GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 09:01:53 AM

Title: Cavan v Roscommon
Post by: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 09:01:53 AM
Tough game for Ros. Last thing they needed right now.
Title: Re: Cavan v Roscommon
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 09:05:12 AM
Never get any luck with these draws. All we can do is get mentally right and try our best. This match was never part of the plan.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 22, 2015, 09:09:15 AM
2 decent middleweights going head to head and one will be going out the exit door.

I'd imagine that quite a few of the other teams in the A side of things are only delighted to see these two drawn against each other.

Be interesting to compare the lineups from the teams that drew in the  first round of the league to the sides that take to the pitch in Breffni.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 09:14:54 AM
A game to relish!

First time to meet in championship or were there battles in the 40s?
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 09:15:51 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 09:14:54 AM
A game to relish!

We played in Breffni just last year in Round 2.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 22, 2015, 09:16:44 AM
Will it be a home game for Ros as we were away last time we played cavan
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 09:17:33 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on June 22, 2015, 09:16:44 AM
Will it be a home game for Ros as we were away last time we played cavan

No. That only applies to teams drawn away two years in a row in Round 1. It being the same opponents has no effect on home advantage even then.
Post by: Itchy on June 22, 2015, 09:20:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 09:15:51 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 09:14:54 AM
A game to relish!

We played in Breffni just last year in Round 2.

Good man shamrock, old age getting to ya. Disaster of a draw as now I have to share forum space with all the loolas from Rossie land. Anyway hopefully after filling their togs yesterday they'll be too deflated to even try beat us
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 22, 2015, 09:24:57 AM
Cavan should overturn the result from last year if the same Roscommon side that played poorly on Saturday turn up to Breffni park.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 22, 2015, 09:30:25 AM
(http://join.battlegroundtx.com/page/-/email/20131211_GetThePopcorn_360.jpg)
Post by: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 09:50:45 AM
Not talking the poor mouth, but i'm struggling to see how Ros can win this. Both teams are in such a different place right now. Cavan impressed me against Monaghan and were unlucky to lose. They then went to Ruislip and showed London up to be the rubbish team that they are, whilst Ros made London look decent.. Things moving nicely for Cavan. ...Contrast that with the wreckage in Roscommon. Morale is bound to be on the floor, a team riddled with injuries, and a management who persist with playing players out of position ..This is the worst game Ros could have got right now. Cavan will be out for revenge after 2 high profile defeats to Ros last year. They have the motivation and a stronger spirit right now. Can't see Ros lifting it. The next 2 weeks will show us what John Evans is made of. Can he lift them, or will this summer be the biggest anti climax ever seen from a team, of which good things were expected? Over to you Mr Evans.
Post by: Itchy on June 22, 2015, 09:59:23 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 09:50:45 AM
Not talking the poor mouth, but i'm struggling to see how Ros can win this. Both teams are in such a different place right now. Cavan impressed me against Monaghan and were unlucky to lose. They then went to Ruislip and showed London up to be the rubbish team that they are, whilst Ros made London look decent.. Things moving nicely for Cavan. ...Contrast that with the wreckage in Roscommon. Morale is bound to be on the floor, a team riddled with injuries, and a management who persist with playing players out of position ..This is the worst game Ros could have got right now. Cavan will be out for revenge after 2 high profile defeats to Ros last year. They have the motivation and a stronger spirit right now. Can't see Ros lifting it. The next 2 weeks will show us what John Evans is made of. Can he lift them, or will this summer be the biggest anti climax ever seen from a team, of which good things were expected? Over to you Mr Evans.

Gas, ye were going to win the all Ireland 2 weeks ago! Ros and Cavan are at a similar level and this will be a 50:50 game.
Post by: orangeman on June 22, 2015, 10:02:42 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 09:50:45 AM

Evans was being lauded a few weeks ago and there was talk of a big run in the all ireland series.

John can only do so much. He won't be playing. The players will. It will be up to them. Cavan beat a poor London side relatively speaking on Saturday so thee would be no point in Cavan getting carried away with that result.

If you look at the odds for the game it definitely is a 50:50 game - evens your pick.
Post by: Jinxy on June 22, 2015, 10:05:54 AM
I can sense the tension between Itchy & Syferus building.
There needs to be a reckoning of some sort.
I think that if Cavan win, Syferus shouldn't post for a month.
And if Roscommon win, Itchy (& Syferus) shouldn't post for a month.
It's put your money where your mouth is time.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 10:13:01 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2015, 10:05:54 AM

I can just use the Rossfan account anyways.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 22, 2015, 10:17:13 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2015, 10:13:01 AM

I can just use the Rossfan account anyways.
Or Larryin89
Post by: Mac2 on June 22, 2015, 10:23:39 AM
Itchy & Scratchy more like
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2015, 10:43:55 AM
If this was in the Hyde, I'd fancy Ros -2 or -3 to win even after the disappointment on Saturday. With it in Breffni, it's Cavan -1 imo
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 11:04:18 AM
QuoteGood man shamrock, old age getting to ya.

Jayses - I cannot be expected to remember all these matches with our mightier neighbouring counties. I secretly hoped we'd get Ros so I could see the bus up close.

The craic on here will be mighty.

*pulls over chair*
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2015, 11:07:57 AM
As Willie would sat it's full duck or no dinner time.
No soft rehab draw for us.
Two teams in or around the same place in recent years - improved, decent underage teams but no sign of making the next step up.
Whoever is most tuned in and has appetite will win this one.
If we haven't and can't raise from the Markypark debacle then we're as well out of it.
Major reappraisal time in that event.
Sham Shore has obviously forgotten the great Cavan/Ros games of 43/44/47/62 and 2014.
Post by: Jinxy on June 22, 2015, 11:38:25 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 11:04:18 AM

Jayses - I cannot be expected to remember all these matches with our mightier neighbouring counties. I secretly hoped we'd get Ros so I could see the bus up close.

*pulls over chair*

If ye win and the Rossies don't, I'd imagine they'd give you the use of the bus for the summer.
It'd be a shame to have her lying idle.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 11:41:12 AM
Itchy, only one person mentioned Ros and All Ireland's in the same breath, and even then, it wasn't going to happen for 3-4 years. Most Gaa people in Roscommon cringed when he made that comment.. Anyway, what was that score in Breffni last year?  0-16 to 0-05 to Ros last year or something like that. It will be interesting to see where things stand now. This morning, it feels like the 'Roscommon Project' under John Evans is broken..Can he fix it in 2 weeks?
Post by: muppet on June 22, 2015, 11:55:18 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2015, 11:04:18 AM

*pulls over chair*

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fgifrific.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F11%2FEating-Popcorn-Soda.gif&f=1)
Post by: Itchy on June 22, 2015, 12:01:42 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 11:41:12 AM
Itchy, only one person mentftp://ioned Ros and All Ireland's in the same breath, and even then, it wasn't going to happen for 3-4 years. Most Gaa people in Roscommon cringed when he made that comment.. Anyway, what was that score in Breffni last year?  0-16 to 0-05 to Ros last year or something like that. It will be interesting to see where things stand now. This morning, it feels like the 'Roscommon Project' under John Evans is broken..Can he fix it in 2 weeks?

But he wasn't just any old person, he was your manager.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 22, 2015, 12:24:07 PM
Happy enough with the draw as it is time for Cavan to beat a decent team again. I see it as being a close one and I would look to the recent league meeting rather than last years game when half our team was missing. It will probably come down to who is the hardest working and hungriest team. I think on the day that might just be Cavan and so I'll go for a narrow Cavan win.
Post by: weareros on June 22, 2015, 03:24:53 PM
Nothing like a tough away game to focus the mind again. Agree last year's game has no bearing. On relevant performances to date:

League: A draw, but Cavan should have won. Advantage Cavan
Provincial Championship Performance: Cavan unlucky to lose to high flying Monaghan. Ros well beaten. Advantage Cavan.
Respective Performances against London: Cavan convincing winners. Ros outplayed by London for much of game. Advantage Cavan.

Verdict: Ros by 5 ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 22, 2015, 03:27:02 PM
Dunne and Clarke would be a big miss for Cavan, if they are ruled out?
Post by: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 03:33:55 PM
What's the story with Dunne and Clarke?
Post by: mrdeeds on June 22, 2015, 03:36:59 PM
Dunne dislocated ankle. Not sure on Clarke.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2015, 03:50:17 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 22, 2015, 12:01:42 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 22, 2015, 11:41:12 AM
Itchy, only one person mentftp://ioned Ros and All Ireland's in the same breath, and even then, it wasn't going to happen for 3-4 years. Most Gaa people in Roscommon cringed when he made that comment.. Anyway, what was that score in Breffni last year?  0-16 to 0-05 to Ros last year or something like that. It will be interesting to see where things stand now. This morning, it feels like the 'Roscommon Project' under John Evans is broken..Can he fix it in 2 weeks?

But he wasn't just any old person, he was your manager.

I think the media took John Evans comments out of context at the time. No harm talking big even Longford,Tipp have done that. From what i recall the key point of what he said was if they stayed in division one for a few years and on that display Saturday night it looks like a bigger if now.

Cavan off the back two good championship performances Roscommon off the back of two poor performances. I'll be surprised if Cavan with home advantage don't win this qualifier.
Post by: Rossfan on June 24, 2015, 10:43:14 AM
Any wild rumours, any one leaving the panel, will we have 21 fit players, will Evans be packing his bags?
Will our lads be like wounded lions and take it out on Cavan or will they just go through the motions and get it all over with?
Are we mice or men?
Post by: theyellowbus on June 24, 2015, 01:10:39 PM
A lot of rumours about unrest and so on after the abysmal performance on Saturday but you always hear that after a dire showing.
Hard to know how we will lift ourselves up after the Sligo defeat.Hats off to the management if they get the guys to put in a solid effort with a win.
I cant see it though our last performance was so bad it was unbelievable the 09 massacre in castlebar comes to mind in terms of performance.
If we look at the form of both teams in this years championship Cavan pushed a good Monaghan side all the way and with a bit more conviction might have won.
They then win a game they were expected to win fairly convincing with a big score to boot.
We limp past the same opposition in the same venue and we put in the most spineless effort then against a side which seemingly struggled in Div 3.
A professional gambler would only bet on one side in this tie I'm afraid.
Our confidence has to be low so its going to take a mammoth effort to get that up to where it should be before this game and I don't think we have the personnel either in the management or the players to do that.
Cavan by 5 for me.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 01:22:20 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on June 24, 2015, 01:10:39 PM
A lot of rumours about unrest and so on after the abysmal performance on Saturday but you always hear that after a dire showing.
Hard to know how we will lift ourselves up after the Sligo defeat.Hats off to the management if they get the guys to put in a solid effort with a win.
I cant see it though our last performance was so bad it was unbelievable the 09 massacre in castlebar comes to mind in terms of performance.
If we look at the form of both teams in this years championship Cavan pushed a good Monaghan side all the way and with a bit more conviction might have won.
They then win a game they were expected to win fairly convincing with a big score to boot.
We limp past the same opposition in the same venue and we put in the most spineless effort then against a side which seemingly struggled in Div 3.
A professional gambler would only bet on one side in this tie I'm afraid.
Our confidence has to be low so its going to take a mammoth effort to get that up to where it should be before this game and I don't think we have the personnel either in the management or the players to do that.
Cavan by 5 for me.

The 'professional gamblers' have it exactly level..
Post by: Rossfan on June 24, 2015, 02:42:27 PM
Depends whether we're right on the day or not.
If last Saturday was a one off load of sh1te of underestimating Sligo and preparing for the CF then I'd give us every chance of winning this one.
However if there are deeper problems bubbling with players/management  or whatever then it's Cavan to win handy.
Post by: sligoman on June 24, 2015, 02:43:53 PM
Will this game be on TV?

