attire and British values.  I always felt the Munster boys would prefer to be mullocking with a hurley stick or an ONeills in their hand and see themselves as having sort of fallen by the wayside into the oval ball game.  You never hear stories from the Leinster poofs about how they played hurling until a certain age, or how they love GAA. 

As you can see, I'm not a big rugger man. I f**king hate Leinster.  Toffs.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 21, 2007, 03:13:15 PM
Quote from: Seany on September 21, 2007, 03:11:28 PM
Great to see the Munster lads would have no truck with those posh idiots from Dublin 4 with their stupid made up accents, daft attire and British values.  I always felt the Munster boys would prefer to be mullocking with a hurley stick or an ONeills in their hand and see themselves as having sort of fallen by the wayside into the oval ball game.  You never hear stories from the Leinster poofs about how they played hurling until a certain age, or how they love GAA. 

As you can see, I'm not a big rugger man. I f**king hate Leinster.  Toffs.

lovely - just lovely
Post by: ziggysego on September 21, 2007, 03:18:14 PM
I wonder who seany is the reincarnation of?
Post by: hoopsaaa on September 21, 2007, 03:23:29 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 21, 2007, 03:18:14 PM
I wonder who seany is the reincarnation of?
Defo not Nelson Mandella  :D
Post by: screenexile on September 21, 2007, 03:24:20 PM
QuoteGreat to see the Munster lads would have no truck with those posh idiots from Dublin 4 with their stupid made up accents, daft attire and British values.

You never hear stories from the Leinster poofs about how they played hurling until a certain age, or how they love GAA. 

Seany... you are a dick!

Gordon D'Arcy - Wexford
Shane Horgan - Meath
Girvan Dempsey - Terenure Dublin 12
Denis Hickie - Rathmines Dublin 6
O'Driscoll - Clontafr Dublin 3
O'Kelly - Templeogue Dublin 12

If maybe you yourself had watched a few GAA programmes you would have seen Gordon D'Arcy and Shane Horgan on the programme "The Road To Croker".

As you can see above none of the Leinster lads on the Irish team are Donnytrook or Blackrock 'goys' so catch a grip of yourself!

Dumbass!
Post by: Hardy on September 21, 2007, 03:36:04 PM
Ah but Dublin 4 is not an address. It's a state of mind.

(I'd attribute if I could remember the source).
Post by: Declan on September 21, 2007, 03:37:22 PM
QuoteAh but Dublin 4 is not an address. It's a state of mind.

(I'd attribute if I could remember the source).

Ross O'Carroll Kelly perchance
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2007, 03:50:28 PM
Would youse all be up in arms if it was the Irish meedja doing the same to an English or French player? Nope.

Did anyone hear Brian O'Driscoll on the Chris Moyles show on Radio 1 this morning? When asked who his hero was he said DJ Carey!!!
Post by: deiseach on September 21, 2007, 03:58:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 21, 2007, 03:00:31 PM
Don't tell Loughnane!

Too late. Bernard Laporte had to climb out the window of the team hotel to avoid the baying mob.
Post by: Star Spangler on September 21, 2007, 04:13:22 PM

One of those my friends, friends, friend stories? ::)
Post by: Seany on September 21, 2007, 04:14:15 PM
Oh, sorry about all this.  That's good then.  They're not toffs. I don't hate them anymore. I just think we sometimes go up our own arses about our rugby profile in this country. The southern hemishpere are ina different planet than us anyway in terms of quallity.  I would just love to see the GAA played in other countries and see how others would interpret our rules. Look at Argentina, New Zealand, South Africa even f**king Japan playing Rugby and each to their own unique style..  Why hasn't our games if they're supposed to be so good, developed an international outlet like those.

PS - for what it's worth, I reckon they should throw O Gara in on  the square and launch high ball in on top of him. Stringer should be on the half back line, charging forward.

Post by: Balboa on September 21, 2007, 09:27:01 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on September 21, 2007, 04:13:22 PM

One of those my friends, friends, friend stories? ::)

Regardless of how you interpret it or regardless if you want to believe it, its not allegation, its fact.
Post by: Cloc Mor on September 21, 2007, 09:43:10 PM
QuotePS - for what it's worth, I reckon they should throw O Gara in on  the square and launch high ball in on top of him. Stringer should be on the half back line, charging forward.

Seany, you havent a notion.  Putting a guy 5' 10'' on the edge of the square - O'Gara has never caugt a ball above his head in  his life.  Would it not be better putting O' Connell and 6' 5'' there?  As for 4' Stringer at half back - not even worth commenting on.
Post by: blast05 on September 21, 2007, 10:46:05 PM
Regardless of how you interpret it or regardless if you want to believe it, its not allegation, its fact.

You didn't finish your sentence there. I'll do it for you  ..........   "and if you don't believe me i'm going to cry and cry and cry and tell my mammy about you"