Armagh v Galway AIQF

Started by tonto1888, June 13, 2022, 03:07:13 PM

Quote from: balladmaker on June 19, 2022, 06:33:52 PM
Looks like it's a full house for next Sunday's double header. I'd expect a large travelling support from both Armagh and Mayo ... what is Galway's representation likely to be?

Yeah read that last night...Bar Kerry the other three teams involved would bring a decent crowd with them and throw in the neutrals/season ticket holders etc. So glad it's full too as Croke can be really poor atmosphere when half empty/full. Great buzz around Armagh atm for the game...my biggest concern is a lot of the folk have Armagh in a final before a quarter final ball has been kicked and I for one have followed Armagh and been around football long enough to know it'll bite you in the ass. As long as the players don't believe this hype and concentrate on Galway which i'm sure KMcG will have them focusing solely on...

APM

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2022, 08:58:48 AM
Would ye quit with the whole Jamie thing! The lad hasn't played club football never mind county football for a few years, I'd say wouldn't have been keeping himself in any major condition (he is just not that soldier!). The lad is playing a bit of club football, not ripping it up yet, he won't play county again.

Well, that's that nipped in the bud.  Can't believe someone brought it up in the first place.

Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2022, 09:10:08 AM
Looks like it's a full house for next Sunday's double header. I'd expect a large travelling support from both Armagh and Mayo ... what is Galway's representation likely to be?

Yeah read that last night...Bar Kerry the other three teams involved would bring a decent crowd with them and throw in the neutrals/season ticket holders etc. So glad it's full too as Croke can be really poor atmosphere when half empty/full. Great buzz around Armagh atm for the game...my biggest concern is a lot of the folk have Armagh in a final before a quarter final ball has been kicked and I for one have followed Armagh and been around football long enough to know it'll bite you in the ass. As long as the players don't believe this hype and concentrate on Galway which i'm sure KMcG will have them focusing solely on...

I'd say management will have them well grounded.  It's all about the next performance, just go for it, empty the tank and see where it ends up. 

Galway/Derry equally dreaming of an All Ireland appearance I'd say.  I expect Clare to give Derry a game on Saturday as well.

Quote from: balladmaker on June 20, 2022, 10:13:57 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2022, 09:10:08 AM

I'd say management will have them well grounded.  It's all about the next performance, just go for it, empty the tank and see where it ends up. 

Galway/Derry equally dreaming of an All Ireland appearance I'd say.  I expect Clare to give Derry a game on Saturday as well.
Saturday games on sky only?

Galway followers wouldn't get that excited about a quarter final. I remember 1995 after we won Connacht after a sizeable gap, and the crowd in CP for the semi vs Tyrone was poor enough. I think it comes down to how good people feel the team is. It's a bit like US Justice Potter Stewart's 1964 test to identify hard core pornography "I know it when I see it".

However if we bate Armagh and then Derry , the perception would obviously change.

Still some Hill tickets left but the rest of the ground has sold out on Ticketmaster. I'm very surprised as I thought there would be 50-60k but the finance & marketing lads in the GAA will be happy anyway. It could be the first CP full house in almost 3 years. 

Quote from: seafoid on June 20, 2022, 10:33:31 AM
Galway followers wouldn't get that excited about a quarter final. I remember 1995 after we won Connacht after a sizeable gap, and the crowd in CP for the semi vs Tyrone was poor enough. I think it comes down to how good people feel the team is. It's a bit like US Justice Potter Stewart's 1964 test to identify hard core pornography "I know it when I see it".

However if we bate Armagh and then Derry , the perception would obviously change.
Surely Galway people feel you's are well capable of beating ourselves and Derry/Clare if everything falls in to place? All 4 teams on our side of the draw will probably never get a better chance at making a final.

Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2022, 10:52:33 AM
Still some Hill tickets left but the rest of the ground has sold out on Ticketmaster. I'm very surprised as I thought there would be 50-60k but the finance & marketing lads in the GAA will be happy anyway. It could be the first CP full house in almost 3 years.

