Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

SamFever

Quote from: Truth hurts on April 05, 2022, 12:42:05 PM
Quote from: Johnnysboys on April 04, 2022, 06:15:11 PM
When it was so close to the games - why didn't they just leave it alone. These sort of things make people question the county board. I think U'll find there are more than a handful of players affected by changing nights. Shift work, players in London working, players in Manchester/Liverpool at uni and then as someone else mentioned - underage coaching organised by the club where other parents put their life on hold to ensure their wee boy/girl gets to the sessions on the night they were informed off weeks ago. I know in our club and in Mayobridge/Burren/Ballymartin they do up pitch schedules and stick to them to accommodate all members of their club. Leave it as it was and no one even mentions it.

But do the point not own st Marks school?

Heard from a reliable source that a few players joined the panel, grabbed the gear and left the squad.
A big allegation there--who were they?

Truth hurts

Quote from: SamFever on April 05, 2022, 12:58:05 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on April 05, 2022, 12:42:05 PM
Quote from: Johnnysboys on April 04, 2022, 06:15:11 PM
When it was so close to the games - why didn't they just leave it alone. These sort of things make people question the county board. I think U'll find there are more than a handful of players affected by changing nights. Shift work, players in London working, players in Manchester/Liverpool at uni and then as someone else mentioned - underage coaching organised by the club where other parents put their life on hold to ensure their wee boy/girl gets to the sessions on the night they were informed off weeks ago. I know in our club and in Mayobridge/Burren/Ballymartin they do up pitch schedules and stick to them to accommodate all members of their club. Leave it as it was and no one even mentions it.

Heard from a reliable source that a few players joined the panel, grabbed the gear and left the squad.
A big allegation there--who were they?

Hardly a secret now, and would not name any names on his.

I am really looking forward to the weekends games

Johnnysboys

We do. But field u6,8,10,13,15,17,19, reserve, premier reserve,  senior in mens
U10,12,14,16,18,senior in ladies
U13,15,17,senior hurling
U10,12,14 camogie

That takes Moygannon, skip site and St marks to hold.

Any other craic???

Hard2Listen2

Quote from: Johnnysboys on April 05, 2022, 06:37:58 PM

We do. But field u6,8,10,13,15,17,19, reserve, premier reserve,  senior in mens
U10,12,14,16,18,senior in ladies
U13,15,17,senior hurling
U10,12,14 camogie

That takes Moygannon, skip site and St marks to hold.

Any other craic???

Ah but have you had lunch with any prominent county board officials who could fill you in with the goings on (real or not)?

Our man from Ballykinlar (or not) moves in those lofty circles.

Dismiss him at your peril (or maybe go ahead)!!!

GAABoardMod5

Posters here need to cop on a bit...once again nothing but drivel.

Fair warning - this thread is close to being locked. 

Not being fully informed on fringe players on club teams, let alone county senior and underage squads, makes it tough to decide on genuine speculation and complete BS.  So I'm asking all to cut it out completely. 

manwithnoplan

Ok enough of the aul nonsense talk, there are some decent looking fixtures this Thursday/Friday night. Anyone care to throw out a few early predictions of how they might go?

Div 1
CLONDUFF GAC   vs   BURREN GAC   
BRYANSFORD   vs   KILCOO   
CASTLEWELLAN   vs   LOUGHINISLAND   
MAYOBRIDGE   vs   CUMANN PHEADAIR NAOFA
RGU DOWNPATRICK   vs   CARRYDUFF   
ROSTREVOR   vs   BALLYHOLLAND

Div 2
DARRAGH CROSS   vs   BREDAGH   
ST JOHN'S DRUMNAQUOILE   vs   SABHAILL NAOMH PÁDRAIG
ANNACLONE   vs   LIATROIM   
LONGSTONE   vs   AN RIOCHT
SAVAL   vs   GLENN JOHN MARTINS GFC