Cavan look in a better position this year than they were in the Championship last year. Very hard to call, probably will have a lot to do with who have their best players fit and available.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 02:50:18 PM
Quote from: sligoman on June 24, 2015, 02:43:53 PM
Will this game be on TV?

Cavan look in a better position this year than they were in the Championship last year. Very hard to call, probably will have a lot to do with who have their best players fit and available.

Live on RTE 5pm Saturday the 4th.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 24, 2015, 02:51:10 PM
Cavan were hit badly last year in the championship with Injuries and players gone to America for the summer. No players went this year, Rory Dunne will be a loss and probaly Killian Clarke. The panel is quite strong so hopefully not that big a loss.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 24, 2015, 03:03:10 PM
Wooly and Moyles have Evans awful abuse on OTB Monday nite, I've rarely heard them go to town on someone like that before. Placed the blame firmly at his door for Saturday

Am I the only one that thinks in an either/or scenario, in the longer term, it would benefit Roscommon a lot more to be doing well in the league, consolidate Div 1 for a couple of years rather than winning championship matches.
Post by: Rossfan on June 24, 2015, 03:05:58 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 24, 2015, 03:03:10 PM
Wooly and Moyles have Evans awful abuse on OTB Monday nite,

These lads must have managed a good few teams??
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 03:10:44 PM
Wooly and Moyles have Evans awful abuse on OTB Monday nite, I've rarely heard them go to town on someone like that before. Placed the blame firmly at his door for Saturday

Am I the only one that thinks in an either/or scenario, in the longer term, it would benefit Roscommon a lot more to be doing well in the league, consolidate Div 1 for a couple of years rather than winning championship matches.

Blah. It wasn't Evans making basic passing errors or missing gilt-edged goal chances. If we'd just executed the chances we did create to any degree of efficiency we'd have at least drew if not won the match. Blaming the management alone after a performance like that is just radio noise. The panel certainly isn't happy with the abuse Cake laid at Evans' door. Not helpful nor wanted.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 24, 2015, 03:17:28 PM
Cake should probaly stop with Twitter. He was tweeting about Tipp being handy opponents for Roscommon in the u21 final - before Roscommon played Tyrone.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 03:23:30 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 24, 2015, 03:17:28 PM
Cake should probaly stop with Twitter. He was tweeting about Tipp being handy opponents for Roscommon in the u21 final - before Roscommon played Tyrone.

In fairness to him that as a joke in response to someone he knew from Tipp iirc. Plenty of things you can criticise Cake for without choosing something that wasn't what you thought.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 24, 2015, 03:49:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 03:10:44 PM

Blah. It wasn't Evans making basic passing errors or missing gilt-edged goal chances. If we'd just executed the chances we did create to any degree of efficiency we'd have at least drew if not won the match. Blaming the management alone after a performance like that is just radio noise. The panel certainly isn't happy with the abuse Cake laid at Evans' door. Not helpful nor wanted.
Exactly. Some of the misses were hard to believe.

The thing is though, the game was lost and there are questions that need answering. In many ways Roscommon's season could peter out much like Cavan's last year if they're not up for it. I suspect they will be and will win.
Post by: Jinxy on June 24, 2015, 05:12:36 PM

Would you be close to the panel Syf?
Tell Cregger I said to keep her lit.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 24, 2015, 06:05:13 PM
Am i correct in saying that there was going to be a full round of Senior and Intermediate Championship matches in Ros this weekend? But they have been cancelled and replaced by a round of league fixtures, where presumably, no county players will take part....Donie Shine's absence last weekend was due to concussion suffered the weekend before in a training session, which required a night in hospital.
Post by: Rossfan on June 24, 2015, 06:29:45 PM
Yes and yes.
Obviously we weren't expecting to have a County game on the 4/5th July :-[
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 08:52:32 PM
John Joe Nerney, AI winner at senior and minor, has died. Rest in peace to the great man:

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3840/14335816186_75849205af_z.jpg)
Post by: Shrewdness on June 24, 2015, 09:51:08 PM
Rip John Joe, and yesterday Dermot Earley's anniversary.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2015, 09:58:39 PM
Does this game clash with the Ros minor game? If so it's bad planning on behalf of the fixture makers...what's new there says you??!
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 10:12:53 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2015, 09:58:39 PM
Does this game clash with the Ros minor game? If so it's bad planning on behalf of the fixture makers...what's new there says you??!

I assume the minor game will be pushed back to Sunday given this one has been given the TV treatment and is unlikely to be changed. No way the minor game can clash with the senior one.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2015, 10:29:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 24, 2015, 10:12:53 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2015, 09:58:39 PM

I assume the minor game will be pushed back to Sunday given this one has been given the TV treatment and is unlikely to be changed. No way the minor game can clash with the senior one.

In 2010 the Mayo minors and seniors were playing the same day. Minors won, seniors lost that game to Longford which was JOM's last stand...
Post by: giveballaghback on June 24, 2015, 11:01:58 PM
Leitrim next Saturday have a minor match in Carrick and a senior match in Louth, the gaa should have more respect for supporters and families.
Post by: theyellowbus on June 25, 2015, 09:23:06 AM

Are you serious?
I watched the second half again last night and in the first ten minutes of that half the amount of ball that we lost through poor hand passing,unbelievable wayward shooting and poor decision making was criminal.
After the first half we had any management worth their salt at half time would at least try and change a couple of things tactically and try and motivate the lads into showing a bit more hunger and desire.
We were still at the same game of running the ball through the middle hoping that one of our inside men got enough space to get a shot away.
We had no width,we failed to exploit or create any space and we were way too pedestrian.
The vast majority of the blame lies with the management and anyone who says that the management is clear of any blame is in dreamland
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2015, 09:43:28 AM
Minor game now on Friday night I believe.
Post by: The Black Mamba on June 25, 2015, 09:45:11 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2015, 09:43:28 AM
Minor game now on Friday night I believe.
7:30 in the Hyde.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 25, 2015, 09:52:22 AM
I thought the venue depended on who we're playing. If it's Leitrim, we're away. If it's Sligo, we're at home.
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2015, 12:41:35 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 25, 2015, 09:52:22 AM
I thought the venue depended on who we're playing. If it's Leitrim, we're away. If it's Sligo, we're at home.

Yep. Also very unlikely we can play a minor semi-final where extra-time is to be played in the event of a draw at a floodlight-less Hyde at 7:30pm. Kiltoom is sure to be the venue if Sligo win.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on June 26, 2015, 10:02:06 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 25, 2015, 12:41:35 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 25, 2015, 09:52:22 AM

Yep. Also very unlikely we can play a minor semi-final where extra-time is to be played in the event of a draw at a floodlight-less Hyde at 7:30pm. Kiltoom is sure to be the venue if Sligo win.

On top of having the greatest senior team ever assembled and a shinny bus they must also have their own planet rotation if it gets dark before 9.30 the first week in July.  But hey any excuse for you to talk up Kiltoom and Brigids eventhough you live the other side of the province in Mayo
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2015, 11:07:44 AM
EFF off and moan about the venue for the Connacht Final.
Post by: cavan4sam on June 26, 2015, 12:38:18 PM
I was in Kiltoom for the league game between Cavan and Roscommon and nice and all as the grounds are, the pitch is so small and tight and not suited to intercounty football in my opinion.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2015, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: cavan4sam on June 26, 2015, 12:38:18 PM
I was in Kiltoom for the league game between Cavan and Roscommon and nice and all as the grounds are, the pitch is so small and tight and not suited to intercounty football in my opinion.

You haven't been to the Hyde in February if you think that was the wrong choice..
Post by: Ringfort on June 26, 2015, 02:17:11 PM
Cavan have to be firm favourites for this going on current form. We (Ros) appear to be a 'see how it goes on the day' sort of team. If things fall for us we have the ability to run up a score and win the game however put us in a battle and the fight doesn't look to be there. I tried to ignore it at the time but the Galway loss in the league was big in many respects. Win it and we were up to Div 1 with a game to spare whilst also consigning our provincial rivals and historical betters to the ignominy of Div 3. We found ourselves well in front at half time with a big psychological statement about to be made. Move over Galway we're here now. No, not yet, know your place Roscommon came the reply and we folded in a game that potentially had big significance in the struggle for power in Connacht. We got a flukey promotion out of a league that was fairly even over all yet with no significant wins over Galway or Mayo in years we are still the bridesmaids of the province despite the apparent progress being made. We need to step up now and start winning games when we are fancied. We cannot always be a coming team. But I suppose things take time. Hopefully the bad Sligo loss (well done to them) will be used to learn from rather than unravel things and we get a bit of consistency next year in div 1
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2015, 02:36:13 PM
Bit unfair there. Kildare, Down games we showed a hell of a fight in coming back from bad positions.

We're a 'see how it goes on the day' team in the sense we don't know if the good Roscommon or bad Roscommon will turn up.

And Galway weren't being relegated if we beat them in the league.
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2015, 03:57:20 PM
Good post Ringfort.
We showed plenty of shortcomings in the NFL ( despite the fluky promotion)
V Cavan -poor error ridden show - lucky enough to get a point.
v Down - shaky start, a great spell before h/t, ropey period middle of 2nd half but Cregg(er!) and Donie Smith came on, we bucked up and won.
V Laois - awful poor show, Donie Kingston played pure puck with our inability to defend.
v Kildare -awful first 20 minutes then we went mad outscoring them 18-6. They were relegated
v Meath - poor enough but thanks to Paddy O'Rourke we in effect got promoted by his pass to Senan.
v Galway - poor- defensive for 1st 25 minutes with a big wind and we lost our way entirely in the second half( when we could have laid down a right marker as Ring said)
v Westmeath - an abject first half, as bad as I've seen since the Tanman era( breaks out in spots), had to bring on U21s 20 hours after a Provincial Final to win it.
v Down - nice game we played pretty well but a meaningless fixture at the end of the day.
Championship
London- awful lack of urgency and very un Championship performance. Giving London 25 shots at goal.......
Sligo - again a lack of intensity/urgency. Should have been beaten by 10. Instead only for bad decisions by 2 Inter County Refs we'd have got an undeserved draw. Says it all when no one is making any issue of those 2 decisions.

Whatever the outcome I hope to see a CHAMPIONSHIP performance against Cavan, full of intensity, urgency, pace etc not oul watery Leagueish fare.
I can but hope that's in us. If not........... what are we at or what are we training for?
Post by: Jinxy on June 26, 2015, 04:50:46 PM
Quote from: cavan4sam on June 26, 2015, 12:38:18 PM

Eh, that's why they play there.
Post by: Itchy on June 26, 2015, 09:46:25 PM
Is it true that naughty boys on the lovely Rossie bus had to sit up beside the driver as their behaviour was so naughty?
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2015, 09:59:48 PM
Yes They were all drinking down the back on the way to Shligo.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2015, 10:02:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 26, 2015, 09:59:48 PM
Yes They were all drinking down the back on the way to Shligo.