There should be plenty of tickets yet coming available. No way will this sell out, a-la an AI final.

Hard to know with Galway fans, as Seafoid refers to. With both Senior teams in CP within a week, it may 'split the vote'. However, the general feeling is that this Galway team is (finally) a bit better and balanced than it has been for a good number of years, thus the support should be on the larger side of things.

Quote from: mouview on June 20, 2022, 11:00:46 AM

There should be plenty of tickets yet coming available. No way will this sell out, a-la an AI final.

Hard to know with Galway fans, as Seafoid refers to. With both Senior teams in CP within a week, it may 'split the vote'. However, the general feeling is that this Galway team is (finally) a bit better and balanced than it has been for a good number of years, thus the support should be on the larger side of things.
It'll be close to a sell out though? Probably the best attended quarter final in long time.

Currently if you want a seated ticket you can't buy them though. So where or why would they become available between now and matchday? If they just wanted to create the illusion of a sell out in advance in order to trigger demand, then you would think that there would at least be one or two sections with seated tickets available to purchase.

Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2022, 11:08:05 AM

Currently if you want a seated ticket you can't buy them though. So where or why would they become available between now and matchday? If they just wanted to create the illusion of a sell out in advance in order to trigger demand, then you would think that there would at least be one or two sections with seated tickets available to purchase.

Standard Ticketmaster (nightclub) tactic of holding back sales to create pent-up demand. Same as last Saturday's hurling quarter-finals, which backfired on them.

At a guess I'd say Galway bring an absolute max of 15k, Kerry struggle to 10K, Mayo < 20K, Armagh 22K tops?

Quote from: mouview on June 20, 2022, 11:18:04 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2022, 11:08:05 AM

Standard Ticketmaster (nightclub) tactic of holding back sales to create pent-up demand. Same as last Saturday's hurling quarter-finals, which backfired on them.

At a guess I'd say Galway bring an absolute max of 15k, Kerry struggle to 10K, Mayo < 20K, Armagh 22K tops?

You could well be right. Maybe they are just hoping that some people who would otherwise have bought seated tickets will now buy Hill 16 tickets before reopening some sections of the stands closer to Sundays match.   

An Fhairche Abu

Not sure of the current ticketing situation, did clubs get any at all that would be returns for later this week? I was under the impression that they didn't and all sales were via Ticketmaster, if they are holding back the good tickets or trying to fake demand the GAA need to step in and sort that out, ridiculous stuff.

Wouldn't be too worried about the hurlers impacting Galway attendance, no one from Galway was in Thurles last Saturday by all accounts, can't see too many casual fans travelling up to see a team in really mediocre form to play Limerick.
Galway will have a reasonable crowd at this, there was decent support (by usual Galway football standard anyway) at the Mayo match and the Connacht final, obviously nothing compared to Armagh who sound like they will have a huge crowd.

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on June 20, 2022, 11:26:42 AM
Not sure of the current ticketing situation, did clubs get any at all that would be returns for later this week? I was under the impression that they didn't and all sales were via Ticketmaster, if they are holding back the good tickets or trying to fake demand the GAA need to step in and sort that out, ridiculous stuff.

Wouldn't be too worried about the hurlers impacting Galway attendance, no one from Galway was in Thurles last Saturday by all accounts, can't see too many casual fans travelling up to see a team in really mediocre form to play Limerick.
Galway will have a reasonable crowd at this, there was decent support (by usual Galway football standard anyway) at the Mayo match and the Connacht final, obviously nothing compared to Armagh who sound like they will have a huge crowd.
Won't be a cow milked or cube of diesel washed all next week!

An Fhairche Abu

I saw someone on the Orchard Fans forum complaining already about the price of hotels the night of the All Ireland final, ye will be spending a lot of money in Dublin over the next month.