Div 3
DROMARA   vs   CLANN NA BANNA
AUGHLISNAFIN   vs   BRIGHT
ST JOHN BOSCO GAC   vs   TULLYLISH
TECONNAUGHT   vs   ST PAUL'S
NEWRY SHAMROCKS   vs   DRUMGATH
BALLYMARTIN   vs   ATTICALL

Div 4a
DUNDRUM GAC   vs   EAST BELFAST   
KILCLIEF BEN DEARG GAC   vs   ST COLMAN'S DRUMANESS

Truth hurts

Div 1
CLONDUFF GAC   vs   BURREN GAC   
BRYANSFORD   vs   KILCOO   
CASTLEWELLAN   vs  LOUGHINISLAND  
MAYOBRIDGE   vs   CUMANN PHEADAIR NAOFA
RGU DOWNPATRICK   vs   CARRYDUFF   
ROSTREVOR   vs   BALLYHOLLAND

Div 2
DARRAGH CROSS
   vs   BREDAGH   
ST JOHN'S DRUMNAQUOILE   vs   SABHAILL NAOMH PÁDRAIG
ANNACLONE   vs   LIATROIM   
LONGSTONE   vs   AN RIOCHT
SAVAL   vs   GLENN JOHN MARTINS GFC

Div 3
DROMARA   vs   CLANN NA BANNA
AUGHLISNAFIN   vs   BRIGHT
ST JOHN BOSCO GAC   vs   TULLYLISH
TECONNAUGHT   vs  ST PAUL'S
NEWRY SHAMROCKS   vs   DRUMGATH
BALLYMARTIN   vs  ATTICALL

Div 4a
DUNDRUM GAC   vs   EAST BELFAST 
KILCLIEF BEN DEARG GAC   vs   ST COLMAN'S DRUMANESS

rosskarr

Quote from: manwithnoplan on April 06, 2022, 08:12:32 AM
Ok enough of the aul nonsense talk, there are some decent looking fixtures this Thursday/Friday night. Anyone care to throw out a few early predictions of how they might go?

Div 1
BRYANSFORD   vs   KILCOO   

Div 2

Div 3

Div 4a
What about a prediction competition for Div1 and Div2 each week? 2 points for a Draw and 1 point for a win.

manwithnoplan

Quote from: rosskarr on April 06, 2022, 08:57:48 AM

Div 1
BRYANSFORD   vs   KILCOO   

Div 2

Div 3

Div 4a
What about a prediction competition for Div1 and Div2 each week? 2 points for a Draw and 1 point for a win.

Aye sounds good, you can tally up the scores for us each week!

rosskarr

Quote from: manwithnoplan on April 06, 2022, 09:43:41 AM
Quote from: rosskarr on April 06, 2022, 08:57:48 AM

Div 1
BRYANSFORD   vs   KILCOO   

Div 2

Div 3

Div 4a

Aye sounds good, you can tally up the scores for us each week!
Someone could maybe do Div's 3&4?

Mourne Red

Don't do it lads - It's a balls once 20-30 start putting predictions in.. You'll be wishing you never came up with the idea lol

Or start a new thread at the very least.

SticksandStones

What way does playing in America work these days?
I believe a few of the down lads have left the panel to play in America because if they play club or county championship over here they can't play it over there.
But can they play this years club championship over here when they get back?

Truth hurts

Cummann na bunscoil finals in Parnell Park today and they seem to be getting great coverage. I have not heard of any Primary schools football yet but wouldn't be great to get all finals in Pairc Esler when they are on.

True Blue

Quote from: Truth hurts on April 06, 2022, 04:56:02 PM
Cummann na bunscoil finals in Parnell Park today and they seem to be getting great coverage. I have not heard of any Primary schools football yet but wouldn't be great to get all finals in Pairc Esler when they are on.

Primary school games have only got the green light to go ahead recently after a 2 year absence due to the pandemic and a condensed format is starting after Easter.

As for Primary Schools Finals being played on Pairc Esler, various finals have been played at the venue for the last 15 years or more when it has been available.
The minute you start talking about what you're going to do if you lose, you have lost.