Even the misty rumours are bus-focused these days.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 28, 2015, 10:47:27 PM
It seems at least three of the Roscommon players who missed the Sligo game, should be available to play Cavan.. Word has it that Conor Daly, Ultan Harney and Donie Shine should be available.....Kevin Higgins and Diarmuid Murtagh will more than likely miss out. The situation with Senan Kilbride is a bit vague.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 10:53:54 PM
At least a D2 team has to win this one.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 30, 2015, 10:10:43 PM
What are the views of the Cavan posters on this match, or are they saving their views until after the match. One or two of them were very vocal about Ros after we lost to Sligo. Gone fierce quiet now.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 30, 2015, 10:36:58 PM
Read back over the thread shrewdness, a few did give their view
Post by: Westside on June 30, 2015, 11:33:50 PM
I think we're up against it.. Killian Clarke and Rory Dunne are players we can't really afford to be without and be confident of beating Division 2 winners. I saw on twitter that we've played Roscommon 7 times since 2012 (including U21 Semi Final) and won just once with an average losing margin of 5 points. It doesn't bode well. I also think there will be a big response from Roscommon.
That said we are going well by all accounts. We've opened up a bit more this year and are moving the ball and creating more scoring opportunities. Gearoid is playing a slightly more advanced role and it's paying dividends. The flatness that we saw in Championship last year after such a good league seems to be gone. We're at home so I'd expect a tight battle. Roscommon's superiority in the front 6 has been what has beaten us over the past few years and I fear Saturday may be the same.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2015, 11:36:07 PM
We'll see how many of that front six are fit.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2015, 11:51:08 PM
If Cavan play like they did against Monaghan and Roscommon repeat the performance from the Sligo game it will be comfortable win for the home side.
Post by: Westside on July 01, 2015, 12:31:19 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2015, 11:36:07 PM

Any worries about handling Argue on the edge of the square?
Post by: Shrewdness on July 01, 2015, 12:42:03 AM
Fair play to you Westside, good informative post. Several of our forwards injured..Not talking the poor mouth, but i think it's going to be a big ask for Ros to lift themselves to win this game.. Breffni Park is surely worth a few points to Cavan..How much morale has been restored to Ros after the Sligo debacle? Several players out injured and a few more likely to play with injuries.. Just seeing too many negatives with Ros right now.. Hope i'm wrong, and we'll travel in hope.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 01:00:11 AM
Quote from: Westside on July 01, 2015, 12:31:19 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2015, 11:36:07 PM

Any worries about handling Argue on the edge of the square?

Our centre-back and captain Niall Carty has a dodgy knee injury, been limited for a while now. When the FB line is fit it's our best line but we may have to move our corner-back Neil Collins to centre-back and altogether he can do a good job it will change the dynamic in the line. Defensively it's been the CHB spot that has been the weak link.

We've good footballing HBs but none of them have shown themselves to be the no-nonsense CHB we need to stop teams running down the spine of the defense. McKiernan getting past the HB line and having meters of space to bomb into or swing it over the bar would be my biggest fear.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 01:11:56 AM
We have 3 natural defenders on the panel - Collins, Murray and Fetherston.
Only one of them gets picked regularly.
The rest of the regular starters/sub's in defence are runny/passy wannabe attacking wing back types who haven't a defensive instinct from Adam.
Against London and Sligo we played Oul watery League football.
A repeat Saturday = end of 2015.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 01, 2015, 04:06:34 AM
The result of this game will shape the managerial futures of both Evans and Hyland, for sure. Hyland in particular needs the team to show some tangible progress on the field - he has made slow but positive progress so far but I'd go so far as to say that if he can't engineer a win at home to Roscommon after they spanked us last year, with the Rossies apparently in the doldrums/sick bay/squabbling on an expensive bus somewhere (take your pick) then he might have to make way for another man.
The team looked decent against Monaghan but surrendered the initiative when four points up, even if most seem to give credit to Monaghan for turning the tide themselves I think Cavan gave them a fair helping hand by standing off. That whiff of elementary rookie greeness this far into Hyland's reign, with the game there for the taking, worries me greatly, so I hope they've learned a lesson from that and are a bit more psychologically robust for this game.

I expect Cavan to shade it but Roscommon's wounded pride, what's at stake for Evans' project and an absolute lack of fear of Cavan means they will be a very different team to the one that capitulated against Sligo, and anyone expecting a comfortable home win wants their head examined in my opinion. There's nothing between these sides over the years really, last year's outlier excepted.
Post by: tippabu on July 01, 2015, 09:24:08 AM
I heard tipp played cavan recently in a challenge, anyone know how it went ?
Post by: highorlow on July 01, 2015, 10:00:26 AM
QuoteI heard tipp played cavan recently in a challenge, anyone know how it went ?

The Dubs played Cavan a while back too. That result would be the one to compare a like for like with the mighty Ross.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 01, 2015, 11:12:48 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on July 01, 2015, 04:06:34 AM
The result of this game will shape the managerial futures of both Evans and Hyland, for sure.

Hyland has been involved in one form or another for a good while now so it wouldnt exactly be the greatest surprise if there was a bit of pressure on him if Cavan don't get the result the next day. I think he might have been appointed up until 2016 when he got the solo gig. While he does have the U21 success and did get the promotion from Division 3 to Division 2, I could see a sense that they haven't quite made a proper breakthrough despite getting to the quarter-finals in 2013, Possible mutterings about things being stale, a new voice being needed to progress maybe ?

Pretty sure Evans's original deal with Roscommon got extended by a year to cover this year. Any Rossies can confirm? The drive up and down to Killorglin is a fairly long round trip and he's no spring chicken iirc. He was a Guard, and they can retire early but I've a notion he's a good bit retired now. Wouldnt be far off the 70 mark I'd say. As against that he might fancy having a crack off the big guns in Division 1.

The thing is that whoever gets through this round will likely be in with a pretty decent shout of progressing in the next round when you look at the possible opposition. One of Kildare/Offaly/Clare/Longford/Fermanagh/Antrim. Not exactly much to fear there. Get through that round and you will most likely have a 50/50 shot of a game against Westmeath to get to a quarter-final. For both these sides a last 8 spot at worst would look like a very decent year. They would likely be up against it at the quarter-final stage slot but far far better to be playing in August than not and they might just start to dream for a bit.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 01, 2015, 11:55:21 AM
I heard that an experimental Roscommon team drew with Galway in a challenge game last Saturday. But these games, for the most part, mean very little.. As far as i know, the iist of Ros players, either out injured or carrying injuries (including recent concussion) includes Niall Carty, Kevin Higgins, Mark Healy, Donie Shine, Senan Kilbride and Diarmuid Murtagh.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2015, 12:27:03 PM
Is this on the box?
Post by: Denn Forever on July 01, 2015, 12:33:57 PM
There appears to  be a concensus that Saturday is  a make or break  for either Manager.  Who is in line to replace either manager?

It would be hard on either of them if they are replaced.  Evans has got Roscommon in to  Div. 1 and Hyland has secured Div 2 football for next year.  And the team is no longer whipping boys for the more established teams (not pretty to watch but better than watching the teams of the Carr era);.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 01, 2015, 01:00:26 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 01, 2015, 12:27:03 PM
Is this on the box?

Yup definitely on the box - cant remember if I read it was on Sky and the Cork Wexford hurling is on RTE or the other way around.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 01, 2015, 01:19:54 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 01, 2015, 01:00:26 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 01, 2015, 12:27:03 PM
Is this on the box?

Yup definitely on the box - cant remember if I read it was on Sky and the Cork Wexford hurling is on RTE or the other way around.

Fantastic,  what a chance for the country to see the galacticos on free to air television,  I hope people make the most of it and tune in to see the greatest assembled team ever take to the pitch. You have to feel for Cavan,  how can they realistically hope to give the rossies a game,  only way Cavan will keep it to 15 points is if the best forwards ever have the wrong studs in.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 02:08:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 01, 2015, 11:12:48 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on July 01, 2015, 04:06:34 AM
The result of this game will shape the managerial futures of both Evans and Hyland, for sure.

Hyland has been involved in one form or another for a good while now so it wouldnt exactly be the greatest surprise if there was a bit of pressure on him if Cavan don't get the result the next day. I think he might have been appointed up until 2016 when he got the solo gig. While he does have the U21 success and did get the promotion from Division 3 to Division 2, I could see a sense that they haven't quite made a proper breakthrough despite getting to the quarter-finals in 2013, Possible mutterings about things being stale, a new voice being needed to progress maybe ?

Pretty sure Evans's original deal with Roscommon got extended by a year to cover this year. Any Rossies can confirm? The drive up and down to Killorglin is a fairly long round trip and he's no spring chicken iirc. He was a Guard, and they can retire early but I've a notion he's a good bit retired now. Wouldnt be far off the 70 mark I'd say. As against that he might fancy having a crack off the big guns in Division 1.

The thing is that whoever gets through this round will likely be in with a pretty decent shout of progressing in the next round when you look at the possible opposition. One of Kildare/Offaly/Clare/Longford/Fermanagh/Antrim. Not exactly much to fear there. Get through that round and you will most likely have a 50/50 shot of a game against Westmeath to get to a quarter-final. For both these sides a last 8 spot at worst would look like a very decent year. They would likely be up against it at the quarter-final stage slot but far far better to be playing in August than not and they might just start to dream for a bit.

John Evans signed on for two years last Autumn.
Post by: larryin89 on July 01, 2015, 02:12:29 PM
Well Mr syferus I hope he gets a ten year deal, a weak county manager is all I can describe him as , will not bring Roscommon on any further . Relegation next year and another Connacht exit probably in castlebar this time.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2015, 03:34:13 PM
Pretty confident Cavan will win this. Would be a very big blow to lose it
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 03:46:38 PM
Put up that flag successfully blocked thank God  ;D

If we lose this with another insipid performance I think we'll see the mid Roscommon gang/media/Hatch crew in full war mode going after Evans.
They'll also start the clamour for the Rhubarb man to be appointed as the new Messiah.

The rest of us will probably also be questioning if there's any future with JE at the helm. I see he's now telling us we have no ambition and the mindset must change.

Some of us would ask why the players weren't in better shape for the Sligo challenge and why after 3 years had we no discernible game plan or anything resembling a defensive strategy or why the best defender in Co Roscommon was left on the sideline while our defence was being destroyed.

Of course an energetic win and all changes... Rd 3A becomes winnable, a tilt at Westmeath and 4A could be won, and sure Cork might put one over on Kerry and sure we might even bate them in the Qtr Final.......
We'd then meet the winners of Kerry/Dublin and  :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 03:52:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 03:46:38 PM
Put up that flag successfully blocked thank God  ;D

If we lose this with another insipid performance I think we'll see the mid Roscommon gang/media/Hatch crew in full war mode going after Evans.
They'll also start the clamour for the Rhubarb man to be appointed as the new Messiah.

The rest of us will probably also be questioning if there's any future with JE at the helm. I see he's now telling us we have no ambition and the mindset must change.

Some of us would ask why the players weren't in better shape for the Sligo challenge and why after 3 years had we no discernible game plan or anything resembling a defensive strategy or why the best defender in Co Roscommon was left on the sideline while our defence was being destroyed.

Of course an energetic win and all changes... Rd 3A becomes winnable, a tilt at Westmeath and 4A could be won, and sure Cork might put one over on Kerry and sure we might even bate them in the Qtr Final.......
We'd then meet the winners of Kerry/Dublin and  :'( :'( :'( :'(

Young Murray is good but cop on. The lad is either a CB, WB or sweeper, too small for the centre slots. Those are the ones that are killing us particularly with Carty's injuries.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 01, 2015, 03:54:26 PM
It's live on RTE 2. Coverage starts at 4.40pm, throw in at 5pm.....Itchy, you're right to be confident of victory. Momentum is all with Cavan. The 'Roscommon Project' is damaged, limping on and off the pitch. Cavan by 5 points i fear.
Post by: Westside on July 01, 2015, 04:18:30 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2015, 03:34:13 PM

I agree it would be a blow to go out of Championship only having beaten London but our record over Roscommon is dismal. One win in a dead rubber game in the last 3 years. They won't be as bad againt us as they were against Sligo. They always rack up a big score against us. Whether the newfound attacking facet to our game is strong enough to outscore a team that are now Division 1 remains to be seen.

There's a lot of poor mouthing from the Rossies on here but I'd expect if Roscommon come out and put on a great show against us they won't be completely shocked.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 04:36:23 PM
Quote from: Westside on July 01, 2015, 04:18:30 PM

I agree it would be a blow to go out of Championship only having beaten London but our record over Roscommon is dismal. One win in a dead rubber game in the last 3 years. They won't be as bad againt us as they were against Sligo. They always rack up a big score against us. Whether the newfound attacking facet to our game is strong enough to outscore a team that are now Division 1 remains to be seen.

There's a lot of poor mouthing from the Rossies on here but I'd expect if Roscommon come out and put on a great show against us they won't be completely shocked.

If we had everyone fit we'd be quietly confident. I think it's a very hard game for us to judge because there's a bunch of players with knicks and I doubt even the management knows now who will be ready to go on Saturday and who won't. Couple that with the question mark of responding after the disappointment of the last day.

If a bunch of the injuries are manageable we'll be in a good spot, if they risk players and it blows up in our face like the last day then we're in for a hard shift.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 05:07:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 03:52:08 PM

Young Murray is good but cop on. The lad is either a CB, WB or sweeper, too small for the centre slots. Those are the ones that are killing us particularly with Carty's injuries.
Murray would be big enough to try marking Davideen Kelly who was playing puck on us.
Carty never was a full back , Collins is the nearest thing we have to one and Carty go CHB.
Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't that the lineup for the 50 minutes we bet Kildare by 18 - 6??
Post by: Westside on July 01, 2015, 06:11:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 04:36:23 PM

If we had everyone fit we'd be quietly confident. I think it's a very hard game for us to judge because there's a bunch of players with knicks and I doubt even the management knows now who will be ready to go on Saturday and who won't. Couple that with the question mark of responding after the disappointment of the last day.

If a bunch of the injuries are manageable we'll be in a good spot, if they risk players and it blows up in our face like the last day then we're in for a hard shift.

Cavan are without Killian Clarke, Rory Dunne and Martin Dunne, Mackey wasn't fit to start against London so he's a doubt as well. Both teams are hit by injuries.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 06:22:05 PM
Quote from: Westside on July 01, 2015, 06:11:57 PM

Cavan are without Killian Clarke, Rory Dunne and Martin Dunne, Mackey wasn't fit to start against London so he's a doubt as well. Both teams are hit by injuries.

I'd heard Clarke's injury was minor? Anyways, Senan seems to have picked up an ankle injury to go with his hammy so if he plays I'll be both amazed and worried. Donie Shine would be the man who'd be best able to replace Senan's role but he got a serious concussion the week before the Sligo game (spent a night in hospital) and people are saying he still may not be right. Diarmuid Murtagh sounds like he's out of the running after the last day too. Our best bet will probably be relying on the younger lads, Harney, Smith (x2), Connolly, Compton if we're to do damage to Cavan. It will be a big moment for all of them if they come of age at such a critical moment for the team. It's asking a lot of talented but inexperienced lads.

And Rossfan. yeah, that seems the best set-up we have at the back but with if Carty's as limited as we've heard is there much point asking him to play an even more all-action position, indeed should we be starting the lad at all?
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 06:37:48 PM
Indeed Syf - Summer Championship is not a suitable place for unfit lads as we found out in Markypark :-\
Post by: Westside on July 01, 2015, 07:19:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2015, 06:22:05 PM
Quote from: Westside on July 01, 2015, 06:11:57 PM

I'd heard Clarke's injury was minor? Anyways, Senan seems to have picked up an ankle injury to go with his hammy so if he plays I'll be both amazed and worried. Donie Shine would be the man who'd be best able to replace Senan's role but he got a serious concussion the week before the Sligo game (spent a night in hospital) and people are saying he still may not be right. Diarmuid Murtagh sounds like he's out of the running after the last day too. Our best bet will probably be relying on the younger lads, Harney, Smith (x2), Connolly, Compton if we're to do damage to Cavan. It will be a big moment for all of them if they come of age at such a critical moment for the team. It's asking a lot of talented but inexperienced lads.

And Rossfan. yeah, that seems the best set-up we have at the back but with if Carty's as limited as we've heard is there much point asking him to play an even more all-action position, indeed should we be starting the lad at all?

Clarke didn't play for Cavan since the middle of the League, missed the Monaghan game and had to come off 10 minutes into the London game.

Even if you are relying on young lads Syferus you can't really play it as a coming of age for the lads given that it'll not exactly be seasoned campaigners they will be up against. The Smiths and Compton and would all have played against the lads that will likely be marking them in U21 meetings, McLoughlin, Gunner Brady, McVeety.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 01, 2015, 08:44:49 PM
Glad that we also have Ciaran Murtagh and Cathal Cregg in the forwards.
Post by: larryin89 on July 01, 2015, 09:22:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 06:37:48 PM
Indeed Syf - Summer Championship is not a suitable place for unfit lads as we found out in Markypark :-\

And who's fault is that , what's the point in having a fitness test before a game if you pass or fail you still play?

Evans is a joker . Roscommon are a far better side than Sligo , it's quite ridiculous to work out how Roscommon managed to put in such a poor display . Management, management , management.

Post by: sligoman on July 01, 2015, 09:28:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 01, 2015, 09:22:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 01, 2015, 06:37:48 PM

And who's fault is that , what's the point in having a fitness test before a game if you pass or fail you still play?

Evans is a joker . Roscommon are a far better side than Sligo , it's quite ridiculous to work out how Roscommon managed to put in such a poor display . Management, management , management.

They're not a far better team than us.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2015, 10:22:26 PM
We will have to see sligoman, just how good Sligo are in their next 2 games. It's a bit of an unknown for me.
Post by: cavan4sam on July 03, 2015, 09:20:19 AM
Any line ups reported by either county yet?

Things are very quiet here in Cavan. Anyone know what the story is with Killian Clarke?
Post by: theyellowbus on July 03, 2015, 09:52:51 AM
Likely thing is ros team wont be announced until tomorrow.
Doubts about lots of our players. I hear Cathal Shine is out now along with S Kilbride,K Higgins,D Murtagh and N Carty.
Doubts over Ward,D Shine and Harney too.
I still think we have enough up front if we set up correctly and show a bit more composure on the ball.
The key to us winning is have we come up with a game plan that counteracts the packed defences that has made us look awful average any time we have come up against it.
Cavan will be hard break down tomorrow and a lot depends on our own mentality and if the management has the got the confidence going again.
Post by: cavan4sam on July 03, 2015, 10:27:38 AM
With programs to be printed, I would have thought that teams would have been announced, even if they might not fully represent what takes the field at 5pm tomorrow.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 10:46:16 AM
Quote from: cavan4sam on July 03, 2015, 10:27:38 AM
With programs to be printed, I would have thought that teams would have been announced, even if they might not fully represent what takes the field at 5pm tomorrow.

Welcome to our world. This doesn't even warrant comment because we're so used to it at this stage.
Post by: westbound on July 03, 2015, 10:55:28 AM
What happened to the Thursday rule, whereby you have to name the 26 for the game? Does that only force you to submit the 26 names to croke park and there is no obligation to publicly name the 26?
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 11:04:33 AM
Quote from: westbound on July 03, 2015, 10:55:28 AM
What happened to the Thursday rule, whereby you have to name the 26 for the game? Does that only force you to submit the 26 names to croke park and there is no obligation to publicly name the 26?

Apparently not.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 03, 2015, 11:24:36 AM
Sadly, i don't believe that Donal Ward is physically durable enough for inter county football. He's always injured. I've never seen a player that gets injured as much as he does. I don't believe that he kicked a ball during the league, yet somehow was picked to start against London, where he went off injured. The same happened against Sligo. This has been going on for years with him, yet he doesn't seem to have had any problems in his amateur boxing career....I think Injuries are also going to accelerate the end of Donie Shine's inter county career. In recent years, he seems to spend half the year injured, and the other half coming back from injury. As a result, his form, when he does play, is a far cry from what it used to be.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 11:57:58 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 03, 2015, 11:24:36 AM
Sadly, i don't believe that Donal Ward is physically durable enough for inter county football. He's always injured. I've never seen a player that gets injured as much as he does. I don't believe that he kicked a ball during the league, yet somehow was picked to start against London, where he went off injured. The same happened against Sligo. This has been going on for years with him, yet he doesn't seem to have had any problems in his amateur boxing career....I think Injuries are also going to accelerate the end of Donie Shine's inter county career. In recent years, he seems to spend half the year injured, and the other half coming back from injury. As a result, his form, when he does play, is a far cry from what it used to be.

Ward played the second half of the Galway game. I don't know what his boxing has to do with anything. I've know the Wards for years and his dad is the linchpin of Loughglynn Boxing Club and he's been doing it since he was a kid. He shouldn't have to make any apologies for it or it cost him anything at IC, another amateur sport. Both players will have a lot to contribute when they get fully fit. More than anything both might need to be trained smarter to guard against their bodies breaking down.
Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2015, 12:45:04 PM
Donal Ward will sadly not be making it now at IC level.He's 27 this year and is too injury prone.
Donie Shine's best days seem to be well behind him too sadly. He's now a hit and miss freetaker and is too slow and lethargic for serious level IC Championship football.
Cregg and S Kilbride need to prove themselves in the Championship too as time is running out for the latter.
The former needs to step up to the proverbial plater and give leadership to the team - not just head down solo bursts.
Maybe tomorrow evening some lads may start to prove they are worthy successors to Keegan, Earley, O'Malley, Tony Mac, Enon Gavin. Aidan Brady, Jamesie Murray. Bill Jackson etc and especially JOHN JOE NERNEY RIP.
Remember we're a noble race from a land where kings once trod!
Are we going to bend the knee to a crowd of Cavan men?
NEVER! NEVER! NEVER!
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 12:55:23 PM
Rossfan's never-ending tour of writing off players only to be proven spectacularly wrong seems to have lapped itself and now it's covering the same players yet again. How many times does a player have to prove himself to you exactly or do you just have the memory of a goldfish?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 03, 2015, 12:58:25 PM
The Cavan line out has been late announced all year. On a Saturday sometimes.

Clarke will hardly start,
Post by: Westside on July 03, 2015, 01:05:18 PM
Are the programs not available online from today? Or is that just Ulster Championship.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 03, 2015, 01:07:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 12:55:23 PM
Rossfan's never-ending tour of writing off players only to be proven spectacularly wrong seems to have lapped itself and now it's covering the same players yet again. How many times does a player have to prove himself to you exactly or do you just have the memory of a goldfish?

Its called being realistic you simpleton, when will it sink into your head that over the last decade or more there has been no indication at all that any Roscommon player is good enough for any of the top teams in the country based on their championship form. Its not the fault of Rossfans or any other sensible follower of the game that you cannot see the true facts staring you in the face.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 03, 2015, 01:24:07 PM
Syferus, you are misinterpreting what i said about Donal Ward. I only mentioned his boxing to draw a comparison with his football. He seems to have had a less troublesome boxing career injurywise than his football career. Of course he's entitled to play a number of sports. I didn't say that he wasn't. Just for the record, my family also know his family, but that's got nothing to do with anything.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 01:31:22 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 03, 2015, 01:24:07 PM
Syferus, you are misinterpreting what i said about Donal Ward. I only mentioned his boxing to draw a comparison with his football. He seems to have had a less troublesome boxing career injurywise than his football career. Of course he's entitled to play a number of sports. I didn't say that he wasn't. Just for the record, my family also know his family, but that's got nothing to do with anything.

Fair enough then Shrewd.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 03, 2015, 01:41:11 PM
I hope the "malaise" of the Roscommon supporters infects the Roscommon team.
Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2015, 01:46:44 PM
It's all about what you do in Summer and apart from the 2010 smash and grab we haven't been doing much since 2003.
Some players look great and do great in Spring but little Summer delivery.
I'd love it if they prove me wrong in May/June/ July/ Aug/ or whisper it September.....

Great description of Syfín on stolen sheep - " optimism of a 5 year old on Christmas Eve"
Post by: weareros on July 03, 2015, 01:49:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 03, 2015, 01:46:44 PM
Great description of Syfín on stolen sheep - " optimism of a 5 year old on Christmas Eve"

Good job he's not from Cavan, then. The Cavanman is well known to take the kids to see Santa's grave on Christmas Eve.
Post by: Itchy on July 03, 2015, 01:57:12 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 03, 2015, 01:49:59 PM

Good job he's not from Cavan, then. The Cavanman is well known to take the kids to see Santa's grave on Christmas Eve.

Hilarious, reading Niall Tobin joke book from 1986 again?
Post by: theyellowbus on July 03, 2015, 04:21:00 PM
It's all about what you do in Summer and apart from the 2010 smash and grab we haven't been doing much since 2003.
I'd love it if they prove me wrong in May/June/ July/ Aug/ or whisper it September.....

There is nothing wrong with optimism but when will people start realising that the current crop of players (bar cregg,keenan,seanie and D Shine) have done very little in terms of progress in regards the championship.We have not beaten either Galway or Mayo in a Championship game in ages,our qualifier record since 2010 is poor and we have been harping on since 06 about our under age success and waiting for this Messiah of a team to come along from all the under age winning and bring us to the promised land.When are we going to start being realistic again and stop talking ourselves up as something we are not.
Players aren't at fault here.Its the fact that we were playing in the doldrums of Div 3 & 4 for so long as well as bar Fergal the appointment of some poor management.
I personally think that the current management has run its course and in fairness has us in a better position in relation to the league which we can try and develop and hopefully turn this team into a side that is hard nut to crack come championship.
I hope to god tomorrow is somewhat of a turning point in relation to this side come championship but I cannot see it.Even if we do win what guarantee is there with our recent record that we will perform in our next game.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 03, 2015, 04:30:26 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 03, 2015, 04:21:00 PM

There is nothing wrong with optimism but when will people start realising that the current crop of players (bar cregg,keenan,seanie and D Shine) have done very little in terms of progress in regards the championship.We have not beaten either Galway or Mayo in a Championship game in ages,our qualifier record since 2010 is poor and we have been harping on since 06 about our under age success and waiting for this Messiah of a team to come along from all the under age winning and bring us to the promised land.When are we going to start being realistic again and stop talking ourselves up as something we are not.
Players aren't at fault here.Its the fact that we were playing in the doldrums of Div 3 & 4 for so long as well as bar Fergal the appointment of some poor management.
I personally think that the current management has run its course and in fairness has us in a better position in relation to the league which we can try and develop and hopefully turn this team into a side that is hard nut to crack come championship.
I hope to god tomorrow is somewhat of a turning point in relation to this side come championship but I cannot see it.Even if we do win what guarantee is there with our recent record that we will perform in our next game.

Well said and in fairness to ye its only the one clown (no prizes for guessing who) who continues to hype the players up into something they aren't.
Post by: larryin89 on July 03, 2015, 11:15:08 PM
Sure Ffs in fairness to syferus he is a rossie supporter , surely it's his role to find positives even when losing , otherwise what's the point ?
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 11:25:17 PM
Apparently it's been confirmed on Shannonside that Senan Kilbride, Diarmuid Murtagh, Niall Carty and Cathal Shine are all injured.

In the other direction Donie Shine, Kevin Higgins and Conor Daly are apparently fit to start. Donie and Kevin both have only saw limited time this year with serious injuries so it's questionable how sharp they can be. Still a bit of a boost because both are at positions where other injuries have taken out key players.

Have not got a clue what to expect tomorrow.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 04, 2015, 12:44:36 AM
With the amount of key injured Ros players, we'll be lucky to still be in this game by half tine.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 04, 2015, 04:55:50 AM
I'm fully expecting at least three of the Roscommon team to play in jeans.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 08:59:19 AM
Quote from: westbound on July 03, 2015, 10:55:28 AM

The rule is that the 26 players have to be provided to Croke Park by 9am on Thursday.

There is no obligation for counties to actually name teams at all now.

I think Croke Park should give simply tell county boards they have until 9am on Friday to release the the squad to the public or it will be posted on Gaa.ie

Also you heard a lot about it being a 21/26 man game now but yet the vast majority of county boards only "name" the 15 in the team and make no mention of the subs. Being a sub on an intercounty team can be thankless stuff especially when you are well down the pecking order, especially if you are on the fringes of the panel maybe 25th/26th and could be in for one game and out for another depending on injuries/fitness. Imagine what it's like for lads like this after a team is "announced" where only the starting 15 have been listed in terms of having to tell family, friends, work-makes, acquaintances whether they are in or out of the panel.

Kerry are the county that consistently lead the way in terms of the quality of their team announcements - Their announcement during the week listed the team, the subs, players who were injured (so not in contention) and the extended panel. The thing is they do the same for the U21, junior and minors. You go on other counties websites and you have to hunt around to find the starting 15 until a couple of hours before throw-in. It's something that costs nothing bar a tiny amount of time but shows that the full squad is recognised. For younger folk who live huge chunks of their life online, it must be a right pain to be getting messages after the official announcement which only lists 15 from folk asking them whether or not they made the subs bench. It's only a small thing but if you are slogging your guts out in training for months, being a model citizen in terms of doing your bit for the team when you have a good idea your chances of getting a shot are limited enough, to see the official team announcement and not see your name there must be a bit irksome.
Post by: Westside on July 04, 2015, 12:21:33 PM
Cavan team named.

Ray Galligan
Jason McLoughlin
James McEnroe
Killian Brady
Damien O'Reilly
Feargal Flanagan
Niall Murray
Gearoid McKiernan
Tomas Corr
Martin Reilly
Dara McVeety
Cian Mackey
Niall McDermott
Michael Argue
Ronan Flanagan

Killian Clarke and especially Rory Dunne are big losses to the team. Full back line for us may be a slight worry now without Rory. Strong team apart from that. Haven't won a televised game in over 2 years... Looking forward to this one.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 04, 2015, 12:29:22 PM
So its all true, no Senan, Cathal, Niall, Diarmuid only one togged but on bench, Harney also on bench whether its still injury or not I dont know, Cavan will never have a better chance, I am travelling in hope rather than confidence. Come on the Rossies.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 04, 2015, 12:42:55 PM
Can anyone elaborate on the exact Roscommon team for today's game?
Post by: giveballaghback on July 04, 2015, 12:51:32 PM
Keenan and Murry are playing, Collins is full back, Ian k and Higgins mid f, D Smyth D shine C murtagh full for line, thats all I know along with last post.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 04, 2015, 12:56:08 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 04, 2015, 12:51:32 PM
Keenan and Murry are playing, Collins is full back, Ian k and Higgins mid f, D Smyth D shine C murtagh full for line, thats all I know along with last post.
Cheers!  :) Tbh I'd prefer Murray, Collins and McDermott as our FB line, with Carthy at CHB(when fit) Niall Daly's a nice footballer but not a defender. Hope today Donal Smith can step up, I think he just needs some more confidence and then we could see him fulfill his potential.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2015, 01:00:47 PM
Everyone in Ros apart from team management say it should be Collins FB and Carty CHB.
I presume  HB line is Keenan N Daly Cafferky? And CDaly Cregg(er) and E Smith HF line?
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 04, 2015, 01:06:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 04, 2015, 01:00:47 PM
Everyone in Ros apart from team management say it should be Collins FB and Carty CHB.
I presume  HB line is Keenan N Daly Cafferky? And CDaly Cregg(er) and E Smith HF line?
Apparently Harney may be starting so he'd probably fit in with Smith and Cregg in the HF line.
Post by: babarino on July 04, 2015, 03:48:16 PM
Didn't get to see Roscommon play since League final Croke Pk against Down. They looked very good.

Surely they haven't gone so far downhill since, that they can't get a win against Cavan.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:01:43 PM
Ouch for Roscommon - very bad goal to give away early - still if you are going to give away a howler best time to do it is the 1st minute.

Good response to narrow it back to 2
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:02:46 PM
Smart play by McVeety to "refuse" the advantage and take the free
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:03:47 PM
Donie Shine with a peach to narrow it back to 2

Cregg goal

Cavan 1-1 Roscommon 1-2

GAME ON
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:07:57 PM
Cavan tap-over free to level it.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:11:08 PM
Enda Smith tasty point to put Ros a point up.

Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:15:30 PM
McVeety having a great game so far.

Both sides have gotten a lot more defensive after the first 5 minutes.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:19:28 PM
Ultan Harney point to stretch the lead.

Injury to Niall McDermott - ankle - Tom Hayes in to replace him

High ball to Argue as a tactic not really bearing fruit.
Post by: theticklemister on July 04, 2015, 05:20:19 PM
Who is the lead commentator????

darragh or Tommy??

Shut up Carr would YE!
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:20:47 PM
Cavan with a nicely worked moved and Niall Murray points to narrow it to 1 again
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:21:46 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 04, 2015, 05:20:19 PM
Who is the lead commentator????

darragh or Tommy??

Shut up Carr would YE!

If someone could rip out Tommy's vocal chords it would be a great service to the GAA community

Tap over Rossie free puts the gap back to 2
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:23:20 PM
4 Rossie wides to 1 for  Cavan now
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:25:55 PM
Done Shine free stretches it to 3 - Rossies in the ascendancy here.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:29:09 PM
McKiernan point to keep Cavan in touch.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:31:02 PM
Cathal Cregg, what's his story.
Simple wide, mishandles a great pass in, gives away the ball
Post by: theticklemister on July 04, 2015, 05:32:02 PM
http://cricfree.tv/premier-sports-live-stream

STREAM
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:32:33 PM
Cavan tap-over free for a jersey foul on Argue - Wreckless stupid foul

Martin reilly gets a good score to level it up.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:35:18 PM
Rossie point to put them back ahead.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:38:18 PM
Innocuous!
He struck him!
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:41:07 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:38:18 PM
Innocuous!
He struck him!

Yerra just a punch to the back of the head and because he fell over he made a meal of it  ::) (and he was up pretty much straight away)

Lots of cheap turnovers from both sides - Ros look a side missing key players while Cavan's attach is having to struggle hard.

There is a bit of tricky looking wind and I wouldn't be surprised to see this go all the way to the wire.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2015, 05:42:35 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:38:18 PM
Innocuous!
He struck him!

Someone should Tom Carr an innocuous box to the back of the head. Ruins the game "it was a foul because he was fouled"  >:(
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2015, 05:46:35 PM
Feel ok after that half. A bit ropey up front at times, lovely at others. Bit of a crosswind that favoured us in the first half, don't know how much it helped or hurt.

Hopefully Harney is ok to play on, him and Shine the best performers for us.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2015, 05:46:51 PM
Corr a lucky boy to avoid red. Where was the Roscommon full back line for the Cavan goal? Donie Shine the only man back.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:53:33 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 04, 2015, 05:46:51 PM
Corr a lucky boy to avoid red. Where was the Roscommon full back line for the Cavan goal? Donie Shine the only man back.

Yup - you have to feel a fair bit of sympathy for the Ros keeper - was left completely exposed and then he came almost so close to making the save anway but the ball just snuck past him.
Post by: smelmoth on July 04, 2015, 05:55:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 04, 2015, 05:46:51 PM

The law will catch up with him in the end. Clear red card on the replay.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 04, 2015, 05:55:21 PM
Pretty poor from Cavan - labouring very hard in attack and Ross not much better.  Hopefully Cavan can improve with the wind although our first half problems were hardly all climatic in nature either...
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:57:45 PM
and there's the red card
Cavan tried to pull a fast one
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 05:58:31 PM
Carr still talking rubbish up until the ref sent off Corr

"it's a 50/50" he says  ::)
Post by: smelmoth on July 04, 2015, 06:00:34 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 05:57:45 PM
and there's the red card

The reaction of the Cavan bench indicates that whilst they were hoping to get away with it that this is exactly what they thought would happen.

Tommy Carr appears to lack basic intelligence
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:05:29 PM
Goal by Enda Smith

2-10 to 1-7 now for Ros
Post by: BennyHarp on July 04, 2015, 06:06:29 PM
Great goal but two bounces?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2015, 06:09:13 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 04, 2015, 06:06:29 PM
Great goal but two bounces?

Lost control and regathered but dodgy enough
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:09:22 PM
Mackay is a class act
Post by: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:13:55 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:09:22 PM
Mackay is a class act

he has hit a fair few shocking passes.

Hit a lovely point and great energy but his passing is off kilter.

Some of it can be explained by the sheer lack of options that Cavan's system provides but there have been a few where the intended recipent was in some space and he just fluffed it of went for the hollywood pass.

For all the Cavan underage success have they developed a quality scoring forward?
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 04, 2015, 06:16:54 PM
Score lads?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:19:12 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:13:55 PM
Mackay is a class act

Some of it can be explained by the sheer lack of options that Cavan's system provides but there have been a few where the intended recipent was in some space and he just fluffed it of went for the hollywood pass.

For all the Cavan underage success have they developed a quality scoring forward?

I think Cavan have struggled to develop any sort of quality attacking system - one quality scoring forward isn't going to do much on their own - I think there is a collective weakness in terms of their attaching options.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:19:33 PM
Ros 2-14 CAvan 1-13 57th minute
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:21:10 PM
Ros 2-15 Cavan 1-13 58th minute

Post by: babarino on July 04, 2015, 06:22:21 PM
Two defeats at home in the Championship = annus horriblus

There'll not be much noise from our neighbours for a while.

At least the 80+ year olds still have the memories.
Post by: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:22:59 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 04, 2015, 06:00:34 PM
and there's the red card

The reaction of the Cavan bench indicates that whilst they were hoping to get away with it that this is exactly what they thought would happen.

Tommy Carr appears to lack basic intelligence

He called that Reilly point correctly. The way he took the ball in his hands and kicked it over the bar really was a great exhibition of Reilly's soccer skills. Jesus wept
Post by: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:26:12 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:19:12 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:13:55 PM
Mackay is a class act

I think Cavan have struggled to develop any sort of quality attacking system - one quality scoring forward isn't going to do much on their own - I think there is a collective weakness in terms of their attaching options.

Cavan really are craap to watch. Must  great life  for a Cavan player to slog your guts out to play in that system and it gets you no further than actually playing a bit if football.  Hey-ho 7 minutes to prove me wrong. The Rossies don't look brilliant so I suppose it could happen
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:26:22 PM
Ros 2-15 Cavan 1-14 63rd minute
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 04, 2015, 06:28:10 PM
Carrs word of the day is "penetration", he missed his calling in ufc also, blatantly loves punching off the ball
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:29:06 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 04, 2015, 06:26:12 PM
Cavan really are craap to watch. Must  great life  for a Cavan player to slog your guts out to play in that system and it gets you no further than actually playing a bit if football.  Hey-ho 7 minutes to prove me wrong. The Rossies don't look brilliant so I suppose it could happen

Ros have had plenty of chances to close this game out far more comfortably but their wastefulness/sloppiness has helped keep Cavan slim hopes alive.

A more experienced battle-hardened team the likes of they will be playing in Division 1 would have been far more comfortable down the home stretch against 14 men.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:29:59 PM
Ros 2-16 Cavan 1-14 67th minute
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:30:31 PM
Cregg MOTM?
Tommy Carr, you are an idiot
Post by: theticklemister on July 04, 2015, 06:32:31 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:30:31 PM
Cregg MOTM?

Yeah, should have been Larry Reilly
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:32:59 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:30:31 PM
Cregg MOTM?

Mind-boggling.

I'd say Cregg would be a bit embarrassed picking up the award.

Ros 2-17 Cavan 1-14 69th minute
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:34:19 PM
Ros 3-17 Cavan 1-15 70th minute

Ros literally walk through the Cavan defence to put a gloss on the scoreline with a goal.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:34:39 PM
Enda Smith was far better than any other Ros player
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:35:26 PM
Ros 3-17 Cavan 1-16 FT

The Rossie bus rolls on.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 04, 2015, 06:36:00 PM
Cavan were very disappointing. Seemed to accept defeat far too easily. I see the Roscommon number 10 was at the old sledging - tut tut!!
Post by: theticklemister on July 04, 2015, 06:36:29 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:35:26 PM
Ros 3-17 Cavan 1-16 FT

The Rossie bus rolls on.

All ireland is still alive
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2015, 06:37:42 PM
Tommy Carr set the tone for this game!  Jez what a yawn fest!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 04, 2015, 06:41:43 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2015, 06:34:39 PM
Enda Smith was far better than any other Ros player

Nice player, good attitude too.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 04, 2015, 06:47:25 PM
I think it's time for Hyland to pack it in at this stage. He's there long enough to at least gave some sort of attacking blueprint in place but on the evidence of today Cavan are no longer progressing under his stewardship.
It's worth reminding though that at least now Cavan have players that give their all and have pride in the shirt and for that Hyland deserves some credit but there's talented underage footballers in the county who need to be grown in an environment where attacking is not treated as a nuisance or an afterthought. Thanks Terry for restoring a bit of pride but the limitations of the tactical approach are all too apparent if not embarrassing at this stage.  Time for a new direction.

Fair play Ross,  in hindsight,  this weak Cavan challenge was the perfect recuperation.  Without doing anything too noteworthy it was a comfortable and deserved win.

Post by: Main Street on July 04, 2015, 06:52:57 PM
and there's the red card
They probably thought it was a smart move at the time.

I thought  Enda Smith  took about 20 road runner steps, before scoring. I didn't think the ball hit the ground when he lost control.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:54:44 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on July 04, 2015, 06:47:25 PM
I think it's time for Hyland to pack it in at this stage. He's there long enough to at least gave some sort of attacking blueprint in place but on the evidence of today Cavan are no longer progressing under his stewardship.
It's worth reminding though that at least now Cavan have players that give their all and have pride in the shirt and for that Hyland deserves some credit but there's talented underage footballers in the county who need to be grown in an environment where attacking is not treated as a nuisance or an afterthought. Thanks Terry for restoring a bit of pride but the limitations of the tactical approach are all too apparent if not embarrassing at this stage.  Time for a new direction.

Yeah wouldnt exactly be a massive surprise to see him move on - he definitely made progress but it's very hard to see him taking Cavan further on. Time to roll the dice again I think.

Liam McHale seems to have made zero in the way of difference in adding to Cavan's attacking options. I had zero faith when he was appointed and on the basis of today he seems to have repaid that in spades so on that basis I'd be moving him on pronto too.
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2015, 07:09:26 PM
That was lovely. It startched a real Itch we had after the last day.

Smith was good but Harney was my MotM on his first ever senior start. Donie Shine was huge for us in the first 50 too. Collins destroyed Argue in their battle and it really limited Cavan's options.
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 07:11:29 PM
No idea why Cavan insisted on sticking with big Tyson Furey on the edge of the square. Not sure if he won a single ball.

Some super scores tonight

That's Roscommon still on course to land Sam and Sligo the minor AI. Put yer Tyrone friends house on it !
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 04, 2015, 07:16:02 PM
Not going to dispute the red card or the fact that justice was served but what exactly is within the referee's remit in that situation? He missed the incident at the time as did all the officials and in fact they allowed play continue on for a period after it.

Clearly it was brought to the official's attention at the break and they have the benefit of TV replays but then you're in the territory of reviewing every incident in the whole half. Did they? Clearly not.

I know players like Martin Penrose and Brendan Bugler have been sent off for incidents after the half-time whistle had been blown but as far as I can recall this is a whole new precedent.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2015, 07:29:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 06:34:19 PM
Ros 3-17 Cavan 1-15 70th minute

Ros literally walk through the Cavan defence to put a gloss on the scoreline with a goal.
A gloss but the margin of the win was probably a fair reflection over the course of 70 mins. Very open game neither side can be happy with their defending when watching back.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 04, 2015, 07:57:59 PM
Surprised at how open Cavan allowed the game to be, that showed them up for what they are. Roscommon should be dissapointed to concede so many scores but after the last day and their injury problems they'll be delighted with the win.

Post by: sligoman on July 04, 2015, 08:50:30 PM
Roscommon looked impressive going forward today.

Donie Shine looks much slimmer.
Post by: larryin89 on July 04, 2015, 09:10:41 PM
Roscommon were great value at 5/1 before tonight's game to reach the quarters , I bet they'll be around 2/1 now.
Post by: INDIANA on July 04, 2015, 09:21:36 PM
New management required for Cavan I'm afraid.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 04, 2015, 09:23:47 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 04, 2015, 09:10:41 PM
Roscommon were great value at 5/1 before tonight's game to reach the quarters , I bet they'll be around 2/1 now.
Further than quarters is realistic. Nice & impressive tonight.
Post by: INDIANA on July 04, 2015, 09:28:02 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 04, 2015, 09:23:47 PM

More chance of seeing Halley's Comet. Two Div 2 teams playing tonight
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 04, 2015, 09:31:32 PM
Enda Smth,Ultan Harney,Diarmuid Murtagh are three gems that Roscommon need to look after. defensively they are similar to Donegal before McGuinness arrived can John Evans bring that needed improvement or will it be another manager? Cavan scoring 1-16 would normally be enough to win them a game however they were surprising poor in defence today.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2015, 09:45:52 PM
Roscommon face one of Kildare, Longford and the winner of Antrim/Fermanagh in the next round.

After that the opposition will be one of the losers of Kerry/Cork or Dublin/Westmeath.

If Kerry put a beating on Cork tomorrow that might well be a very achievable route to the quarters even if drawn against them and Roscommon would have zero fear of a Westmeath side who will likely take a fairly big beating from Dublin.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 04, 2015, 09:51:40 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 04, 2015, 09:28:02 PM

More chance of seeing Halley's Comet. Two Div 2 teams playing tonight

Cavan are lucky enough to be a div 2 side. Roscommon have a lot more talented bunch of players.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 04, 2015, 10:08:29 PM
I had an "itchy" feeling heading for Cavan today but thankfully all is good in rossieland once more, silence is golden, a win is all that was required today, to win and learn lessons is always the best result, that will be a good confidence builder for the team, Cathal Shine, Senan k and Diarmuid M will be huge addition when they come back, with a full panel to pick from we can give a good account of ourselves regardless of who we play. Hon the Rossies.
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 04, 2015, 10:24:52 PM
To get further than the quarters Roscommon will have to beat one of the provincial champions.

On the evidence of today they are a long way short of that.
Post by: larryin89 on July 04, 2015, 10:50:33 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 04, 2015, 10:24:52 PM
To get further than the quarters Roscommon will have to beat one of the provincial champions.

On the evidence of today they are a long way short of that.

I wouldn't go by today , they do look a bit tired probably from too much football for some of them but they have potential. (It pains me to say that believe me) Evans not the man to bring them on IMO but confidence building through a couple of wins will do them young bucks a power of good .
Post by: CC1 on July 05, 2015, 12:16:22 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on July 04, 2015, 07:16:02 PM
Not going to dispute the red card or the fact that justice was served but what exactly is within the referee's remit in that situation? He missed the incident at the time as did all the officials and in fact they allowed play continue on for a period after it.

Clearly it was brought to the official's attention at the break and they have the benefit of TV replays but then you're in the territory of reviewing every incident in the whole half. Did they? Clearly not.

I know players like Martin Penrose and Brendan Bugler have been sent off for incidents after the half-time whistle had been blown but as far as I can recall this is a whole new precedent.
It's an interesting one alright, was the Roscommon player retrospectively given a yellow card after the break by any chance? If not, I'd like to know why not?
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2015, 12:26:41 AM

I can't see how it was within the rules to send him off so long after the incident occurred. Very different to the Penrose incident.
One thing for sure, if the game wasn't covered live, there would have been no red card given no official saw what happened
Grounds for a Cavan appeal?
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 05, 2015, 02:08:07 AM
Wrt Syferus point about Roscommon neutralising Argue,  I'd advise not to get too carried away.  Last night and against Monaghan too there was almost zero winnable ball put into him.  Off the top of my head,  last night he got fouled under one dropping ball early on,  failed to control a lower pass into his chest during a later attack in the same half  and thereafter there was maybe one solitary ball of a contestable aerial nature served up to him.
I'm commenting more on the utterly bereft Cavan attacking play than Ross' limitations here.  Well done on the win.
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2015, 02:15:08 AM
Ah for fcuk sake.....appeal me rear end that a man was sent off for hitting a 20 year old a box in the head. Pity the Connacht Council hadn't the cojones to investigate the thug who fractured Harney's jaw in London. >:(
Great hearted performance today. So many lads stood up to be counted.
We may never win Sam again but we proved the Sligo nonsense was a one off.
We have a long way to go before we challenge for real honours, we have a lot to learn,but days like today with the bond between supporters and players etc is why we love football and tribalism and pride in where we come from and all that.
Onwards upwards the best is still to come and Eamon O' Hara is a plonker.
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 02:25:05 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 05, 2015, 02:15:08 AM
Ah for fcuk sake.....appeal me rear end that a man was sent off for hitting a 20 year old a box in the head. Pity the Connacht Council hadn't the cojones to investigate the thug who fractured Harney's jaw in London. >:(
Great hearted performance today. So many lads stood up to be counted.
We may never win Sam again but we proved the Sligo nonsense was a one off.
We have a long way to go before we challenge for real honours, we have a lot to learn,but days like today with the bond between supporters and players etc is why we love football and tribalism and pride in where we come from and all that.
Onwards upwards the best is still to come and Eamon O' Hara is a plonker.

For a write-off Donie Shine done well..
Post by: weareros on July 05, 2015, 03:58:24 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2015, 12:26:41 AM

I can't see how it was within the rules to send him off so long after the incident occurred. Very different to the Penrose incident.
One thing for sure, if the game wasn't covered live, there would have been no red card given no official saw what happened

The first time the ball went out of play after incident occurred (Cavan wide free), ref blew for half time. The red card was still within the first stop of play and beginning of first half before play resumed. Only thing that made it seem a long time afterwards was the half time break. That said, nothing I've ever seen before. I think Cavan further antagonised the ref by trying to play a fast one.

Tremendous performance by Roscommon considering the injury plight and giving a goal up less than a minute after throw-in. Thought Donie Shine and David Keenan (who says those 2006 minors will never amount to anything) showed great leadership. We are still rough around the edges and concede far too much (credit so Cavan - 1-16 is good scoring), but plenty of reasons to be optimistic. I hope this result puts a sock in those second rate hacks who write for the Roscommon People (you know who you are) and those ex-county footballers -who were great footballers - but utter bollockes when they put pen to paper and who should not be let next or near Twitter. Onwards. We are Ros.

Post by: Hound on July 05, 2015, 10:33:48 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 05, 2015, 03:58:24 AM

The first time the ball went out of play after incident occurred (Cavan wide free), ref blew for half time. The red card was still within the first stop of play and beginning of first half before play resumed. Only thing that made it seem a long time afterwards was the half time break. That said, nothing I've ever seen before.

Seemed longer than that to me, but if that's the case then its fair enough.
Although you would wonder why he didnt call him over and send him off then at the first stop in play, and then blow for HT after issuing the card.

More precedent for encouraging lads to hit the deck when they do get a clip of any sort.
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2015, 10:35:12 AM
Well said weareros re the Ros People hacks.
I've stopped picking it up as the GAA stuff would annoy yer arse.
I saw one of them leaving after the game yesterday a d to say his puss was sour would be an understatement!!!!!
Post by: Itchy on July 05, 2015, 10:39:48 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 05, 2015, 10:22:08 AM
I can't believe that Cavan thought they might get away with it by subbing him!!

He deserved to be sent off. Referee and officials got it spot on.

He deserved red for what he done but the referee has crossed a line as I've no doubt external influence other than his officials alerted him to the incident whether it was TV or someone texting him. Also, he refused to allow a Cavan sub. What if Corr had been subbed just before HT and after the incident? My gut feeling is that he was so intent in getting his call right he used improper methods to do it. Did he check all his other decisions in the 1st half I wonder

All that being said Cavan were dire, clueless on the line and toothless up front and I think Ros would have won even if Cavan kept 15 on. Anyone who thinks Mackey was good knows nothing about football, he was lazy and arrogant and for me contributed no work rate- we played with 13 in 2nd half. Why Cavan didn't revert to a very defensive game plan l have no idea. Why was Martin Reilly taking 45s instead of Galligan, ridiculous! Sad day for Cavan, big big blow mentally and a sad end to hyland reign I expect. Cavan will need to choose next manager very carefully.

Good luck to Ros, a team with scoring power must be respected but your inability to contest on kick outs could come back and bite you against better opposition.
Post by: LCohen on July 05, 2015, 11:10:04 AM
During the HT break one of the RTE pundits said that one of the umpires had signalled for the refs attention after the incident. Seems to me that the ref crossed no line and no rules were broken.

Apparently the Cavan management were aware of the discussion between the umpire and the ref as they left the field. Probably explains the stunt they attempted.

And a man that deserved to get sent off was sent off. Nothing to see here. Jog on (actually that would do as a match report on this one)
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 11:14:57 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 05, 2015, 11:10:04 AM
During the HT break one of the RTE pundits said that one of the umpires had signalled for the refs attention after the incident. Seems to me that the ref crossed no line and no rules were broken.

Apparently the Cavan management were aware of the discussion between the umpire and the ref as they left the field. Probably explains the stunt they attempted.

And a man that deserved to get sent off was sent off. Nothing to see here. Jog on (actually that would do as a match report on this one)

That makes Hyland's denial about not knowing what happened on Shannonside after the match look really bad.

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/roscommon-3-17-cavan-1-16/
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2015, 11:29:32 AM
Re the sending off, I thought it was only within the ref's power to give a red after half-time if the incident had occurred after the whistle being blown to end the first half.
The classic tunnel bust-up scenario basically.
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 11:31:27 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2015, 10:33:48 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 05, 2015, 03:58:24 AM

The first time the ball went out of play after incident occurred (Cavan wide free), ref blew for half time. The red card was still within the first stop of play and beginning of first half before play resumed. Only thing that made it seem a long time afterwards was the half time break. That said, nothing I've ever seen before.

Seemed longer than that to me, but if that's the case then its fair enough.
Although you would wonder why he didnt call him over and send him off then at the first stop in play, and then blow for HT after issuing the card.

More precedent for encouraging lads to hit the deck when they do get a clip of any sort.

You're some man if you can take a rabbit punch to the back of the head and shrug it off!

(http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2015/07/corr1.gif)
Post by: CC1 on July 05, 2015, 11:42:22 AM
Was the Roscommon player retrospectively given a yellow for his part in the incident? It'd be interesting to know why not if he hadn't.
Post by: Itchy on July 05, 2015, 11:45:39 AM
Ciaran Brady got a yellow for trying to break a ball from a kick out, first involvement he had after coming on. We had a point disallowed for square ball. I thought the red was poor so I'd doubt it very much if the Ros player who instigated the incident by dragging at Corr got any punishment
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 11:48:20 AM
Quote from: CC1 on July 05, 2015, 11:42:22 AM
Was the Roscommon player retrospectively given a yellow for his part in the incident? It'd be interesting to know why not if he hadn't.

If every bit of niggle in a match is a yellow to you, your idea of a fairly refereed football match would look like some sort of apocalyptic version of football where games end with two or three men on the field. The only thing there that needed officiating was Tomas Corr deciding to thump Ultan Harney in the back of the head.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 05, 2015, 12:25:55 PM
Well done to the Roscommon team and management on an excellent win yesterday. They were under huge pressure to perform, pressure which became even greater, with the unexpected ingredient of the concession of a first minute goal...To score 3-17 was impressive, with 3-14 of that coming from play. They could and should have scored more. I recently wrote about how injuries were threatening to derail Donie Shine's career. Yesterday showed his value to the team. I thought David Keenan and Ian Kilbride were excellent, not to mention the outstanding Neil Collins..Great performances from our young guns, Daly, Smith, Harney and Murtagh.. The great thing about this win, is that it also highlighted areas that need to be improved on. Most notably in defence..As well as most of them played, the concession of 1-16 was a concern..The whole scenario around Cavan's first minute goal was very poor from a defensive and goalkeeping point of view...All in all, an excellent win after the complacency induced meltdown in Sligo. Focus, concentration, and better luck with injuries are vital to this team now.. A home draw in the qualifiers wouldn't hurt either.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 05, 2015, 01:38:13 PM
Good all round performance yesterday by Roscommon, they were always in control of the game and would have won regardless of whether Corr was sent off or not, Corr had been looking for trouble from the off and was involved in a few incidents before the sending off, the attempt at the sub was a joke not even Neill Tobin could come up with and the bandage on the leg was like something a child would put on a doll,
he got what he deserved, Ref overall kept a tight rein on the game, both teams got what is called handy frees but is that not always the case.
Rossies have work to do before the next day, really looking forward to maybe making a quarter final and that would be huge in this young teams development, if we get done the next day so be it but lets hope we will have a fully fit panel to pick from. Hon the Rossies, onwards and upwards.
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2015, 01:49:17 PM
In the video the Cavan 6 walks away from Harney, when 9 does the dirty work, walks back like a hard man with Harney on the ground. Stay classy. Ros were the better team by some distance. Cavan have nothing up front, however if Ros were playing Sligo yesterday don't think they would have won. Slow ponderous teams like Cavan suit Rosie's style of football. Fast pacy teams like Sligo are a different story. Good to get the win, problems remain. Shine, Kilbride, Kennan, Collins, harney, crazy and smith did very well. Ref made some strange decisions for both sides, mostly biased against Cavan, the point from the sideline was a score imo.
Post by: sligoman on July 05, 2015, 02:00:51 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 05, 2015, 01:49:17 PM
In the video the Cavan 6 walks away from Harney, when 9 does the dirty work, walks back like a hard man with Harney on the ground. Stay classy. Ros were the better team by some distance. Cavan have nothing up front, however if Ros were playing Sligo yesterday don't think they would have won. Slow ponderous teams like Cavan suit Rosie's style of football. Fast pacy teams like Sligo are a different story. Good to get the win, problems remain. Shine, Kilbride, Kennan, Collins, harney, crazy and smith did very well. Ref made some strange decisions for both sides, mostly biased against Cavan, the point from the sideline was a score imo.

That was a weird decision for the square ball, it went straight over without any interference so it was odd to disallow this. Roscommon's forwards played well, Smith in particular but I thought they all seemed to play as individuals and should have  had Cavan completely out of the game much earlier but managed to blow a lot of overload situations when they should have been in for goals.

Cavan were really disappointing.
Post by: CC1 on July 05, 2015, 04:33:29 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 11:48:20 AM

If every bit of niggle in a match is a yellow to you, your idea of a fairly refereed football match would look like some sort of apocalyptic version of football where games end with two or three men on the field. The only thing there that needed officiating was Tomas Corr deciding to thump Ultan Harney in the back of the head.
Nonsense. We are talking about the incident in question. If what Harney did was not a yellow then some of the yellows he did dish out on the day weren't yellows either. For example, why was Fergal Flanagan given a yellow when he clearly had his hand on the ball? If you're to give retrospective cards, the least you have to be is consistent.
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 04:44:02 PM
Quote from: CC1 on July 05, 2015, 04:33:29 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 11:48:20 AM

Nonsense. We are talking about the incident in question. If what Harney did was not a yellow then some of the yellows he did dish out on the day weren't yellows either. For example, why was Fergal Flanagan given a yellow when he clearly had his hand on the ball? If you're to give retrospective cards, the least you have to be is consistent.

What Harney did wasn't a yellow card offence. You're the only one I've heard trying to ply this angle.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 05, 2015, 05:16:03 PM
Fergal Flanagan got a yellow card for persistent fouling and mouthing to the referee.. Surprised that the Cavan posters have only that incident to discuss from yesterday.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 05, 2015, 06:43:19 PM
3-14 from play from a forward line that was playing as individuals was some performance rudi, this super fast sligo team just avoided relagation to div 4, do they have their snow tyres on in the winter, what a load of rubbish, talking tru yere ......
Post by: sligoman on July 05, 2015, 07:00:09 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 05, 2015, 06:43:19 PM
3-14 from play from a forward line that was playing as individuals was some performance rudi, this super fast sligo team just avoided relagation to div 4, do they have their snow tyres on in the winter, what a load of rubbish, talking tru yere ......

I feel you'd be better served looking at the fact that they were against a pretty rudderless team in the second half down to 14 men who were also without their two best defenders. I felt from watching the game that in the second half they could have killed that game off an awful lot earlier if they had made the right decisions. There were a number of incidents where Roscommon had men over against Cavan in Cavan's 45 area and the player with the ball took too much out of the ball and they ended up being turned over.

Roscommon were by far the better team yesterday and won deservedly, however up until Smith's late goal 14 man Cavan were still in the game and they shouldn't have been. This was down to Roscommon making really poor choices going forward.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 05, 2015, 08:25:41 PM

You're getting far too carried away, you conceded 1-16 to a crap Cavan team.

I don't rate Cavan, individually they have very few players who stand out and along with Fermangh will be my tip for the drop next year. Roscommon have far more talented players than Cavan.

I'd expect you to get to round 4 and a quarter final as long as you avoided Cork/Kerry in the draw. I look forward to seeing how you do against one of the so called top 6.
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2015, 08:29:13 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 05, 2015, 08:25:41 PM

You're getting far too carried away, you conceded 1-16 to a crap Cavan team.

I don't rate Cavan, individually they have very few players who stand out and along with Fermangh will be my tip for the drop next year. Roscommon have far more talented players than Cavan.

I'd expect you to get to round 4 and a quarter final as long as you avoided Cork/Kerry in the draw. I look forward to seeing how you do against one of the so called top 6.

Beat Cavan in Breffni only to lose in R3 last year. Won D2 only to flop against Sligo. No one is looking beyond Monday's draw.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 05, 2015, 08:43:08 PM
I have never been over optimistic about ros football on this or any other forum but when rubbish is being put out there i will challenge it at all times, talking about cavan missing 2 players when ros were missing the spine of our team is some joke, the most thing i would take from that game is that ros were in control from start to finish, we created many chances and took a good amount of them, in case some of the posters dont know the idea of the game is to score more than the other team and guess what if you do it does not matter what you concede!
Post by: Itchy on July 05, 2015, 09:12:13 PM
You were in control for the 2nd half. You were 1 pt up at half time despite having a strong breeze. Stop overplaying your performance, ye deserved your win no doubt but total domination it was not
Post by: sligoman on July 05, 2015, 09:23:30 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 05, 2015, 08:43:08 PM
I have never been over optimistic about ros football on this or any other forum but when rubbish is being put out there i will challenge it at all times, talking about cavan missing 2 players when ros were missing the spine of our team is some joke, the most thing i would take from that game is that ros were in control from start to finish, we created many chances and took a good amount of them, in case some of the posters dont know the idea of the game is to score more than the other team and guess what if you do it does not matter what you concede!

I think you're getting ahead of yourself. Well done on the win but the way you're going on is the same type of bull we've had to listen to about Roscommon in recent years. You left the door open for Cavan until very late on in the game despite being the better team. It will take a much improved performance when you meet the bigger teams.

Very unlike Cavan to be so open from what I've seen of them in recent years. I would also go as far to say that Killian Clarke would be more vital to Cavan than any one player would be to Roscommon, particularly one forward who never seems to do it in the Championship.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 05, 2015, 09:32:22 PM
Cavan have been open enough all year - wasn't like it was a once off yesterday. Liam McHale came in to bring a more attacking game. Peter Donnelly had been with Cavan up till this year and gave the team a solid defensive shape.

.Joe Brolly and his black death bollox talk gave the impression that Cavan always played like that.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 05, 2015, 10:25:22 PM
It was only defensively that Cavan were poor yesterday, did alright in midfield and scoring 1-16 would be enough to win most games. In the qualifiers Cavan only scored 0-5 against Roscommon last year that would have been a much worse performance.
Post by: Sleater on July 06, 2015, 09:30:31 AM
Terry Hyland reminds me of what Banty McEneaney did for Monaghan. A local man with fierce pride in the jersey who re-invigorates the team and raised expectations but ultimately fell short. Hyland did raise the bar albeit it was very low in the first place. That success Mal O'Rourke brought to Monaghan was fused together by the memories of bitter defeats and the renewed sense of optimism which a he brought to the squad. Cavan have the playing talent available but require a new manager to pull them all in the same direction. Under 21 success doesn't usually translate to senior success that quickly. There needs to be a core of older more experienced players, leaders to be there too.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 06, 2015, 09:43:49 AM
Quote from: Sleater on July 06, 2015, 09:30:31 AM
Terry Hyland reminds me of what Banty McEneaney did for Monaghan. A local man with fierce pride in the jersey who re-invigorates the team and raised expectations but ultimately fell short. Hyland did raise the bar albeit it was very low in the first place. That success Mal O'Rourke brought to Monaghan was fused together by the memories of bitter defeats and the renewed sense of optimism which a he brought to the squad. Cavan have the playing talent available but require a new manager to pull them all in the same direction. Under 21 success doesn't usually translate to senior success that quickly. There needs to be a core of older more experienced players, leaders to be there too.

Except for the two Ulster finals, promoting and keeping us in Division 1 and actually being a threat to Kerry in Croke Park.
Post by: Blue in hope on July 06, 2015, 10:03:40 AM
in the video Syferus has put up it conveniently only shows after Hanley went over to no 6 and pushing him  to try get a reaction as he was already on a yellow card. Instead stupidly Corr took the bait and ran towards Hanley who took him and swung him around before Corr threw a punch. Corr had to go and Hanley should have got a card as well.This should have been dealt with before half time. The official's were wired up TV clearly shows the ref talk on his earpiece before Reilly took the free kick. It does leave the question what happened at half time ? Who put pressure on? Did the officials watch it in TV in the Refs Room? Why did they not deal with the Roscommon player?

Giveballaghback  you seem to see all Corr was allegedly doing in the first half but you missed he was wearing that bandage before the throw in the same bandage that you " the bandage on the leg was like something a child would put on a doll," To miss that all through the first half really means you must have we looking at someone else.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2015, 10:04:33 AM
Why did they not deal with the injury-feigning?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 06, 2015, 11:09:32 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 05, 2015, 10:25:22 PM
It was only defensively that Cavan were poor yesterday, did alright in midfield and scoring 1-16 would be enough to win most games. In the qualifiers Cavan only scored 0-5 against Roscommon last year that would have been a much worse performance.

The starting Cavan forwards only accounted for 1-5 of that 1-16 total.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 06, 2015, 12:29:25 PM
Good squad performance against a side who its very hard to figure out where they are at the moment.
Our forwards were really up for this game and some great scores were taken.
Initially thought smith had over carried but looked at the recording yesterday morning and it seemed fine.
Would be worried about the amount of possession we conceded to Cavan in the second half as well as the way we left them in it up until the 2nd goal.
Some of the wayward passing and lethargic play which occurred against Sligo also rose its head at times.
Thought Kilbride and Shine were brilliant at times and were my MOTM candidates with slight preference for Shine.Great ploy from the management using him as a sweeper and it worked.
Keenan,Collins,C Daly,Harney,Smith,Cregg and C Murtagh also did well.
S McDermott and K Higgins were poor enough i thought but in fairness to Higgins it was his first game back so hopefully that will have brought him on.
Hats off too management for picking the pieces up after Sligo game and getting this win but loads of work to do yet and some major improvements needed in certain areas if we are to even dream of troubling a top 6 side.
Thought Cavan were poor for large spells of the game bar the last ten mins of the first half.Tactics were to hit Argue but that never seemed to work mostly through the delivery in to him.
They have some nice footballers but seemed to be disjointed and playing among themselves which certainly wasn't the case against Monaghan.
Sending off was correct as it was a clear punch and from what i seen at half time there was a little conference among the officials so any outside influence as suggested seems nonsensical.
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2015, 12:43:50 PM
Argue doesn't seem to have great hands for a big man.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 06, 2015, 10:42:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2015, 12:43:50 PM
Argue doesn't seem to have great hands for a big man.

He didn't look like a footballer at all, so much of Cavan's tactics appeared to revolve around him. He was way out of his depth.
Post by: INDIANA on July 06, 2015, 10:47:21 PM

they don't have the forwards to win anything
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 11:36:54 PM
An old coach of mine always said defences win games, forwards decide by how much.
Post by: Itchy on July 07, 2015, 07:19:54 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 06, 2015, 10:47:21 PM

True. They don't have millions of euro donated for free and the ability to play all their games at home either which would also be a big help.
Post by: tommysmith on July 07, 2015, 07:40:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 07, 2015, 07:19:54 AM

True. They don't have millions of euro donated for free and the ability to play all their games at home either which would also be a big help.

Have you not noticed Cavans home form this year compared to away.

Do you actually thing it would be a help?
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:24:37 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 11:36:54 PM
An old coach of mine always said defences win games, forwards decide by how much.

I think it was Sun Tzu that said that originally.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 07, 2015, 09:35:43 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:24:37 AM

I always took the Sun Tzu quote to mean the opposite, ie 'if you don't attack, you can't win'

QuoteInvincibility lies in the defence; the possibility of victory in the attack.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:43:23 AM
Cut his teeth managing the Wu Slashers 2nd team.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 07, 2015, 10:38:04 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 07, 2015, 09:35:43 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:24:37 AM

I always took the Sun Tzu quote to mean the opposite, ie 'if you don't attack, you can't win'

QuoteInvincibility lies in the defence; the possibility of victory in the attack.
Sun Tzu?
Didn't know the auld coach was so enlightened.

Look at most All Ireland winners - built on very tight and organised defence - Donegal, Kerry, Kilkenny
Post by: Itchy on July 07, 2015, 07:17:34 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 07, 2015, 07:40:23 AM

Fair point but millions of euro would certainly help
Post by: babarino on July 07, 2015, 08:04:49 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 07, 2015, 07:17:34 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 07, 2015, 07:40:23 AM

Fair point but millions of euro would certainly help
Corrected already on the home advantage.
Where are you getting the millions of euro from?
Are Kingspan not stumping up, or wha?